View Full Version : Who's watching the Socceroos overnight?
portentous
22 Jun 2006, 18:30
I'm setting my alarm to get up and watch it-much prefer this timeslot to the last one. I'll be useless as........at work tomorrow so please don't come to TTP to buy books tomorrow anyone. :D
Saturday is for sleeping in.....:thumbsu:
Kaitsey
22 Jun 2006, 18:35
ill be watching it.....2:30 in the morning over ere, should beat those croats or at least draw.
MrAaron
22 Jun 2006, 18:40
5am here in Melbourne. easy game for us. the Croats wont be scoring anythign against us, they are weak minded at heart.
dyertribe
22 Jun 2006, 18:48
easy game for us. the Croats wont be scoring anythign against us, they are weak minded at heart.
Way to tempt fate. :thumbsu:
Arsene Wenger
22 Jun 2006, 19:00
jesus - Croatia weak - i think they havent played the football they are capable of as yet and im hoping they do not. They are a good side. No R. Kovac is good for us and i think wel have a our best IX on the park (i.e Cahill, Bresh, Kewell all starting)
Im watching at Garage !!
go the socceroos
The Tizzle will be awake... possibly down the Espy, decked out in Socceroos merchandise.
Toots Hibbert
22 Jun 2006, 21:36
Yep, got the alarm clock set.
I'll be useless at work, but yeah, i have to watch it.
Paralowiepower
22 Jun 2006, 22:32
I'll be useless at work, but yeah, i have to watch it.
Ditto, off to bed now.
Go you Green and Gold
PS Guus, please don't put Zelco in goals :eek:
My Irish editor said a month ago: "just in case there's nothing happening in the AFL in any given week, could you write about the World Cup?"
I said: "There is no week ever where nothing is happening in the AFL."
I'm wrong. With only two matches this weekend, and one of them a dud, I'll be watching the 4am game.
Damn.
Tredders66
22 Jun 2006, 22:51
5am here in Melbourne. easy game for us. the Croats wont be scoring anythign against us, they are weak minded at heart.
Hmm i wouldn't say that! We have been favourites before and lost so whoknows.
Toots Hibbert
22 Jun 2006, 23:04
I'm having a glass of Port to make me sleepy and will be hitting the hay shortly. If anyone needs to get a Socceroo fix between now and tomorrow morning here's a useful link.
http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/
Come on Aussies.
Macca19
22 Jun 2006, 23:35
Yeah ill be getting up. Much easier getting up at 4 than it is trying to figure out what to do last weekend. At least this is an uninterupted sleep. Last week I went to bed, got up to watch the match, then went back to bed, then got up for work. No good doing that.
Borscht Mat
23 Jun 2006, 00:01
It is on at 2300 in Moscow...so dinner, a few brews, and watching the game down the pub. Go Australia !
Troy Wingate
23 Jun 2006, 00:38
I've got much better things to do than watch the boring game they call soccer.
You may ask, 'What could possibly be better than watching Australia play in the World Cup"? My answer. SLEEP!
I would also much rather watch paint dry than watch the world cup.
Seriously, what do people see about soccer that is so exciting for the duration of the match. Sure, the goals scored (if any) are exciting, but apart from that, what's so exciting?
The game is boring. I've tried to watch a few games, just to get into it, but I feel asleep.
PAFC2004
23 Jun 2006, 00:42
I've got a uni exam tomorrow (friday)... so that's a no. Not that I'm that interested.
dyertribe
23 Jun 2006, 01:29
I've got much better things to do than watch the boring game they call soccer.
I would also much rather watch paint dry than watch the world cup.
Seriously, what do people see about soccer that is so exciting for the duration of the match. Sure, the goals scored (if any) are exciting, but apart from that, what's so exciting?
The game is boring. I've tried to watch a few games, just to get into it, but I feel asleep.
And yet most sports fans who trot out this line are fans of Test Cricket, which I quite like personally, but over the course of three to five days it really is mostly blokes standing around doing bugger all. I've always found the contrast rather ironic.
As always it's what you grow up with and the intracacies you become accustomed to.
Personally I think American Football and Rugby League are prescription sedatives but there's got to be something in both sports for them to be so popular in their respective spheres, right?
spice18
23 Jun 2006, 04:38
I have chosen to stay up all night to watch first Italia vs Czech (good game actually) then roos match. It's hard staying awake but i'm very bad with alarms: always set alarm properly but many times wake up after the event. Can't risk this one, gotta watch it live, don't wanna miss it.
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 04:56
Perfect time to watch it in the UK :D thank god
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 05:59
Morning all!
What's Kalac doing in goal? Schwarzer's been good back, there why risk some confusion between he and the defenders. They know what Mark's going to do under pressure. Hope this doesn't come back to haunt us.
Come on Aussie!
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 06:08
We will strike back have faith
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 06:53
Are they showing japan vs brazil in australia toots?
