H.b. Mcphee,bradley,lovett-murray
C. Mcveigh,watson,stanton
H.f. Hird,lee(looked Ok There In Last Quarter),campo
F. Lovett,lucas,monfries.
Foll. Hille,jjohnson,m.johnson
Inter. Ryder,dyson,jolley,heffernan
Emerg.reynolds,heffernan,peverill
In.jolley,lovett,ryder,slattery
Out Soloman(inj)(can't Afford Too Many Blokes Not 100%)
Bolton(never To Play Again)
Heffernan(probabley A Little Unlucky ,but Need To Give Jolley A Game)
Reynolds(disgraceful Miss In The 3rd Quarter Cost Us Big Time).
I Think With This Side We Would Stand A Good Chance.
At Least The Forward Line Has A Bit Of A Class Look About It
Longy413
3 Jul 2006, 13:22
You named Heff on the bench and in the emergencies. Haven't got Cartledge anywhere.
Heff didn't get massive amounts of the ball, but he was one of a few players on the ground (for both teams) to show some composure with the footy.
I'd leave Ryder at Bendigo for another week or two. Let him get some full games under his belt.
I'd also leave Lee at CHB, go in with one ruckman. Use Bradley to give Hille a chop out.
Wouldn't be suprised if Bolton plays on Pavlich. Let's hope it doesn't happen.
Agree with your other ins, Slattery, Lovett and Jolley should all come in. Not sure what they'll do with Johns.
Leave Johns out, see if Lovett can pick up some of the slack, he needs to work his but off for a few weeks
rioli brownlow
3 Jul 2006, 13:34
You named Heff on the bench and in the emergencies. Haven't got Cartledge anywhere.
Heff didn't get massive amounts of the ball, but he was one of a few players on the ground (for both teams) to show some composure with the footy.
I'd leave Ryder at Bendigo for another week or two. Let him get some full games under his belt.
I'd also leave Lee at CHB, go in with one ruckman. Use Bradley to give Hille a chop out.
Wouldn't be suprised if Bolton plays on Pavlich. Let's hope it doesn't happen.
Agree with your other ins, Slattery, Lovett and Jolley should all come in. Not sure what they'll do with Johns.
sorry meant to be cartledge not heffernan as an out.
sheeds loves playing the young blokes in their home state ,thats why paddy will play. i reckon kepler could hold down chb this week, with mcphee to play on pavlich(who we can concede 3-4 goals too) while lee can take a strong mark and is an accurate kick from 50.
just wondering if anyone knows who mark bolton is sleeping with down at bomberland???
mate, we've all been trying to work it out for years :p
King_Of_Ling
3 Jul 2006, 13:54
What has happend to Johns? Did he even play on the wknd? for either 1st or ressy's?
go_the_bombers
3 Jul 2006, 14:15
I wouldnt be surprised if Ryder got a recall with the game being played in WA and his family will be there!
Karlostj
3 Jul 2006, 14:29
There are a number of possible Ins:
Lovett, Johns, Slattery, Jolley, Ryder..... I don't think there will be 5 changes though... If Lovett and Johns both come in then Reynolds would be a chance to go... I can't see both Slattery and Jolley coming in either... Ryder could play, although the Dockers are playing Polak and others in the ruck due to Sandilands being out and Longmuir obviously playing injured... I don't think that we need two ruckman. LRT dominated in the ruck in the Swans vs Dockers match....
I think most likely Ins will be Lovett, Slattery and Johns.
Outs will be from Cartledge, Lee, Reynolds, NLM (he's going through a bad patch) and perhaps Bolton....
Not sure if there are any injuries....? Could be some selection dilemas for the first time in a while with Lovett, Ryder, Johns, slattery, Jolley or vying for selection....
NLM wont get dropped, what r u smokin, hes been good for us.
S.C[BANKS]
3 Jul 2006, 17:06
in-lovett, Slattery, Jolley
out-Cartledge, Mark McVeigh, Mark Bolton
Longy413
3 Jul 2006, 17:09
Why McVeigh?
rioli brownlow
3 Jul 2006, 17:15
']in-lovett, Slattery, Jolley
cartledge and bolton yes!
but mcveigh surely not!! why???????
What has happend to Johns? Did he even play on the wknd? for either 1st or ressy's?
no missed the weekend with the flu (of some variety)
']in-lovett, Slattery, Jolley
McVeigh ??????
