View Full Version : Current injury list, incl Huddo's return July 29

SpringChoke
3 Jul 2006, 13:17
Ben Hart - 3 weeks - When fit he will be a walk up start in our first 18 and rightly so.

Ben Hudson - 6 weeks - As much as I would love to see Huddo playing in the place of either of the underperforming Clarke or Biglands, I think he won't play again until 2007.

Nathan Bock - Back now. Great news for Bocky, however he must dislodge Stevens on form and not favour given Stevens unbelieveable improvement. Bodes well for us that we now have another fit tall waiting in the wings.

Pfeiffer - Test. Youngster, won't play this year.

Jericho - Test - Meh. Getting his body ready for his next club.

Skip - Test - I will be surprised if he plays again this year.

Gibson - 2 weeks - Youngster, won't play this year. Can't wait to see this guy get a game.

Douglas - 3 weeks - Youngster, won't play this year.

Perrie - 3 weeks - I'm not sure about The Dispenser. May get a game or 2 back in the SANFL to test his knee. However, if fit and healthy should be a walk up start. I reckon Craigy loves him, given his work rate.

Knights - 1 week - Provided we don't have any more injuries, I think Knights may be pushing to get back in the side before finals.

Welsh - 1-2 weeks - I don't think Welsh will play agin this year unless we decide to give Roo a rest for a week or so. With Roo and Burton in the forward line I can't find a place for Scotty.

VB- I would have said see Knights but this kid plays beyond his years. I reckon once he is injury free Craigy will rush him straight back in the side.

Conslusion:

Walk Up start this year when injury free:

Hart, VB, Pez.

Will have to fight his way to get back in:

Knights, Bock, Welsh.

Unlikely to see again this year:

Skipworth, Hudson :( , Jericho.

Youngsters who won't play until next year:

Gibson, Douglas, Pfeiffer

MaccasNeighbour
3 Jul 2006, 13:32
Pretty good summary there SC. Personally I'd like to see Welshy back in the side, he is the sort of player who just has a knack of kicking goals. It also frees up Roo to spend more time in the middle, his hardness and experience there will be very important come finals.

RoosterLad
3 Jul 2006, 14:07
Yeah Welsh could be handy in the finals, he can be inconsistent but when hes on, he kicks bags.

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 14:09
Hudson will play this year, mark my words.

:)

RoosterLad
3 Jul 2006, 14:11
Hudson will play this year, mark my words.

:)

For North in the finals? ;)

Vader
3 Jul 2006, 14:13
I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Douglas given one or two games late in the season, just a "taste" of the action. His form before injury was outstanding.

Given the form of the team as it stands at present, I wouldn't be surprised to see both Hart & Perrie forced to come back via the SANFL. Both have been out for a long time and given the form of the incumbents there is no reason to rush their return prematurely.

VB would probably be given one or two games in the SANFL, just to get him back up to speed after a lengthy layoff, but would then be brought back in (we need to be continually playing our youngsters in preparation for the future).

Glenno23
3 Jul 2006, 15:17
I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Douglas given one or two games late in the season, just a "taste" of the action. His form before injury was outstanding.

Given the form of the team as it stands at present, I wouldn't be surprised to see both Hart & Perrie forced to come back via the SANFL. Both have been out for a long time and given the form of the incumbents there is no reason to rush their return prematurely.

VB would probably be given one or two games in the SANFL, just to get him back up to speed after a lengthy layoff, but would then be brought back in (we need to be continually playing our youngsters in preparation for the future).

I don't agree with the Hart comment. This guy has been playing AFL long enough, and has earned his right to play. When he is fit, he plays for the AFC. His fitness won't be that bad, as he is able to run and cycle with a busted arm.

Perrie should be given a week in SANFL. Who does he play for?

Van Berlo i agree. youngster needs to get himself back into it at a lower level.

KUNG FU
3 Jul 2006, 16:35
Good analysis.

