View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
8]
chiefcharging
9 Apr 2008, 18:05
The better players for North would be Scott Flett, David Nulty, Brian Durbridge ( who everyone loves to hate) also they have a some good young kids as well such as Liam Downs Woolley, Adam Kurzman, Cameron Campbell and Dion Cownie plus some other young one`s coming through but the big loss for them is Wade Ryan who has gone to Glenelg this player we should have had at EAST and we would have won a few flags.Hope this helps you and as an Eastie it hurts saying North have good players Cheers.
haha thnx buddie. dont really no many of the players.. allthough dad played with scott flett's old man. and yeah i feel ya.. heard the rivralry between north east and west is pretty strong... my mum's family all played for west haha
likeapuma
9 Apr 2008, 18:27
anybody going to put their name on the line and give us their tips for round 1 of the WB?
portland in a tight one over east
heywood just over millicent
hamilton by 10 goals over casterton
imps by 30 points over north
west by 20 points over south
bernie lomax
9 Apr 2008, 20:17
yeah mate. both were. brendan keast is my old man and paul keast my uncle
I was just a lad coming into seniors when Paul was coaching North reserves. Great bloke. Glen certainly had some ability. Didnt hear of him after he went to Glenelg.
Played with Ian Flett (Scott's dad) as well. And he coached me in U/16's. Legend of a bloke.
mr duwdwey
9 Apr 2008, 21:56
hey PAST IT wade ryan is a pretty smart kid , he stayed at north , no doubt east would have tried to poach him at some stage ? they are good at trying to poach the other clubs talent !!:p
The_Cat
10 Apr 2008, 02:31
darren was very good, he started at chf and looked a bit lost, he then moved to chb looked move comfortable and finally moved into the ruck and proceeded to smash the opposition, he becomes another onballer when the ball hits the ground and was strong in the air, probably still finding his feet, but watching you could tell he is a very very good player.
Interesting... all in all, our third choice as ruck, in terms of height, but for heart and spirit alone. No. 1 by a country.
Add in... he actually knows how to play the game.
Massive supporter. Go PORN!
Past it
10 Apr 2008, 11:20
hey PAST IT wade ryan is a pretty smart kid , he stayed at north , no doubt east would have tried to poach him at some stage ? they are good at trying to poach the other clubs talent !!:p
You are so right we did have a crack at him and he did show loyalty to North and good on the kid, and we are no different from any other club in the league who try to and get the best players available, South did it for years and were successful, West has tried and even North has with players such as Close, Loyd, Patzel and Hunter, "who did they originally play for", all from the one club before they moved to North. All WBFL clubs will talk to talented players and see if they want a change and they would be stupid if they did`nt it is a fact of modern life, but anyway I hope your club has a good year as you have a good talented bunch of kids playing and when North and East meet in the second round I hope it is a great game of footy. :thumbsu:
dirttrackstar
10 Apr 2008, 11:56
how are the Rams looking for the season opener BLOODS85?
THEBLOODS85
10 Apr 2008, 13:38
how are the Rams looking for the season opener BLOODS85?
Now all the shits gone probably ok....lol
Seriously though will probably find Caramut far too strong, but it will be good to see plenty of young blokes getting game time they may not have got normally......opportunities for these blokes to step up!
Two horse race this season......with Tatyoon to three-peat!
knuckle up
10 Apr 2008, 16:01
fred saunders cleared to portland. heywood probably lost 5 of their best ten. casterton lost tommy and DK who were their top 2. with portland, east and north fighting it out for top spots heywood, millicent and casterton will be fighting it out not to be in the bottom 2.
my prediction is for the end of season to look like
North
Portland
East
Imps
Hamilton
West
South
Millicent
Heywood
Casterton
What do you blokes think?
fred saunders cleared to portland. heywood probably lost 5 of their best ten. casterton lost tommy and DK who were their top 2. with portland, east and north fighting it out for top spots heywood, millicent and casterton will be fighting it out not to be in the bottom 2.
North
Portland
East
Imps
Hamilton
West
South
Millicent
Heywood
Casterton
Imps
North
Portland
Hamilton
EAST
WEST
SOUTH
CATS
MILLICENT
HEYWOOD
Guido_Notalent
11 Apr 2008, 00:05
Imps
north
east
portland
hamilton
south
west
millicent
casterton
heywood
chiefcharging
11 Apr 2008, 10:46
I was just a lad coming into seniors when Paul was coaching North reserves. Great bloke. Glen certainly had some ability. Didnt hear of him after he went to Glenelg.
Played with Ian Flett (Scott's dad) as well. And he coached me in U/16's. Legend of a bloke.
yeah that would have been after dad left north when u came through. think dad left bout 72? and paul stayed in the mount for a while. and yeah glenn went to geelong. didnt end up playin any senior games but coached north shore in the geelong footy league to 6 flags in a row... so north pretty strong?
footyrules...what the ____?? i just read the the portland side for round 1, OH MY GOD:eek:, does 1 year have that much effect:o...i hope to god east feels the wrath of a new age:mad:, vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv meuah!
