View Full Version : Damian Cupido a Crow in 2007?

Drummond
6 Jul 2006, 17:11
Cupido on Crows' radar

ADELAIDE could make a surprise end-of-season play to secure former Essendon forward Damian Cupido, admitting the South Adelaide star is "still on the radar".

While the national draft is not until November, Crows recruiting manager James Fantasia said the classy left-footer was making inroads towards resurrecting his AFL career.

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19698282%255E21546,00.html

kimirocks
6 Jul 2006, 17:34
A Very Courageous Decision as the famous Sir Humphrey Applebey would say. A brave moe to say the least if this were true. I have watched him play a couple of times, and it seams he just doesnt want to be there. on other occassions he shows why he could still be playing top class footy in the AFL. Would really be a gamble, and I dont see the AFC as an organization willing to bet on this one, I see him as a better fit up the road as a replacement for Wanganeen.

PrideOf
6 Jul 2006, 17:37
I would hope that any player in the SANFL or in Perth or Melbourne or anywhere that's doing half okay would be on the radar.

Big difference between being on the radar and being on the list though.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 17:56
I said this in the SANFL board.

I would love to take him in the Pre Season Draft. Why not? Worth a crack.

I reckon the AFC recruitment people listen to me in here, as I called this weeks ago ;)

morphous
6 Jul 2006, 17:57
Cupido on Crows' radar

ADELAIDE could make a surprise end-of-season play to secure former Essendon forward Damian Cupido, admitting the South Adelaide star is "still on the radar".

While the national draft is not until November, Crows recruiting manager James Fantasia said the classy left-footer was making inroads towards resurrecting his AFL career.

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19698282%255E21546,00.html

No thanks, if 2 of the best coaches in the last 20 years in Matthews and Sheedy couldn't straighten him out I doubt Craig would want to touch him.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 17:58
He would be a star under Craig.

I hope we pick him up so he can show what he is capable of.

Drummond
6 Jul 2006, 18:07
I said this in the SANFL board.
You also said it about 2 months ago. ;) :thumbsu:

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 18:15
No Thanks.

RoosterLad
6 Jul 2006, 18:29
No Thanks.

Gotta agree with this bloke here.
Also, agree with morphous.

Too much trouble. He has bucketloads of skill and is still young but he isn't worth the time and effort. Yeah he kicked 11 on the weekend, but this season when teams have kept a close eye on him, he hasnt done a hell of a lot.

Fergus Watts kicked 10 last year in a final, that didnt mean we all wanted to keep him did it?

Drummond
6 Jul 2006, 18:47
Fergus Watts kicked 10 last year in a final, that didnt mean we all wanted to keep him did it?
I think you'll find most people wanted Watts to stay, including the Crows. Remember the reports how the leadership group were begging him to stay?

afc9798
6 Jul 2006, 19:04
He would be a star under Craig.

I hope we pick him up so he can show what he is capable of.
Having seen him up close on a number of times this year, I am convinced that he is worth a risk. He has definitely got his head together and has undoubted ability. If anyone can get inside his head, it's Craigy and his assistants. He has shown remarkable tolerance with the crowd abuse he cops from the opposition (in particular the Alberton mob) and has just got on with the job of playing.

Wayne's-World
6 Jul 2006, 19:07
Ports lower picks will be before ours ......if anyone will pick him up it'll be Port and I highly doubt we would take that risk

topjars
6 Jul 2006, 19:18
No thanks.

Leave him at South and we might get a flag

Crow-mo
6 Jul 2006, 19:45
we have no ability to pick him by any means not available to anyone else.

puff piece. If we decide he's worth a shot, so will someone else.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 19:53
No thanks.

Leave him at South and we might get a flag

South will win the flag this year, mark my words.

RoosterLad
6 Jul 2006, 20:11
I think you'll find most people wanted Watts to stay, including the Crows. Remember the reports how the leadership group were begging him to stay?

I dont remember anything about the leadership begging him to stay. All the Crow supporters i know didnt want him, including myself.. and i recall a few people on here not wanting him either. Why would you want him to stay? He never did anything apart from that one game and he was very lazy.

RoosterLad
6 Jul 2006, 20:11
South will win the flag this year, mark my words.

haha i hear that every year from South supporters!! go North this week

North by 8 goals

Cupido 0.0

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 20:12
Mate, Cupido will outscore North on his own :D

jmorg1
6 Jul 2006, 21:08
Ladhams is also very talented.

