View Full Version : Western Border Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

puffpuffgivemo
19 Nov 2007, 09:44
Could someone please provide me with some info on Johnny Bell from Heywood.

What sort of player - size - position etc.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers

little footy battler
19 Nov 2007, 13:00
Could someone please provide me with some info on Johnny Bell from Heywood.

What sort of player - size - position etc.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers

Bell is about 6"1-6"2, plays full back or centre-half back, although has played full forward before. He is a reasonable mark and an aggressive spoiler of the ball, very strong in the body and fairly fit, with a pretty good work ethic. From all my dealings with him he seems like a pretty good bloke too. Has a bit of mongrel about him on the field and won't back away from a stoush. Is a super competitor who hates losing.

puffpuffgivemo
20 Nov 2007, 07:33
Bell is about 6"1-6"2, plays full back or centre-half back, although has played full forward before. He is a reasonable mark and an aggressive spoiler of the ball, very strong in the body and fairly fit, with a pretty good work ethic. From all my dealings with him he seems like a pretty good bloke too. Has a bit of mongrel about him on the field and won't back away from a stoush. Is a super competitor who hates losing.

Thanks for that mate.

Much appreciated.

sa5290
22 Nov 2007, 15:35
I was on the money in regards to Winis Imbi. He is Portlands new coach
no casterton or millicent coaches yet???????????

Leather Magnet
23 Nov 2007, 12:13
Any thoughts on the suggestion that the Hampden FNL has approached Portland, Hamilton and Hamilton Imperials to transfer over?

Leather Magnet
23 Nov 2007, 12:19
And how is Marc Turri going as league CEO?

sam42
23 Nov 2007, 20:09
no casterton or millicent coaches yet???????????
Haven't heard any whispers on the Cats job. Thought they might have had a crack at Cammarano from Portland but he has signed as Assistant to Imbi at Portland.

Blozin
24 Nov 2007, 12:01
And how is Marc Turri going as league CEO?

Turri is going real well, best thing we ever did was to appoint a CEO.

concerned citizen
25 Nov 2007, 21:05
Mark Tyrell.
About six foot.
Good mover in the midfield and up forward.

could be the mark tyrell who coached palmerston in the NTFL??? from kerang as well.....maybe??

BIGANT
27 Nov 2007, 17:01
I was interested to hear that along with so - called state of origin match between the Big V & the Dream team next yr that Fonzie Demetriou said that those players that are'nt involved in that game will be a part of a nation wide exercise to send the remaining afl listed players back to where they started there football with on the w/end of that showpeice.
Which begs the question....!? someone like Geelong's Ryan Gamble who hails from Millicent started out his football career in the saints junior system, but then wen't out to Mt Burr in the mid se league for two season's before playing w Glenelg U19's & reserves then being drafted to the cats in 2005.
So going on that he comes under the saints banner if thats where he started his football at !?

sa5290
27 Nov 2007, 20:49
I was interested to hear that along with so - called state of origin match between the Big V & the Dream team next yr that Fonzie Demetriou said that those players that are'nt involved in that game will be a part of a nation wide exercise to send the remaining afl listed players back to where they started there football with on the w/end of that showpeice.
Which begs the question....!? someone like Geelong's Ryan Gamble who hails from Millicent started out his football career in the saints junior system, but then wen't out to Mt Burr in the mid se league for two season's before playing w Glenelg U19's & reserves then being drafted to the cats in 2005.
So going on that he comes under the saints banner if thats where he started his football at !?
perhaps he could coach em. No coach yet, time getting away quick.

lollipop25
29 Nov 2007, 13:27
Word on the street is the scooter robinson has put his hand up for the interleague job, coach that is!!!! brings with him over 200 games of water boy experience, which should hold him in good stead, looks like derek and sam ferguson will be making a playing comeback!!!! if andrew is acceptable.

lollipop25
29 Nov 2007, 13:40
over a grand a game for merrett at west, not bad for a bloke who refuses to play in the middle and get the hard ball, instead opting to play as the loosiest half back flanker in history, again refusing to man up, word is from a kntfl player is that merrett is big on the lip, common knowledge in their league that he dislikes the hard ball and has a tendency to go missing and point the finger when things get a little tough, from all reports great bloke off the field, never met him myself, but must admit that i have been surprised when hearing these stories, he appears to be well built gauging from pic in tbw

sa5290
29 Nov 2007, 17:57
over a grand a game for merrett at west, not bad for a bloke who refuses to play in the middle and get the hard ball, instead opting to play as the loosiest half back flanker in history, again refusing to man up, word is from a kntfl player is that merrett is big on the lip, common knowledge in their league that he dislikes the hard ball and has a tendency to go missing and point the finger when things get a little tough, from all reports great bloke off the field, never met him myself, but must admit that i have been surprised when hearing these stories, he appears to be well built gauging from pic in tbw
Bit hard on a guy who u dont even know or seen play,a mate of mine has seen him play a few times and said he is hard at it and would be in top few players in league.As for a grand a game, close sources at west laughed at that,and said no where near that and doesnt mind playing in the middle at all.

