View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
2]
jazzman13
6 Feb 2007, 07:47
G'day all.
I'm a new member here and I thought it would be interesting to get everybody's 2007 ladder predictions??
Feel free to discuss where you're putting teams and why.
Cheers
little footy battler
7 Feb 2007, 16:43
G'day all.
I'm a new member here and I thought it would be interesting to get everybody's 2007 ladder predictions??
Feel free to discuss where you're putting teams and why.
Cheers
You're asking for some big calls from everyone esle this early on mate, with out putting up any yourself.
But I love a challenge, although I reserve the right to deny everything in six week's time.
Portland should not slip too far, although the depth may get a little more tested this year if they have injuries.
South should also be up around the mark with North, followed by Casterton and East Gambier.
Hamilton will push its way back up to either go very close to the finals or just scrape in, while West Gambier will slip down to seventh.
I don't really know enough about the other three to make a strong call on the order, but for argument's sake we'll say Imperials, followed by Heywood and finall Millicent.
Heywood and West Gambier are the two side's I'm least confident about with my predictions.
West's supposed decision to stop its import policy could be a master stroke, but it may also cause them short term pain.
Heywood has lost some key players where it didn't really have a lot of room to lose them, but the new coach may be just the thing to give a few blokes a reality slap in the face and get the best out of them.
One or two big forwards would make a huge difference to them too.
Does anyone know how North is travelling?
jazzman13
8 Feb 2007, 07:56
Fair call Battler, I'll have my prediction ladder finalised fairly soon as you're right, it is pretty early.
At this stage, and this could all completely change within days! I'd say Portland looks the team to beat. But I expect the Tigers won't be as strong this time around.
The second-tier sides of last season, like East, South and North, look likely to lose some ground this season also, so I'm looking for the teams which are on the up.
Expect Casterton to make some big steps. Securing Brent Howard is a coup, while Dylan Kent for a full season is a tantalising prospect.
Hamilton will be the big improvers. Obviously the 'Pies can't exactly go backwards, but there's a feeling around the club that's not dissimilar to 2004 when they won the flag.
Mark Watts is back - a 2004 premiership vice-captain - as coach. He could be a bit green, but he's what you'd have to call a natural leader.
Meanwhile, the club has been linked with numerous other players, including Damien Ferguson, a star in the 2004 premiership side.
Young big man Pat Sherlock - Joe Sherlock's brother - has also signed up for the black and white. He'll develop into somewhat of a gun.
And, just at this stage, Guy Sevior looks a handy pick up - from the Alberton FL.
Sevior began his career with Hamilton and, from what I recall, was a very polished utility.
Imperials has also signed up a few. Expect them to be around the mark.
The only question with Imps is: "Just how good are the youngsters they've been developing?"
Hamilton clearly has the best kids coming through of the two Hamilton-based sides, but Imps have given lots of youngsters plenty of game time which is sure to help them this year.
Heywood looks like a bottom of the ladder team just at this stage. It's rumoured they're losing a number of key players - and given it took the Lions so long to name a coach, you have to assume morale is at an all-time low.
Millicent should continue to improve. The Saints impressed me towards the end of last season and I'm glad Doug Lang was reappointed.
I tipped West Gambier to finish second at this time last year. Boy did that not come off!
The problem is West was doomed if it did and doomed if it didn't in terms of signing up those big Adelaide names.
In the end, most would agree, it had to fly them in on a weekly basis. It has installed a winning atmosphere at the club that the Demons hadn't seen for a number of years.
The signing of coach Brown could be seen as a risky one, sure, but it's not necessarily a bad one.
Providing West's players train together, I think they'll be somewhere around the mark.
Looking forward to a good season, I'll post a more accurate assessment on where I think teams will finish within a week - when a few more transfers start flowing through.
Cheers.
zanderm
14 Feb 2007, 12:23
Has anyone signed any quality players from the Mininera And District Football League?
little footy battler
14 Feb 2007, 14:04
Has anyone signed any quality players from the Mininera And District Football League?
I see the Hamilton Imperials have raided Glenthompson Dunkeld. I haven't seen Adam Keillor play for a few years now but he will be handy enough and certainly a loss to his old side.
footy15
14 Feb 2007, 15:01
new to this chat forum, and a former western border player, can anyone tell me where james imbi is playing this year? fantastic player and would love to have him at my club.
new to this chat forum, and a former western border player, can anyone tell me where james imbi is playing this year? fantastic player and would love to have him at my club. Portland i presume...unless heard otherwise !? has spent the last two off seasons up in Darwin w Palmerston in the ntfl.
footy15
16 Feb 2007, 09:31
Portland i presume...unless heard otherwise !? has spent the last two off seasons up in Darwin w Palmerston in the ntfl.
no, i haven't heard otherwise, but i wouldn't be surprised if he has had a lot of interest from other clubs. from what i'm hearing he will win his club's b and f in darwin and maybe come close to the league medal. portland are lucky to have him.
footy15
16 Feb 2007, 14:16
heard a rumour that josh ransom may be heading to heywood with his dad? would be a huge loss for east, how are they looking at this stage? i personally can't see many teams being close to portland, although they do have trouble against north.