Kristof
6 Jul 2006, 23:42
we have no ability to pick him by any means not available to anyone else.

puff piece. If we decide he's worth a shot, so will someone else.

We may be getting better advice on whether he actually has matured following the challenging last 12 months he's had. That may actually put him on our draft board, where most other sides wouldn't have him listed.

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 00:04
We may be getting better advice on whether he actually has matured following the challenging last 12 months he's had. That may actually put him on our draft board, where most other sides wouldn't have him listed.

might do. but wanting to draft him, and being able to are not the same thing. We'd have to go round 4 or 5, or even psd to get him - and at the point if word got out we were interested, it might be tough.

FFS he kicked 11.2 for South in the Wet. for South!!

ps. Renaldo Balkman.

Stiffy_18
7 Jul 2006, 00:10
might do. but wanting to draft him, and being able to are not the same thing. We'd have to go round 4 or 5, or even psd to get him - and at the point if word got out we were interested, it might be tough.

FFS he kicked 11.2 for South in the Wet. for South!!

ps. Renaldo Balkman.
You are not going to let him live this one down are you?! :D :p

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 00:17
You are not going to let him live this one down are you?! :D :p

I am emailling him every day for a month!!

next week Greg Oden - wait they traded that pick :D

- PC -
7 Jul 2006, 00:39
Not having seen him play and saw his score against Sturt:o I still say no

Porplyzia,Vince>>>>>>>>>>>>Cupido

RoosterLad
7 Jul 2006, 00:41
The main thing is, he only did it against Sturt, they are a rabble. If you are going on performances against the Blues then sign up Nick Gill.

McLeod23
7 Jul 2006, 01:28
Ladhams is also very talented.

Exactly.

Was it Drummond who only about a month ago still insisted he would rather Ladhams on our list than Doughty?

Can anyone else remember that?

Jimmy Gwilt
7 Jul 2006, 01:33
Cupido on Crows' radar

with the right attitude this guy can do anything
if i was a crows supporter id want to give him a crack at afl level again

GoSarge
7 Jul 2006, 02:03
with the right attitude this guy can do anything
if i was a crows supporter id want to give him a crack at afl level again

Yeah I initially thought it'd be a good idea, but then someone told me that franchise players exist 5 rounds deep in this years draft. Apparently its a cracker !

Subsequently, I have changed my mind - No Cupido for the AFC.

Drummond
7 Jul 2006, 02:07
Yeah I initially thought it'd be a good idea, but then someone told me that franchise players exist 5 rounds deep in this years draft. Apparently its a cracker !
That's absurd, completely getting carried away. Last few rounds, even this year, will be hit and miss.

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 09:42
There is also the pre-season draft GoSarge.

SpringChoke
7 Jul 2006, 09:49
Ports lower picks will be before ours ......if anyone will pick him up it'll be Port and I highly doubt we would take that risk

I think Cupido is better suited to the Port Power, both in character and football style. He would be "the next Che" if he went to Alberton.

RogerRabbit69
7 Jul 2006, 09:54
Cupido looks overweight to me. He's always had stacks of natural ability, even at AFL level. It's been his commitment and work ethic that have let him down. I haven't seen evidence to suggest that has changed significantly. Talent alone can see a player like him dominate on occasion at SANFL level.

Mad Dog
7 Jul 2006, 10:28
how does that saying go about spots and leopards ?

dirtydog444
7 Jul 2006, 11:21
Knowing very well the importance Neil Craig and his team place on commitment, strength of character, teamship and focus on being highly regarded role models in the community, I would be suprised if not disappointed, if the AFC took on a repeat offender such as Cupido.

He hasnt shown in his time at South that he has the maturity nor the commitment demanded at AFC! Let Power take him on! I will not believe that Neil Craig has double standards for his players regardless of ability.

Final analysis of drafting Cupido......:thumbsd:

macca23
7 Jul 2006, 14:48
Cupido looks overweight to me. He's always had stacks of natural ability, even at AFL level. It's been his commitment and work ethic that have let him down. I haven't seen evidence to suggest that has changed significantly. Talent alone can see a player like him dominate on occasion at SANFL level.

