View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
6]
Strong whisper is former team mate of Brown's at Millicent & Penola premiership player Tim Bailey is going to put a roo's jumper in 08....this came from a pretty good source while he was sipping on pims and scoffing down prawns in the members area of adelaide oval during the recent test match...:D:p
Will be good for comp if West are on the rise. Don't be surprised to see a couple of Darwin boys in a Portland jumper.
Interesting reading in the NOOSA AFC website that it stated that with the coaching appointment of Wayne Fletcher to Noosa in the state league div 2 competition that he has attracted 'the services of several key senior players from the Mt Gambier region' and will be following him to the sunshine coast!!!
One wonders who those players are and it probably wont be last we here of the exodus north!!!?...
The sunshine coast will have a real south east feel about it as Caloundra which is in the state association div 1 (a tier below) is coached/assist coached by former Casteron/EastG/Penola & Kongorong player & coach Daniel Clark, who also has the services of a number of East & West Gambier players in Adam Marcus & Aaron Clarke.
Royboy10
6 Feb 2008, 11:35
Strong whisper is former team mate of Brown's at Millicent & Penola premiership player Tim Bailey is going to put a roo's jumper in 08....this came from a pretty good source while he was sipping on pims and scoffing down prawns in the members area of adelaide oval during the recent test match...:D:p
Very doubtful I heard he had retired along with quite a few other Penola boys also heard that Bryan Beinke could be a smokey for the Saints job interesting the Saints have left it so late what's the story behind that BIGANT !!!
Steve Duldig is the Coach of Millicent and I feel will be a very good one. I think that they were after a high profile coach but talks fell through and Steve put his hand up.He`s very passionate about the club and want`s to develope the young Players over the next couple of years.
Funny you say that Roy....as i nearly fell over(not from drinking heavies in the members:D:p:thumbsu:) when i heard that in the Chappell bar!!!! it was the talk of tent city out the back by stumps on day 3.
They shot themselves in the foot the saints, the football commitee should be held responsible for them not naming a coach earlier.
When you announce with six rounds remaining in the previous 07 season that you will be not re-appointing your coach that gives you plenty of scope to 1.Advertise thru print/internet for coaching vacancies - which they did not do near xmas (to late!!)
As much as it's all about going thru a list of prospectives & contacts and ringing !!! you still have to advertise.
It's not as if Millicents in a position that it does'nt have to advertise...they have'nt come off back to back flags and expect players & coaches are going to be knocking down the doors to jump on board.
Whatever it costs to put in a add in the sunday mail for a month, clubs have got to do it whether it's $700 a month or $700 an edition you have to put money aside for advertisments as such if and when you need to cross that bridge.
Sure you got to watch where your money goes, but you don't be tight a rses about it!!
As much as Steve put his hand up...the club had no other choice but to appoint him.Good luck to him because he's got stuff all time to prepare for interesting year.
Good point but apparently the club did advertise in Adeliade papers but not locally and Steve has been doing all the pre-season work with the boys. And you are also right it does not give Steve much time to set up his team structures and game plans but he is a true professional and a man of great character, and I hope will get them up playing good football as we need sides like Millicent and West pushing all the top sides to make it a good season.
Good point but apparently the club did advertise in Adeliade papers but not locally and Steve has been doing all the pre-season work with the boys. And you are also right it does not give Steve much time to set up his team structures and game plans but he is a true professional and a man of great character, and I hope will get them up playing good football as we need sides like Millicent and West pushing all the top sides to make it a good season. You are right PI', you might aswell throw in heywood into that bracket because thers nothing better than an even competion...for which it has'nt since i can remember!?
Royboy10
6 Feb 2008, 14:21
Digger will do a bloody good job as he will have full support of the playing group and is a born leader. I reckon the Saints have made things hard for themselves again as they should have appointed him at seasons end and got on with getting a good Assistant and some quality recruits that will stick around for a while. They will struggle but it may be a good oppurtunity for some kids to step up to the plate instead of being lost to the MSE as does usually happen with the Saints :o:o
knuckle up
6 Feb 2008, 14:49
i honestly think Duldig is one of the best in the western boarder, but im not sure how he would go with coaching and playing his game. did nitschke put his hand up to take on the coaching role with his experience. not taking anything away from duldig, but i would rather see him in a role with not so much pressure because his a player i like to watch. not a bad bloke either i might add.