BIGANT
29 Nov 2007, 19:42
Word on the street is the scooter robinson has put his hand up for the interleague job, coach that is!!!! brings with him over 200 games of water boy experience, which should hold him in good stead, looks like derek and sam ferguson will be making a playing comeback!!!! if andrew is acceptable.

Funny you say that...he told me that about 4 weeks ago:p:p:p !! AND he was serious, he even texted Mark Turri with his proposition !? Big idea's of getting Neville Osborn, Fletch (well he's gone) & Simon Quinn as selectors etc etc...
Being the 10/20yr anniversary of wb's last divisional win or whatever he wanted two of the old gaurd plus Quinn involved.
His hearts in the right place old scooter but....Pfffft Pfffft :p:thumbsu: NEXT !!

BIGANT
29 Nov 2007, 19:48
Here here lolllipop....speak ya mind :thumbsu::p !! my mole tells me between $1000 - $1500 LARGE and while i have'nt met the man in person he comes across as a decent fella.

Classyecho
30 Nov 2007, 09:51
A couple of seasons ago West Gambier paid big money for out-of-town-based recruits and, while it climbed the ladder, that improvement was short-lived. Now, surely the club was left horribly out of pocket and wouldn't make the same mistake again. To once again be a force, it does need to spend a bit of money and pick up some very good footballers. I have been out of the loop for a little while now, but how deep does the West Gambier cash well go? Is Merrett the only recruit the Roos are going to secure? If not, are they going to pay a number of large wages? Further, I hope for West's sake that the players it targets are going to be based fairly close to Mt Gambier. Can anybody connected with the club inform the forum of the feeling among West Gambier's under-18 parents at the moment? How many kids did the club lose when it opted to play out-of-towners instead of quality kids in the ones a couple of seasons ago?

ROO18
30 Nov 2007, 12:00
Adam Merrett is a gun! he will straight away be one of the better players in the league. He is not soft. i have seen him play plenty of times and he is hard at it and has played a fair bit in the mid field. he does play the hbf very loosely though.
west still have a fair bit of work to do, with merrett and ellis it will help there cause, but two players can only do so much.

sa5290
30 Nov 2007, 22:42
A couple of seasons ago West Gambier paid big money for out-of-town-based recruits and, while it climbed the ladder, that improvement was short-lived. Now, surely the club was left horribly out of pocket and wouldn't make the same mistake again. To once again be a force, it does need to spend a bit of money and pick up some very good footballers. I have been out of the loop for a little while now, but how deep does the West Gambier cash well go? Is Merrett the only recruit the Roos are going to secure? If not, are they going to pay a number of large wages? Further, I hope for West's sake that the players it targets are going to be based fairly close to Mt Gambier. Can anybody connected with the club inform the forum of the feeling among West Gambier's under-18 parents at the moment? How many kids did the club lose when it opted to play out-of-towners instead of quality kids in the ones a couple of seasons ago?
The under 18 parents are glad something is happening to bring the kids on faster with BETTER players surounding them. As for west spending big money a couple of years ago,i think it their choices of personal was the biggest problem. With merrett and ellis (so far)and 5-6 good local players returning because they think there on the right path this time on and off the field,good luck to them.

Classyecho
2 Dec 2007, 12:54
Here here. With the right players, there is definitely hope in West once again returning to finals contention. Is Clint Cowell staying around? I like the way he plays his footy.

sa5290
2 Dec 2007, 16:16
Here here. With the right players, there is definitely hope in West once again returning to finals contention. Is Clint Cowell staying around? I like the way he plays his footy.
From all reports west havnt lost any players from last season

sam42
3 Dec 2007, 15:59
Would be good for WBFL if West do move up the ladder. Bit worried about the Cats though. Named a local coach, which is fine but where are the recruits going to come from. Tom McArlein and Dylan Kent rumoured to be leaving although McArlein ended up in Hospital which may effect his move to Geelong. Wait and see. What's going on at Millicent?

