View Full Version : Name a player who you were sad to see not make it as a Bomber??
I can think of one honest player in the mid to late 90s that I wish had've turned things around for himself...Peter Berbakov. Reliable, hard working with minimal of fuss.
Glenn Manton :D
....nah seriously, maybe Corey McGrath
MrAaron
16 Jun 2006, 10:58
The Next John Coleman ... none other than fatty fatty Scott Cummings
Daytripper
16 Jun 2006, 11:03
Two players from the 80s.
Andrew Underwood and Bradley Plain.
Both played quite a few games for us but I think they had a lot more ability than what they showed.
Longy413
16 Jun 2006, 11:08
Would have been handy if Jon Brown's old man played another 40 odd games for us.
Please don't say that, being 1-10 is hard enough to take as it is :D
Longy413
16 Jun 2006, 11:25
Please don't say that, being 1-10 is hard enough to take as it is :D
He'd probably sneak into our side at the moment.
jules101
16 Jun 2006, 11:42
Spine:
Fletcher
Lucas
Watson
Brown
Lloyd (if he wasn't injured)
not bad...
Let's Fly Jetstar!
16 Jun 2006, 11:42
Under the radar, somewhere.
Let's Fly Jetstar!
16 Jun 2006, 11:43
Spine:
Fletcher
Lucas
Watson
Brown
Lloyd (if he wasn't injured)
not bad...
Meh. :)
Philzsay
16 Jun 2006, 13:23
Yeah Brian Brown (Jon's dad) played two games for us in 1983. He had played 51 for Fitzroy between 76-81. He broke his leg twice which cut his career short. (source Brisbane Lions website)
You win some you lose some. In the same token Matt Lloyd could have been taken as a father-son for Carlton if his father played another 20 odd games for the Blues. I am not sure how well we would have fared in 2000 without Lloyd!
Jimmy Gwilt
16 Jun 2006, 13:31
good thread by the way - surprised there hasnt been more replies
ive seen many a bomber that i was sad to see not make the grade
danny morgan
andrew ukovic
judd lalich
matt banks
andrew bomford
shane harvey - was an absolute freak as a junior
Boris_Bewick
16 Jun 2006, 13:36
Always gonna be sad about Ted Richards not having the chance to make it
I know he isn't a superstar with the Swans but he is a regular and I believe it's only a matter of time before he becomes a reliable consistant player (similar to how Craig Bolton became a top player)
Teddy could have been a solid player with Essendon and been much better value than Mark Bolton has and is.
Boris_Bewick
16 Jun 2006, 13:37
good thread by the way - surprised there hasnt been more replies
ive seen many a bomber that i was sad to see not make the grade
danny morgan
andrew ukovic
judd lalich
matt banks
andrew bomford
shane harvey - was an absolute freak as a junior
Maybe sad not to see them make it, but surely they weren 't good enough?
Especially Bomford, didn't think he was even close to cutting it as an AFL footballer
Longy413
16 Jun 2006, 14:31
Maybe sad not to see them make it, but surely they weren 't good enough?
Especially Bomford, didn't think he was even close to cutting it as an AFL footballer
I'm pretty sure we traded Bomford back to Sydney for the pick that got us Danny Jacobs. DJ was obviously traded for the pick that got us Bradley.
So in the long run, Bomford became Bradley.
Darealrath
16 Jun 2006, 14:32
Bradley Plain.
Heh i used to really like him. Bit of a poor man's Daicos but i loved his goal celebrations.
Cupido.
Willie ****
Dwayne Armstrong
Tutlan Goaner
Doc Wheilden
Stephen Milne (when on song)
Jordan Bannister
Ben Haynes
Damian Cupido
Boris_Bewick
16 Jun 2006, 17:09
Stephen Milne (when on song)
Explain?
Was he a Bombers reserve or something?
Boris_Bewick
16 Jun 2006, 17:10
I'm pretty sure we traded Bomford back to Sydney for the pick that got us Danny Jacobs. DJ was obviously traded for the pick that got us Bradley.
So in the long run, Bomford became Bradley.
Trust me I wasn't sad to see Bomford go (I was referring to Jimmy's post)
I thought Bomford was a Grade A battler.
Explain?
Was he a Bombers reserve or something?
Was a Bomber rookie around 99'-00' when we were a force, just couldn't get a game like many others at the time.