You are right PI', you might aswell throw in heywood into that bracket because thers nothing better than an even competion...for which it has'nt since i can remember!?
Yes you can include Heywood in that as well, and Hooker will have them very up and about this year and pushing a lot a sides with the young players he has and my spies tell me that he has them training well. Has anyone heard how East, North and South are travelling
Digger will do a bloody good job as he will have full support of the playing group and is a born leader. I reckon the Saints have made things hard for themselves again as they should have appointed him at seasons end and got on with getting a good Assistant and some quality recruits that will stick around for a while. They will struggle but it may be a good oppurtunity for some kids to step up to the plate instead of being lost to the MSE as does usually happen with the Saints :o:o
I agree with ya there Royboy !! but their main focus when they we'nt about securing a new appointment was to get the best man for the job, i'm not saying Steve is the wrong man for the position what i'm saying is if they had there time all over again they should have done it more thoroughly.
It was different circumstances when lang was appointed two seasons ago because it was out of the clubs control.I'm sure if Steve wanted the job he would've put in for it not offered to him out of his control.
i honestly think Duldig is one of the best in the western boarder, but im not sure how he would go with coaching and playing his game. did nitschke put his hand up to take on the coaching role with his experience. not taking anything away from duldig, but i would rather see him in a role with not so much pressure because his a player i like to watch. not a bad bloke either i might add.Not that i know of, Nitschke did'nt did'nt put his name in the ring...may thought that he had his time.
That will be interesting with digger as he was always one for putting representitive football highly whether it be WB or the SE zone sides.
Interesting reading in the NOOSA AFC website that it stated that with the coaching appointment of Wayne Fletcher to Noosa in the state league div 2 competition that he has attracted 'the services of several key senior players from the Mt Gambier region' and will be following him to the sunshine coast!!!
One wonders who those players are and it probably wont be last we here of the exodus north!!!?...
The sunshine coast will have a real south east feel about it as Caloundra which is in the state association div 1 (a tier below) is coached/assist coached by former Casteron/EastG/Penola & Kongorong player & coach Daniel Clark, who also has the services of a number of East & West Gambier players in Adam Marcus & Aaron Clarke.
So is there any truth to this fact about a number of players from the mount following Fletcher to Noosa !!!?
Royboy10
6 Feb 2008, 15:10
i honestly think Duldig is one of the best in the western boarder, but im not sure how he would go with coaching and playing his game. did nitschke put his hand up to take on the coaching role with his experience. not taking anything away from duldig, but i would rather see him in a role with not so much pressure because his a player i like to watch. not a bad bloke either i might add.
Fair points maybe Dougy could be his bench coach that would take a bit of pressure of him or what about BIGANT maybe he could be Diggers right hand man :D:D
Royboy10
6 Feb 2008, 15:16
So is there any truth to this fact about a number of players from the mount following Fletcher to Noosa !!!?
I heard from a source over your way BIGANT that there could be a Millicent flavour up in QLD with D Clarke this year any truth in the rumour.
Fair points maybe Dougy could be his bench coach that would take a bit of pressure of him or what about BIGANT maybe he could be Diggers right hand man :D:D He might have his own people in mind...:confused::p:D:thumbsu:
I heard from a source over your way BIGANT that there could be a Millicent flavour up in QLD with D Clarke this year any truth in the rumour.
Don't know Royboy, first i've heard of it.Will be interesting to see who goes to Caloundra or Noosa from down this way.
Yes you can include Heywood in that as well, and Hooker will have them very up and about this year and pushing a lot a sides with the young players he has and my spies tell me that he has them training well. Has anyone heard how East, North and South are travelling
But will Hooker have the quality around the young players. Gepp and Saunders rumoured to be heading to Portland.
