View Full Version : Western Border Football League
Pages :
[
9]
heywood / heathmere united . its got a nice ring to it ! ?
I reckon give them the year out, next year they'll add a few and move up... no need to write the club off so soon, yeah there down, but good on the blokes for showing up each week and wearing the guernsy. Got a lot more balls than the alot of players that dont rock up at all when things arent shining.
Headin to the North/Portland game tomora, moneys on North by 2 points...
South to beat East, Mill to beat cast, West on heywood, Imps over Ham JUST!
Can't belive the imps? What a side. Sure they kicked straight but to hold strong in that final term was a solid effort! Kelly was good again and should be in rep squad!
footballnut
12 May 2008, 09:54
Can't belive the imps? What a side. Sure they kicked straight but to hold strong in that final term was a solid effort! Kelly was good again and should be in rep squad!
did you come down and watch the game yippa? your boy was fantastic again!
Old Doggy
12 May 2008, 10:14
Kelly in the best again footballnut ? Must have been a very handy addition. And G Ewing must have dominated as usual. What about the other new guys - Ward, Neeson, Daniels, Darroch ?
GOING PLACES
12 May 2008, 17:55
Kelly is not Yippas boy. Taught him most of what he knows, back down here in Melbourne. Cant wait for the Queens B'day weekend to come and watch the great man go around. Not to mention get on the sauce with him. Dont be suprised if he comes up sore from the week before and misses that game. Yippa it will be a highlight to drink beers with you and your very unattractive brother. Hopefully you can get off xnxx for long enough on the trip up.
footballnut
12 May 2008, 19:14
Kelly in the best again footballnut ? Must have been a very handy addition. And G Ewing must have dominated as usual. What about the other new guys - Ward, Neeson, Daniels, Darroch ?
kelly has dominated chb, if it is possible wal ewing has gone to another level. ward been good, neeson has had 2 in reserves, daniels still finding feet but has shown good signs, darrach been really consistent.
Kelly is not Yippas boy. Taught him most of what he knows, back down here in Melbourne. Cant wait for the Queens B'day weekend to come and watch the great man go around. Not to mention get on the sauce with him. Dont be suprised if he comes up sore from the week before and misses that game. Yippa it will be a highlight to drink beers with you and your very unattractive brother. Hopefully you can get off xnxx for long enough on the trip up.
Football nut i had my spies out. Don't be too concerned about gp's ramblings. Am looking forward to the queens birthday weekend to have a nice ale at imps headquarters, unfortunately going places looks like he'll be tagging along and after his recent upskirting dramas with the police and penchant for fetish porn, we might have to keep him on a leash. Is that game on a saturday or a sunday?
Obviously a lot of excitement around doggy land. Hamiltons amazing amount of points-Imps pressure or just cant kick?
GOING PLACES
13 May 2008, 00:51
[quote=sam42;10992873]Obviously a lot of excitement around doggy land. Hamiltons amazing amount of points-Imps pressure or just cant kick?
Doesnt matter where you are from. Bad kicking is Bad Football.
Yippa you and I will be can 4 can that day, Football nut I hope you meet us early.
Has anyone from the Imps found out WHY they call him Porno. Has something to do with the number 16.
Good night and God bless.
footballnut
13 May 2008, 10:24
Football nut i had my spies out. Don't be too concerned about gp's ramblings. Am looking forward to the queens birthday weekend to have a nice ale at imps headquarters, unfortunately going places looks like he'll be tagging along and after his recent upskirting dramas with the police and penchant for fetish porn, we might have to keep him on a leash. Is that game on a saturday or a sunday?
yippa sounds like it could be a big weekend, imps play heywood on the 7th of june at home, have to catch up, bit worried about going places if all the rumours are true!!!!!!!!!!!!
GOING PLACES
13 May 2008, 15:12
yippa sounds like it could be a big weekend, imps play heywood on the 7th of june at home, have to catch up, bit worried about going places if all the rumours are true!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dont let the rumours worry you, thats all they are. Looking forward to a big weekend. You may need to get some extra pies for me old mate Yippa though as he is quite good on the fang. Think there may be a fair crew coming up that weekend. Go the Imps.
Has Darren been behaving himself up there?
Very much looking forward to watching a good game of countryfooty and no doubt porn having a good game. Unfortunately going places and his large girth (definitely only his waist line) will be tagging along. Look out for him in the club rooms. He's got crooked eyes, 3 chins and teeth that would make a pom jealous. Can't wait to have a beer or plenty at the imps with you fbn. Playing well but is a long season and hope the imps can continue their good form.
Leather Magnet
17 May 2008, 00:49
Whisper getting about that the CEO is looking towards the Top End for a new role in footy. Anybody confirm?
BUGSY01
17 May 2008, 14:28
...After the boys gave Heywood a touch up last week with Ashleigh back at the helm; I am eagerly waiting for the big bugger to lace up them boots and get out there and cause havoc against Hamilton.
- Kick a potato sack full of em BrownDog!
Go Wests! :thumbsu:
likeapuma
18 May 2008, 19:48
...After the boys gave Heywood a touch up last week with Ashleigh back at the helm; I am eagerly waiting for the big bugger to lace up them boots and get out there and cause havoc against Hamilton.
- Kick a potato sack full of em BrownDog!