Adrian Shelton
16 Feb 2007, 19:50
Jason Rowe heading to Tantanoola, he's been there before hasnt he?
new to this chat forum, and a former western border player, can anyone tell me where james imbi is playing this year? fantastic player and would love to have him at my club.Last I heard he is playing with Portland.
footy15
17 Feb 2007, 18:21
Last I heard he is playing with Portland.
speaking to a friend of his and he told me that imbi is very close to signing with another club in a different league.
speaking to a friend of his and he told me that imbi is very close to signing with another club in a different league.Might run into his dad tommorrow. Will ask him if i do. Would be a big loss. Especially after losing Holt.
Jason Rowe heading to Tantanoola, he's been there before hasnt he?
No has'nt been there before !! Tantanoola have had cracks at him in the past but coin speaks many languages....
footy15
20 Feb 2007, 14:56
so what are the early odds for premiers this season?
Does anyone know the word on the SA teams. Who's looking good, who's not.
little footy battler
21 Feb 2007, 12:18
Does anyone know the word on the SA teams. Who's looking good, who's not.
West Gambier = Not. Forward line is looking a little sparse at the moment.:thumbsd:
little footy battler
21 Feb 2007, 12:26
Portland $2.00
North Gambier $4.50
East Gambier $5.50
South Gambier $8
Casterton $15
Hamilton $25
West Gambier $100
Imperials $250
Heywood $300
Millicent $300
The odds on the bottom four may seem a little harsh, but I can't see them taking the flag this season, and aside from possibly West if a few things go right, I can't see them making the finals.
Portland has to be the early favourite. The gap between it and the rest of the field does not seem to have closed up much in the off season.
What's happening with the normal Adelaide influx of players at West
footy15
22 Feb 2007, 10:13
what has hamilton done so drastically from last season to have them placed close to the top 5? or is it the fact that other teams have lost so many players, ie. west gambier. heywood. looks like it may be a tough year again for those two teams.
what has hamilton done so drastically from last season to have them placed close to the top 5? or is it the fact that other teams have lost so many players, ie. west gambier. heywood. looks like it may be a tough year again for those two teams. Maybe because they appointed one of there former premiership hero's from a few years back as their new coach for 07 and beyond...although it's still early to say where there at because they have'nt gone out and bought a side (still time !!) like they did when they won the flag.
Maybe because they appointed one of there former premiership hero's from a few years back as their new coach for 07 and beyond...although it's still early to say where there at because they have'nt gone out and bought a side (still time !!) like they did when they won the flag.
On heywood & west....unless Ransom brings a carload from the mount and a couple from darwin and use there juniors either way they'll bookend the sides outside the top 5.West is an interesting one.....No fly-ins apparently this year just play there kids and recruit a couple of experienced heads & tough c_nts from melbourne or victoria where Brown has good contacts, so far there losses are key ones compared to what they'v picked up.They'll either keep there finals spot from last yr or drop away !? But dont be surprised if they creep up on a few as Brown can get the best out of what he's got barring injuries of course.
footy15
22 Feb 2007, 15:58
Maybe because they appointed one of there former premiership hero's from a few years back as their new coach for 07 and beyond...although it's still early to say where there at because they have'nt gone out and bought a side (still time !!) like they did when they won the flag.
if i recall correctly, most of the players from the 2004 side were local boys who had played in hamilton all through there junior years. i wouldn't call that buying a flag, unless you have other information then i would love to hear it.
if i recall correctly, most of the players from the 2004 side were local boys who had played in hamilton all through there junior years. i wouldn't call that buying a flag, unless you have other information then i would love to hear it.Knowingly over half there side was made up of recriuts, the rest were experienced locals and there talented bunch of kids.
footy15
23 Feb 2007, 08:51
Knowingly over half there side was made up of recriuts, the rest were experienced locals and there talented bunch of kids.
you can't just say 'knowingly' without giving up names and who was on the big $$$, if you're going to make a call like saying they bought a premiership you need to give some proof of what you supposedly know. get back to me and i will let you know if you are right or not.
What i'm saying mate is half there side that premiership yr were imports....it was well known that they spent alot of money bringing them in.Speaking to a number of officials late last season from hamilton that were involved in that premiership yr they admitted it they spent big that season.
footy15
23 Feb 2007, 13:47
What i'm saying mate is half there side that premiership yr were imports....it was well known that they spent alot of money bringing them in.Speaking to a number of officials late last season from hamilton that were involved in that premiership yr they admitted it they spent big that season.
i did a little bit of research and have come up with this for you:
Coach: Simon Taylor
Local/Recruit
Weekly Payments $
ABRAHAMSON, Gareth
Recruit
ANDERSON, Brad
Recruit
BAILEY, Hamish
Local
CRAWFORD, Lachlan
Local
CRAWFORD, Gareth
Local
EGAN, Gareth
Local
ERCEGOVICH, Dean
Recruit
FERGUSON, Damien
Local
HANDO, David
Local
HAYES, Daniel
Recruit
ISLES, Nathan
Local
LOGAN, Damien
Local
MCGINLEY, Brian
Local
MCRAE, Cam
Local
PICKEN, Liam
Local
ROBERTSON, Tim
Recruit
SHERLOCK, Joe
Recruit
SIMPSON, Paul
Local
WALDRON, Brad
Local
WALTER, Mark
Local
WATT, Michael
Local
WATTS, Mark
Recruit
That proves your 'half the team being imports' theory wrong. now if you'd like you can fill in the weekly match payments for the players and then we will see how big they spent that year.