Guido_Notalent
7 Feb 2008, 11:21
Gepp and Saunders both been training with portland . the young boys hsve been burning it up down there which is good cause a few have to step up this year to replace some spots from the leaving players from last yr
Are Portland looking to replace Jefferies, Nieman, and Squire or are they hoping the young blokes come along? Ive heard Winnis was scouting around up in Darwin?
Is Damian Squire playing on at Portland in 08 or has he retired fullstop !?
There's a name that Millicent should've atleast had a crack at...or is he a rough diamond !! a little to rough around the edges in the saints personality criteria !!!
Winis has been scouting around Darwin. Could see a couple from that way in a tigers jumper. Brother is up there(James Imbi). As players the three you mention above are hard to replace. All quality players. I imagine Winis will be after certain types to fill the gaps. The gap between Portland and the rest was big in 07. Other teams will have to step up as I cant see the tigers dropping off.
Is Damian Squire playing on at Portland in 08 or has he retired fullstop !?
There's a name that Millicent should've atleast had a crack at...or is he a rough diamond !! a little to rough around the edges in the saints personality criteria !!!
Squires not playing on at Portland.
James Imbi is playing at Palmerston in the NT with Lance Whitnall could he be a possiable recruit
Guido_Notalent
8 Feb 2008, 10:06
whitnall already been appointed a coaching job for a team in diamond valley league i have heard.
Haven't heard any names in regards to Darwin Recruits to Portland as yet.
Guido_Notalent
14 Feb 2008, 12:14
rumour that portland losing cammarano due to shoulder injury will be out for the year so could be goin back to adelaide
footyrules
14 Feb 2008, 18:01
rumour that portland losing cammarano due to shoulder injury will be out for the year so could be goin back to adelaide
heard that one too. also tim chester not playing there this year. not sure why though.
ive seen james imbi hasnt played the last few weeks in the northern territory. is he hurt or back in portland?
When was he meant to have sustained a shoulder injury?
Guido_Notalent
17 Feb 2008, 15:47
was a while ago i heard he was going to try play with it but apparantly since beginning training the shoulder has got worse so he has to go for an operation
knuckle up
18 Feb 2008, 09:35
cammarano out for a good 12-15weeks of the 2008 season. i hear his still unsure if his going back to adelaide or not yet.
Guido_Notalent
19 Feb 2008, 16:03
Cammarano is goin back been told and portland could have 4 recruits comin down from darwin... the club must be banking on it bein a dry and warmer winter! James imbi isnt one of the four either but he is meant to be comin back too
Lance Whitnall will be playing for Lalor thisyear.Spoke to him approx 2weeks ago
goodgolly24
20 Feb 2008, 18:52
hey boys, my club is in talks with Tyson Lovett-Murray, I've never actually seen him play, so i'm wanting to know if he's handy or not??:confused:
Cammarano is goin back been told and portland could have 4 recruits comin down from darwin... the club must be banking on it bein a dry and warmer winter! James imbi isnt one of the four either but he is meant to be comin back too
James is coming back. Any names in regards to the darwin recruits? Cammarano a huge loss, can build a side around that guy.
little footy battler
20 Feb 2008, 21:54
hey boys, my club is in talks with Tyson Lovett-Murray, I've never actually seen him play, so i'm wanting to know if he's handy or not??:confused:
Nice kid and a hard worker. He has got stacks of pace and agility, and great foot skills too. Can make goals happen around packs or off of half forward, and can get a lot of air when he gets in the right spot for a big mark.
Doesn't quite have the frame of his more famous older brother as yet, but the way he plays sometimes you get the impression he doesn't realise that.
Heywood will be sad to see him go.
Past it
24 Feb 2008, 08:07
Saw North training the other night and the numbers were OK and they looked very sharp with Tyrrell using some new training drills he looks a likely type and moves well. North look a bit on the short side but some of the young kids are moving very well and the skills look good. Adam Creek has slimmed down and is looking in peak conditions and Flett and the older players seem to be enjoying the pre-season. it was also interesting to see out on the track at North a bloke who was a senior umpire last year "one of the better ones" and that takes a lot for me to say. He was taking some of the young players for training wonder what he`s up to I will need to find out. East and South have also had good numbers on the track as I have been snooping around the traps.Need to get out to West to see how they are going
that umpire from last year is coaching the U 18's:thumbsu:
Past it
26 Feb 2008, 16:08
that umpire from last year is coaching the U 18's:thumbsu:Big loss to the umpires but a very good pickup by North as I saw him as a player and he was very tough and hard at it player pushed the boundaries now and then. And he also has a very good coaching record in juniors at North and eslewhere hope he has numbers to work with.
