View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
7]
Peter Mac
24 Mar 2008, 14:00
Any mail on Scott Day from Imps who has popped on South Mildura's shopping list in the Sunraysia Football League?
Old Doggy
24 Mar 2008, 17:24
Who were the recruits who played well for Imps footballnut ? How did Darroch and Neeson go ? Will they play seniors ?
What about Jamie Ferguson - did he look like he's ready to take the next step ?
likeapuma
24 Mar 2008, 19:43
Who were the recruits who played well for Imps footballnut ? How did Darroch and Neeson go ? Will they play seniors ?
in my opinion jamie ferguson is proberly one of the most overated young players in wbfl. i have watched him play and played against him and dosent look to be all he is cracked up to be
footballnut
24 Mar 2008, 21:39
when was that game mate........did thomas and dore play.....heard dorey was going to geelong (decided last week to go), while thomas supposedly walked out late last year!
rumours are like bushfires this time of year.....hard to stop!:eek:
dore will go, thomas will play, along with a few new\old recruits from out your way. no rumours.... although i did hear one about the rams coach!!!! is it true?:)
footballnut
24 Mar 2008, 21:42
watched inta club match, ferguson,neeson , darroch,ewing and cole and mcintosh where great. stuart ward was clearly best on. ferguson looked super fit.:)
THEBLOODS85
24 Mar 2008, 23:47
dore will go, thomas will play, along with a few new\old recruits from out your way. no rumours.... although i did hear one about the rams coach!!!! is it true?:)
what that he is standing down from coaching.......yeh heard that too!
Whole lot of crap as far as i know.
Old Doggy
25 Mar 2008, 11:41
Do you think Neeson and Darroch will play much senior football though ? Darroch played mostly in the two's last time he was at imps.
footballnut
26 Mar 2008, 00:32
Do you think Neeson and Darroch will play much senior football though ? Darroch played mostly in the two's last time he was at imps.
got to remember he was coming back from a knee reconstruction at the time, he looks a much smarter and fitter player this time around, he will probably be given a chance early . from the outside neeson looks a likely type, good running capacity and speed, looks a senior player.
footballnut
26 Mar 2008, 00:35
what that he is standing down from coaching.......yeh heard that too!
Whole lot of crap as far as i know.
hope so, couldnt afford to lose him.
THEBLOODS85
26 Mar 2008, 00:56
Any mail on Scott Day from Imps who has popped on South Mildura's shopping list in the Sunraysia Football League?
can play when he puts his mind to it......played as a third tall forward scott could very dangerous......leads up well and is a reasonably strong mark.......left footer who can spray his shots at goal a bit.
Alternatively playing him on a wing could be a good spot for him too......not that he is scared but likes to move about to the ball a bit.
His biggest problem is himself......gets down on himself a lot and sulks a bit......but all in all should play some good footy for you.
Young, strong and fit!
knuckle up
26 Mar 2008, 15:55
who are the main ins and outs around the western boarder?
are they having the preseason cup this year?
footballnut
26 Mar 2008, 22:15
who are the main ins and outs around the western boarder?
are they having the preseason cup this year?
casterton lost kent,abaramhson,lithgow
port lost jefferies, cammarano,niemann, squires
hamilton lost waldron, whiting ins: klug,hatherall, dowsley
heywood lost: gepp, asman rory, gordon, heaps
imps lost: dore, klug, meredith ins: kelly, ward, darroch
south lost: hockey , milich, mullan ins: copping
north lost: kilsby
east lost : quinn, scanlon, ransom ins: buckley
west lost : ? ins: wenman, merret, ellis
miliicent: not much movement
probably missed a few but got the main ones.:)
yes elastoplast cup this weekend at millicent.:thumbsu:
-ALSO. north outs-w. ryan,L norman
east out-coxan
millicent out- tilley
west ins- j.ryan m.nielson, j croker
portland out- edwards
south outs-anderson
Adrian Shelton
27 Mar 2008, 01:48
Wheres Dylan Coxon off to? And is this finally the end of football for the great Tony Lithgow?
so where is edwards off to?
footballnut
27 Mar 2008, 10:14
Wheres Dylan Coxon off to? And is this finally the end of football for the great Tony Lithgow?
it seems licka has finally had enough, although he could still get a game in most wbfl sides still, he was awarded life membership of the league last year, he has been a great player and more importantly one of the fairest blokes both on and off the field, doubt there would be anybody prepared to say a bad word about licka.:thumbsu::)
Did here the same about Lithgow reportedly has hung the boots up, Coxon is apperently training (playing) with Robe in the Mid se league.
Whilst it's not in the 'OUTS yet any word of where Baden Dodd is playing....have heard it's in the Central Murray fl with Swan Hill or it could be another cmfl club, chose there because of a few of his team mates he played with at Southern Districts in the ntfl were from there or were also going there....!?
