View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
10]
footballnut
27 Jul 2008, 20:25
^
nope its all porno kelly :rolleyes:
it makes me laugh that football nut has a crack at merrett and then goes into bat for kelly
merrett has been good this season, not great, but good
it would seem the only people that think kelly has even been half decent are his mates on here or imps people
not saying that he isnt a good footballer he might be
just saying he has had a less than impressive season compared to all the hype he came into the league with
i can only comment i what i see, saw merrett against imps and he got smashed, i was disappointed from a spectator going to the game, when you shop yourself around and make it common knowlegde, then you are always open to criticism. kelly never pumped up his own tyres, you mustnt watch much footy because he has had much more than average year, certainly the interleague selectors thought he was a good player!!
Enough about Kelly. He has had a fair run on this forum. Lets let his footy do the talking. What was the game like Imps V Hamilton?
sportsfanatic
28 Jul 2008, 13:56
i can only comment i what i see, saw merrett against imps and he got smashed, i was disappointed from a spectator going to the game, when you shop yourself around and make it common knowlegde, then you are always open to criticism. kelly never pumped up his own tyres, you mustnt watch much footy because he has had much more than average year, certainly the interleague selectors thought he was a good player!!
And the aussie selectors must have thought merrett was not too shabby either!
I like u can only go by what you see, and kelly hasnt been the player that some in here have made him out to be.
If i was a betting man i would put a fair bit on that he has a very good finals series.
but as you say u can only go by what u see. im not the 1 speculating that someone shopped themselves around. even if you heard someone say it, do u know for a fact that it is true? in other words did he directly say to u what he was commanding and/or what he was getting?
anyhoo i want to know about some of the other games on the weekend. like how good was copping?
i reckon him, grant ewing, flett, james imbi, england will be the top 5 in the medal
SWANDOG
28 Jul 2008, 14:41
Enough about Kelly. He has had a fair run on this forum. Lets let his footy do the talking. What was the game like Imps V Hamilton?
The game was a bit of a scrap, but you usually get that with these two sides against each other. As funny as it may sound but i think both clubs would appreciate a bigger oval and don't get much of a home ground advantage with the running sides that they both have. Imps got to 20 points up early in the last quarter and then Hamilton came back at them and hit the lead with only a couple of minutes to go. Grant Ewing kicked the sealer with about 10 seconds left on the clock.
Dare I say it, Kelly was good for Imps as well as Ewing - a very good player G.Ewing, will go close to the medal from what I have seen this year.
GOING PLACES
29 Jul 2008, 23:35
You blokes are kidding yourselves. Darren Kelly is the best thing 'since the round wheel' Mark my words, also a finals specialist. Good luck with that Porn.:p
I'd have to agree with gp here. Wait till finals where he will tear sides a new ring hole. Would easily be in imps top 3 players and loves the big occasion. Can't wait for finals for big dazza to turn it on!
I am not commenting on Kelly as a player, just sick of hearing about him. Have only seen him once, early in the year so cant comment on him as a player.I'd have to agree with gp here. Wait till finals where he will tear sides a new ring hole. Would easily be in imps top 3 players and loves the big occasion. Can't wait for finals for big dazza to turn it on!
likeapuma
3 Aug 2008, 21:14
is the top five all wrapped up?
will heath brown win the leading goal kicking?
6 on the weekend puts him in good stead
top five will still as is but expect an upset or two with a couple of sides outside the five causing some upsets. looks like south are hitting there straps but portland still look like a shoe in with imps not far behind. hamilton have injuries and got pushed on the weekend by west who are getting a few of their players back by the look. also ryan from west is the only one who will challenge brown for the goalkicking.. heard heywood had the sprinklers on friday night down there which may explain the low scoring affair against east and why it was a reasonably close result
likeapuma
6 Aug 2008, 19:12
heard heywood had the sprinklers on friday night down there which may explain the low scoring affair against east and why it was a reasonably close result
was actually a dry game snouter!! sprinklers dont work at heywood.
how bout ya just pay credit to the lions who played some pretty good footy.
What do you Imps blokes know about the club speaking to the Hampden League?
As far as I know, Hampden have approached the Imps "hierarchy" expressing interest in them moving to their league. The players, members etc of Imps have not been told any more. I believe there is to be a meeting in the near future for all concerned at the club and possibly vote on a move. As I say "possibly". This was the process that happened a few years back. Imps members probably know as much as everyone else at this stage - what we have read in the papers.
Being a member myself, I will keep you in the loop as it is in the best interests of every WBFL follower.
footballnut
8 Aug 2008, 12:02
strong rumours that heywood are looking to move to south west next year, have you heard anything likeapuma? any talk amongst the players and supporters? would suggest it would be worrying WBFL executives if heywood and imps decide to move leagues. what do people think might happen?
Grimmett
8 Aug 2008, 13:44
Any word on a new CEO for the WBFL? Would seem the first thing to do would be shore up the status of a couple of member clubs. Very bloody soon.
strong rumours that heywood are looking to move to south west next year, have you heard anything likeapuma? any talk amongst the players and supporters? would suggest it would be worrying WBFL executives if heywood and imps decide to move leagues. what do people think might happen?
Was listening to the 3yb local footy show. Didnt catch it all, but I think they were talking about Imps meeting with the Hampden League. If Imps leave the WBFL it may be the beginning of the end of the WBFL as we know it. Pretty worrying times i think. How long will Heywood keep fronting up to cop another belting. If a couple a vic sides disappear will the SA sides then start considering their options. Craig Keating is a good man. Lets hope he is on top of all this.
sportsfanatic
9 Aug 2008, 19:55
It wont happen with clubs going 2 nother league
the vcfl still have to give it the ok and they wouldnt break up this league imo coz if 1-2 teams go then the entire league most likely will dispand.
likeapuma
10 Aug 2008, 16:58
heywood wont move back to south west. would be a set back to the young players and the club that has made steady progress on and off field this season. average age of the senior side is only 19 so planty of development to come. showed that yesterday when plyed casterton and lost by 3 points
Adrian Shelton
10 Aug 2008, 19:46
Is this stuff on again? Ive benn hearing stories like this since 1994!!!
little footy battler
11 Aug 2008, 11:04
Is this stuff on again? Ive benn hearing stories like this since 1994!!!