footy15
23 Feb 2007, 13:48
sorry, i will try that again
footy15
23 Feb 2007, 13:53
ABRAHAMSON, Gareth(Recruit)
ANDERSON, Brad(Recruit)
BAILEY, Hamish(Local)
CRAWFORD, Lachlan(Local)
CRAWFORD, Gareth(Local)
EGAN, Gareth(Local)
ERCEGOVICH, Dean(Recruit)
FERGUSON, Damien(Local)
HANDO, David(Local)
HAYES, Daniel(Recruit)
ISLES, Nathan(Local)
LOGAN, Damien(Local)
MCGINLEY, Brian(Local)
MCRAE, Cam(Local)
PICKEN, Liam(Local)
ROBERTSON, Tim(Recruit)
SHERLOCK, Joe(Recruit)
SIMPSON, Paul(Local)
WALDRON, Brad(Local)
WALTER, Mark(Local)
WATT, Michael(Local)
WATTS, Mark(Recruit)
ABRAHAMSON, Gareth(Recruit)
ANDERSON, Brad(Recruit)
BAILEY, Hamish(Local)
CRAWFORD, Lachlan(Local)
CRAWFORD, Gareth(Local)
EGAN, Gareth(Local)
ERCEGOVICH, Dean(Recruit)
FERGUSON, Damien(Local)
HANDO, David(Local)
HAYES, Daniel(Recruit)
ISLES, Nathan(Local)
LOGAN, Damien(Local)
MCGINLEY, Brian(Local)
MCRAE, Cam(Local)
PICKEN, Liam(Local)
ROBERTSON, Tim(Recruit)
SHERLOCK, Joe(Recruit)
SIMPSON, Paul(Local)
WALDRON, Brad(Local)
WALTER, Mark(Local)
WATT, Michael(Local)
WATTS, Mark(Recruit)
You forgot Taylor (RECRUIT) !! well there you go, it was less than half - i was wrong.That does'nt mean i was miss informed....still spent coin on those recruits.
football fan
23 Feb 2007, 19:50
of the Hamilton recruits of 2004, TAYLOR and ABRAHAMSON were coach and assistant coach, every body pays their assistant coach and coach, Ceggi played for a pair of boots and a long sleeve jumper, ROBERTSON came from imps to play with Lachie CRAWFORD, SHERLOCK was only paid standard match payments. The only recruits that were really paid were ANDERSON,HAYES and WATTS. ANDERSON and HAYES payments were minimal beacuse they both gained employment through club contacts. WATTS was payed less than $200 a game. So before you make statements that you obviously know little about do some research, and you say that the committee stated that big money was spent, well name who you were speaking to.
Crowe & Riddle....there's your names.To be honest i don't give a flying f*ck about what hamilton spent, they may have one the flag but they've paid for it since.I only mentioned hamilton because they were bought up along with west in a passing comment.Your the ones that are making an issue out of it.Move on simple !!
footy15
24 Feb 2007, 20:27
Crowe & Riddle....there's your names.To be honest i don't give a flying f*ck about what hamilton spent, they may have one the flag but they've paid for it since.I only mentioned hamilton because they were bought up along with west in a passing comment.Your the ones that are making an issue out of it.Move on simple !!
it would be best not to start your 'well known' fact, as it is all rumours. but i agree who gives a f*ck, they were the best team in that year and haven't been so flash since then.
little footy battler
25 Feb 2007, 09:33
it would be best not to start your 'well known' fact, as it is all rumours. but i agree who gives a f*ck, they were the best team in that year and haven't been so flash since then.
Wow. Who would have thought naming Hamilton as sixth favourite to take the flag this year could generate so much discussion. Probably a reflection of the insular view Hamilton as a town has of itself in relation to the world.
Odds of $25 may seem short, but there had been enough whispers not to write them off completely. They have an excellent bunch of junior footballers coming through and the resources and culture to put together a winning combination from not much.
It is rare to see the Magpies loitering at the bottom for too long, so I shortened their odds as a safety. However, sixth in a 10 team competition is still not great.
The four teams below Hamilton can't win the flag, in my opinion, based on the playing stocks that seem available at this point and the level of winning culture at each of those clubs.
This could change after the preseason cup, though. I'd still like to have a closer look at South given the midfielders they have lost.
