View Full Version : 1976 SANFL Grand Final
Satay Mat
21st January 2002, 10:18
Picked this up on Video when I was in Adelaide over Xmas.
Fair crowd that....people sitting 2 or 3 deep inside the fence. A good game by the double blues as well. I bought it a) to see the crowd and b) to see Bagshaw, who I had not seen play, but had heard good things.
Also picked up....
1977 - Port v Glenelg....mainly just to see Cornes get knocked about. Plays a lot like Chad (or should that be Chad plays a lot like Dad).
1971 - North v Port at Adelaide Oval (another fair crowd > 50,000). Mainly got this to see Robran. Also picked up the 1972 GF as well.
1980 - got this one last year. Port v Norwood. One of the best Port sides ever...lost 2 games for the whole year.
I am interested in:
a) was anyone at the 1976 GF ? or any of the other games mentioned ?
b) what old SANFL games to you have on tape ?
Satay Mat
Macca19
21st January 2002, 10:57
Originally posted by Satay Mat
b) what old SANFL games to you have on tape ?
Satay Mat
The games you mentioned were before i was born. But i have the 77 grand final on tape and its a good game of football that!!
As for other old games ive got....this is my list of Port Magpies games:
1988 Grand final Port v Glenelg
1989 Grand Final Port v North
1990 Grand Final Port v Glenelg
1992 Grand Final Port v Glenelg
1994 Grand Final Port v Eagles
1995 Grand Final Port v Centrals
1996 Preliminary Final Port v Norwood
1996 Grand Final Port v Centrals
1997 2nd Semi Final Port v Norwood
1998 Grand Final Port v Sturt
1999 Grand Final Port v Norwood
My dad also does quite a few sport hilites tapes from every year since 1981 and has quite a bit of Port hilites from the news and stuff.
I wouldnt mind getting my hands on a copy of the 1990 Prelim between North and Port where Port kicked 13 goals to 1 in the first quarter (i think Hodges kicked 8 of those)
Macca19
21st January 2002, 10:58
oops, forgot to mention...i have a 'The Way It Was '81' video which is bloody good. And a video called 'Port '84' which has hilites of most of the Port games thru the 84 season
killer
21st January 2002, 11:45
'69 '70 '74'75'76
I reckon the '75(Norwood/Glenelg)was the best.
... video machine ate my tape...
Uncle Steve
21st January 2002, 17:31
My Glenelg video library:
1973, 1985, 1986 Grand Finals - the '85 tape also has 10-15 mins from the preliminary final (North v West)
1992 Foundation Cup final v Sturt
1995 Round 1 v Port (16 goal win, Spotty snaps his ankle)
1997 Round 1 v Central (a solid contest)
1999 Round 21 v Port (same day that "Pride Of The Bay" was launched)
2001 Round 1 v Sturt (good come-from-behind win)
Tigers '85 highlights
Tigers '83 highlights
If anyone could tell me where I could get a copy of the infamous 1982 preliminary final, I would be eternally grateful!
Grave Danger
21st January 2002, 18:02
I've got the 1990, 94, 95, 96, 98 & 99 SANFL Grand Finals. The 1990 one is an odd one - Channel 7 I think, Ian Day and Graeme Campbell commentating. For some reason there's no action replays on it, which is a bit of a b*astard when you want to see Wangas towelling up Scooter Salisbury time and time again :D
The others are all ABCTV tapes. The huge comeback and blowing away of Torrens-Woodpeckers in 1994 is "pure gold", as Joffa might say :p
Spogs
23rd January 2002, 08:03
I was at the '76 grand final but was pretty young and spent most of the game hanging from a handrail trying get a glimpse of at least part of the oval.
In those days it was standing room in the outer and being a kid it was impossible to see over the top. Saw the last quarter though after a lot of Port supporters went home.
Mum is fanatical about keeping videos of Sturt games. She's also got over 50 scrap books going back to the early seventies with newspaper articles etc. They are great to look at occassionally to remind you what a great comp the SANFL used to be.
dreamkillers
28th January 2002, 15:26
I've got a copy of all Port Adelaide final's victories since 1977 - a pretty extensive set. Best game would have to be a toss up between
1994 GF Port vs Eagles coming back from 6 goals down in the first quarter
1996 Prelim Port vs Norwood coming from behind all day with a great kick by Hodges well outside the 50 just before the final siren to snatch the lead.