Just wondering if anyone has heard how darren kelly is travelling down at the imperials. Have been a keen follower of his since his time at parkdale in the ammos. He's travelled round a bit from port douglas to perth and will add some flexibility to their side. Can play anywhere and will kick goals.
footballnut
27 Feb 2008, 23:09
Just wondering if anyone has heard how darren kelly is travelling down at the imperials. Have been a keen follower of his since his time at parkdale in the ammos. He's travelled round a bit from port douglas to perth and will add some flexibility to their side. Can play anywhere and will kick goals.
darren is travelling along very well, he is super fit and training very well, he could be the next big thing in wbfl.
I'm tipping you'll be right on your prediction of darren this year footballnut. Could absolutely tear a game apart with his high marking and goal kicking. Expect to see some footage of him on almost footy legends this year!
GOING PLACES
28 Feb 2008, 18:17
I'm tipping you'll be right on your prediction of darren this year footballnut. Could absolutely tear a game apart with his high marking and goal kicking. Expect to see some footage of him on almost footy legends this year!
Wouldnt be suprised at all Yippa. Darren "PORNO" Kelly was an instrumental player at the Vultures and would have no doubt he will be in the best couple in the comp. May also be one of the largest in the comp, hence the nickname. Good luck to you Porno.
bigwilly
1 Mar 2008, 22:58
Now that darren is a new dad I can see him settling down and being a lllloooooooooooooooonnnggg term prospect for the club.
Heard portland have signed a ruckman from up north. can anyone confirm this?
Coach has been up to Darwin so it is possible. Probably losing one ruckman to PortFairy. Maybe gaining another ruckman from another WB side. Clearance may be a problem.
little footy battler
10 Mar 2008, 09:11
Coach has been up to Darwin so it is possible. Probably losing one ruckman to PortFairy. Maybe gaining another ruckman from another WB side. Clearance may be a problem.
By the whispers around town the ruckman from within the WB you're referring to is Heywood's Aaron Gepp, who has been training with them.
One story is he is going to Geelong, the other is he is going to Portland. Handy enough young ruckman, it would be a shame for him to jump ship now and chase premierships at what looks like might be a sinking ship.
He would strengthen up their forward line though as it would allow Lancaster to push forward.
horseys mate
10 Mar 2008, 20:58
hey yippa saw darren training the other night. didnt rate him that highly. average skills and not that fit. are you just taking the p$ss?
footballnut
10 Mar 2008, 21:54
hey yippa saw darren training the other night. didnt rate him that highly. average skills and not that fit. are you just taking the p$ss?
where did you see him train horseys mate? very interested in your response!!!!!!!!!!!
From all reports Darren is a fiery red nut who has a bit of white line fever, his large size and highly rated aerobic capacity will hold him in good stead for Western Boarder League.
After watching him in full flight on numerus occations, including training at the imperials, i rate him very highly.
Also heard his newly arrived offspring has already strapped on the boots and can put a horse to shame in the showers.
By the whispers around town the ruckman from within the WB you're referring to is Heywood's Aaron Gepp, who has been training with them.
One story is he is going to Geelong, the other is he is going to Portland. Handy enough young ruckman, it would be a shame for him to jump ship now and chase premierships at what looks like might be a sinking ship.
He would strengthen up their forward line though as it would allow Lancaster to push forward.
