View Full Version : 50 names on recruiters lists
These are 50 guys that I think will be under consideration come draft-camp time.
Tom Hawkins (Melb Gr / Metro) - Neitz style power forward who can take contested marks and is prepared to be physical.
Scott Gumbleton (WA) - Athletic and mobile key forward or back who has the courage to fly.
Bryce Gibbs (SA) - covers a lot of ground accumulating touches and using it well. Not quite as dynamic as Cooney or as quick as Griffin. But in the class.
Lachlan Hansen (Gipps / Country) - Athletic and footy smart. More a CHB than a forward which will have him off top spot.
Mitchell Thorp (Tas) - A CHF at the moment, but could be a ruck-rover. Best case Pavlich, worst case Murray Vance. Player conversions can make some clubs nervous.
James Sellar (SA) - Poor championship won't hurt him much. May be caught between being a ruckman and a forward. Mobile by ruck standards, less so compared to a lot of AFL KP players.
Joel Selwood (Bendigo / Country) - Solid, footy-smart wingman. Lacks real speed and is more of an accumulater of touches. Similar to Crawford.
Daniel Connors (Bendigo / Country) - Unobtrusive but talented centreman who can play inside and outside. Quick, good skills in traffic and willing to tackle too.
Matthew Leuenberger (WA) - Geunine ruck height, good mobility and can take a mark. Willing to take his own kicks not just handball off. Not all clubs want a giant tap ruckmen these days which hurt Wood last year and might hurt Leuenberger this.
Albert Proud (Qld) - Genuine centreman with a nice aggressive streak and good skills. Standout performer at the 2005 Championships and backed it up again.
Clinton Benjamin (WA) - Forced to play CHB but is more a wingman or flanker. Struggles to win enough of the ball and is quite outside.
Ben Reid (Murray / Country) - Extremely raw and light. Struggles in the contest and in KP, but a 194cm guy who can play on the wing will catch the eye. With development he could be a modern fullback.
Jack Riewoldt (Tas) - Probably more flanker than KP type. Still very light and lacks physical presence. Probably a 3rd forward type like Ben Dixon.
Ricky Pettard (QLD) - Talented centreman who uses the ball well, has a great junior resume and prepared to work in packs.
Jarryd Morton (WA)- Pressed into service as a FB/CHB and CHF. Will appeal to AFL clubs as a wingman or flanker with good size, skill and mobility.
Jarryd Allan (Calder / Metro) - Lightly built CHB who has improved this season. Will appeal as the modern counter-attacking backman who can be trusted to carry the ball.
Brock O'Brien (WA) - specialist HBF who rebounds well, can play tight, is cool under pressure and is normally a solid kick.
Jarrad Harborw (Murray / Country) - deceptive pace, nice kick and is tricky in traffic. Goal-kicking midfielders are good value.
Tim Houlihan (Nth Ballarat / Country) - Light and raw wingman. Has pace and a good kick, needs bulk and the confidence that comes with it.
James Hawksley (WA) - Tall, quick, long kicking HBF who needs a lot of extra bulk.
Todd Pfeiffer (SA) - Lousy championship will be excused. Wingman with good long kick and skills, just needs to find the ball a little more.
Chris Schmidt (SA) - Tidy half-back or wingman who reads play well and sets up rebound. Good kick and passable pace. Looks like could play as a defensive midfielder.
Bachar Houli (Western / Metro) - Injury history will hurt him and clubs will want a medical all-clear. Also is probably just a forward flanker which will hurt his value.
Clayton Collard (WA) - Nice skills, vision and awareness seems wasted across HFF. Really needs to become a genuine on baller. Has enough talent for clubs to get excited.
Leroy Jetta (WA) - big reputation but is quick without being explosive, plays too wide and is too hit and miss with his kicking.
Jarryn Geary (Bendigo) - Cheeky around goals and reads the ball off hands very well whether up forward or off the ruckman in the centre bounce. Good pace and skills.
Travis Boak (Geelong / Country) - Genuine centreman with pace, wins the ball and generally makes good decisions.
Shane Edwards (SA) - Might be too light to be considered, but can be explosive when he chooses to be and can kick goals.
Eric McKenzie (WA) - Old-style bigger, slower CHB or CHF. Probably a bit out of fashion and may struggle to get picked up.
Josh Kennedy (Sandringham) - Centreman or tough HBF. Would have been in the centre square for Metro if not injured. Probably Hawks f/s.
Shaun Grigg (Ballarat / Country) - Solid allround game without having one standout quality.
Rhyce Prismall (Western / Metro) - Outside centreman who can also play tall.
Tom Anderson (SA) - Solid back-pocket who rebounded well for SA and showed good reading of the play.
Robert Gray (Oakleigh / Metro) - Tricky, cheeky clever forward who kicks goals and shows top-notch footy smarts.
