View Full Version : Rnd 12 V's PORT

Eagles 4 Mine
11 Jun 2006, 17:01
I think that the game against Port is now going to be tougher than first thought as Port now have their tails up and key players are getting fitness under there belt.

Not to mention they are convincingly beating sides and I know that they have been sides that are down the bottom but you can only beat the teams that you come up against.

Another thing it is at AAMI stadium and we are going to have to play very good I think. Isn't it amazing again how sides are up and running when they always play us DAM IT.

Special Agent
11 Jun 2006, 20:51
We've won our past 2 games at AAMI. The ground will have no bearing on the result.

JuddyisGod
11 Jun 2006, 21:03
In: B. Jones
Out: Waters

Mr Eagle
11 Jun 2006, 21:04
We've won our past 2 games at AAMI. The ground will have no bearing on the result.

It might in the sense that it's "not Subi", but yeah I'd like to think we have moved past specific ground hoodoos at this stage of the side's development.

Embers
11 Jun 2006, 21:12
IN : B. Jones
OUT : Hansen

JuddyisGod
11 Jun 2006, 21:25
IN : B. Jones
OUT : Hansen
I think they really need to give Waters a spell in the WAFL, he has struggled all year and i think he needs to gain some form before coming back into the side.

Embers
11 Jun 2006, 21:33
I think they really need to give Waters a spell in the WAFL, he has struggled all year and i think he needs to gain some form before coming back into the side.

Too top heavy if Brett Jones came into the side

IN: Priddis
OUT: Waters

But id prefer Hansen be dropped or hell why not both

IN: Priddis B.Jones
OUT: Hansen Waters

matera_goal
11 Jun 2006, 21:48
In: Priddis Gardiner Hurn
Out: Hansen RoJo Fletcher

Hansen is as hard as diarrhoea, RoJo can't kick, my blood chills whenever Fletcher gets the ball, he coughs it up and GOES SIDEWAYS all the time.

Hansen, RoJo and Fletcher are all players I think are ****e.

Embers
11 Jun 2006, 21:52

Hansen is as hard as diarrhoea, RoJo can't kick, my blood chills whenever Fletcher gets the ball, he coughs it up and GOES SIDEWAYS all the time.

One week too early for Gardy, give Doogs one game, 30 possessions 19 marks is a bit too hard to ignore for me

Embers
11 Jun 2006, 22:05
Rosa has already been ruled out of next weeks game with concussion. Was in a very bad way after the game. No chance at all

matera_goal
11 Jun 2006, 22:23
One week too early for Gardy, give Doogs one game, 30 possessions 19 marks is a bit too hard to ignore for me Yeah, get him some game time before we trade him :D I dunno if the Eagles coaching staff will give him a shot, Suma doesn't like him (I...Give...Up!)...
Rosa has already been ruled out of next weeks game with concussion. Was in a very bad way after the game. No chance at all Woot! Give Morton a game then :thumbsu:

In: In: Priddis Gardiner Hurn Morton
Out: Hansen RoJo Fletcher Rosa

jod23
12 Jun 2006, 04:03
We will get beat if we play like we have the last two weeks. Port are a better outfit at the minute than either Geelong or Carlton.

Cuzz09
13 Jun 2006, 17:55
WILL WE WIN?

Thoughts??

underthebridge
13 Jun 2006, 18:00
Yeah, get him some game time before we trade him :D I dunno if the Eagles coaching staff will give him a shot, Suma doesn't like him (I...Give...Up!)...
Woot! Give Morton a game then :thumbsu:

In: In: Priddis Gardiner Hurn Morton
Out: Hansen RoJo Fletcher Rosa
Keep dreaming. Fletcher will not be dropped. Make realistic suggestions.

Forced changes

In: Priddis or Jones
Out: Rosa

Waters is the only player I can see being dropped.

Ported
14 Jun 2006, 00:24
If West Coast apply enough pressure and use the inevitable turnovers well (which i expect they will), they should have it pretty easy over us. If they go to sleep for the first half i think we'll capitalise more than Geelong/Carlton were able to, but realistically just hoping for a good competitive match.

Keep an eye on Pearcey!

zero
14 Jun 2006, 00:48
morton for rosa, to play in a forward pocket.

that will probably be it.

94_Eagles
14 Jun 2006, 01:20
Wow, a lot of people aren't happy with Hansen.

Seriously who would replace him?

peterss
14 Jun 2006, 12:44
IN: Priddis, Hurn
OUT: Rosa, Waters

The Made Guy
14 Jun 2006, 14:41
Keep Waters so that he can run through that lolly Chad Cornes.