Players like Cupido are a damn shame really. All the talent in the world to burn, but not prepared to do the hard yards to realise it. HFF is one of the hardest positions on the ground to play, but this lad has the build and natural ability to be a premier HFFer. It just seems to be missing through the ears.

Reminds me a lot of Chris Ladhams in this respect, who voluntarily flushed his AFL career down the toilet in a similar manner.

It almost makes your heart bleed - almost :) - for that red-headed shocker Smith who spent 5 years on our list, and in spite of being prepared to bust his pooper valve just didn't have the natural ability to crack even one AFL game. It's an unfair world!!

There's a good article in the 'tiser today about Craig's non-negotiables, and the only way that we would draft Cupido would be if the aFC were 100% convinced that he could meet all of Craig's non-negotiables.

Very unlikely.

Southerntakeover
7 Jul 2006, 15:42
It seems im in the minority, but i would be all for it.

I believe that it would only require a PSD pick to get Cupido, and a player with Cupido's talent is worth that at the least. Of course we wouldnt get him if Craig didnt think he could manage him, but just looking at the development of other players wed written off previously, theres every chance that Neil could make it work. If Craig could manage Cupidos off field problems, im sure that most of you would agree that he could play a beneficial role in our onfield team. Its probably a gamble, but really wed lose little by using a PSD pick for him, so the potential benefits outweigh the losses.

RogerRabbit69
7 Jul 2006, 16:01
What players with bad attitudes has Craig turned around?

Stiffy_18
7 Jul 2006, 16:13

You heartless bastard :D :p

Southerntakeover
7 Jul 2006, 16:15
What players with bad attitudes has Craig turned around?

To be honest, thats not a question that we could ever give a definitive answer to, since we arent actually privvy to the attitudes of players, no matter how much we think we know from the sidelines.

I would mention though that before Craig took over a small known player by the name of Andrew McLeod had seemingly lost interest in the game, due to not wanting to play a role outside the midfield (atleast thats what was suggested, like i said, cant really be proved). Now Macca plays the same role with relish.

Ive also seen other players like Ian Perrie, who is rumoured to require alot of constant encouragement to keep his confidence up flourish under Craig.

RogerRabbit69
7 Jul 2006, 16:18
Cupido would bring a whole new challenge - and not one I'm sure the club needs. From what I've seen, his strong displays in the SANFL have been a result of pure talent - not commitment. Sheedy and Matthews both dumped him for a reason.

Stiffy_18
7 Jul 2006, 16:19
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/3120/dingdingding3pq.gif

There is no question that Cupido is a supremenly talented player. However, there is more to being a successful AFL footballer than just talent. Just ask Chris Ladhams and Laurence Angwin. If he were dead serious about getting back into the AFL he would at least look like a footballer not an overblown whale. He is WAY too overweight and he would have to lose a lot of kilograms to be even considered.

Southerntakeover
7 Jul 2006, 16:29
Cupido would bring a whole new challenge - and not one I'm sure the club needs. From what I've seen, his strong displays in the SANFL have been a result of pure talent - not commitment. Sheedy and Matthews both dumped him for a reason.

Im not entirely sure how you would qualify a display of commitment when dominating the game.

As i said earlier, the only way it will happen is if Neil Craig thinks that Cupidos commitment and attitude are sufficient enough for him to make a comeback to AFL football, then we will make the move, if he doesnt then we wont. If Neil Craigs confident in his commitment, i see no reason to question it myself.

If we do gamble, and lose.... realistically we lose very little.

mcphee_is_a_gun
7 Jul 2006, 21:01
Cupido is a front runner so i believe he'd be good in this Adelaide team but wouldnt be much value for us to get him back.

Southerntakeover
7 Jul 2006, 21:06
Cupido is a front runner so i believe he'd be good in this Adelaide team but wouldnt be much value for us to get him back.

Well, i heard an interesting comment on Cupidos time at Essendon... apparently its a hard place to play as a smaller forward, as the instruction is stay out the corridor, and dont get in Lloyds way. If you cant legitimately put yourself forward as an option, your career is doomed.

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 21:26
I hope we get him, just to pee some people on here off ;)

The Crows Truth
7 Jul 2006, 22:25

Subsequently, I have changed my mind - No Cupido for the AFC.

thats quite a funny post mate

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 23:11
thats quite a silly post mate

I think his tongue was firmly in cheek.