One other bit of gossip getting around was West were after gun full forward Stuart Cooper from Kingston, if this is true they'll have the most ex$pensive spine in the league.Maybe Slatter can throw another 5 grand in....thats all he's good for.:p:D
Well whats the G O this w/end with the pre-season cup, what sides will be going all out!? what sides will be trialling kids !? whats sides will be just getting the run in there legs !!! what sought of coin is the winner looking at getting.
Should be an interesting days play, what will the games be to look out for!!?
coxan to robe
so where is edwards off to?
heard woodville???
knuckle up
27 Mar 2008, 14:25
thanks mate. which gordon from heywood? also its been great watching licka play over the years and his is one of the legends of the western boarder.
seventynine
27 Mar 2008, 15:22
probably scott gordon to knee injury, older brother hasn played for a bit.
i nominate matthew gore for captaincy at heywood myself.
centrehalf bench
27 Mar 2008, 15:27
...i nominate matthew gore for captaincy at heywood myself....
That comment just ruled you out as a useful contributor of information to this thread!
seventynine
27 Mar 2008, 15:32
why is that
Did here the same about Lithgow reportedly has hung the boots up, Coxon is apperently training (playing) with Robe in the Mid se league.
Whilst it's not in the 'OUTS yet any word of where Baden Dodd is playing....have heard it's in the Central Murray fl with Swan Hill or it could be another cmfl club, chose there because of a few of his team mates he played with at Southern Districts in the ntfl were from there or were also going there....!?
One other bit of gossip getting around was West were after gun full forward Stuart Cooper from Kingston, if this is true they'll have the most ex$pensive spine in the league.Maybe Slatter can throw another 5 grand in....thats all he's good for.:p:D
Well whats the G O this w/end with the pre-season cup, what sides will be going all out!? what sides will be trialling kids !? whats sides will be just getting the run in there legs !!! what sought of coin is the winner looking at getting.
Are teams allowed to play uncontracted players in the pre-season cup !?
centrehalf bench
27 Mar 2008, 15:38
Are teams allowed to play uncontracted players in the pre-season cup !?
Certainly are
centrehalf bench
27 Mar 2008, 15:40
why is that
The lad has 100% Aussie Beef tattooed on his arm for a start. All heart, tons of courage, I've got a lot of respect for the young fella, but he has a fair bit to learn in regards to leadership and focus before you would start looking at giving him those sorts of honours.
seventynine
27 Mar 2008, 15:43
fair enough mate
what do yo think of aaron barr for captaincy?
oldboy28
27 Mar 2008, 16:11
fair enough mate
i reckon
josh nash, Marrnel, johnston, bunworth. might be a look for captain.
Whats the go with cammarano getting a clearence to henley, when he cant play for portland because he has a bad shoulder
Guido_Notalent
27 Mar 2008, 22:02
heard he got 2nd opinion in adelaide and doc said he was good to go so he decided to stay in adelaide
SNOUTER
28 Mar 2008, 00:13
Think your a bit of a footy Guru BIGANT??? What have you ever done???
You seem to think uve got your finger on the pulse, far from it, Cooper will play at Kingston. And your comment about west spending the earth on players is off the mark, know off a reliable source the recruits are not getting paid whats being said. They are on the right track west, got rid of the fly ins and the shitheads and went with the kids and have now recruited quality players to add to that. And as for your comment about Slatter apparently doesnt put any money in and has a very good football brain. I think Slatter got brown and that tassie crew to millicent which was the best thing to happen to there in a fair while.
i've heard a lot of big outs for portland but no big ins. have they covered for the big players such as cammarano, neimann and jeffries with any recruits at all? any whispers...will they 3-peat?
You seem to think uve got your finger on the pulse, far from it, Cooper will play at Kingston. And your comment about west spending the earth on players is off the mark, know off a reliable source the recruits are not getting paid whats being said. They are on the right track west, got rid of the fly ins and the shitheads and went with the kids and have now recruited quality players to add to that. And as for your comment about Slatter apparently doesnt put any money in and has a very good football brain. I think Slatter got brown and that tassie crew to millicent which was the best thing to happen to there in a fair while.
Don't you read the fine print snouter....i said it was a whisper about Cooper NOT FACT !!
Ahh c'mon...do you think there paying these players chicken feed, you must have come down in the last shower...well i've been around footy long enough to know whats going up there & dont worry i have reliable sources too.
You did'nt hear me right again snouter...i did say slatter putting coin in and thats all he's good for !!!
What you did'nt gather is he's got nothing else going for him, there is more to clubs than just throwing $$ around you got to be there in good times & bad, he's just along for the joy ride....Look out when it goes pear shaped !!!
