View Full Version : Matthew Pavlich: Adelaide
I was watching "Best Goals" on Bigpond TV on afl.com.au and it listed Matthew Pavlich as an Adelaide player. Freudian slip?
I know this will end up being little more than hearsay and speculation, but what are people's thoughts on this. Pav playing a solid marking role at CHF would certainly make us the shorts odds favourite for the flag in 2007
Whispers here suggest Peter Bell will drop the captaincy of the Fremantle Football Club after this season ends and that Matthew Pavlich is the heir apparent to lead the FFC
Not again.
SORRY! I'm a newbie!
Whispers here suggest Peter Bell will drop the captaincy of the Fremantle Football Club after this season ends and that Matthew Pavlich is the heir apparent to lead the FFC
I wouldn't be surprised at all.
Get away from him! All of you!
ALL OF YOU!!!!!
:D
Pav playing a solid marking role at CHF would certainly make us the shorts odds favourite for the flag in 2007
Shorter than $2.80?:rolleyes: :D
This thread was certainly misleading
RogerRabbit69
4 Jul 2006, 16:21
Reckon there's a fair chance Pav would like to return to SA at some stage. Don't know how soon, though.
Shorter than $2.80?:rolleyes: :D
I'd put $100 on at $1.01
maccas_no1
4 Jul 2006, 19:26
Would love him at the AFC but this years draft is loaded with great young players and to get Pavlich we would need to offer Freo our 1st round pick, the AFC would be insane to give it away.
How good do you think the draft is? Giving away a pick in the mid teens in any draft for a player of Pavlich's quality would be an absolute steal. He'd cost a fair bit more. And he'd be worth every bit of it.
RogerRabbit69
4 Jul 2006, 20:42
^^^^ Agreed. I'd give up our first-round pick for Pav in a heartbeat. He's only 24 and should have another 6-7 years of top-line footy in him.
sludgebucket_05
4 Jul 2006, 22:31
Personally knowing the man, even though he has business interests over there he is keen as to finish his career back in Adelaide. Preferably at the Crows.
maccas_no1
4 Jul 2006, 22:42
How good do you think the draft is? Giving away a pick in the mid teens in any draft for a player of Pavlich's quality would be an absolute steal. He'd cost a fair bit more. And he'd be worth every bit of it.
The draft is very very good this year probably the best for a long time.
Stiffy_18
4 Jul 2006, 22:49
The draft is very very good this year probably the best for a long time.
So what?!
As Craigy and Fantasia said on the new today, just because the draft is considered good and deep, its doesn't mean that we will go all out to recruit as many kinds as possible.
If Pavlich is there for the taking and it involves our 1st round pick, you can bet your bottom dollar we will be there offering it.
maccas_no1
4 Jul 2006, 22:54
So what?!
As Craigy and Fantasia said on the new today, just because the draft is considered good and deep, its doesn't mean that we will go all out to recruit as many kinds as possible.
If Pavlich is there for the taking and it involves our 1st round pick, you can bet your bottom dollar we will be there offering it.
Dont get me wrong I would love Pavlich at the AFC, maybe they will throw the farm at Fremantle to secure him, who knows.
Problem is Fremantle have already set the bar on what a player is worth by giving up 3 draft choices for Josh Carr...they would expect something similar imo
maccas_no1
4 Jul 2006, 22:56
Problem is Fremantle have already set the bar on what a player is worth by giving up 3 draft choices for Josh Carr...they would expect something similar imo
Thats my point:thumbsu:
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jul 2006, 23:02
So what?!
We would have no issue giving up our 1st round pick for Pav. Heck we would even throw in the CHB from the best defence in the AFL if he wanted to return home. Problem is Freo would want more, so I can see him coming home just yet - unless he walks.
lol. this is too good, you're the best!
So what?!
Agreed ... and those draft picks don't always turn out the players they are supposed to be. It's definitely a risk worth taking with Pavlich!
It's not our problem that they are shocking traders.
Pick 16 + a player and I'll take Pav in a heartbeat.