BIGANT
3 Dec 2007, 17:55
It was interesting to read in local papers not to long ago league ceo Mark Turri wrote letters to the editor etc etc how each paper concerned were thanked upon on there coverage of WB football !!
Well i disagree to a certain extent, on picking up the local paper from Millicent i was astounded at the little exposure that the saints got especially on preveiws and reveiws.
If you looked at the Hamilton spectator for instance while they covered the south west & minineria leagues well they also looked after their own WB sides well....something that the south eastern times at Millicent don't do.Regardless of how poorly or good your side is travelling wb match reports should always be preferencial ahead of mid s/e.
Thats why the Hamilton spectator do a professional job, something that the s/e times at Millicent are well an truely NOT....professional.

sportsfanatic
4 Dec 2007, 13:19
It was interesting to read in local papers not to long ago league ceo Mark Turri wrote letters to the editor etc etc how each paper concerned were thanked upon on there coverage of WB football !!
Well i disagree to a certain extent, on picking up the local paper from Millicent i was astounded at the little exposure that the saints got especially on preveiws and reveiws.
If you looked at the Hamilton spectator for instance while they covered the south west & minineria leagues well they also looked after their own WB sides well....something that the south eastern times at Millicent don't do.Regardless of how poorly or good your side is travelling wb match reports should always be preferencial ahead of mid s/e.
Thats why the Hamilton spectator do a professional job, something that the s/e times at Millicent are well an truely NOT....professional.

I think you will find that the Portland Observer covers the SW league and the Spectator just uses their stuff and IIRC they get someone to do a write up for the Mininera league.

BIGANT
4 Dec 2007, 19:49
I think you will find that the Portland Observer covers the SW league and the Spectator just uses their stuff and IIRC they get someone to do a write up for the Mininera league.

Be it the spec or the observer, they still alot better reports for Hamilton/Imps & Portland then what the s/e times does for Millicent & wbfl !!

Port_GW
4 Dec 2007, 22:19
Be it the spec or the observer, they still alot better reports for Hamilton/Imps & Portland then what the s/e times does for Millicent & wbfl !!

Its probably market driven as far as the SE TIMES and Millicent is concerned though. Lets face it a hell of a lot of Millicent people play for and support neighbouring MSE clubs like Hatherleigh and Mt Burr. There may be more of an interest in these clubs and the MSEFL in general than a struggling Millicent Footy Club (no disrespect intended).

WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:38
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

sportsfanatic
5 Dec 2007, 07:52
Its probably market driven as far as the SE TIMES and Millicent is concerned though. Lets face it a hell of a lot of Millicent people play for and support neighbouring MSE clubs like Hatherleigh and Mt Burr. There may be more of an interest in these clubs and the MSEFL in general than a struggling Millicent Footy Club (no disrespect intended).

how much does millicent get compared to the mse?
i would think they should get at least the same amount of exposure as the mse clubs.
Or do millicent players, supporters, sponsors etc just rely on the border watch.

sa5290
5 Dec 2007, 11:00
how much does millicent get compared to the mse?
i would think they should get at least the same amount of exposure as the mse clubs.
Or do millicent players, supporters, sponsors etc just rely on the border watch.
Millicent should concentrate on getting a coach first, for the coming season, so they have got something to put in their LOCAL PAPER!!!!!! instead of worrying about the paper.

BIGANT
5 Dec 2007, 18:59
Millicent should concentrate on getting a coach first, for the coming season, so they have got something to put in their LOCAL PAPER!!!!!! instead of worrying about the paper. Get off the fence sa5290....certainly they should be worried about getting a coach first than worried about rightful exposure in the SE TIMES.
While there are more games for The times to cover with mid se & Millicent games the fact of the matter is if you look at local print media beit the Hamilton Spectator, Warrnambool Standard, Ballarat Courier etc etc all those newspapers cover both major & MINOR leagues.
Whilst they cover both leagues within their region, you don't see them lead off with minor league preveiws & reveiws....Just like you don't see the The Adelaide advertiser lead off w sanfl over port or crows, just like you don't see the sun or age lead off w vfl over afl.Of course it's all about equality but Millicent footballwise get postage stamp exposure compared to mid se.
While it's worrying that they have'nt appointed a coach yet :confused: don't think that Millicent are the only club still looking for a senior coach...
There are a couple of successful clubs north of the WBFL also in the same position.

Classyecho
6 Dec 2007, 13:00
I always found The Border Watch liked to cover East Gambier slightly more than it did other teams?

Adrian Shelton
6 Dec 2007, 21:19
Maybe when Shirls was sports editor a couple of yrs back they did, not i was complaining about that.

budwinkle
9 Dec 2007, 19:05

AS a player from the league, can say that i agree with Lollipop's thoughts however he would be a terrific pick up if the coach can free him up at halfback, can change a game with his running and long kicking to break the lines. Is a great build for a footballer, and has been a very good player at Penola, not sure how good West will be, if they are struggling Merrett wont be the answer, if they are a good side, he could be the differents between making the finals and winning the preimership....
Ellis was mentioned as well.... if he was the Ellis who played at Penola, he is a very good player, better value than Merrett.
Penola also lost Copping, will be a very long year down there....Anyone else know of any comings or goings from the KNTFL ??