Tom Hislop (Tas) - solid centreman who is good in close but needs to improve his kicking.
Brent Renouf (QLD) - Genuine ruck size and a good tap, but a poor kick will hold him back.
Josh Cubillo (NT) - Talented and clever around the forward line, can find himself time even in packs.
Jackson Sheringham (Geelong / Country) - Quick with good kicking skills and willingness to carry the ball.
Matt Austin (Nth Ballarat) - Grigg's understudy at Ballarat. Plays centre and goes forward and gets goals. Unobtrusive but good allround talent.
Chris Varsamakis (Northern/Metro) - Tough centreman and ball-winner. Won't go early and won't be a star but has Campbell Brown qualities of actually letting teams now he is out there.
Tim McIntyre (Murray/NSW) - Talented rover with some pace and the experience of playing back-pocket to fall back on.
Robbie Tarrant (Bendigo) - Unsighted this season. More a power forward than his brother. Should resume playing soon and will be closely watched.
Dane Avery (Bendigo) - Very outside but classy backman who uses the ball well and is damaging on the rebound.
James Frawley (Ballarat / Country) - best lock-down defender available, is athletic enough to play as a wingman but his poor kicking will hurt.
James Turner (SA) - Outside HFF who is tall and mobile, can take a turn in the centre square and showed a knack for getting on the end of play.
Tom Collier (Tas) - Solid, unobtrusive CHB who plays tight on his man and has the smarts to know when to run off and create.
Matthew Tyler (Ballarat / COuntry) - Poor kicking action, but is very much the modern rebounding CHB who is dangerous with the ball in his hands.
Andrejs Everitt (Dandenong / Metro) - Had a good championships, is OK as a counter-attacker but probably a bit loose man on man.
Peter Faulks (Calder / Metro) - Probably more a flanker than a KP player. Still light and a bit outside.
Matthew Vasilevski (Northern / Metro) - Wins a lot of the ball but can be pretty scrappy in disposing of it.
Some of the highly spoken of QLDers are not on your watch list Weaver?
Will you do another 50 list, love to read your assessment on the other kids.
Any guidance on this? An oversight or other reasons?
Great work. Always love reading your assessments.
Will you do your phantom draft this year?
year of the cat
4 Jul 2006, 10:00
I thought after the championships that both Mitch and Nathan Brown would be worthy of a mention in the top 50.
As I read it, it's not TOP 50. It's just 50 names under consideration. Others will also be under consideration. Including the Brown twins.
Palmer Stoat
4 Jul 2006, 10:15
What about Daniel O'Keefe, Kurt Tippett, and Colin Garland, Weaver? Don't rate them? (I'm surprised that neither of the Brown twins are there too.)
Weaver I think you should have done "700 names on recruiters list" to avoid morons who can't read the name of the thread throwing barbs at you.
philhawk
4 Jul 2006, 11:23
Weaver I think you should have done "700 names on recruiters list" to avoid morons who can't read the name of the thread throwing barbs at you.
I reckon, FFS, it's just 50, not every single possible candidate up for drafting. :rolleyes:
Great work Weaver, much obliged. :thumbsu:
Palmer Stoat
4 Jul 2006, 12:48
Crikey.
Just. Calm. Down.
What's moronic about asking why certain players aren't on Weaver's list? There's no criticism anywhere in this thread except yours.
Yes, I understand the list is provisional.
Yes, I understand the difference between 'consideration' and dead certainty.
For my part, I'm genuinely curious as to why Weaver doesn't include certain players in his list. I'm asking him a question so that he can enlighten me.
So, once again -- for the reading-fricking-impaired among you -- let me say that I'm not contradicting him, and I'm not criticising him. I'm asking someone who knows a lot more about it than me to explain his reasoning because I'm interested.
Capiche?
year of the cat
4 Jul 2006, 12:49
It was hardly throwing a barb as you have put it. I merely wanted to add the Brown boys to the list of 50 because it was an apparent oversight. I object to being labelled a moron too.
Palmer Stoat
4 Jul 2006, 13:03
How, by the way, is this any different to the question I posed that you took such great exception to?
True.
Will you do another 50 list, love to read your assessment on the other kids.
Selective editing PS.
I am interested in Weaver's opinion on the missing QLD kids. I asked if another 50 is forthcoming. What's the problem?
I took exception to the aggressively accusing nature of your post.
This forum needs posters like Weaver who inform the rest of us who are not as informed and are unable to view the rising talent nation wide.
No doubt the players you mentioned are also on the recruiters list. I would like to read Weaver's opinion on these player's as well. You could have asked in a different tone and with friendlier inflection.
I would not like to be Weaver's deffence spokeperson, as I am sure he is capable of doing it himself so let's move on and enjoy reading the information posted.
Cheers
What about Daniel O'Keefe, Kurt Tippett, and Colin Garland, Weaver? Don't rate them? (I'm surprised that neither of the Brown twins are there too.)