Have not been on for a little while. Hamilton certainly caused some heated debate. The question is who will get near Portland?
footy15
27 Feb 2007, 08:38
Have not been on for a little while. Hamilton certainly caused some heated debate. The question is who will get near Portland?
i can't see anyone getting near portland, especially if they get some more players from sanfl. if they are lucky enough to have an injury free season i think they could win every game.
i can't see anyone getting near portland, especially if they get some more players from sanfl. if they are lucky enough to have an injury free season i think they could win every game. Still to early say !?!? probabley we'll have to wait until after the pre-season comp....North look like challenging again as they have'nt lost to many from last year, South although they have lost quality in Rowe, Copping & Howard etc they have picked up a couple as well so they should be around the mark again and East, well they are a question mark !?!? of the others won't really know until the start of the season or the first few rounds....
footy15
27 Feb 2007, 09:15
Still to early say !?!? probabley we'll have to wait until after the pre-season comp....North look like challenging again as they have'nt lost to many from last year, South although they have lost quality in Rowe, Copping & Howard etc they have picked up a couple as well so they should be around the mark again and East, well they are a question mark !?!? of the others won't really know until the start of the season or the first few rounds....
fair call, probably a bit too early to make big statements like my last one. i would say if north can get through to the grand final they would have to be a big chance, they have been there-abouts for so long now without any luck.
fair call, probably a bit too early to make big statements like my last one. i would say if north can get through to the grand final they would have to be a big chance, they have been there-abouts for so long now without any luck.I still think Portland will be up there again as the hunted !! just depends if they keep topping up on last year, especially now that Jarrod Holt has gone.
Looks like Heywood might be able to hold onto gun utility John Dunn, he had his clearance to heathmere knocked back a few times to join former coach Keegan.Apparently he's had a change of heart and may take on a assistant coaches role to Ransom, although it's not final !?
footy15
27 Feb 2007, 10:10
I still think Portland will be up there again as the hunted !! just depends if they keep topping up on last year, especially now that Jarrod Holt has gone.
Looks like Heywood might be able to hold onto gun utility John Dunn, he had his clearance to heathmere knocked back a few times to join former coach Keegan.Apparently he's had a change of heart and may take on a assistant coaches role to Ransom, although it's not final !?
that is good news for heywood, although they might need a bit more than that. i see andrew ryan and robbie gordon looking to head to the hampden league. is it true that pete sheperd will be back for the lions?
Have'nt heard where Peter Shepperd will end up !? Ransom did say when he was appointed that he would welcome back Shepperd...he could end up any where.He has'nt been seen since doing a runner from the riverland league in S.A mid last year.It would be a worry whoever picked him up as he's been AWOL since then and if he has no pre-season under his belt, as good as he is it maybe a risk picking him up so close to the seasons start.
little footy battler
27 Feb 2007, 11:39
Have'nt heard where Peter Shepperd will end up !? Ransom did say when he was appointed that he would welcome back Shepperd...he could end up any where.He has'nt been seen since doing a runner from the riverland league in S.A mid last year.It would be a worry whoever picked him up as he's been AWOL since then and if he has no pre-season under his belt, as good as he is it maybe a risk picking him up so close to the seasons start.
Dunn looks a sure thing at Heywood, and talk is they are pretty confident on Shep, although you really would like to see him on the track before you say for certain.
Gordon has had a frustrating run with injuries over the last three years so is probably looking for a change of scenery for a change of luck.
Ryan, apparently, is not gone yet.
Who are the signings of note at South?
Dunn looks a sure thing at Heywood, and talk is they are pretty confident on Shep, although you really would like to see him on the track before you say for certain.
Gordon has had a frustrating run with injuries over the last three years so is probably looking for a change of scenery for a change of luck.
Ryan, apparently, is not gone yet.
Who are the signings of note at South?
I think they will be important players at south, as it gives them added depth with versatility and height also.The players to come into South are Ben McGregor, Adam Hamilton, Pat Noonan all from the neighboring minor league in the MSE comp and Luke Foran who comes from Labrador on the Sunshine Coast.
Footnote: Millicent have picked up Peter Shepperds brother Damian, not much is known of him except he played in the Hills league outside of Adelaide last season and is much younger.
Who is everyones ruffie to make the five. I'll say Casterton.
It's only hearsay and won't know until clearances are final but going on another league thread, it appears James Parks from Heywood & Gareth Crawford (Hamilton) are spoken about lining up for Kerang in the CMFL this season....both have played with Palmerston fc in the NTFL the last few off seasons.Another interesting point is that Kerang are coached this year by former Imps and WB rep Brent Forsyth !!
little footy battler
27 Feb 2007, 22:20
I think they will be important players at south, as it gives them added depth with versatility and height also.The players to come into South are Ben McGregor, Adam Hamilton, Pat Noonan all from the neighboring minor league in the MSE comp and Luke Foran who comes from Labrador on the Sunshine Coast.
Footnote: Millicent have picked up Peter Shepperds brother Damian, not much is known of him except he played in the Hills league outside of Adelaide last season and is much younger.
Was unaware Peter had a brother called Damien, I know he has a younger brother called John, who is handy enough, although perhaps a little inconsistent.
I wasn't dissing any of South's recruits when I asked who was of note, I simply know nothing of those players.
Peter struck me as a fairly family orientated guy when he was in the WBFL, so if Millicent has signed a younger brother it could be a very handy move.
Park and Crawford are two very handy players to have sign anywhere, both of their WBFL clubs would be very sorry not to have their services for the coming seasons if what you say is true Big Ant.
There is a little whisper building up that Portland could be about to sign another midfielder of real class from the SA side of the border.
Any ideas on that anyone?
Was unaware Peter had a brother called Damien, I know he has a younger brother called John, who is handy enough, although perhaps a little inconsistent.
I wasn't dissing any of South's recruits when I asked who was of note, I simply know nothing of those players.
