View Full Version : Will Mitch Thorp be Tassies highest ever draft pick?

OneEyedPie7
6 Jul 2006, 12:36
I know this bloke quite well and he definately has alot of talent which showed during the championships, but will that be enough to secure him a top 5 position in the draft, most have him penciled in at 3 to go to atm haws or roos, I think the roos would take him considering he has spent time there previously and tells me that he had a good reletionship with the club and particularly daniel wells who he roomed with. What are peoples thoughts on him, he is definately worthy of a top 5 spot, but whether he is taken there is another story?

FIGJAM
6 Jul 2006, 12:56
Nick Riewoldt is Tasmanian.

Jack-Packenham
6 Jul 2006, 12:57
Nick Riewoldt is Tasmanian.

Recruited from Queensland.

James Cook went pick 2 in 1990.

OneEyedPie7
6 Jul 2006, 12:58
very true but he played for Queensland in the champs I am talking about a bloke that has played all his footy in Tasmania and has come through their development programs

OneEyedPie7
6 Jul 2006, 12:59

James Cook went pick 2 in 1990.

didnt know that how many games did he manage? what club picked him up?

FIGJAM
6 Jul 2006, 13:14
I live in Melbourne, but I'm still a Tasmanian! :p

Jack-Packenham
6 Jul 2006, 13:26

Went to Carlton after the blues traded Warren McKenzie to the swans.

OneEyedPie7
6 Jul 2006, 13:26
I live in Melbourne, but I'm still a Tasmanian! :p

good to see you barrack for the pies mate what do you reakon about thorp?

The Flying Belgian
6 Jul 2006, 14:52
I am talking about a bloke that has played all his footy in Tasmania and has come through their development programs

Moved when he was 8 years old. Wow, he really had a hiatus from football for a while there...

harry 0
7 Jul 2006, 14:17
Moved when he was 8 years old. Wow, he really had a hiatus from football for a while there...

The Riewoldt family are legends of Tasmanian footy. 3 or 4 brothers who played a lot of footy in Hobart, mainly for Clarence FC, including Nick and Jack's fathers. Jack's father Chris played 270+ games for Clarence FC and St Kilda tried to lure him in the early 80's but he knocked them back.

Graham Wright was pick #3 I think in 1988 to Collingwood. I think one of the Febey twins was quite an early pick in around 1987.
Mitch Thorp will go around pick #3-#7.

The Flying Belgian
7 Jul 2006, 15:21
The Riewoldt family are legends of Tasmanian footy. 3 or 4 brothers who played a lot of footy in Hobart, mainly for Clarence FC, including Nick and Jack's fathers. Jack's father Chris played 270+ games for Clarence FC and St Kilda tried to lure him in the early 80's but he knocked them back.

Graham Wright was pick #3 I think in 1988 to Collingwood. I think one of the Febey twins was quite an early pick in around 1987.
Mitch Thorp will go around pick #3-#7.

Yep, heard all that. My post was in reply to the statement that the majority of Nick Riewoldt's junior development was in Tasmania. The family moved to Gold Coast at age 8, so that's hardly the case.

Unwritten_Law
7 Jul 2006, 15:33
OneEyedPie was talking about Thorp in the bit you quoted...

scooter600x
7 Jul 2006, 16:29
He also played for Footscray and finished up at Melbourne.

He was talented enough but was an idiot who never worked hard enough to control his weight.

He was the Bulldogs 'player of the finals' in 97, kicking bags in both of our finals. Had we won the prelim he would have missed the grannie anyway because he belted Darren Jarman (not hard enough, as it turns out).

He also got suspended in round 22 in 98 and that was a massive blow for us as well.

At one stage Wallace decided to do a spot check Cookie's car and found the floor littered with pizza boxes and empty stubbies.

harry 0
7 Jul 2006, 16:46
Yep, heard all that. My post was in reply to the statement that the majority of Nick Riewoldt's junior development was in Tasmania. The family moved to Gold Coast at age 8, so that's hardly the case.
Most of the good ones (Aker, Voss, Riewoldt etc) grew up interstate and moved to Qld at about 10yo.

The Flying Belgian
7 Jul 2006, 16:57
Most of the good ones (Aker, Voss, Riewoldt etc) grew up interstate and moved to Qld at about 10yo.

True, but you can't tell me that if they'd stayed in they're home states they'd be even better than they are. In each of those cases, they player has lived up to their potential after spending their junior careers primarily in Queensland. Clearly the majority of Reiwoldt's football was played in Queensland. Certainly, being interested in football at an early age is a catalyst

Simon Black was born in Mount Isa, but no one claims he's a Queenslander.

Weaver
7 Jul 2006, 20:06
Tassie Top-10s.

2. James Cook (1990)

3. Steve Febey (1986)
3. Graham Wright (1987)
3. Jody Arnol (1989)
3. David Donato (1990)

5. Daniel McAllister (1996)

7. Darren Davies (1987)
7. Danny Roach (1999)

8. Dion Scott (1988)