View Full Version : Who's an 80s kid on our board
MrAaron
15 Jun 2006, 19:32
I was 4 in July 1980 so I spose I was. why ?
please for god sake expand your original post, it looks like a crap thread like that
I was 4 in July 1980 so I spose I was. why ?
please for god sake expand your original post, it looks like a crap thread like that
ROLMAOOOOOO
Sorry u anal sob.
I was a teen by the mid 80s and wished to hear from other such supporters as we have experienced the same football and Music.
Stuff like watching the footy at the old G behind the goals,standing end,blue light discos,plastic clappers,etc
tigerdan
15 Jun 2006, 19:55
I was born in 73, not sure if that makes me a 70's or 80's kid.
Did go to the old G a few times (grew up on the coast so did not get to Melb a lot), I remember the bloody girders used to get in the way so you couldn't see.
I wish that clown Aaron had been at my school, would have been a few years younger than me and would have copped a few floggings for being such a poindexter.
u r an 80s kid TigerDan.
Welcome.:D
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 20:15
I was born in the 70s and I must say I only really like music spanning the period 1968-1983 and most of it is English ;) That was where the best stuff is, but you will find the rare goodie outside that period. But I hate all that hair music, all that American cheese, poorly recorded cokc rock ;). Simple bass lines with cheesy guitar solos and bad drum sounds hehe. I even hate the other American bands like Van Halen, ACDC, Guns n roses and Metallica. YAWN :o. But there's alot of crappy 70s too, such as ACDC, Meatloaf :D. Todays music bores me mainly too lol.
Rancid_Beasties
15 Jun 2006, 20:34
other American bands like Van Halen, ACDC, Guns n roses and Metallica. YAWN :o. But there's alot of crappy 70s too, such as ACDC, Meatloaf :D. Todays music bores me mainly too lol.
What. The. Frawley. AC/DC are not American, they are either Australian or British depending on whether you would argue that place of birth, or the place you grew up and got your start in the music industry is your nationality. How could you not know that they are Aussies?
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 20:42
I know they are aussie, I just added them in cos they are 80s
nugget_12
15 Jun 2006, 21:04
im 86
MrAaron
15 Jun 2006, 21:06
well my 1st memory of a football game ws unfortunately the 1986 elimination final @ VFL Park against Fitzroy. 8o(
I was born in the 70s and I must say I only really like music spanning the period 1968-1983 and most of it is English ;) That was where the best stuff is, but you will find the rare goodie outside that period. But I hate all that hair music, all that American cheese, poorly recorded cokc rock ;). Simple bass lines with cheesy guitar solos and bad drum sounds hehe. I even hate the other American bands like Van Halen, ACDC, Guns n roses and Metallica. YAWN :o. But there's alot of crappy 70s too, such as ACDC, Meatloaf :D. Todays music bores me mainly too lol.AC/DC ...American ???
RALMAROOOOOOOOOO
You dikc madness
So who you like besides Jethro Tull ?
1980GFVideo
15 Jun 2006, 22:11
The big question from the era was
Who was hotter Sabrina or Samantha fox?
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:17
My all time top 10 are:
Jethro Tull
Gentle Giant
Camel
YES
Genesis
Rush
Deep Purple
Black Sabbath
King Crimson
Frank Zappa
I'm also a fan of
Led zeppelin
Pink floyd
elp
cream
hendrix
doors
caravan
mahavishnu orchestra
goblin
supertramp
niacin
devo
UK
hatfield and the north
dixie dregs
jimmy smith
van der graaf generator
pfm
split enz
and lots more :D
Faberge` stretch denim
Desert Boots
Racers with BMX handle bars
Skate Ranch
Galaga
92.3 EON FM
3XY
Hopping the fence in the members at Waverly
Maurice Rioli
6 pack of VB`s for 5 bucks
Wogs V`s the Skips
Ben Lexcen
Ash Wednesday
Princess Di and Chuck trucking up Springy rd. past the Burv
Getting into the races at Caulfield free for under 15 whilst being 19
Kicking the ball on the "G" after the game ... back-slapping the players as they left ground
Helen Damico
Music...............
