View Full Version : Western Border Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

sportsfanatic
20 Aug 2007, 18:53
I think East is the danger side at the moment.
North seem to be off the boil a little bit and Imps could get on a hot streak

sa5290
20 Aug 2007, 22:45
Agree with east being the next best. but portland too much class

sa5290
20 Aug 2007, 22:50
Is Millicent the only club searching for a coach for next season so far?

sportsfanatic
21 Aug 2007, 18:08
How many teams would have their coach signed for next season already?
IMO almost every side will have a look at what is out there unless the current coaches have been signed for 2008.

sa5290
23 Aug 2007, 12:18
How many teams would have their coach signed for next season already?
IMO almost every side will have a look at what is out there unless the current coaches have been signed for 2008.
which other clubs are needing coaches for 2008?

BIGANT
23 Aug 2007, 21:07
Apart from Millicent heard a whisper that a couple might be up for grabs...South & Portland !?

Ryan's had enough or is it the other way around....whats the consensus from the mount.
Portlands is a basis of the s#*t (or was it!?) that was linked and accused of Jeffries during the season....will he want to put up with that again !? the other reason is with the wind turbine plant going down at portland, was he employed there and will that vestas closure effect the victorian tigers next yr.

sa5290
24 Aug 2007, 14:56
[quote=BIGANT;8501946]Apart from Millicent heard a whisper that a couple might be up for grabs...South & Portland !?

Ryan's had enough or is it the other way around....whats the consensus from the mount.
Portlands is a basis of the s#*t (or was it!?) that was linked and accused of Jeffries during the season....will he want to put up with that again !? the other reason is with the wind turbine plant going down at portland, was he employed there and will that vestas closure effect the victorian tigers next]Heard casterton on look out for coach to???

gran
28 Aug 2007, 13:54
What happened to Imps on weekend, do they deserve to be third before North

BIGANT
28 Aug 2007, 20:42
What happened to Imps on weekend, do they deserve to be third before North
Did they tank it...:p:confused: by the looks of it was it over confidence maybe.Muldoon was very confident in last fridays border watch, east are a good side but surely imps are'nt that bad.Will they beat casterton in the elim final !?
Although it's to early to say, is there any silly season news already out and about.

sa5290
28 Aug 2007, 22:38
Did they tank it...:p:confused: by the looks of it was it over confidence maybe.Muldoon was very confident in last fridays border watch, east are a good side but surely imps are'nt that bad.Will they beat casterton in the elim final !?
Although it's to early to say, is there any silly season news already out and about.
Casterton should win easy

gran
31 Aug 2007, 16:27
If you reckon Cats then suppose you think the SA dogs as well, beat North twice this year and in the last two years in Prem. finals will North meet East in Prem again this year

BIGANT
1 Sep 2007, 11:43
If you reckon Cats then suppose you think the SA dogs as well, beat North twice this year and in the last two years in Prem. finals will North meet East in Prem again this year
Reading this mornings spec, did imps have a few out last week against east or is muldoon hiding excuses.4-5 outs don't make up 80-90 points, on reading the spec has there been alot of niggle between the two clubs this season or is it per norm with the two adding that it's a knock out final !?
Will it be a Portland-Millicent double on gf day...tiges snr football saint's a' netball.As much as netball is good for country football, you don't build a clubs success around netball premierships.Yes, netballers do alot of behind the scene & off feild work but at the same time it's also a bi product of making sure that a football clubs existence is wholey and souly based on the success of it's senior football group.

sam42
1 Sep 2007, 23:46
Did anyone see the East Vs North game. Must admit I was a bit shocked at the result. Not a game to lose as next weeks match for East will be a tough one no matter which team they play. Cant see North beating Portland but if they are going to it would have to be in this match. Not sure whos is at Vestas that plays for the Tigers but dont imagine it will have much of an effect on the footy side.

sa5290
5 Sep 2007, 18:50
Did anyone see the East Vs North game. Must admit I was a bit shocked at the result. Not a game to lose as next weeks match for East will be a tough one no matter which team they play. Cant see North beating Portland but if they are going to it would have to be in this match. Not sure whos is at Vestas that plays for the Tigers but dont imagine it will have much of an effect on the footy side.
Doesnt the portland coach work at vestas?

sa5290
5 Sep 2007, 18:54
Will Stringer coach SOUTH next season????????

sam42
5 Sep 2007, 21:18
Doesnt the portland coach work at vestas?
Not sure. Would not be a factor as there is a major company in Portland that i would think would give him a job if he was to coach next season.