But on Perrie, I'm not so sure he'll go straight into AFL. I feel he's not a natural footballer and probably needs a game in the SANFL first to warm him up. He plays for North, so he might have to fight to get into that line up at the moment haha

KUNG FU
3 Jul 2006, 16:38
Also, I think Maric is struggling a bit, so I wouldn't be surprised if Huddo had a shot in August. Maybe even the Meese? I can hear Drummond screaming with excitement like a hysterical girl at a Beatles concert hahaha

Mad Dog
3 Jul 2006, 16:48
Huddo will play this year - no question

Vader
3 Jul 2006, 16:52
Huddo will play this year - no question

Yes, but for which team? Adelaide Crows, North Adelaide Roosters, or both?

Mad Dog
3 Jul 2006, 17:07
Yes, but for which team? Adelaide Crows, North Adelaide Roosters, or both?
both......Huddo will be back in the ruck for the AFC before Round 22

Drummond
3 Jul 2006, 17:48
He'll be in the Crows team for Rd.1 next season. :)

RoosterLad
3 Jul 2006, 17:55
Vader- bringing Hart back through the SANFL would be gold, but unfortunately that wont happen, he is capable of walking back into the Adelaide team. Perrie should come back through the Cocks though.

Glenno- As i just mentioned, Perrie is a North player now.

Huddo must come back through the SANFL, give him a couple of games at least, see how he goes before we say he will be back in the AFL, hopefully he comes back well as hes better than all our current ruckmen combined.

birdmanptr
3 Jul 2006, 18:29
Ben Hart - 3 weeks - When fit he will be a walk up start in our first 18 and rightly so.

Ben Hudson - 6 weeks - As much as I would love to see Huddo playing in the place of either of the underperforming Clarke or Biglands, I think he won't play again until 2007.

Nathan Bock - Back now. Great news for Bocky, however he must dislodge Stevens on form and not favour given Stevens unbelieveable improvement. Bodes well for us that we now have another fit tall waiting in the wings.

Jericho - Test - Meh. Getting his body ready for his next club.

Skip - Test - I will be surprised if he plays again this year.

Gibson - 2 weeks - Youngster, won't play this year. Can't wait to see this guy get a game.

Douglas - 3 weeks - Youngster, won't play this year.

Perrie - 3 weeks - I'm not sure about The Dispenser. May get a game or 2 back in the SANFL to test his knee. However, if fit and healthy should be a walk up start. I reckon Craigy loves him, given his work rate.

Knights - 1 week - Provided we don't have any more injuries, I think Knights may be pushing to get back in the side before finals.

Welsh - 1-2 weeks - I don't think Welsh will play agin this year unless we decide to give Roo a rest for a week or so. With Roo and Burton in the forward line I can't find a place for Scotty.

VB- I would have said see Knights but this kid plays beyond his years. I reckon once he is injury free Craigy will rush him straight back in the side.

Conslusion:

Walk Up start this year when injury free:

Hart, VB, Pez.

Will have to fight his way to get back in:

Knights, Bock, Welsh.

Unlikely to see again this year:

Skipworth, Hudson :( , Jericho.

Youngsters who won't play until next year:

Gibson, Douglas, Pfeiffer

Spot on good no excellent post my question is how aerobic fit would Nathan Bock be even if he got his back right he would have to be very under done aerobicily.If he has not done the hard yards leg wise while his back would be ok some soft tissue injury may be waiting.The same would almost go for Scott Welsh,Ian Perrie and Ben Hudson.

If Chris Knights comes back and stays sound he can rotate through the midfield leaving Mark Ricciuto at full foward what a luxary who i see as almost permament full foward as Richard Douglas looks like fitting into our midfield rotation and by the sounds of it the club is keen to get Martin Mattner in their.So if the midfield dont suffer no problems leaving Mark at FF

Adam BK
3 Jul 2006, 18:58
Crows injury list
afc.com.au
3:41:22 PM Mon 3 July, 2006

Chris Knights quad Test
Jason Porplyzia hip Test
Ben Hudson knee 3 weeks
Scott Welsh quad 1 week
Nathan van Berlo collarbone 3 weeks
Chris Knights quad 1 week
Richard Douglas knee 1 week
Ian Perrie knee 1 week
Chad Gibson hamstring Test

------

Two Chris Knights :eek: ...i wish
Good to see Perrie isnt to far away and is there any reason why they have forgoten poor old Benny? He wasnt on the injury list last week either.