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 06:55
Half time 1 - 1.
Good job the ref finally got his blinkers off. Jacob Surjan would have been happy with the tackle that Croat put on Viduka in the penalty area just after their goal!
I really don't like the way the Croats are playing. Shirt grabbing, play acting, gamesmanship. I hope we turn the screws on them in the second half because I can see these front runners arguing with each other in the last ten minutes if things aren't going their way.
Keep going boys, love the way they have just battled on when everything seemed to be against them. Excellent penalty by Moore, I was so happy when Viduka didn't take it.
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 07:00
Are they showing japan vs brazil in australia toots?
Yep, straight after this by the looks of the TV guide. What did you think of the first half?
(BTW what the hell are Australians of Croat descent doing barracking for their old country. Fine if their playing someone else not when it's the land you live in and are a citizen of. :( )
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 07:05
Yep, straight after this by the looks of the TV guide. What did you think of the first half?
(BTW what the hell are Australians of Croat descent doing barracking for their old country. Fine if their playing someone else not when it's the land you live in and are a citizen of. :( )
A few points
Kalac is giving me the ****s, 2 shots at goal and twice he looked shaky (other than the goal, which was brilliant)
Long passing is working very well but not sure if we can beat the croations in the air, they are very tall ineed.
Viduka is absolutely ****house.
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 07:37
Kewell! YEEEEEEEESSSSSS!
I think we both agree about Kalac. Was going to say he was worrying me but didn't want to finish my last post off on a negative note. He should never be in an Austalian squad again. Ever!!
Anyway 2 all. Let's keep it that way
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 07:44
Red card and not before time and only for the most blatant arguing. Take that you Croat front running pretenders. Drama queens not able to stand up mentally but looking for opportunities to blame the ref when in truth they've had it mostly their way via the whistle.
Come on Aussie. Don't let them back into it.
Macca19
23 Jun 2006, 07:56
You beauty!!!!!!! Great goal by Harry.
Referee was a joke and a half. Great to get through
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 08:01
Emerton red card can be costly, we need him against Italy
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 08:03
Wow we're through. What an achievement. Not surprised the ref lost control at the end with the antics from the Croats. If he'd cracked down in the first half things wouldn't have got to that point instead he allowed them so much leeway. Why wasn't Simunic sent off after the second yellow card? Don't necessarily blame him for missing the handball in the box late in the second half but how he didn't spot the arms wrapped around Viduka in the first is beyond me.
Bloody Kalac nearly let the Croats back in again with that stupid throw.
Josh Kennedy was excellent I thought at the end. What a calm head, slowing things down and protecting the ball deep in defence. All played well with the exception of the goal keeper.
Told you the Croats would lose the plot at the end.
Bring on Italy! :thumbsu:
You little Aussie beeeaaauuuuttttyyyyy!!!!!
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 08:07
Kalac plays for AC milan :eek:
So much stress so early in the morning is not good for you! Could have been worse, we could have lost....
Well done Socceroos. Kalac must feel very relieved that he didn't screw us up completely, but won't play again you'd imagine. He was a nervous wreck.
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 08:17
Seriously mate, i almost broke my remote control after Kalac ****ed that up. Kalac must not get a game against Italy, the italians will score a dozen
RussellEbertHandball
23 Jun 2006, 08:26
FCKEN RIPPER. Lucas Neil take a bow or 42. Harry, Michael Cockerill, Australia's best soccer/football journo said it was time to deliver and you did.
And a message to FIFA. You put on a $10billion event an appoint 10cent referees. It's time to go into that room of mirrors and take a good hard look. Craig Fosters bagging of the ref after the game was spot on. Bugger this ..it's a tough job crap.
If we pushed the Brazilians we can push the Azzuri. No worries. Gotta ring my mate D_One who sometimes posts here. He got tickets in the Ballot to Brazil, payed $500 for todays game.
Ford Fairlane
23 Jun 2006, 08:35
Dragged myself out of bed and watched the game. What a great match. Had everything from drama to farce. Agree with what others have said re Kalac, the ref ... but Harry Kewell you bloody ripper. If anyone deserved a WC goal it were Our 'Arry.
Australia into the final 16 in the world game - not just pi55ing in the pockets of the remnants of the old British Empire. Bloody brilliant. :thumbsu:
I'm betting on our relief-nerves to be all but gone now, getting in to the last 16 has already made the campaign a relative success. BRING ON ITALY!
rubberman
23 Jun 2006, 09:13
Good game great result. Played with true aussie spirit.
I am beginning to wonder if this world cup is a facists conspiracy against the socceroos. I mean playing japs, croats and now the Italians. Not to mention that german ref.
Total Power
23 Jun 2006, 09:15
Good game great result. Played with true aussie spirit.