There is a reason this keeps popping up, but it is not what most people outside the story would think.
The SW league, much like the Hampden league, realise that the structure of their competitions would be stronger if they could add more teams to it. Heywood is geographically in a good position to join the SW league, so is an obvious target. From what I understand the gossip about that club joining the SW since the early to mid 90s has almost exclusively been started from South West sources, who have a vested interest, as creating instability in the Heywood club by spreading these rumours hampers that club's recruiting efforts by creating a feeling of uncertainty around the club's future, while also leaving some members within the Heywood club disallusioned as to where they stand in the club and if there are people in the club who are pushing in that direction covertly. From what I understand it has been very rare that there has actually been a Heywood member of any significance who has been interested in pursuing that move at any point in the club's history and I can assure all members on this site and in the public that the club will not at any point in the near future be making that move. The Heywood Football Netball Club would have too much to lose by making the move to the SW league and I am yet to be convinced they would have much, if anything, to gain other than some short term on field success, which is dubious in itself as a large portion of the playing group would not stay at the club to play lower level football. If the other members of the Western Border are serious when they say teams like Heywood and Imperials need to stay in the WB league for the betterment of that league, both clubs, in particular Heywood, need those members of other clubs to stop aiding the SW by keeping these unfounded rumours circulating.
Yes, the SW has made an offer, but did not even have the balls to comment on it when approached by the paper down this way, so they can't be real serious about wanting the club, can they? And while an offer has been made, there is NO danger the club will accept that offer. Period. So the next time someone brings it up to you in conversation, tell them it is untrue and if they persist tell them they are full of shite and vandalising our great competition, not just a battling footy club doing its best to stay a part of it.
footballnut
11 Aug 2008, 14:18
There is a reason this keeps popping up, but it is not what most people outside the story would think.
The SW league, much like the Hampden league, realise that the structure of their competitions would be stronger if they could add more teams to it. Heywood is geographically in a good position to join the SW league, so is an obvious target. From what I understand the gossip about that club joining the SW since the early to mid 90s has almost exclusively been started from South West sources, who have a vested interest, as creating instability in the Heywood club by spreading these rumours hampers that club's recruiting efforts by creating a feeling of uncertainty around the club's future, while also leaving some members within the Heywood club disallusioned as to where they stand in the club and if there are people in the club who are pushing in that direction covertly. From what I understand it has been very rare that there has actually been a Heywood member of any significance who has been interested in pursuing that move at any point in the club's history and I can assure all members on this site and in the public that the club will not at any point in the near future be making that move. The Heywood Football Netball Club would have too much to lose by making the move to the SW league and I am yet to be convinced they would have much, if anything, to gain other than some short term on field success, which is dubious in itself as a large portion of the playing group would not stay at the club to play lower level football. If the other members of the Western Border are serious when they say teams like Heywood and Imperials need to stay in the WB league for the betterment of that league, both clubs, in particular Heywood, need those members of other clubs to stop aiding the SW by keeping these unfounded rumours circulating.
Yes, the SW has made an offer, but did not even have the balls to comment on it when approached by the paper down this way, so they can't be real serious about wanting the club, can they? And while an offer has been made, there is NO danger the club will accept that offer. Period. So the next time someone brings it up to you in conversation, tell them it is untrue and if they persist tell them they are full of shite and vandalising our great competition, not just a battling footy club doing its best to stay a part of it.
thanks little footy battler, that is a sensational response, certainly set the record straight, if anybody asks about Heywood and going to SW, i can direct them to your response, which leaves no doubt about where the lions are heading, thanks for filling in those who just hear all the bullshit that circulates.
Imperials are exploring there options in regards to Hampden league, meetings with players and members to be held in next few weeks.
likeapuma
11 Aug 2008, 18:54
thanks little footy battler, that is a sensational response, certainly set the record straight, if anybody asks about Heywood and going to SW, i can direct them to your response, which leaves no doubt about where the lions are heading, thanks for filling in those who just hear all the bullshit that circulates.
Imperials are exploring there options in regards to Hampden league, meetings with players and members to be held in next few weeks.
heywood football netball club will hold a comunity meeting at the clubs rooms tomorrow(tuesday) night at 730p.m. this is an open forum for any interested persons to attend
Great to hear your response Little Footy Battler. We need all sides to stay in the WBFL. Once a league loses one side its all to easy to lose more. Great to see the passion coming through in your response. Would be sad if Imps decide to head to the Hampden League. Have been a powerhouse at times in the WBFL.
SNOUTER
13 Aug 2008, 00:49
No worries, must have got bad mail.. And by the way have been a big supporter of heywood and their struggle so wasnt taking pot shots...
footballnut
13 Aug 2008, 09:21
heywood football netball club will hold a comunity meeting at the clubs rooms tomorrow(tuesday) night at 730p.m. this is an open forum for any interested persons to attend
how did the community meeting go @ heywood, what was the general feel and who spoke?
Rupert1049
13 Aug 2008, 17:43
Long time reader, first time poster.
Wanted to back up Little Footy Battlers comments about the South West causing trouble for Heywood by creating uncertainty and instability.
If you remember back to the start of the year, the South West publicly stated they wanted a 10 to 12 team competition and Heywood was the one team identified as a target. This was the President of SW being quoted in the Portland and Hamilton papers, and when did they do this? January/February, at the peak recruiting time for all clubs. So when footballers were looking at where to play in 2008, Heywood had to deal with rumours of them joining the SW league. The SW effectively undermined Heywoods 2008 season.
Besides, what would they gain? Maybe a few successful season before being brought back to the pack. They'd lose their better players (who would go to Portland to play a decent standard of football). They'd lose considerable media attention and with it support and sponsors. They'd lose their Under 18s which would impact their whole junior structure. Look at Coleraine - no under Under 18s, no Under 16s and are struggling for numbers in the Under 14s. There would be no pathway for the Under 16 players and they'd lose these players (and naturally their younger siblings) to other teams and other sports. Again, look at Coleraine they've had to resort to bringing in players from Mount Gambier and the Mid South East because there aren't enough numbers coming through the juniors. Hockey on the other hand is reportedly very strong and healthy in Coleraine.