The Angels
Rose Tattoo
Midnight Oil
Divynils
Australian Crawl
INXS
Dragon
Hunters and Collectors
Heady Days indeed oxx
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:23
Those were the days, The fukcen good old days :)
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 22:23
i was born in 73. so yeah im an 80s child. my first 13 years were in moe of all places, what a hole so glad we moved away from there, then we moved to s.e. qld so didnt see alot of footy in my teenage years. got to the g and waverley a few times with my older brother the most memorable sitting behind the goals at the g while we thrashed the pies back in the early 80s. as for music i like alot spaning that era up until now, even some 70s like pink floyd etc. and now am into alternative rock mostly. used to sing and play in a band a little while ago but that fell apart unfortunately.
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:25
I was born in 73 Darth ;). What month were you? What date? lol
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 22:25
The Angels
Rose Tattoo
Midnight Oil
Divynils
Australian Crawl
INXS
Dragon
Hunters and Collectors
i was a big fan of those bands too. hunters and the angels were particularly my favs.
my first 13 years were in moe of all places,Darth ... do you realise the ammunition you have just dished up :eek:
Punt_Road_Roar
15 Jun 2006, 22:27
Those were the days ...............
BMX bandits, Goonies & Lost Boys
what a try hard I once was
LMAO
:p
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:28
Originally Posted by IDGAF
The Angels -crap
Rose Tattoo-crap
Midnight Oil-some good songs
Divynils-crap
Australian Crawl-some good very early songs
INXS-crappy, but a couple of good very early songs
Dragon-a couple of good songs
Hunters and Collectors-crap
:D
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:29
I bet IDGAF used to masturbate over Paul and Charlene when he watched neighbours in the 80s :D
BMX bandits
:pLMAO @ Merrick and Rosso going up to Nicole Kidman at a premier in Sydney last year and asking her about that film ... she was genuinely pi.ssing herself
Lost Boys was great flick ... Cory Feldman - legend :thumbsu:
Paul and Charlene Scott and Charlene you fukcwit
I bet you used to shoot your Wad over Nana Mouskouri and her Coke Bottle glasses
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:33
Scott and Charlene you fukcwit
You'd know them better than me, you wan ked over them ;)
Punt_Road_Roar
15 Jun 2006, 22:34
LMAO @ Merrick and Rosso going up to Nicole Kidman at a premier in Sydney last year and asking her about that film ... she was genuinely pi.ssing herself
Lost Boys was great flick ... Cory Feldman - legend :thumbsu:
Another Cory Feldman movie and one of my all time favourites
Stand by Me :p
Man the 80's were great, you could look like a slob and it was the "cool" look.
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:35
I wan ked over Demis Roussos, but not nana. My nana wouldn't be impressed
Madtiger2006
15 Jun 2006, 22:36
the best thing about the 80s was Back to the future
Stand by Me :p
Man the 80's were great, you could look like a slob and it was the "cool" look."Stand By Me" is one of my all time favourite movies punter :thumbsu:
.... and as for the "80`s" look ... it`s stil working for me :p
I wan ked over Demis Roussos, but not nana. My nana wouldn't be impressedLMAO ... it`s been so long since we danced Madness
Punt_Road_Roar
15 Jun 2006, 22:39
LOL yeah but it annoyed me that it took them so bloody long to release number 2
the Sports Almanac ! :thumbsu: now that was the best idea ever
Bet you wan,ked over Michael J Fox as well ... probably still do
Punt_Road_Roar
15 Jun 2006, 22:44
"Stand By Me" is one of my all time favourite movies punter :thumbsu:
.... and as for the "80`s" look ... it`s stil working for me :p
All I heard was "Sik Balls" LMFAO
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 22:45
Darth ... do you realise the ammunition you have just dished up :eek:
yeah i know, i just think its funny. i escaped from there at 13 and my parents are from england anyway so im not inbred or born of local moe 'stock'. just unlucky to be born and raised in such a hole. rofl.
yeah i know, i just think its funny. i escaped from there at 13 and my parents are from england anyway so im not inbred or born of local moe 'stock'. just unlucky to be born and raised in such a hole. rofl.Good to hear DT :thumbsu:
No forks in that family tree
The Dice Man
15 Jun 2006, 22:52
Born in 74 here..