KUNG FU
3 Jul 2006, 19:17
Huddo pencils in July 29 for his comeback in the SANFL

http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=278065

Ben Hudson has pencilled in July 29 for his comeback from a knee reconstruction.

The Crows ruckman, sidelined since August last year after damaging his knee against Port Adelaide, expects to be available to play for North Adelaide in the SANFL while the Crows are in Perth to take on West Coast in round 17.

Fitness coach Stephen Schwerdt said Hudson had been completing regular training sessions and would increase his workload in the next couple of weeks.

“He has worked really hard to get his knee right,” Schwerdt said. “So if everything goes to plan with his training in the next two or three weeks, Ben will play on the 29th.”
zMSgetJS('adsize=300x250&position=island');http://ad2.pamedia.com.au/images/trans.gif
July 29 is also the expected return date for Nathan van Berlo (collarbone).

Midfielder Chris Knights has overcome a quad strain and should be available this week while Ben Hart (broken arm), Ian Perrie (knee) and Richard Douglas (knee) could all be ready to play on the weekend of July 15. So, too, should Scott Welsh (quad).

Nathan Bock and Darren Pfeiffer have come off the injury list for the first time in nearly four months after both played a half in the SANFL reserves last weekend.

Jason Porplyzia, who copped a knock to the hip late in the second quarter against Geelong on Sunday, hopes to be available to train later this week.

The Crows have a recovery session on Tuesday from about 4.30pm and the main session will be at AAMI Stadium on Thursday from 11am. There will also be a short session at the SCG in Sydney on Saturday at 4.15pm.

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 19:56
http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=278065

Never doubt the Getsmeister.

The AFC board's second favourite son.

:thumbsu:

Also bloody good to see Bock and Pfeiffer played a half last week in the SANFL ressies.

rayven
3 Jul 2006, 20:06
Hart and hudson 3 weeks away,perrie 1 week with welsh.:thumbsu:

Jeez training is gonna get interesting:rolleyes:

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:14
Hart and hudson 3 weeks away,perrie 1 week with welsh.:thumbsu:

Jeez training is gonna get interesting:rolleyes:
Given Huddo has been out for a year, I doubt he will return in Crows colours this year, but great to have him playing again. Could be a real bonus for the Roosters!

I expect Perrie & Welsh will need a good 3+ weeks in the SANFL to get match fit.

Hart IMO will return 1st, given he has maintained his fitness levels & usually has no problems slotting straight back in.

Glenno23
3 Jul 2006, 20:25
Given Huddo has been out for a year, I doubt he will return in Crows colours this year, but great to have him playing again. Could be a real bonus for the Roosters!

I expect Perrie & Welsh will need a good 3+ weeks in the SANFL to get match fit.

Hart IMO will return 1st, given he has maintained his fitness levels & usually has no problems slotting straight back in.

What about your opinion of Bock, Mr.McGoodwin?

I'm guessing he will suit up for his team this week. How many weeks would he need to return to the right amount of fitness?

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 20:28
There is no doubt, Hudson WILL play for the AFC this year.

He is absolutely jumping out of skin.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:33
What about your opinion of Bock, Mr.McGoodwin?

I'm guessing he will suit up for his team this week. How many weeks would he need to return to the right amount of fitness?
Bock hasn't played all year & also need 3+ senior games for the Eagles to get match fit & be in form as he now needs to force Stevens out of the side (which is something I would not have considered a month ago).

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:34

I doubt AFC will risk him unless we have injuries to ruckmen. Too much at stake as we have seen the disasterous consequences of rushing ruckmen back to early many times in the past.

