View Full Version : on white line fever last night
tigers to dominate 2006
15 Jun 2006, 10:41
everett will not play on weekend!
dawson will probably come in from what clarko said?
terry wllace says gasper will need to play seconds for 3 or 4 weeks to get some match practice back, but states gasper is an older player and that the reserves is where he is at, at the moment.
gasper career over very soon!
terry wllace says gasper will need to play seconds for 3 or 4 weeks to get some match practice back, but states gasper is an older player and that the reserves is where he is at, at the moment.
gasper career over very soon!
thank God !
The last of the duds.
tomthetiger
15 Jun 2006, 11:31
No Everitt eh? In past years, we wouldve had to cop the opposition having a milestone game, maybe things have really changed?
Captain_Brown_7
15 Jun 2006, 11:58
No Everitt eh? In past years, we wouldve had to cop the opposition having a milestone game, maybe things have really changed?
Funny you should say that tom
I was saying to my mate last week that for some reason the milestone/comeback/testimonial/rooting captains wife games always come against the Kangaroos, so you could imagine how i felt last Saturday at the G when i saw their banner saying "Well done Jess Sinclair on 150 games"....:D
Harvey Leadpipe
15 Jun 2006, 12:09
I was saying to my mate last week that for some reason the milestone/comeback/testimonial/rooting captains wife games always come against the Kangaroos, so you could imagine how i felt last Saturday at the G when i saw their banner saying "Well done Jess Sinclair on 150 games"....:D
Aaaah yeah, the ol' rooting captains wife games really do put a different spin on things.
Maybe we make this week the inaugural "remember when Ty Zantuck tea-bagged your full forward" match against Hawthorn.
gasper career over very soon!Amen ... and on the 8th day we rejoiced .
Defineatly ploughs way of nicely saying "it`s over"
Does anyone know if he is contracted next year?
He is but one hammy away from pulling the pin . I will have a dollar each way that he does not see the year out .
Bojangles17
15 Jun 2006, 14:55
Interesting when Caro said of Gas in the ressies, that a couple of years ago we would have never seen that, Plough responded well, "Now's not two years ago"
Imagine spuds response to that, would have been 3 or 4 cliches rolled into one...he's at a cross in the road , needs to look in the mirror and really step up to the plate and be a contributor:p
True Thylacine
15 Jun 2006, 16:02
I gotta say what a great advert we are for those aspiring to play footy for the Richmond Football Club. Come along, join in the fun, take one for the team, try your guts out ....oh and by the way, at first sign of weakness or that we may have half a chance at something better....we will rejoice at your demise. Seriously unimpressed.
If Gas's time is up OK, but to rejoice? Sorry I must have missed something?
Who TF would wanna come play at Punt Road if this is an example of what they can expect?
I gotta say what a great advert we are for those aspiring to play footy for the Richmond Football Club. Come along, join in the fun, take one for the team, try your guts out ....oh and by the way, at first sign of weakness or that we may have half a chance at something better....we will rejoice at your demise. Seriously unimpressed.
Aint it beautiful !?:thumbsu:
Colonel Matrix
15 Jun 2006, 16:18
I'd be bitter towards Gas, but the guy did take a pay cut when he didn't have to.... For his sake I hope he turns it around..
camsmith
15 Jun 2006, 16:25
I was thinking the exact same thing when we saw the banner.
If its not a milestone game vs Kangaroos its a bombing survivor :cool:
True Thylacine
15 Jun 2006, 16:31
Aint it beautiful !?:thumbsu:
Sure is...certainly something Delidio, Tambling, Polo, Meyer and Patto can look forward to. Stick with us kids..we'll do ya proud.....yeah sure mister!
Harvey Leadpipe
15 Jun 2006, 17:05
Who TF would wanna come play at Punt Road if this is an example of what they can expect?
You must have come across some seriously mellowing hooch you've found in one of your old hippy jackets TT. Seem a bit distressed at everyone not being chill man. ;)
Knighter didn't get the treatment people are displaying. Cambo got sent off in a fitting manner, Richo will get a ticker-tape parade and a national holiday. Hell, we even clapped off Dunc and his spastic kicking boots.
But none of these have had a similar effect to Gas. We've seen him beat opponents, good opponents, no doubting that. But we've also seen him frawley up a truckload, earn a king's ransome (which is enough in my books. My boss may be a top bloke, doesn't stop me from thinking he's a walls due to the amount he earns) and now in more recent times (the bulldogs match earlier this year comes to mind), give up in front of our kids.
I won't boo him or bag him if it's over, he's done his service, but I won't shed a tear either.
True Thylacine
15 Jun 2006, 17:43
You must have come across some seriously mellowing hooch you've found in one of your old hippy jackets TT. Seem a bit distressed at everyone not being chill man. ;)
Knighter didn't get the treatment people are displaying. Cambo got sent off in a fitting manner, Richo will get a ticker-tape parade and a national holiday. Hell, we even clapped off Dunc and his spastic kicking boots.