As for the 1976 Grand Final it was the first GF I had been to and being a 10 yo Port supporter was pretty depressed with out game on the day - made even worse after lining up the day before to get front row reserved seats only to have latecomers get a seat in front of us on the ground.
After that day it certainly made the 77 win so much more satisfying with Russell's famous quote on the dias:-
"It's been a bloody long time.....
but by gees it's worth it"
Used to love those Alberton premiership celebration in the 80's and 90's.........
Worst game I attended besides 76 was the Prelim when Glenelg in the lat 70's beat us by a kick after Grave Danger had been reported 4 times and near the end of the game should have been given a free kick as the ball came into our forward line but there was no way the umps would assist there after his earlier efforts.
Leaving the ground wearing my duffle coat with the bug number 18 I was spat at, abused even attacked by old ladies with umbrellas.......ah those were the days.........at least I could look forward to a regular premiership except for the rebuilding years in the mid 80's.
Hoping the ABC will broadcast the SANFL again up here in the NT this year but it doesn't look promising at the moment - they've even dumped the local footy comp and replaced it with rugby.
Go Port
FattyLumpkin
30th January 2002, 19:51
I was there in '76. HUGE crowd. The ones inside the fence where the bloody late-comers!! The rest of us mugs who got up early got 2nd rate seats compared to these guys who turn up at 1pm & got the best view.
Port were red hot favourites. I think this was the "Rick Davies" game. He just tore port apart - his 3rd quarter was senstaional. Port supporters started leaving early into the 4th - nothing better than seeing that!
Cheers,
Fatty
dreamkillers
2nd February 2002, 01:49
Not all of us left.......
I think you'll find that game was a significant part of Port's success since that game........a feeling no-one at the club wanted to experience again.......hence 4 premierships from the following 5 years.
Go Port
Blues_Brat
2nd February 2002, 02:50
I've resisted replying to this thread until now.
"The finest moment in the history of the Sturt Football Club" - Paul Bagshaw.
The only thing that disappoints me about this game is the fact that this is our last premiership, way too long between drinks.
Satay: Is the video you have the full game? For many years the only video tape available was a highlights package. Matt Benson (when he was running the SFC, god bless him) discovered 4 tapes in during a clean out and found that each tape was one quarter of the great game. They were then edited into one tape of the game. Costing $40 at the time, although expensive compared to most SANFL Grand Final videos, well worth the dosh.
Even Port supporters must agree, this game was the greatest in the history of the SANFL. The point in time that the state league was at its zenith. Although the official head count is 68000, in reality that is where they stopped counting, actual estimates place the numbers close to 75000.
I would have given anything to have been there, I was old enough to go, probably not old enough to have appreciated it at the time, but at least I could have said I had been there. My parents suck for not taking me.
Blues_Brat
2nd February 2002, 02:56
Footnote:
When I started working I met a Port supporter who's most hated club was Sturt because of 1976. He told me the story about how Port were red hot faves and his parents bought $120 (a lot of money in 1976) worth of food for a massive premiership celebration.
He said after what happened, no one turned up. They sat there devastated, drinking and watching this food go off.
:D :D
Macca19
2nd February 2002, 09:18
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Not all of us left.......
I think you'll find that game was a significant part of Port's success since that game........a feeling no-one at the club wanted to experience again.......hence 4 premierships from the following 5 years.
Go Port
It also made 1998 that much sweeter getting revenge on the double blues. In 1998 Sturt were the red hot favourites to take the flag, considering Port had struggled thru the minor round...finished 4th, but won their first 3 finals by over 10 goals each...then to get revenge on the Double Blues, who were so damn cocky and arrogant...and "suddenly" they had 35,000 *cough* "true blue" *cough* supporters. Quite funny really....they had all this bloody support, but you couldnt find a sturt supporter anywhere in the mid 90s. Was sweet beating their bandwagon arses
Blues_Brat
2nd February 2002, 13:35
Originally posted by Macca19
It also made 1998 that much sweeter getting revenge on the double blues. In 1998 Sturt were the red hot favourites to take the flag, considering Port had struggled thru the minor round...finished 4th, but won their first 3 finals by over 10 goals each...then to get revenge on the Double Blues, who were so damn cocky and arrogant...and "suddenly" they had 35,000 *cough* "true blue" *cough* supporters. Quite funny really....they had all this bloody support, but you couldnt find a sturt supporter anywhere in the mid 90s. Was sweet beating their bandwagon arses
Bandwagon, my arse. Port have their fair share.. Macca, do Port have 35000 people roll up to a minor round game? Of course not, the Grand Final will always see more 'supporters' attend.