gran
6 Sep 2007, 12:00
Reading this mornings spec, did imps have a few out last week against east or is muldoon hiding excuses.4-5 outs don't make up 80-90 points, on reading the spec has there been alot of niggle between the two clubs this season or is it per norm with the two adding that it's a knock out final !?
Will it be a Portland-Millicent double on gf day...tiges snr football saint's a' netball.As much as netball is good for country football, you don't build a clubs success around netball premierships.Yes, netballers do alot of behind the scene & off feild work but at the same time it's also a bi product of making sure that a football clubs existence is wholey and souly based on the success of it's senior football group.
what are your thought on this week's matches:cool: I agree it will be Portland in footy & Millicent in netty, wins grand final day...

sa5290
6 Sep 2007, 14:02
east and portland should win

gran
6 Sep 2007, 16:33
east and portland should win
itrhink it will be cats & tigers at least you can't get that one wrong, Portland should however be too strong think North played it's grand final last week. used up all their luck in one week...but finals are a different thing hey...

BIGANT
8 Sep 2007, 22:04
Start shining the premiership cup portland...was'nt there but hear 5se say port to many options for north, and a plenty of 'spotfires' in the second half.
Was Durbridge involved at all, him and Jeffries at it again.
Will Quinlivan miss the grand with his report !?

little footy battler
10 Sep 2007, 10:30
Start shining the premiership cup portland...was'nt there but hear 5se say port to many options for north, and a plenty of 'spotfires' in the second half.
Was Durbridge involved at all, him and Jeffries at it again.
Will Quinlivan miss the grand with his report !?

Portland smashed North and only really played one good quarter of football, so you can draw your own conclusions from that.
Quinlivan will be an interesting one.
I personally thought it didn't look that bad, but I have heard other people who were on the other side of the ground when it happened comparing it to the Ben Johnson of Collingwood bump.
I think it would be very sad if he is rubbed out of the grand final over something like that given his incredible record over such a long time. I don't think he would have ever been sent off before, let alone reported, plus if you take into account Ellis of East getting one for what I heard was just a stand up punch on, well... it would hardly seem fair to suspend a guy for simply trying to win the footy when another bloke only gets one week for punching on behind play.

sa5290
10 Sep 2007, 13:55
Portland smashed North and only really played one good quarter of football, so you can draw your own conclusions from that.
Quinlivan will be an interesting one.
I personally thought it didn't look that bad, but I have heard other people who were on the other side of the ground when it happened comparing it to the Ben Johnson of Collingwood bump.
I think it would be very sad if he is rubbed out of the grand final over something like that given his incredible record over such a long time. I don't think he would have ever been sent off before, let alone reported, plus if you take into account Ellis of East getting one for what I heard was just a stand up punch on, well... it would hardly seem fair to suspend a guy for simply trying to win the footy when another bloke only gets one week for punching on behind play.
Hope he gets off,very fair and just hard at ball,nothing wrong with that? any news on other clubs coaches or new players names for next season?

wotdoiput
10 Sep 2007, 14:04
So who won the game between East and Casterton? Could check the website but cant be buggered... lol

Adrian Shelton
10 Sep 2007, 14:58
East 14.9
Casterton 7.6

Might be a point or 2 out, think Durbridge might have got reported on Saturday too

gran
12 Sep 2007, 08:43
Hope he gets off,very fair and just hard at ball,nothing wrong with that? any news on other clubs coaches or new players names for next season?
I hope both East & North are at full strength, no excuses then....haven't these two team played in the last two preliminary's?http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif??? one went to over time the other East run out clear winners perhaps 3rd time lucky for tigers anyway will not matter Portland are above the rest ...

Benny_
12 Sep 2007, 19:58
Was involved at Hamilton F.C years ago when Billy Picken was coach. Was wondering about his whereabouts and if he has recently been involved in footy. Also whether sons Marcus, Sean or Liam ever pulled on the Hamilton jumper ??

MATAJABACO
12 Sep 2007, 22:41
Was involved at Hamilton F.C years ago when Billy Picken was coach. Was wondering about his whereabouts and if he has recently been involved in footy. Also whether sons Marcus, Sean or Liam ever pulled on the Hamilton jumper ??

All three boys have played for the pies. Marcus returned after his dodgy knee ended his AFL career and played under Billy in 2005 before heading down to Cobden to Coach in 06. Liam played in the the pies last senior premiership after playing most of the year with the Nth ballarat Rebels in the TAC Cup and is currently a key member of the Williamstown Senior VFL Side, maybe lacks a little pace and not quite big enough. Sean's football career has mainly consisted of playing two's for Hamilton as a servicable ruckman. When I left Hamilton just over 12 months ago Billy was still in town, His final role I believe was Football Manager/Coach in 2005 and prior to that a very successful stint as Under 18'S Coach.

Adrian Shelton
14 Sep 2007, 21:02
The Tribunal!!!:eek:

Durbridge 3 games(and 2 suspended i think)
And Quinlaven....4 games(suspensed)
Anyone seen a suspended sentence that long, anywhere?????