As for you saying he got Brown & other tassie boys to Millicent well you want to do your research....did he tell you that did he !!!? There was one other person that had a big say in getting Brown & co to Millicent....he did'nt get alot of plaudits but he took the good & copped the bad when things were up and down...and where was was Slatter !!? wiping his hands of it with his smug look on his face !!!
west recruits not getting paid well. im sure adam merrett and luke ellis would not be playing for nothing.
luke ellis was on a huge coin in penola and im sure he wouldnt take much of a pay cut
i've heard a lot of big outs for portland but no big ins. have they covered for the big players such as cammarano, neimann and jeffries with any recruits at all? any whispers...will they 3-peat?
not to firmiliar with the 3-peat word, but word was that coach had been up in darwin. From what im aware of the younger brother has returned but with no signs of other nt players. I think just like alot of other clubs portland will be relying on the young ones with a handful of them straight out of the rebels program. Other then that, roly69 there aint no real big ins. :eek:
not to firmiliar with the 3-peat word, but word was that coach had been up in darwin. From what im aware of the younger brother has returned but with no signs of other nt players. I think just like alot of other clubs portland will be relying on the young ones with a handful of them straight out of the rebels program, which is what the coach could be relying on. However we can not rule out recruiting from up there as it's still a fortnight awya to go. Other then that, roly69 there aint no real big ins. :eek:
not to firmiliar with the 3-peat word... :eek:
win again.
can anyone actually close to portland add anything?
what about jon lyness and lachlan robinson (both on their transfers list)? any good?
gorey for captain woo hoo lol:thumbsu:
likeapuma
28 Mar 2008, 16:55
fair enough mate
herad a whisper from a mate from down at heathmere that aaron is playing in there practice match on saturday?
any truth to this?
will he play in the elastoplast cup for heywood?
likeapuma
28 Mar 2008, 17:04
is centre half bench the much talked about aaron gepp?
mr duwdwey
28 Mar 2008, 21:33
good on west 4 havin a crack at sum top players . lets hope they become competitive & push a few top sides & may b even roll 1 of them . no 1 enjoys teams getting flogged , the mount needs all 4 teams 2 be strong its good 4 the gate the bar at every club if there is going 2 b a close game.
Guido_Notalent
28 Mar 2008, 22:29
win again.
can anyone actually close to portland add anything?
what about jon lyness and lachlan robinson (both on their transfers list)? any good?
lachlan robinson only young guy about 17 or 18 i think may play a game or 2 in seniors maybe but wont play much senior footy i dont think havent heard of the other guy heard portland are struggling to bring anyone to the club could the treatment dished out to jeffries be coming back to haunt them????? word does get about and the rumours get worse the more they are passed about it seems a shame he and the club parted on bad terms
i missed out on that gossip, how did he and the club part badly? he was liked by the players. delivered 2 premierships...what else did they want from him?
Guido_Notalent
29 Mar 2008, 10:33
i missed out on that gossip, how did he and the club part badly? he was liked by the players. delivered 2 premierships...what else did they want from him?
from what i understand one of the major sponsors threatened to pull their sponsorship because they didnt think think he was giving the club a good image because of an idescretrion at the local niteclub where he was arrested for abusing a bouncer. spoken to most of the players and they cant speak highly enough about him which is funny because apparently the club consulted the players before deciding whether to keep him or not but no player was ever spoken to if u ask them and a few of the older crowd aronud the club say he is one of the best coaches they ever had but he can get a bit fiery and speak his mind so he prob upset a few ppl ! put it this way u either loved him or hated him i suppose
Well he was quite colourful was'nt he - Jeffries....he certainly liked to get under the opposition supporters skin did'nt he.
The board usually has the final say does'nt it...but with the record he had and the players support over the two years with Portland you would've thought that had plenty of weight behind a re-signing, obviously it did'nt.
Aside from his coaching abilities would you compare him to a Shane Loveless in one of the leagues colourful & controversial players we've had !!!? Atleast he admitted he was no 'class A' student' !!
The one thing the league can be proud of over the last 20-25 yrs that i've been following & involved in footy is that we certainly have had some characters play in this league from both sides of the border.
With all the above said how'd the tigers go today in the pre-season cup? Any stand-outs? Did they debut and recognizeable names? How'd their young-ones go?
How about the other teams? From what was displayed today, meet their own expecatations? Give a recap for folk that couldnt make it over? :D
likeapuma
30 Mar 2008, 10:25
With all the above said how'd the tigers go today in the pre-season cup? Any stand-outs? Did they debut and recognizeable names? How'd their young-ones go?
How about the other teams? From what was displayed today, meet their own expecatations? Give a recap for folk that couldnt make it over? :D
didnt travel across myself but from wat ive heard lots of clubs played young sides.
heard that big mick ryan was runnin round for south?? any truth??
Old Doggy
30 Mar 2008, 13:58
Did you head to Millicent for the Elastoplast Cup yesterday footballnut ? Be interested to hear how Imps got on. Especially interested in the performances of any recruits.
What is the story with Brad Thomas - any chance he will still play ?
footballnut
30 Mar 2008, 20:50
Did you head to Millicent for the Elastoplast Cup yesterday footballnut ? Be interested to hear how Imps got on. Especially interested in the performances of any recruits.