who are you footyrules??:D
knuckle up
11 Apr 2008, 16:25
North
Portland
East
Imps
Hamilton
West
South
Millicent
Heywood
Casterton
after reading the article in the spec i want to change my top 5 to
North
Imps
East
Port
Ham
sorry guys
Guido_Notalent
11 Apr 2008, 18:21
11 players out of portlands premiership side side last year to first round side this year!!! hockley edwards stewart squire cammarano faure niemann jeffries egan bampfield chester . i know they were a fair way ahead of the pack last year and they have managed to keep a fairly strong on ball unit they have lost some quality there if winnis can get them even looking like going close to gf he would have done a great job. and looking at heywoods side if that is their strongest line up they will struggle to win a game could be a long year for them even tho they have some good young players not enough good experienced players there. imperials look a good even team and remind of portland of 2006 some good under 18 players coming up from premeirship last year good recruits and had a solid base to work from with a good team last year will be hard to beat this year i think
footyrules
11 Apr 2008, 18:21
footyrules...what the ____?? i just read the the portland side for round 1, OH MY GOD:eek:, does 1 year have that much effect:o...i hope to god east feels the wrath of a new age:mad:, vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv meuah!
don't you worry who i am. i know you!! you know me, we're one happy family:D played in the 06 premiership together;);)
Very interesting to see. I read the team as well and it looks interesting to note that the two young players listed in their senior squad have been mentioned already on these forums. cameron mather is an exciting one saw him play some under 18s last year and he missed some games with injury but when he played he was very good he is tall and quick and backs himself just needs to put a bit of weight on also lucas atchison played a bit of senior footy last year and under 18s very hard worker and puts his body on the line all the time
East will indeed feel the wrath i believe!
I can see this bringing Portland down a level back into a side that will have some rough times with other teams. As quoted before they were a long ahead of the pack and it's good to stir the competition up a bit.
don't you worry who i am. i know you!! you know me, we're one happy family:D played in the 06 premiership together;);)
you sound like a jerk, so i think i know who you are;) do you know any other identities? will the boys prob win today or are they up against it?
Anyone who thought Portland were going to disappear will need to re think after they thrashed East today. I previously said they were a long way ahead of the pack last year, but did not think they would beat East by such a margin. What's the word on East?
Anyone who thought Portland were going to disappear will need to re think after they thrashed East today. I previously said they were a long way ahead of the pack last year, but did not think they would beat East by such a margin. What's the word on East?Funny you say that...they havent really got a bad list !! Portland have lost SFA !! east same as !!
The opening round wen't as predicted !? the festers south game was always going to be a toss of the coin result given souths losses & wests active off season, i'm sure Hogget & Ellis (did'nt play) had the last laugh over their former coach in more ways than one...Hogget sounded chuffed about it in talking to another former eagles teammate & coach last night...:D:thumbsu:
Are Imps the real deal...!? by the looks of it they to had a active off season too, was that game against north an each way bet as well.
Funny you say that...they havent really got a bad list !! Portland have lost SFA !! east same as !!
The opening round wen't as predicted !? the festers south game was always going to be a toss of the coin result given souths losses & wests active off season, i'm sure Hogget & Ellis (did'nt play) had the last laugh over their former coach in more ways than one...Hogget sounded chuffed about it in talking to another former eagles teammate & coach last night..who now resides in s/e Queensland.:D:thumbsu:
Are Imps the real deal...!? by the looks of it they to had a active off season too, was that game against north an each way bet as well.
Imps look like they have recruited some real talent. They play Portland at Portland next game so we will get an early look at where both teams are at.
footyrules
13 Apr 2008, 22:52
you sound like a jerk, so i think i know who you are;) do you know any other identities? will the boys prob win today or are they up against it?
east certaintly felt the full wrath of a firing winis imbi outfit. best win since we came from 10 goals down against west in 06, AH!! big game this week against imps though. they'll know where they are after this game. Imps are hot premiership favourites and should win;)
footyrules - are you still playing?
east certaintly felt the full wrath of a firing winis imbi outfit. best win since we came from 10 goals down against west in 06, AH!! big game this week against imps though. they'll know where they are after this game. Imps are hot premiership favourites and should win;)
just tell me footyrules, do you farm cows? or are you more of a veal sort of guy, eg slaughter calves??
stop droppin my initials, cockstain!!:D
slash, yeah, we were ______ awesome in '06! west who??
footballnut
14 Apr 2008, 13:19
footyrules i usually agree with everything you say, obviously you have played some good footy, but i'm wondering how you come up with imps as hot premiership favourites? portland are clearly the team to beat at the moment. as a keen wbfl follower i would suggest that neither imbi or muldoon are going to jump off a building if they lose this week. as a spectator i'm looking forward to a cracking game of football at hanlon park this week, heaps of talented young blokes showing there ability.:)
.... as a spectator i'm looking forward to a cracking game of football at hanlon park this week, heaps of talented young blokes showing there ability.:)
Drop me some names footballnut, which youngsters down at honlan park will be showing their stuff for both teams? Got some insight?
just tell me footyrules, do you farm cows? or are you more of a veal sort of guy, eg slaughter calves??
Whats going on with u two. Gave yourself away with the initials comment.
I see pictured from west's photo gallery on saturdays win over south that Brown played,what sought of presence did Ashleigh have on the game !? how did his body hold up...
Did he have an influence on the outcome, or did he provide a physical presence up forward or around the ground !?
football nut. Good first up win by imps, just wondering how me old mate porno kelly performed? Did he ruck most of the day?
footballnut
14 Apr 2008, 21:53
football nut. Good first up win by imps, just wondering how me old mate porno kelly performed? Did he ruck most of the day?
gday yippa, daz was pretty good, from memory he rucked about half the time and rested up forward think he kicked one goal, imps have an injury to there other ruckman, so i would imagine he will end up playing chb, he certainly hit the packs pretty hard, i would imagine he would be in the interleague squad.
footballnut
16 Apr 2008, 19:16
I see pictured from west's photo gallery on saturdays win over south that Brown played,what sought of presence did Ashleigh have on the game !? how did his body hold up...