Gepp has moved to roxby downs for work
bestyoucanget
11 Mar 2008, 19:02
Aaron has been training with Portland for fitness, and because he lives there. He was contemplating a change to Portland for no other reason then that it was closer to where he is living, and because he was hoping to focus more on his development as a player. Having spoken with him recently though, he has actually landed a job with a mining company and will not be commiting or playing for any club/league because of his work commitments. Both Heywood and Portland were aware of his training at Portland and of the application to the mining company.
knuckle up
12 Mar 2008, 09:26
I know that gepp was not happy at heywood last year and only got along with a few players. one of the few has left for melbourne and from what i hear the others arent 100% concentration on football wise this year. I also hear fred saunders is at portland too. it'll be interesting to see if he can cut it in a quality side. has heywood signed anyone new for the season 2008? anybody know what the go is with john bell this year? i heard he was in melbourne, but i seen him pissed with a few heywood boys and committee members in heywood last month.
how is winis imbi traveling as coach down tigerland?
any other news on the victorian clubs?
Guido_Notalent
12 Mar 2008, 18:50
Jonny bell trying to get cleared to play in diamond valley league he does live in melb did so last year also but must be tired of travelling back to play every week. Also noticed dylan kent on transfers list leaving to cairns with he and cammarano and also jeffries gone defenders may only start havin nightmares when they face grant ewing this year it seems to me that the league is losin a bit of quality this year as those three were in the top 4 goal kickers i think
footballnut
12 Mar 2008, 22:08
Jonny bell trying to get cleared to play in diamond valley league he does live in melb did so last year also but must be tired of travelling back to play every week. Also noticed dylan kent on transfers list leaving to cairns with he and cammarano and also jeffries gone defenders may only start havin nightmares when they face grant ewing this year it seems to me that the league is losin a bit of quality this year as those three were in the top 4 goal kickers i think
good call guido, can also report grant ewing has switched jobs and is now bricklaying, he bigger and stronger than last year, saw him train recently he looks massive, if imps can get him the ball he will surely kick a ton.
oldboy28
12 Mar 2008, 22:40
I know that gepp was not happy at heywood last year and only got along with a few players. one of the few has left for melbourne and from what i hear the others arent 100% concentration on football wise this year. I also hear fred saunders is at portland too. it'll be interesting to see if he can cut it in a quality side. has heywood signed anyone new for the season 2008? anybody know what the go is with john bell this year? i heard he was in melbourne, but i seen him pissed with a few heywood boys and committee members in heywood last month.
how is winis imbi traveling as coach down tigerland?
any other news on the victorian clubs?
Knuckle up you dont seem to rate Saunders very highly. He has played in interleague sides every year not to mention a year at st patricks college and also Rebels. I think he's more than capable of playing in quality sides.
knuckle up
13 Mar 2008, 15:01
dont get me wrong freddy can play, but in the last 2-3 years he got lost half way through the year. his off ground interests might play take over his football commitment in the next couple of years. all the best to fred for season 2008
knuckle up
13 Mar 2008, 15:08
bell only played half the season last year because of suspension. is that how he plays, or was it out of character? ive had a conversation with him he seemed like a good bloke.
casterton are going to hurt with kent leaving. what are the reasons behind his departure?
i seen a great grant ewing performance last year and he was stong as an ox. will be great to see wal back it up with another great year.
bell only played half the season last year because of suspension. is that how he plays, or was it out of character? ive had a conversation with him he seemed like a good bloke.
casterton are going to hurt with kent leaving. what are the reasons behind his departure?
i seen a great grant ewing performance last year and he was stong as an ox. will be great to see wal back it up with another great year.
Any news on the mount sides???
where did you see him train horseys mate? very interested in your response!!!!!!!!!!!
Gday horsey's mate. Don't know which darren kelly your talking about but believe me, The one i'm on about is an absolute gun and will be more than a handful for opposition players, let alone his missus! Expect big things from the imperials this year with porno running rampant!
Don't write off Cammarano for the whole season yet.
footyrules
13 Mar 2008, 21:27
Don't write off Cammarano for the whole season yet.
cammarano won't be back, i heard portland close to signing a player from the hampden league that might go alright.
the vault
14 Mar 2008, 11:15
Gday horsey's mate. Don't know which darren kelly your talking about but believe me, The one i'm on about is an absolute gun and will be more than a handful for opposition players, let alone his missus! Expect big things from the imperials this year with porno running rampant!