I liked Plain as well but he just didn't have the dedication to make it. He kicked a bag of 8 one night against Sydney and played for Victoria so his career wasn't a total waste but he could have been so much better. Had all the skills. A bit like Allan Jackovich
Karlostj
16 Jun 2006, 17:56
Peter Cransberg for me. He sort of did make it, but was never really a regular. Battled hard in every match he played, one of my fav bombers!
Not sure how many seasons he was around for, but it must have been a fair few. Was a true Bomber!
I had high hopes for Daniel Maccalister. I also really liked Damien Cupido in his first season, and hoped he'd do well for us long term.
Adam Kingsley. Mark Williams took him to Port after he spent 2 or 3 years as a supp list player.
Nuts4Bolts
16 Jun 2006, 19:14
Micky Symons. What a loveable lunatic.
James Podsiadly, essendon rookie during 2000 I think it was. Has turned out to be a great VFL player as we all know for the Werribee Tigers, but it's disapointing he couldn't make it at the Bombers and just the AFL in general.
Bomaz_Magic
16 Jun 2006, 19:43
Symonds, Cransberg, Plain, Berbakov, Ukovic, Lalich.
And on a lessor note, with regards to the fact they played quite a few games but careers cut short, I'd say Moorcroft and Olarenshaw. Chuck in Cupidoll as well, could've been anything and you just wonder why Sheeds wasn't prepared to do what he did with blokes like Barry Young and turn their careers around.
jules101
16 Jun 2006, 19:46
Symonds, Cransberg, Plain, Berbakov, Ukovic, Lalich.
And on a lessor note, with regards to the fact they played quite a few games but careers cut short, I'd say Moorcroft and Olarenshaw.
Add Blumfield to the second list
eastaugh36
16 Jun 2006, 21:08
I can think of one honest player in the mid to late 90s that I wish had've turned things around for himself...Peter Berbakov. Reliable, hard working with minimal of fuss.
Berbakov was great. I had a good chat to him once at a function. Plus he is a Glenelg man!
eastaugh36
16 Jun 2006, 21:09
Marcus Pickett.
windyhill
17 Jun 2006, 01:52
Micky. Mark of the year. Kick it on the full.
windyhill
17 Jun 2006, 01:58
Tony Antrobus. Damian Cupido. Now Essendon have the "good bloke policy" I`m happy for Cupes to be out of this horror season. for the following reasons 1. not being a "good bloke" and 2 , not providing sheedy et. al. with a ready made excuse. Antrobus could have been anything , he was easily sucked in (constantly reported, hence the nickname, angry ant) and his back was totally rooted.
He could play Antrobus and apparently was a "good bloke"
IsDonIsGood
17 Jun 2006, 05:23
One of my favourite bombers during his time. Can remember him taking an absolute screamer of a mark one day at the G. He played some good games for us as a forward, although I was always on the edge of my seat whenever he was kicking for goal. He would have to rate with Andrew Dunkley in the kicking style stakes.
Longy413
17 Jun 2006, 12:45
Was a Bomber rookie around 99'-00' when we were a force, just couldn't get a game like many others at the time.
He was on our Supp list in 1999. Was a mate of Rama's and he pretty muched asked TD if he could get a run in the two's.
Played in the reserves flag that year and went across to London and kicked a few goals in that match. Ran an absolute muck and stepped on a few toes and that pretty much sealed his fate in terms of being drafted by Essendon.
St Kilda rookied him that year.
SydneyBomber
17 Jun 2006, 15:41
cupes & zantuck from recent times.
cupes - amazing talent wasted
zantuck - I liked him because he was a headcase, and I reckon we need that at the moment.
Stargazer
17 Jun 2006, 15:49
I'm showing my age here, but I always thought Robert Amos, a wingman in the 70's had it all. We wasted a lot of good players back then, Gary Parkes (another wingman) was another from that era who should have made more of himself.
He had a blue with someone at Essendon and sat out until they agreed to clear him to Richmond.
David Flood and Trevor Spencer looked the goods and were true men of Essendon, but just weren't up to the standard.
The "Angry Ant" Antrobus should have achieved a lot more than he did at Essendon - he had the ability and a touch of White Line fever as well - he was always getting into fights and getting himself suspended.
I think the club just gave up on him in the end, although injuries were also a factor.
Brad Plain was an odd fellow with a Midas touch around goals. He wasn't prepared to do the work and was eventually cleared to Collingwood where he fared no better.