But none of these have had a similar effect to Gas. We've seen him beat opponents, good opponents, no doubting that. But we've also seen him frawley up a truckload, earn a king's ransome (which is enough in my books. My boss may be a top bloke, doesn't stop me from thinking he's a walls due to the amount he earns) and now in more recent times (the bulldogs match earlier this year comes to mind), give up in front of our kids.
I won't boo him or bag him if it's over, he's done his service, but I won't shed a tear either.
I am in exactly the same camp Harv. I just don't see the need to be dancing in the streets when one of ours..emphasis on the word "ours", (i.e. he who was worn the yellow and black, at times with disctinction), meets his demise. I was never a Gaspar fan, in fact was spewing when we got him from bloody Sydney, I thought he wasnt right but fact remains he ended up part of our tribe for christ knows how many seasons and games. In my book he gets a little respect for that not instant crap. I feel the same way about Stafford too to be honest but if you pull on our jumper for any reasonable period of time and you dont disgrace it you get respect from me.
Apart from the Bulldogs act I cant recall him being in the disgrace category too often at all. Now...pass the roach ya greedy bugger...
footy4eva
15 Jun 2006, 18:27
gas does not deserve 1 more game, he is overrated and cant even get a kick in the seconds!
terry will not play gas unless he suddenly starts kicking but and suddenly learns how to kick.
we are at rnd 11, he has 1/2 a yr left in his contract, like chaffey , he will finish his overated career at the burgers
gas does not deserve 1 more game, he is overrated and cant even get a kick in the seconds!
terry will not play gas unless he suddenly starts kicking but and suddenly learns how to kick.
we are at rnd 11, he has 1/2 a yr left in his contract, like chaffey , he will finish his overated career at the burgers
welcome to Big Footy footy4eva:thumbsu:...or will Eva be suffice?:confused:
TheGlove
16 Jun 2006, 10:18
Interesting when Caro said of Gas in the ressies, that a couple of years ago we would have never seen that, Plough responded well, "Now's not two years ago"
Imagine spuds response to that, would have been 3 or 4 cliches rolled into one...he's at a cross in the road , needs to look in the mirror and really step up to the plate and be a contributor:p
Don't forget "He's a tip top player and with a few weeks in the 2's I reckon he'll be Cherry Ripe for the picking"
I miss the cliche's. :) But thats about all I miss.
Jesus TT. What's the alternative? Go out there boys and no matter how hard it is and how bad you perform we'll stick by you? We've been sticking by average friggn players for 25 years. We've been missing that very bit of ruthlessness that used to make us such a great footy club.
Its a fantatsic message to every player at the footy club. You dont perform, you dont belong. No more soft pretenders getting paid to lose footy games and not even try.
Kurtis G
16 Jun 2006, 16:42
Speaking of media stuff...
I was reading the team lists this morning in the Herald and, in the notes for the Hawthorn v Richmond game, they had the usual GOOD and BAD for both teams.
Our "GOOD" was how well Simmonds is playing, our "BAD" was that we have lost three of the past four to Hawthorn... well as we know its the other way round.
It really riled me, mainly because its the third "statistical error" I have read about the Tigers in the past ten days.
Ohwell we should small the Hawks anyway. Bad news about Gaspar, I hope he regains his form and breaks back into our side, seems to have, above all things, lost his pace in my opinion.
True Thylacine
16 Jun 2006, 17:58
Jesus TT. What's the alternative? Go out there boys and no matter how hard it is and how bad you perform we'll stick by you? We've been sticking by average friggn players for 25 years. We've been missing that very bit of ruthlessness that used to make us such a great footy club.
Its a fantatsic message to every player at the footy club. You dont perform, you dont belong. No more soft pretenders getting paid to lose footy games and not even try.
Nope 1980 ...just a balance between the two. I highly doubt Gas or Staff will be pulling the boots on next season but I think we can do a tad better than just ...hey bloke..Frawley Off! Somewhere more like...Thanks for your efforts BUT...you use by date is up.....we need to change so.....? I 'd actually like to see these 2 having an active role with the likes of Knobel and Thursfield beyond just competing for a position. Being ruthless and being respectful aren't mutually exclusive in my book.
I dont agree that we dont treat our players with respect. We rever the ones that tried their best for the club. You cant put guys like Gaspar in the same category as club legends. He played, he got paid. He's given nothing more and deserves nothing more.
I just wish we were far more ruthless with others in the past. Or are you of the opinion that we mistreated Daffy as well?
Its been like a friggn holiday camp down at Punt Rd for 20 years with players that would struggle to make any of the other AFL teams just turning up for work and no passion about winning or giving their best. Its only when you rid the club of this culture and breed young kids hungry to succeed that this club will be back to where it belongs. We were bar none the single most ruthless club when we were winning premierships, and its finally starting to get that way again. Gaspar is no role model for the team. He is a mercenary that will have nothing to do with Richmond when he retires, whether he's treated well or burnt at the stake.