I am beginning to wonder if this world cup is a facists conspiracy against the socceroos. I mean playing japs, croats and now the Italians. Not to mention that german ref.
Why miss out on Greece and India? :eek:
RussellEbertHandball
23 Jun 2006, 09:35
If we get passed Italy the 1/4 final opponents will be Korea/Switz or Ukraine. All 3 potential opponents are beatable. Maybe GUUUUUS will get his 3 peat Semi Final performance. Getting passed Germany or Argentina, no chance.
Paralowiepower
23 Jun 2006, 09:41
Ditto, off to bed now.
Go you Green and Gold
PS Guus, please don't put Zelco in goals :eek:
Pity Guss dosen't read big footy :p
Atleast he won't be in goals now for the Italian game.
Graham Poll you are a f***ing as****e!
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 10:42
Graham Poll you are a f***ing as****e!
Firstly you are dead right about Kalac and it's not as if you are on your own. Plenty of us had misgivings about him and he's shown that he simply is not up to the pressure of international soccer.
The other one who had a shocker was the referee. No problems with the Croats first goal. That was a blatant foul by Viduka. (I'd like to see the replay again and see what quality of wall Kalac organised because I suspect the placement could have been better. Still a great shot though no doubt about that.) What the hell was he thinking when the Croat wrapped his arms around Viduka in the penalty area and forced him to the ground!! Every referee everywhere in the world would award a free kick if that happened anywhere else on the park! Words just fail me! Then he lets the Croats get away with arguing and general bad sportsmanship early on. A decent referee would have shown one of them a yellow card early on and got on top of the situation. It's no wonder he lost control at the end. I think I'm right in saying that he let the Croat manhandle him in the second half and the guy he sent off was a different player who went off for a second bookable offence? Where was the referee's assistant at that point when the Croats were all over the ref? Then we had the farce at the end which someone in another thread on the Soccer board pointed out that sums it up perfectly.
Here's the comments from the English "Guardian" newspaper in their on line live match commentary:-
FULL TIME OF A FANTASTIC MATCH: Croatia 2 - 2 Australia Ha ha ha, Graham Poll is a complete clown. After a scramble in the box, Viduka sets about forcing the ball home for Australia... but Poll blows up for full time, Clive Thomas style, with the ball about to cross the line. He disallows the goal - not that it matters - but then he decides to book Simunic for a third time - and sends him off. He then blows up for full time AGAIN... before driving off the pitch in a car with square wheels.
Honk! Honk! The doors have just fallen off Poll's car, and there are jets of steam coming out of the engine. Let's hope nobody agrees to smell his funny flower!
Edit:- Here's the link. Great read from start to finish! :D
http://football.guardian.co.uk/worldcup2006/minbymin/0,,1788392,00.html
Powerstufff
23 Jun 2006, 10:52
My neighbour's house is FIFA's southern outpost and we had 5 guys from the street and 5 of our kids up watching.
Agree with what everyone said about Kalas, just a sub-standard performance. And he almost palmed another in.
Kewell was brilliant and worked hard all match. I want something more from Viduka and maybe now the Croatian issue is past he can dig deeper. Well done Moore. Also kennedy who has been a big threat in ths and the Japan game without actually converting.
As for the refs what do you say? Jeez we did it hard.Viduka held and then dragged backwards in one passage of play without so much as a whistle. A blatant handball not rewarded. Three yellow cards to one player, who was still allowed to play on - surely a record?.
Well let's see, I've got a shocker of a hangover, had to take the day off work, left my car in town in a department store carpark. What a great result. Like sliding down a razor-bladed bannister watching that match, the tenstion, but we got there. In the bar we had the Japan-Brazil game on at the same time on a TV on the other side - nearly threw up when the Croats scored that 3-min goal and then the Japanese scored against the Soccer Gods. In the end though, the planets realigned and the Japanese got their pants pulled down while we progressed.
Soccer experts - how much chance do we really have against Italy?
Powerstuff, I agree with you on most fronts, except the great man Dukes, the V-Bomber. He has been massive (and not refering to his ass) for us in the first 3 games, as sole striker. You have to understand that he is playing more as a 'centre half forward' if you like.
Where most teams are able to advance the ball through the midfield, we simply don't have that fluency, so our strategy is to hit long balls to Viduka, who holds up the ball in order to dish it off to our attacking midfielders. This, he has done with absolute aplomb. A goal or two would cap off his stellar tournament thus far, but that's not really the role he's being employed for at the moment. The role he's there for, he has performed heroically. We would certainly look horrendous if the big man weren't out there.
crazy_big_al
23 Jun 2006, 15:29
It was a great game. that goalkeeper Kalac can get ****ed he is ****ing useless.