Ian Stafford went a bit cranky 'bout that in the Border Watch today, how did the Hamilton Spectator see it?

seeyaz at South Tomorrow!!

BIGANT
15 Sep 2007, 13:27
The Tribunal!!!:eek:

Durbridge 3 games(and 2 suspended i think)
And Quinlaven....4 games(suspensed)
Anyone seen a suspended sentence that long, anywhere?????

Ian Stafford went a bit cranky 'bout that in the Border Watch today, how did the Hamilton Spectator see it?

seeyaz at South Tomorrow!!

He's dead right in what he said....i wonder if there will be any ramafications of what he went off at.There seems to be a us vs them mentality when it comes to the s.a umpires & vic umpires board...always has been !! Although i did'nt see the seperate reports of Durbridge & Quinlivan, how did quinlivan get off with a susp sentence for what was seen as front on head high bump to durbridges.
It's crap, but you watch the so - called know it alls in Milo etc etc will play it down as will the league.The league should look at bringing in umpires from the sanfl or melbourne for finals atleast (it would be a big cost) because at the moment and even in the past the umpiring has been disgraceful at wb level.....and the league out the road is worse !!
Umpires are badly needed at all levels and critisim doesnt help but for christ sake they need to be taught properly, their ego's left in the rooms and to be unbias.
SIMPLE.

little footy battler
15 Sep 2007, 21:20
He's dead right in what he said....i wonder if there will be any ramafications of what he went off at.There seems to be a us vs them mentality when it comes to the s.a umpires & vic umpires board...always has been !! Although i did'nt see the seperate reports of Durbridge & Quinlivan, how did quinlivan get off with a susp sentence for what was seen as front on head high bump to durbridges.
It's crap, but you watch the so - called know it alls in Milo etc etc will play it down as will the league.The league should look at bringing in umpires from the sanfl or melbourne for finals atleast (it would be a big cost) because at the moment and even in the past the umpiring has been disgraceful at wb level.....and the league out the road is worse !!
Umpires are badly needed at all levels and critisim doesnt help but for christ sake they need to be taught properly, their ego's left in the rooms and to be unbias.
SIMPLE.

Am yet to see Stafford's comments in the Border Watch, however I did see both incidents that led to the report and have spoken to people involved with both parties from the tribunal.
I personally thought Quinlivan was very, very stiff to be reported int eh first place.
It looked like both players were simply running at the ball with the intent on winning it, Brook got there first was in the process of standing up after he collected it, saw Quinlivan and ducked into the coming tackle.
Quinlivan was given the suspended sentence due to his outstanding record (I'm told he has been involved in some level of football for 24 years now and has never even been sent off, let alone reported.)
With Durbridge, well, he was a bit unlucky, but his reputation for being a little short fused certainly didn't help. He had copped a bit of physical attention throughout the game, but had certainly slipped a few in himself as well.
The actual incident that saw him reported from what I could see had Chester give him a bit of a love tap/jumper punch, and Durbridge respond with by giving Chester a bit of a tap on the chin. Word is that he didn't make great contact and it wasn't a very hard strike, but from the side lines it was a definite, clear strike.
Personally I thought he might have got one, and if he had a history maybe two, so for him to get three with two suspended I thought was a bit stiff.
With Quinlivan they equated it to being very similar to the Nitschke report and suspension earlier in the season, as it was a similar situation and the two players have a similar record.
The difference is Nitschke was ruled out of one home and away game, which would have made Quinlivan missing one grand final a bit harsh in comparison.
North got through over East anyway as it turns out, but I can't see the boys in yellow getting over the boys in black without Durb.

BIGANT
16 Sep 2007, 11:55
Am yet to see Stafford's comments in the Border Watch, however I did see both incidents that led to the report and have spoken to people involved with both parties from the tribunal.
I personally thought Quinlivan was very, very stiff to be reported int eh first place.
It looked like both players were simply running at the ball with the intent on winning it, Brook got there first was in the process of standing up after he collected it, saw Quinlivan and ducked into the coming tackle.
Quinlivan was given the suspended sentence due to his outstanding record (I'm told he has been involved in some level of football for 24 years now and has never even been sent off, let alone reported.)
With Durbridge, well, he was a bit unlucky, but his reputation for being a little short fused certainly didn't help. He had copped a bit of physical attention throughout the game, but had certainly slipped a few in himself as well.
The actual incident that saw him reported from what I could see had Chester give him a bit of a love tap/jumper punch, and Durbridge respond with by giving Chester a bit of a tap on the chin. Word is that he didn't make great contact and it wasn't a very hard strike, but from the side lines it was a definite, clear strike.
Personally I thought he might have got one, and if he had a history maybe two, so for him to get three with two suspended I thought was a bit stiff.
With Quinlivan they equated it to being very similar to the Nitschke report and suspension earlier in the season, as it was a similar situation and the two players have a similar record.
The difference is Nitschke was ruled out of one home and away game, which would have made Quinlivan missing one grand final a bit harsh in comparison.
North got through over East anyway as it turns out, but I can't see the boys in yellow getting over the boys in black without Durb.
I hope there's a good crowd that attend next weekends grand final, is it true that it will be at McDonald Park.....it's good that the league is taking on the mid se in that it's playing the gf in the mount.Although casterton would have been the other logical choice and most wb followers would have taken the short journey to island park i think with an even split of sa/vic sides competing in football & netball finals hopefully that should make good of a healthy crowd, while it looks like being a one off clash between the wb & mid se leagues grand finals being played on the same day i still can't believe that the so called powers to be (should be re phrased to the mid se 'kangaroo court') in the mse had a months notice of the wb gf dates.Yet still went ahead with it !! it does'nt surprise me with there decision making.....again thinking of no one but themselves.SIMPLE !!