Go Wests! :thumbsu:
gloatin about beatin heywood? like that is a big feat.
macorb73
18 May 2008, 21:01
bit sensitive there mate - since when is "a touch up last week" gloatin???:confused::confused: sounded to me like Bugsy wanted to encourage the boys to beat Hamilton -(now that would earn "gloatin rights".)
didn't you see the ladder at the end of last year???? :(:( i'm sure any win in the west camp this year is an improvement. :):) and their grateful for any encouragement for the young fella's after the hard knocks they recieved last year.
footballnut, happy to say caught up with darren porno kelly today and had a nice ale. Will look after him this week at the vultures, would you like him to do 400's at training this week? Will be more than happy to put him through his paces. Hope the weather isn't like yesterday when we're up there. Going places wont let go of his thermos and no doubt he'll be offering it to all the ladies with his special hot chocolate drink. Don't worry about darren, we love the old boys coming back and will be looked after.
footballnut
19 May 2008, 10:31
footballnut, happy to say caught up with darren porno kelly today and had a nice ale. Will look after him this week at the vultures, would you like him to do 400's at training this week? Will be more than happy to put him through his paces. Hope the weather isn't like yesterday when we're up there. Going places wont let go of his thermos and no doubt he'll be offering it to all the ladies with his special hot chocolate drink. Don't worry about darren, we love the old boys coming back and will be looked after.
i will check with the coach on tuesday nite, i would suggest a few 400's would just run off the ales he will have this week, he told the club he was going to melbourne for " work"!!!!!!!!!!!
likeapuma
19 May 2008, 19:12
bit sensitive there mate - since when is "a touch up last week" gloatin???:confused::confused: sounded to me like Bugsy wanted to encourage the boys to beat Hamilton -(now that would earn "gloatin rights".)
didn't you see the ladder at the end of last year???? :(:( i'm sure any win in the west camp this year is an improvement. :):) and their grateful for any encouragement for the young fella's after the hard knocks they recieved last year.
man givin one of the bottom sides a touch up is gloatin to me.
heywood is in the same postion as west last yr
west should be proformin heard they pay out almost 7 grand a week in player payments
Dont think any club in the wbfl could afford that amount, id be getting some closer FACTS before putting any of a figure amount.
macorb73
20 May 2008, 08:39
Sure hope you don't barrack for heywood?????
Sounds like your one of those "negative influences" Centerhalfback was talking about [quote - "if the lions can weed out any negative influence at the club] or maybe your a mate of 'cantplay' ??? who wants the woods playin in the SW.
Easy to spread rumours, luv to know your source or is that beer talk between HASBEENS drummin up reasons why some teams are all of a sudden havin a bit of success - WOULDNT BE A LOT OF HARD WORK BY A LOT OF COMMITTED PEOPLE DURING OFF SEASON HELPING IMPROVE FACILITIES? add to that YOUNG PLAYERS LAST YEAR STICKING TOGETHER, IMPROVING THEIR SKILLS, COMMITTEE & COACHING STAFF AROUND THEM KEEPING THEM POSITIVE TO STAY AT THE CLUB AND ALSO ENCOURAGING OTHER PAST PLAYERS TO RETURN?? ADDED TO THAT "A HANDFUL OF RECRUITED EXPERIENCED PLAYERS TO FILL POSITIONS NEEDED AND TO ALSO HELP THE YOUNG LOCAL BOYS WITH THERE SKILLS.
Maybe you SHOULD be helping the young players if you do support the lions instead of being so sensitive : what do you want a west supporter to say - "Great game lions - you only lost by 80 points" GET F>>>>>> real!!!!!:confused::confused:
Sounds like your one of those "negative influences" Centerhalfback was talking about [quote - "if the lions can weed out any negative influence at the club] or maybe your a mate of 'cantplay' ??? who wants the woods playin in the SW.
Easy to spread rumours, luv to know your source or is that beer talk between HASBEENS drummin up reasons why some teams are all of a sudden havin a bit of success - WOULDNT BE A LOT OF HARD WORK BY A LOT OF COMMITTED PEOPLE DURING OFF SEASON HELPING IMPROVE FACILITIES? add to that YOUNG PLAYERS LAST YEAR STICKING TOGETHER, IMPROVING THEIR SKILLS, COMMITTEE & COACHING STAFF AROUND THEM KEEPING THEM POSITIVE TO STAY AT THE CLUB AND ALSO ENCOURAGING OTHER PAST PLAYERS TO RETURN?? ADDED TO THAT "A HANDFUL OF RECRUITED EXPERIENCED PLAYERS TO FILL POSITIONS NEEDED AND TO ALSO HELP THE YOUNG LOCAL BOYS WITH THERE SKILLS.
Maybe you SHOULD be helping the young players if you do support the lions instead of being so sensitive : what do you want a west supporter to say - "Great game lions - you only lost by 80 points" GET F>>>>>> real!!!!!:confused::confused:
Well said macorb 73. be damd if you do,be damd if you dont.
doogsey
20 May 2008, 13:16
No point in arguiing over the beatin.. 80 points isnt a large floggon from top side to bottom.. yeah may be gloatin but West was down there lastyear and by hell would be good feeling for those local young lads that stuck with it.. there the 'lads' who deserve to feel bloody good for it.