What is the story with Brad Thomas - any chance he will still play ?
yes i did go to millicent, imps lost grand final to north gambier by 20 odd points, beat portland and hamilton to reach grand final, young players performed very well, probably missing 6-7 senior players. the word is brad thomas will play within the first two rounds.:)
footballnut
30 Mar 2008, 20:51
didnt travel across myself but from wat ive heard lots of clubs played young sides.
heard that big mick ryan was runnin round for south?? any truth??
mick did have a run around.
Old Doggy
31 Mar 2008, 19:53
yes i did go to millicent, imps lost grand final to north gambier by 20 odd points, beat portland and hamilton to reach grand final, young players performed very well, probably missing 6-7 senior players. the word is brad thomas will play within the first two rounds.:)
What about the recruits:
Stuey Ward?
Rory Neeson?
Rowan Keilar?
Glenn Darroch?
footballnut
31 Mar 2008, 21:00
What about the recruits:
Stuey Ward?
Rory Neeson?
Rowan Keilar?
Glenn Darroch?
ward, very good
neeson, solid showed he could play senior footy
keilar, didnt play
darroch, excellent probably the best player over 3 games.
knuckle up
1 Apr 2008, 10:25
with saunders brothers harry and joseph signing to heywood, could heywood keep fred at the club. anybody got any news on what aaron barr is doing? i keep hearing his at heathmere then at heywood. is johnny bell staying at heywood cos the diamond valley league starts this weekend and no second clearance has been put through?
is bayden dodd going to be leaving the cats who have lost so much already?
what are portland and western boarder followers thinking about jamie cammaranno's decision to stay in adelaide after the good news on his shoulder?
is north and east gambier the teams to beat in 2008?
how did steve duldig go as a coach in the preseason cup?
how'd jon copping going at south?
i know too many questions, but keen for discussion
Quinten Crispy
1 Apr 2008, 12:42
Gday horsey's mate. Don't know which darren kelly your talking about but believe me, The one i'm on about is an absolute gun and will be more than a handful for opposition players, let alone his missus! Expect big things from the imperials this year with porno running rampant!
Right on the money there yippa. Porno could do anything on the footy field and his time at parky was littered with highlights. And as a former amatuer boxing champ there were few that would dare to mess with him too....
Should slot in anywhere for the imperials, my guess is down back. Very, very handy pick up.
It was a good day of footy and all clubs played some young kids portland went through the motions and tried a few different things don`t worry about them they will still be around the mark as Winnis was just having a play around with a few players, Imps will be very strong as they did not play a number of recriuts but put some kids in and Jason has them very fit, Casterton have a lot of kids playing I think they will be competitve for awhile then fall off, Hamilton hard to say looked as though they still might have some on field problems, Heywood Look as though they will push sides but lack of experience will cost them, North look OK but also may struggle in defence if what I have heard a couple of their older defenders have retired but they did move the ball well and Tyrrell seems to be smart coach listening to him talk, East we had a few senior players out but the young kids did a good job and I think we will be about the mark, South played nearly all the under18 and reserve players hardly any senior players so hard to tell with them but Mick Ryan did play, Millicent have a good bunch of young players and Steve Duldig has got them moving very well but i think they will be like Caterton struggle later in the year and West by the look of things played nearly their full strength side with the exception of Ellis they don`t look to bad but a couple of thier recruits look as though they have been visiting McDonalds a fair bit over the off season and one is a major recruit from Penola.
Guido_Notalent
1 Apr 2008, 13:20
with saunders brothers harry and joseph signing to heywood, could heywood keep fred at the club. anybody got any news on what aaron barr is doing? i keep hearing his at heathmere then at heywood. is johnny bell staying at heywood cos the diamond valley league starts this weekend and no second clearance has been put through?
is bayden dodd going to be leaving the cats who have lost so much already?
what are portland and western boarder followers thinking about jamie cammaranno's decision to stay in adelaide after the good news on his shoulder?
is north and east gambier the teams to beat in 2008?
how did steve duldig go as a coach in the preseason cup?
how'd jon copping going at south?
i know too many questions, but keen for discussion
isnt it cammaranos choice to move on if he likes he put in two years for the club and from what have been told from current players is he wasnt on any more money than others players so it sounds as if he doesnt owe the club anything it would be pretty harsh if anyone had any bad feelings about him wanting to go home
knuckle up
1 Apr 2008, 14:18
isnt it cammaranos choice to move on if he likes he put in two years for the club and from what have been told from current players is he wasnt on any more money than others players so it sounds as if he doesnt owe the club anything it would be pretty harsh if anyone had any bad feelings about him wanting to go home
settle down guido. you sound like your flying off the handle there mate. i wasnt saying his dogged the club at all. i was just asking what peoples thoughts were over the reason he left portland as assistant coach was because his shoulder and couldnt play this year and now his playing in adelaide because his shoulder isnt as bad as first thought.
footyrules
1 Apr 2008, 19:58
settle down guido. you sound like your flying off the handle there mate. i wasnt saying his dogged the club at all. i was just asking what peoples thoughts were over the reason he left portland as assistant coach was because his shoulder and couldnt play this year and now his playing in adelaide because his shoulder isnt as bad as first thought.
i heard cammarano had a run in with his housmate. wasn't happy that he was getting beating at guitar hero all the time!!
