View Full Version : OT - Coldplay concert

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 18:08
Anyone see the Coldplay concert last night? I was quite amazed with how good it was. I was expecting it to be quite mellow, if not abit boring. I was wrong.

If you didn't go, and you're a Coldplay fan, you missed out on a stunning show.

NikkiNoo
6 Jul 2006, 18:30
I was there springy and I have to say what a great concert it was. Visually stunning and great music. Considering they had no sound check prior to the concert they are not bad :eek:

We were up the back near where Chris Martin decided to come and visit at the end of the concert. Loved seeing the security guys sprinting with him!

amez_7
6 Jul 2006, 18:33
I was there springy and I have to say what a great concert it was. Visually stunning and great music. Considering they had no sound check prior to the concert they are not bad :eek:

We were up the back near where Chris Martin decided to come and visit at the end of the concert. Loved seeing the security guys sprinting with him!
My sister went back stage and met Chris Martin on Sunday at the Melbourne concert!! :eek:

maccas_no1
6 Jul 2006, 18:37
I went to the Monday night concert in Melbourne was fantastic, I thought the same as your springy but came away very very impressed:thumbsu:

Chris Martin is a real showman, lighting and effects were excellent, well worth the $$$:thumbsu:

maccas_no1
6 Jul 2006, 18:37
My sister went back stage and met Chris Martin on Sunday at the Melbourne concert!! :eek:

Sarah win a prize Amy????

Leaping Lindner
6 Jul 2006, 18:39
I was going but at the last minute decided instead to stay home and saw my leg off. It was less painful.

Drummond
6 Jul 2006, 18:42
I was going but at the last minute decided instead to stay home and saw my leg off. It was less painful.
I think that was an attempt to bag Coldplay, fine effort. :) :rolleyes:

Idiot.

Anyway, you’ve got to love Coldplay, one of the best bands in the world.

Leaping Lindner
6 Jul 2006, 18:43
I think that was an attempt to bag Coldplay, fine effort. :) :rolleyes:

Idiot.

Anyway, you’ve got to love Coldplay, one of the best bands in the world.

Says who? Bland doesn't begin to describe this band.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 18:43
I went and it was bloody awesome.

Coldplay are simply unreal and I still can't believe I have seen them in person.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 18:44

It's entertainment, I like it, you don't.

Why bash it?

Adam BK
6 Jul 2006, 18:44
Yeh I went, had a really great time.

maccas_no1
6 Jul 2006, 18:48
What did people think of Youth Group?? I thought they were very good Im a fan of their hit 'Forever Young':thumbsu:

-CG-
6 Jul 2006, 18:49
One of my friends went last night, she didnt have a ticket but managed to get in for free. She really enjoyed it :thumbsu:

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 18:50
Youth Group were pretty good.

amez_7
6 Jul 2006, 18:52
Sarah win a prize Amy????
Nah one of Sarah's friends was dating an old manager of coldplay and she is really good friends with Chris Martin!! So through connections she got to meet him!!

crows98
6 Jul 2006, 18:53
Anyone see the Coldplay concert last night? I was quite amazed with how good it was. I was expecting it to be quite mellow, if not abit boring. I was wrong.

If you didn't go, and you're a Coldplay fan, you missed out on a stunning show.

Who is Cold play? Are they the group who sing “Yellow”?

I don’t like contemporary music groups so I don’t follow bands all that closely?

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 18:59

I don’t like contemporary music groups so I don’t follow bands all that closely?

You're not for real?

Probably in the top 3 biggest bands over the last 5 years.

crows98
6 Jul 2006, 19:08
You're not for real?

Probably in the top 3 biggest bands over the last 5 years.

Sorry to disappoint but I am being extremely serious.

Last CD I bought would have been 10 year ago when I was about 15, and it would have been Nirvana or Sound garden.

Closes thing to music I like now would be the Dashboard Confessionals, so I am sorry if my music intelligence doesn’t meet your standard but I have no idea who cold play is. (Only that Chris Martin is married to the movie chic)

topjars
6 Jul 2006, 19:15

Thats where I was NikkiNoo Door 20 Aisle 20b.

It was everything Id hoped for.
I had the playlist and apart from the Johnny Cash rendition it went pretty much to plan :D
Brought the rusty long sleeve top, lined up for 20 minutes to get it; not to mention the 20 min wait ouitside to get into the AEC.

It was my first time at the Centre and the view was great.
Didnt think much of Youth Works though - they sounded like the Waterboys (for those that know them)

The pizda resistance was FIX YOU:thumbsu:

I thought the yellow balloons were a good touch and the lighting and backscreen were brilliant.

I got back from Adelaide this morning flashed up the Twisted Logic playlist and indulged once more...

Without trying to be picky - the stadium seating could do with an overhaul - the decor looks very tired.

But the concert was speccccial!!

just maybe
6 Jul 2006, 21:00
What did people think of Youth Group?? I thought they were very good Im a fan of their hit 'Forever Young':thumbsu:

Average to be honest.