Mad Dog
23 Jun 2006, 15:58
I have struggled in years gone by to embrace the world game as passionately as most of the planet does.......but I've jumped aboard the Guus Express over the last 6 months or so. I've thoroughly enjoyed our 3 pool matches, sacrificing plenty of sleep to watch the boys..........but the officiating by the referees, particularly this morning has reminded me why I just can't take FIFA and their "fair play" catchcry too seriously. It's clear that soccer/football is governed and administrated along ethnic and party lines, that only serves to disenchant the casual observer. FIFA seems to be the ultimate "boys" club with "outsiders" treated with disdain. Respect gained on-field is one thing.....and it appears we have achieved some of that.....but off field is going to be a completely different matter.
It's a pity that the planet's 2 pinnacle sporting bodies...(FIFA and the IOC)...appear to be the 2 most corrupt, inept, and inward looking organisations in the world. Thankfully in both cases the athletes manage to paper over those cracks through their performances.
Having said all that........go The Guus....;) :) :thumbsu:
Mad Dog
23 Jun 2006, 16:13
Soccer experts - how much chance do we really have against Italy?
I'm far from an expert but....
Aussies ranked #42 in the world.....
beat Uruguay ranked #22 to qualify
beat Greece (European champs with their full side) ranked #20 in a friendly ...
then...
beat Japan (Asian champs) ranked #18
slugged it out with Brazil and unlucky not to draw....ranked #1
drew with Croatia ranked #23
Italy is ranked #13......anything is possible especially when you consider the "nothing to lose" factor...and the fact that the pressure will be right on Italy to "deal with" the recalcitrant from the far Pacific rim.
Nobody gives us a chance........but funnier things have happened....;)
Macca19
23 Jun 2006, 17:31
but Poll blows up for full time, Clive Thomas style, with the ball about to cross the line. He disallows the goal - not that it matters -
Thats something thats been semi over looked amongst all the other farcical things that happened. What sorta ref blows the whistle when the balls about to go over the line? Clown of the highest order. Hope he never referees another international match after that.
RussellEbertHandball
23 Jun 2006, 17:43
It's a pity that the planet's 2 pinnacle sporting bodies...(FIFA and the IOC)...appear to be the 2 most corrupt, inept, and inward looking organisations in the world. Thankfully in both cases the athletes manage to paper over those cracks through their performances.
:
What do you expect when they are both based in Switerland and are protected by those interesting Swiz secrecy laws. Andrew Jennings the crime and corruption journo who wrote The Lord of The Rings books which exposed the IOC's corruption has just written a book on FIFA. Will have to pick up a copy and have a read. Mind you when you are big as FIFA and the IOC and all the political pressures and money involved, it's pretty difficult to be squeeky clean.
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 17:47
Thats something thats been semi over looked amongst all the other farcical things that happened. What sorta ref blows the whistle when the balls about to go over the line? Clown of the highest order. Hope he never referees another international match after that.
I like the fact The Guardian took the mickey out of the English tendency to assume that "Johnny Foreigner" referees are liable to foul up. :thumbsu:
WHAT A NIGHT
Cannot wait for the next game. Thank goodness work is finished. Redbull once again comes to the party and gets me through the day.
The Rosemont= Home of Kings.
RoosterLad
23 Jun 2006, 19:15
One of the greatest moments in Australia's history. I cant believe we have come back twice now, first Japan now Croatia... ****ing brilliant!
Powerstufff
23 Jun 2006, 21:29
One of the greatest moments in Australia's history.....Please! I loved it too but for heaven's sakes. A big moment in Australia's sporting history for sure.
dyertribe
23 Jun 2006, 21:30
Powerstuff, I agree with you on most fronts, except the great man Dukes, the V-Bomber. He has been massive (and not refering to his ass) for us in the first 3 games, as sole striker. You have to understand that he is playing more as a 'centre half forward' if you like.
Where most teams are able to advance the ball through the midfield, we simply don't have that fluency, so our strategy is to hit long balls to Viduka, who holds up the ball in order to dish it off to our attacking midfielders. This, he has done with absolute aplomb. A goal or two would cap off his stellar tournament thus far, but that's not really the role he's being employed for at the moment. The role he's there for, he has performed heroically. We would certainly look horrendous if the big man weren't out there.
I want membership card #0000002 to the Bresh Speaks Truth fanclub.
Viduka's primary job isn't to score goals - it's to bring Bresciano, Kewell, Culina and Cahill into it, which is why we were so livid with that spankmonkey Markus Merk against Brazil.
By whistling against Viduka at every 50/50 contest he completely ruined our gameplan and any chance we had of nicking a point.
Toots Hibbert
23 Jun 2006, 22:53
I want membership card #0000002 to the Bresh Speaks Truth fanclub.
Viduka's primary job isn't to score goals - it's to bring Bresciano, Kewell, Culina and Cahill into it, which is why we were so livid with that spankmonkey Markus Merk against Brazil.
By whistling against Viduka at every 50/50 contest he completely ruined our gameplan and any chance we had of nicking a point.