Anyone hear much on Imps on the wekend... unexpected margin????
The Easties are startin to climb! and North in a few weeks gainst the Millicent boys will give them a good win... Close games coming our way.. Go Dogs!
Anyone see the North v Cats game. Quite a few sent off from what I hear.
likeapuma
21 May 2008, 19:03
well callin a YOUNG 19 yr old player a has been??
i am one of heywoods young kids that have stayed around to support OUR club. there are a lot of us that have so mayb.e you need to get your facts right also.
did you see many ppl sayin bout west last yr?
macorb73
21 May 2008, 21:20
lookin at the results from weekends games hamilton gave heywood a fair old touch up.
any one willin to predict the score between heywood and portland for next weekend
oh what - so you can say [AND I QUOTE YOUR OWN WORDS] "HAMILTON GAVE HEYWOOD A FAIR OLD TOUCH UP" and no one else is allowed to say the same thing??????????
who gave you exclusive rights junior?????:p:p:p
go on, have the last say???? you young bucks always do - any good reason why "YOUR GLOATIN" about hamilton beatin your own team?????
to repeat your own words once again [like thats a big feat isnt it]-:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Its obvious the league are behind their own interleague players & staff....NOT !!?
Whats going on down there, NO press releases all week on the vcfl site about this w/ends up & coming interleague fixture...NO TEAMS NOTHING !!
Yet the Murray fl has there squad up....and a very good one at that !! not sure on the Belloraine & Wimmera sites if there squads are up.
But this is'nt about them, it's about WBFL being on the ball
footyrules
25 May 2008, 11:11
Whisper getting about that the CEO is looking towards the Top End for a new role in footy. Anybody confirm?
yeah heard he has an interview in Darwin on Tuesday for a role with the new Darwin side in the QAFL next year
likeapuma
25 May 2008, 18:34
oh what - so you can say [AND I QUOTE YOUR OWN WORDS] "HAMILTON GAVE HEYWOOD A FAIR OLD TOUCH UP" and no one else is allowed to say the same thing??????????
who gave you exclusive rights junior?????:p:p:p
go on, have the last say???? you young bucks always do - any good reason why "YOUR GLOATIN" about hamilton beatin your own team?????
to repeat your own words once again [like thats a big feat isnt it]-:rolleyes::rolleyes:
ill pay respect where its due mate
you got me on this one
OnTheCrows!!
27 May 2008, 13:28
in my opinion jamie ferguson is proberly one of the most overated young players in wbfl. i have watched him play and played against him and dosent look to be all he is cracked up to be
See you had a dig at my old mate ratta few months back likeapuma? saw him playing in midfield against west a few weeks back, played a pretty important role i thought... cant be too shabby being in there in a side that hasnt lost....:confused::confused:
Maybe stick to trying to fix your own game up, surely cant be going to well down in heywood there now would you......!:thumbsu:
footballnut
27 May 2008, 14:27
ill pay respect where its due mate
you got me on this one
mate im feeling sorry for you. every time you open your mouth you are getting slapped!!!!! hang in there mate, this forum needs your support for heywood. :)
likeapuma
27 May 2008, 21:53
See you had a dig at my old mate ratta few months back likeapuma? saw him playing in midfield against west a few weeks back, played a pretty important role i thought... cant be too shabby being in there in a side that hasnt lost....:confused::confused:
Maybe stick to trying to fix your own game up, surely cant be going to well down in heywood there now would you......!:thumbsu:
wouldnt call him an old mate. young players with that much hype around them should be proformin. well i am stickin round to help the club. cant do much more than that
committed to the task at hand is all is asked
likeapuma
27 May 2008, 21:56
mate im feeling sorry for you. every time you open your mouth you are getting slapped!!!!! hang in there mate, this forum needs your support for heywood. :)
thanks mate.
are the people in the western boarder football league scared of heywood succeeding and just love kicking a struggling team in the teeth at every chance?
OnTheCrows!!
28 May 2008, 09:19
wouldnt call him an old mate. young players with that much hype around them should be proformin. well i am stickin round to help the club. cant do much more than that
committed to the task at hand is all is asked
How you been performing of late then likeapuma? or is that "proformin"!?!?! :D
Didnt say you had to do more than that, but when you start having a dig at decent players and decent people, thats when you opened up the gates for retaliation.
little footy battler
28 May 2008, 10:39
thanks mate.
are the people in the western boarder football league scared of heywood succeeding and just love kicking a struggling team in the teeth at every chance?
You certainly talk the talk, Likeapuma, could you be a certain border jumping defender currently having a kick in green and gold? Not going to bag you out though mate cos its good to see someone with a bit of passion sticking up for one of the battling clubs. Stick with it and the wheel will turn. And seriously OnTheCrows, if all you've got to do is pick on typos in on line posts then you probably need to get out more.
Has there been any feedback & veiws on how the Borders performed up at Stawell in the interleague w/e !?
On looking at the scores they done ok except in the final,,,,does that read right that the murray fl kicked 15 goals in 1 quarter or was that in 1 half !?
Surely there some fellow wb posters that played in the carnival or maybe involved otherwise that could shed some light on the performance !!?
Or no one gives a rats toss bag....