The Crows Truth
7 Jul 2006, 23:55
I think his tongue was firmly in cheek.

appreciate heads up - relevant editing done :thumbsu:

Kristof
7 Jul 2006, 23:55

Sheesh - I didn't draft him! (http://www.realgm.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=533859)

Though, that being said - the Knicks will improve to 36 wins, just through Isiah increasing the tempo and trusting his players. As bad as some of his trades may have been (and most of them, viewed in isolation, you would probably still do - just not ALL of them), Brown tanked the season. Terrible effort.

So, Eddy Curry (and probably pick 20 or so) might still be better than Tyrus Thomas and what will probably be pick ten ...

Mad Dog
8 Jul 2006, 09:21
I hope we get him, just to pee some people on here off ;)
I'm sure Craigy will consider that when making his decisons on list management

- PC -
8 Jul 2006, 11:12
I would take Akermanis before I took Cupido...and I dont want Akermanis near our club

- PC -
8 Jul 2006, 11:19
I'm sure Craigy will consider that when making his decisons on list management
The scene: AFC boardroom

Participants: AFC Board , Senior Coach , Assistant Coaches , Recruiting Manager and staff

Recruiting manager: Next position to look at is a forward player who can kick goals and help in the midfield

RM Assistant: Akermanis?

Senior Coach: Hmm

Board Member: What would it cost us to get him?

RM: I would hate to think

BM: Thats what we pay you for DH

RM : :o

Senior Coach: Next name

RM: Damien Cupido, kicked 10 goals one game and had an ok year , will be cheap as he is an SANFL player and is begging for a chance to play again

Senior Coach: What do the ''tired hacks'' on BigFooty say?

BM: Hey I post there ;)

RM: Me too ...oops shh

Senior Coach: Well what do they say?

RM: err most say pass

Senior Coach: We should get him just to pee some of them off

crows98
8 Jul 2006, 11:26
I am sure I will be in the minority but I would be happy if we drafted him, he will be on the minimum wage and only given a one year deal. He would be like Scott Stevens this year, if he get an opportunity he would have to grab it or his AFL lifeline would be over.

If for some reason he was drafted by the AFC (and it’s still extremely doubtful at this stage) his attitude towards training would need to change in the months of November and December for him to even get a look in at playing in any per season games.

It’s a bit of a gamble at this stage but if he is drafted he could become a very sustainable asset to the club for a few years, if not all that we have lost is one year and a minimum wage.

I would do it.

Mad Dog
8 Jul 2006, 11:41

Participants: AFC Board , Senior Coach , Assistant Coaches , Recruiting Manager and staff

Recruiting manager: Next position to look at is a forward player who can kick goals and help in the midfield

RM: Damien Cupido, kicked 10 goals one game and had an ok year , will be cheap as he is an SANFL player and is begging for a chance to play again

G.O.L.D.

:D :thumbsu:

- PC -
8 Jul 2006, 11:43
If for some reason he was drafted by the AFC (and it’s still extremely doubtful at this stage) his attitude towards training would need to change in the months of November and December for him to even get a look in at playing in any per season games. So why not put the effort in now? Contact the club now and say over the next few months I will reach these goals, if I do then would you consider me..

if not all that we have lost is one year and a minimum wage.

What I gather you are saying is instead of a 4th rookie we use pick 67 or so to get him?

LukeHodge15
8 Jul 2006, 11:53
the guy would rather sit on a bar stool than run a 440.

u guys wouldn't go anywhere near this cancer unless u want a squib forward who will kick 6 goals one game, then struggle for a kick the next 10.

the things people say to get an article written in the paper :rolleyes:

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:37

:D :D

NikkiNoo
8 Jul 2006, 15:48
I can only back up MD and Springy - GOLD PC :D

Mr Crow!
8 Jul 2006, 16:09
Cupido on Crows' radar

Cupido?

No Thanks! Wasted talent, NO DISCIPLINE, doesn't do the hard yards and give 100%.

four
8 Jul 2006, 23:11
Damian Cupido is worth a year $50000 deal if it doesn't work out the Crows wouldn't have lost much.

crows98
9 Jul 2006, 10:48
So why not put the effort in now? Contact the club now and say over the next few months I will reach these goals, if I do then would you consider me..