I resent that bandwagon comment, if Port were to suffer what we did, I couldn't imagine too many of their supporters going week in week out like some of us did. That so called Port Adelaide loyalty has never been properly tested, in a crisis most you'l find your supporters as fickle as any.
Macca19
2nd February 2002, 16:19
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
Bandwagon, my arse. Port have their fair share.. Macca, do Port have 35000 people roll up to a minor round game? Of course not, the Grand Final will always see more 'supporters' attend.
I resent that bandwagon comment, if Port were to suffer what we did, I couldn't imagine too many of their supporters going week in week out like some of us did. That so called Port Adelaide loyalty has never been properly tested, in a crisis most you'l find your supporters as fickle as any.
bullcrap...you said yourself when you were in adelaide that you hated the fact every man and its horse suddenly was a sturt supporter again.
Was ridiculous....suddenly droves of people are showing up to Sturt games...people saying they were always loyal and went week in week out....what a load of crap. You guys averaged about 1200 at games during the bad times.
Sure Port has never been tested...probably never will be tested...but to say Sturt did not have bandwagon supporters is 100% rubbish. I fully respect the people that DID stand by Sturt in those bad times....the rest of your 'supporters'...well...i dont wanna be booted off bigfooty so ill bite my tongue
dreamkillers
2nd February 2002, 19:29
In a way our loyalty was tested during the mid 80's when we went through what us Port supporters call a bleak period from 1982 to 1987 when we went 6 years without a flag and missed the finals on 2 occasions. I can't comment on before 1976 as I was too young to remember and wasn't even thought of when we won our previous flag in 1965. Even through this bleak period in the mid 80's our crowd numbers were still consistently well and truly above the other SANFL clubs.
I agree we do have bandwagon supporters - what club doesn't but we do have a core supporter base greater than any other SANFL club - and I believe we have the most passionate supporters as well.
This spurred the club on to greater success in the late 80 and dominating the 90's. From 1976 we won 13 flags in the next 25 years - a pretty impressive record you must admit and the envy of all other clubs.
It was interesting to hear Peter Jonas's comments after Central's won their first flag in 2000 where he commented...."We never tried to pull Port Adelaide back to the pack like other clubs......we strived to join them at the top of the pack"........
something most other clubs could learn from......but I doubt it.......
As for
Even Port supporters must agree, this game was the greatest in the history of the SANFL. The point in time that the state league was at its zenith. Although the official head count is 68000, in reality that is where they stopped counting, actual estimates place the numbers close to 75000.
Sorry cannot agree at all with you there.........the only amazing thing on that day was the size of the crowd and the feeling of being ripped off by having latecomers get the front row seats inside the fence.
Most Port vs Norwood games beat that game for greatness and good footy - especially the classic 1996 preliminary final where we came back 21 points down at the beginning of time-on to win rate much higher.
As for Grand Finals my most satisfying win was the 1990 game where Glenelg were playing for 'the Pride of SA' against us supposed 'traitors from Port' - with Cornes coming into our rooms at the end of the day saying they had a better side (yeah right...).
Or the 1989 Grand Final where North kicked that record score of 1 goal 8 points.......and didn't Tregenza cop heaps for allowing his opponent on the day to kick North's only goal in the 3rd quarter.
The 1994 Grand Final against the Eagles was another great one......6 goals down at quarter time and then slowly beginning to dominate from half way through the 2nd quarter.
Sometimes we come across as arrogant with our support but to us the only success is to lift up the cup at the end of the year. I've seen our club win too many games from impossible positions and will never believe they can never win a game............
Our history speaks for itself......
During the past 128 years Port Adelaide can be very proud of it's achievements, particularly Australian Records including 36 premierships on our own and 35 runners up, 6 premierships in a row, 4 times Champions of Australia and a 72.6% win ratio from almost 2500 games.
At the Port Magpies we expect to win......and I wouldn't have it any other way
Uncle Steve
2nd February 2002, 20:19
Even through this bleak period in the mid 80's our crowd numbers were still consistently well and truly above the other SANFL clubs.
Cite the figures which prove this statement.
but we do have a core supporter base greater than any other SANFL club - and I believe we have the most passionate supporters as well.
Cite the figures proving that Port's support is significantly greater than any other club.
As for the "passion" claim, that is largely a subjective statement. Nevertheless, furnish us with some evidence.