That doesnt seem aggressive.
Nothing in it.
Palmer Stoat
4 Jul 2006, 13:51
Selective editing PS.
I am interested in Weaver's opinion on the missing QLD kids. I asked if another 50 is forthcoming. What's the problem?
I don't have a problem. You objected to my post, not vice versa. You asked him about kids he hadn't mentioned. I asked him about kids he hadn't mentioned. I'm not sure what context you think I missed.
I took exception to the aggressively accusing nature of your post.
Aggressive? Accusing? WTF are you talking about? Are you completely oblivious to the irony of accusing me (who asked a simple question, with no ulterior motive) of being aggressive and accusing when, in fact, you accuse me and another poster of being 'morons' and throwing 'barbs' on the basis of your own misreading?
This forum needs posters like Weaver who inform the rest of us who are not as informed and are unable to view the rising talent nation wide.
You'll get no argument from me. I respect Weaver's opinion, which is why I went to the trouble of asking him a question. Given that this is a Draft and Trading board, I thought this entirely appropriate. I didn't, however, count on you and your interesting interpretation of what constitutes 'aggressive' and 'accusatory'.
No doubt the players you mentioned are also on the recruiters list. I would like to read Weaver's opinion on these player's as well. You could have asked in a different tone and with friendlier inflection.
I challenge you to find anything aggressive or accusatory in my original post. The fact is you misread my post -- and jumped to an unjustified conclusion as to what my 'tone' and 'inflection' were.
I would not like to be Weaver's deffence spokeperson, as I am sure he is capable of doing it himself so let's move on and enjoy reading the information posted.
A bit late to act the peacemaker now after you've accused me of being a 'moron', 'aggressive', and 'accusatory', don't you think?
FWIW, you could simply have apologised for your mistake. I would have readily accepted it.
Anyway, I've made my point. I'm all for moving on.
Lingsface
4 Jul 2006, 14:48
Good effort Weaver, will be interesting to see Mckenzies position come draft day, I dont think he could be too slow as he ran a 15.4 in the beep test earlier in the year.
vegas_king
4 Jul 2006, 15:17
not a bad list weaver, and i know this isnt a top 50 list, but just curious about your thoughts on robert eddy and ben ross both from gippsland power.. both had good carnivals especially game 2 for Vic country??
I thougth eddy won plenty of ball, and ross was very quick and smart around the goals?? any thougths
rickster
4 Jul 2006, 15:42
Good effort Weaver, will be interesting to see Mckenzies position come draft day, I dont think he could be too slow as he ran a 15.4 in the beep test earlier in the year.
Beep test measures endurance rather than speed.
kempos_kingz_05
4 Jul 2006, 16:20
What about Sam Fielding?? Surely he'd be in the top 50. He ha shown his worth in the devils this year:thumbsu:
Palmer Stoat
4 Jul 2006, 16:42
Weaver, about Daniel Conners. He really impressed me during the championships. One of the things that stood out to me was how well he kicked the ball. Yet when I had a look at his stats on the TAC site, Conners had 73 effective kicks v. 36 ineffective kicks. Compare that to Grigg who had 125 effective kicks v 52 ineffective kicks. This really surprised me. Is he actually a very good kick (he certainly looks it)?
Of the non-named guys, (question in the thread and via PM)
I don't think there is much call for slowish, power forwards anymore. The pack-marking type of KP player seems destined for the scrap heap. Mitch Brown, Tippett and Nathan Brown are in that category.
The slowish, skilled centreman who gets the ball but can't run and get into space is another who can struggle to get picked up unless he is exceptional. I'd put Fielding, Eddy and Djerkurra in that group.
Rovers, as a general rule, don't get drafted. They have to be jaw droppingly good. I don't see Moss, Colbung, Ross, Anderson, Adams, Hurley are good rovers but don't jump out as being much better than the dozen rovers who gon't get selected every other year.
I emphasise pace, good kicking, the ability to carry the football and I like midfielders who can kick a goal (not too many of those this year). Key position players should be mobile. Ruckmen should be genuinely tall.
There are some others that I considered, but there were 50 slots and some guys miss out.
^^^ Agree with most of that Weaver, but i'd to think that Tippett could be a speculative pick late in the draft. Only been playing aussie rules for a short time now, and looked pretty good in the championships.
Yeah can certainly imagine a guy like Tippett even in the top-10. Seen it a couple of times when clubs have gotten excited about upside and actually found the lack of football background appealling.
Personally I thought that Tippett's main feature was his strength and physicality - considering he is 19 and playing against 17 year olds in some cases - I don't see that as a huge acheivement.
Lingsface
4 Jul 2006, 18:39
Beep test measures endurance rather than speed.
gets pretty quick up around the 15 mark though doesnt it!
vegas_king
4 Jul 2006, 18:42
Of the non-named guys, (question in the thread and via PM)
I don't think there is much call for slowish, power forwards anymore. The pack-marking type of KP player seems destined for the scrap heap. Mitch Brown, Tippett and Nathan Brown are in that category.