The quarters where only played in halves BIGANT, and they kicked that score in a half up to about 30 minutes or so. To say the Murray wasnt ready for this carnival would be an understatement. However i wouldnt say that Border wasnt switched on, because i believe they were, Murray was just the far superior team that day. Dunny nabbed himself player of the border team. ( Which i believe is back to back now yeah? ). Ewing lead with dignity which i admire. I think somewhere during the carnival they made a call up from their C's to play for them on the second day.
likeapuma
30 May 2008, 19:16
How you been performing of late then likeapuma? or is that "proformin"!?!?! :D
Didnt say you had to do more than that, but when you start having a dig at decent players and decent people, thats when you opened up the gates for retaliation.
didnt say he wasnt a decent bloke.
im not a senior footballer or a performer really. just out there and have a fair ole crack
likeapuma
30 May 2008, 19:20
You certainly talk the talk, Likeapuma, could you be a certain border jumping defender currently having a kick in green and gold? Not going to bag you out though mate cos its good to see someone with a bit of passion sticking up for one of the battling clubs. Stick with it and the wheel will turn. And seriously OnTheCrows, if all you've got to do is pick on typos in on line posts then you probably need to get out more.
nah im not todd chambers the boarder jumpin defender you speak of. i havent got that much talk.
thanks for the support
footballnut, happy to say the band is getting back together and will be there next weekend in hamilton! Bit disappointed with sat effort! Do not despair ! Tell the coach and committee that the team will have some of the finest looking male cheersquad supporters seen at the ground. Pity we couldn't bring the bayside babes! They have their tanlines to look after. Looking forward to seeing a good game of country footy like my old man talked about! GO PORNO!
Interesting to see Sam Faure best for Portland Reserves. Anyone know if he is back at Portland? Cant imagine the selectors can ignore Kinghorn much longer. Has been consistently in the best in the ressies. Who's the guy who kicked 5 for Casterton?
Julian Schill was the difference between the two teams. strong mark and big left foot kick. recruted from warnambool i think. big find for the club
Totally with ya there Mate. CHIN UP!
Anyone here anything on Jamie Oneill for North? did he knee again during sat game?
likeapuma
2 Jun 2008, 20:58
Interesting to see Sam Faure best for Portland Reserves. Anyone know if he is back at Portland? Cant imagine the selectors can ignore Kinghorn much longer. Has been consistently in the best in the ressies. Who's the guy who kicked 5 for Casterton?
julian schill. looked good in first game at new club very athletic. bit of a wade ryan mould??
Leather Magnet
4 Jun 2008, 10:19
As tipped on May 16.
Turri departs
Western Border Football League CEO Marc Turri accepts position with AFLNT
http://www.spec.com.au/images/clear.gif
http://www.spec.com.au/images/Portland%20Observer.gif
2 June 2008
By DEAN MILLARD
THE Western Border Football League will soon be on the lookout for a new chief executive officer following current CEO Marc Turri accepting a position with AFL Northern Territory.
Turri, who has been with the Western Border Football league since the start of the 2006 season, will become the new Football Operations Manager of AFLNT shortly, with AFLNT believed to want Turri to take on the position before it hosts the Western Bulldogs and Port Adeliade game on June 28.
Western Border Football League president Craig Keating while the WBFL board was obviously disappointed to be seeing Turri going, they understood the opportunity was too good to pass.
“We are really happy for him to be honest,” Keating said.
“We didn’t want him to go, in fact when he went for the interview most of said we hoped it went poorly, just in a jocular manner of course.
“All of the board were aware that at some point he was going to get a bigger and better job and step up the ladder, so we have no problems with that.
“It probably just would have been our preference for us to have it happen in October rather than in June.”
Keating said Turri had told the WBFL board at the interleague carnival that he would by flying to Darwin on Monday to interview for the position on Tuesday.
After taking a day or two to think about it he decided to accept the offer.
Keating said while it was obviously a great compliment to Turri that he had been able to move up the ladder of sports administration by accepting the role, it was also a compliment to the Western Border.
“We take it as a compliment to us as much as it is a compliment to him.
“The role is a state based role, so it is definitely a compliment for him and a good accolade for him.”
Keating said the board would meet this week to work out how to handle the transition period, but stressed the league was very keen to continue with the CEO position.
“It has been successful and we think it is working really well.
“The clubs have been very happy with it.
“We are very keen on developing the role rather than scaling it back, so it is only the person doing it that is in question at the moment rather than the role itself.
“Given that Marc has taken on another role we will look to fill his role; whether we do that now or wait until the end of the season is another matter.”
Keating said the fact Turri had been offered a job at a higher level was not surprising in the least, but added the timing of the offer could have been better.
“We always knew that at some point Marc was going to get an offer of that type, we would just have rather it came in between two seasons rather than in the middle of one.
“But you can’t control that.
“There are a few options that I have thought about looking forward from here, but I will have to talk to the other directors before we go any further with those.
“We will have a meeting at some point this week to firm up the dates and put some ideas together.
Keating said having had Turri progress through the Western Border to a higher level would be a great asset for the league, especially given Turri had enjoyed his time working within the league so much.
“He has really enjoyed his time with us so it will actually be a good contact for us.
“It is good to have someone who understands what we are about working in another jurisdiction.
“I always say to people it is better to have good, well trained people working for you who move on then to have poorly trained, slack people who stay forever.