Did he have an influence on the outcome, or did he provide a physical presence up forward or around the ground !?
whats the go with ashleigh standing down as senior coach?
can merrett do the job?
Standing down from what job.....Wests !?
Adrian Shelton
16 Apr 2008, 19:55
Can scores get put up here every week for poor buggers like me who live 1000000 miles from Mt Gambier?
I'm 2000 k's away and i get the scores readily !!! go into the vcfl.com.au >> wbfl >> competitions.....it's as simple as the cats going BACK TO BACK !!! :thumbsu::D
Now can anyone confirm on that previous thread that bout Ashleigh Brown and the west job, thats a pretty big motsa if wrong !!?
I'm 2000 k's away and i get the scores readily !!! go into the vcfl.com.au >> wbfl >> competitions.....it's as simple as the cats going BACK TO BACK !!! :thumbsu::D
Now can anyone confirm on that previous thread that bout Ashleigh Brown and the west job, thats a pretty big motsa if wrong !!?
Media release from West today states:
The board of the West Gambier Football Club announces that due to family and personal reasons, Ashleigh Brown has taken leave of absence as the Senior Coach until further notice.
footballnut
16 Apr 2008, 23:50
wouldnt make something like that up, jump on to the wbfl league website, there is a media release from the west gambier football club, the last line is the most disturbing . that the football club will make no further comment on the matter!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what the................!
somebody must know what has happened. hope nothing serious.
macorb73
17 Apr 2008, 00:22
Not sure if the two are connected, but Ashleigh found out that his mother had a terminal illness, cant elaborate, but one thing is for certain, he'll be welcomed back according to my source. Any predictions on this weeks games. The sainters should go okay again this week???
hey footyrules, if i'm right, you're in my supercoach league! who the hell is the second jamie and joshua? is it ferguson and humphries??
footyrules
17 Apr 2008, 17:09
yeah i'm a calve slughterer from way back. a big calve slaughterer!!!:D:D
footyrules
17 Apr 2008, 17:12
hey footyrules, if i'm right, you're in my supercoach league! who the hell is the second jamie and joshua? is it ferguson and humphries??to much information!! but yeah we have to poofs in out league!
to much information!! but yeah we have to poofs in out league!
harden up princess!!
Not sure if the two are connected, but Ashleigh found out that his mother had a terminal illness, cant elaborate, but one thing is for certain, he'll be welcomed back according to my source. Any predictions on this weeks games. The sainters should go okay again this week???
Well the saints vs south game should be interesting, the time is right if you want to get south while they might be vulnerable...but they'll be a quietly confident about there chances against millicent.
But hey...for me its a 50/50 game down there and saints in a close one.
Royboy10
17 Apr 2008, 22:28
Well the saints vs south game should be interesting, the time is right if you want to get south while they might be vulnerable...but they'll be a quietly confident about there chances against millicent.
But hey...for me its a 50/50 game down there and saints in a close one.
I reckon the Saints by 3-4 goals I hear coach copping is carrying an injury & few extra kg's :D:D
Word is Phil Smith has scored a job in the mount and is headed to the kennel might be a handy replacement for Larcombe.
Whats the go with Brown what was Milo on about !!
I reckon the Saints by 3-4 goals I hear coach copping is carrying an injury & few extra kg's :D:D
Word is Phil Smith has scored a job in the mount and is headed to the kennel might be a handy replacement for Larcombe.
Where has Larcome gone Royboy !? did'nt even know he had gone....so much for being in the loop :thumbsu::p and how old would Smith be, he'd be getting a bit long in the tooth....the funds dried up at Lucindale !!
Can west make it back to back wins...what do you think roy, you'd have to be a chance wouldnt ya !!!! :thumbsu::p
Apart from the Imps - Portland clash what other big games are their tomorrow.
smith is 29 i reckon.
he played last week for lucindale.
i have seen him play, he is good but very lazy!
Royboy10
18 Apr 2008, 22:31
Where has Larcome gone Royboy !? did'nt even know he had gone....so much for being in the loop :thumbsu::p and how old would Smith be, he'd be getting a bit long in the tooth....the funds dried up at Lucindale !!
Can west make it back to back wins...what do you think roy, you'd have to be a chance wouldnt ya !!!! :thumbsu::p
Apart from the Imps - Portland clash what other big games are their tomorrow.
I reckon after West's crack at Fiegert his price might have gone from 20k to 30k best country footballer by a mile though.
Would be interesting if Brown was suiting up this week after the King Hit a few years ago I hear he still hasn't forgotten about ;)
Big game with North v East will be plenty of feeling in this game, a milestone game for North plus the old rivalry wonder how long Durbs will last before he gets told to have a spell :D:D
Imps v Portland should be a cracker might just head down and watch the GF preview
Oh yeah as long as they get the ball to the goal square big filthy will go alright
After the first 2 games just how far ahead of the rest Portland was last year is very obvious. They thrashed East rnd 1 and today took the so called premiership favourites to within 2 points. Would had won it if they had kicked better in the last quarter. Dyke missed running into an open goal late in the match. Mind you Imps were wayward as well during the game. Portland this year are without Jeffries, Cammarano, Squires, Nieman and Imps have recruited some quality players yet either side could have won this one.
doogsey
20 Apr 2008, 12:42
i heard the same on BROWN on the station. have been monitoring the site since the season start up last year. Raises some interesting topics i say.
