View Full Version : Crows In The Sanfl

birdmanptr
1 Jul 2006, 18:26
My mate just told me who went to Prospect today that both Hinge and Clake swam alright through the prospect pool

Gets!
1 Jul 2006, 18:30
Good to see :thumbsu:

wtf?

jo172
1 Jul 2006, 18:50
Good to see :thumbsu:

wtf?

It was a disturbingly rainy match.

Gets!
1 Jul 2006, 19:04
Oh right, been at work all day.

RoosterLad
1 Jul 2006, 19:07
It didn't rain during. Rained before the game, a bit of drizzle in the first term and half time but apart from that it was fine.

I didn't think Clarke did very well and Hinge was unsighted.

North flogggggged.

jo172
1 Jul 2006, 19:12
It didn't rain during. Rained before the game, a bit of drizzle in the first term and half time but apart from that it was fine.

I prefer Drummond's reports for some reason:D

RoosterLad
1 Jul 2006, 19:13
I prefer Drummond's reports for some reason:D

Calm down young man.

Drummond
1 Jul 2006, 19:24
Calm down young man.
Let the people speak. :D

SpringChoke
1 Jul 2006, 22:44

North flogggggged.

Neither will be at the AFC next year.

meh
1 Jul 2006, 23:15
Watched most of the game...Hinge started ok but was then flogged by Ladhams.

I just dont see anything in Clarke, i know it wasnt perfect conditions for a big man, but Maric can do the same job as Clarke and hes our ruckman for the future.

Clarke's jump timing in the ruck was awful. Kick a goal though.

jo172
2 Jul 2006, 14:13
For those still boycotting the Sunday Mail Sugars kicked 3 for Glenelg reserves, Obst and Griffin played seniors but were unsighted presumably due to unfavourable conditions and best of all Bock kicked a goal for Sturt reserves :thumbsu:

Drummond
2 Jul 2006, 19:31
Meesen had about 8 possessions, and probably about 10 hitouts.

Spend 40% of the game on the bench, and even went down back at some stage. Great coaching Hill... :rolleyes: :(

Oh and the Legs are a disgrace.

macca23
2 Jul 2006, 20:16
Watched most of the game...Hinge started ok but was then flogged by Ladhams.

I just dont see anything in Clarke, i know it wasnt perfect conditions for a big man, but Maric can do the same job as Clarke and hes our ruckman for the future.

Clarke's jump timing in the ruck was awful. Kick a goal though.

I think I'll take the word of assistant coach Steven Rowe who doesn't have the anti-Clarke bias of some posters on this board.

Rowey said 29 hit-outs, several possessions and a goal when resting up forward. Certainly not the picture painted by the anti-Clarke brigade.

Maric can't do the same job at this stage as Clarke as he clearly showed today. I'm not anti-Maric as I think he'll develop into a damn good player, but Craig is getting him ready for next year, not this year's finals.

If we're serious about winning the flag, Clarke will be there in the finals - and I'm sure he will be.

NikkiNoo
2 Jul 2006, 20:55
agree macca ^^

I would have to say that the hardest position an afl player going back to an sanfl side to play in would be the ruck. That is the position where most set plays are and if you are not able to regularly train with that side then it would make it very difficult to play in the sanfl. That needs to be considered when doing a recap of an afl player in an sanfl time, that they have minimal time training with the sanfl side.

For those that think that Clarke won't be there in finals, heed the words of a recently retired ruckman (John Barnes) who states that Clarke is the hardest ruckman to play against as he has a great leap and can tap with either hands and you never can pick which one he will use.

Drummond
2 Jul 2006, 20:57
I would have to say that the hardest position an afl player going back to an sanfl side to play in would be the ruck.
Let the excuses fly! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :rolleyes:

NikkiNoo
2 Jul 2006, 21:01
Let the excuses fly! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :rolleyes:

Not an excuse, an opinion. What do you think is the hardest position / role for a player when dropped / coming back through the sanfl?

RogerRabbit69
2 Jul 2006, 21:04
heed the words of a recently retired ruckman (John Barnes)
I'd never heed the words of John Barnes. The bloke's as thick as ****.

Nonetheless, I wouldn't be surprised if Clarke gets a call-up at some stage.

RoosterLad
2 Jul 2006, 21:07
Not an excuse, an opinion. What do you think is the hardest position / role for a player when dropped / coming back through the sanfl?

Bench.

NikkiNoo
2 Jul 2006, 21:07
I'd never heed the words of John Barnes. The bloke's as thick as ****.

Nonetheless, I wouldn't be surprised if Clarke gets a call-up at some stage.

He may not be the brightest spark around when it comes to general stuff / common sense, I agree, but listen to him talk about footy and he knows what hes talking about and often picks things up about particular teams before the others on that show.

RogerRabbit69
2 Jul 2006, 21:10
I don't think he's the brightest spark when it comes to anything (football included).

macca23
2 Jul 2006, 23:50

North flogggggged.

14 disposals, 29 hit-outs and a goal according to the Sunday Mail.

Made the best players in his first game ever with Glenelg.

I'd say that's not too bad at all.