The slowish, skilled centreman who gets the ball but can't run and get into space is another who can struggle to get picked up unless he is exceptional. I'd put Fielding, Eddy and Djerkurra in that group.
Rovers, as a general rule, don't get drafted. They have to be jaw droppingly good. I don't see Moss, Colbung, Ross, Anderson, Adams, Hurley are good rovers but don't jump out as being much better than the dozen rovers who gon't get selected every other year.
I emphasise pace, good kicking, the ability to carry the football and I like midfielders who can kick a goal (not too many of those this year). Key position players should be mobile. Ruckmen should be genuinely tall.
There are some others that I considered, but there were 50 slots and some guys miss out.
Ross does have great pace and is a genuine goal sneak (13 goals in 4 TAC games, and 4 in carnival including 3 in 1 game) he is a small forward / wingman i wouldnt class him as a rover. but that is just my opinion and its a fair possibility you know a lot more than me. but like i siad that is just my opinion. Thanks mate.
Great work Weaver, always love reading your write-ups :thumbsu:. Was wondering if I could get your thoughts on Lachlan Carey, he looks a likely type and going by your criteria he looks like the sort of player who would impress u. Was very surprised to see him not get picked for Metro, but found out he suffered an injury. Another bloke who I thought could have impressed u was Adam Wilson, IIRC he made the Metro squad but couldn't crack a game. If I could get your thoughts about what u think of these guys and if/where they go I would really appreciate it.
Tarrant = Over-rated, people only know of him because of his name..
Weaver - What did you think of Lindsey Thomas? Do you think he will get drafted?
WorthTheWaite
4 Jul 2006, 23:33
Djerkurra from NT? From what I've seen and heard, he's actually exceptionally quick and is very evasive. Could be wrong though.
He aint slow at all, but he can look lethargic at times, which sometimes may cause a player to appear slow, but he would run a very good 20m time at draft camp I would have thought.
Thunderstruck
5 Jul 2006, 13:09
Good work there Weaver :thumbsu: but I knew you would miss out Hurley :p
IMO he would have to be considered, he is already standing out at SANFL level and he kicks goals, often 2 a game from his 25-30 touches a game. Just think he is too hard to ignore.
Thomas from what he has shown in the underage comps over here and ressies would also be pretty likely. But at end of the day you have named 50 blokes and they all look pretty good to me, selection criteria is good as well.
Few other blokes not playing carnival that will definitely be considered from SA:
Justin Westhoff and Gavin Hughes.
Few other blokes not playing carnival that will definitely be considered from SA:
Justin Westhoff and Gavin Hughes.
Interested to know what you thought of Westhoff Thunderstruck as you obviously see a fair bit of him. In the few games I've seen of him on ABC2 he's looked impressive up forward. Perhaps it's the hair but he reminds me a little of Hentschel. Still looks like he needs some physical development, but is only 19 years old.
Good work there Weaver :thumbsu: but I knew you would miss out Hurley :p
IMO he would have to be considered, he is already standing out at SANFL level and he kicks goals, often 2 a game from his 25-30 touches a game. Just think he is too hard to ignore.
I just think that he doesn't have the pace to break out into space. His kicks are mostly 30-40m and lack penetration. He often puts teammates under pressure and many of his possesions are the result of getting the ball back after fluffing a kick or handball. Other than getting the ball I don't think there is much to his game, and getting the ball is not highly regarded these days.
Thomas from what he has shown in the underage comps over here and ressies would also be pretty likely.
I think Houli, Jetta, Collard, Gray would be ahead of him. It wouldn't be too many years when 5 similar forward / rovers get taken in the draft proper. I think Thomas may simply be a little too far back in the queue and be a rookie candidate.
Yeah, I have no way of knowing about the SA / WA guys who haven't popped up in a carnival so there will always be 5-6 of those I miss every year.
tomthetiger
5 Jul 2006, 14:19
Whilst I agree with your analysis on Hurley, I doubt he wont get drafted. I think 3rd or 4th round is more likely than not, but to say he will be overlooked by all 16 clubs is a big statement. Hell, for a 4th round pick, why wouldn't you take your chances on a prominent ballwinner, in the hope that they can improve their skills or turn into a player similar to Daniel Cross, and just dish out the hands.