Ferris Beuller's Day Off,
The Young Ones,
Everton winning
Police Academy,
Rocky,
The B52's
Michael Roach,
Bob Hawke,
The old Southern Stand.....
The Young Ones,
F..kin A :thumbsu:
"Living on limits :confused: ..... what .... you on a diet"?
The Dice Man
15 Jun 2006, 23:01
F..kin A :thumbsu:
"Living on limits :confused: ..... what .... you on a diet"?
Best Show Ever!!! (followed very closely by Arrested Development)
Think I might get out the video tonight and have a laugh, for the billionth time..
"Yes we've got a Video!!!!!"
Oh and you can add VHS Vs Beta to the list. Did anyone here actually have a Beta player?
tigerdan
15 Jun 2006, 23:20
Bob Hawke,
How bad/cool(?) was Hawkey's 'Australia Flag' suit when Australia won the America's cup, and declared a public holiday: "Any boss who sacks a worker for not showing up tomorrow is a mug!"
Born: March 73
Fave band ever: Pixies - I will be totally stoked if there are other fans out there.
80's memories:
Oakley Frogskins
Fluoro zinc cream
tight boardshorts
Marele off 'Family Ties'
Hating Dermie/Hawthorn but also wanting to play CHF
Thin leather Ties
Spikes and undercuts
Big Trouble in Little China and Gremlins
Kim Hughes crying and 'Big Joel Garner'
Moustaches were legitimate
Knight Rider
etc etc
The Dice Man
15 Jun 2006, 23:29
You could add Hypercolor T Shirts to your list there Tigerdan... I never had one as I thought they were crap.
I did have some Sweathog trackie daks but :o
Oh and the ****ing A-Team!!!! :thumbsu:
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 23:49
Best Show Ever!!! (followed very closely by Arrested Development)
Think I might get out the video tonight and have a laugh, for the billionth time..
"Yes we've got a Video!!!!!"
Oh and you can add VHS Vs Beta to the list. Did anyone here actually have a Beta player?
'have we got a video?'
how about neil's 'open up its the pigs' or 'i am not getting agressive!!!!!!!!' 'you are rick....i can sense it'. classic stuff.
you have great taste dice man. im still praying that we get another season of arrested development.
btw i had a friend who had a beta video player.
Huge mound of tettering crockery.... Viv... really quickly...
Great thread.
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 23:52
Oh and the ****ing A-Team!!!! :thumbsu:
i remember crying one week because my mum wouldnt let me watch the a-team. rofl at the thought now :D
The Dice Man
15 Jun 2006, 23:53
My favorite part of the entire series is at the start of Bambi. While Rik is telling Mike and Vyv about Mary (Good ole yellow pages), they flash back and foward to neil who's running home with some really, really important news.
Neil runs around a corner and trips over a bin.. a dead brid rolls out, and he looks at it, then picks it up and puts it in his bag to save it for dinner later on.
I reckon Ive rewound that part 100s of times and it has me in stitches every single time :D
I swear this is absolutely no joke... I just went to the kitchen to check on Mrs Leper knocking up some dinner, asked what was for tea... and she goes "leftovers Vivian" in Neil voice (balance of last night's gang kaew wan gai) without even knowing about this thread.
Karma^5 Chameleon or what????:cool:
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 23:58
so many great scenes. one of my favs is when viv sticks his head out the train window and it gets ripped off, then when his body is walking around looking for it he says 'im over here you bastard' and his body walks over and kicks the head. i need to watch it again rofl.
Darth_Tiger
15 Jun 2006, 23:59
I swear this is absolutely no joke... I just went to the kitchen to check on Mrs Leper knocking up some dinner, asked what was for tea... and she goes "leftovers Vivian" in Neil voice (balance of last night's gang kaew wan gai) without even knowing about this thread.
thats classic!!! :D as long as she doesnt serve you neil style rissoto.
The Dice Man
16 Jun 2006, 00:00
:D:D:D:D
1. Adidas Romes :thumbsu:
2. The chick in the Thriller filmclip oh and ... Charlene Tilton (drool)
3. Redstone Speed Rollerskates
4. iron on t-shirts with durries rolled up into the sleeve
5. breakdancin
and who could ever forget that fantastic band ROXUS :D
so many great scenes. one of my favs is when viv sticks his head out the train window and it gets ripped off, then when his body is walking around looking for it he says 'im over here you bastard' and his body walks over and kicks the head. i need to watch it again rofl.