South West and Hampden have very obvious problems (Hampden lost 3 teams in 2 years) and rather than fixing the problems themselves they're looking at the WBFL, a healthier competition as a way of addressing the issues.
likeapuma
13 Aug 2008, 19:25
how did the community meeting go @ heywood, what was the general feel and who spoke?
think the meeting went well club rooms were packed.
eague president had a fair bit to say along with many other supporters members of commitee and coaching staff
Adrian Shelton
14 Aug 2008, 13:06
Ah i didnt know about all this stuff. The comments i'd heard before were more along the lines of a SA/VIC split, prob more pub talk than anything and obviously nothing like that actually ever happened
sportsfanatic
15 Aug 2008, 12:25
Rupert you have got to be kidding me! the SW league sabotaged Heywood's recruiting :eek:
great excuse and that is all it is, an excuse for the club to be lazy in recruiting efforts and if you are involved with the club you would either know this as fact or you really dont know at all and just taking a stab at it to put as much blame on someone else.
Why are there all these excuses ALL of the time?
Imperials, Hamilton and Portland didn't struggle at ALL with recruiting or in their seasons did they?
All 3 of these clubs were invited to join a league at the same time, yes the same time as Heywood.
The other team that is talked about being a possible mover is Imps and they had the best recruiting of any team in the league, actually it was probably one of the better recruiting efforts for a long time.
BTW someone told me the other day that there could be some movement at Millicent, they wouldnt tell me anything more and the way they said it eit was like they were suggesting millicent into another league. can someone from that area tell us if there is any talk about that?
Adrian Shelton
15 Aug 2008, 13:58
Millicent to mid SE?
footballnut
17 Aug 2008, 00:56
Millicent to mid SE?
if 2 teams go, would it be the end of wbfl?
sportsfanatic
17 Aug 2008, 08:37
does anyone know that if millicent wanted to go somewhere would it be up to the vcfl or footy sa
i personally dont think anything will happen
While the WBFL remains an entity I don't think Millicent will be going anywhere. There is a quantum difference in Football (and Netball which Millicent excell at). The MSE President is also hostile, not that he'd have much of an option if WB folded, SANFL would have to restructure SE footy, I mean the Mount Clubs and Millicent would have to play somewhere. Judging by the SE Times Millicent have mulled over the "what ifs" they are right smack bang in the middle of the MSE, three clubs within 20 k's so handy, but it won't be Millicent that destroys the WBFL. Those Vic clubs or persons in them that are flip flopping want to look at the heart the Lions have shown.
likeapuma
18 Aug 2008, 10:53
Rupert you have got to be kidding me! the SW league sabotaged Heywood's recruiting :eek:
great excuse and that is all it is, an excuse for the club to be lazy in recruiting efforts and if you are involved with the club you would either know this as fact or you really dont know at all and just taking a stab at it to put as much blame on someone else.
Imperials, Hamilton and Portland didn't struggle at ALL with recruiting or in their seasons did they?
All 3 of these clubs were invited to join a league at the same time, yes the same time as Heywood.
The other team that is talked about being a possible mover is Imps and they had the best recruiting of any team in the league, actually it was probably one of the better recruiting efforts for a long time.
BTW someone told me the other day that there could be some movement at Millicent, they wouldnt tell me anything more and the way they said it eit was like they were suggesting millicent into another league. can someone from that area tell us if there is any talk about that?
would make it hard to get big name players on long term deals when stories circulate about possible moves to lower standard leagues.
Rupert1049
18 Aug 2008, 16:58
Don't remember using the word sabotage, but do you think their timing was nothing more than coincidence? Yes, Heywood is not the best club in the WBFL in terms of administration which has hindered the clubs recruiting, thats no secret, but the club spoke to heaps of names during the off season with little luck, including players from other WBFL clubs in both Vic and SA. Its too easy to call them lazy just because they're on the bottom of the ladder.
Having the club constantly linked to the SW doesn't help when trying to recruit leading players. A good player is more likely to go to Portland with the prospect of playing long term in a major league (regardless of whether it is WBFL or Hampden), than go to Heywood with rumours about the club dropping to district league level. Admittedly, Portland & Hamilton got on the front foot last year and said in the papers they had no intention of switching leagues and thus stopping any rumours, something Heywood should have done too.
Interesting with Millicent. Never saw Mid South East as an option for them, too strong and couldn't see MSE clubs wanting them.
footballnut
18 Aug 2008, 21:15
While the WBFL remains an entity I don't think Millicent will be going anywhere. There is a quantum difference in Football (and Netball which Millicent excell at). The MSE President is also hostile, not that he'd have much of an option if WB folded, SANFL would have to restructure SE footy, I mean the Mount Clubs and Millicent would have to play somewhere. Judging by the SE Times Millicent have mulled over the "what ifs" they are right smack bang in the middle of the MSE, three clubs within 20 k's so handy, but it won't be Millicent that destroys the WBFL. Those Vic clubs or persons in them that are flip flopping want to look at the heart the Lions have shown.
Mate you obviously have no knowledge of the wbfl, this is the third time imperials have applied to leave this league, if the sa clubs havent worked it out yet, all vic teams take great pride and care to look after there under 18 teams, so that they will play senior footy with the various clubs. Have a look at the history of the under 18 comp, how many sa under 18 teams have one a premiership? all the sa teams talk about going to u17\u19 comps. well the vcfl have a very successful TAC comp that is under 18, so that is a major problem. Obviously footy sa and vcfl going in different directions! i know which side i would want to be on.
Writing is on the wall for WBFL, 2 options, be proactive or be reactive!!!!!
Mate you obviously have no knowledge of the wbfl, this is the third time imperials have applied to leave this league, if the sa clubs havent worked it out yet, all vic teams take great pride and care to look after there under 18 teams, so that they will play senior footy with the various clubs. Have a look at the history of the under 18 comp, how many sa under 18 teams have one a premiership? all the sa teams talk about going to u17\u19 comps. well the vcfl have a very successful TAC comp that is under 18, so that is a major problem. Obviously footy sa and vcfl going in different directions! i know which side i would want to be on.