damn_shorty
10 Dec 2007, 11:57
dont forget west gambier has played in numerous junior grand finals in the past few years, including winning a couple u/16 and u/14 premierships. players missing from them that have intentions of coming home to play for the roos again in the future include tom holmes, elliot king, luke davey (glenelg) brad wilson (west adelaide) tim peters, alex flood (university). throw in captain rowan fox, clinton cowell, regan kuchel, nick flood, michael dent, stephen pilgrim, steven fennell and a few more onto top of that who have had a taste of senior footy, are improving and developing bigger bodies all of a sudden you have atleast 13 quality players all under the age of 20. add some quality recruits with size and experience like merrett and ellis and with ash brown as coach then in two or three years of playing together and west could nearly be looking at a gf appearance with a group of 22/23 year olds

Classyecho
10 Dec 2007, 16:23
That's spot on about West having a good young crop of kids, but the key with re-building with youth in country football clubs is keeping them local. If those West under-14 and under-16 teams are super young sides, you wonder how many of those kids will enter pathways away from WBFL to further their footy?

Royboy10
10 Dec 2007, 22:02
That is a pretty big call on on Merrett I would agree on the loose half back flank role but as for the other attributes I think you fellas must be confusing him with Ellis !!!
Will be interesting to see how Browny copes with Merretts loose checking will make for some interesting half time talks :D:D.From observation his run and long kick off the back flank have tended to congest the forward line I reckon he would be better suited to a floating half forward pinch hitting on the ball role in the WB. Good on West for having a crack looks like they are getting some better footballers than 05/06 !!!!
AS a player from the league, can say that i agree with Lollipop's thoughts however he would be a terrific pick up if the coach can free him up at halfback, can change a game with his running and long kicking to break the lines. Is a great build for a footballer, and has been a very good player at Penola, not sure how good West will be, if they are struggling Merrett wont be the answer, if they are a good side, he could be the differents between making the finals and winning the preimership....
Ellis was mentioned as well.... if he was the Ellis who played at Penola, he is a very good player, better value than Merrett.
Penola also lost Copping, will be a very long year down there....Anyone else know of any comings or goings from the KNTFL ??

knuckle up
20 Dec 2007, 08:14
what is happening with heywood for 2008. i hear there will be a few big named players leaving town for employment. they were looking alright early last year before some off and on field dramas hit early. i seen them kill casterton at heywood in an exciting action packed game.

footyrules
22 Dec 2007, 10:38
heywood are buggered mate. it won't be long and they'll be in the southwest league or worse even fold. it would be sad for them but i think it's just the way the bush is going.

footyrules
22 Dec 2007, 10:58
how will portland go this year. is tim chester still playing there and how is he going??

sam42
22 Dec 2007, 21:35
how will portland go this year. is tim chester still playing there and how is he going??

Tim is still playing at Portland. Played in this years premiership. Have not heard if he is playing next year. Portland will do ok. Lost three very good players from this year, dont know if they have picked up any. Winis Imbi, possibly the most respected player in the WBFL is coaching them next year.

knuckle up
24 Dec 2007, 08:52
it'll be sad to see if heywood ends up in the south west, but by the sounds that is the only way they are going to survive. they seem to have good juniors that get attracted elsewhere and make higher grades like perkins and lovett-murray in the afl. i hear on the grapevine that they will be losing tom dempsey, aaron barr, tyson lovett-murray, aaron rogers, brett pevitt, jezza ellis, johnny bell, freddy saunders, aaron gepp, asman rory, andrew ryan, charlie and tom kitchen and a few more.n sounds like ransom will be flat out with chasing players. but on the up i hear they are going to employ a ceo, how true is that?

sam42
26 Dec 2007, 10:59
it'll be sad to see if heywood ends up in the south west, but by the sounds that is the only way they are going to survive. they seem to have good juniors that get attracted elsewhere and make higher grades like perkins and lovett-murray in the afl. i hear on the grapevine that they will be losing tom dempsey, aaron barr, tyson lovett-murray, aaron rogers, brett pevitt, jezza ellis, johnny bell, freddy saunders, aaron gepp, asman rory, andrew ryan, charlie and tom kitchen and a few more.n sounds like ransom will be flat out with chasing players. but on the up i hear they are going to employ a ceo, how true is that?
If they lose all those players they are in trouble. Where are they all going? Yes they are employing a CEO. It would be sad if Heywood ended up in the South West League. With Hampden chasing Portland, Imps and Hamilton the WBFL will need to be on the ball to keep our competition in tact. Ive grown up watching the WBFL and dont fancy watching my team in another league. Heywood seems to produce good juniors but this doesnt seem to flow onto Senior success. Going to be interesting times in the WBFL in the next 5 years.