Guido_Notalent
1 Apr 2008, 20:15
sorry mate didnt mean to give the impression i was flying off the handle just trying to piece it together as to why he may have left and just thought surely people couldnt be upset that he did
Football nut (or others that were there), how did darrren "porno" kelly go in the elastoplast cup on the weekend?
footballnut
1 Apr 2008, 22:26
Football nut (or others that were there), how did darrren "porno" kelly go in the elastoplast cup on the weekend?
darren was very good, he started at chf and looked a bit lost, he then moved to chb looked move comfortable and finally moved into the ruck and proceeded to smash the opposition, he becomes another onballer when the ball hits the ground and was strong in the air, probably still finding his feet, but watching you could tell he is a very very good player.
Will be very interesting how Portland go this season. Have lost a lot of quality players, but were a long way ahead of the pack last year. Where they finish may depend on how the young players go. Cammarano is the huge loss, would have backed the tigers in had he stayed. Winis will lead from the front and if he brings the young ones with him it could be very interesting.
i heard cammarano had a run in with his housmate. wasn't happy that he was getting beating at guitar hero all the time!!
haha, yes lord!! although cammarano never had any skill at computer games so i find that VERY hard to believe!!
Will be very interesting how Portland go this season. Have lost a lot of quality players, but were a long way ahead of the pack last year. Where they finish may depend on how the young players go. Cammarano is the huge loss, would have backed the tigers in had he stayed. Winis will lead from the front and if he brings the young ones with him it could be very interesting.
What young ones do they have coming through excatly? and did they play at the preseason cup?
Guido_Notalent
2 Apr 2008, 15:50
What young ones do they have coming through excatly? and did they play at the preseason cup?
cameron mather is an exciting one saw him play some under 18s last year and he missed some games with injury but when he played he was very good he is tall and quick and backs himself just needs to put a bit of weight on also lucas atchison played a bit of senior footy last year and under 18s very hard worker and puts his body on the line all the time
Old Doggy
2 Apr 2008, 20:48
ward, very good
neeson, solid showed he could play senior footy
keilar, didnt play
darroch, excellent probably the best player over 3 games.
I heard that Matty Dunn didnt play for Imps on the weekend. Where is he at ? Still in the best 18 ? Did either Ewing play ?
Who will play midfield given the loss of Dore and maybe Thomas ? Are Darroch or Neeson up to an on-ball spot ?
footballnut
2 Apr 2008, 23:07
I heard that Matty Dunn didnt play for Imps on the weekend. Where is he at ? Still in the best 18 ? Did either Ewing play ?
Who will play midfield given the loss of Dore and maybe Thomas ? Are Darroch or Neeson up to an on-ball spot ?
only guessing Old Doggy, but mat dunn has been training and he would still be, in my reasoning still be in the best 18, coaching staff my see it differently.
no either wally or noah ewing played in elastoplast cup, either would you expect them too... imps are suppose to play learmonth in a p match at melville oval this weekend, i would imagine they would both play in that game, think muldoon will go with a near full strenght team.
dore has not left yet, i think they are trying to talk him into playing first couple of games, brad thomas has reassured the coaching staff that he will play.
looking at transfer list imps have picked up dustyn williamson fron nihill, he trained last year with the doggies but travelled back to nihill to play, seems like he has signed with the bulldogs, very classy mover and would slide into a midfield role with great easy i would imagine, he would more than cover the lose of dore if he does eventually go??????
darroch it seems would handle a role in the midfield,very clever in traffic, seems a lot fitter and hungrier than in the past couple of year, could be the team environment he is in. Neeson was used as a back man in elastoplst cup and seemed to provide plenty of run off half back, he will play senior footy, and could be a suprise packet.
these are just my thought Old Doggy, muldoon may see things differently, he does tend to think outside the square sometimes, he does some weird things sometimes. HOPE THIS KEEPS YOU IN TOUCH OLD DOGGY, LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED TO KNOW ANYTHING ELSE.
footballnut
2 Apr 2008, 23:13
cameron mather is an exciting one saw him play some under 18s last year and he missed some games with injury but when he played he was very good he is tall and quick and backs himself just needs to put a bit of weight on also lucas atchison played a bit of senior footy last year and under 18s very hard worker and puts his body on the line all the time
got to agree guido, portland do have some talented young players coming through, they may need a full year of senior footy to fully hit there straps, considering who they have to replace, jefferies, squires, cammarano, niemann and edwards, these are 5 of the best players in the comp last year, probably not fair on the young blokes to heap to much expectation on there shoulders, but thats the thing about young players you never really know what you are going to get............if anybody can get through to them it will be winis.