Is that the same Darren Kelly that tore the Semi Final against Ormond apart in a half of footy before getting injured 2 years ago? 20 possesions and 3 goals in a half! Big pickup for Hamilton if the same guy!
knuckle up
14 Mar 2008, 14:06
[quote=oldboy28;10310784]Knuckle up you dont seem to rate Saunders very highly. He has played in interleague sides every year not to mention a year at st patricks college and also Rebels. I think he's more than capable of playing in quality sides.[/quot
is "oldboy28" fred saunders?
What happened with Jeffries at Portland?
Adrian Shelton
14 Mar 2008, 19:45
How are the grounds looking in the Mount? its kinda funny, its almost like i moved to Brisbane to cool off with some of the days ive been hearing about down there!!
cammarano won't be back, i heard portland close to signing a player from the hampden league that might go alright.
Maybe an ex coach?
Guido_Notalent
14 Mar 2008, 20:46
think it may be brian beinke that portland are after
Guido_Notalent
14 Mar 2008, 20:47
and mark jeffries now assistant at the eagles in the sanfl
think it may be brian beinke that portland are after
Thats the ex coach I was thinking of.
How are the grounds looking in the Mount? its kinda funny, its almost like i moved to Brisbane to cool off with some of the days ive been hearing about down there!!
Apparently West ground looking good.
footyrules
15 Mar 2008, 21:49
What happened with Jeffries at Portland?
jeffries is long gone! portland played koroit today and didn't lose by much. thay only had 2 out of their best side and Portland had half their side missing.
did you see the game footyrules? how did the guys in yellow and black fare out?
Any news on some of the mount teams and how they are shaping up? Anything special coming in?
did you see the game footyrules? how did the guys in yellow and black fare out?
Any news on some of the mount teams and how they are shaping up? Anything special coming in?
Seen west on weekend they looked very good and fit.and with all there recruits dominating,one small forward will set the comp ALIVE.
Hand Rockets
16 Mar 2008, 22:11
anyone heard any rumors about the casterton coach calling it quits all ready
Guido_Notalent
17 Mar 2008, 23:06
jeffries is long gone! portland played koroit today and didn't lose by much. thay only had 2 out of their best side and Portland had half their side missing.
jeffries may be gone but sayin long gone is wrong cause he has two flags to show for it and as i remember prac matches arent anything to go by cause im pretty sure koroit beat portland by 20 goals in a prac match last year
Adrian Shelton
18 Mar 2008, 01:50
Have the mighty East Dogs done anything notable in trial action yet?
Kowalski
18 Mar 2008, 21:34
jeffries may be gone but sayin long gone is wrong cause he has two flags to show for it and as i remember prac matches arent anything to go by cause im pretty sure koroit beat portland by 20 goals in a prac match last year
Funny how things turn around,
Don't come here often, but when I played for Portland, we beat Koroit by about 28 goals 2 years in a row.....
Past it
19 Mar 2008, 16:44
Have`nt seen a trial game but have seen training and we look real sharp and Dawry has got them moving well with new drills and are very enthusiastic. The new recruits look good but have`nt seen Coxon on the track could be a big loss for us if does`nt play.
footballnut
19 Mar 2008, 22:54
has anybody heard that casterton have pulled out of the elastoplast cup in millicent? if so this would spell the end of this comp. it has no real purpose.
The netball has pulled out, but football havnt i dont think.
oldboy28
21 Mar 2008, 14:00
How is tommy mcarlein coming along? Is casterton going to feild a good side this year? and who's coaching?
THEBLOODS85
21 Mar 2008, 14:10
heard a rumour that wally ewing refused to sign his contract for 2008....citing that the club had not improved its list from last year.......a dore, b thomas etc moving on.....a lot of second tier players have left andf apparently not many 'news'.:thumbsu:
footballnut
21 Mar 2008, 15:33
heard a rumour that wally ewing refused to sign his contract for 2008....citing that the club had not improved its list from last year.......a dore, b thomas etc moving on.....a lot of second tier players have left andf apparently not many 'news'.:thumbsu:
just looking at wbfl transfer list, imperials seem to have lost some reserves players, but no seniors players seem to be going, no clearances for dore or thomas, watched there inter club practice ewing very prominent in coaching role, muldoon just obversed. they looked very good with new recruits fairing very well. young kid stuart ward on a wing was exceptional, think he played at redan last year. rumour is that the last premiership coach is coming back.