Funny you should mention that Darth... I just posted this on the Carlton board the other day... "Walls - play the young ones" thread...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5258256&postcount=16
tigerdan
16 Jun 2006, 00:14
Hahaha,
Young ones....
How about the bomb one:
"Thatcher - we've got a bomb... Do what we say, or we'll blow it up. Signed Rik. No, I mean... Neil!, yes, put NEIL"
Someone on this site actually had their address (17 Credibility St) as their 'location'.
Or the 'Drive a Steak through it's heart" vampire one where they put a steak on the bonnet of Vivian's car and try to run Alexi Sayle over.
Too many others to put on the list!!!
..and who could ever forget that fantastic band ROXUS :D
Shhhhhhhh... but I was going to ask, are the Captain Spalding band still playing Simple Minds covers at the Riverside on Saturday nights? More juice in those guys than the Eveready Bunny!
Was a teenager myself in the 80's.
Most of you guys would remember :
A Flock of Seagulls
Psuedo Echo
Kids in th Kitchen
Spandau Ballet
Tears for Fears
U2 (Before they were well known)
New Order
Mental as Anything
Just to name a few.
Late seventies, the classic HZ Kingswood:eek:
Ahhh, the nostalgia.:D
Shhhhhhhh... but I was going to ask, are the Captain Spalding band still playing Simple Minds covers at the Riverside on Saturday nights? More juice in those guys than the Eveready Bunny!
Don't tell me that their still gigging.
Dear fascist bully boy.
Give me some more money you bastard.
May the seed of your loins be fruitful in the belly of your woman.
Boomshanka.
And that little spunkster out front lol :thumbsu:
The Dice Man
16 Jun 2006, 00:36
He was a big Tiger fan wasnt he?
For some bizzarre reason I think about that guy every time I transit through Bali to slip one into Schappelle's "10th". ;)
He was a big Tiger fan wasnt he?
I believe he was and is a "HUGE" fan of the Tiges :thumbsu:
The Dice Man
16 Jun 2006, 00:46
Sorry... didnt mean to put him in past context, along with his fame ;) :p
He's anything but past anything, Diceman - just good at avoiding the limelight ;)
A legend I'd put him in :thumbsu:
I think i better go to bed lol - sorry Oxx for hijacking your thread.
I was gonna start a '60s one because i was feeling left out of this one lol - but who wants to talk about Pat Boone, Col Joye and Little Pattie lol
Who? they say hahahahaha!!!
The Dice Man
16 Jun 2006, 00:56
He's anything but past anything, Diceman - just good at avoiding the limelight ;)
I wasnt meaning to offend, I sense some sort of old crush at work here;)
I cant remember their songs, but I recall he had a pretty strong voice with a big range. And for some strange reason he makes me think of teh dude from 1927 too... he gets around the Goldy playing gigs here and there and I know personally at least 3 chicks who've banged him.
He reminds me of Warrick Capper... B grade Gold Coast celebrities :D
He was a good singer but the drummer was hopeless.
Other Oz acts in the 80s
The Truth
Geisha (Geisha Detal) -more than a game singer
Show of Hands
Young Homebuyers
The Tony Katz band
Janz -lmao
Go 101
Wyldland
Club Life
Punch ons in the car park of the Waltzing Matilda Hotel every Friday and Saturday night.Sometimes Wednesdays.
The Chevron Tuesday and Sunday(late) nights.
Chasers -Hard n' Fast.
The Cadillac Bar - kileed some brain cells there.
The Razor Club
The Cathouse - ROLMFAO
Night club membership medallions,
The Tok H -LOL
The Olive Tree
Cafe Venice
Falling in love with Door chicks.
Movies
The Breakfast club.
Scarface
Bachelor Party
Animal House
Lost Boys
Street Hero - Vince Collosi-lmao
TV
Different Strokes
Charles in Charge - Nicole Eggert the love of my pubescent life
Alex Papps-rolmao
Molly and countdown
and just straight up partying your ars off.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
hyperswivel
16 Jun 2006, 08:36
I was born in 81... and at the age of 8 chose the Hawks as my football team... good timing for short-term gain, long-term pain.