THEBLOODS85
3 Apr 2008, 10:32
only guessing Old Doggy, but mat dunn has been training and he would still be, in my reasoning still be in the best 18, coaching staff my see it differently.
no either wally or noah ewing played in elastoplast cup, either would you expect them too... imps are suppose to play learmonth in a p match at melville oval this weekend, i would imagine they would both play in that game, think muldoon will go with a near full strenght team.
dore has not left yet, i think they are trying to talk him into playing first couple of games, brad thomas has reassured the coaching staff that he will play.
looking at transfer list imps have picked up dustyn williamson fron nihill, he trained last year with the doggies but travelled back to nihill to play, seems like he has signed with the bulldogs, very classy mover and would slide into a midfield role with great easy i would imagine, he would more than cover the lose of dore if he does eventually go??????
darroch it seems would handle a role in the midfield,very clever in traffic, seems a lot fitter and hungrier than in the past couple of year, could be the team environment he is in. Neeson was used as a back man in elastoplst cup and seemed to provide plenty of run off half back, he will play senior footy, and could be a suprise packet.
these are just my thought Old Doggy, muldoon may see things differently, he does tend to think outside the square sometimes, he does some weird things sometimes. HOPE THIS KEEPS YOU IN TOUCH OLD DOGGY, LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED TO KNOW ANYTHING ELSE.
heard a whisper both will be at the Rams intra club practice match tonight........apparently if noah wants to return to imps he may have to fight the club......gave so little to a club that gave so much is the word from the committee!:eek:
footballnut
3 Apr 2008, 11:12
heard a whisper both will be at the Rams intra club practice match tonight........apparently if noah wants to return to imps he may have to fight the club......gave so little to a club that gave so much is the word from the committee!:eek:
let me know if they turn up!!!!!!!!!! i'm sure imps will fight!!! he has apparently signed a contract at imps, history suggests that tribunals tend to uphold binding contracts.
THEBLOODS85
3 Apr 2008, 11:53
let me know if they turn up!!!!!!!!!! i'm sure imps will fight!!! he has apparently signed a contract at imps, history suggests that tribunals tend to uphold binding contracts.
not sure their talking tribunals......he agreed apparently to a new deal with the Rams three weeks ago is what I heard only to apparently have changed his mind..........no clearance in yet and the club has said it will be in no hurry to help him out.
IMO I hope they forget about him.....he is past his best, mainly due to lack of committment and training, leading to soft tissue worries, especially hammys.....money would be better spent elsewhere1
A pity his attitude because he is/was a freaky talent at best!
will find out for you if they graced the dunkeld turf!........concrete!!!
dirttrackstar
3 Apr 2008, 16:12
words is S. Ewing will play for imps this saturday in a practice match in hamilton
footballnut
3 Apr 2008, 20:58
not sure their talking tribunals......he agreed apparently to a new deal with the Rams three weeks ago is what I heard only to apparently have changed his mind..........no clearance in yet and the club has said it will be in no hurry to help him out.
IMO I hope they forget about him.....he is past his best, mainly due to lack of committment and training, leading to soft tissue worries, especially hammys.....money would be better spent elsewhere1
gday thebloods85, i didnt get to imps training, did the ewing boys turn up to the rams, if so how did they go in the inta club, how did all the other imps boys go,eg bubb,clark,macleod, rush,templeton etc....
footyrules
3 Apr 2008, 21:22
haha, yes lord!! although cammarano never had any skill at computer games so i find that VERY hard to believe!!
yeah no god at betting on the horses either. never listen to his gay tips. houston we have a problem!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
THEBLOODS85
3 Apr 2008, 21:27
gday thebloods85, i didnt get to imps training, did the ewing boys turn up to the rams, if so how did they go in the inta club, how did all the other imps boys go,eg bubb,clark,macleod, rush,templeton etc....
no idea.....find out tomorrow when I catch up with someone that went!
Whats the word on McCaskill and Ward who are applying for transfers to Imps. Are they A graders. Coming from good leagues.
footballnut
4 Apr 2008, 21:58
Whats the word on McCaskill and Ward who are applying for transfers to Imps. Are they A graders. Coming from good leagues.
both former junior players at imps, ward last two season with redan in ballarat league, 6"2 running wingman, definetly senior player.
mccaskill 2 time premiership player with warrnambool and mildura league, played off a half back flank for warrnambool regarded as there hardest player, 26 year old, will probably play in mid field for imperials, he is a massive pick up for the bulldogs.
very strong whisper that brad cooper has signed with the bulldogs, trained a few weeks ago he is super fit, looks fitter than when coached imps to a premiership, he will certainly let a few opposition teams know he is around, young bulldogs midfielders will walk taller with him.
both former junior players at imps, ward last two season with redan in ballarat league, 6"2 running wingman, definetly senior player.
mccaskill 2 time premiership player with warrnambool and mildura league, played off a half back flank for warrnambool regarded as there hardest player, 26 year old, will probably play in mid field for imperials, he is a massive pick up for the bulldogs.
very strong whisper that brad cooper has signed with the bulldogs, trained a few weeks ago he is super fit, looks fitter than when coached imps to a premiership, he will certainly let a few opposition teams know he is around, young bulldogs midfielders will walk taller with him.