That would'nt be Brad Cooper would it, he'd be getting on would'nt he !?
How are all the S-AUST sides looking big ant???????
THEBLOODS85
21 Mar 2008, 17:56
when was that game mate........did thomas and dore play.....heard dorey was going to geelong (decided last week to go), while thomas supposedly walked out late last year!
rumours are like bushfires this time of year.....hard to stop!:eek:
How are all the S-AUST sides looking big ant???????
Whilst i'm not in the mix much as i've migrated north i think all the mount clubs will be the same...pretty much, obviously the heat will be on west as they've recruited marquee type players into there list.
North and east will be pretty much the same even though they have new leaders, south gambier i'm not sure of !!? Copping is obviously a big in for them as coach but i think their outs are more than there ins.
Millicent are unknown....and will be around where they were last year, no doubt they'll surprise during the year but very much a developing year under Steve.
wotdoiput
22 Mar 2008, 08:51
Whilst i'm not in the mix much as i've migrated north i think all the mount clubs will be the same...pretty much, obviously the heat will be on west as they've recruited marquee type players into there list.
North and east will be pretty much the same even though they have new leaders, south gambier i'm not sure of !!? Copping is obviously a big in for them as coach but i think their outs are more than there ins.
Millicent are unknown....and will be around where they were last year, no doubt they'll surprise during the year but very much a developing year under Steve.
Not sure Millicent will be much chop this year again. Dont seem to have picked up anyone at all. Also have it on very good authority that Brad Tilley wont be playing this year.
likeapuma
22 Mar 2008, 17:56
johnny bell will proberly leave heywood along with other senior players fred saunders(portland) aaron gepp(indefinate) tom dempsey(vic amtures) asmon rory(returned to nt) jeremy ellis(apollo bay) charlie kitchen(brancxholme/wallacedale) jay ropitini(dartmoor) aaron rogers(perth) brett pevitt lenny cooper(tyrendarra).
likeapuma
22 Mar 2008, 18:00
fact: heywood had a trial match against east on the 6th march and appeared to struggly against the young lions.
both sides were at proberly 50% strenght so more could b expected from these sides.
likeapuma
22 Mar 2008, 18:07
with the departure of alot of heywoods experienced players you can expect the young players nick johnstone kye bunworth matt gore tommy gordon lester hall to play key roles in the heywood team this year :thumbsu:
Very young side. Does that come with experience?
The netball has pulled out, but football havnt i dont think.
the elastoplast cup got a plug in the rag i caught a glimpse of. West G, and Hamilton getting the most hype going into this carnival what is this leaking?? The paper also confirmed this quote. ;)
Deano Its Time To Go!!! Hahaha:)
who Will Captain The Young Heywood Lions In The 2008 Season ???
centrehalf bench
22 Mar 2008, 23:06
'gorey'
What the?
centrehalf bench
22 Mar 2008, 23:14
Will Josh Marnell Captain The Young Heywood Lions In The 2008 Season ???
Given how young you reckon the Lions will be this year it might not be inappropriate to give the captaincy to a young leader like Marnell. He seems like a fairly settled young leader. Without knowing all of the Heywood players, I would have thought another Josh, in defender Josh Nash, might be in the mix for the captaincy. He's been a solid performer in that team for a long time for a young bloke. Bit confused by another statement on here recently. Were East "struggly" against Heywood in their practice match, or was it the young lions who were "struggly" against themselves?
Going on the word around East look like being alright this year, so if Heywood held up to them they might just improve on last season. But practice matches and the real season are often two very different things. The Lions need big things from their kids by the sound of it.
What other goss is flying around the Vic clubs? Is Imps' new forward as good as the hype?