Keating said the league had a number of directions it could take to go forward, including the seven directors carrying out the role for the remainder of the season, appointing a temporary position for the remainder of the year or advertising the position straight away and seeing what arises.
Adrian Shelton
8 Jun 2008, 20:19
Very intrested to see the Doggies transfer list, couldnt Doods crack the ones? Bloody hell that vcfl website is a pain!!!
footyrules
12 Jun 2008, 22:50
Very intrested to see the Doggies transfer list, couldnt Doods crack the ones? Bloody hell that vcfl website is a pain!!!
intersting to see S. Finck dropped from last weeks teams. Though he played a blinder last week;)
cantplay
13 Jun 2008, 14:56
intersting to see S. Finck dropped from last weeks teams. Though he played a blinder last week;)
Gee what a shame...he's been playing really well of late too!!
Guido_Notalent
13 Jun 2008, 16:02
AHHH what a scathing lot portland ppl are i thought he might of got some easy treatment after all the good things he did for the club and what a recruit he turned out to be!:D
footyrules
14 Jun 2008, 23:13
AHHH what a scathing lot portland ppl are i thought he might of got some easy treatment after all the good things he did for the club and what a recruit he turned out to be!:D
yeah great for the club. especially his musical talent:thumbsd:
GP what happened? Guess we'll be drinking the same piss this week. dissapointed. chin up.
likeapuma
16 Jun 2008, 21:16
shocked at todays portland observer back page headline reading "SA BULLDOGS BITE BACK" "...hand imps first loss of 2008 western boarder season.
a good journalist and SPORTS EDITOR should do thier research and if im not mistaken south handed imps there fisrt loss of the 2008 season which would make this there SECOND loss simon bampfield
is it time for you now to hand the raines to deano??
Yes, i pondered over this article when i caught it as well.
Nevertheless i've noticed that this forum has came to a standstill so i'll kick it off a few little things if you may.
Now that were mid-way season does wanna share their thoughts on the second half of the season in terms of a ladder change between now and the end. Im intrigued to read up on East G's past fortnight's games to see them one week go down to Millicent which i believed for them to be the preferable under dogs and then knock off the ladder leaders for their ' first loss ' haha! Nevertheless does East G play the wild card within this league?
With the goalkickers they way their heading. Does anyone stand in the way of West G's weapon up forward J Ryan. Transfer list says he's AFL; Tasmanian Devils, I may be out of the loop, but does Ryan look to continue to stack them on as the season progress's? Possibly a ton for the season? What intrigues me more is next closest to Ryan from down at tigerland is apparently a young chap H Brown. Transfer list for him says he was just a local jr footballer. Has Portland compensated with this youngster? Alongside him is last yr's winner G Ewing's brother, Shane Ewing.
And finally, has there been any further updates with Turri on his way out? Any suggestions for names to be put up?
I know they could be dead subjects to talk about, but this forum was slowing up.
portentous
17 Jun 2008, 01:59
Can someone post an up to date ladder for me? Interested to see how Westies are going.
THEBLOODS85
17 Jun 2008, 10:30
Portland 28 193.10
Hamilton 28 161.76
Imperials 28 135.90
East 24 117.60
South 20 112.53
North 20 109.28
West 16 98.07
Millicent 12 78.45
Casterton 4 63.96
Heywood 0 30.54
SWANDOG
17 Jun 2008, 11:44
Yes, i pondered over this article when i caught it as well.
Nevertheless i've noticed that this forum has came to a standstill so i'll kick it off a few little things if you may.
Now that were mid-way season does wanna share their thoughts on the second half of the season in terms of a ladder change between now and the end. Im intrigued to read up on East G's past fortnight's games to see them one week go down to Millicent which i believed for them to be the preferable under dogs and then knock off the ladder leaders for their ' first loss ' haha! Nevertheless does East G play the wild card within this league?
With the goalkickers they way their heading. Does anyone stand in the way of West G's weapon up forward J Ryan. Transfer list says he's AFL; Tasmanian Devils, I may be out of the loop, but does Ryan look to continue to stack them on as the season progress's? Possibly a ton for the season? What intrigues me more is next closest to Ryan from down at tigerland is apparently a young chap H Brown. Transfer list for him says he was just a local jr footballer. Has Portland compensated with this youngster? Alongside him is last yr's winner G Ewing's brother, Shane Ewing.
And finally, has there been any further updates with Turri on his way out? Any suggestions for names to be put up?
I know they could be dead subjects to talk about, but this forum was slowing up.
I have been watching the season unfold with interest. Portland seem to be travelling along pretty well after a few big name departures and now have to be favourites again - reigning premiers sitting on top at the half way mark, can't do much more than that. Hamilton's young brigade are stepping up, just wonder whether they can keep it up when the finals come around - experience is a big thing come finals time. Imps are going ok, have had a couple of hiccups over the border but seem to have an unsettled squad at the moment, I am sure this will sort it's self out in the second half and have the experience to go a long way. Then East and South who have been a bit inconsistent throughout, but have both knocked off Imps in previous weeks. At this stage though I still think it will be out of the top 3.
