View Full Version : Yellow armbands = $20 000

rolandproducts
20 Jun 2006, 11:18
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=274861

Dons fined by AFL
Monday 19 June 2006
Sportal for afl.com.au

The AFL has fined Essendon $20,000 for the club's players wearing yellow armbands in support of cancer awareness in Sunday's match against Melbourne at Telstra Dome.

Essendon had requested for permission from the league to wear the armbands - which they hoped would raise awareness of the illness and show support for cancer-stricken teammate Adam Ramanuaskas - during the week, but the AFL knocked them back citing precedent in that other clubs have been denied similar requests.

The Bombers had made the decision to wear the armbands despite being informed prior to its loss to the Dees that they would be sanctioned if they went ahead with it.

AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson said the league wholeheartedly supported Ramanauskas in his battle with cancer and also supported the need to promote greater awareness of cancer, but that due to the high frequency of similar requests from clubs and community organisations, they had no choice but to penalise Essendon.

"We understand the club's support for people battling cancer and we absolutely support that cause as we do many community causes," he said.

"The AFL has thrown its support behind numerous community issues – including the Field of Women to promote awareness of breast cancer - and is always happy to work collaboratively with clubs to raise awareness, support and funds for their community causes.

Anderson said the money raised by the penalty will be donated to cancer research.

http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=4754

Bombers shocked by AFL sanction
Monday, 19 June 2006
The AFL today fined the Essendon Football Club $20,000 after its players wore yellow armbands as a tribute to Adam Ramanauskas in last Sunday's Clash for Cancer. The AFL had refused a Club request to allow the players to wear the armbands.

"It's disappointing, we hoped the AFL would have shown some empathy. The players felt very strongly about this - Adam is a friend and a teammate who is going through a very tough time," Essendon chief executive Peter Jackson said.

"We understand the AFL don't want armbands worn every time a team runs out but we think this is an exceptional circumstance and given the emotion associated with this issue some flexibility should have been shown."

AFL Football Operations General Manager Adrian Anderson said the AFL wholeheartedly supported Adam Ramanauskas in his battle with cancer and also supported the need to promote greater awareness of cancer.

"We understand the club’s support for people battling cancer and we absolutely support that cause as we do many community causes," he said.

"The AFL has thrown its support behind numerous community issues – including the Field of Women to promote awareness of breast cancer - and is always happy to work collaboratively with clubs to raise awareness, support and funds for their community causes."

But the AFL believes the use of different coloured armbands is inappropriate because of the frequency of requests from clubs and community organisations for players to wear different colours.

then naturally i see this thread:

Clash for Cancer yellow arm... (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=249418)

MrAaron
20 Jun 2006, 11:20
obviously the AFL commission have no heart & compassion. I guess that went out the window donkeys years ago. But it's fine, it was well worth it. I am sure the hat will go around the place and that $20k will go to charity for teh cure of cancer ...

rolandproducts
20 Jun 2006, 11:30
It does make you wonder if this is more about saving face than anything else. How horrible it was for the EFC to so blatantly defy the mas’ers that be. The AFL has allowed workarounds in the past; 'paint on armbands' and the like...

Regardless I think the EFC will gain more for its cause this way and would most likely have expected said penalty (and the face-saving move to come where the amount is donated to the charity undoubtedly…)

madamimadam
20 Jun 2006, 11:34
I just love that the AFL's reason is that it is "inappropriate because of the frequency of requests from clubs and community organisations for players to wear different colours".

WTF does that mean anyway.... it is not that there is any genuine reason, they just don't like being asked by "clubs and community organisations".

Hawksforever!
20 Jun 2006, 13:35
Very Very average from the AFL........ Typical though:thumbsd:

drew_j
20 Jun 2006, 16:25
"inappropriate because of the frequency of requests from clubs and community organisations for players to wear different colours".

Sounds like grounds to abolish the away jumper to me. $20K, talk about overkill for a couple of yellow armbands.

madamimadam
20 Jun 2006, 16:30
Sounds like grounds to abolish the away jumper to me. $20K, talk about overkill for a couple of yellow armbands.
Seriously though, do you really think a club like Essendon gives a **** about $20k... they are barely struggling.

I'm sure they knew the expected fine and thought the cause was worth it.

djharps
20 Jun 2006, 17:24
the afl has shot themselves in the foot. here.... and for the record the mighty essendon fc is above the afl :D:D:D

Roonaldo!
20 Jun 2006, 17:41
the afl has shot themselves in the foot. here.... and for the record the mighty essendon fc is above the afl :D:D:D
Er... no.

Cos without the AFL, there'd be no league Essendon would be playing in.

Dumbsh*t.

DonsRule
20 Jun 2006, 17:56
I remember reading a while back that Adam was a supporter of Lance Armstrong's 'Livestrong' (http://www.store-laf.org/), where he had yellow armbands/wristbands as part of their range to support cancer - probably (If true) a reason why the players choose the Yellow Armbands.

djharps
20 Jun 2006, 22:56
Er... no.