Whose saying he isn’t? We can only observe from the outside

If he was drafted by the AFC I have faith in the match committee to make the correct call on him and whip him into shape

What I gather you are saying is instead of a 4th rookie we use pick 67 or so to get him?

Absolutely, it’s not like we would be grabbing him with a 1st or 2nd round draft pick. I would only use a late pick in the national draft or with out PSD selection.

RoosterLad
9 Jul 2006, 18:16
Hargraves > Cupido

crows98
9 Jul 2006, 18:27
Hargraves > Cupido

Memo to: Gets and Just Maybe.

Is this ^^^^^ what’s called a joke or using someone sense of humour?:D

Southerntakeover
9 Jul 2006, 22:15
Whose saying he isn’t? We can only observe from the outside

If he was drafted by the AFC I have faith in the match committee to make the correct call on him and whip him into shape

Absolutely, it’s not like we would be grabbing him with a 1st or 2nd round draft pick. I would only use a late pick in the national draft or with out PSD selection.

For once i think we agree :eek: This post echoes my opinion on the matter pretty well.

Funnily enough, i think the hyping this article has caused was the intended result... its like a test for Cupido to see if, with the bait being dangled infront of him, he is willing to do whats necissary.

just maybe
9 Jul 2006, 22:30
Memo to: Gets and Just Maybe.

Is this ^^^^^ what’s called a joke or using someone sense of humour?:D

Mother of god you're a bitter, grudge-holding sack aren't you?

crows98
10 Jul 2006, 19:03
Mother of god you're a bitter, grudge-holding sack aren't you?

Dammed if I do and I am dammed if I don’t, FFS

I try and have a bit of a joke and you condemn me for it, if I take a subject a little bit more serious than you your proclaim that I have no sense of humour.

What give Just Maybe? I highly doubt I am the one who need to get a grip on reality.

just maybe
10 Jul 2006, 19:47
Dammed if I do and I am dammed if I don’t, FFS

I try and have a bit of a joke and you condemn me for it, if I take a subject a little bit more serious than you your proclaim that I have no sense of humour.

What give Just Maybe? I highly doubt I am the one who need to get a grip on reality.

GET

OVER

IT

raikkonen
10 Jul 2006, 19:48
I hope we do not get cupido. From what I saw of him at Essendon, he was a show pony, not playing a team game. A bit like motlop for port at the start of this year, just playing for himself. Please, do not get him.

Plus, why waste time on recycled players? We do not need any players with AFL experience, as Craigy has proven he can make men out of most (if not all) of the boys on the list. Bring in more young guns whilst we are still at the peak of the pile, experience around an environment like that, and around guys like the Roo, Bungee, Hart, Edwards, and Goodwin would be valuable to any young up and coming player/s.

Im surprised port havent made a play for him, considering their practice of grabbing ex-bombers.

crows98
10 Jul 2006, 19:59
GET

OVER

IT

:D :rolleyes:

Kristof
10 Jul 2006, 23:07
Plus, why waste time on recycled players? We do not need any players with AFL experience, as Craigy has proven he can make men out of most (if not all) of the boys on the list.

Because our environment has shown it can make the most of players with limited abilities, it doesn't mean we shouldn't bring in players with more talent. It just means they need to use those talents in our system or hit the bricks.

viccountry5
12 Jul 2006, 17:52
Is Cupido Leading the goalkicking in the SANFL?
I've always been a fan of James Podsiadly. He seems to do well on the fringe AFL backmen. Give him a pre season some where and real crack and he could kick goals in the AFL.

crows98
12 Jul 2006, 18:32
Is Cupido Leading the goalkicking in the SANFL?
I've always been a fan of James Podsiadly. He seems to do well on the fringe AFL backmen. Give him a pre season some where and real crack and he could kick goals in the AFL.

No his team mate Ben Warren is followed by the WW Eagles Mark Passador then the notorious Damien Cupido

SANFL stats leaders (http://www.sanfl.com.au/default.aspx?s=genericnewsdisplay&kw=55&aid=103372):thumbsu:

RoosterLad
16 Jul 2006, 17:45
Apparently Stupido is having a Barry Crocker today.

Hes missed a couple of sitters and just kicked one out on the full.