Ryan can obviously play the game and has shown that on the scoreboard. Just wonder if he can keep it up as Westies seem to have dropped off hte mark again. Have heard a bit about young Brown and apparantly is a big talent and Portland have big raps on him. Both Ewings going along ok, I think Shane will only get better as he had a bit of time at Dunkeld and Grant is mainly playing midfield this year I have been told.
The Turri news - have not heard of any names as yet.
West have LONG TERM injuries to there top 5/6 players and no depth to cover that sort of quality,will plug gaps with the kids i guess to give them game time for the future.
likeapuma
17 Jun 2008, 22:11
no doubt about brown he has real talent and true body strength. having played on him in the junior ranks he really stepped up as a footballer in the past 2 years. has a younger brother that plays at heywood but limited to 3 senior games becuase still playing u/16 at south portland
Saw Brown from Portland a couple a weeks ago. Very strong body and hard at it for a kid. Looks good at this stage of his career.
SWANDOG
19 Jun 2008, 14:26
Saw Brown from Portland a couple a weeks ago. Very strong body and hard at it for a kid. Looks good at this stage of his career.
Why isn't he playing Rebels? Is he good enough for that - i would have thought so being 2nd on the WBFL goalkicking. Is he not old enough or just too old, I do not know much about the lad.
What about some thoughts on this weeks games. Millicent vs Heywood - you would think Millicent would be too strong at home. West vs South should be a good game. Hamilton should beat Casterton on form, but the Cats can sometimes surprise. Portland should beat East but only cos it's at Portland. North and Imps will be a good game. Interesting to read that Durbridge played in the 2s last week for North?? I would have to Imps but could be close.
Is that the Heywood coach named on the bench for todays game?
Adrian Shelton
21 Jun 2008, 21:20
Hooker could still play
fbn, good win by the imperials. A few good ins this week may have helped. Wasn't at game unfortunately. How did darren play this week?
showtime1090
22 Jun 2008, 17:24
Wasn't Hooker named to play, it was he's son Karl Ransom.
Close game at Millicent yesterday, just seemed out of reach for Heywood after half time, backline players worked overtime all day but couldn't find many reliable targets up forward. Still plenty of positives emerging for the young lions.
Couple of older names in the best like: speedy defender Aaron Barr finding some good form and keeping Millicent's Dunn quiet at FF, John Dunn playing he's usual hard game in the midfield as well as Josh Marnell and older recruit Brendon Galloway looking pretty handy in the backline. Along with 'middle aged' players Troy Lovett, who worked hard out of CHF, and Mark Jones, who played a majority of the game in the ruck while Lester Hall had a big job in the back pocket.
Mentions also to 16 y.o's Thomas Gordon, Richard Bamblett and Matt Sailor who all ran very hard all day...
Sounds like there was a cliffhanger at hanlon park. For those who could catch it, have any post match notes? Mccracken do alright for himself on the day i see for East?
footballnut
22 Jun 2008, 21:07
fbn, good win by the imperials. A few good ins this week may have helped. Wasn't at game unfortunately. How did darren play this week?
gday little champ, havent heard from you for a while, watched the imps v north game, four handy inclusions this week made massive difference. daz played real well, played on one of the best players in the league and i would say he clearly beat him. how did you blokes go this week, think i saw you had a win, how did the big fella go this week at skye?
footballnut
22 Jun 2008, 21:09
Why isn't he playing Rebels? Is he good enough for that - i would have thought so being 2nd on the WBFL goalkicking. Is he not old enough or just too old, I do not know much about the lad.
What about some thoughts on this weeks games. Millicent vs Heywood - you would think Millicent would be too strong at home. West vs South should be a good game. Hamilton should beat Casterton on form, but the Cats can sometimes surprise. Portland should beat East but only cos it's at Portland. North and Imps will be a good game. Interesting to read that Durbridge played in the 2s last week for North?? I would have to Imps but could be close.
whats the update on durbridge at north, he didnt play reserves or seniors at the weekend, where is he at? have north had enough of his antics?
footyrules
22 Jun 2008, 22:30
Sounds like there was a cliffhanger at hanlon park. For those who could catch it, have any post match notes? Mccracken do alright for himself on the day i see for East?
east up all day, except for the last 5 minutes. east player running into an open goal with about a minute to go and hit the post. loudest cheer all day from the crowd on can hill. that loss could come back to haunt them.
gday little champ, havent heard from you for a while, watched the imps v north game, four handy inclusions this week made massive difference. daz played real well, played on one of the best players in the league and i would say he clearly beat him. how did you blokes go this week, think i saw you had a win, how did the big fella go this week at skye?
Skye shat in. Apparently he stayed past 9 o'clock with the boys to have a light beer but then went home due to light headedness from the severe alcohol percentage.
We won well. Still in hunt for top four which is good.
Daz would have to in line for team of the year wouldn't he? Has been playing well enough i would think.
footballnut
23 Jun 2008, 01:47
Skye shat in. Apparently he stayed past 9 o'clock with the boys to have a light beer but then went home due to light headedness from the severe alcohol percentage.
We won well. Still in hunt for top four which is good.