Cos without the AFL, there'd be no league Essendon would be playing in.

Dumbsh*t.

oh wow mr serious, im just saying that we are a powerhouse club that really doesnt give to sh*ts about the afl sometimes, how north going financially.. can i ask?

Dr Moose
20 Jun 2006, 23:15
What made Hawthorn wearing blue-and-white armbands for slain police officers an appropriate gesture but Essendon supporting cancer awareness inappropriate?

djharps
20 Jun 2006, 23:20
how is the police specifically related to the hawthorn fc.. like cancer to essendon via rama.. but who from the police associated with hawthorn??

red+black
21 Jun 2006, 08:55
Putting aside any precedents, I don't have a problem with the AFL's decision to fine the club. You could argue that the AFL were mean-spirited to refuse the request, but a fine is warranted. Why did Essendon ask the AFL in the first place if they were going to defy them anyway? Obviously Essendon knew that permission needed to be asked, yet ignored the response. Essendon behaved liked an agrieved child by flouting the AFL's ruling.

Perhaps they should have given more notice, perhaps they should have been a little more persistent. And as one SEN caller said, it's just another week where Essendon finds an issue for the media to focus on other than their pitiful and insipid performances week after week. If we lose to North, I can only imagine how the club can detract from three months of losses.

Longy413
21 Jun 2006, 10:22
red+black, very important to differentiate between the players and the club in this case.

It was the players idea, it was the players that went to the club. The club asked for permission. When it was knocked back, several senior players decided they were happy to cop the fine and would wear the arm bands. Which the club supported.

The rest of the playing group were consulted and they decided one-in, all-in. It was a players directive and decision that the club supported. Not a decision that the club made and enforced on the players.

And how can you find a way to deflect pressure and media focus from a loss, before you've even lost?

red+black
21 Jun 2006, 11:49
So there's no reason for the club or players to complain then, Peter Jackson should stop whingeing and pay the 20 large. You could argue the decision to not allow the armbands to be worn as mean-spirited, but I wouldn't say the fine is mean-spirited. They asked the AFL, no was the response, they ignored that response.

And with regards to media focus, Sheedy and Essendon are masters of deflection, before, during and after the fact.

vast
21 Jun 2006, 12:47
I personally dont think the club cares about the 20k. The reason behind them whinging is to expose the AFL and give them some negative press, something the AFL has managed to pretty well on its own. I think at the moment a lot of the afl clubs are not too happy with the afl and this was just an opportunity to get one back. I mean in all honesty why would prevent people from wearing a yellow armband, hell even if players wore ten armbands everyweek, whats the big deal? it doesnt cost the afl anything no one was asking for a handout. It just makes me think there is some political agenda going on here, perhaps one of the afl's official associates is in competition to the cancer council or whoever the yellow band represents.

red+black
21 Jun 2006, 12:54
I think the problem is that the next request could come from Collingwood wanting to wear armbands in support of the Pink Magpies.

vast
21 Jun 2006, 12:56
hehe:eek:

Crave
21 Jun 2006, 13:49
Its a dead set disgrace if you ask me. We're supposed to instill passion into our players...lord know we nee it more than most right now.

Just another way for the league to punish the very teams (ours in this case) that provide the biggest windfalls n generate the most excitement in Victoria.

Barrassi for CEO of AFL!!

Don Envy
21 Jun 2006, 14:22
You would think that considering the AFL are forcing us to wear a clash strip against Melbourne from next year, that a yellow armband would actually help to differentiate between the 2 sides, thus helping the AFL's cause......

Longy413
21 Jun 2006, 19:52
So there's no reason for the club or players to complain then, Peter Jackson should stop whingeing and pay the 20 large.

He made one press conference didn't he, I presume that was to be expected given the fine. And he hasn't whinged about paying and has stated the club will pay it. They have just asked the AFL to match it. I reckon that's fair enough.

And with regards to media focus, Sheedy and Essendon are masters of deflection, before, during and after the fact.

You say that like it's a bad thing.

DaSawx
21 Jun 2006, 19:56
You say that like it's a bad thing.

Yeah, just ammunition for trollers

showdownhero
25 Jun 2006, 11:39
I can't believe this article hasn't flared any tempers in here

This article is a disgrace and is in phenomenally bad taste particularly this pearl of wisdom

Bombers' arrogant war has all the wrong people up in arms

NO team plays football worse than Essendon. It has just one win from 12 games. It has lost 11 in a row. Melbourne could not mark, kick or handball last week but it mattered little for it still beat the Bombers by six goals. Essendon is not very good at anything any more.
The men and women from Windy Hill were a once proud football club begrudgingly admired by the rest of the competition for their professionalism. Not now. Not admired, not proud. Just plain arrogant and embarrassing.

The club has gone to war with the AFL thinking it might have found one contest that it might win. Club chief executive Peter Jackson accused the league of insensitivity because the club was fined $20,000 when players wore yellow armbands against Melbourne in the first week of the split round.