Biggie
14 Jun 2006, 15:53
Its too early to drop Hansen I would of thought but he certainly needs to lift his game a touch.

I dont know about anyone else but Im a little nervous about this game simply because the boys from the West look very sore and with the midseason break just a week later the Eagles minds may be already on their much earned week off.

Does anyone else feel the same or Im just being paranoid as usual? Also I think Port have beaten us the last 4 out of 5 times so their self belief would be quite large at the moment.

Cheers.

94_Eagles
14 Jun 2006, 15:56
No, it is a big danger game, no doubt.

Warrack Eagles
14 Jun 2006, 16:14
So Rosa is diffently not playing then!!!

West Coast 06
14 Jun 2006, 17:44
Out: RoJo, Rosa
In: Morton/Pridis, Hurn

Two changes is enough, I don't think they will make more than that.

Goldenblue
14 Jun 2006, 17:45
WILL WE WIN?

Thoughts??

What about your thoughts?

My thought is that it is not a game we will win easily. A few weeks ago, I would have pencilled this in as an easy win, however Port's recent form has me thinking differently. Fair enough Port's recent wins have been against lower sides, but these sides have brought Port some form and confidence.

If we played like we did last week, we will lose, so hopefully the Eagles will not take this game for granted. It will be a hard and close match in my opinion with the Eagles just taking the points.

hawkeye23
14 Jun 2006, 17:48
Prepare for another heartstopper kids. These guys, as much as I love them, are never going to give me the percentage booster I've asked for :(

Cuzz09
14 Jun 2006, 18:42
What about your thoughts?

My thought is that it is not a game we will win easily. A few weeks ago, I would have pencilled this in as an easy win, however Port's recent form has me thinking differently. Fair enough Port's recent wins have been against lower sides, but these sides have brought Port some form and confidence.

If we played like we did last week, we will lose, so hopefully the Eagles will not take this game for granted. It will be a hard and close match in my opinion with the Eagles just taking the points.

My thoughts are that whoever wins it will be by under double digits.

I am going with the home team but if we can get off to a decent start our second halves are good and theirs are poor.

If we are close or in front at half time I wouldnt be surprised if we won. But if we are the usual 20-40 points down then its no coming back at AAMI!

jorel6669
14 Jun 2006, 19:06
The Eagles, at their best, will beat anyone. However, they're far from their best and I think they'll probably drop this game. Then again, I thought they'd drop the Geelong game.

My feeling is that if they do drop this game, win the next two after the break, then at least split the testing four weeks against Sydney, Collingwood, Adelaide and St Kilda, then it will set them up for a real good run home.

West Coast 06
14 Jun 2006, 19:30
I had penciled in loses against Essendon and Geelong at the beginning of the season and they proved me wrong there!
I think they are tired and just hanging on for the break, but if they are within 10-15 points at half time they should be able to bring it home again.
After the last two weeks, any team who is only 10 points ahead of them at half time would have to be seriously worried! :)

Eagles 4 Mine
14 Jun 2006, 21:50
Lets hope that training this week is soley focus on getting of to a fantastic start like which has been reported in the news.

Look I think that if we get of to a great start we will win no doubt about it but it is going to come down to the start because we will not run any team down from 30-40 points down again IMO they have seen enough of this now and will have learned to get numbers behind the footy straight away.

Prediction Eagles by 25pts:D

Biggie
14 Jun 2006, 22:08
I missed the sport report, what did WCE do at training this evening?

F-U
14 Jun 2006, 23:00
My brother went to training and he reckons thats the best we trained all year, he works literally across the road and finishes at the time they start so he goes and watches for 10 mins so he doesnt have to deal with the traffic.

If training is anything to go by expect a much much much better performance then the last fortnight

Cuzz09
14 Jun 2006, 23:38
My brother went to training and he reckons thats the best we trained all year, he works literally across the road and finishes at the time they start so he goes and watches for 10 mins so he doesnt have to deal with the traffic.

If training is anything to go by expect a much much much better performance then the last fortnight

So he saw 10 minutes of good training what does that translate into on AAMI Stadium on Saturday night?

Probably get more of an indication when they train the night before here at AAMI. It will be dewy like on the actual night and they can get a bit more used to the ground.

