View Full Version : 63.30.408 - 1.1.7

SaintsSupporter
18 Jun 2006, 17:49
Sunshine Heights beat Brunswick Power to the tune of 401 points yesterday. This is the biggest winning margin/percentage I've ever seen (5828%). And the fact that they aren't even at the bottom of the ladder in the reserves is a worry. Who could be worse than that?

HeLMie
18 Jun 2006, 17:55
I think youll find they would have had the bare 18, and of them most were probably old fellas or under 18's who had already played a game that day.

The Dice Man
18 Jun 2006, 17:56
Stafford's looking for a game I hear :p

Black Thunder
18 Jun 2006, 18:01
that's unbeliavable, is there a net link for that score anywhere??

kangaroos06
18 Jun 2006, 18:09
whats more unbelievable if its true, apparently they werent even at full strength due to a fair few of the senior playing group heading over to germany for the world cup... if its true then its freakish!

Lonie_from_50
18 Jun 2006, 18:13
That's huge. Biggest win on paper I have ever seen.

Kelvin 69
18 Jun 2006, 18:56
Any chance we could get some goal kickers? Their would have to be some big bags involved with a score like that.

My North
18 Jun 2006, 19:00
i wonder if all the players kicked at leat 1 goal each

kangaroos06
18 Jun 2006, 19:34
looking on the website one bloke got 11, another got 10.. and a few got 4's, 5's and 6's...

as a team they jagged a lazy 24 in the last... not bad.

you would have to think that the whole team snagged one...

GoesBangFrom50
18 Jun 2006, 20:00
looking on the website one bloke got 11, another got 10.. and a few got 4's, 5's and 6's...

as a team they jagged a lazy 24 in the last... not bad.

you would have to think that the whole team snagged one...

Was at the game and (as posted on the WRFL Div 2 thread)... Heights have 10 players in Germany at the world cup ( 6 seniors, 4 reserves) including 3 best players.

Brunswick rocked up with about 30 players to cover both games so half of the seniors had to double up. By the end of the match they wre a few short.

20 of the 21 players kicked at least 1 goal. The only bloke who missed out was an U18's player who was playing his first senioer game. He got injured in the 1st half and was showered and changed for the last half.

As well as that the time keepers stopped allowing time on with 12 minutes to go (out of pity) so the last qtr went 32 minutes when the other qtrs went over 40. Probably cost heights another 10 goals!!!

metallichris
18 Jun 2006, 20:05
:eek:

Wow.

cobba
18 Jun 2006, 20:13
i agree WOW!!

speculator
18 Jun 2006, 21:26
As well as that the time keepers stopped allowing time on with 12 minutes to go (out of pity) so the last qtr went 32 minutes when the other qtrs went over 40. Probably cost heights another 10 goals!!![/quote]

Whilst I agree it was a huge score to call it a "game" of footy is a bit derogortory to all those fair dinkum teams out there.

Sunshine Heights are at best a team of hacks ( even with mallia and the other world cup hero's in it ) They are a middle of the road second division club.

Brunswick are a club of social playing abo's who don't train and would be beaten by most under 16 teams. They would be better suited to playing in a disabled league.

Marklar_33
18 Jun 2006, 22:11
In the last month, I have seen 2 massive scores involving West Ulverstone reserves in North-West Tasmania

Forth 67.24 (426) d West Ulverstone 0.0 (0)
One guy kicked 14, One 12 and another 10!

The next week, I forget who they played, but the scoreline was...

Team A 63.27 (405) d West Ulverstone 0.0 (0)

Some guy for Team A (will find out who this is) kicked 26

They improved this week to lose by less than 200!

GoesBangFrom50
19 Jun 2006, 03:57
[quote=speculator]Sunshine Heights are at best a team of hacks ( even with mallia and the other world cup hero's in it ) They are a middle of the road second division club.