Only thing floating on Brown last night by many out was his 'lady' was trying to help him back on the straight and narrow after leaving him several times and he couldn't seem to 'control' his so called ' issues/habits'. Why wouldnt ya sort it out to keep 'style' like that??? apparently the mrs is fooled by him and keeps believing each word. Seems to mess up each time according to the tassie thread boys. Is he looking at re-visiting west soon? saw they had a win...good chance for Merrett to gain respect in the coaching role. close one with North and East. so... what is happening with the Brown?
likeapuma
20 Apr 2008, 15:24
lookin at the results from weekends games hamilton gave heywood a fair old touch up.
any one willin to predict the score between heywood and portland for next weekend
Have portland compensated for their huge forward line last yr?
Who have they been matching up down there?
Portland to give heywood their biggest hiding this yr.
70 points +
footballnut
20 Apr 2008, 17:30
After the first 2 games just how far ahead of the rest Portland was last year is very obvious. They thrashed East rnd 1 and today took the so called premiership favourites to within 2 points. Would had won it if they had kicked better in the last quarter. Dyke missed running into an open goal late in the match. Mind you Imps were wayward as well during the game. Portland this year are without Jeffries, Cammarano, Squires, Nieman and Imps have recruited some quality players yet either side could have won this one.
mate have a read of what you have written, you are telling us portland are miles ahead of everybody else, and the next breathe you are saying imps are premiership favourites, make up your mind!!!!
both teams played on the same ground, used the same football, bad kicking is bad football.
where portland at full strength? if not who was missing, see hockley played in the 2nds, looked to injure himself.
full credit to both teams, probably one of the quickest wbfl games i have seen.
footyrules
20 Apr 2008, 18:09
mate have a read of what you have written, you are telling us portland are miles ahead of everybody else, and the next breathe you are saying imps are premiership favourites, make up your mind!!!!
both teams played on the same ground, used the same football, bad kicking is bad football.
where portland at full strength? if not who was missing, see hockley played in the 2nds, looked to injure himself.
full credit to both teams, probably one of the quickest wbfl games i have seen.
he was talking about last year nut head! portland played the worst they have for ages. their skill level was shocking and they had no real forward setup working. missed alot of easy goals and the umpiring didn't really help them. not sure what all the hype about kelly is either. didn't impress at all i thought.
Spot on footyrules. If thats the best Imps have got only beating Portland by 2 points who only had one forward that looked like doing any damage on the scoreboard until Saunders fired up in the last quarter.
macorb73
21 Apr 2008, 02:14
i heard the same on BROWN on the station. have been monitoring the site since the season start up last year. Raises some interesting topics i say.
Only thing floating on Brown last night by many out was his 'lady' was trying to help him back on the straight and narrow after leaving him several times and he couldn't seem to 'control' his so called ' issues/habits'. Why wouldnt ya sort it out to keep 'style' like that??? apparently the mrs is fooled by him and keeps believing each word. Seems to mess up each time according to the tassie thread boys. Is he looking at re-visiting west soon? saw they had a win...good chance for Merrett to gain respect in the coaching role. close one with North and East. so... what is happening with the Brown?
gee youve been a busy boy or is that girl!!!(i wouldn't call "IT" a lady) doogsey or is that DOG sey!!!!
both the border and the tassie site???? for someone whose supposed to come from the south east - or is that just out of millicent!!!! did you just join this month to deliberately create a 'days of our lives pages' or are you really, really, really serious about running him out of town like someone said they would - oh well the anonomous calls to the real estate agents and football club president didn't work - so what did you think? i'd better join "big footy" and do a real hatchet job on the bloke. you must be obsessed with him you seem to know everything about him - Latrobe? Millicent? East Devonport? and West Gambier? Whats with the attraction? or is that 'obsession' or 'character assassination?'
You seem to know his so called lady pretty well? Actually, let me correct that - you dont know her very well - if you call that "style", i call it something else. one thing i do know though that you dont (ha ha) is HE LEFT HER. Or did you deliberately mislead us? tut tut tut, you naughty THING YOU.:p:p did you just say that so it would sound better????
I think I know who you are talking about now??? :D.
Were talking about the same one, arent we??? thats the one who played up on HER husband when her kid was 4 months old. yeah thats it !!!
I know now who you are, the same one that rings around estate agents and football club presidents. the same one who said they would run him out of town, back to melb where he belonged. GREAT - now the puzzles solved we can get back to football - DID I HEAR SOMEONE SAY THE WESTIE BOYS WON ANOTHER GAME - YIPPIEEEEEEEEEEEEE:thumbsu::)
Spot on footyrules. If thats the best Imps have got only beating Portland by 2 points who only had one forward that looked like doing any damage on the scoreboard until Saunders fired up in the last quarter.
Whose that forward sam42 ?!? Dyke? The one who missed their buttercup goal late in the quarter?
doogsey
21 Apr 2008, 10:10
THINK YOU GOT THAT WAY WRONG, AND YOUR COMMENTS ON HER AND HIM ARE OUT OF LINE. I THINK YOU'LL FIND I DONT KNOW HER PERSINALLY I KNOW HIM AND GET YOUR STORY RIGHT. BOTH BROWN AND HER WOULDN'T BE IMPRESSED WITH THE COMMENTS. ESPECIALLY THE SO CALLED PLAY UP WHEN THE KID WAS YOUNG. YOU MUST BE THE ONE 'OBSESSED' TO COMMENT ON ALL THEIR SO CALLED issues. I DONT THINK THE EITHER OF THEM LOG THE SIGHT. SO BE CAREFUL IF THEY DO MATE! When your searching again for so called stories, be sure to get them right, maybe you dobbed them in to the cops for catching up. Isn't that why there both missing? didnt you know that fact!