Should be fun this week Tiger.;)
MadTuggers shoes in the 80s,90s,00,
http://i10.ebayimg.com/02/i/07/67/5e/d8_1_b.JPG
worn outside the jeans.
Also in the 80s
Fat wog chicks dressing up like Madonna and actually getting laid.
Well done girls.
Harvey Leadpipe
16 Jun 2006, 10:13
Acid wash jeans, mullet, AC/DC Fly on the Wall T-shirt, blue flanno on thinking I was top s--t at the age of 16, I rocked up to the party of the year with my 6 Vic cans and 6 West Coast Coolers under the arms. I planned on putting the moves on Melissa (can't remember her last name), who had crimped (?) hair like the chick out of Flashdance. She was awesome.
90 minutes laters I'm asleep under a brand new VB Commodore with chuck all over me, and some gudgeon slashing on my legs.
Best night ever.
Harvey Leadpipe
16 Jun 2006, 10:14
Fat wog chicks dressing up like Madonna and actually getting laid.
Well done girls.
I may or may not have been helping them out in that dept.:eek:
Like the disclaimer Harvey. God, I had permed long hair with the spike on top. Can't believe I'm admitting to that. I have the photos to prove it but they are under lock and key.
Remember wearing the silk trackies with the bottoms tucked into the Converse sports socks and the Adidas Rome sneakers?
julzqld
16 Jun 2006, 12:51
Princess Di and Chuck trucking up Springy rd. past the Burv
I remember seeing that.
Yes I was a teenager in the 80's. Had the big hair and shoulder pads.
Roxus? What a blast from the past. I remember seeing Kate Cebrano with I'm Talking at Moomba before they were well known.
Ahh the 80's. With boyfriends who had panel vans much to my father's disgust. Loved the music. Remember playing Galaga in some place in Russell Street. Wore dessert boots to school with jumpers tied around the waist.
Also remember going to see Bon Jovi the first time they ever came to Australia. Loved 1927. Saw David Bowie's "Glass Spider" concert at Kooyong.
Big Punt
16 Jun 2006, 13:41
Remember playing Galaga in some place in Russell Street.
I was addicted to that game in my school years, HAD to stop past Dominic's Espresson Bar on the way home from school every day to try and beat the record.
Late 80's - Monday nights at Billboard was an obligatory social commitment. Doing the "bus-stop" :o
I was addicted to that game in my school years, HAD to stop past Dominic's Espresson Bar on the way home from school every day to try and beat the record.
Late 80's - Monday nights at Billboard was an obligatory social commitment. Doing the "bus-stop" :o
was that in Clayton ?
Punt_Road_Roar
16 Jun 2006, 14:08
I remember seeing that.
Yes I was a teenager in the 80's. Had the big hair and shoulder pads.
Roxus? What a blast from the past. I remember seeing Kate Cebrano with I'm Talking at Moomba before they were well known.
Ahh the 80's. With boyfriends who had panel vans much to my father's disgust. Loved the music. Remember playing Galaga in some place in Russell Street. Wore dessert boots to school with jumpers tied around the waist.
Also remember going to see Bon Jovi the first time they ever came to Australia. Loved 1927. Saw David Bowie's "Glass Spider" concert at Kooyong.
LMAO @ me scoring a chick at a party cause I knew some 1927 songs ...............
memories
Big Punt
16 Jun 2006, 14:31
was that in Clayton ?
Yep. Had to walk through the area with all the shady characters playing the card game machines, under-the-table gambling of course.
LMAO - I probably know you.
Remember Tivolis?
Were you in on the "top secret" method of getting the bugs to stop shooting?
I can't remember the details, but I think you had to let the entire first rack fly in without shooting any of them; then shoot all but one or two specific bugs (I think it was the 2 bottom left ones :confused: ). You then left them alone until eventually these one or two would stop shooting. You then took them out, and for the entire game none of the bugs would shoot. Easy to clock it!
Geoorge W thought he had the same stategy worked out for Iraq, but obviously the CIA Frawleyed up the intelligence.