The armbands were worn as a public support for team-mate Adam Ramanauskas, a member of the 2000 premiership side. The midfielder has had recurring incidents of cancer and is about to undergo chemotherapy.

Rather than complain about the heavy hand of the AFL, Essendon should be on its knees in gratitude. The AFL could have fined Essendon a total of $110,000 for its breach of rules which stipulate that each player who wore an armband should have been penalised $5000. That's 22 times $5000. That's $110,000.

The AFL was generous in the extreme to reduce the fine to just $20,000. And that money, the AFL has already ruled, will be delivered straight to a cancer charity.

Essendon has gone to the public on this issue, thumping its chest and with eyes moist. It claims to have been outraged by the unforgiving AFL, a body without heart and ruled solely by protocols and procedures.

Supporters, wanting only to hear and understand Essendon's position, have been moved to anger. Talkback radio has taken indignant calls. One, a cancer sufferer, was in tears. A chronically unthinking media has supported Essendon and the popular line.

This has not been an easy matter for the AFL. Penalising a club that would seek to support one of its favourite but sick sons was only ever going to draw scorn. Yet the villain in this awfulness is Essendon, whose arrogance turned to churlishness once it found the AFL would not wilt to the club's public relations campaign.

This is what Essendon did: The players wanted to show Ramanauskas they supported him. It was suggested they wear yellow armbands and the club asked the AFL for permission. The league said such a demonstration was against regulations and could not be permitted.

Yet AFL officials were sympathetic to Essendon's wishes and claim they suggested several other ways the club might be able to help support the player.

Indeed, the Essendon players are not just inept footballers but limited thinkers if they could not imagine other ways to support their team-mate.

The AFL's stance on armbands is warranted. The AFL has for years been asked by clubs for permission to publicise or acknowledge many important, sensitive and precious causes. Some have been more important than others, some have been trivial.

If the AFL did not have this battle with Essendon over Ramanauskas it would have it with another club next week over another player or issue.

Critics of the AFL claim double standards because the league will allow players to wear armbands in next round's match between Hawthorn and St Kilda. That match is played for a cup in honour of policemen Gary Silk and Rodney Miller who were murdered in 1998. That was a decision made by a previous administration but rightly acknowledged by the present league officials. The AFL is not hypocritical to allow the armbands for the Silk Miller Cup, just honourable.

Essendon chose to make Ramanauskaus and his illness a political issue, not the AFL. It dared the AFL by ignoring the league's ruling.

Now that it has been fined a modest $20,000 Essendon has turned from arrogant to truculent. It has accused the AFL administration of insensitivity yet the league's chief executive officer Andrew Demetriou, the league's chief operating officer Ben Buckley and the league's finance director Ian Anderson have all lost partners to cancer.

It is unlikely any collection of officials is more aware of, or touched by, the disease. The AFL vigorously supports cancer groups and initiatives. What it does not support is armbands.

Sadly for Ramanauskas it appears Essendon's support for him can now be measured in dollars. It wanted to wear the armbands for nothing; was prepared to pay $5000 but has railed against the $20,000. Remember, it could have been $110,000. The club's support for its ailing player has a monetary value.

Ramanauskas must be so embarrassed that the club took this issue to the public, made his illness a matter of radio and newspaper debate. The club could have paid the fine and raged against the AFL through private channels. But when you cannot win a game of footy, even illness appears to be a welcome distraction.

Essendon now looks cheap, mean and unsophisticated. And it so lacks class.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,19558253-12270,00.html

Regardless of how poorly my club was playing I would not lay down to this kind of criticism.

Longy413
25 Jun 2006, 12:05
Regardless of how poorly my club was playing I would not lay down to this kind of criticism.

See the thread on the main board.

windyhill
25 Jun 2006, 13:02
how is the police specifically related to the hawthorn fc.. like cancer to essendon via rama.. but who from the police associated with hawthorn??
The two policemen shot in the line of duty were huge football fans, one a Hawk the other a Sainter , hence the two clubs wearing the armband when they meet.

koc#41
25 Jun 2006, 14:12
The two policemen shot in the line of duty were huge football fans, one a Hawk the other a Sainter , hence the two clubs wearing the armband when they meet.

the fine is because we went against the AFL ruling. ot for the reason of wearing the arm bands.....the AFL fkt in the first place for not letting us wear them.

windyhill
26 Jun 2006, 00:48
the fine is because we went against the AFL ruling. ot for the reason of wearing the arm bands.....the AFL fkt in the first place for not letting us wear them.
Mate, I was just answering the question.

windyhill
26 Jun 2006, 00:50
I can't believe this article hasn't flared any tempers in here

This article is a disgrace and is in phenomenally bad taste particularly this pearl of wisdom

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,19558253-12270,00.html

Smith is famous for kicking a dog when it`s down. Believe it or not he is an Essendon supporter.

MrAaron
26 Jun 2006, 00:58
you have to question the afl though. $20k for this and only $5k for Port Power's ruckman hittign a Crows Fan ? Very inconsistant just like their dodgey Tribunal ...