Hey macorb, will see you at east game. look forward to it. Just on smoko was mentioned that you may be the one causing the trouble between brown and his mrs, not many knew bout your 'stories'. you seemed to know alot about both of them, which according sources is far from the truth. Look forward to seeing you MATE!
doogsey
21 Apr 2008, 10:31
g
DID I HEAR SOMEONE SAY THE WESTIE BOYS WON ANOTHER GAME - YIPPIEEEEEEEEEEEEE:thumbsu::)
Mate wrapped for the westies win, as for days of our lives you have created that yourself. I knew not half that shit and am uninterested as others would be. As for knowing her i never mentioned her to much mate... Sure you dont know her and this isnt ASH himself?
Good night on your drama page.
Good on WESTIES and Merrett!
By the way Macorb, always been on under another log in if you need to know, de-activated when in gold coast for 3 months soaking up the sun.
Guido_Notalent
21 Apr 2008, 11:20
imps v portland clash sounded a cracker unfortunatly missed it who were some of the better players???? and how did the young blokes from both teams go cause someone mentioned before that the game would be a good showcase of young wb talent
Past it
21 Apr 2008, 13:57
Went to see traditional rivals north and east at the mecca on saturday and saw all three games (long day) Dunny had our thirds running well in the first half up by ten at halftime thought I would have a listen to Norths under 18 coach at the 3/4 time break and interesting to hear him speak and was very positive at all times and was never negative (seems to be a good appointment by North) as the North boys really pushed ours after halftime. The seconds was a cracker of a game good hard footy with our boys running out winners in the end. The seniors started well but we missed a lot of early shorts and north slowly gained the advantage and unfortunately won ( North`s coach is a handy player took a bit of time to get into game but looked OK and can coach). Good signs though for east the kids played well and a big improvement from last week and Dawery has faith in them, but i do have a gripe one of the umpires in the seniors is unfit and could not keep up with the game and did not proctect the ball players from both sides and kept running ( that was when he did run and not walk) into players maybe he should go back to the Mid South East were the game is slower he might keep up there.And my final comment on the Brown issue is who cares it is between him the club and those invloved and not for us to comment when we don`t know the facts but it has made the footy people talk.
footballnut
21 Apr 2008, 15:26
portland kicked one goal in the last quarter, hardly call that firing up.
footballnut
21 Apr 2008, 15:29
imps v portland clash sounded a cracker unfortunatly missed it who were some of the better players???? and how did the young blokes from both teams go cause someone mentioned before that the game would be a good showcase of young wb talent
england
sturzaker
brown
mather
mcintosh
brewer
ward
waldron
all good players for both teams
Old Doggy
21 Apr 2008, 18:29
england
sturzaker
brown
mather
mcintosh
brewer
ward
waldron
all good players for both teams
Glad to hear the young blokes went well footballnut. A great start for Imps especially with Dore and Thomas out on the weekend. What about the "local" recruits, how have they started the year ? Neeson, Darroch, Daniels and the older Ewing ?
likeapuma
21 Apr 2008, 18:56
Whose that forward sam42 ?!? Dyke? The one who missed their buttercup goal late in the quarter?
dynast i belive sam42 is ballarat roosters player and former portland premiership player sam faure
Way off the mark mate
Hayden Dyke. Young bloke. Not his fault Portland lost.
What a lot of rubbish being spoken about Brown. Spoken to someone of authority and Brown will be back coaching West.
BUGSY01
21 Apr 2008, 21:59
You took the words outta my mouth sam! WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH!!
You blokes have nothing better to do rather than....as Macorb said the old "hatchet" job! Ashleigh Brown as far as im concerned is an upstanding rolemodel that unfortunately doesnt fit into this Doogsey clowns catergory! Who is this Doogsey FOOL anyway, Geez! You blokes laying the boots in should TAKE A GOOD HARD LOOK AT YOURSELVES! You are doing nothing else other than Charcter assisinating a bloke when you obviously have NO IDEA about the situation! I actually think theres a law called defamation! Hang on ill ask my Barrister uncle....Um yep he concurs..It is a chargeable offence! To ATTEMPT to run the bloke out of town is one thing but to shit can a bloke when he cant defend himself is a spineless act! I know he will be Coaching the WESTS when this is sorted out and i guarantee worms like Doogsey and others opposed to the MAN on this thread dont even have the right to hang over the fence drinking their light cans! Piss off would yas. :mad:
mr duwdwey
21 Apr 2008, 22:19
You blokes have nothing better to do rather than....as Macorb said the old "hatchet" job! Ashleigh Brown as far as im concerned is an upstanding rolemodel that unfortunately doesnt fit into this Doogsey clowns catergory! Who is this Doogsey FOOL anyway, Geez! You blokes laying the boots in should TAKE A GOOD HARD LOOK AT YOURSELVES! You are doing nothing else other than Charcter assisinating a bloke when you obviously have NO IDEA about the situation! I actually think theres a law called defamation! Hang on ill ask my Barrister uncle....Um yep he concurs..It is a chargeable offence! To ATTEMPT to run the bloke out of town is one thing but to shit can a bloke when he cant defend himself is a spineless act! I know he will be Coaching the WESTS when this is sorted out and i guarantee worms like Doogsey and others opposed to the MAN on this thread dont even have the right to hang over the fence drinking their light cans! Piss off would yas. :mad:
hey bugsy ur on the money , its no one buisness , its between him & her,every other prick is just guessing & cuasing more grief than is needed . the hot drinks comments on the local radio show thurs nite were very unprofessional , if he wants to talk personal problems he should do homework on some other people in the industry ! lets get back 2 the great game we all like so much . port / imps game sounds like it was a cracker?