Daz would have to in line for team of the year wouldn't he? Has been playing well enough i would think.
sounds like a good weekend all round. i cant think of anybody better than him at chb, would have thought on current form he is a certainty.
doogsey
23 Jun 2008, 14:41
Disappointed i didnt make it to this game.... Headed MSE Robbe game. eard all about the last monent kick forward for the boys! didnt think we'd get so close in this encounter.Dawey getting the boys close to sides, and may see a change come finals.. Go the dogs! Lok forward to a rap up on the game..
likeapuma
23 Jun 2008, 21:28
Hooker could still play
hooker has already lined up this year in the lions 2's.
prob a day scott finck will wanna forget after taking a cheap shot at hooker and paying the price with a couple to the moosh.
on heath brown not sure why not playin rebels might be somethin to ask jock whiting the the rebels coaches.
would definatly be up to the task
McCleanMagic
27 Jun 2008, 12:01
How does Jamie Templeton from casterton go? Senior player? What position?
Bit worried Magic Man? Hawkes/Mac are shaping up alright!!
Do i see Brian D make his return for North last week? would have been a tough task for the north tigers get up on a angry bunch of blokes from east coming off their dissapointing loss to portland the weekend before.
Interesting last few matches for this last half of the round. Top 3 teams all playing this weekend. Would certainly expect Hamilton to get up. Anyone wanna go out on a limb and tip whose gonna get the job done at mellville oval?
likeapuma
2 Jul 2008, 17:30
Do i see Brian D make his return for North last week? would have been a tough task for the north tigers get up on a angry bunch of blokes from east coming off their dissapointing loss to portland the weekend before.
Interesting last few matches for this last half of the round. Top 3 teams all playing this weekend. Would certainly expect Hamilton to get up. Anyone wanna go out on a limb and tip whose gonna get the job done at mellville oval?
would be a big ask for tigers to win at melville oval. lions to have a crack as always
footyrules
6 Jul 2008, 21:54
would be a big ask for tigers to win at melville oval. lions to have a crack as always
by the scores on the weekend it looks like the tigers got over the "big ask" and the lions didn't really have their "always" crack!!
showtime1090
7 Jul 2008, 12:40
Yeah the Lions did have a crack, unfortunetly for them it stopped after half time. Where it went from being 7 goals down to something like 17 in the 3rd quarter.
likeapuma
7 Jul 2008, 20:59
by the scores on the weekend it looks like the tigers got over the "big ask" and the lions didn't really have their "always" crack!!
lions did have a crack just couldnt hold off the 3rd quarter onslaught.
have to pay credit to portland they must have been on song to win at melville oval
At this stage it looks like the two Hamilton sides and Portland for the Premiership. Anyone care to differ?
likeapuma
9 Jul 2008, 20:54
At this stage it looks like the two Hamilton sides and Portland for the Premiership. Anyone care to differ?
would have to agree with ya there sam42. who will be top sa side
Past it
10 Jul 2008, 10:09
Had an entertaining day at the kennel the other saturday and watched the dogs get over the tigers. Durbs played and copped a bit of flack from our boys but all in good fun and he played well. The funny part of the day were the umpires especially one who was over ruling the other one all day from 45 -50 metre`s away, and the one getting over ruled has umpired about 6 or seven grand finals and the one doing it has just came back to umpiring after a small lay off maybe he should of stayed retired as there were about 16 fifty metre penalties given for god knows what, and the body langauge between the two umpires was not good I thought big K was going to dong the over ump at one stage.Heard both clubs were going to lodge a complaint about the umpire, in one way it was funny and another it ruined a very good game of football. From what i have seen this year the standard of umpiring has dropped dramtically especial from our side of the border. And the SA dogs a big chance for September action.
Guido_Notalent
10 Jul 2008, 13:06
Probably have something to do with the fact that all three of these sides have been dominating under 18's for the last few years and things dont really look like changing this year in the under 18s
SWANDOG
10 Jul 2008, 14:42
That is a good call Guido. Portland, Imps and Hamilton have won 9 out of the last 12 flags in the under 18s. Also interesting to note that no SA side apart from South has won the flag in the seniors sice North in 1989. Mind you South won enough to share the load.
It does look a race between the three as i said a couple of weeks ago, but East must be still in the hunt, just going down to Portland and beating Imps a few weeks back.
Anyone to stick their neck out and predict a medal winner at this stage of the year.
footballnut
10 Jul 2008, 21:30
that Is A Good Call Guido. Portland, Imps And Hamilton Have Won 9 Out Of The Last 12 Flags In The Under 18s. Also Interesting To Note That No Sa Side Apart From South Has Won The Flag In The Seniors Sice North In 1989. Mind You South Won Enough To Share The Load.
It Does Look A Race Between The Three As I Said A Couple Of Weeks Ago, But East Must Be Still In The Hunt, Just Going Down To Portland And Beating Imps A Few Weeks Back.
Anyone To Stick Their Neck Out And Predict A Medal Winner At This Stage Of The Year.
England
likeapuma
13 Jul 2008, 20:29
marcus england must be in with a shot for shore. jarred ryan also
footballnut
15 Jul 2008, 10:24
marcus england must be in with a shot for shore. jarred ryan also
ryan has been suspended.
Macbeth
15 Jul 2008, 21:37
The Kangaroos could be in strife according to the Border Watch (http://www.borderwatch.com.au/archives/350):
likeapuma
15 Jul 2008, 22:08
ryan has been suspended.
in that case he wont be in the runnin.
did get reported for hitting matt gore at heywood but got off.
guess he wasnt so lucky this time.
if england dosent win it who will?