Wow! that got a bite! a big snapper! I'll have a snap over who's got more pride snap, snap I'll have a snap at under 18's snap, snap I'll have a snap at any other wildly unconnected thing. All I was saying was that I don't think Millicent will be going anywhere ('cos someone wondered) and that the current speculation and consequent instability is not coming from them.
Don't remember using the word sabotage, but do you think their timing was nothing more than coincidence? Yes, Heywood is not the best club in the WBFL in terms of administration which has hindered the clubs recruiting, thats no secret, but the club spoke to heaps of names during the off season with little luck, including players from other WBFL clubs in both Vic and SA. Its too easy to call them lazy just because they're on the bottom of the ladder.
Having the club constantly linked to the SW doesn't help when trying to recruit leading players. A good player is more likely to go to Portland with the prospect of playing long term in a major league (regardless of whether it is WBFL or Hampden), than go to Heywood with rumours about the club dropping to district league level. Admittedly, Portland & Hamilton got on the front foot last year and said in the papers they had no intention of switching leagues and thus stopping any rumours, something Heywood should have done too.
Interesting with Millicent. Never saw Mid South East as an option for them, too strong and couldn't see MSE clubs wanting them.
Its not just Millicent. The SE Times article asked what would happen if the WBFL folded. If after all these years of rumours the Vic clubs went their own way. Where does Millicent and the Mount then play footy? Just cos the Vic clubs abandon ship doesn't mean that SA clubs have to sell the goal posts. Their answer was that a two division competition be set up in the South East. Maybe include Penola and Kingston even Naracoorte I can't remember the exact detail. SANFL would have to step in and sort it out because no matter what the MSE thinks Footy and its survival comes first.
footballnut
19 Aug 2008, 00:51
Wow! that got a bite! a big snapper! I'll have a snap over who's got more pride snap, snap I'll have a snap at under 18's snap, snap I'll have a snap at any other wildly unconnected thing. All I was saying was that I don't think Millicent will be going anywhere ('cos someone wondered) and that the current speculation and consequent instability is not coming from them.
you said that it will be the victorian clubs that are "flip flopping" around that will destroy the wbfl, from that you could assume you where directing your comments at imperials. Would suggest the u18 competition and its lack of importance to sa sides is a huge factor in imperials wanting to move to hampden. lastly you mention about showing some heart, its not about heart, its about making decisions for the future survival of a football club. obviously you are a fisherman, suggest you stick to it.:)
Rupert1049
19 Aug 2008, 16:30
Such a hostile thread this one.
You can't say the SA clubs don't care about the U18s. Let's use Millicent as an example (since Blozin is from Hatherleigh). Millicent have Bennett, Pat Contin and Weir who have gone onto higher honours and represented Glenelg this year. Discounting the WBFL Interleague team, I don't recall any Imps players going onto higher honours, unless you include Linke who is more a Penshurst player than an Imps player. On that basis, I could try arguing that Millicent has been more successful at developing their juniors in 08 than Imps as they've had more players go onto higher honours this year (I won't argue that point though!!). North Gambier has won 3 games in two years in the U18s, yet they're fielding two Under 16 (? or U14) teams in the local junior competition.
Yes, Imps do a great job with their juniors and they say that Cleaver is brilliant, but to say that the SA clubs don't care is a bit rich. Portland, Hamilton and Imps dominating the U18s is helped by the fact there is no competition for U18 players in Victoria, unlike SA where the MSE all have their underage teams. There is a bottleneck after U16 level in Hamilton. Give Mininera and South West an U17 comp and I'm tipping that Imps wouldn't have 40 players to choose from every weekend.
Anyway, who is to say that Hampden have a higher priority on the U18s than the SA clubs? Since 1995, the Hampden U18 premierships have been won by South Warrnambool (x7), Warrnambool (x3), Colac (no longer in the comp) and Terang (x1). Appears to be a similar record to the WBFL Under 18 competition.
likeapuma
22 Aug 2008, 18:11
Such a hostile thread this one.
You can't say the SA clubs don't care about the U18s. Let's use Millicent as an example (since Blozin is from Hatherleigh). Millicent have Bennett, Pat Contin and Weir who have gone onto higher honours and represented Glenelg this year. Discounting the WBFL Interleague team, I don't recall any Imps players going onto higher honours, unless you include Linke who is more a Penshurst player than an Imps player. On that basis, I could try arguing that Millicent has been more successful at developing their juniors in 08 than Imps as they've had more players go onto higher honours this year (I won't argue that point though!!). North Gambier has won 3 games in two years in the U18s, yet they're fielding two Under 16 (? or U14) teams in the local junior competition.
Yes, Imps do a great job with their juniors and they say that Cleaver is brilliant, but to say that the SA clubs don't care is a bit rich. Portland, Hamilton and Imps dominating the U18s is helped by the fact there is no competition for U18 players in Victoria, unlike SA where the MSE all have their underage teams. There is a bottleneck after U16 level in Hamilton. Give Mininera and South West an U17 comp and I'm tipping that Imps wouldn't have 40 players to choose from every weekend.
Anyway, who is to say that Hampden have a higher priority on the U18s than the SA clubs? Since 1995, the Hampden U18 premierships have been won by South Warrnambool (x7), Warrnambool (x3), Colac (no longer in the comp) and Terang (x1). Appears to be a similar record to the WBFL Under 18 competition.
i agree there mate minera league only has a u/16 competition raise that to under 17 or even under 18 and that would take alot of depth out of the 2 hamilton sides
footballnut
22 Aug 2008, 21:57
i agree there mate minera league only has a u/16 competition raise that to under 17 or even under 18 and that would take alot of depth out of the 2 hamilton sides
all maybes and what ifs!!! not going to happen. just shows that the structure u14, u16,u18 works within the vcfl system. the end result is u18 tac cup, cant have half the league going one way and the other going the other, just another reason to move to hampden. full credit to both hamilton teams that they develop good under 18 teams, it doesnt happen by accident.