I thought Hurley was reminiscent of Angus Monfries at the same age. I think it will be interesting to see how some talented 17 year olds will develop in the second half of the TAC cup season. I would have thought Dean Putt from the Calder Cannons is one player who will be looked at pretty closely.
nesko_25
5 Jul 2006, 21:26
Wat happened 2 Grant Weeks, Colbonabbin/Bendigo Pioneers/Victoria Country? Tarrent is over-rated, lives on his brothers fame, the only thing appart from being Chris Tarrents bro is his size, he's a dud!
u toser how can u crucify this kid when clearly u havent seen him play.....ill stand corrected if u tell me you have see robbie play.....the kid is a gun and wil be a gun cant wait till your kickin yourself u abosolute ****.e.r
tigers1au
6 Jul 2006, 05:04
I only saw the one NT game at the Champs. But thought Joseph Anderson looked pretty good. Has the prototypical size and pace of the modern day footballer. He was named in the teams best but that was the last I heard of him. Just curious as to why he didn't crack your list of 50 Weaver.
does look very quick and skillful. apparently he was injured in the 2nd game and missed the last.
smith from QLD..bagged 12 goals which i think was the highest for the championships, including 7 in 1 game. took some good contested grabs and seems quick on the lead. apparently runs around the very low 10min mark for the 3k and so wouldn't of minded seeing him play in the midfield. any chance of a late pick?
does look very quick and skillful. apparently he was injured in the 2nd game and missed the last.
There were some good standouts from the NT side... anderson, djekurra, cubillo and cadona.. i thought these blokes led the way for the younger blokes in the team.. it was good to see the boys made up for last years shameful performance..
Was a very quick schoolboy athlete. It's hard to believe anyone could describe him as slow.
Joe Anderson was BF for the Darwin Buffs who won the premiership here in Darwin. Not bad for a 17yo! I think from reading various boards he had a solid, but not spectacular carnival.
Another I was interested in was Austin Wonaemirri (who played with St Marys - the runners up). How was his carnival?
Charlie Sharples and Cyril Rioli are two other well regarded juniors who have not been spoken of much either.
Joe Anderson was BF for the Darwin Buffs who won the premiership here in Darwin. Not bad for a 17yo! I think from reading various boards he had a solid, but not spectacular carnival.
Another I was interested in was Austin Wonaemirri (who played with St Marys - the runners up). How was his carnival?
Charlie Sharples and Cyril Rioli are two other well regarded juniors who have not been spoken of much either.
Austin was heavily tagged during the carnival but still gave the NT plenty of run.. Austin often gets alot of the ball but so does his man. Cyril offered alot up forward the NT but lets himself down sometimes with his finishing skills.
nesko_25
6 Jul 2006, 19:27
u toser how can u crucify this kid when clearly u havent seen him play.....ill stand corrected if u tell me you have see robbie play.....the kid is a gun and wil be a gun cant wait till your kickin yourself u abosolute ****.e.r
I've seen him play, i've actually played on him during an inter-league carnival. He wouldn go into the pack and relied on people giving him the ball.
Weaver, what are the reasons you chose to put Robbie Tarrant on that list??
Thurry, have you seen Tarrant play? What makes him so good?
I've seen him play, i've actually played on him during an inter-league carnival. He wouldn go into the pack and relied on people giving him the ball.
U played on rob tarrent what when he was 14 have u seen thje kid now about 6'4 95kg and im pretty sure when u play a postion like CHF u do rely on people gettin th ball to you but u would no that...he has had a **** run wit injury but wil be a gun.. just proves how much u no nothin about anythin..
During the pioneers practice matches he present well..if he didnt take the mark which he normally did he bought the ball to ground moves well good kick..
footyman
6 Jul 2006, 22:18
apparently runs around the very low 10min mark for the 3k and so wouldn't of minded seeing him play in the midfield. well why didn't he play there then?
nesko_25
7 Jul 2006, 10:06
U played on rob tarrent what when he was 14 have u seen thje kid now about 6'4 95kg and im pretty sure when u play a postion like CHF u do rely on people gettin th ball to you but u would no that...he has had a **** run wit injury but wil be a gun.. just proves how much u no nothin about anythin..
Under 16s carnival actually. I've also seen him train with the pio's and play a praccie 4 them. At CHF u hit the packs hard and crash a few players, he doesnt do that! he relys on the ball getting kicked 2 him lace out! And i've won a premiership playin and CHF.
well why didn't he play there then?
Can't answer that but he did kick 12 over the carnival playing as a forward and Qld had plenty of blokes running through the midfield.
this is geart - thread should be called 'ask Weaver'
ok, here goes...
there's another Qlder called Jesse White - tall, athletic etc - haven't seen him play much but there is a bit of talk about him up this way
just wondered what the super-scout thought???
anyone else?
Palmer Stoat
7 Jul 2006, 12:20
this is geart - thread should be called 'ask Weaver'
ok, here goes...
there's another Qlder called Jesse White - tall, athletic etc - haven't seen him play much but there is a bit of talk about him up this way
just wondered what the super-scout thought???
anyone else?
FWIW, this is the footydraft profile for White from last year:
http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=jessie_white
Under 16s carnival actually. I've also seen him train with the pio's and play a praccie 4 them. At CHF u hit the packs hard and crash a few players, he doesnt do that! he relys on the ball getting kicked 2 him lace out! And i've won a premiership playin and CHF.