I think if you have understood that it means you understand the game to a degree at least ( not saying you don't understand it well ) if you can't see that aspect of Australia's play it means you really are just starting out to understand the game.
Powerstufff
24 Jun 2006, 11:11
..... if you can't see that aspect of Australia's play it means you really are just starting out to understand the game.
No offence taken, and none intended in return Toots, but I've wanted to use this picture for some time. A pity I cant get it to show as a graphic. :D
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=10981&dateline=1151107100&type=profile
BTW I've heard a fair bit on Viduka's role since I posted and it all supports what you guys have said. FWIW I think we have played in some exciting and skillful games. I have seen passages of play in a couple of good games since but woke early this morning and watched France v Togo and it was excruciatingly boring and the skills were :thumbsd: especially with the Togons.
Toots Hibbert
24 Jun 2006, 12:18
Yeah I've started watching a few games and stopped because they were dead boring. It sure helps when you've got an emotional stake in a game.
Imagine what Aussie Rules would look like if played at an international level. It would be amazing.
There's a good thread discussing the Italy game on the soccer board. IMO Weaver makes a lot of sense.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=250785&page=3
Ford Fairlane
24 Jun 2006, 13:25
I think to be fair to Powerstufff, while the Duke does a great job in bullocking, shielding and feeding the ball, it's not unreasonable to expect the central striker to score occasionally. He made his international debut 12 years ago and has scored 6 goals in that time. Personally I think Australia looks pretty dangerous with Aloisi up front too. He unsettles defences by running at them, has height for the crosses into the box (he's as tall as Viduka), has scored one in this WC, had a second ridiculously disallowed and put a deft header in the path of Kewell to set up the match saving goal.
BTW Powerstufff, I think you might have been watching France vs Togo, not Tonga. otherwise the score would likely have been 30-0... ;)
Powerstufff
24 Jun 2006, 13:29
.....BTW Powerstufff, I think you might have been watching France vs Togo, not Tonga. otherwise the score would likely have been 30-0... ;) :o now edited :o
Mind you I'm not a great deal the wiser. I've never heard of Togo, except for their parties.
Ford Fairlane
24 Jun 2006, 13:38
:o now edited :o
Mind you I'm not a great deal the wiser. I've never heard of Togo, except for their parties.
I had to look them up in an Atlas, all I knew was they are from Africa and in each match they played, either the players were threatening to boycott or the manager was. They were a self-contained off field melodrama.
JFI Togo is on the west coast of Africa, wedged between Ghana and Benin. Coincidentally, there's a row of countries - Ivory Coast, Ghana and Togo and all qualified.
Togons? Togoans? Togtians?
Powerstufff
24 Jun 2006, 13:41
...in each match they played, either the players were threatening to boycott or the manager was....They hadn't been paid, at least what they apparently had been promised.
Ford Fairlane
24 Jun 2006, 13:43
It was either what they were promised, or they found out what others were being paid. Like they say, a little knowledge ... ;)
Oh and they're the Togolese according to this report. (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=372264&cc=3436)
Powerstufff
24 Jun 2006, 14:08
Togo, togo, togo.....
http://orgs.jmu.edu/kappakappapsi/pictures/Pre1997/images/Toga-84-85.jpg
Ford Fairlane
24 Jun 2006, 14:10
Togo, togo, togo.....
http://orgs.jmu.edu/kappakappapsi/pictures/Pre1997/images/Toga-84-85.jpg
They look like they could be all related to each other ... :eek:
Toots Hibbert
24 Jun 2006, 15:19
Here's the coach:-
http://msnbcmedia.msn.com/j/msnbc/Components/Photos/050816/050816_animalhouse_vlg_3p.widec.jpg
RussellEbertHandball
24 Jun 2006, 17:49
I had to look them up in an Atlas, all I knew was they are from Africa and in each match they played, either the players were threatening to boycott or the manager was. They were a self-contained off field melodrama.
JFI Togo is on the west coast of Africa, wedged between Ghana and Benin. Coincidentally, there's a row of countries - Ivory Coast, Ghana and Togo and all qualified.
Togons? Togoans? Togtians?
Most of the world's top male black sprinters of the last 30 years can trace their ancestary back to this part of west Africa. The Ghanian's look like gazelles as they move around the pitch with so much grace. Togo also looked like a quick side but were down on technical side of the game and I enjoyed watching Cote d'Ivorie especially their come from behind win against Serbia and Montenegro.
Imagine if FIFA spent a huge amount of money in infrastructure in Africa especially west Africa and they were politically stable. At the last world cup Nigeria, Senegal and Cameroon were the representatives from west Africa. Next world cup in South Africa may well see the Africans dominating the last 16.
It's all in the Genes. Maybe they need a joint tourism marketing campaign.... West Africa, home of the fast twitch fibre.