He hasnt had huge numbers every week but the blokes he has played on havnt either.
Karlostj
3 Jul 2006, 18:15
NLM wont get dropped, what r u smokin, hes been good for us.
He's had 4 poor weeks in a row.... I don't think he will get dropped, but its a possibility....
ManWithNoName
3 Jul 2006, 18:27
In: Johns (Lucas showed he can't handle being the only tall forward, he's far to selfish), Ryder, Lovett (If ready)
Out: Cartledge, Reynolds, Lovett Murray
B: Welsh, Fletcher, Solomon
HB: Bradley, Lee, McPhee
W: Dyson, Watson, MJ
HF: Lovett, Lucas, Bolton
F: Hird, Johns, Monfries
R: Hille, JJ, Stanton
Int: Heff, Ryder, Campo, McVeigh
He's had 4 poor weeks in a row.... I don't think he will get dropped, but its a possibility....
His numbers may be down a little bit, but he's still averaging 18 per game.
We're playing in Paddy's home state this week and he has played well on the weekend, he'll be in the seniors against Freo.
Karlostj
3 Jul 2006, 19:08
We're playing in Paddy's home state this week and he has played well on the weekend, he'll be in the seniors against Freo.
He may not be needed against Freo. Sandilands is unlikely to be playing and Longmuir is very underdone.
I think that Polak did a lot of the ruck work agains the Swans... Hille and Bradley should be able to handle the ruck...
But you could be right given that the game is in his home state.
Longy413
3 Jul 2006, 19:20
Farmer out.
mcphee_is_a_gun
3 Jul 2006, 20:05
In: Jolley, Johns, Slattery
Out: Hird, Campo and Carts.
Darealrath
3 Jul 2006, 21:12
I have a silly feeling we could win. It should pass though.
Bring in Jolley, Freo don't like accountable blokes who are hard at it. Lovett for pace on the big ground too.
Out Hird and Carts.
Dr Moose
3 Jul 2006, 22:04
In: Johns (Lucas showed he can't handle being the only tall forward, he's far to selfish), Ryder, Lovett (If ready)
So give him another option. Can anybody else reliably take a set shot from 50m with a netter than average chance at converting?
Could Lovett play as a speedy FF out of the goalsquare ala Mark Williams? Providing we could hit a target that is, our is his speed needed around the large Subiaco oval?
Longy413
3 Jul 2006, 22:35
Worked against Freo last year.
carn_the_dons
3 Jul 2006, 22:36
i'd prefer a mark johnson in as full forward to lovett, johnson while not as quick is stronger overhead, lovett is a better crumbing forward
Lovett can take some good overhead marks on the lead. We've missed him being dangerous around the goal area, could have beaten the Kangas if he had been playing and playing well.
Longy413
3 Jul 2006, 22:40
Lovett is fantastic overhead. Strong pair of hands, good leap, hard to spoil.
The D-ROD
3 Jul 2006, 23:39
cant believe sum r even contemplating the thought of dropping mcveigh and nlm...seriously they hav been 2 of the better players this year...
also heff is safe, hes held his head up high in an ordinary team most games...
possible inclusions: jolley, ryder, lovett
its time to give the kids sum full games...ryder, dyson, lee, jolley were already goin to hav the worst possible year wuld like to see sum more development...
possible outs: solomon, bolton, hird
i dont want to lose to freo...there 1 of my most hated sides...what a pathetic football club...its goin to be agony to see us get rolled by such a queer side...
keepzitreal
4 Jul 2006, 01:47
Id go
B Slattery Fletch Welsh
HB McPhee Lee McVeigh
C Bradley Watson Dyson
HF Lovett Lucas NLM
F Monfries Johns MJ
R Hille Stanton Heff
INT: Jolley, JJ, Solomon, Reynolds
in WA on the sports page today - mcphee is named as doubtful because of some injury i( as well as hird) so he may be out ?
rioli brownlow
4 Jul 2006, 16:50
in WA on the sports page today - mcphee is named as doubtful because of some injury i( as well as hird) so he may be out ?
he is fine!! will play
peppy la pew
4 Jul 2006, 20:50
i dont want to lose to freo...there 1 of my most hated sides...what a pathetic football club...its goin to be agony to see us get rolled by such a queer side...
