View Full Version : Our Top 10

larrikin
12 Jun 2006, 00:58
Had an interesting conversation with a mate today at the footy when discussing who out best few players are currently. It got me thinking and I thought I'd post the question here

Here's my initial list - I'm sure I'll change my mind several times but at the moment it stands like this

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

Gunnar Longshanks
12 Jun 2006, 01:37
1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - StengleinIs this based on 2006 form alone?

If so, Embley wouldn't be that high.

No love for Michael Braun.

wce4premiership
12 Jun 2006, 01:41
Had an interesting conversation with a mate today at the footy when discussing who out best few players are currently. It got me thinking and I thought I'd post the question here

Here's my initial list - I'm sure I'll change my mind several times but at the moment it stands like this

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

that top 4 is very hard to split...you could argue any four of them and not be wrong. Good list. :thumbsu:

larrikin
12 Jun 2006, 01:45
Is this based on 2006 form alone?

If so, Embley wouldn't be that high.

No love for Michael Braun.
Nah - the criteria is a bit vague I guess - it's a bit of a Mike Sheehan style "who is the best player" in the league/on our list etc. It was more of a case of the fact that when talking to my mate he rated some players far more highly than I did, thought it might get a discussion going...

jod23
12 Jun 2006, 04:24

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

Ive got no complaints on that list. Nicoski has been sensational of late but overall and over the last few years you could argue that Braun deserves top 10 status. Hmm... alright ill give it a go.

1. Cousins
2. Judd
3. Cox
4. Kerr
5. Embley
6. Wirrpanda
7. Hunter
8. Glass
9. Braun
10. Stinger

With Nicoski just outside the top 10 with Fletcher.

lloydbraun
13 Jun 2006, 01:42
Judd is better than cousins

Scotland
13 Jun 2006, 04:46
10 best players? or first 10 players picked? I see the two as different.

Assessing 'who is better than who' is always very subjective, and most of our best players are midfielders. If I was picking the side, the first 10 I would want in are (in no particular order):

Cox, Cousins, Judd, Kerr, Embley, Braun, Hunter, Glass, Wirrpanda, Stenglein.

hawkeye23
13 Jun 2006, 09:43

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

I'd have Braun and Chick in the list before Embley or Stinger. But other than that, it looks A-OK.

larrikin
13 Jun 2006, 12:32
Assessing 'who is better than who' is always very subjective,
Yeah, that was the idea

94_Eagles
13 Jun 2006, 13:45
I think that would be everyone's top 10 pretty much.

Biggie
13 Jun 2006, 15:54
Couldnt really change that top 10 however I think Brauny does deserve a position inside that top 10, but you can only fit in 10 cant ya?

Good list bloke:thumbsu:

Lingsface
13 Jun 2006, 17:04
1.Judd
2.Cox
3.Kerr
4.Cousins
5.Wirrapunda
6.Embley
7.Glass
8.Fletcher
9.Staker
10.Chick

Locky
13 Jun 2006, 19:21
Here is mine

1. Cousins
2. Cox
3. Judd
4. Kerr
5. Glass
6. Wirrpanda
7. Embley
8. Nicoski
9. Braun
10. Hunter

This list is based on order of importance not on skill level, Judd is easily our more skilled player but Cox is more important IMO.

Jako
13 Jun 2006, 20:29
While Cousins is outstanding player and I really love him Judd is better and more important. As evidenced buy the fact we have really struggled last two weeks without him.

wce4premiership
13 Jun 2006, 23:47
While Cousins is outstanding player and I really love him Judd is better and more important. As evidenced buy the fact we have really struggled last two weeks without him.

that had little to do with judd imo. i think we're just playing poorly and only stepping up when we need to which isn't good enough

wce4premiership
13 Jun 2006, 23:52
here is mine

1. cousins
2. cox
3. judd
4. glass
5. kerr
6. braun
7. hunter
8. wirrpanda
9. selwood
10. embley

Goldenblue
14 Jun 2006, 00:13
that had little to do with judd imo. i think we're just playing poorly and only stepping up when we need to which isn't good enough

Agreed.

With Judd, I feel the result may have almost been the same, Judd is a player, not the team.

dirty_dizz
14 Jun 2006, 23:37
1. Judd
2-10. Daylight

nudgep
15 Jun 2006, 18:49
jeez very good topic, not being a wc supporter this is how mine would go, criteria: most impact on a game

1. Judd
2. Cox
3. Cousins
4. Kerr
5. Wirrpanda
6. Embley
7. Hunter
8. Glass
9. Stenglein
10. (not really sure, mayb fletcher or braun, nicoski's got a penetrating left foot)

Embley
16 Jun 2006, 13:20
Gday fellow WC fans :thumbsu:

My top 10, probably not in particular order, would be:

Cousins
Judd
Cox
Embley
Kerr
Hunter
Chick
Nicoski
Braun
Wirrpanda

Stenglein, Glass are up there too. Graham will be a gun and the Big Unit is improving :D