Glenno23
5 Jul 2006, 03:18
Lets get S.Stevens worth up for the rest of the season. Let him play it out, and get the boys around him to keep making him look awesome. Trade pick 16 and one S.Stevens for Pav :thumbsu:
Realistically, if Freo don't make finals this year or next, he will walk. His contract runs out at the end of next year. I'm sure he's hungry for some success. And right now, he won't get it at freo with CC at the helm.
But, if a new coach were to come in, i doubt we would get him, as A: they will likely be more successful and B: The new coach couldn't be as dumb as "cuddles"
[Cynic mode = on]
Can't help thinking that if I was after the captain's seat and a pay rise at Freo, I'd be loving rumours like this...
[Cynic mode = off]
:)
hmmm - trade something for Pavlich.....now there's an idea.....:cool: :rolleyes:
How about a ruckman to Essendon for the 1st pick in the PSD?:rolleyes:
Actually, I was thinking of taking up the offers of a 3rd round pick for Meeson from Essendon that we would then on-trade to the Shockers for Pav....:rolleyes:
:eek:
Im looking for the sarcasm smiley, did you leave it off ?
Let me think about this - Freo offers us Pavlich for pick 16 and WE'D be insane to give it away ? Do you think he's only worth a second rounder ?
just maybe
5 Jul 2006, 14:43
Which is why we'd have to give up more than just pick 16 and a player...
Personally knowing the man, even though he has business interests over there he is keen as to finish his career back in Adelaide. Preferably at the Crows.
Until I see him in an Adelaide guernsey, I am not going to get too excited.
corporal
5 Jul 2006, 14:57
I'd put $100 on at $1.01
You would just have to hope that Adelaide didn't come up against Richmond in the grandfinal!
raikkonen
5 Jul 2006, 15:31
It's amazing how eveyone on BF has personal contacts with everyone to do with the AFL. Am I the only person who doesn't know someone?
yes.
You would just have to hope that Adelaide didn't come up against Richmond in the grandfinal!
hahaha cheap shot! Under a goal and we're still on top of the table!
I am best friends with a Adelaide power broker's sisters, husbands, cousins prostitutes, doctors ,nurse.
Get to know everything.:rolleyes:
Forgot to ask you Macca, if you wouldn't give up pick 16 what would Pav be worth ?
jenny61_99
6 Jul 2006, 10:00
Forgot to ask you Macca, if you wouldn't give up pick 16 what would Pav be worth ?
I reckon they'd want more than a first AND second round pick and a player for Pav. I am not sure I'd want to give that up for him. And besides... I think our forward line is FULL of champions! I love ROO up forward... and I reckon Porplyzia is showing very similar qualities.
Stiffy_18
6 Jul 2006, 21:56
I reckon they'd want more than a first AND second round pick and a player for Pav. I am not sure I'd want to give that up for him. And besides... I think our forward line is FULL of champions! I love ROO up forward... and I reckon Porplyzia is showing very similar qualities.
And those are 3 TOTALLY different players. Pavlich is a big strong key forward that just about every side craves.
just maybe
6 Jul 2006, 22:17
Neil Craig is my lovechild and Steven Trigg is my nephew, so I can guarantee you that Pavlich is switching codes and will be playing for the Wallabies next year. We get Lote Tuqiri.
Stiffy_18
6 Jul 2006, 22:42
Neil Craig is my lovechild and Steven Trigg is my nephew, so I can guarantee you that Pavlich is switching codes and will be playing for the Wallabies next year. We get Lote Tuqiri.
Very good :D :thumbsu:
just maybe
6 Jul 2006, 22:51
Very good :D :thumbsu:
Wait for it in Monday's Advertiser - hopefully Rucci gives me credit for the scoop! :thumbsu:
Tuqiri will answer our prayers for a key forward - he's a great mark, has great agility and pace and is about the size of King Kong, like this:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39513000/jpg/_39513880_lotetuqirirob298.jpg
To add to it, what opposition player is going to fcuk with THIS:
http://www.rwc2003.irb.com/NR/rdonlyres/C96E5C32-03A6-4A36-8B95-9F623F07B902/0/fulltime.jpg