RussellEbertHandball
24 Jun 2006, 17:55
If we get passed Italy the 1/4 final opponents will be Korea/Switz or Ukraine. All 3 potential opponents are beatable. Maybe GUUUUUS will get his 3 peat Semi Final performance. Getting passed Germany or Argentina, no chance.
So after Italy we then have Switerland or Ukraine. I'm on the GUUUUS 3 peat SF bandwagon along with Harry Kewell. Harry is more confident than me, he thinks we can win it.
raikkonen
25 Jun 2006, 16:31
Anyone else heard that they are looking at having a big screen at Adelaide Oval for the game tomorrow night, with bands and entertainment as well. All money raised to go to charity, gold coin donation or something to get in.
Powerstufff
25 Jun 2006, 16:48
Anyone else heard that they are looking at having a big screen at Adelaide Oval for the game tomorrow night, with bands and entertainment as well. All money raised to go to charity, gold coin donation or something to get in.The standard twits in North Adelaide complained again and that appears off. Morphetville Racecourse is making a bit of a push.
raikkonen
25 Jun 2006, 17:20
The standard twits in North Adelaide complained again and that appears off. Morphetville Racecourse is making a bit of a push.
Really? Thats bull sh1t. Hindmarsh could be a decent altrenative as well, what do you think?
Powerstufff
25 Jun 2006, 17:34
Really? Thats bull sh1t. Hindmarsh could be a decent altrenative as well, what do you think?The difference is that Morphetville Racecourse (aka Allan Scott Park) has a giant screen, can handle a larger crowd, and is actually putting its hand up for this. Really it's ideal. Central, heaps of parking and so on.
raikkonen
25 Jun 2006, 17:39
The difference is that Morphetville Racecourse (aka Allan Scott Park) has a giant screen, can handle a larger crowd, and is actually putting its hand up for this. Really it's ideal. Central, heaps of parking and so on.
Ive got the online broadcast happening now, but honestly these bloody whingeing snobs at N. Adelaide, and the SACA are screwing everyone over.
Powerstufff
25 Jun 2006, 17:45
,,,,,,these bloody wingeing snobs at N. Adelaide, and the SACA are screwing everyone over.Yes. For anyone wondering why the SANFL felt driven to investing huge amounts of money to move out to West Lakes and build Football Park here is a little history refresher.
raikkonen
25 Jun 2006, 18:25
It's on now. Should be huge.
Paralowiepower
25 Jun 2006, 21:22
I'm going to the Oval, hope many others do too. It will be huge!
Toots Hibbert
26 Jun 2006, 08:30
I've just seen the Dutch get eliminated. I'm kind of sorry but based on what I've seen of them in this comp they weren't going anywhere after this round. No creativity really. Van Basten what were you thinking? Kuyt has not much idea as a striker, why not at least try Van Nistelrooy for 15 to 20 minutes at the end. As for Total Football, well it wasn't much in evidence, the Portuguese were far too well organised even though they played with one man less than the Dutch for periods.
For devotees of dirty football watch the replay tonight. A host of yellow cards to both sides, two red cards. All warranted and a couple of other players a little lucky. Rough play, cynical fouls, a headbut by Figo (that wasn't spotted by the ref), a couple of melees. Started with a bad challenge in the first half on Ronaldo which led to him going off injured 15 minutes later and turned into the battle of Nuremburg after that. If you want to cut to the worst bits watch the second half. The ref did a superb job in the circumstances.
Aussies rough? Pffft, we're absolute angels compared to what these two countries served up.
It was funny to see Deco and Van Bronkhorst chatting amicably on the sidelines after being sent off. (They play for the same club).
Total Power
26 Jun 2006, 08:44
Toots, what are your predictions for tonights game?
Toots Hibbert
26 Jun 2006, 10:11
Toots, what are your predictions for tonights game?
Sadly I think the Italians will prevail due to greater experience and an edge in talent but we do have some chance and we certainly won't lack in tactics.
I think Hiddink will put Culina into Emerton's spot and bring Bresciano into the starting lineup and we'll be stronger as a result. I reckon we should go with a 4-2-3-1 formation to start with and then adjust as necessary. I reckon Viduka should get a reasonable run from this ref based on the second leg against Uruguay .
I thought Sterjovski had his best game for us against the Croats otherwise I'd be inclined to have Aloisi in the starting lineup.
What are your own thoughts?
Total Power
26 Jun 2006, 10:41
I think Lippi go with the usual 4-3-2-1 formation the italians play.Its going to be very hard to beat Cannavaro or Nesta and italians are the master of drama, watchout for those free kicks and red cards.I say go with a 4-4-2 formation, italians usually play counter attacking football, we should keep pressing and watchout for the breakaway moves, specially from the likes of Inzaghi and Toni (23 offsides in 3 games so far, but you'd hope if the trap is not laid properly, its going to be a goal)
Porthos
26 Jun 2006, 10:46
I thought Nesta wasn't playing.