And i supose your one of those crash and bash players arnt u :thumbsd: the kid would eat u up but no..... becos u have seen him "train" and play "one practice match" u no he relies on the ball being lace out and dosnt hit packs.... sh.i.t u can disect a player in one game, if that was the case im sure alot of players who have been drafted wouldnt of becos they mite of played one bad game and the clubs new that good players dont have bad games.....:rolleyes: nesko_25 your lost
At 196cm White is not really tall enough to be a tap ruckman and not athletic or talented enough to be a mobile ruckman or key position player.
Chris Smith has shown some good form and clearly has some talent but most of his best stuff has been at full-forward. Don't see much demand for a 184cm FF.
Daniel Dzufer is another tweener. Not really a genuine KP size, and not talented enough to be an onballer. Terrible kick too.
Proud, Pettard, Armitage, Urquhart and Renouf would be the QLD candidates IMO.
Of those only really Proud and Pettard showed any form in the Challenge Cup matches and carried it into the Championships.
At 196cm White is not really tall enough to be a tap ruckman and not athletic or talented enough to be a mobile ruckman or key position player.
Chris Smith has shown some good form and clearly has some talent but most of his best stuff has been at full-forward. Don't see much demand for a 184cm FF.
Daniel Dzufer is another tweener. Not really a genuine KP size, and not talented enough to be an onballer. Terrible kick too.
Of those only really Proud and Pettard showed any form in the Challenge Cup matches and carried it into the Championships.
Weaver what would be your candinates from the VIC country Metro sides
Or you could read the first post in this thread.
What has speed ever had to do with a beep test?
Weaver, I know you had young Josh Cubbillo in your top 50, but do you think there is any chance that any other Northern Territory boys could get drafted?
Perhaps Anderson on a rookie list. He has good height but is another who doesn't really play tall and isn't a genuinely quick or dynamic flanker.
Calma-Holt has been around for a while and might be a HFF option. He has spring and some tricks. Playing at CHF didn't suit him, so he might sneak onto a rookie list as well.
Djerrkurra and Oliver did well but just look solid centremen types.
None of the other players really looked to AFL potential.
Perhaps Anderson on a rookie list. He has good height but is another who doesn't really play tall and isn't a genuinely quick or dynamic flanker.
Calma-Holt has been around for a while and might be a HFF option. He has spring and some tricks. Playing at CHF didn't suit him, so he might sneak onto a rookie list as well.
wat about some of the bottom aged talent... cyril is obviously an almost certainty but wat do u think about young stokes?
becose = because
supose = suppose
arnt = aren't
u = you
no = know
dosnt = doesn't
mite = might
Does it really hurt that much to add one extra letter to your spelling ?
You might get some credibility that way.
Are you serious u have nuthin else better to do than correct typin errors which if i dont say so myself are time saving Daytripper wish i was liven your life sounds fun packed :rolleyes:
Or you could read the first post in this thread.
There were about 4 or 5 names who werent in those squads but you knew that rite???:thumbsd:
^Cheers for that :thumbsu:
bump. bump.
KING-JAMES
7 Jul 2006, 17:22
I have heard rob Tarrant is nothing special at all and cos of the name will get a look. I hate that its so unfair to young kids who worked there arse off to be there.
Weaver, any chance of putting them in some kind of draft order, even if it is a bit rough ? I'm trying to understand the types of players who may slide to the AFC, but people are only doing a 'top 10' in other threads.
Cheers in advance if you do !
wat about some of the bottom aged talent... cyril is obviously an almost certainty but wat do u think about young stokes?
Cyril Rioli (175cm) and Matthew Stokes (173cm) probably will have to prove themselves in the SANFL, WAFL or VFL first. Neither has the express-train quickness that AFL clubs look for in rovers.
Weaver, any chance of putting them in some kind of draft order, even if it is a bit rough ? I'm trying to understand the types of players who may slide to the AFC, but people are only doing a 'top 10' in other threads.
I think it is safe to guess that the list I posted has the guys I think that will go closer to the top - towards the top, with some of the rougher guys towards the bottom of the 50.
Actual draft order is a tougher call. Lots of people on this board get hung up on whether a guy will go at 30, 40 or 60 whereas often there is very very little difference between those 30 spots.
sinepari
7 Jul 2006, 19:36
Couldn't have said it better myself Weaver.
Flag Man
7 Jul 2006, 19:41
I think it is safe to guess that the list I posted has the guys I think that will go closer to the top - towards the top, with some of the rougher guys towards the bottom of the 50.
Actual draft order is a tougher call. Lots of people on this board get hung up on whether a guy will go at 30, 40 or 60 whereas often there is very very little difference between those 30 spots.
Interesting.
Are there any stats handy to back that up?