I grow tired of hearing (some of) the Port folk claim "Port was by far the most supported team", "Port was head and shoulders above the rest", "Port fans stuck by the club through the lean years", etc, etc. I believe that (some) Port fans have been hearing the same recycled propaganda for so long that they actually believe it . I don't believe it, for I have yet to see anyone produce conclusive figures.
Here's your chance - if you can back up your claims, then post the evidence here. Or are you one of the brainless majority which is simply content to believe all the fairy stories?
dreamkillers
2nd February 2002, 22:19
The evidence is not available online and all of my football budgets from this period are no longer in my possesion but you will be able to confirm the attendance figures by contacting the SANFL
via email at paulm@sanfl.com.au
or by snail mail at
SANFL Inc.
PO Box 1
WEST LAKES SA 5021
As for the figures for each club.........I suggest you contact each SANFL club for their membership numbers throughout the years. They all have contact addresses at the SANFL site which you can find at
The
http://www.sanfl.com.au/
As for the passion it can be hard to prove things with figures and quotes but one fact that can be confirmed by the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club is that every year more than 100 ex players or supporters have their ashes spread over the turf of Alberton Oval.
Like my mother who has been a member of the club for 60+ years I have this already written into my will as I'd like to think my passion and support for the club has been part of their continued success of the club.
I also help run the local Port Adelaide Magpies Supporter Group in Darwin (we also have another group based in Alice Springs) and after contacting all SANFL clubs in recent years we have found there to be no supporter groups in the NT for any of the other SANFL clubs.
Although this doesn't prove a lot it does show we have a strong commitment and passion to our club no matter where we are based in the country as the Port Magpies have supporter groups based in all states of Australia expect the ACT. I'd be interested to hear whether other SANFL clubs have on-going supporters groups for their supporters in other states besides SA.
I noticed that you cut off half of my second statement in your quote........which in full read.....
"I agree we do have bandwagon supporters - what club doesn't but we do have a core supporter base greater than any other SANFL club - and I believe we have the most passionate supporters as well."
So I am agreeing with you that we do have bandwagon supporters who jump on board for the good years and disappear with the bad (not that there have been many in recent years). So again to back this up check with the SANFL by contacting them at the above link..........I don't believe any of my earlier statements fall into your category of propaganda.
Talking of claims, evidence and conclusive figures.....perhaps you could show us some that prove my earlier statements incorrect.......... I have no doubt about the information I provided in my earlier post and if you really want to prove otherwise I suggest contacting the SANFL as a good starting point for your research - they will have crowd figures for all SANFL games for at least the past 30+ years.
As for your last sentence I'm not going to stoop down to your level by name calling...............all I will say is I am a proud and passionate supporter and member of my Port Adelaide Football Club.
Satay Mat
3rd February 2002, 11:52
I've resisted replying to this thread until now.
"The finest moment in the history of the Sturt Football Club" - Paul Bagshaw.
The only thing that disappoints me about this game is the fact that this is our last premiership, way too long between drinks.
Satay: Is the video you have the full game? For many years the only video tape available was a highlights package. Matt Benson (when he was running the SFC, god bless him) discovered 4 tapes in during a clean out and found that each tape was one quarter of the great game. They were then edited into one tape of the game. Costing $40 at the time, although expensive compared to most SANFL Grand Final videos, well worth the dosh.
I would have given anything to have been there, I was old enough to go, probably not old enough to have appreciated it at the time, but at least I could have said I had been there. My parents suck for not taking me.
It's the full game....got it from a video sales shop on Waymouth Street....they had a good collection of SANFL tapes, including from the 50's and 60's. Can't remember the name....there are two....you want the one on the right hand side as you are walking from the centre of town and it is a fair way down...past light square and quite close to West Tce.
Satay Mat
Uncle Steve
3rd February 2002, 16:11
The evidence is not available online and all of my football budgets from this period are no longer in my possesion
you will be able to confirm the attendance figures by contacting the SANFL
[...]
As for the figures for each club.........I suggest you contact each SANFL club for their membership numbers throughout the years. They all have contact addresses at the SANFL site
I am not going to do your homework. You made the claims, you provide the evidence which supports them.
Talking of claims, evidence and conclusive figures.....perhaps you could show us some that prove my earlier statements incorrect.......... I have no doubt about the information I provided in my earlier post
Very well.
An article published in The Sunday Mail, 9/9/1990, attributes much of the crowd drawn in that year to three teams: Port, Norwood and Glenelg. I cannot find actual figures, but from memory Port and Norwood drew approximately the same average crowd level (over 10000), with Glenelg very close in third place - about 1000 less.