Sounds like the dogs are putting together a very good side.
footballnut
5 Apr 2008, 21:10
watched noah play in p match today at melville oval, kicked 5 goals, looked to be back to his very best, took some massive pack marks under pressure, pretty much had the forward 50 to himself, seems to got that freak ability back. he looked to appreciate the deliver to him.
THEBLOODS85
5 Apr 2008, 23:52
watched noah play in p match today at melville oval, kicked 5 goals, looked to be back to his very best, took some massive pack marks under pressure, pretty much had the forward 50 to himself, seems to got that freak ability back. he looked to appreciate the deliver to him.
I was there too, talking to him and returning his shots at goal when he kicked three at the Alexandra House end in the second term.
Never doubted his ability mate only his application and you are talking WBFL against MDFL so you would expect better delivery and a few on his chest.
As for the skinny kid defenders from a lesser league than wbfl that he played on for most of the game.......well he had to grab a few!
Good luck to him hope he kicks a hundred.
little footy battler
6 Apr 2008, 12:53
Given the MASSIVE out lists from Casterton and Heywood this season, will these two small country towns be able to field sides this season? And will this have implications for your little country teams playing in major leagues, can they continue to compete?
They will both field Senior sides, not sure how they will go with Reserves sides. Numbers would have to be down. Casterton will be no where near as strong a side as last year. Not only lost players but a lot of quality in Kent, McArlein and Lithgow. You do wonder where a Heywood will be in the future.
likeapuma
6 Apr 2008, 21:22
They will both field Senior sides, not sure how they will go with Reserves sides. Numbers would have to be down. Casterton will be no where near as strong a side as last year. Not only lost players but a lot of quality in Kent, McArlein and Lithgow. You do wonder where a Heywood will be in the future.
i think these 2 clubs have far to much pride to lay down and go back to minor leagues. i wouldnt write either club off either both clubs look to havea great junior base
catta boy
6 Apr 2008, 22:06
There's no doubt that casterton will struggle this year due to a lack of experience and size. They will be relying on 4 to 5 U/18 players stepping up each week. They do have quality kids with this years U/18 side the same as the one that won the U/16 hamilton junior footy comp two years ago going through the entire year undefeated. Quality kids from the U/18's that will definitely get a run in the seniors include: Jarrod Millich, Ash Murrell, Alex Richardson, Callum Currie, Mark Cowland, Matt Killey, Glen Widdicomb, Rohan Cleary as well as 4 to 5 others.
Other younger players at the club with more seior experience that will be relied upon include the likes of Kevin Stark, Simon Sealey, Rick Killey, Josh Norris and Sammy Dowler.
The Casterton side will be young this year, but young sides are not to be underestimated and with the quality of the youth at castertonit would be unwise to do so.
Also heard a rumor that the club may have 3 Darwin players looking at coming down to play in the blue and white.
sportsfanatic
6 Apr 2008, 22:51
i would think the cats will be pretty competitive without pushing for a finals spot.
look out for them in 3-4 years time though because they do have a lot of young talent.
And that isnt just over hyping the young ones like a lot of clubs do, they will be genuine senior players in a couple of years.
if they can get a coach in 2009 that wants to build for the future there could be something special there i reckon (if they keep all of these kids if not they will have to start from scratch again)
is it just me or does casterton need to work on a new image tho
imo the jumpers look very tacky could be the lighter blue or something
would be a good idea to start 2009 with a new jumper ie follow the geelong trend.
sportsfanatic
6 Apr 2008, 22:58
There's no doubt that casterton will struggle this year due to a lack of experience and size. They will be relying on 4 to 5 U/18 players stepping up each week. They do have quality kids with this years U/18 side the same as the one that won the U/16 hamilton junior footy comp two years ago going through the entire year undefeated. Quality kids from the U/18's that will definitely get a run in the seniors include: Jarrod Millich, Ash Murrell, Alex Richardson, Callum Currie, Mark Cowland, Matt Killey, Glen Widdicomb, Rohan Cleary as well as 4 to 5 others.
Other younger players at the club with more seior experience that will be relied upon include the likes of Kevin Stark, Simon Sealey, Rick Killey, Josh Norris and Sammy Dowler.