footballnut
21 Apr 2008, 23:23
Glad to hear the young blokes went well footballnut. A great start for Imps especially with Dore and Thomas out on the weekend. What about the "local" recruits, how have they started the year ? Neeson, Darroch, Daniels and the older Ewing ?
neeson and darroch have played down back and have been really strong. daniels yet to play due to branxholme refusing a clearance, word is imps are heading to the appeals board asap. noah ewing is kicking his 2-3 goals a game, which is what i suppose his role is, he is working beautifully with his brother. cooper, thomas,ferguson, cole,scullion out on the weekend cole and scullion long term injuries. mccaskill played his first game on weekend, very handy addition.
Royboy10
22 Apr 2008, 19:10
What a lot of rubbish being spoken about Brown. Spoken to someone of authority and Brown will be back coaching West.
I hope for West's sake that the big fella get's back to the helm soon he is very good coach who I believe should be coaching at a much higher level. As for the radio station and the paper scribe that was stirring up young Fox for a story it's just pathetic. I wonder how many people know he ran a back page story based on rumour about a certain club in a neighbouring league which basically ripped the people involved reputations to shreds and screwed the club recruiting wise !!!!
Docker5
22 Apr 2008, 20:07
I hope for West's sake that the big fella get's back to the helm soon he is very good coach who I believe should be coaching at a much higher level. As for the radio station and the paper scribe that was stirring up young Fox for a story it's just pathetic. I wonder how many people know he ran a back page story based on rumour about a certain club in a neighbouring league which basically ripped the people involved reputations to shreds and screwed the club recruiting wise !!!!
Agree Ash is getting wacked left right and centre. But coach at a higher level i am not so sure. He was very well paid down here and had a very good list but just couldn't get them to the next level. Ash got himself in a bit of trouble down here in Tassy but one thing about him he was a real mans man. I hope everything works out for him. Is Mark Kruger still playing in the area. I played rep footy with him in Tassy.
doogsey
22 Apr 2008, 21:00
RIGHTO, i owe the bloke one from a year in Tassy, just got back to the place and here alot of grief outside his footy life. BUT YOUR RIGHT this not the site for this shit, and the radio show was outta line. The FACTS are 'Noone KNOWS'. They both seem to have good character and again my mouth is shut on it on this thread.
Anyone watch the EAST vs North? How'd Dawey go? Is quinny going to to play for Robe at all?
Hey macorb73 You only seemed to have posted recently yourself on here... All on WEST & BROWN! Is that allowed to join this month, or are corrupting him & her? Or could it just be to corrupt her with your full on comments. to tell you mate i'm past the shit on him and her! YOU!
Watch out for dagz making a return to footy this weekend against heywood after yet another op, haha
Also, don't worry folks just coz the tiges have lost the big names from Adelaide. we'll still give it a shakeup this year, first two rounds have shown it and the side hasn't clicked yet..
Hi Doogsey i went to see North and east was a good game Jason Dawe was usefull kicked 2 goals only problem with him he only lasts a quater and a half and is easly closed down im not sure of his age, could be a problem he speaks confidently to his players and seems to have their respect the have some exciting young talent coming through but they must get more run in their game they also have some very good talent in their reserves Dlyan Warren was exceptional only hope the brains trust there will put him to use if they give their youth an oportunity they could develop into a good side. North however beat them well they had 75% of forward play as East did not have the potential to penetrate half forward. I think Quinn is about to line up for Robe possibly this weekend they are sitting on the bottom at the moment.
ROYBOY posted in his reply earlier that Phil Smith is looking to come to East do you know if there is any truth in that or just rubbish?
Watch out for dagz making a return to footy this weekend against heywood after yet another op, haha
Also, don't worry folks just coz the tiges have lost the big names from Adelaide. we'll still give it a shakeup this year, first two rounds have shown it and the side hasn't clicked yet..
well done daggy, tear em a new one!! whats the go with chester at the moment, why isn't he playin??
and don't forget about the big names you lost from wbool:D
Moving on from the bullshit associated with the media circus surrounding Ashleigh Brown their seems to be some positive outlooks for a couple of former Western Border players & coaches north of the border....Sunshine Coast Queensland north of the border. :thumbsu::p:D
Past league great Wayne 'Fletch' Fletcher looks like he's continuing his fine record as a senior coach, this time he looks like gathering a good side togethor with Noosa in the Pineapple Cup which is state league division two affiliated with aflq.
Fletch has them travelling well atm with Noosa sitting second on the ladder with a 3-1 record with a game possible in hand after their match against Burleigh last w/end down on the Gold Coast was postponed due to bad condition of the oval after 5 inches of rain feel overnight along the coast.
Fletch has even been able to make the local sunshine coast daily sports news reels occasionally, one story was about the seven lads he recruited up from South Warrnambool in the Hampden league and another story was about him inviting former ARL/NRL rugby player to improve and have better tackling techniques.
The other former wb player i speak of up here is past Casterton & East player Daniel 'Pommy' Clark, he also is doing well on the sunshine coast as an assistant coach at Caloundra which is in the state division 1 a competition lower than where Fletch & Noosa are.
Whilst the jump is a major one from state association to state league (2) the comp that Clarkey's involved in would be equal of the kntfl and maybe just below the wbfl.