Graeme Schultz came from Warracknabeal (I think ?) and was a short full forward with an eye for a goal. I remember his first game vividly.
He was picked in the forward pocket, this skinny 17 year old obviously over whelmed by his first game in the big time, and played on a bruiser from Richmond named Sheedy.
Sheeds hit Schultz so hard with an elbow his eye closed and his lip was split. Needless to say, he took no further part in the game.
Schultz was a an accurate kick, and a long kick, but neede a bigger body to play in a kpp. He certainly had skill and ability, but eventually returned home.
The one I liked the most was the high flyer from WA Michael Symons. We called him "13 steps" because some whizz at Essendon decided that to improve Micky's kicking, he needed to be balanced at the point of contact (boot to ball.) so they devised a method where he had a long run in before kicking on the mark for goal. It didn't work.
But still he gave us 100% out on the ground and still managed to play many good games for the club.
Mark Bolton .... When he was drafted at number 4 in 1997 I really Had HIGH hopes for the Kid. Unfortunately he just didn't live up to expectations
Neale Daniher cruelly Cut down by Injury... Didn't even captain the side after being named for the '82 season
eastaugh36
17 Jun 2006, 23:19
Tony Antrobus. Damian Cupido. Now Essendon have the "good bloke policy" I`m happy for Cupes to be out of this horror season. for the following reasons 1. not being a "good bloke" and 2 , not providing sheedy et. al. with a ready made excuse. Antrobus could have been anything , he was easily sucked in (constantly reported, hence the nickname, angry ant) and his back was totally rooted.
He could play Antrobus and apparently was a "good bloke"
Over here Antrobus is known more for his sanfl exploits. Typical angry moment, 1985 sanfl grand final, the ball goes over the line and he gets a shove by Ross Gibbs from Glenelg (Bryce's dad!) so he picks the ball up and throws it as hard as he can against Gibbs' back!
yellabellabingbooo
18 Jun 2006, 00:29
Mcallister, Hennaman I thought he was going to be a superstar.
thebigboy
19 Jun 2006, 16:52
Ladhams
Cupido and Haines.
Loved Symons, but would he count as not making it? I know his career got ended by knee injuries, but didn't he play in the 93 GF side? I know he played over 100 games.
If he just could've kicked for goal, :cool:
Oh, and had a brain.
didn't he play in the 93 GF side?
Nope. He played a fair few games and missed the GF.
Boris_Bewick
19 Jun 2006, 18:34
Cupido and Haines.
Loved Symons, but would he count as not making it? I know his career got ended by knee injuries, but didn't he play in the 93 GF side? I know he played over 100 games.
Oh, and had a brain.
I think he made it, got the best career out of himself that he could.
Like Peverill (not playing styles)
dannyboy
19 Jun 2006, 21:04
I was sad to see the rapid decline of Paul Hills, after 1993 his form and fitness faded, was a great attacking winger throughout 93, remember watching him and Hird running around in the Fosters Cup that year and thinking those young blonde guys are going to be stars.....half right I guess.
On a side note, Julian Kirzner used to take massive speccies every week in our reserves side in the mid 90's and I always wanted him to get a game, not sure if he ever did for us? I think ended up at North Melbourne.
Of more recent years, I had high hopes for Marc Bullen, especially after that semi final against Geelong...which in hindsight proved to be the highest point his career reached....
chipper
19 Jun 2006, 21:15
Kieran Sporn???????? (Ess best in 1990 Grand Final loss to pies)
bomber0018
19 Jun 2006, 23:26
I miss Teddy.
If only Cupes had his head on straight, had so much talent that boy
essendon
20 Jun 2006, 14:31
Paul Hamilton
Peter Francis
Dean Bailey
Ed Considine
Geoff Raines
Rene Kink
Brad Fox
Justin Murphy
Matthew Allan
Justin Davies
Adrian Burns
Max Crow
Stephen Taubert
Neil Besanko
1980GFVideo
20 Jun 2006, 17:30
Paul Hamilton
Peter Francis
Dean Bailey
Ed Considine
Geoff Raines
Rene Kink
Brad Fox
Justin Murphy
Matthew Allan
Justin Davies
Adrian Burns
Max Crow
Stephen Taubert
Neil Besanko
Hoping Rainsey would explain in his recent article what happened at Essendon but he simply said that he couldnt get going. People would have been excited about picking him up I would have thought at the time.
Did it have anything to do with Mike Richardson following him from club to club after the Colleen Hewitt incident.