Dear me, so much hate grasshopper. Let it go it is only a game of footy, but while we are on the topic of being "pathetic", erm well you get my drift. Good luck on Friday regardless.:thumbsu:
Id go
B Slattery Fletch Welsh
HB McPhee Lee McVeigh
C Bradley Watson Dyson
HF Lovett Lucas NLM
F Monfries Johns MJ
R Hille Stanton Heff
INT: Jolley, JJ, Solomon, Reynolds
Good to see you are persisting with Reynolds- leave him in for the rest of the year on the forward line - take note Sheedy. Make or break for the guy, who at least can lead and mark in the right places.
Has Joel Reynolds got the mental toughness to play league footy?
Longy413
4 Jul 2006, 22:45
Has Joel Reynolds got the mental toughness to play league footy?
Are you basing that on his goalkicking?
Yeah and also his general body language. I know he has missed a lot of footy but he does ooze confidence. When I look at young footballers I like to see a bit of self confidence. I reckon if you dont have it then the game chews you up pretty quick. The good players at TAC cup level like Thomas, McLean and Delidio always backed themselves and i think it is a key to making it as an afl player.
Longy413
4 Jul 2006, 23:20
I reckon he had that in his first year, perhaps the injuries have taken their toll. I guess it is also difficult to find confidence in this current side.
I'm not sold on him, but I do think he looks dangerous around goal and does give us another option once Lloyd and Lovett get their respective acts together.
He generally is a good kick, his conversion suprises me because I do think he's better than that. Hopefully if he starts to hit a couple that confidence will return/improve and we might just have a player. He'd want to get a hurry on though.
Boris_Bewick
5 Jul 2006, 00:33
He generally is a good kick, his conversion suprises me because I do think he's better than that. Hopefully if he starts to hit a couple that confidence will return/improve and we might just have a player. He'd want to get a hurry on though.
Agreed his kicking problems are 100% mental I'd say, needs to beat those demons and then we will hopefully start seeing the 3's or 4's bob up.
Don't think we should drop him as it is his last chance to make something of himself. It would be unfair, in a side that is not going to play finals, to drop him after giving him 4 or 5 full games, and totally ruining the momentum and confidence he is (slowly) getting at the top level.
I hope Jolley does get a game. His form with Bendigo has been great. I watched him play Vs Casey Scorpions and IMO was the match winner. Hopefully he continues the form.
Did Jolley travel? Does anyone know?
Warrack Eagles
6 Jul 2006, 14:54
B. Slattery,fletcher,welsh(last Chance)
H.b. Mcphee,bradley,lovett-murray
C. Mcveigh,watson,stanton
H.f. Hird,lee(looked Ok There In Last Quarter),campo
F. Lovett,lucas,monfries.
Foll. Hille,jjohnson,m.johnson
Inter. Ryder,dyson,jolley,heffernan
Emerg.reynolds,heffernan,peverill
I reckon Lee looked really good last week I would like to see him play in the back half. He is a big lanky boy.
Not a bad side in should have a real chance against this freo out fit.:D
Longy413
6 Jul 2006, 15:03
Did Jolley travel? Does anyone know?
Don't think so. Pretty sure Pev did though.
For all the speculation of us possibly beating Carlton, Kangas (prior to the result...) this game is beginning to look like a possible win. Freo dont look threatening n their only game breaker right now is Pavlich...perhaps Hedland also but Im not really sold on the rest of the side...might have to suss out some odds on us winning this one...anyone have this same niggling thought?
S.C[BANKS]
6 Jul 2006, 17:51
Why McVeigh?
I made that judgement yesterday when my head maintain thoughs on his two mistakes when it clearly had a chance to have a shot for goal , but now my heads clear i recognize that i was wrong. But you got to admit even though it was only 2 of his 16 disposal those mistakes was substantial for a vetaran who had played more than 50 games of high level football, eh i guess everone makes mistakes.
eastaugh36
6 Jul 2006, 18:06
For all the speculation of us possibly beating Carlton, Kangas (prior to the result...) this game is beginning to look like a possible win.
For sure. I reckon we will have a very clear idea after 15 minutes of the first quarter. Dockers are either on or off.
Just dont get your hopes up too much, please.
If the game is close at half time, we'll have an idea 5-10 minutes into the 3rd quarter, which will tell us if we'll keep it close going into the 4th or if we'll concede 6-7 goals to 2.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 18:36
IN: Ryder, Peverill, Lovett, Johns
OUT: Hird (inj), Solomon (inj), Cartledge (omitted), Heffernan (omitted)
Solomon, Heff and Slattery are the emergencies.