Don’t quite understand this. The SA clubs play a junior comp U12, U14, U16. Can Imps do that? The MSE thinks it’s a Godsend because their age structure and month cut off means that they can lure the top age kids away. Can you tell me where do the Hamilton clubs get all their U18’s from? I do notice the ease of transfer between leagues, can’t happen in SA. Imps problem is with Hamilton, not the WBFL, go get yourself your own home ground. By the way Millicent won the U18 flag in 2001.
sportsfanatic
23 Aug 2008, 10:31
this topic took a quick turn
if you look back imps, hamilton, portland have won nine of the last 12 premierships in the u18 comp
hamilton will win it this year meaning 10 of the last 13
you can only see the gap for imps and hamilton with warrnambool now with the rebels
oh and outside of south gambier and the vic clubs just mentioned who was the last senior side to win the premiership?
you have to go all the way back to 1990 when casterton won it
footyrules
23 Aug 2008, 23:03
this topic took a quick turn
if you look back imps, hamilton, portland have won nine of the last 12 premierships in the u18 comp
hamilton will win it this year meaning 10 of the last 13
you can only see the gap for imps and hamilton with warrnambool now with the rebels
oh and outside of south gambier and the vic clubs just mentioned who was the last senior side to win the premiership?
you have to go all the way back to 1990 when casterton won it
last time i looked on my map casterton were in victoria. it's like going into sa though when u play there.:D:D:D
sportsfanatic
24 Aug 2008, 15:09
last time i looked on my map casterton were in victoria. it's like going into sa though when u play there.:D:D:D
i'm sorry i didnt think i said casterton were in sa.
i was merely pointing out that the three vic clubs imps, hamilton and portland have such a wide gap between them and every1 else.
btw that south era was the best i have ever seen in country footy truly amazing stuff
Bit harsh on the cats. Very proud club with very loyal supporters.
Ok we are down to the serious stuff now. Two questions: Can anyone beat Portland for the premiership and Marcus England for the WBFL Medal.
East, should they get there... and nope. Marcus with a good yr. Going to be hard to topple.
Bit of a arm wrestler for that goalkicking spot wasnt there. The two bussled it out and in the end the more experienced prevailed.
it's like going into sa though when u play there.:D:D:D
What the hell do you mean?
footyrules
25 Aug 2008, 17:53
it's like going into sa though when u play there.:D:D:D
What the hell do you mean?
i mean it's the dead end of the world. it would be hamilton but they at least have maccas!!!!!!! what happened to imps on the weekend. no kelly no imps.
likeapuma
26 Aug 2008, 18:19
Don’t quite understand this. The SA clubs play a junior comp U12, U14, U16. Can Imps do that? The MSE thinks it’s a Godsend because their age structure and month cut off means that they can lure the top age kids away. Can you tell me where do the Hamilton clubs get all their U18’s from? I do notice the ease of transfer between leagues, can’t happen in SA. Imps problem is with Hamilton, not the WBFL, go get yourself your own home ground. By the way Millicent won the U18 flag in 2001.
both hamilton and portland have there own junior competitions. 6 teams in the portland comp 1 being heywood and 1 being heathmere 4 based out of portland.
Past it
27 Aug 2008, 10:31
I have been reading with interest over the last couple of days this under 18 debate since coming back from holidays and I noticed that you are saying how well the Vics look after your Under 18`S which I find interesting as the Victorian side of the WBFL has a permit system which allows them to get permits for players from other leagues to play for them which the SA sides can`t (as there is no such rule as minor leagues in SA) they can only use the registered club players of their Under16`s. The Vic clubs also insure that they use this system to there advantage and ensure that they can pick the best players form the other leagues and qualify them for the finals and use them at the expense of others, what I would call local players who have supported the clubs. As it is win at all costs and in 2001 Millicent won using local players as there opponent had 4 permit players playing and in 2003 when North Gambier won also using local players there opponent played 5 permit players (I know this as my grandson was one who was dropped for one of them after playing nearly every game) and being an ex Vic you are right I know who does look after and develops there Under 18`s
Thankyou Past it. I also call it unfair advantage. Which is a polite way of saying cheating.
The_Cat
28 Aug 2008, 02:11
Too much spare time and not enough punctuation... go back to school FOOL!
Anyhow, to the important stuff. my trifecta's a bit buggered (Vultures/Imp's/Skye).. thanks 5 time.
Now I'm just goin the double.. $55 Imps into Skye.. should get me 11 to 1 you'd think.
By the way, new to this thread.
Just wondering if a friend of mine is playing.
The bloke talks himself up, always has done since we were kids playing for aberferldy. Carn't shut the carnt up!
Just want to see if he's getting a kick that's all! Do you know him?
He goes by the name of Darren... (and NO that's not Sheehan for all you Warnambool folk)
cantplay
28 Aug 2008, 10:31
Anyhow, to the important stuff. my trifecta's a bit buggered (Vultures/Imp's/Skye).. thanks 5 time.
Now I'm just goin the double.. $55 Imps into Skye.. should get me 11 to 1 you'd think.
The bloke talks himself up, always has done since we were kids playing for aberferldy. Carn't shut the carnt up!
He goes by the name of Darren... (and NO that's not Sheehan for all you Warnambool folk)
I think you should go back to school CAT. Carn't is actually spelt Can't...practice what you preach. Smart arses like you piss me off.
SWANDOG
28 Aug 2008, 10:45
Thankyou Past it. I also call it unfair advantage. Which is a polite way of saying cheating.
Bit harsh calling it cheating when Imps and Hamilton have about 40 kids each at pre season training. They make sure no-one misses out on a game by sending them out to Dunkeld, Penshurst etc. I think it would be more unfair if they didn't clear anyone out to the 'bush' and kids were missing out on games.
And yes i do know this for a fact as i am involved at Imps.
OnTheCrows!!
28 Aug 2008, 11:04
Enough of the spell check and blame games...
Who's going to win this week?
South v East? Imps v Ham?
Rupert1049
28 Aug 2008, 13:25
Enough of the spell check and blame games...
Who's going to win this week?
South v East? Imps v Ham?
Two cracking games with not much in either.
South knocked off East last time around when Copping turned it on. My money is on Copping to do the same again, so South to win. Hamilton seems to have dropped off a little with a couple of injuries and Imps seem the stronger at this stage. Hamilton will need to dominate the midfield and starve the Imps forwards to win, but I don't see that happening. Huge crowd at Melville Oval for this one, especially with Imps winning by only 1 point last time.