Clarkey has Caloundra in a similar position to Noosa with a 3-1 win loss ratio and looking very good :cool::thumbsu:...
Clarkey on the other hand concentrates on trying to entice former Caloundraites - juniors/former players back to the club with a little sprinkling of imports and southerners !!! a couple of those southerners include former East & West players Aaron 'Azza' Clarke & Adam 'Agro' Marcus (agro has'nt played yet as he stuffed his back up over summer).
Both these boys have fitted in well with Aaron having a good start to the year whilst assistant coach Clarke has'nt played yet due to an achilles problem or is it a sign of old age and wear & tear.
And i would'nt get my hopes up East or West as these boys looks like they have settled nicely up here...:D:p
footyrules
25 Apr 2008, 14:14
well done daggy, tear em a new one!! whats the go with chester at the moment, why isn't he playin??
and don't forget about the big names you lost from wbool:D
last time i saw that bloke from wbool was when he got shot in the forward pocket in the 06 granny by his coach!! hasn't played since. still getting over it i think:D chester will be back in a month i've heard on the grape vine.
no orange peeler
26 Apr 2008, 10:32
hey fellas has Luke Ellis played yet coming back from surgery. Will be one of the best players in the comp when his fully fit either out of the forward line (kicked 100 in the Canberra comp) or in the midfield. Silky skills which borders on freaky at times.:thumbsu:
i hear darren kelly played well for the imps today footbalnut. is this true?
Welcome back daggy. Must have gone alright, see you in the best. Poor old Heywood took a drubbing. Looks like a long year for them.
Eagle Rock
28 Apr 2008, 09:23
hey fellas has Luke Ellis played yet coming back from surgery. Will be one of the best players in the comp when his fully fit either out of the forward line (kicked 100 in the Canberra comp) or in the midfield. Silky skills which borders on freaky at times.:thumbsu:
See he was named at Full forward for Saturdays game - not listed in goal kickers or best - so not sure if played or not.
Played at Penola last year and had a good year although looked as though he needed to drop a few kgs. for most of the year. Certainly skilled and can find the big sticks.
Guido_Notalent
28 Apr 2008, 17:02
heywood look in real strife all 3 grades lost by big margins can anyone see them winning a game in the ones this year???? doesnt seem to be any light at the end of the tunnel for them
centrehalf bench
28 Apr 2008, 17:26
heywood look in real strife all 3 grades lost by big margins can anyone see them winning a game in the ones this year???? doesnt seem to be any light at the end of the tunnel for them
True, it looks like being a lean season for the seniors at Heywood, but there are some very good young players at the club and growing depth in the reserves and under-18s, so it is not all bleak. The key for Heywood will be to ensure it has all of the right things in place off the field to make sure all of the young plaayers it brings through have a good club to stay at and help to build. If the Lions can continue to weed out any negative influences at the club and build a good and positive culture the rest will take care of itself. While wins in the senior grade of footy might be an effort this season I don't think the Lions are in the worst shape of any club in the Western Border this season. Having played at a club that went through a similar "rebuilding phase" about a decade ago all I can say to the Heywood boys is stick with it, because if you can make it work it will be all the more rewarding for all involved.
likeapuma
28 Apr 2008, 20:21
red in the local paper that out of heywoods 21 players last week against portland only 5 were over 21 so very young side.
the western boarder suporters just show some faith in the young fellas.
great coach to be at the helm through these times aswell
knuckle up
29 Apr 2008, 15:15
heywood is a very young side and were probably missing a bit of mungrel on sunday. i was looking on the northern big footy site and seen a former player get a mention. i heard that he was playing a good game for the first quarter and half until he went back to his old ways. here is a bit i pasted out-
"Cheers :thumbsu: on correcting that, I know it is time to move on, but if you know the history between Andy and fitzroy stars? from what i heard and i think this is right, Andy was known by most of the players, and was a targeted man, and from my point of veiw, Andy won that contest easily, and frustrated most of our players, I think, "cause they couldn’t shut him down", he got the better of our players. Yes John Bell did get reported but they were both jumper punching each other, and belly was seen, "after every thing settled down" giving the last jumper punch".
:(:(:(:(:(
doogsey
29 Apr 2008, 20:45
See he was named at Full forward for Saturdays game - not listed in goal kickers or best - so not sure if played or not.
Played at Penola last year and had a good year although looked as though he needed to drop a few kgs. for most of the year. Certainly skilled and can find the big sticks.
Saw him play a few times during last season with Penola, only twice though when back. Very skillful player when on and can turn a game when lifted to do so. Would be good for the young fellas out at west to learn from.
Gonna be a let down if the knee not holding up well for him.
Enjoyed the South win, and a few beers at the reunion with the boys they were grinning all night. The coach could shed a few but played a good game. Few other seniors could step up and give a bit more when needed. Think South will finish up there in the end.
cantplay
30 Apr 2008, 15:49
True, it looks like being a lean season for the seniors at Heywood, but there are some very good young players at the club and growing depth in the reserves and under-18s, so it is not all bleak. The key for Heywood will be to ensure it has all of the right things in place off the field to make sure all of the young plaayers it brings through have a good club to stay at and help to build. If the Lions can continue to weed out any negative influences at the club and build a good and positive culture the rest will take care of itself. While wins in the senior grade of footy might be an effort this season I don't think the Lions are in the worst shape of any club in the Western Border this season. Having played at a club that went through a similar "rebuilding phase" about a decade ago all I can say to the Heywood boys is stick with it, because if you can make it work it will be all the more rewarding for all involved.