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 20:43
But if he is ready, he is ready.

Our ruckmen come finals time will be Biglands and Hudson.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:47
But if he is ready, he is ready.

Our ruckmen come finals time will be Biglands and Hudson.
I suggest you do some research on how long it takes players to get match fit when returning form a knee injury. Certainly takes more than a few weeks!

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 20:48
He is aiming to play SANFL in round 17.

Will be back in Round 19 after 2 solid games in the SANFL.

Drummond
3 Jul 2006, 20:50
I agree Gets! but don’t bother, it’s pointless. :rolleyes:

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:56
He is aiming to play SANFL in round 17.

Will be back in Round 19 after 2 solid games in the SANFL.
Time will tell. I would love Huddo back as he is easily our best ruckman, but IMO it is highly unlikely.

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 20:58
I agree Gets! but don’t bother, it’s pointless. :rolleyes:
Says the poster who judges Meesen to be BOG for every game! :rolleyes:

Drummond
3 Jul 2006, 21:03
Says the poster who judges Meesen to be BOG for every game! :rolleyes:
How about supporting local footy then genius. :rolleyes: Where do all your heroes come from? :eek:

Leaping Lindner
3 Jul 2006, 21:06

I reckon Hart needs three weeks in the SANFL as well.:p

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 21:07
How about supporting local footy then genius. :rolleyes: Where do all your heroes come from? :eek:
I have been to many local footy games this year & have had great interest in watching the younger players (have posted many a time on my thoughts on some players after watching them in a local game). Your point?

Kane McGoodwin
3 Jul 2006, 21:08
I reckon Hart needs three weeks in the SANFL as well.:p
You wish! ;) The Roosters don't need him the way they are playing.

Leaping Lindner
3 Jul 2006, 21:11
You wish! ;) The Roosters don't need him the way they are playing.

I was thinking more of one game in particular.

SpringChoke
3 Jul 2006, 21:25
I have been to many local footy games this year & have had great interest in watching the younger players (have posted many a time on my thoughts on some players after watching them in a local game). Your point?

I'm with Kane on this one. Most players, especially big guys, if rushed back too early tend to do their knee again, Darcy, Primus, Schwartz etc. If they don't think he will be right to play for us, then rest him for the remainder of the year. Bugger risking him by playing him with The Chickens.

Wayne's-World
3 Jul 2006, 21:26
I suggest you do some research on how long it takes players to get match fit when returning form a knee injury. Certainly takes more than a few weeks!
Kane I agree no way Hudson will be part of a Crows premiership assault this year unless an injury occurs....he might then get a nod over Maric who certainly isn't ready for an AFL finals campaign ATS.

Hudson will play out the year with North and help them in the finals....a great preparation for 2007!!

Stiffy_18
3 Jul 2006, 21:31
I get the feeling that some people think Huddo will come in before the finals and have the same sort of impact as he did last year. Going by the past history that highly unlikely to happen. Every player, especially a ruckman, who has done his knee, has taken another 12 months of footy to return to where they were, thats if they ever return to that level.

We all LOVE Huddo and what he brings to the side but I would be VERY surprised if he a) plays for us in the finals and b) is anywhere near as good as he was last year after 12 months off with a reconstructed knee.

History suggests that Huddo won't be back to his best until the end of 2007, early 2008 season.

SpringChoke
3 Jul 2006, 22:02
Kane I agree no way Hudson will be part of a Crows premiership assault this year unless an injury occurs....he might then get a nod over Maric who certainly isn't ready for an AFL finals campaign ATS.

Hudson will play out the year with North and help them in the finals....a great preparation for 2007!!

If there is no intention to play him with us then why would you risk him by allowing him to play a handful of games at North. I don't see the point of that. By doing that we, the AFC, have everything to lose and nothing to gain.