Past it
29 Aug 2008, 10:04
Bit harsh calling it cheating when Imps and Hamilton have about 40 kids each at pre season training. They make sure no-one misses out on a game by sending them out to Dunkeld, Penshurst etc. I think it would be more unfair if they didn't clear anyone out to the 'bush' and kids were missing out on games.
And yes i do know this for a fact as i am involved at Imps.
I agree that the word cheating is harsh and incorrect and my comments were about the advantage of the permit system in one state. And yes you might clear players out to other leagues but you are still allowed to bring them back under the permit system plus any others you might identify as potential players for your club. This advantage is not available for the S.A. clubs because once the player has been cleared to another league he can not come back and play for the WBFL club that he was cleared from. But unlike in Vic under the permit system they can and some clubs us it to there advantage during finals at the expense of players who have played for them most of the year. And I was not isolating Imps or Hamilton it is the system I was refering to, and the system won`t change as the Vic clubs don`t won`t it to. All the best for your club in the finals
Past it
29 Aug 2008, 10:25
My appologies for my grammar as I am 63 years old and did not have a high level of education as obviously you have, I think you might be a maths teacher as you seem to have plenty of time on your hands to work out betting odds and like correcting peoples grammar. And yes I am an OLD FOOL
sportsfanatic
29 Aug 2008, 13:49
I agree that the word cheating is harsh and incorrect and my comments were about the advantage of the permit system in one state. And yes you might clear players out to other leagues but you are still allowed to bring them back under the permit system plus any others you might identify as potential players for your club. This advantage is not available for the S.A. clubs because once the player has been cleared to another league he can not come back and play for the WBFL club that he was cleared from. But unlike in Vic under the permit system they can and some clubs us it to there advantage during finals at the expense of players who have played for them most of the year. And I was not isolating Imps or Hamilton it is the system I was refering to, and the system won`t change as the Vic clubs don`t won`t it to. All the best for your club in the finals
what a load of crap this entire thirds talk is
if you say the vic clubs have an advantage by getting permit players then surely it is an advantage for the sa clubs to have kids in their system for a longer period of time
is it an advantage to have permit players (98% of them are under16 players) not train with your club or have anything to do with your club or is it an advantage for your club to have 3 junior teams and have the ability to coach and teach a certain system to these kids for a long period of time.
Currently imps and hamilton cant do this so i ask, is it an advantage to have a couple of under 16 kids play a few games or is it an advantage to have the ability to coach and teach the same system into players over a long period of time like the sa clubs do?
i know which scenario i would like for my club
OnTheCrows!!
29 Aug 2008, 14:15
Two cracking games with not much in either.
South knocked off East last time around when Copping turned it on. My money is on Copping to do the same again, so South to win. Hamilton seems to have dropped off a little with a couple of injuries and Imps seem the stronger at this stage. Hamilton will need to dominate the midfield and starve the Imps forwards to win, but I don't see that happening. Huge crowd at Melville Oval for this one, especially with Imps winning by only 1 point last time.
Agree with everything there mate. Shld be big crowd in Hamilton this weekend. Are imps relying too much on the ewing boys? Better defence in finals, if they get shut down who's going to kick imps' goals?
SWANDOG
29 Aug 2008, 15:57
Agree with everything there mate. Shld be big crowd in Hamilton this weekend. Are imps relying too much on the ewing boys? Better defence in finals, if they get shut down who's going to kick imps' goals?
Should be a ripper game tomorrow - 28 years i think since these two sides have met in a final (i think) - hard to believe. Ewing boys obviously very good players, but still have Cooper, Keilar, Waldron, Darroch etc. I just reckon Imps may be a bit too experienced - hope so anyway.
Interesting to see the other game as an Imps follower. They are the only two teams that Imps haven't beaten this year. On last weeks game i would have to say East will win, but the old heads of Ryan, Sims, Salmon could get them over the line - been there done that.
Would have to say that G.Ewing will give England a run for his money in the league medal. He just won the Imps B&F by about 60 votes - he is a good player, would take a big effort to stop him tomorrow - worth paying the money just to watch him.
A very good weekend of football. Should be interesting to see the two hamiltons clash. Would love for Hamilton to get over the line this time as the barely went down last time to the Imps. ( should i remember correctly )
Ditto SwanDog. G.Ewing is an amazing player and i would love to see these two ( M.England ) go the distance in the league count. Other names to poll could be Merret, Imbi, Ryan, Copping.
Portland V South - Grand Final prediction. Anyone like to go out and have a punt?
cruising
30 Aug 2008, 00:14
A very good weekend of football. Should be interesting to see the two hamiltons clash. Would love for Hamilton to get over the line this time as the barely went down last time to the Imps. ( should i remember correctly )
Ditto SwanDog. G.Ewing is an amazing player and i would love to see these two ( M.England ) go the distance in the league count. Other names to poll could be Merret, Imbi, Ryan, Copping.
Portland V South - Grand Final prediction. Anyone like to go out and have a punt?
Ewing,England,copping for medal.Merrett the most over-rated player in comp.Only one that rates adam merrett is adam merrett!!!!!!!!!!!. Imps and Portland for g/f
sportsfanatic
30 Aug 2008, 10:19
imps and portland for gf
england to win the medal on 22 votes from copping on 20, grant ewing on 19
Did Hamilton do it again. Have more shots against Imps and lose. WBFL site says IMps won by 4 points whereas FootyScores says Hamilton won by 4 points. Which one is correct?
Past it
31 Aug 2008, 10:03
what a load of crap this entire thirds talk is
if you say the vic clubs have an advantage by getting permit players then surely it is an advantage for the sa clubs to have kids in their system for a longer period of time
is it an advantage to have permit players (98% of them are under16 players) not train with your club or have anything to do with your club or is it an advantage for your club to have 3 junior teams and have the ability to coach and teach a certain system to these kids for a long period of time.