Were you in on the "top secret" method of getting the bugs to stop shooting?
I can't remember the details, but I think you had to let the entire first rack fly in without shooting any of them; then shoot all but one or two specific bugs (I think it was the 2 bottom left ones :confused: ). You then left them alone until eventually these one or two would stop shooting. You then took them out, and for the entire game none of the bugs would shoot. Easy to clock it!
Geoorge W thought he had the same stategy worked out for Iraq, but obviously the CIA Frawleyed up the intelligence.
LMAO
U musta been hardcore man.
LMAO
U musta been hardcore man.
Ask IDGAF next time you are chatting... I think it was his brainchild :D
Grenade
16 Jun 2006, 16:02
Born in 77 - young child of the eighties, memories include:
Playing first gig at Sub Zero in Syndal
Rubik's Cube
Garbage Gang Kids Cards
KISS showbags
Duffle Coats were mandatory at the footy
Growing Pains
Nightmare on Elm Street
Commodore 64's
The A-Team
Pat Benetar's leg warmers
Watching He-Man before school
Eating McFeast's
Swatch Watches
MAX HEADROOM....:D
Club Life
Punch ons in the car park of the Waltzing Matilda Hotel every Friday and Saturday night.Sometimes Wednesdays.
The Chevron Tuesday and Sunday(late) nights.
Chasers -Hard n' Fast.
The Cadillac Bar - kileed some brain cells there.
The Razor Club
The Cathouse - ROLMFAO
Night club membership medallions,
The Tok H -LOL
The Olive Tree
Cafe Venice
Falling in love with Door chicks.
and just straight up partying your ars off.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
LMFAO OX. I worked behind the bar in 5 of those places.
[QUOTE=froars]He's anything but past anything, Diceman - just good at avoiding the limelight ;)
[QUOTE]
Hmmmmmmmmm.. 2+2 ?
I was around in the eighties - in fact I was in my twenties. That is why the wedding singer is one of my fav comedy movies.
Always get the 80's music questions at the Wednesday trivia nights at the vic on hyde in yarraville.
By the way - I made it back from Istanbul in one piece - many thanks to the upgrades from Emirates.
Coughlan
16 Jun 2006, 17:22
My all time top 10 are:
Jethro Tull
Gentle Giant
Camel
YES
Genesis
Rush
Deep Purple
Black Sabbath
King Crimson
Frank Zappa
I'm also a fan of
Led zeppelin
Pink floyd
elp
cream
hendrix
doors
caravan
mahavishnu orchestra
goblin
supertramp
niacin
devo
UK
hatfield and the north
dixie dregs
jimmy smith
van der graaf generator
pfm
split enz
and lots more :D
Guns 'n' Roses>All those bands, you know it i know it everybody knows it, and they espiacially kick the **** out of Black Sabboth
Madtiger2006
16 Jun 2006, 17:45
lol guns n roses are rubbish. Sabbath are miles better. Guns n Roses were a cokc rock scrubber band. ;)
Dear fascist bully boy.
Give me some more money you bastard.
May the seed of your loins be fruitful in the belly of your woman.
Boomshanka.Thats "Darling fascist bully boy" Leper
LMAO - I probably know you.
Remember Tivolis?
Oxx, I was so much a regular at Tiv's that my parents banned me from going there!
(P.S. Did you get the reply I sent to you via PM? It was only about 6 months after you sent yours! :p)
I was born in 1968... the 80's for me were from ages 12 ... 22! I guess that qualifies me!
There are some more gems from the 80's
Penguin Pants
Ciak shoes
Pastel Lemon/Pink V-Neck jumpers
Charles in Charge - Nicole Eggert the love of my pubescent life
RALMMAROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
I swear on my mothers grave this is a true story .
Was she the one called "Jaimi" ??
I called my oldest daughter after her .... i schit you not
LMAOOOOOOOOO
Was a teenager myself in the 80's.
Most of you guys would remember :
Psuedo Echo
I went to see the Melbourne Storm play Cronulla at the 'G a few years back. Half time entertainment....
PSUEDO ECHO!!!!
I've given this story a run before... but what the hell, this is one of my endearing memories of Roxus and Ricky Jackson...