Port's average attendance was head and shoulders above the other clubs in the years prior to the Power's AFL entry, but when this occurred Port's average crowd plummeted, leaving Norwood as the most followed (in average terms). See The Advertiser, 6/11/1997.
In 2000 Norwood was the most followed club, in terms of average attendance figures. Port was second, marginally ahead of Sturt. See The Advertiser, 10/11/2000.
An article published in The Advertiser, 2/7/2001, suggests that Norwood is the most followed club in terms of average attendance, with Port in second place. Central was way behind in third. The highest attended match to that point was between Sturt and Norwood - not Port.
I hasten to add that Norwood and Port's figures last year were inflated by two heavily-promoted "blockbuster" matches which drew heavy crowds. The typical crowd (in a median sense) for both Port and Norwood is likely much closer to the rest of the pack.
From memory, Port's membership was miles ahead of the other clubs in the mid-nineties, largely due to the buildup for the AFL entry. However Port's membership numbers were eclipsed by Sturt in the latter half of the '90s. I do not have a reference for this at hand, nor do I have the current membership levels available to me. I will confirm this once I have found the information.
All of this demonstrates that Port's crowd numbers were not "well and truly above the other SANFL clubs" (your words); nor did Port have "a core supporter base greater than any other SANFL club". One of the largest, certainly; but not significantly greater than any of the other "better" teams of any era.
I am prepared to concede the comments regarding passion, though. Fair enough - Port has it's share of passionate supporters. Whether or not they are the most passionate remains a value judgement; Port certainly does not have a monopoly on supporter passion.
Blues_Brat
3rd February 2002, 17:15
It's the full game....got it from a video sales shop on Waymouth Street....they had a good collection of SANFL tapes, including from the 50's and 60's. Can't remember the name....there are two....you want the one on the right hand side as you are walking from the centre of town and it is a fair way down...past light square and quite close to West Tce.
Satay Mat
I know the one you mean, they were advertising online video sales when I was in there one time, the URL is http://www.videosdirect2u.com.au .. but it has a message there saying "Coming soon - please check back in a day or two!". Only problem is, that message has been there for TWO YEARS! Shame because I would love to order some videos from them. I would love to see "The Way it Was 88" because aparantley I managed to get myself on it. :)
I was in a local video shop here in Perth a few months back and in the pile of ex rentals there was a copy of the 1990 SANFL Grand Final, go figure.
Mudholian
3rd February 2002, 21:30
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Uncle Steve
[B]
Cite the figures which prove this statement.
Cite the figures proving that Port's support is significantly greater than any other club.
Contrary to what has been said on this topic, there is ample evidence of this online if you have access as I do to any newspaper archive. Cite any year , any period you like, and I will not only give you the figures, I will give you the article in total.
If we are speaking of the 80's have the SANFL year books of the time. In 87, for example, the last of Port's very disapointing years in the 80's, their average attendance was 11,315, compared to Norwood's 9831. The Alberton Average was 8463, Norwood's 6494.
In 7 Septmeber 1990 Cornes wrote about how Port's average attendances were still above Norwood and Glenelg's (this was part of the Port for AFL backlash) but he said "not by much". Who cares?
In any year Port had more supporters, members, and the main reason othe team's averages got closer was that double headers featuring at least one POrt game started to draw drew big crowds and the averages were split.
MUD
mud n blood
4th February 2002, 13:30
Sent the link for this thread to a mate of mine - this is his response to me ....
Thanks for that. Funny, I was saying to my sons just the other day that I have had four truly great days in footy - when SA finally beat Victoria in 1983, Collingwood overcoming the hoodoo in 1990, 29 September 2001 and the 1976 SANFL Grand Final. I know a couple of people who were at the game and they tell me that you literally could not move. For twenty odd years the SANFL said that the attendance was about 67,000, but I learned recently that there was over 80,000 in. They covered it up because they were so far over capacity that it was a breach of safety regulations. And Sturt, against all the odds, beat Port Adelaide by 41 points. Ah, memories!
Rob
:cool:
dreamkillers
4th February 2002, 23:00
Uncle Steve.......
I have sent an email to every SANFL club and the SANFL asking for details of their membership levels from 1980 through to 2001 as well as the total attendances for each club in those seasons. I have also asked for the attendance figures to be broken down into the regular season and finals games.
As for the membership numbers I did hear about Sturt having a lot of members especially after they almost closed the doors in the late 90's and then their resurgance under Phil Carmen. I also remember each year in the Magpie membership renewal promotions sent out being told that we were still in front but had to maintain this. We'll soon see.