knuckle up
27 Dec 2007, 13:05
well from all stories going around i've heard a couple of times that dempsey is a copper and located away from south west, johnny bell isnt keen on traveling again and is going to play up in the city, aswell as tyson lovett-murray, jezza ellis is moving somewhere near geelong, pevitt is tied to dartmoor, fred saunders and gepp are sooking, asman rory is staying in NT, andrew ryan might be heading to a warrnambool team, aaron barr and rogers are moving to perth with their families and the kitchen brothers are going out to branxholme/wallacedale. for heywood to compete, they'll need to fill their ruck and their spine all over again. on the positive i heard from a heywood supporter that young nick johnstone, kye bunworth and billy bell are staying. i've seen these boys play and they put on a good show. a ceo will be good for heywood, but that pulp mill would've been a whole lot better.

Blozin
27 Dec 2007, 15:25
Don't get too hung up about pulp mills the days of the HR guy being the guarantor of jobs for footy palyers are over. Employing a CEO eh? must have some money

bestyoucanget
28 Dec 2007, 09:53
well from all stories going around i've heard a couple of times that dempsey is a copper and located away from south west, johnny bell isnt keen on traveling again and is going to play up in the city, aswell as tyson lovett-murray, jezza ellis is moving somewhere near geelong, pevitt is tied to dartmoor, fred saunders and gepp are sooking, asman rory is staying in NT, andrew ryan might be heading to a warrnambool team, aaron barr and rogers are moving to perth with their families and the kitchen brothers are going out to branxholme/wallacedale. for heywood to compete, they'll need to fill their ruck and their spine all over again. on the positive i heard from a heywood supporter that young nick johnstone, kye bunworth and billy bell are staying. i've seen these boys play and they put on a good show. a ceo will be good for heywood, but that pulp mill would've been a whole lot better.

Mate, if you are only hearing "stories" going around, you might wanna back up your info before singling out certain players as sooking. By reading this thread sounds like alot of players are getting out of the club, and from what I have heard its probably a good idea that they do. If you wanna state that certain players are sooking, back up the info, dont go back stabbing these blokes anonymously where they cant stand up for themselves.

knuckle up
2 Jan 2008, 09:55
mate...... the players that are leaving are mostly all confirmed and the guys i'm branding 'sooking' are from what i've seen in the games ive gone to and witnessed on the ground and in the changerooms mainly directed at their teammates and club helpers. i dont blame them for being frustrated, but the guys they have goes at are in the battle with them first hand.

knuckle up
2 Jan 2008, 09:57
Don't get too hung up about pulp mills the days of the HR guy being the guarantor of jobs for footy palyers are over. Employing a CEO eh? must have some money

you are not aware of clubs like heathmere who 85% of their players working in the same workplace?

Blozin
2 Jan 2008, 13:39
you are not aware of clubs like heathmere who 85% of their players working in the same workplace?

I don't know about Heathmere. The point I was trying to make is that the skills and attributes needed to land a job in a high tech industry such as a pulp mill represents do not include "able to play damn good footy" Worrying about things and events you can do nothing about is a waste of energy and just gnaws at your guts. Sure a pulp mill would have been good for the town but I'd bet that most of the employees would have come from Portland. With that thought I believe that it is 25k's both ways!

I hesitate to give any advice but if I was Heywood I'd be focusing on and leveraging those assets I can do something about. Good facilities, nice little town, good support from council etc, etc.

knuckle up
3 Jan 2008, 10:47
I don't know about Heathmere. The point I was trying to make is that the skills and attributes needed to land a job in a high tech industry such as a pulp mill represents do not include "able to play damn good footy" Worrying about things and events you can do nothing about is a waste of energy and just gnaws at your guts. Sure a pulp mill would have been good for the town but I'd bet that most of the employees would have come from Portland. With that thought I believe that it is 25k's both ways!

I hesitate to give any advice but if I was Heywood I'd be focusing on and leveraging those assets I can do something about. Good facilities, nice little town, good support from council etc, etc.

yep you are right there, i take your point mate. but i think heywood needs numbers just as much a quality players/committed players. they had problems with sheppard last year coming from adelaide and wasnt committed to play every game, young quality players that would go on trips every 3rd weekend and players like bell who i think was suspended on 3 different times last year and missed a game from a incident from the pervious year. if the club had numbers and a couple of quality committed players then their training and game day performances would improve, but i guess that could be said about the millicents and west gambiers as well.

sam42
3 Jan 2008, 22:06
Mate if your on the ball Heywood are in some serious trouble. How are they going to field a Senior and Reserves team? A place like Heywood needs numbers as well as quality. With Portland close by and Southwest League teams in Heathmere, Westerns, Tyrendarra all close by where are they going to replace those leaving from. I hope Ransom's got some connections to draw on.

sportsfanatic
4 Jan 2008, 18:44
there is a distinct difference with heathmere.
almost all of the so called "85%" didn't get jobs because of football.
A lot of the ones that did actually got jobs at keppel prince because they played for Heywood.
Last year Heathmere had some jobs to hand out to recruits and that is exactly what they did. nothing wrong there unless they are putting someone else who is more talented at that job out of the workforce.