Drummond
2 Jul 2006, 23:52
14 disposals, 29 hit-outs and a goal according to the Sunday Mail.

Made the best players in his first game ever with Glenelg.

I'd say that's not too bad at all.
Stats lie for crying out loud, RoosterLad was at the game and I think he would be a fair judge too.

Southerntakeover
3 Jul 2006, 00:11
Stats lie for crying out loud, RoosterLad was at the game and I think he would be a fair judge too.

That is true, but hes hardly unbiased either. The roosters come first with him.

macca23
3 Jul 2006, 00:12

Give it a rest Drummond - it's a lost cause.

Glenelg's assistant coach in Rowe said today that he was terrific, the journalist at the game agreed, but we are expected to prefer the opinion of a pro-Maric, anti-Clarke spectator. :rolleyes:

By all means push Maric's wheel-barrow, but let's test whether your a fair judge or not.

How did you think Maric went today??

RoosterLad
3 Jul 2006, 00:15
Yeah Clarke won a lot of hit outs (one of the Glenelg statisticians said he had 65 after the game actually, which was obviously crap) but he didnt do much with them, O'Hara beat Clarke, thats my opinion anyway.

I saw Clarke carve up North at Noarlunga last year when he was a Panther, he was nowhere near as good yesterday, to be fair the conditions weren't great for him.

FCAGJAT
3 Jul 2006, 00:21

Clarke > Van Berlo

Southerntakeover
3 Jul 2006, 01:53
Clarke > Van Berlo

Funny that you have to mention van Berlo in every post you make.

I know what your trying to do... i guess provoking the great mans rage is better than getting no attention from him at all, right?

WRONG!

When VB gets mad, people get blown up. Just consult the van Berlo thread for proof.

FCAGJAT
3 Jul 2006, 03:17
Funny that you have to mention van Berlo in every post you make.

I know what your trying to do... i guess provoking the great mans rage is better than getting no attention from him at all, right?

WRONG!

When VB gets mad, people get blown up. Just consult the van Berlo thread for proof.

I felt bored :p
note: I haven't posted much about vb ... I like him as a player. I have nothing against him.

Jars458
3 Jul 2006, 11:06
It seems that some supporters need to find a player to criticise on our list or they are not happy.

Clarke is a great tap ruckman and will be back for teh Crows soon.

Maric is going to be a beauty also. His work ethic is terrific.

We are flying at the moment in every respect. Enjoy the ride and stop bitching.:)

macca23
3 Jul 2006, 11:15
Yeah Clarke won a lot of hit outs (one of the Glenelg statisticians said he had 65 after the game actually, which was obviously crap) but he didnt do much with them, O'Hara beat Clarke, thats my opinion anyway.
I saw Clarke carve up North at Noarlunga last year when he was a Panther, he was nowhere near as good yesterday, to be fair the conditions weren't great for him.

Clarke 29 hit outs, 14 disposals.

versus

O'Hara 9 hitouts, 6 disposals
Wakelin 10 hitouts 4 disposals

So O'Hara beat Clarke?? Okayyyyy ...........:confused:

RogerRabbit69
3 Jul 2006, 12:21
I watched the match on TV. Thought Clarke was dominant around the hit-outs but didn't do much around the ground. The conditions weren't exactly suitable, though. Pretty good game by him, I would have thought.

Stiffy_18
3 Jul 2006, 13:04
It seems that some supporters need to find a player to criticise on our list or they are not happy.

Clarke is a great tap ruckman and will be back for teh Crows soon.

Maric is going to be a beauty also. His work ethic is terrific.

We are flying at the moment in every respect. Enjoy the ride and stop bitching.:)
Agreed. Clarke will be back in this week.

Thunderstruck
3 Jul 2006, 14:55
I saw the whole game on TV and can definitely say Clarke was the best ruckman on the ground. While it wasn't his best game, he was solid and certainly beat every opponent ruckman he played on more times than not. Also 14 touches for Clarke around the ground is a pretty good effort first game back.

As much as we love big EEVan and as good as he has been, when it comes down to FINALS pressure, the experience and nous of Clarke cannot be underestimated and thus once he has some games under his belt should come in for Maric in the finals. Maric has plenty of time to develop and no doubt will develop into a fine ruckman for AFC.

- PC -
4 Jul 2006, 00:25
, when it comes Maric has plenty of time to develop and no doubt will develop into a fine ruckman for AFC.
Have to agree... I love his desire to get to the next contest...if you look in the background he is always sprinting

Vic Crow
4 Jul 2006, 02:13
How did others go? I'm interested in Skipworth's game in particular.

-CG-
4 Jul 2006, 09:27
How did others go? I'm interested in Skipworth's game in particular.

The eagles had a bye, so he might have had the weekend off like Bernie Vince did :D

Vic Crow
4 Jul 2006, 14:49
The eagles had a bye, so he might have had the weekend off like Bernie Vince did :D
Ah Ok. I'm sure he went over to Bernie's for the weekend. :p

- PC -
4 Jul 2006, 16:24
A weekend at Bernies... I reckon Bernie would be the life of the party