What incident is this?
Another vote for cupido.
1980GFVideo
20 Jun 2006, 18:03
What incident is this?
Another vote for cupido.
Had a fight at training at Collingwood (Raines and Richardson) over her.
Dont know why to look at her.
Ended up following each other to Essendon and then to Brisbane
jules101
20 Jun 2006, 18:48
I was sad to see the rapid decline of Paul Hills, after 1993 his form and fitness faded, was a great attacking winger throughout 93, remember watching him and Hird running around in the Fosters Cup that year and thinking those young blonde guys are going to be stars.....half right I guess.
On a side note, Julian Kirzner used to take massive speccies every week in our reserves side in the mid 90's and I always wanted him to get a game, not sure if he ever did for us? I think ended up at North Melbourne.
Of more recent years, I had high hopes for Marc Bullen, especially after that semi final against Geelong...which in hindsight proved to be the highest point his career reached....
1 game, took an awesome mark in the goal square and in those days u had to be put on the angle and missed. Think that was the only time he touched it
Michael Werner- He looked like he was going to be a good ff- got rubbed out for slinging a hawthorn player- Pritchard? and never got going again. Adam Kingsley should have been an Odonnell clone and Danny Morgan was never good enough but a ripper player who got the absolute most out of himself to play league footy.
Squeaky
21 Jun 2006, 13:12
Cupido and Haines.
Oh, and had a brain.
Unfortunately Micky Symons was dropped after the win against WCE in the 93 finals series (can't remember which final it was) Was very quiet & it cost him a spot in the side.
Was Josh Mahoney on our list at some stage (rookie list??) He was a really good VFL player but couldn't make it in the bigs. Going OK now though!
blumfieldisback
24 Jun 2006, 12:49
im surprised no one said jacobs, i think that trade was wrong i think it should have been henneman or bolton or both. Jacobs is a qulaity pleyer just gets injured alot but if im comparing to henneman then this is not a factor
Jacobs was good and it was sad to see him go, but Hawthorn would not have made the trade unless Jacobs was included, they did not want Bolton
eastaugh36
24 Jun 2006, 18:24
Funnily enough there were many idiots at the time who saw more upside in Bolton and preferred him to DJ. These people are now surprisingly scarce. :rolleyes:
Being a top 5 draft pick I think people were hoping/praying he had a lot of room for improvement and potential to fill, sadly it never happened :o
Darren Walsh looks the goods against the Doggies in 04 if I recall. Maybe his light frame n lack of opportuity didnt work in his favour.
I was one of them. Sadly Bolts has done everything in his power to prove me wrong.
Still doesn't change the fact that Danny Boy asked to be traded whilst heavily intoxicated. Don't miss him one bit.
Cupido gets my vote. So much natural ability and at his best, heaps of fun to watch. Too bad he didn't have the right work ethic.
Rioli in a way deserves a mention as well. His talent far outweighs his achievements. His body wasn't made for AFL footy.
Deadly Hedley
27 Jun 2006, 22:07
Deadly Hedley- a legend in his own lunchtime.:D :D :D
carn_the_dons
28 Jun 2006, 22:14
gary moorcroft - only ever going to be known for that mark, thought he had potential to be a great goalsneak..kicked 5 goals up to half time in the game gainst the 'Dogs when he took the great mark!
2000 premiership player and a good little contributor in one of the best sides of all time. Played close to 100 games, but a hip injury (resulting from “that mark”) and some knee problems finally got the better of him.
carn_the_dons
28 Jun 2006, 22:30
2000 premiership player and a good little contributor in one of the best sides of all time. Played close to 100 games, but a hip injury (resulting from “that mark”) and some knee problems finally got the better of him.
still, thought we should have kept him, do u no if he asked for a trade? thats what i was trying to get at, we ended up losing him when he could have been a strong contributor for more years..
Longy413
28 Jun 2006, 22:47
He did bugger all at Melbourne, his body was shot.
And even when he returned to Bendigo, he couldn't consistently perform at that level. He body didn't allow him to.
Talent wise, he could of given us something. Physically, we made the right decision.
Another player who springs to mind is Chris Ladhams....from what I saw of him prior to being delisted (to be picked up by the Crows) I thought he could become a great winger or someone in the mould of Campo..breaking lines.
I might be showing my biased towards the small nuggety players (Darren Walsh in my last post to this thread) but he looked to have the goods n showed some form early last year with the fruitloops.