Total Power
26 Jun 2006, 10:46
Still doubtful it says, on the fifa website i thought :confused:
Porthos
26 Jun 2006, 10:48
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2006/4991534.stm
Nesta out, Materazzi in
Total Power
26 Jun 2006, 10:50
Ah ok cheers :thumbsu: , they should update the fifa website more often :rolleyes:
Toots Hibbert
26 Jun 2006, 11:13
I read on the soccer board that Kewell pulled up sore and is a doubtful starter. No source though.
wharfie_1870
26 Jun 2006, 12:08
I read on the soccer board that Kewell pulled up sore and is a doubtful starter. No source though.Heard Guus interviewed on ABC radio this morning and he said;
"We'll see how Harry recovers, he will not participate with the team at training this morning and we will see how his situation is tomorrow"
The full story is online at ABC Sport (http://www.abc.net.au/sport/content/200606/s1671408.htm)
Total Power
26 Jun 2006, 12:40
****...we really need harry. :mad:
Powerstufff
26 Jun 2006, 12:50
The timing of the World Cup has been great for fans of the 12 AFL clubs whose clubs had last weekend off. Things will start to get hairy if the Socceroos win tonight. Sport may take over my life.
Blue Red and Gold
26 Jun 2006, 13:58
I think Harry is out, didnt make an appearance at the final training session.
RussellEbertHandball
26 Jun 2006, 14:45
Toot's I fell in and out of sleep in the first half but watched all of the second half. What was wrong with Van Nistelrooy? Is he injured. Every time I see him play for Man U he seems to score or create a scoring opportunity.
Second half was very entertaining. Woke me up. Dutch were stiff not equalise. If they went to extra time it would have been 6 v 6. Poms must have sat back and loved all the yellow and red cards being racked up by both sides. Not sure I agree with you about the ref. He seemed to lose control.
Ford Fairlane
26 Jun 2006, 14:46
I've just seen the Dutch get eliminated. I'm kind of sorry but based on what I've seen of them in this comp they weren't going anywhere after this round. No creativity really. Van Basten what were you thinking? Kuyt has not much idea as a striker, why not at least try Van Nistelrooy for 15 to 20 minutes at the end. As for Total Football, well it wasn't much in evidence, the Portuguese were far too well organised even though they played with one man less than the Dutch for periods.
For devotees of dirty football watch the replay tonight. A host of yellow cards to both sides, two red cards. All warranted and a couple of other players a little lucky. Rough play, cynical fouls, a headbut by Figo (that wasn't spotted by the ref), a couple of melees. Started with a bad challenge in the first half on Ronaldo which led to him going off injured 15 minutes later and turned into the battle of Nuremburg after that. If you want to cut to the worst bits watch the second half. The ref did a superb job in the circumstances.
Aussies rough? Pffft, we're absolute angels compared to what these two countries served up.
It was funny to see Deco and Van Bronkhorst chatting amicably on the sidelines after being sent off. (They play for the same club).
The reports I've seen of the game were a little less generous to the ref.
And sadly the red cardfest plus injuries may see Portugal go into the England game without Figo or Ronaldo as well as Costinha and Deco. And that's an unfortunate leg up for an uninspiring England in what has been an otherwise terrific World Cup.
As Richard Williams in The Guardian (http://football.guardian.co.uk/worldcup2006/comment/story/0,,1805955,00.html) commented:
England, however, are a squad with pretensions to win the World Cup for the first time in 40 years and they should be deeply worried by the continuing poverty and confusion of their play. They have now produced 360 minutes of football without suggesting for more than a moment that they belong in the same tournament as Argentina, Germany, Brazil, Ghana, Holland and Australia.
Please scotch the rumours linking Eriksson to Australia ... :(
Ford Fairlane
26 Jun 2006, 14:49
Toot's I fell in and out of sleep in the first half but watched all of the second half. What was wrong with Van Nistelrooy? Is he injured. Every time I see him play for Man U he seems to score or create a scoring opportunity.
Second half was very entertaining. Woke me up. Dutch were stiff not equalise. If they went to extra time it would have been 6 v 6. Poms must have sat back and loved all the yellow and red cards being racked up by both sides. Not sure I agree with you about the ref. He seemed to lose control.
On van Nistelrooy on the Soccernet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=191969&cc=3436) site:
And, through it all, Ruud van Nistelrooy remained on the bench, axed now by his country as well as his club, with his future looking distinctly uncertain.
So closely matched were these two sides on paper and so enthralling - England apart - has this World Cup been, it could have been anticipated there would be no lack of incident.
Van Nistelrooy's omission provided the first talking point an hour before kick-off.
Having dumped Edgar Davids, Clarence Seedorf, Patrick Kluivert and Roy Makaay from his squad altogether, Van Basten has already shown himself to be no respecter of reputations and Van Nistelrooy was paying the price for a series of indifferent performances in Germany which were highlighted in public by his coach earlier this week.