Peter struck me as a fairly family orientated guy when he was in the WBFL, so if Millicent has signed a younger brother it could be a very handy move.
Park and Crawford are two very handy players to have sign anywhere, both of their WBFL clubs would be very sorry not to have their services for the coming seasons if what you say is true Big Ant.
There is a little whisper building up that Portland could be about to sign another midfielder of real class from the SA side of the border.
Any ideas on that anyone?
A while back heard of a duel Magary medal winner was a possibilty of joining Portland. No name.
The only duel magary medal winner i know of is Damian Squire !! former team mate of Brodie Atkinson....
That is very interesting considering Brodie coached Portland and I think Brodie is a mate of current coach Mark Jeffries.
That is very interesting considering Brodie coached Portland and I think Brodie is a mate of current coach Mark Jeffries. Thats right, i think Brodie had alot to do with Jeffries going to Portland.Who knows if it's true or not as Squire maybe playing on with Sturt for another year, even so the main reason he was going to retire was he copped a nasty neck injury late last season.On top of that his body had just about enough of footy at that level,he would be a great asset to them and the league but you'd hope that they would get a full season out of him for there sake....
I hear the AFL game was not well supported by some clubs. What's the story here? Who got what out of it?
jazzman13
5 Mar 2007, 09:51
Who is everyones ruffie to make the five. I'll say Casterton.
I'd say Casterton, too. They have recruited well and towards the end of last year they were just starting to hit their straps.
Who's going to fall the heaviest this year? South Gambier?
I'd say Casterton, too. They have recruited well and towards the end of last year they were just starting to hit their straps.
Who's going to fall the heaviest this year? South Gambier?
Why is Casterton being talked up !?....sure Howard's a big plus for them and they'll have Kent back after injury, is there more coming....
When you look at who may fall out of the five from last year, West & East maybe....have heard that West will be playing the kids this season but they have lost alot of there good players from the last few yrs.So you'd expect them to drop out.
East are unknown, as they also have lost a few including Kluzek and some of their kids but have'nt picked anyone up at this stage.
South will be around the mark again as i said previously - Howard, Copping & Rowe will hurt them going but going on what they've picked up they still should be o.k
jazzman13
5 Mar 2007, 11:04
I am mainly talking Casterton up for two reasons. One: Some of the other teams will drop off and that opens the door for teams like Casterton, Imperials and Hamilton to climb multiple spots. And two: The natural improvement of last year's list, especially towards the end of last year, was great to see and I'd expect more improvement to come in 2007 - especially with a fit Kent and a gun recruit Howard.
I am mainly talking Casterton up for two reasons. One: Some of the other teams will drop off and that opens the door for teams like Casterton, Imperials and Hamilton to climb multiple spots. And two: The natural improvement of last year's list, especially towards the end of last year, was great to see and I'd expect more improvement to come in 2007 - especially with a fit Kent and a gun recruit Howard. Is Licka going on again....
dogman22
5 Mar 2007, 12:40
Further to the talk about Damian Squire - received a call from my Dad last week spruiking that Portland had signed Squire - apparently he's available for the first 10 games before going overseas, but will return for the finals should Portland make them.
jazzman13
5 Mar 2007, 15:18
Is Licka going on again....
Actually I'm not sure about Lithgow. My gut feel is he will play on, but obviously he's not going to be as productive as seasons past. Still, he's very well respected and given the Cats have got a (reasonably) young list Tony will be of great benefit.
Just for the sake of havin' a stab, here are my odds for the 2007 season.
Portland: $2.20 (No Holt this season. And, so much depends on the Tigers securing their second-stringers for depth similar to last year. In 2005 the Tigers had arguably the best starting 18, but they tapered away fairly severely after that).
East Gambier: $6 (Knocking on the door the past couple of seasons. Kluzek going is obviously a blow. Expect there to be enough depth still around to cover him, though).
South Gambier: $9 (Lost some talented types during the off-season, but there's plenty of wraps on the incoming players. A club that can never be written off).
North Gambier: $9 (Like South, always around the mark. Seems to have had a bit of an unsettled off-season, but too good to write off).
Hamilton: $21 (Expect huge improvement on last year. Some handy signings so far and more to come. I'd say the 'Pies will be pushing for finals, at least).
Imperials: $31 (Scott Day is a star and he's signed on already. There are others on the way to Imps. They could just be the best value at big odds).
West Gambier: $31 (Depends who stays and who goes, and who replaces those that are going. Got to assume there are some handy players on the way??)
Casterton: $61 (Improving young side. Abrahamson is doing well with this group, but suspect they're still a little way off the mark. Kent will be huge).
Heywood: $601 (Likely to struggle, but keeping Dunn is a huge bonus. Asman Rory will be the key - looking for a massive season from him).
Millicent: $601 (Doug Lang had this side improving all through 2006. However, still likely to be a little way off the pace).
Thoughts?
little footy battler
5 Mar 2007, 15:44
Actually I'm not sure about Lithgow. My gut feel is he will play on, but obviously he's not going to be as productive as seasons past. Still, he's very well respected and given the Cats have got a (reasonably) young list Tony will be of great benefit.
Just for the sake of havin' a stab, here are my odds for the 2007 season.