Hopefully they won't take too long to respond but it should clear things up. By getting figures for each season in total it should mean a fairer picture is painted by the stats for each club as individual games can be deceiving at times.
My original post when mentioning Ports crowds being "well and truly above other the other SANFL clubs" I was specifically talking about the period from 1982 - 1987 when Port went 6 years without winning the flag, came second once in 1984 and missed the finals for 2 seasons. This was in answer to Blues Brat's post mentioning that Port Adelaide supporters loyalty has never been properly tested.
Mind you I will be interested to see the figures post 1990 and 1997 to see the effect it has had on Port and all other SANFL clubs.
From the records Port Adelaide also went 11 years without a flag from 1966 through to 1977 when our crowd figures were still above all other clubs. During this period we saw the glory days of Sturt when they won 5 flags in a row and 3 other clubs take out the cup (North, Glenelg and Norwood) but we still managed 6 Grand Final appearances and only missed the finals for 2 years.
The Port Magpies website states.....
"The Port Adelaide Football Club, arguably the most successful in Australia, played it's first game on 24th May 1870 and today after almost 2500 games has notched up a 72.6% win ratio."
"During the past 128 years Port Adelaide can be very proud of it's achievements, particularly Australian Records including 36 Premierships and 35 runners up, 6 premierships in a row and 4 times Champions of Australia."
"The club has never finished lower than seventh, and has only been out of the major round ( the finals ) 12 times since 1877."
I'm not sure why they use 128 years but since 1877 through to 2001 there have been 122 seasons of SA footy (there was no footy during 1916-1918) and there were combined sides between 1942 - 1944 where we won 1 flag with West Torrens.
So the periods from 1966-1976 and 1982-1987 were indeed bleak moments in our history given that we average a Premiership just under every 4 seasons (36/122) and a Grand Final appearance in just under every 2 seasons (71/122) between 1877 and 2001.
Mudholian.........
I don't subscribe to newspaper archives - but perhaps you could get some answers to the figures mentioned above - although it may mean looking at each weeks Advertiser to get the game figures. I don't ever remember seeing membership totals listed in the paper but you never know.
mud n blood...........
I do remember the crowd being reported as anywhere between 60,000 - 80,000 with most saying the 75,000 figure would be the closest. Unfortunately as you say the SANFL would never have wanted the true figure revealed (and they stopped counting so it could never be recorded) due to the many safety breaches and other regulations it was breaking. We will never know the truth but it was a bl**dy big crowd but not my most happiest day........
BTW what was the 4th truly great day in your footy life......
Anyway we now just await the figures to come through........
Uncle Steve
5th February 2002, 10:45
Uncle Steve.......
I have sent an email to every SANFL club and the SANFL asking for details of their membership levels from 1980 through to 2001 as well as the total attendances for each club in those seasons. I have also asked for the attendance figures to be broken down into the regular season and finals games.
Very good. Do post the figures here when (if) you receive them. Don't count on getting the info from Glenelg in a hurry ;)
I would also be interested to see median attendance figures. This statistic is more robust when sample sizes are small. I would also break down the home/away attendance further, into first and second halves of the season. I suspect that a given teams' figures would drop in the second half, once it became clear that it was not going to make the finals.
As for the membership numbers I did hear about Sturt having a lot of members especially after they almost closed the doors in the late 90's and then their resurgance under Phil Carmen. I also remember each year in the Magpie membership renewal promotions sent out being told that we were still in front but had to maintain this. We'll soon see.
In my (admittedly brief) research all I could find was an article claiming that Sturt trebled its membership following it's "save the club" meeting in '95 or so. The article stated that it brought Sturt to second behind Port in terms of memberships. I felt certain that I read that Sturt had eclipsed Port in terms of membership at some point; perhaps it was actually home attendances, my memory ain't what it used to be. I will keep looking for the information. Stay tuned.
My original post when mentioning Ports crowds being "well and truly above other the other SANFL clubs" I was specifically talking about the period from 1982 - 1987 when Port went 6 years without winning the flag, came second once in 1984 and missed the finals for 2 seasons. This was in answer to Blues Brat's post mentioning that Port Adelaide supporters loyalty has never been properly tested.
I understand. Frankly I wouldn't expect Port's crowd to drop by any significant amount during this period. Port only had one dreadful season (1985). In the others, Port was minor premier twice ('82, '84) and took the double chance twice ('86, '87). In these years Port's home and away seasons were as good as any premiership year. It would be no surprise to see Port's crowd maintained over this period.