Vestre Roxas went to the same school as me - St. Peters, Clayton - and was a year ahead. His dad (Vestre Snr) was also a decent musician, being a well known local jazz man.
Former Melbourne/Bulldogs rover Ricky Jackson started playing junior football for Clayton, but was a weedy little kid in Under 10's and couldn't get a game. So he left and started playing with another side - Dandenon West.
A few years later, Clayton Under 14's played Dandenong West in a Grand Final, of which DW won by a few points.
By way of a celebration (commiseration?), all the Clayton U14 kids were shouted a pie each, which was brought out to them on the ground on a tray while the coach spoke to them.
While this was going on, the father of Ricky Jackson (who was a motor mouth) came over to this huddle and started giving us some Gieschen about having gotten rid of his son years earlier. This tirade of abuse went of for a few minutes before a cocky young Clayton kid turned around and shoved his steaming hot pie straight into the face of Mr Jackson.
The kid was none other than Vestre Roxas!!!
CJH of the mid-80's was pure bogan.
Short spiked hair on top.
Mullet down to the shoulder blades
A rat's tail that was long enough to wrap right around my head
Ripped Acid Wash jeans with grafitti
Either barefoot or with mocco's on
Green Army jacket covered in chains and heavy metal badges (these from a shop almost next door to Tiv's in Clayton - near the bike shop)
Punt_Road_Roar
16 Jun 2006, 19:09
The 80's
Fluro Colours Hot Pink Board shorts and Fluro Orange/Green Shirts
Or Converse "All Stars" Sneakers
mighty tiges
16 Jun 2006, 19:33
Getting home after school and turning on the ABC to watch the Goodies, Kenny Everitt, Dr Who and Battle of the Planets. Oh and Danger Mouse and Roger Ramjet lol. Then there was Cheers and Hey Hey it's Saturday (before it became dated),
Ah the 80's:
TV -
Miami Vice
Knight Rider (lol @ the Hoff)
21 Jump Street
Who's the Boss
Hey Dad,
Full House,
Cosby Show,
Family Ties,
Different Strokes,
Growing Pains,
Alf lol
Music -
Duran Duran,
Bros,
Wham,
Spandau Ballet,
Michael Jackson,
Def Lepard,
Culture Club,
Pseudo Echo,
Poison,
John Farnham,
Noiseworks,
Billy Idol
All the dance music with maximum treble and no bass that can still be heard 24/7 on Double X in the Southern suburbs lol.
Movies -
Top Gun,
Karate Kid,
Teenage Ninja Turtles,
ET,
Vietnam films (Platoon),
Slasher films (Nightmare on Elm Street),
Multi-sequels (Police Academy and anything with Arnie, Stallone and Eddie Murphy)
All those teen flicks with the same plot of either four nerds trying to lose their virginity (Porky's, Revenge of the Nerds and the 100 different ones that followed) or teens from different backgrounds stuck together and finding common ground (Breakfast Club).
Clothes - skinny leather ties, pascal shirts, skin-tight jeans, raybans, fingerless gloves,.. :o
Aren't you glad it's 2006 :p
Crumden
16 Jun 2006, 19:41
Leg warmers :thumbsd:
Boy George and Marilyn :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Collingwood trade wars :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
The 80's weren't all good.
Darth_Tiger
16 Jun 2006, 20:02
Thats "Darling fascist bully boy" Leper
oh why dont you go there and put your tounge straight down the back of his trousers.
The '80's was a time when it was 'in' to be broke.
Being involved in the Horse racing industry was also more enjoyable as well.
Great times :thumbsu:
tomthetiger
17 Jun 2006, 02:38
Really? I thought the 80s was all about making money, capatalism and conservatism? Wasn't the 70s more accepting of those with a thinner wallet? Oh well, what do I know, Im just a boy growing up in the new millenium.
CJH of the mid-80's was pure bogan.
Short spiked hair on top.
Mullet down to the shoulder blades
A rat's tail that was long enough to wrap right around my head
Ripped Acid Wash jeans with grafitti
Either barefoot or with mocco's on
Green Army jacket covered in chains and heavy metal badges (these from a shop almost next door to Tiv's in Clayton - near the bike shop)
ROOLLON;