The Casterton side will be young this year, but young sides are not to be underestimated and with the quality of the youth at castertonit would be unwise to do so.
Also heard a rumor that the club may have 3 Darwin players looking at coming down to play in the blue and white.
i noticed baden dodd hasnt put in for a clearance yet and was supposed to be leaving
could it be him getting a few boys down?
sportsfanatic
6 Apr 2008, 23:04
heywood should be fine
not sure if they will ever get to the point where they are finals candidates year in and year out but they will never move out of the wb league if its up 2 them
there has been 17 different players put in for a clearance so far
a lot have been rejected
heywood only has 7 in and 3 of those are from the juniors.
i dont think numbers were good last year and by that math there 10 down
some didnt play last yr but it still isnt good.
who knows they may have a heap of players that wont go into the system until this coming week
the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?
Great to hear the Cats being talked up. They have the biggest support base in the WBFL and very passionate supporters. Keeping the kids in the future will be the problem, employment etc.
How is Heywood's oval? Last time I saw it it was dirt and ditches.
likeapuma
7 Apr 2008, 20:35
the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?[/quote]
was drinkin at his bar 'the watch house' in portland on friday night. his prtner told me that he is wrokin full time on the oil rig ocean pariot that was in portland earlier this year so is now based in melb with no intention on playin football in the near future
yeah no god at betting on the horses either. never listen to his gay tips. houston we have a problem!!!!!:eek::eek::eek:
haha, well done! :thumbsu: give us a clue!!
knuckle up
8 Apr 2008, 13:16
heywood should be fine
not sure if they will ever get to the point where they are finals candidates year in and year out but they will never move out of the wb league if its up 2 them
there has been 17 different players put in for a clearance so far
a lot have been rejected
heywood only has 7 in and 3 of those are from the juniors.
i dont think numbers were good last year and by that math there 10 down
some didnt play last yr but it still isnt good.
who knows they may have a heap of players that wont go into the system until this coming week
the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?
heywood will never leave WB. if they worked hard to get winis last year when he showed a bit of interest, they wouldnt be in this trouble.
i think they can over come this and use it as a fresh start like imps did not long ago.
i see cooper with 4 goals and pevitt were in tyrendarras best on the weekend along with keegan and lynd from heathmere. does anybody else know how other players that have left the lions are traveling. i heard that john bell made his debut in melbourne and played on the wing and on the ball and is used as a running player other than a key position player.
is heywood still fighting to keep fred saunders or are they going to sign him off?
anybody going to put their name on the line and give us their tips for round 1 of the WB?
little footy battler
8 Apr 2008, 14:34
heywood will never leave WB. if they worked hard to get winis last year when he showed a bit of interest, they wouldnt be in this trouble.
i think they can over come this and use it as a fresh start like imps did not long ago.
i see cooper with 4 goals and pevitt were in tyrendarras best on the weekend along with keegan and lynd from heathmere. does anybody else know how other players that have left the lions are traveling. i heard that john bell made his debut in melbourne and played on the wing and on the ball and is used as a running player other than a key position player.
is heywood still fighting to keep fred saunders or are they going to sign him off?
anybody going to put their name on the line and give us their tips for round 1 of the WB?
I'll have a crack, West to beat South, Hamilton to roll the cats, Imps to beat North in the match of the round, East to just get over Portland and Heywood to down Millicent in an upset if, and only if, the game is not switched due to the state of Heywood's ground.
mr duwdwey
8 Apr 2008, 21:44
i reckon west by a kick , hamilton to roll the cats , imps to do north just coz its over there , east just over portland , & millicent to roll heywood .
theopacman
9 Apr 2008, 00:07
South
Hamilton
Imperials
Millicent
Portland
south
hamilton
north
portland
millicent
chiefcharging
9 Apr 2008, 12:42
hey fellas. just wondering who the gun players r at north gambier this year? my old man and uncle played there a fair while back and my cousin was recruited to geelong from there... thought id find out for dad what the goings on are at north this year.
Cheers :thumbsu:
bernie lomax
9 Apr 2008, 14:25
hey fellas. just wondering who the gun players r at north gambier this year? my old man and uncle played there a fair while back and my cousin was recruited to geelong from there... thought id find out for dad what the goings on are at north this year.
Your old man or uncle wouldnt have been a ruckman would they???
The better players for North would be Scott Flett, David Nulty, Brian Durbridge ( who everyone loves to hate) also they have a some good young kids as well such as Liam Downs Woolley, Adam Kurzman, Cameron Campbell and Dion Cownie plus some other young one`s coming through but the big loss for them is Wade Ryan who has gone to Glenelg this player we should have had at EAST and we would have won a few flags.Hope this helps you and as an Eastie it hurts saying North have good players Cheers.
chiefcharging
9 Apr 2008, 18:01
Your old man or uncle wouldnt have been a ruckman would they???
yeah mate. both were. brendan keast is my old man and paul keast my uncle