Toots Hibbert
26 Jun 2006, 15:30
Kuyt reminded me of the guy Holland had up front against Argentina in the final against them in Argentina all those years ago. I can't think of his name now. That guy spent most of his time getting into physical confrontations with his opposite number in the Argentine defence and had a poor level of technical ability.
The difference this time with Kuyt was that he concentrated on playing football and that he was not replaced part way through the second half. The first difference was good, the second completely inexplicable.
Thunderer
26 Jun 2006, 18:37
Go the Socceroos.
The important thing against Italy is not to concede a goal first. If you do Italy will apply the famous catanaccio tactic and just kill the game with defensive and midfield passing. I really rate Italy, in fact if they hadn't met up with Australia at this stage I would have baracked for them to lift the trophy at the end of the tournament. However, I feel that the Aussies have something to prove, athletic players, a great coach and most importanly a never say die spirit.
Realisticly, I am expecting a 1:0 win for Italy, but optimisticly I reckon Australia can win it comfortably by 2:0 by frustrating the Italians. Oh and please Guus, keep Scwarzer on goal, pretty please.
Oh and please Guus, keep Scwarzer on goal, pretty please.A big Hallelujah and praise the lord to that, friend.
Toots Hibbert
27 Jun 2006, 01:27
Kewell, Kalac and Emerton are out,
Schwartzer :thumbsu: , Bresciano :thumbsu: Wilkshire :thumbsd: in.
Half an hour to go. Come on Aussie.
Toots Hibbert
27 Jun 2006, 04:16
Ah sh*t what a way to finish. Terrible decision to award the penalty. :mad:
Two bad decisions by the ref. The first to send off the Italian. The second was the penalty. In between Australia had 40 minutes to take the lead and we didn't use it well enough. Full credit to the Italians for defending terrifically well.
What a tragic end. I just feel if we could have got to extra time we had them on the rack and would have finished them off.
I hope Lucas Neill doesn't feel too bad. I think he was our best player in this tournament and grew in stature and played a blinder in this game. That was never a penalty.
The party's over but Australia can be proud. Our guys played like a top class team tonight and the world was watching.
Total Power
27 Jun 2006, 04:29
Absolutely shattered :( , cant even talk at the moment to explain how much it hurts, just as bad as the match against sydney in 2001 :( ****ing cheats
Ford Fairlane
27 Jun 2006, 09:48
A sad way to go out, but so much good was achieved for Australian fussball. Wonderful showing thru the group stage and a tremendous effort in the knockout phase to go out to a controversial penalty. As Barry Glendenning wrote in the minute by minute report in The Guardian (http://football.guardian.co.uk/worldcup2006/minbymin/0,,1788421,00.html) ...
Going so close only to be shafted by a last-minute Italian winner - in time you'll get over it my Aussie friends. It happens the best of us and it's all part of the big learning curve in international football. A rite of passage for you.
I'll probably be the Lone Ranger here, but at normal speed the penalty looked there to me. A sliding tackle in the box in the heat of the moment and a dramatically theatrical dive which actually looked like Grosso's legs were taken were a dangerous combination. In slow motion tho, it clearly wasn't a penalty. Grosso just managed to trip himself over Neill so convincingly, it looked real (at normal speed). But I've seen worse given (see Ghana v USA and our friend Mr Merk).
In all, I thought the Australians disappointed in this game as far as finishing went. Sure we had lots of ball especially when Italy went down to 10 men, but never looked threatening. Aloisi probably should have been brought on earlier (and Kennedy) but I guess Guus was hanging out for ET. We really missed Kewell's brilliance especially and Emerton. I thought the Italians looked more menacing when they went forward before the send off - Luca Toni seemed to get in behind the defence at will and create panic, and they still looked dangerous on the break after the send off, especially after Totti came on.
Anyway, a great tournament for Australia and we should really have set ourselves for the future. :thumbsu:
As for the remainder of the Cup ...Deutschland, Deutschland ... ;)
Porthos
27 Jun 2006, 10:23
Being ripped by the refs is part of a learning curve? I thought you were meant to learn something from learning curves? Whats to learn that we didn't already know?
The `beautiful game' consists of using the refs as a strategy to win.
Arsene Wenger
27 Jun 2006, 10:51
I think it was a penalty "that can be given" without too much trouble. Many refs wouldnt give it - Some would. The Spanish ref was giving free kicks for any sort of contact and the moment Grosso went over Neill it was always going to be given and the game was effectively all over. I think the penalty was there and it was not about being unlucky - we just werent good enough. Having 40 minutes to get a goal against a side with 10 men is a huge advantage which we did not capitalise on. Italy defended superbly and caught us out in cruel fashion. Thats life and we must grow from this...