And Blozin there were some very strong whispers going around that the pulp mill, for the most part, only hire players that were going to play for Heywood.
I have this on pretty good authority coz I know the guy that was going to do most of the hiring.
It is pretty sad whats going on at Heywood.
The people that are involved are very passionate about the club, but one of the main things that is wrong with the place is that people are so parranoyed there about what people think of them.

dropthesirenAcky
4 Jan 2008, 22:24
Tim is still playing at Portland. Played in this years premiership. Have not heard if he is playing next year. Portland will do ok. Lost three very good players from this year, dont know if they have picked up any. Winis Imbi, possibly the most respected player in the WBFL is coaching them next year.

So it is fair to say that James Imbi will play then, and from his all but too brief run at sturt , i'll just say he's a talented lad. But is Jarod Holt going to play ? He represents the more dedicated of the duo and slightly less addicted to KFC.

sam42
5 Jan 2008, 16:05
So it is fair to say that James Imbi will play then, and from his all but too brief run at sturt , i'll just say he's a talented lad. But is Jarod Holt going to play ? He represents the more dedicated of the duo and slightly less addicted to KFC.

James won the WBFL League Medal in 2007. The boy can play. Not sure about Holt. One would imagine James will play haven't heard anything different.

footyrules
6 Jan 2008, 13:12

holt won't play. is going to have one more year in baccus marsh then not sure what he's doing. i reckon they're on a par with their addiction to the chook!!

sam42
8 Jan 2008, 10:19
James won the WBFL League Medal in 2007. The boy can play. Not sure about Holt. One would imagine James will play haven't heard anything different.

James Imbi definitely playing with Portland, playing in Darwin over summer.

ROO18
8 Jan 2008, 11:35
Does anyone know whats happening down at portland? any big recruits to replace the ones they have lost? ive heard james imbi might not be returning.

sam42
8 Jan 2008, 21:47
Does anyone know whats happening down at portland? any big recruits to replace the ones they have lost? ive heard james imbi might not be returning.

James Imbi definitely returning.

knuckle up
9 Jan 2008, 09:06
there is a distinct difference with heathmere.
almost all of the so called "85%" didn't get jobs because of football.
A lot of the ones that did actually got jobs at keppel prince because they played for Heywood.
Last year Heathmere had some jobs to hand out to recruits and that is exactly what they did. nothing wrong there unless they are putting someone else who is more talented at that job out of the workforce.

And Blozin there were some very strong whispers going around that the pulp mill, for the most part, only hire players that were going to play for Heywood.
I have this on pretty good authority coz I know the guy that was going to do most of the hiring.
It is pretty sad whats going on at Heywood.
The people that are involved are very passionate about the club, but one of the main things that is wrong with the place is that people are so parranoyed there about what people think of them.

i am the first person to admit that heywood needs a clean out with the people that run the show down there. i was aware that they were going to push for players to be employed at the pulp mill if they got it.

does anybody know what news with the portlands, heywoods and castertons for 2008?

sam42
9 Jan 2008, 20:52
i am the first person to admit that heywood needs a clean out with the people that run the show down there. i was aware that they were going to push for players to be employed at the pulp mill if they got it.

does anybody know what news with the portlands, heywoods and castertons for 2008?

Cats look like losing some. Will need to recruit. If an earlier post about Heywood is correct they are in trouble, Portland will loose some, but imagine they will still be ok.

sam42
9 Jan 2008, 20:56
Big Ant are u still about. Any news from u on the WBFL front.

BIGANT
10 Jan 2008, 15:46
Big Ant are u still about. Any news from u on the WBFL front.

Yeah i'm about....!?

Classyecho
14 Jan 2008, 15:23
Rightio, time to get some bold predictions for 2008 going. Let's try and keep the interest up a bit during the off-season.

Further, if you want to do a ladder prediction, go for it!

I've been a bit out of the loop for a while now, but all reports suggest Hamilton will improve a lot and Portland will be hard to beat.

What else is going on?

sam42
14 Jan 2008, 15:50
Rightio, time to get some bold predictions for 2008 going. Let's try and keep the interest up a bit during the off-season.

Further, if you want to do a ladder prediction, go for it!

I've been a bit out of the loop for a while now, but all reports suggest Hamilton will improve a lot and Portland will be hard to beat.

What else is going on?