What I would like to see is the crowd levels for each match over the 1985 season - to see if they dropped away as it became clear that the Magpies were having a shocker. It is entirely possible that the crowds may have actually risen, as supporters of the other teams came out of the woodwork to see the once mighty Magpies get walloped - this effect was noticeable in Collingwood's attendances when it had a poor year in the VFL.
I apologise if my original post on this thread came across as a bit abrasive. I don't deny that Port has always had a large following. I do deny that it was always "head and shoulders" above the other clubs, except in the years leading to the Power's AFL entry. I agree with Blues Brat that Ports support has never (in recent memory) been tested. And it gets my goat to see the supporters of a club which has resurrected itself from near extinction to be ridiculed for having "bandwagon supporters". The Sturt fans could teach your mob - and mine - a thing or two about passion.
Thanks for the good banter; I look forward to the figures.
Macca19
5th February 2002, 11:28
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
And it gets my goat to see the supporters of a club which has resurrected itself from near extinction to be ridiculed for having "bandwagon supporters". The Sturt fans could teach your mob - and mine - a thing or two about passion.
Get it right Steve. The TRUE Sturt fans could show everyone a thing or two about passion. Those TRUE Sturt fans number in about 1000 or so. Not every man and his dog that suddenly became a Sturt supporter in 1998.
If Port came last every year for a decade we would be ridiculed to hell for having bandwagon supporters. If they all came back a year later as we made a grand final, we would be ridiculed to hell for being bandwagon supporters. But because it isnt Port then its ok! And all these 30,000 Sturt supporters that didnt go to a game for 7 years and never associated themselves with the Sturt Football Club...ahh what the heck...they are true blue bloody passionate supporters arent they??
gimme a break.
Id love to know what these tens of thousands of Sturt 'supporters' could teach me about passion? If not going to a game for 8 years and disassociating yourself from your club is passion, then ive had the wrong idea how to be 'passionate' about my club for the past 16 years.
Sure...the 1000 or so that used to go every week....not the other "supporters"...i dont call that passion...you might...i dont.
dreamkillers
12th February 2002, 22:54
Very good. Do post the figures here when (if) you receive them. Don't count on getting the info from Glenelg in a hurry ;)
I would also be interested to see median attendance figures. This statistic is more robust when sample sizes are small. I would also break down the home/away attendance further, into first and second halves of the season. I suspect that a given teams' figures would drop in the second half, once it became clear that it was not going to make the finals.
Well the SANFL have been very helpful and are sending me crowd figures for all games from 1980 through to 2001 - the details are on photcopies of the SANFL Yearbook released each year so I'll put them into a spreadsheet to make the figures easier to compare.
As for the membership details it may take a while as I think the SANFL clubs must still be on holidays - yet to have a reply from any of them at this stage - not just down at the Bay.
In my (admittedly brief) research all I could find was an article claiming that Sturt trebled its membership following it's "save the club" meeting in '95 or so. The article stated that it brought Sturt to second behind Port in terms of memberships. I felt certain that I read that Sturt had eclipsed Port in terms of membership at some point; perhaps it was actually home attendances, my memory ain't what it used to be. I will keep looking for the information. Stay tuned.
I'll have to wait til the figures come out but I'd be pretty sure the Magpies membership figures would have been at their peak around 95/96 to show they were the most supported club prior to the AFL admittance.
I understand. Frankly I wouldn't expect Port's crowd to drop by any significant amount during this period. Port only had one dreadful season (1985). In the others, Port was minor premier twice ('82, '84) and took the double chance twice ('86, '87). In these years Port's home and away seasons were as good as any premiership year. It would be no surprise to see Port's crowd maintained over this period.
well we soon see......
What I would like to see is the crowd levels for each match over the 1985 season - to see if they dropped away as it became clear that the Magpies were having a shocker. It is entirely possible that the crowds may have actually risen, as supporters of the other teams came out of the woodwork to see the once mighty Magpies get walloped - this effect was noticeable in Collingwood's attendances when it had a poor year in the VFL.
again we'll soon see........as for Collingwood 1990 will be something they will have to remember for a while.....*lol*........I actually followed the Bombers in the AFL until Port's entry but Port has always been my No 1 side and with Port in the AFL I don't have a second side.........
I always think it's a bit strange how people have second sides.....I can understand feeling sorry for some at times but I could never have a second side and I always have a laugh when Crows supporters (and the silly KG) suggest we should support both SA sides..........