Currently imps and hamilton cant do this so i ask, is it an advantage to have a couple of under 16 kids play a few games or is it an advantage to have the ability to coach and teach the same system into players over a long period of time like the sa clubs do?
i know which scenario i would like for my club
Totally agree with your comments up to a certain extent, yes it is an advantage to have players training a certain way. But you figures of 98% under 16 players might be a bit out I think that at least half might be Under 17 by my experience, but that is up for debate. Also your comment on them playing a few games I don`t have a problem with, it is when clubs use this system to stack the side by ensuring that these permit players are qualified to play finals and then use them at the expense of players who have trained and played for the club all year. This debate on the permit system has been going on for years and it won`t change and I personnel wish clubs would not use it at the expense of the kids who put in on the track each week. I thank you for your honest and fair comments and this will be my last word on the subject as I believe enough has been said on the subject and nothing will change.
little footy battler
31 Aug 2008, 11:08
Not sure what all the permit rules are for all the clubs, but with the Portland and Heywood clubs the permit system with the under-18s in an agreement with the Portland Junior Footy Association only, so the clubs cannot play permit players from, say, the South West even if they are under-16.
In effect, this allows those two teams to effectively have the same system as the Mount clubs, where the Mount sides under-16 players can come up and play under-18s, and I can assure you, no under-18 players at those two clubs get left out at the expense of an under-16 player, unless it is for other reasons, such as discipline or not training.
Did Hamilton do it again. Have more shots against Imps and lose. WBFL site says IMps won by 4 points whereas FootyScores says Hamilton won by 4 points. Which one is correct?
As you would be aware by now - Imps did win by 10 points. Cooper had a shot after the siren and kicked a goal. The score on footy scoreboard Saturday night has to be in by 5.30, and as the game was going so long only an update score was put through (apparently).
While on the subject of game going so long - I think it is ridiculous for the under 18s and reserves to now have time on. It hasn't happened all year so why bring it in now. For those that weren't there - the under 18s came a draw after playing about 30 odd minutes of time on and then had 2 x 5 minute halves plus time on. The reserves who were to start at 12.10pm didn't kick off until 12.50pm therefore putting the main game well and truly behind.
Not sure what happened at Vansitart Park on Sunday - did it run on time? What do people think about bringing time on just into finals?
Adrian Shelton
2 Sep 2008, 18:16
As Chappy would say "GO YOU MIGHTY BULLDOGS!!!"
sportsfanatic
2 Sep 2008, 21:55
As you would be aware by now - Imps did win by 10 points. Cooper had a shot after the siren and kicked a goal. The score on footy scoreboard Saturday night has to be in by 5.30, and as the game was going so long only an update score was put through (apparently).
While on the subject of game going so long - I think it is ridiculous for the under 18s and reserves to now have time on. It hasn't happened all year so why bring it in now. For those that weren't there - the under 18s came a draw after playing about 30 odd minutes of time on and then had 2 x 5 minute halves plus time on. The reserves who were to start at 12.10pm didn't kick off until 12.50pm therefore putting the main game well and truly behind.
Not sure what happened at Vansitart Park on Sunday - did it run on time? What do people think about bringing time on just into finals?
We also dont play extra time in the home and away season.
im not sure if it is worth playing time on in the finals, but its fair for all.
the way you are talking they played time on in the extra time, did they play time on in the extra time?
im not sure but i thought it was 5 mins flat
We also dont play extra time in the home and away season.
im not sure if it is worth playing time on in the finals, but its fair for all.
the way you are talking they played time on in the extra time, did they play time on in the extra time?
im not sure but i thought it was 5 mins flat
You heard me correct - time on in extra time. The 5 minute halves went for about 7 1/2 minutes each.
Matt sailor for heywood, wats the verdict . . . . . good or bad?
Rupert1049
4 Sep 2008, 14:52
Why do you ask??
Good player with good skills and endeavour. Size counts against him though.
Sorry for my ignorance - but who is Matt Sailor ?
How is the Heywood ground looking? Last time we were there the boundary was brought in a few metres...... No doubt your club has been busy getting it up to scratch.
Well what an interesting weekend of western border football. Who was to think that Imps would flounder like they did... by so much? Was expecting a closer affair.
For the people that were lucky enough ( to not be working ) and made it to the game. How was it? Who played well? Same old names appearing in the best for goals and best. How did Imps's 'Porno' go?
For the second affair that happened today. Another huge blowout delt from east. I was giving Hamilton until next week till their season came to an end, will it be a East V Portland grand final??
Well what an interesting weekend of western border football. Who was to think that Imps would flounder like they did... by so much? Was expecting a closer affair.
For the people that were lucky enough ( to not be working ) and made it to the game. How was it? Who played well? Same old names appearing in the best for goals and best. How did Imps's 'Porno' go?
For the second affair that happened today. Another huge blowout delt from east. I was giving Hamilton until next week till their season came to an end, will it be a East V Portland grand final??
Portland totally dominated after half time. Quinlivan starred in the back line. James Imbi kicked a goal that would be a contender for goal of the year in the AFL. Egan and Hockley did a great job up back. England works his but off and has ability to burn. To loose the players Portland lost after last years premiership and to be playing so well tells me Winis Imbi is a very good coach.
OnTheCrows!!
11 Sep 2008, 10:11
Am i hearing things right when i hear after this weekend East will have played 3 finals in the Mount? WHAT A JOKE. Cant the league get something right? What ever happened to a "neutral" ground. East travel 5 minutes while their opponents travel over an hour. No wonder Hamilton got flogged.
SWANDOG
11 Sep 2008, 15:21
Am i hearing things right when i hear after this weekend East will have played 3 finals in the Mount? WHAT A JOKE. Cant the league get something right? What ever happened to a "neutral" ground. East travel 5 minutes while their opponents travel over an hour. No wonder Hamilton got flogged.
Hard to believe isn't it. For a team that finished 5th to get all 3 finals in the mount is absurd. I know the GF will be played in Casterton, but why not have the prelim there as well - It happened in 2001. Or otherwise have it in Portland. I know the South West is on there but people are either going to one or the other anyway.
Can't believe what a good run east are having with the finals draw. Someone down at east must be giving a honcho at headquarters some massages with happy endings to be getting the draw they have.
Look forward to imps getting the win the hard way, backs to the wall stuff!
Look out for big porno this week. Had a quiet couple and is now refreshed and ready to roll.