sam42
16 Sep 2007, 21:13
I hope there's a good crowd that attend next weekends grand final, is it true that it will be at McDonald Park.....it's good that the league is taking on the mid se in that it's playing the gf in the mount.Although casterton would have been the other logical choice and most wb followers would have taken the short journey to island park i think with an even split of sa/vic sides competing in football & netball finals hopefully that should make good of a healthy crowd, while it looks like being a one off clash between the wb & mid se leagues grand finals being played on the same day i still can't believe that the so called powers to be (should be re phrased to the mid se 'kangaroo court') in the mse had a months notice of the wb gf dates.Yet still went ahead with it !! it does'nt surprise me with there decision making.....again thinking of no one but themselves.SIMPLE !!
Where did you hear the GF might be at McDonald Park? Nothing on WB website.

sam42
16 Sep 2007, 21:15
James Imbi has won the WB Medal. Are there other brothers who have both won the Medal?

sam42
17 Sep 2007, 19:56
4 out 0f 6 Grand Final teams are Victorian, yet Grandfinal in SA. Would have thought Casterton likely venue.

BIGANT
17 Sep 2007, 20:33
4 out 0f 6 Grand Final teams are Victorian, yet Grandfinal in SA. Would have thought Casterton likely venue.
It's always decided on who's playing in the main game, it's really a much of a mutchness over the yrs between the mount & casterton.Does surprize me that it's being held at Mcdonald Park over west or south !!

sa5290
17 Sep 2007, 20:55
It's always decided on who's playing in the main game, it's really a much of a mutchness over the yrs between the mount & casterton.Does surprize me that it's being held at Mcdonald Park over west or south !!
How many points will portland win by?

BIGANT
17 Sep 2007, 21:15
How many points will portland win by? Who cares really......for the good of the league i hope it's a close one but Portland will have to many options.
Anyway it'll be the least of my worries after going to the G' on friday night to hopefully see the cats wallop the pies he he he......:thumbsu::p:D.
Don't think i'll be rushing back for the football or netball unless someone can predict a massive donny brook between the two tiger sides.

sam42
17 Sep 2007, 23:20
Who cares really......for the good of the league i hope it's a close one but Portland will have to many options.
Anyway it'll be the least of my worries after going to the G' on friday night to hopefully see the cats wallop the pies he he he......:thumbsu::p:D.
Don't think i'll be rushing back for the football or netball unless someone can predict a massive donny brook between the two tiger sides.
Cats V Coll should be a beauty. Cats should win well. Coll win over WC was good but the Eagles had a few decent players out. Coll not in Cats class. Enjoy

sam42
17 Sep 2007, 23:23
How many points will portland win by?
Around 30 points i think. North have surprised though

TheLeftFist8
18 Sep 2007, 00:19
As a former North junior player, i recall our seniors winning the flag against Portland after copping a drubbing at their hands earlier in the finals series, cannot remember if it was 87 or 89?

Let's hope history repeats...GO NORTH!

sa5290
18 Sep 2007, 16:24
Who cares really......for the good of the league i hope it's a close one but Portland will have to many options.
Cats will start favourites and deserve to but the pies could suprise this season before they pick up JUDD.

gran
19 Sep 2007, 08:40
Cats netball courts pretty slippery if wet day would spoil netball not that they consider that much...

sportsfanatic
20 Sep 2007, 09:37
Durbridge available for grand final.
We will see more appeals now because of this.
Getting the suspension cut from three to one.
It is good to see him playing in the grand final though

sa5290
20 Sep 2007, 11:34
Durbridge available for grand final.
We will see more appeals now because of this.
Getting the suspension cut from three to one.
It is good to see him playing in the grand final though
Does this mean now the wbfl tribunal has no idea?,if players have bad games, they get dropped so what about the tribunal members,they get dropped to?

gran
20 Sep 2007, 15:39
would there have been an appeal if they didn't make grand final..??? I think not.. how can it change from 3 plus 2 sus. to 1 ? But he will need to put in a good one and keep a cool head....