Portland: $2.20 (No Holt this season. And, so much depends on the Tigers securing their second-stringers for depth similar to last year. In 2005 the Tigers had arguably the best starting 18, but they tapered away fairly severely after that).
East Gambier: $6 (Knocking on the door the past couple of seasons. Kluzek going is obviously a blow. Expect there to be enough depth still around to cover him, though).
South Gambier: $9 (Lost some talented types during the off-season, but there's plenty of wraps on the incoming players. A club that can never be written off).
North Gambier: $9 (Like South, always around the mark. Seems to have had a bit of an unsettled off-season, but too good to write off).
Hamilton: $21 (Expect huge improvement on last year. Some handy signings so far and more to come. I'd say the 'Pies will be pushing for finals, at least).
Imperials: $31 (Scott Day is a star and he's signed on already. There are others on the way to Imps. They could just be the best value at big odds).
West Gambier: $31 (Depends who stays and who goes, and who replaces those that are going. Got to assume there are some handy players on the way??)
Casterton: $61 (Improving young side. Abrahamson is doing well with this group, but suspect they're still a little way off the mark. Kent will be huge).
Heywood: $601 (Likely to struggle, but keeping Dunn is a huge bonus. Asman Rory will be the key - looking for a massive season from him).
Millicent: $601 (Doug Lang had this side improving all through 2006. However, still likely to be a little way off the pace).
Thoughts?
Jaszzman, you clearly do not have enough work to do, and your Hamilton bias is showing. I mostly agree with the order, although I would probably have the Cats higher and the Magpies lower. I also do not think you would find anyone to put money on West with odds that short, except the most ardent fans. I think you are on the money with Portland though, especially if Squire turns up. Their depth will be interesting.
How many goals will Larcombe need to kick, do you think, for East to make the grand final without a true centre-half forward? I reckon their odds need to be closer to double figures, say $11?
Only players of significance that i have heard Portland is losing are Holt and Fowles.
Further to the talk about Damian Squire - received a call from my Dad last week spruiking that Portland had signed Squire - apparently he's available for the first 10 games before going overseas, but will return for the finals should Portland make them.
What can you tell me about this Squire. I know he has won 2 Magary medals but that is about it. Brodie won one Magary and he was sensational at Portland.
He's a sanfl representitive on numerous occasions inc captaincy at state level & club level and may have been on port powers original list or thereabouts in in the afl, sanfl life member also.
Damian Squire would probably be similar to Jeffries, onballer/follower type that also would be dangerous when resting up forward.I would'nt be surprised if he spends more time in the forward line then onball coz his body is just about rooted after playing at yard over his career.
Will be interesting in Portland town' as he's got a bit of off feild history in Adelaide and does like a drink.... :D:D:D
These players that Imps and Hamilton have picked up are they local' and will they make an impact !?!?
Are Jazzmans' thoughts first hand or hearsay bout North having an unsettling summer !! dooes he know something know one else does....
He's a sanfl representitive on numerous occasions inc captaincy at state level & club level and may have been on port powers original list or thereabouts in the afl, sanfl life member also.
Damian Squire would probably be similar to Jeffries, onballer/follower type that also would be dangerous when resting up forward.I would'nt be surprised if he spends more time in the forward line then onball coz his body is just about rooted after playing it hard over his career.
Will be interesting in Portland town' as he's got a bit of off feild history in Adelaide and does like a drink.... :D:D:D
These players that Imps and Hamilton have picked up are they local' and will they make an impact !?!?
Are Jazzmans' thoughts first hand or hearsay bout North having an unsettling summer !! does he know something know one else does....
jazzman13
5 Mar 2007, 17:35
Are Jazzmans' thoughts first hand or hearsay bout North having an unsettling summer !! does he know something know one else does....
Bigant, the players that Imperials have picked up are mostly local. Scott Day spent time with Hamilton as an under-18, Jamie Ferguson is still a junior but will spend most his time with North Ballarat in the TAC Cup, Adam Keilar and Jack Behncke are former Imps who have spent time in the Mininera league for the last couple of seasons. Both are capable seniors without being superstars.
On the North 'unsettled summer', I was speaking with a prominent North Gambier player over the Christmas period and he informed me of this and that. It's nothing worth panicking about, but I just think they will take a bit longer to settle than normal.
Then again, I tipped West Gambier would finish second and play off in a Grand Final last season!! ;)
Somebody said earlier that my Hamilton bias was showing. This is not really the case, but I have heard bits and pieces and I believe they're not far off naming a few handy pickups.
Cheers
On James Imbi. He is staying at Portland. Was offered Big money to go elsewhere.
Was that locally, or another league !?!?
Source could not remember. Info came to them from close connection to James.
jazzman13
6 Mar 2007, 16:36
Hamilton's key recruit is Kane Fraser. Now there's a guy who can play. Former Hawthorn Football Club player in the AFL, Fraser played one game with the 'Pies last year in the reserves - just to help the club out - and he had about a million possessions and kicked two or three goals.