I would only allow him to play at North if the intention is to play him with the AFC this year. But i don't think we will see Huddo until 2007.

jc67
3 Jul 2006, 22:14
Huddo was cleared by all the necessary people months ago, It was/is only Neil Craig who has categorically said no.
Huddo has been training like a man possessed since early may (mostly fitness work) and right now is probably as fit he has ever been. (let alone the obvious muscle development during the year off)
4 - 5 weeks of SANFL is about right to get his timing back, so it will only be ball skills that have a question mark.

IMHO his desperation in a pack and ability to clear it don't necessarily need polished ball skills.
As I've been saying for months Ben Hudson = Crows secret finals weapon.

Gets!
3 Jul 2006, 22:36
Myself, drummond and jc67 will be proven right.

jc67
3 Jul 2006, 22:49
Myself, drummond and jc67 will be proven right.
uh oh, im in a gang!:eek: :eek: :p

Wayne's-World
3 Jul 2006, 22:53
If there is no intention to play him with us then why would you risk him by allowing him to play a handful of games at North. I don't see the point of that. By doing that we, the AFC, have everything to lose and nothing to gain.

I would only allow him to play at North if the intention is to play him with the AFC this year. But i don't think we will see Huddo until 2007.
Because after a year of he'll be very rusty as a player and most players take a season to get back to some reasonable form.

Playing him at the lower intensity SANFL level will give him 6-8 games, get confidence in his footy and knee and back into the swing of footy....thus making his 2007 season an opportunity to reach top form by game 1

Wayne's-World
3 Jul 2006, 22:57
Huddo was cleared by all the necessary people months ago, It was/is only Neil Craig who has categorically said no.
Huddo has been training like a man possessed since early may (mostly fitness work) and right now is probably as fit he has ever been. (let alone the obvious muscle development during the year off)
4 - 5 weeks of SANFL is about right to get his timing back, so it will only be ball skills that have a question mark.

IMHO his desperation in a pack and ability to clear it don't necessarily need polished ball skills.
Great spin doctoring but you should sudy the stats on players returning from knees and in particular big fellows .......

It's not about his fitness level, it's about his mental confidence in his knee and stepping straight back into the high pressure AFL and in particular finals ...it's a romantic notion but I'll take the odds it doesn't happen ;)

Drummond
3 Jul 2006, 23:05
Because after a year of he'll be very rusty as a player and most players take a season to get back to some reasonable form.

Playing him at the lower intensity SANFL level will give him 6-8 games, get confidence in his footy and knee and back into the swing of footy....thus making his 2007 season an opportunity to reach top form by game 1
If you say so Wayno.

He will most likely play a few games in the SANFL and come back to the Crows by about Round 20. I think it’s either that or not playing him at all. Getting confidence in his footy and his knee can be done by one of two ways. The one I mentioned above, or by sitting out the remainder of this season and then putting in a good pre-season and NAB Cup. I think spending the remainder of the season in the SANFL is pretty pointless if it leads nowhere.

jc67
3 Jul 2006, 23:15
Great spin doctoring but you should sudy the stats on players returning from knees and in particular big fellows .......

It's not about his fitness level, it's about his mental confidence in his knee and stepping straight back into the high pressure AFL and in particular finals ...it's a romantic notion but I'll take the odds it doesn't happen ;)
I'm not a great believer in stats as a predictor on an individual basis, free will, and all that. (also how may of those previous were physiotherapists?)
Fitness gives confidence, and he would understand what has happened better than anyone at the club (Sando aside).
The mind set concerned imo would be more along the lines of previously being prepared to break a leg in order to stop a goal, and now there may be a bit of indecision. But its Hudson we are talking about so I personally think that he would put his body on the line just to get to the contest.
PS; what odds are you giving?

Wayne's-World
3 Jul 2006, 23:31
I'm not a great believer in stats as a predictor on an individual basis, free will, and all that. (also how may of those previous were physiotherapists?)
Fitness gives confidence, and he would understand what has happened better than anyone at the club (Sando aside).
The mind set concerned imo would be more along the lines of previously being prepared to break a leg in order to stop a goal, and now there may be a bit of indecision. But its Hudson we are talking about so I personally think that he would put his body on the line just to get to the contest.
PS; what odds are you giving?
Does being a physiotherapist help his physical and mental recovery .....I highly doubt it .....most players in recovery would be extremely well managed in their programs.