Mutant
16 Jun 2006, 18:21
1. Judd
2-10. Daylight

Idiot

1. Cousins
2. Cox
3. Judd
4. Kerr
5. Chick
6. Hunter
7. Wirrapunda
8. Glass
9. Embley
10. Priddis (just keep watching this space)

Isandula
16 Jun 2006, 21:12
This is my top ten important players:
1.Judd
2.Cox
3.Cousins
4.Kerr
5.Hunter
6.Stenglein
7.Wirrapanda
8.Embley
9.Nicoski
10.Glass

If and when Fletcher plays consistently well then he might be there somewhere. Couldnt find a place for Chick, Selwood or Braun, not enough places though are still very important players. Graham and Staker would be close.
Jeez, didnt really know how hard it was to pick until I did it!

Scotland
23 Jul 2006, 15:37

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

Bump. We could certainly use those 10 fit and firing at once.

amazingjoshy
23 Jul 2006, 18:33
In terms of importance:

Judd
Cox
Glass
Cousins
Embley
Kerr
Hunter
Wirrpanda
Hansen
Steinglein

Nico and Fletch could be in there on any given day....I reckon we look a million times better with Hansen playing, even if he has a shocker he gives a target.

mrz.judd
23 Jul 2006, 22:30
This is my top ten important players:
1.Judd
2.Cox
3.Cousins
4.Kerr
5.Hunter
6.Stenglein
7.fletcher
8.wirrapanda
9.embley
10.Nicoski

[1. Judd
2-10. Daylight]

how funny about judd being the only important player but as much as i love judd he is not the team. if WC didn't have him there will be something very important missing. my list would be the exact same as the list above.
just wondering, have you guys met chris judd (the hottie)? how is he?

Cro_Pavo
23 Jul 2006, 22:43
1. Chris Judd
2. Dean Cox
3. Daniel Kerr
4. Andrew Embley
5. Tyson Stenglein
6. Ben Cousins
7. David Wirrpanda
8. Adam Hunter
9. Michael Braun
10. Darren Glass

kimbev
23 Jul 2006, 22:51
Heres mine

1. Chris Judd
2. Dean Cox
3. Daniel Kerr
4. Ben Cousins
5. Darren Glass
6. Adam Hunter
7. David Wirrapanda
8. Andrew Embley
9. Daniel Chick
10. Mark Nicoski

materamagic
23 Jul 2006, 23:02
Chris Judd
Ben Cousins
Darren Glass
Dean Cox
Adam Hunter

5 players who have been consistent, pound for pound in the games they have played in this year.

The rest of the squad needs to take a leaf out of their books and aspire to the level of consistent footy the above play.

isyoucallmeGranny
23 Jul 2006, 23:40
Adam Selwood would have to be close to being in the top ten.. He would definitely be in the top ten in the best and fairest count...

Ruddiger
24 Jul 2006, 00:16
1. Judd
2-10. Daylight

How have you guys gone this year and last?

Ruddiger
24 Jul 2006, 00:19
1 - Judd
2 - Cox
3 - Cousins
4 - Wirrpanda
5 - Hunter
6 - Glass
7 - Kerr
8 - Braun
9 - Stenglein
10 - Chick

Nicoski, Selwood and Embley all close.
Lynch, Staker and Graham near them.

gardy17_24
24 Jul 2006, 01:59
1. Cox
2. Judd
3. Cousins
4. Wirrpanda
5. Glass
6. Hunter
7. Kerr
8. Lynch
9. Stenglein
10. Braun

Cox no doubt is our most important. When he started struggling the team started struggling. Judd and Cousins for obvious reasons. Wirra clears the ball out of defence better than anyone IMO, Glass because a good team needs a solid full-back and he has delivered. Hunter is, of course, 'Mr. Fix-It' and Kerr is a fantastic in and under player. When Lynch is holding marks and kicking goals from fifty it lifts the whole team. Stenglein and Braun are more often than not reliable and do the job when Cuz and Juddy get tagged.

larrikin
15 Jun 2008, 14:18
Bump. No doubt some massive changes in 2 short years.....

Cuzz09
15 Jun 2008, 14:31
Gday fellow WC fans :thumbsu:

My top 10, probably not in particular order, would be:

Cousins
Judd
Cox
Embley
Kerr
Hunter
Chick
Nicoski
Braun
Wirrpanda

Stenglein, Glass are up there too. Graham will be a gun and the Big Unit is improving :D

Had to have a chuckle at that :p

Cuzz09
15 Jun 2008, 14:37
Id say now....

1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B.Jones
5. Selwood
6. Lynch
7. Priddis
8. McKinley
9. Hurn
10. Kennedy?

???

Other than the top 3 the rest are pretty much the same.

WCE57
15 Jun 2008, 16:01
Id say now....

1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B.Jones
5. Selwood
6. Lynch
7. Priddis
8. McKinley
9. Hurn
10. Kennedy?