Kowalski
21 Sep 2007, 11:26
As an old tiger from the Blackwell/Leo King days, I'd like to wish the Portland boys well for tomorrow. Would love to get down there but other commitments prevent it. Good luck boys!!:thumbsu:

sam42
21 Sep 2007, 16:03
All the Best to the Portland Tigers for the GF. Back to Back is there for the taking.

Adrian Shelton
21 Sep 2007, 19:56
Hmmmmm....might be some interesting stuff on this forum next week. How many times can a decision be appealed, and by how many teams?

sam42
23 Sep 2007, 19:48
Portland in a league of its own. The most comprehensive win I think I have witnessed in WB GF history. Very well drilled team. Strong accross all lines. What a luxury to have a dual Magarey Medallist running off Foward Flank. Portland may lose some players for next year, but other teams have a lot of work to do.

sam42
23 Sep 2007, 19:49
Hmmmmm....might be some interesting stuff on this forum next week. How many times can a decision be appealed, and by how many teams?

What are you alluding to here? Durbridge?

BIGANT
23 Sep 2007, 20:10
Portland in a league of its own. The most comprehensive win I think I have witnessed in WB GF history. Very well drilled team. Strong accross all lines. What a luxury to have a dual Magarey Medallist running off Foward Flank. Portland may lose some players for next year, but other teams have a lot of work to do.It won't matter who they lose, word has it that Jeffries won't be back - will that mean Cammerano, Niemann & Squire wont return !?
Lancaster might be elsewhere !?
They'll just replace Jeffries with another sanfl gun !!

Adrian Shelton
23 Sep 2007, 20:41
There was some story about Portland appealing the result if they lost by saying Durbs shouldnt have played, dunno how much truth there was to it.

sa5290
23 Sep 2007, 22:27
There was some story about Portland appealing the result if they lost by saying Durbs shouldnt have played, dunno how much truth there was to it.
Dont think portland had anything to worry about.They smashed them. North should of wore sandshoes and played on the netball courts.

sam42
24 Sep 2007, 17:03
It won't matter who they lose, word has it that Jeffries won't be back - will that mean Cammerano, Niemann & Squire wont return !?
Lancaster might be elsewhere !?
They'll just replace Jeffries with another sanfl gun !!

Niemann played his last game for the tigers. Word has it that Squires wants to play again. Lancaster is engaged to a local girl.

sportsfanatic
27 Sep 2007, 10:16
It would seem like North have wasted little time in the search for a coach next season.
Have a look at the vcfl news index for the piece.
Although it wasnt hard to see that their coach was just a sook that looked for excuses every time his side lost. Easy choice for the North board to make regardless of how stafford felt

sam42
27 Sep 2007, 12:45
I hear East will be looking for a new coach. Anyone know who else is looking for a coach.

Adrian Shelton
28 Sep 2007, 20:47
East, North and South hunting for new ones so far, Mick Ryan not sure if he will be still playing in the A's next yr or just running around in the B's

Adrian Shelton
6 Oct 2007, 21:12
Think Ian Staffords comments from the other week are coming under leauge scrutiny now. Took a while, and hes prob already back home anyway. I think the max penalty is a $200 fine, i guess the Tigers eat that now. Interesting David Radley( i think he said it correct me if wrong) said they'd prefer a playing coach who has leadership skills like Scott Fletts. A little curious to me that staement, i read it as they're not looking for a replacment from within that experienced group they have. Prob a good call, they're all to matey for one of them to coach the rest of them. Those guys are all 30-31-32 now that came up through the juniors in the mid 90's, be interesting to see how much they have left in the tank

BIGANT
14 Oct 2007, 16:05
I had a bit of a laugh reading another leagues thread saying that former Imperials premiership player 'Bluey Forsyth' maybe getting some offers from some southern clubs....i wonder if some of those offers are from imps to come back and play !?

The other one i had a bit of a chuckle at...he he he !! was he's well known already up there for having a very high opinion of himself.That's not Forsyth...nah nah !!

sam42
19 Oct 2007, 21:27
Portland Coach Mark Jeffries is not being offered the job for 2008.

BIGANT
19 Oct 2007, 22:34
John Copping appointed coach at South, big plus for south to have him back.
I wonder if that decision was made easier due to the so called rumblings that happened at his former club Penola in the later part of the season !?

Does anyone know what type of 'pull' and respect copping had at penola, because there's a few handy footballers from the kntfl eagles (one in particular) that are meant to be under the pump from a number of the mount clubs especially out Tenneyson college way...but will that happen now that copping is coaching at south and would south have a few bucks to offer !?