How many games did he play with the hawks/box hill !? is'nt he there (hamilton) fitness adviser...what type of player is he.
northguns
6 Mar 2007, 17:47
hi all,
just came across this site and thought i'd say g'day.
am a current player at north gambier, and was interested to see that we are known to be a little un settled.
we are looking ok, the new coach is taking a bit to get use to - seems to have different ideas then pete, which is interesting but good
we have lost the ovbious guys like killa kilsby and the durbridges but it will be all good.
are any of u guys players in the WBFL or just supports/followers?
jazzman13
6 Mar 2007, 17:55
How many games did he play with the hawks/box hill !? is'nt he there (hamilton) fitness adviser...what type of player is he.
He is their fitness adviser. He's also an assistant-coach, or part of the leadership group anyway. Before Mark Watts took over he was running the pre-season training sessions.
Honestly I can't answer what sort of player he is because I haven't seen him play. However, reports suggest he's a pretty good footballer.
He played five games with Hawthorn between 1996 and 1998 (according to my AFL encyclopedia). He was described in that book as the following...
'A half-back flanker and winger from East Ringwood via Eastern under-18s who had trouble breaking into the Hawks side over three years'
It's rumoured that he didn't get along at all well with the coach at the time. The coach's name just escapes me right now, unfortunately.
jazzman13
6 Mar 2007, 17:58
hi all,
just came across this site and thought i'd say g'day.
am a current player at north gambier, and was interested to see that we are known to be a little un settled
Just quickly mate, welcome to the forum. I've only been here a few days myself.
On North being a bit unsettled, I explained it was nothing serious - just something I'd heard from somebody involved with the club. I think this person meant it was the 'unsettled state' that goes with replacing a coach like Peter Collins. There was always going to be a period of time when things are a bit up in the air. I'm pretty confident North will be fully ready to rock and roll this season, though. And, bring on the finals, you're going to be thereabouts! Cheers.
lollipop25
7 Mar 2007, 14:50
hi guys,
have been a interested reader of this site for a while now and it seems there are some well informed???? experts??? floating around, anyway keep those contributions going
Just thoughts on what clubs are getting good numbers out on the track, with just over a month before the season starts what is the G O around the traps..
Heard West are'nt getting good numbers at all, an associate of a friend of mine went past Malseed Pk the other day and there was barely two handfuls on the track.
Millicent have been getting good numbers all pre-season, at least 18 on some nights up to 35-45 on others.With 5 weeks before kick off they hav'nt made any major signings but who they have signed have been kids just out of colts from mid se clubs and one or two seniors returning from stints out in the bush.
lollipop25
7 Mar 2007, 16:22
south and north been getting exceptional numbers, the tigers in particulary mainly senior with a sprinkling of promising juniors, several early season suprises and the return of some ex club/league stars should hold the tigers in good stead
lollipop25
7 Mar 2007, 16:25
can confirm west, drive past regularly myself as i live rather close and last week was the highest with no more than 15 on the tack, most week/nights there would have been no more than half a dozen - eight on the track, tough gig for browny, in fact i think that there are more numbers at the female soccer trainings, perhaps they could merge, definetely would save some money on transporting players
What's the word on East. The base must have been there last year to make the Grand Final. Can they achieve that level again.
Adrian Shelton
7 Mar 2007, 21:08
Dont think Matty Kluzek is back, little piece with the new president( Steve van Schaik) in the Border watch today says they've got some good new players, no names mentioned though, maybe i should ask Scooter,he'll know!!:D
lollipop25
8 Mar 2007, 08:38
east signed Jason Dawe, he told north that he wouldn't play for east, but money is multi lingual, apparently they have a few new talls but hasn't been much more news on them, would think they will be around the mark but losing Kluzek places a increased emphasis on larcombe, lost a quality junior in sutherland, good move by him as he is too good a kid to get mixed up with the crap that has historically been associated with east
jazzman13
8 Mar 2007, 08:51
Who's going to win the goal kicking award this year?
Larcombe odds-on?
lollipop25
8 Mar 2007, 10:43
wade ryan would be a good smokie
jazzman13
8 Mar 2007, 11:59
wade ryan would be a good smokie
Yeah I agree mate. Larcombe is a gun, but he's somewhat inconsistent and Capewell, well, I don't even know if he's definitely playing or not this season, then Ryan looks the good.
A lot depends on Abrahamson at Casterton and Grant Ewing at Imps. If Ewing plays in the midfield then no, but if he's a deadset centre half-forward then look out.
jazzman13
8 Mar 2007, 12:03
east signed Jason Dawe, he told north that he wouldn't play for east, but money is multi lingual, apparently they have a few new talls but hasn't been much more news on them, would think they will be around the mark but losing Kluzek places a increased emphasis on larcombe, lost a quality junior in sutherland, good move by him as he is too good a kid to get mixed up with the crap that has historically been associated with east
Reportedly Matt Ellis is back at East. He's a pretty handy CHF. Star in 2005.
northguns
8 Mar 2007, 17:02
well to be honest we are getting around 35 at training mondays and wednesday are alot quieter to about 25 because of touch football and cricket commitments - that takes probably 10-15 players out.
matty ellis is still carrying a bit of beef he could be a gun but he needs to get fit and i dont see him doing that.