GOING PLACES
17 Jul 2008, 23:30
F Nut
Heard there was a bit of excitement in the main street of Hamilton tonight with a heap of pigs running around after an over turned truck (Hope the driver is ok)
Could have sent my old mate Porn out there to round them up, he used to be a gem at rounding them up at the Sandy on a Friday night back in the day.
Anyway good luck this week. Go the Imps.
Adrian Shelton
18 Jul 2008, 01:01
How was that stuff allowed in the budget? I thought the leauge would clear everything that could be in there
Also what stars of old are still about in the 2's? Lane, Richter, maybe even James at the Roos?(hell maybe even Horse!!:D)
footballnut
18 Jul 2008, 13:53
F Nut
Heard there was a bit of excitement in the main street of Hamilton tonight with a heap of pigs running around after an over turned truck (Hope the driver is ok)
Could have sent my old mate Porn out there to round them up, he used to be a gem at rounding them up at the Sandy on a Friday night back in the day.
Anyway good luck this week. Go the Imps.
funny you say that mate, the truck tipped about 50 metres from where porno lives. the only trouble with that is mate you were probably with him most friday nites!!!!! he told me you had what was left over. iam sure he had bacon for breakfast the next day!
how did you go last week? are you in the five still? havent heard from yippa lately, has he gone soft!!
cruising
21 Jul 2008, 16:29
funny you say that mate, the truck tipped about 50 metres from where porno lives. the only trouble with that is mate you were probably with him most friday nites!!!!! he told me you had what was left over. iam sure he had bacon for breakfast the next day!
how did you go last week? are you in the five still? havent heard from yippa lately, has he gone soft!!
Went to imps v west on sat.What a game from wal ewing in the ctr,absolutley smashed merrett from west,after hearing so much about merrett as a player & Looks unfit. Went over to listen to west at 3/4 time their coach spoke quiet well considering all the inj they have from the 1st time we played them. go dogs.
fbn, yippa still alive and kicking. Word is porn is still playing pretty good footy which is good to hear.
Been watching a few skye games and gp has been playing well getting to the ball nose first.
Imps are looking ok for the finals. Has there been any talk around the coaching panel as to pushing darren forward come finals or do you think because he's dominated down back he'll stay there?
footballnut
22 Jul 2008, 10:16
fbn, yippa still alive and kicking. Word is porn is still playing pretty good footy which is good to hear.
Been watching a few skye games and gp has been playing well getting to the ball nose first.
Imps are looking ok for the finals. Has there been any talk around the coaching panel as to pushing darren forward come finals or do you think because he's dominated down back he'll stay there?
mate he has had a chance to kick a few in the last couple of weeks, he looks very nervous around the big sticks, all the imps boys are urging him to kick one, but he is yet to deliver. dont know but he is such a dominate chb that it would be unlikely, but am sure come finals time anything could happen. been on the southern thread, mate gp copes a flogging on that site, probably all justified! you will have to bring the crew up if you are not in finals.:thumbsu:
footballnut
24 Jul 2008, 14:57
The Kangaroos could be in strife according to the Border Watch (http://www.borderwatch.com.au/archives/350):
noticed that merrett and durbridge are in SA team for country championships how does everybody think they will go? would have thought copping, duldig, hunter, ellis, mccraken, ryan would have at least been in the initial training squad.
saw merrett play last week, he "tried" to play on wally ewing all day, ten minutes into the game he was 20 metres behind, he would probably be the first to agree he coped a whacking, i went to the game hoping to see him play, because previously on this site people had rated him very highly and some suggested he would be the best player in the league. got to say i was a bit disappointed from a spectators point of view. if west had 15 clinton cowells they would never been beaten, hats off to him he has developed into a magnificent player. anybody have thoughts on the SA squad.
SnIcKeRs #3
25 Jul 2008, 18:22
So much hype about this porno fello but i am yet to be impressed with him. Am i missing something? Looks to be nothing much when there are guys like Digger Flett Mcracken Cook Nulty running around. Bias maybe?
footballnut
26 Jul 2008, 01:39
So much hype about this porno fello but i am yet to be impressed with him. Am i missing something? Looks to be nothing much when there are guys like Digger Flett Mcracken Cook Nulty running around. Bias maybe?
no bias, just a supporter who gets to watch him a fair bit, i would say he is in the same mould as steve duldig, which is a fair wrap in its self. flett, mccraken,cook are all forwards and nulty is a ruckman, i dont get your point. he plays at chb, dont see how you can compare him to these other guys, except for duldig. is he the best chb in the comp? my opinion is that he is, you may have another opinion , which you are fully entitled too.
Hamilton looks like they did it again with their bad kicking. First time against Imps they kicked 26 points then on Saturday they have 12 scoring opportunities to around 3 in the last quarter and lose by a point. Do they get the yips against Imps?
sportsfanatic
27 Jul 2008, 19:07
^
nope its all porno kelly :rolleyes:
it makes me laugh that football nut has a crack at merrett and then goes into bat for kelly
merrett has been good this season, not great, but good
it would seem the only people that think kelly has even been half decent are his mates on here or imps people
not saying that he isnt a good footballer he might be
just saying he has had a less than impressive season compared to all the hype he came into the league with