Don't worry about Portland finding a replacement....there ex premiership coach Booba Atkinson would have had the feelers out in Adelaide even before wbfl finals would've started.

sa5290
22 Oct 2007, 17:54
Their are a lot of quality players in KNTFL & penola have Ellis & Merrett who are stars in any level of footy!

BIGANT
22 Oct 2007, 19:50
Their are a lot of quality players in KNTFL & penola have Ellis & Merrett who are stars in any level of footy!

Not so much Ellis as don't really know to much about him except that he's from Melbourne but Merrett has been a quality player for years that will probably shop himself around before signing wherever.

sa5290
22 Oct 2007, 23:22
Not so much Ellis as don't really know to much about him except that he's from Melbourne but Merrett has been a quality player for years that will probably shop himself around before signing wherever.
Luke Ellis is a gun. won penola"s B&F, played league senoir footy in adelaide and canberra"s leading goal kicking award, which is a very good league.Played state footy a couple of years ago.

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 11:02
Jason Dawe named coach of East Gambier

Royboy10
23 Oct 2007, 11:56
Ellis is a very good footballer will be interesting to see he how handles having to be bit more accountable on the ball this year with West as he has signed with them !!!
Agree Merrett will shop himself around to all and sundry find the highest price and then go back to Penola with it. I dont think you will find Copping taking anyone although he did approach a couple of senior blokes about coming with him they are either staying put or retiring.
I hear West have got a few more coming from Tassie any word around the traps this is true !!
Also word is Coxon may be headed to the coast in the small league !!

BIGANT
23 Oct 2007, 13:29
Ellis is a very good footballer will be interesting to see he how handles having to be bit more accountable on the ball this year with West as he has signed with them !!!
Agree Merrett will shop himself around to all and sundry find the highest price and then go back to Penola with it. I dont think you will find Copping taking anyone although he did approach a couple of senior blokes about coming with him they are either staying put or retiring.
I hear West have got a few more coming from Tassie any word around the traps this is true !!
Also word is Coxon may be headed to the coast in the small league !!

West will have to sign alot for him to play his own game, who knows he may play better in a stronger standard then the Kntfl.

Merrett sounds like a couple of wb players that liked to shop around !!

That coastal club that Coxon maybe headed to could be Robe i heard !?

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 16:16
heard coxan to lucindale or padthaway

BIGANT
23 Oct 2007, 16:58
heard coxan to lucindale or padthaway That could be right to.

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 18:25
That could be right to.
herd west is the team on the move with sum more signings of very good players shortly

BIGANT
23 Oct 2007, 18:33
It's alright to say West are the big improvers but in all honesty they'll need alot of in's for them to improve, to early to say i reckon their will be other sides that'll improve too before the season starts.

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 18:47
It's alright to say West are the big improvers but in all honesty they'll need alot of in's for them to improve, to early to say i reckon their will be other sides that'll improve too before the season starts.
any truth that millicent chasing weise hard to coach?

Adrian Shelton
23 Oct 2007, 18:49
Going by the local rag today i guess thats the end of Jeffries anywhere!! I hope opposition supporter sour grapes wrent behind the complaints, you just have to take it and then move on.

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 19:11
Going by the local rag today i guess thats the end of Jeffries anywhere!! I hope opposition supporter sour grapes wrent behind the complaints, you just have to take it and then move on.
couldnt agree more!

BIGANT
23 Oct 2007, 19:58
any truth that millicent chasing weise hard to coach?

Pfft:thumbsd::p.....Definetly no truth in the saints chasing Weise, far from the truth and NO interest at all.
Obviously Jeffries burnt to many bridges with the portland board, on reading the hamilton spec the decision was made well before this suspension/deregulation was handed down.
It would be dissapointing if it was disgruntled north supporters that dobbed jeffries in, whilst he did push the boundries of fair play on numerous occasions on listening to him he came across as a very good coach.
One of his passing quotes on leaving the tigers were "If the Portland Footy Club wants to have a wall flower as a coach, well so be it."
Which brings me to my next thought, as much as clubs and identities within clubs want the perfect role model as a coach, it just does'nt work out that way all the time.
But whose to say the squeeky clean family man, father of four & happily married is going to turn out to be your clubs knight in shining armour.
As much as it's all about persona & private life it is also about playing and coaching ability and most importantly whats available.

sa5290
23 Oct 2007, 21:40
Pfft:thumbsd::p.....Definetly no truth in the saints chasing Weise, far from the truth and NO interest at all.
Obviously Jeffries burnt to many bridges with the portland board, on reading the hamilton spec the decision was made well before this suspension/deregulation was handed down.
It would be dissapointing if it was disgruntled north supporters that dobbed jeffries in, whilst he did push the boundries of fair play on numerous occasions on listening to him he came across as a very good coach.
One of his passing quotes on leaving the tigers were "If the Portland Footy Club wants to have a wall flower as a coach, well so be it."
Which brings me to my next thought, as much as clubs and identities within clubs want the perfect role model as a coach, it just does'nt work out that way all the time.
But whose to say the squeeky clean family man, father of four & happily married is going to turn out to be your clubs knight in shining armour.
As much as it's all about persona & private life it is also about playing and coaching ability and most importantly whats available.
whos in the front running for the coaching jobs at north and millicent?