R u serious CH bench...I think the woods are stuffed and should not have bothered turning up against Portland...it was a waste of their time and spectators money...maybe they should play SW although I reckon some of the SW ressies could beat the woods seniors!
Past it
30 Apr 2008, 18:40
R u serious CH bench...I think the woods are stuffed and should not have bothered turning up against Portland...it was a waste of their time and spectators money...maybe they should play SW although I reckon some of the SW ressies could beat the woods seniors!
That`s a bit harsh at one stage all clubs have gone through hard times and have come out the other end better for it. Some clubs go out and buy a heap of players and try to fix the problem short term but I believe you have to blood the youth and Heywood have a good coach who knows how to work with the kids and develope them yes they will get some floggings during the year and also they will push some sides as well, get of there backs and watch the kids develope they might even surprise you. And I am not a HEYWOOD supporter.
centrehalf bench
30 Apr 2008, 18:47
It is probably fair to say Heywood will find this season a long and tough one and may not win a game. But to say it is not worth turning up shows you don't have much of an idea about what makes country footy tick. To then say they may as well be playing South West footy and that some South West reserves sides would beat the Heywood seniors is simply naive. The reason you can't play mate might just be that you're an idiot and know stuff all about country footy, just judging from that post. But there's always morons who reckon its fun to kick a side while its down, so feel free to take your cheap shots.
The true measure of the worth of a club, or a person for that matter, is how it reacts to adversity. Those lads weren't up to it on Sunday, no question, but they had a crack. They might get another shellacking this week, but they'll have a crack. Its easy to drift from club to club sucking off the success of someone else's hard work, but making something work yourself... that's something different and I reckon by the sound of it you'd know stuff all about it.
likeapuma
30 Apr 2008, 19:33
It is probably fair to say Heywood will find this season a long and tough one and may not win a game. But to say it is not worth turning up shows you don't have much of an idea about what makes country footy tick. To then say they may as well be playing South West footy and that some South West reserves sides would beat the Heywood seniors is simply naive. The reason you can't play mate might just be that you're an idiot and know stuff all about country footy, just judging from that post. But there's always morons who reckon its fun to kick a side while its down, so feel free to take your cheap shots.
The true measure of the worth of a club, or a person for that matter, is how it reacts to adversity. Those lads weren't up to it on Sunday, no question, but they had a crack. They might get another shellacking this week, but they'll have a crack. Its easy to drift from club to club sucking off the success of someone else's hard work, but making something work yourself... that's something different and I reckon by the sound of it you'd know stuff all about it.
mate your right. fair nuff heywood is not goin to be the best side goin round this year. give these kids a season or 2 and they will turn heads.
watchin thses kids play for few years now through juniors there is no question about there courage and fight.
another point "past it" if your not a heywood supporter how can you comment on the club when your not a PART of the club!!!
shut your mouth or i just might
Guido_Notalent
1 May 2008, 00:03
That`s a bit harsh at one stage all clubs have gone through hard times and have come out the other end better for it. Some clubs go out and buy a heap of players and try to fix the problem short term but I believe you have to blood the youth and Heywood have a good coach who knows how to work with the kids and develope them yes they will get some floggings during the year and also they will push some sides as well, get of there backs and watch the kids develope they might even surprise you. And I am not a HEYWOOD supporter.
devoloping kids is only one stage and heywood have developed some good players but they seem to have trouble holding on to them for one reason or another lets just hope that the off field work they they seem to be doing can someway fix this problem because an even comp makes for great watching and brings the supporters out.
outsiderlookingin
1 May 2008, 15:38
CH Bench, you dont have to call people names because you dont agree with them. I personally think the woods should have dropped back to the SW last year when they had the chance. And they are having more than a lean year, more like a lean decade.
likeapuma
2 May 2008, 18:39
CH Bench, you dont have to call people names because you dont agree with them. I personally think the woods should have dropped back to the SW last year when they had the chance. And they are having more than a lean year, more like a lean decade.
shows that you really an OUTSIDERLOOKINGIN
on field success might be limited but off field is a good club
shows that you really an OUTSIDERLOOKINGIN
on field success might be limited but off field is a good club
and thats where it starts. too much does it happen that people in the football community are quick to give advice and solutions to struggling clubs, and at the same time make degrading comments, write them off (talk of going to minor leauges) and doing nothing at all to help!
well done to heywood fc for being aggressive and showing the initiative to appoint a full time general manager. clubs in this position need to get things right off the field and appoint the right people before they can expect any on field success. heywood have obviously taken this approach, looking from the outside. i hope they acheive what they have set out to do.
does anyone know the scores from all the games or any reports?
Did anyone see the West Vs Imps game. Great for footy to see West get so close. Disappointing to see the gap between the top and bottom sides is going to be large.
cantplay
6 May 2008, 12:05
I heard that Timmy chesters little brother from Ballarat might be coming back to play a few games at Portland this year, including this weekend against at North....anyone know anything bout this?
footballnut
6 May 2008, 21:47
I heard that Timmy chesters little brother from Ballarat might be coming back to play a few games at Portland this year, including this weekend against at North....anyone know anything bout this?
dean chester has a clearance in progress from waubra to portland you might be right.
likeapuma
7 May 2008, 21:05
seen tim and dean runnin nd streets of portland saturday mornin so rumor might be truth
mr duwdwey
7 May 2008, 21:08
heywood / heathmere united . its got a nice ring to it ! ?
likeapuma
9 May 2008, 18:55
heywood / heathmere united . its got a nice ring to it ! ?
mr duwdwey you must not be serious.
heathmere and heywood clubs would fold before they combined.