Portland three in a row. Heywood, Casterton down the bottom.

theopacman
14 Jan 2008, 18:52
Repeat of last season with the exception of Casterton slipping down and Hamilton and Imperials improving.

sa5290
15 Jan 2008, 11:09
Repeat of last season with the exception of Casterton slipping down and Hamilton and Imperials improving.
South,casterton,millicent to slip further down, West & hamilton on rise up.

lollipop25
15 Jan 2008, 13:48
any word on north, drove past before xmas and they looked to have great numbers on the track, have also seen a senior player renowned for not being a big fan of pre season and who was noticebly overweight last season, clocking up some serious kms on the street and looking super fit

northguns_78
15 Jan 2008, 17:37
adam creek? lol

lollipop25
16 Jan 2008, 09:55
adam creek? lol
whats he up to, chasing coin again this year?? fairly overrated in my opinion

football fan
16 Jan 2008, 11:11
whats he up to, chasing coin again this year?? fairly overrated in my opinion

only person with a high opinion of adam creek is adam creek!!!!

little footy battler
16 Jan 2008, 12:09

Strueth, that's harsh. Tell us what you really think Football Fan!
Canary bagging aside, any whispers of signings going around the league.
I see in the Observer that Heywood has signed Daniel Richardson from Sandford/East Gambier. Does anyone know anything about this guy? Sometimes reputations can be earned easy in the minor leagues.

sa5290
16 Jan 2008, 13:40
Couldnt agree more along with alot of others

ROO18
16 Jan 2008, 15:27
daniel richardson staying at sandford.

lollipop25
16 Jan 2008, 15:49
i concur, enough said though, better things to talk about, any gossip on west signings rumour doing the rounds that they are no sure to get ellis and the only signing so far has been merrett

sa5290
17 Jan 2008, 08:34
i concur, enough said though, better things to talk about, any gossip on west signings rumour doing the rounds that they are no sure to get ellis and the only signing so far has been merrett
West have signed ELLIS 2 months ago i was told, and as well as 7 others.by a pretty good source.

Tigers2011
18 Jan 2008, 01:42
West have signed ELLIS 2 months ago i was told, and as well as 7 others.by a pretty good source.

whats your good source? how many have they signed and who?

sa5290
18 Jan 2008, 09:41
whats your good source? how many have they signed and who?
By a current player. signed 7 good players

hardnut69
18 Jan 2008, 15:21
By a current player. signed 7 good players

how is ashleigh brown going over their?

sa5290
20 Jan 2008, 12:18
how is ashleigh brown going over their?
Very good i hear, going good with the young ones and all are very fit & done heaps of weights to bulk up.Might be the surprise packet for the season!

Ebert80
20 Jan 2008, 17:27
Clearances now starting to appear on the website:

http://www.wbfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

knuckle up
21 Jan 2008, 14:54
could anyone give me any news on how casterton, hamilton, imperials, heywood and portland?

Guido_Notalent
22 Jan 2008, 13:20
saw portland training a few times with very good numbers on track with some older players returning and younger kids very keen have lost a couple from last year but may have picked up a couple too . have heard zac edwards will be giving sanfl a try but overall they look like they will be very fit this year with winnis looking fitter than he has for a long time

Ebert80
22 Jan 2008, 23:05
Looking at the clearances list, Ciaran Buckley who has most recently played for Langhorne Creek has put in for clearance to East Gambier. He was considered a chance to be drafted a year or two ago (when playing for West Adelaide), will be a good pick up.

knuckle up
23 Jan 2008, 12:08
saw portland training a few times with very good numbers on track with some older players returning and younger kids very keen have lost a couple from last year but may have picked up a couple too . have heard zac edwards will be giving sanfl a try but overall they look like they will be very fit this year with winnis looking fitter than he has for a long time

it will be good seeing winis back fit. do you know the sanfl team edwards is going to?

ROO18
23 Jan 2008, 14:32
Looking at the clearances list, Ciaran Buckley who has most recently played for Langhorne Creek has put in for clearance to East Gambier. He was considered a chance to be drafted a year or two ago (when playing for West Adelaide), will be a good pick up.

ciaran played for west adelaide a few years ago.
his brother caolon is still there was the chance of him getting drafted.
ciaran will be handy for east, quality player will give them plenty of run.

little footy battler
24 Jan 2008, 09:28
could anyone give me any news on how casterton, hamilton, imperials, heywood and portland?