I think it's a huge statement for any of us to presume his state of mind running back onto an AFL ground...particularly early on.

In real terms he's only going to be playing his 2nd season of AFL and your expecting huge things of him given his limited footy experience AND a knee reco to make a significant contribution in 2006????.....can't see it myself.

- PC -
3 Jul 2006, 23:37
I doubt AFC will risk him unless we have injuries to ruckmen. Too much at stake as we have seen the disasterous consequences of rushing ruckmen back to early many times in the past.
Agree

Steven Trigg mentioned in an interview that August 14 was his anniversary date and that unless circumstances demand it... the player and the club will wait the full 12 months.

I cant see special circumstances requiring a ruckman when we are 11-2 and clear by a game

jc67
3 Jul 2006, 23:37
Does being a physiotherapist help his physical and mental recovery .....I highly doubt it .....most players in recovery would be extremely well managed in their programs.

I think it's a huge statement for any of us to presume his state of mind running back onto an AFL ground...particularly early on.

In real terms he's only going to be playing his 2nd season of AFL and your expecting huge things of him given his limited footy experience AND a knee reco to make a significant contribution in 2006????.....can't see it myself.

cool
so what odds are you giving?:D

- PC -
3 Jul 2006, 23:40
cool
5-1 he doesnt play before August 14 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=246481&highlight=august)

The Crows Truth
3 Jul 2006, 23:42
If you say so Wayno.

He will most likely play a few games in the SANFL and come back to the Crows by about Round 20. I think it’s either that or not playing him at all. Getting confidence in his footy and his knee can be done by one of two ways. The one I mentioned above, or by sitting out the remainder of this season and then putting in a good pre-season and NAB Cup. I think spending the remainder of the season in the SANFL is pretty pointless if it leads nowhere.

i tend to agree. i dont think getting sanfl game time in to him is the clubs first priority. if they decide to bring him back this year it would be with a view to playing for Crows come Sept

But then again none of us really know whats happening in Craigies head ;)

jc67
3 Jul 2006, 23:43
5-1 he doesnt play before August 14 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=246481&highlight=august)
I agree he wont play for the crows before then.
odds on playing finals?

- PC -
3 Jul 2006, 23:46
odds on playing finals?
Hmm Possibly... I wouldnt but maybe as a surprise he may shock

Wayne's-World
4 Jul 2006, 00:08
cool
My gambling constitutes a donation, so I'll stay away from that one ;)

Mad Dog
4 Jul 2006, 10:29

This is a very interesting debate....and from a personal point of view - I would ban Huddo from playing for the Hens, and tell him to prepare for the first bounce of Round 1 2007. Everything that Kane and WW and others have said is very true about big fellas and knees.

That's why I take particular note everytime Craigy and the big fella himself talk about his return. Both seem AdamAnt that he will be back before the end of the minor round. As others have said - why would you bother unless we were fekked with injuries.....but the club seems determined to bring him back exactly 12 months after his injury.

Allefgib
4 Jul 2006, 12:04
Going to weigh in on this one.

Hudson knows what he is doing I reckon. They guy is a physio himself and I back his own opinion of his readiness as well as the likes of Sando and co. If he is ready he is ready. Sure he may not come up to touch before finals.. but lets find out. Sounds like they will play him in SANFL this season. Why on earth would you if its not to see if he can come up for the crows come finals time? As I think springy said.. everything to lose and nothing to gain by just playing him in SANFL with no thoughts of him cracking the crows side.

I reckon he'll play SANFL and they'll look to see where his confidence and skills are at. If they are good enough I reckon they have every intention of getting him back into the side for finals. They guy would be desperate keen given its not the start of a long career as well... he only has another 3 to 4 years i him surely?

birdmanptr
4 Jul 2006, 17:53

Ben Hudson the icing on the cake

maccas_no1
4 Jul 2006, 19:37
With all these players due back over the next month I would hate to be a selector right now at the AFC:D The players that are in the side now deserve to be there so the players that are coming off injuries for a change need to earn their spot back due to the AFC's fantastic depth.