Nickoski
15 Jun 2006, 00:49
Deffo a danger game....I am not at all confident, in fact will be tipping Port in the comp I'm in......we ARE sore and will relish the break.:(

If the boys win it will be a seriously good win....to beat a resurgent Port at AAMI:cool:

BTW....thats my first post and so I don't have to do this TOOOOO often, my 'name' is spelt as I want it, not a spelling mistake on Nico's name.

jod23
15 Jun 2006, 05:58
Anytime you travel to Adelaide and play at AAMI it's tough to get a win. Our form is a little wayward despite winning game and Port's form may be masked given the opponents they have beaten havent been on the highest quality. Obviously if we play our best I think we will win and Ill certainly be tipping us to win but it's certainly a danger game.

oporto
15 Jun 2006, 09:45
I,ve been looking forward to this game for the past month, given my respect for West Coast over the years (I prefer any interstate club to a victorian one).

Your team is one of 3 that is the premier team in the afl ATM. Our young turks are itching to test themselves and I reckon it could go down to the wire.

Either way, good luck for the rest of the year.

Warrack Eagles
15 Jun 2006, 10:11
I talked to Matt Yesterday and he said he would be right this week any news if he has been dropped or just out,???:confused:

sdb4884
15 Jun 2006, 11:01

Not going to happen, RoJo and Fletcher had good games last week and the coach seems to like Hansen at CHF. Could be dropped due to form but....

Eagles 4 Mine
15 Jun 2006, 13:24
I tell you now Hansen will not be dropped, look the kid is young and he will get better and better as time goes on. He is our best option at CHF by a country mile persistance is needed and it's not like were losing games.( 10-1) ATM relax guys.:D

- PC -
15 Jun 2006, 13:33
Get ready for the return of the weed puller ;)

West Coast 06
15 Jun 2006, 15:02
Not going to happen, RoJo and Fletcher had good games last week and the coach seems to like Hansen at CHF. Could be dropped due to form but....
Do you seriously believe RoJo had a good game last week? Honestly he could not have hit the side of a barn with his kicking, it was terrible! Although Fletch was better last week than he has been in previous weeks, I wouldn't class it as a "good" game,( unless you mean good for Fletcher).
I think RoJo should make way for Pridis or Morton.

Gunnar Longshanks
15 Jun 2006, 19:17
OUT: Rosa, Hansen

Little bit rough on Hansen.

I don't think he's been terrible.

Conversion and decision-making has let him down a little, but his work-rate has been good enough.

Lynch drops a mark
15 Jun 2006, 19:24
OUT: Rosa, Hansen

Little bit rough on Hansen.

I don't think he's been terrible.

Conversion and decision-making has let him down a little, but his work-rate has been good enough.

looked very stiff and sore on monday, I think the groin problems that he was having last year have returned with avengence

Hunter - FF

Graham - CHB

Staker - HFF

Lynch CHF

lets see what they can do for an entire game in those positions and then review after the midseason break.

nudgep
15 Jun 2006, 19:32
The Eagles, at their best, will beat anyone. However, they're far from their best and I think they'll probably drop this game. Then again, I thought they'd drop the Geelong game.

My feeling is that if they do drop this game, win the next two after the break, then at least split the testing four weeks against Sydney, Collingwood, Adelaide and St Kilda, then it will set them up for a real good run home.

as a saints supporter i well could be biased, but i have been of the opinion that the saints at their best, meaning no injuries and at full flight, can take care of anyone. wc are truly a super side, much more consistent and have great depth, but at their best and with no injuries then consistency and depth hardly becomes an issue. just a thought...

bassmanx
16 Jun 2006, 14:22
I just read that the game is on Ten at 6:30 on Saturday.
Delayed away game? That sucks.
I assume it's due to a clash with the telecast of the Dockers game but still not happy.

Biggie
16 Jun 2006, 15:08
I just read that the game is on Ten at 6:30 on Saturday.
Delayed away game? That sucks.
I assume it's due to a clash with the telecast of the Dockers game but still not happy.

Yes definately not happy with that decision to delay our game but we can only go with what is on offer.

I dont mind listening on the radio anyway so it is available to listen live if you wanted to :thumbsu:

Embley
16 Jun 2006, 15:33
Do you seriously believe RoJo had a good game last week? Honestly he could not have hit the side of a barn with his kicking, it was terrible! Although Fletch was better last week than he has been in previous weeks, I wouldn't class it as a "good" game,( unless you mean good for Fletcher).
I think RoJo should make way for Pridis or Morton.
Yeah Fletcher had 30 touches or whatever but many of them were ineffective, resulting in a turnover or team mate getting sold into serious trouble. Jones did enough to keep his spot IMO

94_Eagles
16 Jun 2006, 17:04
Jones disposal really is shocking when not from a set shot.