Not a team of hacks... justa team of mates. Considering none of the players at heights get paid the results are pretty good. Unlike other clubs who fork out the cash and produce nothing...by the way, 3rd on the ladder out of 14 teams..... bit closer to the top than the middle mate!!

augie
19 Jun 2006, 09:47
As well as that the time keepers stopped allowing time on with 12 minutes to go (out of pity) so the last qtr went 32 minutes when the other qtrs went over 40. Probably cost heights another 10 goals!!!

Whilst I agree it was a huge score to call it a "game" of footy is a bit derogortory to all those fair dinkum teams out there.

Sunshine Heights are at best a team of hacks ( even with mallia and the other world cup hero's in it ) They are a middle of the road second division club.

Brunswick are a club of social playing abo's who don't train and would be beaten by most under 16 teams. They would be better suited to playing in a disabled league.[/quote]

How strange to hear from another redneck moron on a thread associated with the WRFL.

GoesBangFrom50
20 Jun 2006, 20:33
Just went past heights training and saw Chris Jones from the footy show there.... expect to see a story on the show this week!!

Death@ #27
20 Jun 2006, 21:00
Just went past heights training and saw Chris Jones from the footy show there.... expect to see a story on the show this week!!

This could be either good or bad for Brunswick .. ppl might see Brunswick on the footy show and feel sorry for them and want to help them out or people might see Brunswick as a bunch of pathetic people and it may ruin the club.

cmat26
20 Jun 2006, 23:30
If memory serves me correctly, didn't Heights beat Brunswick by 370 odd last year ?

And to clarify, I think Heights are better then middle of the road. They fight hard and play good team-orientated footy.

It's also true that they don't get paid, just a bunch of mates wanting to play footy.

Motty
21 Jun 2006, 00:06
A report on SEN said that the Power's goal came from a Heights player receiving a yellow card and the Power player gaining a penalty (is it 25 or 50 in the WRFL?) which put him inside scoring range.

Interesting to see WRFL major sponsor Simon Beasley quoted in the Western Times calling for mergers in the league to prevent Seddon, Power and Western Magpies getting slaughtered.

Only two scores out of all Div 2 matches last week were within 10 goals, with a few into three digits.

Some rationalisation needs to be done when Seddon, Yarraville, North Footscray and Spotswood are within five minutes car ride from each other - not enough cattle for the paddocks in the area!

Death@ #27
21 Jun 2006, 10:56
A report on SEN said that the Power's goal came from a Heights player receiving a yellow card and the Power player gaining a penalty (is it 25 or 50 in the WRFL?) which put him inside scoring range.

Interesting to see WRFL major sponsor Simon Beasley quoted in the Western Times calling for mergers in the league to prevent Seddon, Power and Western Magpies getting slaughtered.

Only two scores out of all Div 2 matches last week were within 10 goals, with a few into three digits.

Some rationalisation needs to be done when Seddon, Yarraville, North Footscray and Spotswood are within five minutes car ride from each other - not enough cattle for the paddocks in the area!

I think Seddon and the Western Magpies should not merge. Seddon i think we should give them a go in Division 2 and see how they go first. Western Magpies on the other hand have a bright future ahead of them with 4 junior premierships in the last 5 years you could probly expect to see results improve for the Magpies.... As for Brunswick i think they should merge but with who??

My North
21 Jun 2006, 13:43
have a divison 3 for teams like Brunswick Power and Western Magpies and a few others. Even if this means they play each other 3 or 4 times a year during the season.

My North
22 Jun 2006, 00:27
This could be either good or bad for Brunswick .. ppl might see Brunswick on the footy show and feel sorry for them and want to help them out or people might see Brunswick as a bunch of pathetic people and it may ruin the club.

Can only help out Brunswick Power. Cant get any worse expect for folding mid season

Sockit151
22 Jun 2006, 12:07
Similar thing happened with Redan in the Ballarat League 6 or so years back, not as bad on the track, but really struggling! Got on the TV so the uni students basically adopted the club and brought it back to life! Now a power for past few years!!
I know its a different area, but a bit of publicity on how bad they are travelling could get them back on track!!