Can't believe what a good run east are having with the finals draw. Someone down at east must be giving a honcho at headquarters some massages with happy endings to be getting the draw they have.
Look forward to imps getting the win the hard way, backs to the wall stuff!
Look out for big porno this week. Had a quiet couple and is now refreshed and ready to roll.
Agree with comments about East's run of mt gambier based finals. Absolutely ridiculous. Are you guys on commission for every time you mention Kelly's name. Hope Imps win, two vic sides on a vic ground for GF would be very nice.
Adrian Shelton
13 Sep 2008, 21:04
Just got Wednesdays Border Watch dropped up to me(so i could see the story in it about me!!:D) and read about Laney causing some fireworks in the Magpie huddle, can anyone tell me what went on? Wonder how he got back in the A's too. Must be some life in the 'Old Dog'!!
Agree with comments about East's run of mt gambier based finals. Absolutely ridiculous. Are you guys on commission for every time you mention Kelly's name. Hope Imps win, two vic sides on a vic ground for GF would be very nice.
Mite quieten the talk down on Kelly as i see in the medal count he only polled in ONE game.
SWANDOG
15 Sep 2008, 17:00
Mite quieten the talk down on Kelly as i see in the medal count he only polled in ONE game.
Not too many CHB's get votes - dominated by onballers. In his defence -Kelly was named CHB in the team of the year. Must have done something right.
little footy battler
15 Sep 2008, 18:26
Not too many CHB's get votes - dominated by onballers. In his defence -Kelly was named CHB in the team of the year. Must have done something right.
While I do think Kelly is a good player, being picked in that team of the year was no great commendation on a player's ability. His mates constantly pumping him up on this site would have had as much to do with his selection as his on field performances. That plus you have to look at the selectors, of which there was a slight weighting to the Hamilton sides via the Hamilton news paper. He is a good player, but from what I saw he didn't exactly have a ball tearer of a season. Often those teams are picked on name and repuatation.
footballnut
16 Sep 2008, 13:46
respect your right to have an opinion, strongly disagree. was anybody luck to be included and unlucky to miss out? what was the criteria? best team on paper or best team to match up against another team?
OnTheCrows!!
16 Sep 2008, 17:03
We'll see how he goes this week.
Any tips for the granny and for how much?
Rupert1049
16 Sep 2008, 17:36
I'd say Portland to win by 5 plus goals. They'll get a handy break early on and will hold Imps at bay for the rest of the game. It would be good to see Imps win though, just to spread it around.
How unlucky was Duldig to miss out on the Team of the Year? Best CHB in the league IMO, but only got to see Millicent a handful of times this year, not sure how much time he spent at CHF. Great player though. Saw Kelly quite a lot, didn't impress me that much. Good player, but doesn't deserve the big wraps some people give him.
footballnut
17 Sep 2008, 00:14
I'd say Portland to win by 5 plus goals. They'll get a handy break early on and will hold Imps at bay for the rest of the game. It would be good to see Imps win though, just to spread it around.
How unlucky was Duldig to miss out on the Team of the Year? Best CHB in the league IMO, but only got to see Millicent a handful of times this year, not sure how much time he spent at CHF. Great player though. Saw Kelly quite a lot, didn't impress me that much. Good player, but doesn't deserve the big wraps some people give him.
did you see him play saturday against east? if you havent worked it out yet, i will spell it out. His mates in melbourne are taking the piss out him!!! and every time you fire a shot at him they love it. just lighten up boys!!!!!
Portland for the three-peat. Going to be a bit more precise then you rupert and say a steady 37 point win.
Was a big fan of Duldig, more of a player that could do more jobs then just CHB. I think the team of the yr, went of more reputation then anything. Few names that are questionable, and a few names unlucky to sit out.
Kelly didn't deserve chb? you've got to be kidding! i obviously haven't been to all the games but the ones i have seen he has played very well! Football nut i know this could be hard, but do you think you'd be able to scrounge up kellys opponents goals for the year from the imps statistician (if they have them)? I'm pretty sure you'd find it would be pretty good in his favour! And how many goals have been set up by his attacking runs from the backline, quite a lot i imagine.
It is my opinion and it counts for nothing but l think big dazza will show everyone on sat just how good he is.
sportsfanatic
17 Sep 2008, 21:35
Portland to win by 42 points
reckon its gonna be a good game tho
not sure on the team of year
think it was ok but yeah prob coupple got in coz of name
GOING PLACES
17 Sep 2008, 22:00
Only people who are giving a wrap are his good old mates down in Melbourne. Duldig didnt get picked and 'The Pornmeister' did, end of story. Hopefully he has a good game this week and the Imps get over the line. All the best Porno and hope you have an enjoyable and successful day.
If you read this "F Nut" good luck and go the Imps
Will take more than Kelly to beat Portland. Stop England, then you have to stop J Imbi, stop him then you have to stop W Imbi etc. Stop Ewings, stop Imps.
OnTheCrows!!
18 Sep 2008, 14:04
If you think all there is to imps is the ewings then you mustnt follow very closely. Two players dont get a team to a grand final, play a part yes, but not on their own. Better luck next time sam
cruising
18 Sep 2008, 21:18
Portland for the three-peat. Going to be a bit more precise then you rupert and say a steady 37 point win.
Was a big fan of Duldig, more of a player that could do more jobs then just CHB. I think the team of the yr, went of more reputation then anything. Few names that are questionable, and a few names unlucky to sit out.
Think this is the reason merrett from west got in for,reputation. Is unfit and completely outclassed the couple of times i seen him!!!!!!!!!! VERY OVER RATED. Go dogs on sat.
sportsfanatic
19 Sep 2008, 10:08
this is just to funny :D
first it was kelly hasnt had a great season but watch out for him in finals
then he has 2 disgraceful performances and 1 good one
so now its look out for him on saturday
dont worry sooner or later u guys will get 1 right and you can say i told u so to most posters on here :D
id say imps might get up today not sure why just have feeling :rolleyes:
best on honours will not go to kelly but to a bloke by the name of cooper
Can't ever remember a team in the WBFL losing the quality of players Portland lost yet being able to win the flag. Incredible effort by Portland.