I have heard rob Tarrant is nothing special at all and cos of the name will get a look. I hate that its so unfair to young kids who worked there arse off to be there.
No club is going to make a $250k investment simply on the basis of a surname. Club recruiters might make an effort to go and see someone with a surname play ... but often this proves a bonus to his teammates. That kid who is working hard might get spotted.
It is pretty well known for example that Richmond were watching Nick Jewell play to see if they should take him father-son. While doing so they spotted Mark Chaffey. Chaffey might not have picked up otherwise.
Having 'name' players like Reiwoldt and 'stars' like Thorp, Hislop, Fielding, Collier and Bellchambers bringing recruiters to Tassie's games might just sneak a guy like Bowden, Shaw or Fagan into rookie-list consideration.
Richmond might have been draw to Oakleigh / Carey Grammar games to see Tom Roach but they spotted Daniel Jackson and a couple of years later their teammate Cam Howat gets a shot on the rookie list.
Having 'bait' like Jon Lee, Joel Selwood and Robbie Tarrant might just mean that another Bendigo kid sneaks onto a rookie list when he otherwise might not have.
Interesting.
Are there any stats handy to back that up?
Too many people think of the draft as a 'ladder'. Guy 1 is better than guy 2. Guy 21 is better than guy 22 by about the same margin.
Much better to think of it as a pyramid.
5-6 elite prospects
10-20 good prospects
30-50 worthwhile chances
80-150 in rookie contention.
Where a guy goes within any 'bracket' is largely up to which club he has caught the eye of, who has what picks, and what they already have on their list.
When a guy like Andrew Swallow 'drops' 20 places it is not really a big deal. All he has done is stay within his 'bracket' but fallen to the bottom of it. A heap of clubs with the relevant picks didn't want an inside midfielder so he fell.
Palmer Stoat
7 Jul 2006, 21:08
Weaver, do you have an opinion on Kurt Tippett (as a potential ruckman, not key forward) and Daniel O'Keefe? Also, Colin Garland -- have you seen much of him?
Matthew Stokes is 178 cm and already playing for the cats !
http://gfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=358834
Matthew Stokes is 178 cm and already playing for the cats !
http://gfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=358834
^Weaver mixed up the names, He meant Cameron Stokes, Not Matthew.
carn_the_cattas
8 Jul 2006, 20:06
^Weaver mixed up the names, He meant Cameron Stokes, Not Matthew.
Any relation?
Great work Weaver, always love reading your write-ups :thumbsu:. Was wondering if I could get your thoughts on Lachlan Carey, he looks a likely type and going by your criteria he looks like the sort of player who would impress u. Was very surprised to see him not get picked for Metro, but found out he suffered an injury. Another bloke who I thought could have impressed u was Adam Wilson, IIRC he made the Metro squad but couldn't crack a game. If I could get your thoughts about what u think of these guys and if/where they go I would really appreciate it.
Still haven't heard your opinions on Lachlan Carey and Adam Wilson, would love to hear your thoughts on them.
sinepari
8 Jul 2006, 20:20
Didn't know where to write this, so I'll put it where I'm reading.
Collard was BOG for South Freo reserves today.
TeamBlues
8 Jul 2006, 20:57
Weaver, I'm not sure how you can call Djerkurra and C Rioli slow/slowish/lacking in pace? They both run the 100m in about 11s and if there's one thing they're not short of, it's pace. Not sure where you are getting this from?
Moon Man
8 Jul 2006, 22:42
What are your thoughts on Rhys Prismall hes a good friend of a friend
Do you think hes good enough to get drafted?
If yes wat number if no why not?
carntheeagles
9 Jul 2006, 16:28
Didn't know where to write this, so I'll put it where I'm reading.
Collard was BOG for South Freo reserves today.
pretty sure you will find that was brad collard not clayton, if that's what you meant
sinepari
9 Jul 2006, 16:50
I thought Brad played League yesterday?
Jetta played reserves too didn't he?
cheers :thumbsu:
Weaver, I'm not sure how you can call Djerkurra and C Rioli slow/slowish/lacking in pace? They both run the 100m in about 11s and if there's one thing they're not short of, it's pace. Not sure where you are getting this from?
Didn't say Rioli was slow, just said he wasn't express. By that I mean a 173cm rover has to be Aaron Davey quick to get looked at, and even then may not get drafted (Davey didn't after all).
As for Djerkurra ... well track times are all well and good but it is about using pace on the footy field. Plenty of great speedsters don't bring that to their game. Djerkurra has been very cruisy and one-paced whenever I have seen him play.
Still haven't heard your opinions on Lachlan Carey and Adam Wilson, would love to hear your thoughts on them.
I don't think Wilson's kicking is good enough, he makes too many mistakes. Huge crowd of roving talent and I don't think he has done enough to move to the front of the queue.