sportsfanatic
23 Oct 2007, 22:33
Yeah well said Bigant
You get the feeling from the outside that it wasnt just North that complained about him.
It looks like the WB league had a hand to play in all this as well with Portland.
Just a question to everyone
Why does the WB league put all the suspensions handed down and stories etc on their website, but nothing has been put on the site about Jeffries from his suspension etc?
Doesn't add up if you ask me and it isnt a simple oversight.
While Portland may not have wanted a coach of his style, it looks like the WB doesnt want him in the league either, could they have made sure of this?
Anyway look out for the 2 Hamilton clubs next season.
They werent too far away this year and I have heard there could be some significant players going to both clubs.
Havent heard any names, but only time will tell.

Adrian Shelton
24 Oct 2007, 00:34
Yeah the Vic Pies and Dogs are never down for long. I reckon Dawe was a lot of peoples first guess for East coach, it was the first name that sprung into my head anyway

BIGANT
24 Oct 2007, 21:17
STOP THE PRESS. A whisper today was heard the the saints were going for a Freo flavor after recent delistings....freo freo

sa5290
24 Oct 2007, 22:29
STOP THE PRESS. A whisper today was heard the the saints were going for a Freo flavor after recent delistings....freo freo
anymore whispers?

Blozin
30 Oct 2007, 10:48
anymore whispers?
No news on a senior coach for the saints guess they are being a bit fussy but they have appointed a couple young guys for the under 18's and reserves, Meek, Little, and Varcoe

McCleanMagic
8 Nov 2007, 10:23
Any news on whether players are coming from penshurst or glenthompson to go up a league or if any players have decided to go back to the mininera league? always seems to be a few players that swap and change@!

sa5290
8 Nov 2007, 11:52
No news on a senior coach for the saints guess they are being a bit fussy but they have appointed a couple young guys for the under 18's and reserves, Meek, Little, and Varcoe
West Gambier are picking up sum very good players and more to come according to the local paper today,

BIGANT
8 Nov 2007, 12:10
West Gambier are picking up sum very good players and more to come according to the local paper today,
I wonder if the locals will be restless all these recruits westies are getting !?
Are West building a team for the future....or buying a premiership !? :thumbsu::D
While Millicent are yet to name a coach, whats happening over at Vansittart Park & casterton !? heard that the cats are chasing Camerano from Portland, is that as a player or as coach !?

sa5290
8 Nov 2007, 13:50
I wonder if the locals will be restless all these recruits westies are getting !?
Are West building a team for the future....or buying a premiership !? :thumbsu::D
While Millicent are yet to name a coach, whats happening over at Vansittart Park & casterton !? heard that the cats are chasing Camerano from Portland, is that as a player or as coach !?
Heard that camerano staying in adelaide country area? and north a riverland person interested.

sa5290
8 Nov 2007, 14:06
why would the west locals be restless, learning to win would be more exciting for the club and young players will learn quicker, i dont think they would be replacing the whole 21 senior players from last year, every other club recruits to, so does that mean all locals are restless? I DONT THINK SO. what has portland done the last 2 years? results speak for themselves

BIGANT
8 Nov 2007, 15:09
why would the west locals be restless, learning to win would be more exciting for the club and young players will learn quicker, i dont think they would be replacing the whole 21 senior players from last year, every other club recruits to, so does that mean all locals are restless? I DONT THINK SO. what has portland done the last 2 years? results speak for themselves

Portland are different to West though, west will need to pick up atleast a doz to be competitive little lone being a finals aspirant.
Portland may have bought back to back premierships the last two yrs but i think you will find that 3/4 of there premiership sides were locals with the likes of Camerano, Jeffries, Niemann, Squire being the imports.
The worst thing you can do is get offside with the locals, whilst they can be self centred, selfish and down right childish they have to forget all that and think of the club as a whole - SOME DO SOME DONT !!
As i said previously the roo's will need quiet few more than those above to be competitive with the likes of the imps,hamilton & casterton sides and not forgetting sides further up the ladder being Portland, North & East.
Yes all clubs recruit....some do it for a quick fix & no success the remainder do it for good list management which in turns brings sustained finals football.Look at the like of North & East the past 5-6 years whilst they've come up short in grand finals, they've continually made and played finals football and thats what it's all about.