???

LeCras? Waters? Butler? Hunter? Wirra? Stinger?

This is a really bad year to judge a top 10, because on the basis of stupidity and injuries, I would argue that Kerr wouldn't be in our top 5. Also while McKinley has been great this year, it has been only a couple of games. Yet, he miss the last two games. And he is three seasons in, and yet to establish himself. LeCras has been badly missed and should be in top 5. Hurn has miss a chunk of games. Glass has been playing injured and if his inclusions like Kerr are based on past performances, then you could argue that Embley, Stinger and Wirra deserve a little more respect than they are getting.

Cuzz09
15 Jun 2008, 17:14
LeCras? Waters? Butler? Hunter? Wirra? Stinger?

This is a really bad year to judge a top 10, because on the basis of stupidity and injuries, I would argue that Kerr wouldn't be in our top 5. Also while McKinley has been great this year, it has been only a couple of games. Yet, he miss the last two games. And he is three seasons in, and yet to establish himself. LeCras has been badly missed and should be in top 5. Hurn has miss a chunk of games. Glass has been playing injured and if his inclusions like Kerr are based on past performances, then you could argue that Embley, Stinger and Wirra deserve a little more respect than they are getting.

Yeah I dunno, I was bored and just was thinking off the top of my head.

Scotland
15 Jun 2008, 17:16
1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B Jones
5. Lynch
6. Selwood
7. Priddis
8. Kennedy
9. LeCras
10. Hunter

Tough these days, pretty obvious that Cox is a clear #1 though.

larrikin
16 Jun 2008, 12:01
1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B Jones
5. Lynch
6. Selwood
7. Priddis
8. Kennedy
9. LeCras
10. Hunter

I think the top 5 you have named is spot on, and the rest are pretty close to my views too...

Selgae
16 Jun 2008, 16:03
Id say now....

1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B.Jones
5. Selwood
6. Lynch
7. Priddis
8. McKinley
9. Hurn
10. Kennedy?

???

You are joking putting McKinley in there aren't you? That is one of the stranger things I have read... McKinley is only just in our 22 and may not when everyone is fit...

Cuzz09
16 Jun 2008, 19:36
You are joking putting McKinley in there aren't you? That is one of the stranger things I have read... McKinley is only just in our 22 and may not when everyone is fit...

Yeah he is sh!t.

Mate I said before I was bored and just was thinking of names off the top of my head, read all posts before posting....

Thinking back Id put Wirra in his spot but the rest Id say IMO are about right...

Maybe Hunter in there.

I dont rate Stenglein.

Selgae
16 Jun 2008, 20:09
Yeah he is sh!t.

Mate I said before I was bored and just was thinking of names off the top of my head, read all posts before posting....

Thinking back Id put Wirra in his spot but the rest Id say IMO are about right...

Maybe Hunter in there.

I dont rate Stenglein.

So i should read all your posts before determing which ones you mean and which ones you don't... How about you just say what you mean in every post and save me the effort...

Swooper Eagle
17 Jun 2008, 12:23
1. Cox
2. Kerr
3. Glass
4. B Jones
5. Lynch
6. Selwood
7. Priddis
8. Kennedy
9. LeCras
10. Hunter

It's very tough with the current crop of injuries. Unfortunately our most talented players are the most injury prone.

I think our current All-Australians top the list along with Embers. Shame that Fletcher's game has dropped so much.

1. Kerr - when inspired he's the game's equal best inside midfielder
2. Cox - number 1 ruckman in the game
3. Glass - when fit, the best full-back in the business
4. Embley - devastating outside mid
5. Q - never thought I say it, but I'd like to see him try to be our Fev
6. Priddis - guts of iron!
7. Hunter - does his best work as a forward. Should stay there
8. Wirra - great awareness and skills. Needs to stay 100% fit.
9. Braun - getting long in the tooth, but great value
10. Hansen - Loads of talent. Just needs luck with injuries

Eagle Ant
17 Jun 2008, 19:04
NOW

1) Cox
2) Kerr
3) Lynch
4) Glass
5) A.Selwood
6) Bones
7) Wirrapanda
8) Embley
9) Waters
10) Hurn

With Masten, Rosa, Priddis, Hansen, Lecras and McKinley all close.
IN 2 Years

1) Kennedy
2) Kerr
3) Cox
4) Masten
5) A.Selwood
6) Hurn
7) Ebert
8) Bones
9) Notte
10) Brown

With Priddis, Butler, Jmac, and Spangher all close

Cuzz09
17 Jun 2008, 21:40
So i should read all your posts before determing which ones you mean and which ones you don't... How about you just say what you mean in every post and save me the effort...

no.:thumbsu:

Gunnar Longshanks
17 Jun 2008, 23:53
This is depressing.

Cuzz09
18 Jun 2008, 00:34
This is depressing.

hahahaha

that was funny.

What about our top 10 favourite colours?