Lachlan Carey might get drafted. I quite like the way he plays but he really hasn't had that game where he takes control and really stamps himself as an elite midfielder.
Could be a weird year at Oakleigh. Carey, Gray, Smith, McKay, Batsanis could all come under consideration and all be overlooked. Each would be on the margins I'd guess.
THE GOW
10 Jul 2006, 15:56
Weaver u r a looser, get a life
beatnik
10 Jul 2006, 16:02
Weaver u r a looser, get a life
ummm...loser has only one 'o'
loser!
NavyBlues
10 Jul 2006, 18:03
ummm...loser has only one 'o'
loser!
its a website about footy not spelling
sinepari
10 Jul 2006, 20:17
The Gow = moron.
philhawk
10 Jul 2006, 20:36
The Gow = moron.
The Gow = One of those players not given a rap by Weaver. :D
xfactor
10 Jul 2006, 23:15
I cant beleive that some of you people out there are having a dig at Robbie Tarrant especailly wen u have hardly seen him. Ive known and played with the guy for virtually my hole life. He has only come to everyones attention in the last 1 and a half years and during that time he has has had 3 major injuries. It takes the best of players time to get back from injuries let alone 3 of them. He has grown up playing most of his junior football in the midfield so its a bit unfair for you guys to have a go at him for playing crap football at CHF. It takes time to get to know how to play that position becuase its one of the most important on the ground. You should give the guy a break. He works just as hard if not harder than any one out there. He has played like 2 games this year because of injury and your giving him crap about them? Just shows how little knowledge you guys have of the game. As for the U16 interleague carnival, mate i was playing with him in that carnival and let me assure no body carved him up so nesko_25 you can just shut the f u c k up you ****er.
xfactor
10 Jul 2006, 23:27
One guy that you guys have failed to talk about in detail is Dane Avery. That kid is an absolute freak. He has been one the biggest parts to a vastly imporved Bendigo side this year. His drive off the backline has been ridulously good and he is the guy that sets up most of the pio's forward thrusts. Plays a bit like Joel Bowden jus a general accross the backline, so attacking yet doesnt let his man kick to many goals on him. He is a little bit of an outside player but that is where he is most suited for the Pio's this year because he sets up so many forward movements. He is a very strong tackler which is mainly becuase of his upperbody strength. He has worked extremly hard to get to where he is doing everything extra which is possible. Any thoughts on him???
sinepari
11 Jul 2006, 19:11
My thoughts are that you are overly defensive.
If I had a cent for every time some kid gets on here and lets rip because nobody rates someone they play with I could pay off Carlton's debts in just one draft period.
footyman
11 Jul 2006, 19:54
My thoughts are that you are overly defensive.
I think xfactor makes a couple of decent points in those posts actually.
Robbie Tarrant has played very little footy this year and perhaps his name will get him somewhere like someone earlier suggested, but with it will come added pressure and expectation, not to mention criticism as has been seen already in this thread.
And Avery has virtually been named in the Pioneers best every week this season and xfactor makes some good points there too.
sinepari
11 Jul 2006, 19:58
Yep his points are fine, but the swearing and carrying on is childish.
xfactor
11 Jul 2006, 20:37
thanks for the support footyman. Yes I do get a bit carried away Sinepari becuase i think its jus very hypocritical when people just bag players who they have never met or been associated with. Thye dont understand that having a last name isnt everything in AFL and you actually have to have some talent to get somewhere because clubs just wont got around wasting draft picks and money. These guys work just as hard as the othe rno bodys who are trying to make the AFl and they shud be given support and encouragment especially when they are going through a difficult time. a bit childish of some of you older blokes to bad them out like that I think. By the way i wasnt asking for your views on what i think but rather on what you guys think of Avery and his chances for the draft?
xfactor
11 Jul 2006, 20:40
Also Jono Lee has had a magnificent season for bendigo. At 197cm he isnt exactly premier ruckman hieght yet is still 2nd in the comptetion for hitouts. Was very unlucky not to make Vic Country considering he slaughtered the other two contenders for the position during the TAC Cup and during the practice game. Very fit kid excellent hands, alright skills and great tap ruckman. Your thoughts on him fellas?
footyman
11 Jul 2006, 22:06
Also Jono Lee has had a magnificent season for bendigo. At 197cm he isnt exactly premier ruckman hieght yet is still 2nd in the comptetion for hitouts. Was very unlucky not to make Vic Country considering he slaughtered the other two contenders for the position during the TAC Cup and during the practice game. Very fit kid excellent hands, alright skills and great tap ruckman. Your thoughts on him fellas?
Richmond have the option on him don't they? It'll be interesting to see if they take it. I noticed during the championships there was an article on him in the Herald Sun where Greg Miller said it was too early to make a call but they wanted to see him improve his mobility.
hirdy.best.eva
11 Jul 2006, 22:11
i agree with xfactor, wouldnt mind his tapping if i was an on baller