sa5290
8 Nov 2007, 21:22
Portland are different to West though, west will need to pick up atleast a doz to be competitive little lone being a finals aspirant.
Portland may have bought back to back premierships the last two yrs but i think you will find that 3/4 of there premiership sides were locals with the likes of Camerano, Jeffries, Niemann, Squire being the imports.
The worst thing you can do is get offside with the locals, whilst they can be self centred, selfish and down right childish they have to forget all that and think of the club as a whole - SOME DO SOME DONT !!
As i said previously the roo's will need quiet few more than those above to be competitive with the likes of the imps,hamilton & casterton sides and not forgetting sides further up the ladder being Portland, North & East.
Yes all clubs recruit....some do it for a quick fix & no success the remainder do it for good list management which in turns brings sustained finals football.Look at the like of North & East the past 5-6 years whilst they've come up short in grand finals, they've continually made and played finals football and thats what it's all about.
West have named two recruits and you quote the locals would be restless,have to wait and see on the other TEN (to make up the dozen you quoted) to be up near hamilton or( just be competitive) who finished 7th this year. good on em for trying to climb the ladder & recruit. All clubs RECRUIT with out upsetting the locals, or do they go with locals and sit on bottom for a long time. I wouldnt think so

BIGANT
9 Nov 2007, 08:22
West have named two recruits and you quote the locals would be restless,have to wait and see on the other TEN (to make up the dozen you quoted) to be up near hamilton or( just be competitive) who finished 7th this year. good on em for trying to climb the ladder & recruit. All clubs RECRUIT with out upsetting the locals, or do they go with locals and sit on bottom for a long time. I wouldnt think so

Well if you read yesterdays border watch Brown added there will be more signings next week, so there edging towards that dozen....:p:D of course all clubs have to recruit but some clubs do it for a instant success and others do it for sustained success over longer periods of time.
South did'nt have a problem being a team of the decade by going out and buying premierships,they did it with locals....yes/no !?

sa5290
9 Nov 2007, 09:23
Well if you read yesterdays border watch Brown added there will be more signings next week, so there edging towards that dozen....:p:D of course all clubs have to recruit but some clubs do it for a instant success and others do it for sustained success over longer periods of time.
South did'nt have a problem being a team of the decade by going out and buying premierships,they did it with locals....yes/no !?
More signings next week or so could mean 1,or,2, more, that takes it to 3 or 4 in total,still no where near 12. Some clubs have better and more locals than others, so its a balance up situation for them. Good to see them having a go and changing the whole club around. Any word on cats,north,saints coaching moves yet, time is getting on.

sam42
10 Nov 2007, 18:55
Haven't been on for a while. Some spirited debate for this time of the year. West had to recruit just to survive. Dont want to end up like Coleraine did. Back in a minor league. Hopefully they have learnt from their previous experiment and build some longer term success. No wispers about the Portland job, but I am backing Winis Imbi.

little footy battler
11 Nov 2007, 15:18
Haven't been on for a while. Some spirited debate for this time of the year. West had to recruit just to survive. Dont want to end up like Coleraine did. Back in a minor league. Hopefully they have learnt from their previous experiment and build some longer term success. No wispers about the Portland job, but I am backing Winis Imbi.

You are clearly not an SA man or you would be backing in Matty Lappin for the top job with the Vic Tigers. The rumours surrounding Lapping and Portland over the last few weeks have been substantial, though the locals all deny it. Portland has proven it likes to recruit high profile players from higher leagues, and with good success, so there is llittle reason to believe they will change from this approach.

sa5290
11 Nov 2007, 16:02
You are clearly not an SA man or you would be backing in Matty Lappin for the top job with the Vic Tigers. The rumours surrounding Lapping and Portland over the last few weeks have been substantial, though the locals all deny it. Portland has proven it likes to recruit high profile players from higher leagues, and with good success, so there is llittle reason to believe they will change from this approach.
Lappin has a coaching job at carlton next season. That counts him out

Dogwatcher
12 Nov 2007, 15:24
North Gambier's appointed their coach.
He's from outside the region.
Son of a former SANFL great.

SnIcKeRs #3
12 Nov 2007, 17:57
apprently he is a 6 ft player coach

Dogwatcher
13 Nov 2007, 11:41
Mark Tyrell.
About six foot.
Good mover in the midfield and up forward.

BIGANT
13 Nov 2007, 11:58
Mark Tyrell.
About six foot.
Good mover in the midfield and up forward. Whats his background !? where has he played previously.

- PC -
13 Nov 2007, 18:58
Whats his background !? where has he played previously.

If its Buff Tyrells lad I would suggest the Riverland area, Barmera or Berri

No wonder Dogwatcher knew who it was ;)

sam42
13 Nov 2007, 19:23
I was on the money in regards to Winis Imbi. He is Portlands new coach

Cockle doodle doo
19 Nov 2007, 08:47
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.