Im ****ing sick of these crap changes.
Please Sheeds, drop Pev for Heff, this is bulldust
And maybe even Johns for Slattery, play Lovett out of the goalsquare
crap?? at least they are being picked on form in the VFL.
I know most of us see Pev as finished but in all fairness he is playing for his future and if you get 25 plus possessions in the ressies then you should be looked at.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 18:48
crap?? at least they are being picked on form in the VFL.
I know most of us see Pev as finished but in all fairness he is playing for his future and if you get 25 plus possessions in the ressies then you should be looked at.
Obviously not or else Jolley would've got a game long ago :thumbsd:
What are we going to turn Jolley into another star who doesnt get a go at Essendon?
His form has been pretty good for Bendigo but he hasnt exactly taken the game by the scruff of the neck every week. He isnt our saviour . He will get a go at some stage.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 18:57
What are we going to turn Jolley into another star who doesnt get a go at Essendon?
His form has been pretty good for Bendigo but he hasnt exactly taken the game by the scruff of the neck every week. He isnt our saviour . He will get a go at some stage.
I never said that but he has been consistantly very good and should be getting a game ahead of at least Peveril easily.
So basicly loyal clubmen who have given their all for us should just be given no shot at proving their worth when their careers are on the line even if their form in the VFL is better than some of the kids.I cant see Pev being around next year , in fact he shouldnt be but he also deserves a few chances to prove his worth.
I have seen 95% of the games Jolley has played for Bendigo and it has only been the last 6 or so games he has started to produce consistant form.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 19:09
So basicly loyal clubmen who have given their all for us should just be given no shot at proving their worth when their careers are on the line even if their form in the VFL is better than some of the kids.I cant see Pev being around next year , in fact he shouldnt be but he also deserves a few chances to prove his worth.
I have seen 95% of the games Jolley has played for Bendigo and it has only been the last 6 or so games he has started to produce consistant form.
The same can be said for Jolley. He needs to prove his qorth at AFL level or else hes gone...
So what you are saying is 1 year on the rookie list gives him more credits than Perveril ?
Jolley only has to play well in the VFL for the rest of the year to get another shot.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 19:29
So what you are saying is 1 year on the rookie list gives him more credits than Perveril ?
Jolley only has to play well in the VFL for the rest of the year to get another shot.
I thought Jolley couldnt be re rookied after this year?
Peveril has had his chances and has been proved not to be good enough.
carn_the_dons
6 Jul 2006, 20:31
any word on mcphee? if he doesn't play i reckon heffernan will come back in.
Benno_900
6 Jul 2006, 20:44
For all the speculation of us possibly beating Carlton, Kangas (prior to the result...) this game is beginning to look like a possible win. Freo dont look threatening n their only game breaker right now is Pavlich...perhaps Hedland also but Im not really sold on the rest of the side...might have to suss out some odds on us winning this one...anyone have this same niggling thought?
Sorry, but if you can't beat us...
You better get used to it Macca because Sheedy has plenty of crap to feed the supporters between now and the middle of next year in his quest to wring out another contract extension. The reconnaisance mission he spun out for the Perth trip was garbage. Supporters are getting sick of this type of line.
I thought Jolley couldnt be re rookied after this year?
Peveril has had his chances and has been proved not to be good enough.
He cant be rookied but if he plays out the year well for Bendigo there is a very strong chance he will be elevated onto the senior list.He is not in a position where he has to soley rely on playing senior footy to gain a spot on the senior list.
You and i both agree Pev is past it , my only point is there has to be a balance between giving the young blokes a chance and showing some loyalty and respect to those who have given the club plenty.
mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Jul 2006, 22:40
He cant be rookied but if he plays out the year well for Bendigo there is a very strong chance he will be elevated onto the senior list.He is not in a position where he has to soley rely on playing senior footy to gain a spot on the senior list.
You and i both agree Pev is past it , my only point is there has to be a balance between giving the young blokes a chance and showing some loyalty and respect to those who have given the club plenty.
I can see your point even if i don'y really agree with it.
Longy413
6 Jul 2006, 23:19
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about.
Three senior players have gone out and a kid that clearly isn't up to it.
Three kids have come in and a bloke who we'd presume would be on his last chance.
Yeah we all want to see the kids, we have two more playing than last week.
Call me crazy, but I have a sneaking suspision that the side might just line up as is.