Ohh the joys of being an AFC supporter:D

Crow-mo
4 Jul 2006, 21:37

this is the view that makes most sense to me :thumbsu:

jc67
5 Jul 2006, 13:13
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19687604%255E25397,00.html

BEN'S GIANT LEAP

05jul06

CROWS ruckman Ben Hudson is winning his race against time - and a major knee injury - to now be sure of playing a genuine part in Adelaide's chase for this year's AFL premiership.

Hudson is to resume playing competitive football - with North Adelaide in the SANFL - on July 29, wearing a large knee brace approved by the AFL's medicos.
This is two weeks ahead of the once non-negotiable demand Hudson spend exactly one year in rehabilitating his reconstructed right knee which was damaged in Showdown XIX last August 14.

But a hitch-free recovery program - not even the usual swelling of the reconstructed knee - has allowed Hudson to get an early clearance from his surgeon.

This is a significant gain for both Hudson and Adelaide. Hudson is now assured - starting from North's clash with Norwood at Prospect Oval on July 29 - a month of competitive football to build up his fitness and form before the Crows start their AFL finals campaign.

It is a win-win-win scenario for Adelaide. Hudson's availability gives coach Neil Craig another genuine ruck option in case Rhett Biglands and Matthew Clarke or rookie Ivan Maric cannot be selected in September due to injury or suspension.

And, importantly, Hudson's availability increases internal pressure to keep up standards at Adelaide.

With Hudson back in action at the end of the month, the big question is, can the 27-year-old continue to defy time by winning a place back in the Adelaide line-up for the AFL finals?

"Form will dictate that," said Adelaide fitness coach Stephen Schwerdt, who has praised Hudson for his hard work ethic in getting his fitness up to standard.

"And that becomes Neil Craig's decision after assessing how well Ben plays at North Adelaide."

There is a further surprise to come from Hudson when he resumes with the Roosters in the SANFL. His football skills have improved rather than flagged while Hudson has been on the recovery trail.

"He is better in a lot of areas we identified as weaknesses for Ben to work on," Schwerdt said. "He's worked in the gym to be a lot stronger. His sprint work has allowed him to make some improvement there. He is better in a few areas."

Adelaide is outright favourite for the premiership - despite a heavy injury count in the first half of the season. The return from injury of experienced and valued players suggests Adelaide, with greater depth at selection, is to be a more imposing contender for the 2006 flag. Experienced defender Ben Hart (broken arm), valued forward Ian Perrie (knee) and specialist forward Scott Welsh (thigh) are all listed to resume playing on July 15.

Centre half-back Nathan Bock is working up match fitness after playing at the weekend - in the SANFL reserves - his first competitive game in almost four months.

Gets!
5 Jul 2006, 13:16
Well there ya go!

He will play for us come finals and play well.

Mad Dog
5 Jul 2006, 13:43
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19687604%255E25397,00.html

BEN'S GIANT LEAP

05jul06

CROWS ruckman Ben Hudson is winning his race against time - and a major knee injury - to now be sure of playing a genuine part in Adelaide's chase for this year's AFL premiership.

.......*snip- really good stuff about Ben's recovery*.....

Adelaide is outright favourite for the premiership - despite a heavy injury count in the first half of the season. The return from injury of experienced and valued players suggests Adelaide, with greater depth at selection, is to be a more imposing contender for the 2006 flag. Experienced defender Ben Hart (broken arm), valued forward Ian Perrie (knee) and specialist forward Scott Welsh (thigh) are all listed to resume playing on July 15.

Centre half-back Nathan Bock is working up match fitness after playing at the weekend - in the SANFL reserves - his first competitive game in almost four months.
I definately detected a stirring in the loin region after reading this article.....:eek: :p :D