As far as I'm concerned the 'kick a vic' campaign died in 1990 and being a Port supporter I could never show any support towards the Crows.......especially after all the **** I copped from all non Port supporters with Port's failed AFL bid - we often joke in our supporters group up here in Darwin that we support Port Adelaide and anyone playing the Cows.......*lol*
I apologise if my original post on this thread came across as a bit abrasive. I don't deny that Port has always had a large following. I do deny that it was always "head and shoulders" above the other clubs, except in the years leading to the Power's AFL entry. I agree with Blues Brat that Ports support has never (in recent memory) been tested. And it gets my goat to see the supporters of a club which has resurrected itself from near extinction to be ridiculed for having "bandwagon supporters". The Sturt fans could teach your mob - and mine - a thing or two about passion.
No offence taken........I can give as good as I get in the right situation especially when supporting my side. Even my mother hates being near me at the footy as I tend to niggle at times......but it's all part of the fun of following a footy side and I never make it personal.........that is when it has gone too far....
As for the bandwagon supporters I do think Sturt had them around 1976 and they really dropped off until the resurrection bid. Something you (and many others) may not realise but in the early 80's Port were very close to being shut down by the banks due to debts and lack of decent cashflow. It was the local council, businesses and members that came to the club's support with the council effectively transferring the title for Albeton Oval for a token amount, businesses kicking in more money and supporters heavily involved in membership recruiting campaigns.
I have to agree with Macca19's post that Sturt probably only have 1000 or so 'true supporters' but I can also see Blues Brat and your point that our loyalty has never been truly tested - I also don't see it getting to the point of being truly tested as the Magpies put many things in place behind the scenes after what happened in the early 80's to ensure it won't.
Now you may think the next little bit stinks of Port Adelaide arrogance but it does sum up why I love my club so much.
Success at Port is only recognised by premierships and although some think it is old fashioned the creed put in place by Fos Williams in 1962 really does sum up what our club is about.
The following entries are from the Magpies website and to me really sum up with what my club is about. Some people say it is just a load of dribble but to us 'true' Port supporters they sum up our club - especially the final paragraph of our creed - and it is something that all supporters as well as the club should try and uphold.
Mission Statement
We aim to continue the tradition that makes the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club the most successful SANFL club, being constantly competitive and successful in the SANFL Finals.
TO THIS END WE BELIEVE THAT ......
'We can't make a Champion but we can create an environment where Champion Teams are inevitable.'
Tradition
"At Port Adelaide there's a big difference between not being good enough and not trying. The players, officials, and members at the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club have a mentality that people like winners and they like winning. This is the kind of attitude that has spurred on individuals and teams with the necessary mental toughness so that at the end of the day, they tried everything they knew to win and be successful.
Creed
"We the players and management of the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club accept the heritage which players and administrators have passed down to us; in so doing we do not intend to rest in idleness but shall strive with all our power to further this Club's unexcelled achievements.
To do this we believe that there is great merit and noble achievements in winning a premiership.
That to be successful each of us must be active, aggressive, and devoted to this cause. We agree that success is well within our reach and have confidence that each member of both the team and management will suffer personal sacrifices for the common end.
Also we know that, should we after striving to our utmost and giving our everything still not be successful our efforts will become a further part of this Club's enviable tradition.
Finally, we concede, there can be honour in defeat, but to each of us, honourable defeat of our Club and guernsey can come only after human endeavour on the playing field is completely exhausted."
Thanks for the good banter; I look forward to the figures.
No problem.......nothing like a friendly debate/discussion.........stay tuned for the figures.........although the membership ones may be a while away.
BTW......just out of interest who do you actually support - from your previous posts I'm assuming it is Glenelg in the SANFL but not sure of your AFL allegience (if you have one).
FattyLumpkin
16th February 2002, 18:47
Satay Mat
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know the one you mean, they were advertising online video sales when I was in there one time, the URL is http://www.videosdirect2u.com.au .. but it has a message there saying "Coming soon - please check back in a day or two!". Only problem is, that message has been there for TWO YEARS! Shame because I would love to order some videos from them. I would love to see "The Way it Was 88" because aparantley I managed to get myself on it.
Do they have any of the good stuff - like Woodville (not the W-WT crap), but the real Woodville beating Port for the first time - at Woody Oval (Go Buff Tyrell). or When Woodville tossed Port at Alberton for the first time.
Ahhhh, victories were few, but oh so enjoyable!!
Fatty