Spoke to a lad from Heywood last week and he reckoned they have been getting a good bunch of guys on the track since a month before Christmas. Apparently Ransom has been breaking things up a bit with training and going by the shape of the fella I was talking to it seems to be working. The kids from last season are apparently sticking around and have bulked up a bit, so it will be interesting to see how they go early. You never know, one or two big names and they might start to look ok. I'd reckon they might still need a bit of height, but apparently the kitchen boys aren't leaving afterall and they had a big young ruckman on the fringe of the seniors last year, so maybe time and natural development might do the trick.

footyrules
24 Jan 2008, 18:58
it will be good seeing winis back fit. do you know the sanfl team edwards is going to?
edwards is going to woodville west torrens;)

sportsfanatic
26 Jan 2008, 08:45
Leigh Wiseman going to Port Fairy from Portland
Not sure on what his role would be this year if gepp signs.

orion21
30 Jan 2008, 21:00
PLAYING COACH WANTED

Due to extreme circumstances Ararat Eagles, affiliated with the Lexton Plains Football League are seeking a playing coach for the 2008 season. Excellent playing and social room facilities with a young list to work with. Have been getting on average 24 players to training at the moment. For more information contact me throuogh a personal message. Closing date 8th Feb.

sam42
1 Feb 2008, 08:29
Leigh Wiseman going to Port Fairy from Portland
Not sure on what his role would be this year if gepp signs.
Are You talking about Gepp signing with Portland or Port Fairy?

Past it
1 Feb 2008, 14:04
If Wiseman goes to Port Fairy will that leave Lancaster as Portland`s only Ruckman or have they recruited someone to help Bomber

sportsfanatic
1 Feb 2008, 16:48
Are You talking about Gepp signing with Portland or Port Fairy?

talkin bout if gepp signs with portland

imps lookin like they are losin a lot of players. more depth than any stars tho
also keep hearin that casterton is in a bit of trouble as far as losing a lot of quality players
keep an eye on the cats coz they may just fall hard this year

knuckle up
4 Feb 2008, 09:44
I hear that casterton will struggle this year. who have they lost?
does anyone know whos looking good on the track at portland and heywood?
whats happening with the hamilton sides?

whos coming and going players for the victorian clubs?

FOOTYLOONY
5 Feb 2008, 00:53
Ash brown is bringing a good bunch of kids through capable of being a real threat in the next few years. Good core of young locals and some quality recruits. West seem to be on the up and could be the suprise packet.

Past it
5 Feb 2008, 11:26
Ash brown is bringing a good bunch of kids through capable of being a real threat in the next few years. Good core of young locals and some quality recruits. West seem to be on the up and could be the suprise packet.
Heard on the grapevine that Brown is looking at playing this season as he has had his knee clean out and want`s to play"nice enforcer"

Adrian Shelton
5 Feb 2008, 13:22
He could prob play a pinch hit role much the same way as Quinny did for the Dogs the past couple of yrs.

FOOTYLOONY
5 Feb 2008, 14:30
He could prob play a pinch hit role much the same way as Quinny did for the Dogs the past couple of yrs.

Agree with that but Brown is twice the player and twice as hard as Quinn. Can lose his head at times (CastVMill 2005) but reckon the kids will walk taller havin him out there and reckon the backmen in the leauge will be sh----g themselves. His knees were gone back at Millicent so dont be suprised if he doesnt play much, if at all.

little footy battler
5 Feb 2008, 16:20
Agree with that but Brown is twice the player and twice as hard as Quinn. Can lose his head at times (CastVMill 2005) but reckon the kids will walk taller havin him out there and reckon the backmen in the leauge will be sh----g themselves. His knees were gone back at Millicent so dont be suprised if he doesnt play much, if at all.

Geez, that's a big call to say Brown is twice as good as Quinny. Quinn has been one of the class acts of the Western Border in his time here, and is clearly one of the smartest coaches of the last decade. His ability to take mid-range lists to grand finals speaks for itself.
I'll admit I have only seen Brown at the tail end of his career when injuries were slowing him down and he was playing like a grumpy old men, which is a fate most of us old buggers have gone through, but I certainly haven't seen anything that would say he was twice the player

ROO18
5 Feb 2008, 16:23
brownies knees are real bad, i reckon if he does play at all it would be very limited. he struggled to get over the games he played lasy year.
west do need a presence up forward though

BIGANT
5 Feb 2008, 19:18
Brown has the score on the board in previous leagues, mainly in tassie his coaching reputation is second to none.
What he's trying to do at west he did successfully at latrobe, bring the kids on with a sprinkling of new players.
He tried to do that at Millicent but injuries and a lack of work ethic when things went wrong (which was caused by injuries) in the second half of the season wen't against Brown.
Quinn did very well with what he had, he may have only had one or to stars at best but he got the rest of them to play at there best, it was just that he ran into a couple of good sides in Portland & South in those three yrs.
Quinn could harness his agression where Brown could'nt to a certain extent, still both very tough competitors.
I think Browns got more to worry about then his knees !?......

BIGANT
5 Feb 2008, 19:20
He's got to get a competitive side togethor.