Wado Ryan is an absolute gun and i could see him blitzing it this year...and remember he's still 20-very casual
north are looking much more youthful this year with half a dozen under19's a good chance to play seniors and have an impact.
i work with a westie and he reports that if they get 15 they are happy but its usually just 10 at training....dissapointing. but they are flying in 3-4 from melbourne each week who know the assistant coach.
portland will win again, but i think it'll be very close from then on between north, east, casterton, hamilton and maybe south.
northguns
8 Mar 2007, 17:03
jazzman, are u a player in the wbfl? or just a supporter? are there any other players here posting?
lollipop i think i know who you are
well to be honest we are getting around 35 at training mondays and wednesday are alot quieter to about 25 because of touch football and cricket commitments - that takes probably 10-15 players out.
matty ellis is still carrying a bit of beef he could be a gun but he needs to get fit and i dont see him doing that.
Wado Ryan is an absolute gun and i could see him blitzing it this year...and remember he's still 20-very casual
north are looking much more youthful this year with half a dozen under19's a good chance to play seniors and have an impact.
i work with a westie and he reports that if they get 15 they are happy but its usually just 10 at training....dissapointing. but they are flying in 3-4 from melbourne each week who know the assistant coach.
portland will win again, but i think it'll be very close from then on between north, east, casterton, hamilton and maybe south. Correct me if i'm wrong but when they (West) signed Steve ELLIS as the assistant coach was'nt he going to live in the mount !? maybe they might have to fork out another 800 bucks a game to fly Joey Cotton over from the island, in another twist i hear they fell through on a getting some players over from tassie...
If Nieman from Portland is fit and up and going he will kick a lot of goals.
Royboy10
8 Mar 2007, 21:11
Correct me if i'm wrong but when they (West) signed Steve ELLIS as the assistant coach was'nt he going to live in the mount !? maybe they might have to fork out another 800 bucks a game to fly Joey Cotton over from the island, in another twist i hear they fell through on a getting some players over from tassie...
Gday people am new to this forum have been reading some interesting comments and opinions and have generally enjoyed the banter !!!
Just to clear a minor matter I think there are 2 chances of Joey suiting up for west and they are none & f@#k all !! He is having a crack with the Tassie Devils in the VFL this year and if not playing with them is suiting up with Penguin he laughed pretty hard when quizzed on the West connection !! He and a mate from Norwood are heading to South America at seasons end.
I agree with Northguns on Ellis is good when fit but that is pretty rare I think Portland will be pretty hard to toss ;)
Gday people am new to this forum have been reading some interesting comments and opinions and have generally enjoyed the banter !!!
Just to clear a minor matter I think there are 2 chances of Joey suiting up for west and they are none & f@#k all !! He is having a crack with the Tassie Devils in the VFL this year and if not playing with them is suiting up with Penguin he laughed pretty hard when quizzed on the West connection !! He and a mate from Norwood are heading to South America at seasons end.
I agree with Northguns on Ellis is good when fit but that is pretty rare I think Portland will be pretty hard to toss ;)
I knew Joey was heading overseas, had plans fa the world cup in the West Indies...must be better surf in South America.
Most that were close to him knew he would'nt come back here even if Brown coached in the WB again, hope he knuckles down with the Devils and has a fair dinkem crack joey...
jazzman13
9 Mar 2007, 05:12
jazzman, are u a player in the wbfl? or just a supporter? are there any other players here posting?
lollipop i think i know who you are
No, not a player. Just a keen observer.
lollipop25
9 Mar 2007, 08:53
i think i know you sandford wheeler???
Rowe from South Gambier has signed with Tantanoola in Mid South East League, presumably he'd be a bit loss to South G, i've heard hes been one of the best midfielders in WBL in last few years.
jazzman13
12 Mar 2007, 11:01
Rowe from South Gambier has signed with Tantanoola in Mid South East League, presumably he'd be a bit loss to South G, i've heard hes been one of the best midfielders in WBL in last few years.
My oath. Losing Rowe and Howard in the one season is not good news for South.
dumesny1
16 Mar 2007, 08:54
Is it true that West are struggling for players?
I was told they had 36 players to fill 3 grades.
hanno_7
18 Mar 2007, 19:45
heard west had a trial game on the weekend how did they go? were they playing tanta
They played mid south east club Tantanoola and got thumped by about 12 g, talking to a fella today that played for tant and he said they were ordinary !! He actually felt sorry for Browny...struggling big time they are.
Is anyone heading to Portland to watch their team in the pre-season cup? I hope for the sake of the competition West can find some solutions soon.
trigger38
20 Mar 2007, 15:37
Hamilton could still be a team to watch apperantly Daniel Gunn is returning from Lake Wendoree and Simon Hatherell from Shepparton United. Its pretty late in the year but has anyone else heard this? Both solid proven players in major leagues?
Heard big Phil Currie has a job transfer. If this means he wont be playing for Hamilton he will be a loss.
McCleanMagic
21 Mar 2007, 11:29
Can anyone tell me how Gerard Parsons from Portland goes?
little footy battler
21 Mar 2007, 12:10
Word is Peter Shepherd will have a run in this weekend's Elastoplast Cup for Heywood.
There are mixed messages on this though, as a couple of Heywood boys I know were unaware of the supposed Shep's Second Coming.
He would be very handy though, as the boys certainly knows how to find the ball and the goals.