They have potential but they seem to lack a hook in any of their songs, nothing to draw you in or remain in your memory (except Forever Young, which is obviously a cover!).

Good musicians, boring songs.

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 21:08

Too be honest, I went thinking it was going to be okay but nothing special. I'm a big fan of their music but I didn't think they would come across well live. How wrong was I. After the first song I thought that it was going to be a good show. However, after they played their second song, Politik, I was blown away.

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 21:09
Average to be honest.

They have potential but they seem to lack a hook in any of their songs, nothing to draw you in or remain in your memory (except Forever Young, which is obviously a cover!).

Good musicians, boring songs.

Now there's a surprise.

Gets!
6 Jul 2006, 21:10
Sorry to disappoint but I am being extremely serious.

Last CD I bought would have been 10 year ago when I was about 15, and it would have been Nirvana or Sound garden.

Closes thing to music I like now would be the Dashboard Confessionals, so I am sorry if my music intelligence doesn’t meet your standard but I have no idea who cold play is. (Only that Chris Martin is married to the movie chic)

You never listen to the radio in the car or anything?

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 21:14

Out of interest, what music are you into.

SpringChoke
6 Jul 2006, 21:18

He's got the Stephen Hawkin Latin translation of the "Universe and Me". Apparently its a good "parking" cd.

NikkiNoo
6 Jul 2006, 22:02
Too be honest, I went thinking it was going to be okay but nothing special. I'm a big fan of their music but I didn't think they would come across well live. How wrong was I. After the first song I thought that it was going to be a good show. However, after they played their second song, Politik, I was blown away.

That pretty much covers my thoughts heading into the show. The whole effect from their music, the performance (especially Chris and his weird yoga dancing :p), the lights and effects, they just had absolute knowledge of how to perform for the whole crowd. Even the people in the cheap seats almost behind the stage would have had great views.

Well done to Sarah! That would have been something as he comes across as a funny man. They stuffed up at one stage last night and he completly lost it on stage :D

just maybe
6 Jul 2006, 22:13
Now there's a surprise.

What do you mean?

Blue Red and Gold
6 Jul 2006, 23:33

I find that truely amazing you dont know who they are. Like Gets said, you dont listen to the radio, watch tv, read magazines or papers?

I didnt go to the concert, cant really afford it, I had to make a decision a while back U2 or Coldplay, I went with U2, may of been a mistake now :(

I have seen footage of them perform live and it looks unreal. They have the live version (film clip included) on the jukebox at the Clary Gets ;)

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 00:08
C'mon. the engine's running... the hose pipe from the exhaust is facing you.

the only choice is what CD... Coldplay, Keane, Snow Patrol, Travis... music to top yourself too.

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 00:11
I didnt go to the concert, cant really afford it, I had to make a decision a while back U2 or Coldplay, I went with U2, may of been a mistake now :(

I've seen both live this year. The U2 show is spectacular. Don't worry.

Adam BK
7 Jul 2006, 00:16
I've seen both live this year. The U2 show is spectacular. Don't worry.

I doubt its that, the fact that we dont know for certain if they will come.

kimirocks
7 Jul 2006, 00:52
Unfortunately didn't go to Coldplay this time, but back on their last tour (in Sydney) I was blown away. I have since moved onto other genres of music and are not as enthralled with them as I was then, but I'm sure it would have been great.

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 01:00
I have seen footage of them perform live and it looks unreal. They have the live version (film clip included) on the jukebox at the Clary Gets ;)

Oh yep I'm there :thumbsu:

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 12:10
I doubt its that, the fact that we dont know for certain if they will come.

According to their official website, the new dates are being announced within a couple of weeks.

:o

Adam BK
7 Jul 2006, 13:46
According to their official website, the new dates are being announced within a couple of weeks.

:o

And Bono said months and months ago the same thing after his denton interview that we probalby would know the next day, it never happened. Again a few months ago we were advised that we would know soon, I am still waiting. It doesnt say anything about dates but the future of the tour will be anounced on the latest update. Though it probalby will be dates, I just dont believe anything until I see it with my eyes. So no I dont feel embarrased.

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 14:18
And Bono said months and months ago the same thing after his denton interview that we probalby would know the next day, it never happened. Again a few months ago we were advised that we would know soon, I am still waiting. It doesnt say anything about dates but the future of the tour will be anounced on the latest update. Though it probalby will be dates, I just dont believe anything until I see it with my eyes. So no I dont feel embarrased.

I didn't say you should feel embarrassed?

Adam BK
7 Jul 2006, 14:35

Okay no problem, I interpreted it wrongly.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
7 Jul 2006, 15:03
I can't believe there is a Coldplay thread here on Bigfooty in the Crows board. Anyway, I was there with Nikki. It was FANTASTIC. I adore Chris Martin. I loved it. Yellow was special with the yellow balls dropping from the roof and the gold glitter, but yeah, Fix You and Clocks where my favourites.

k
xx

snakebite01
7 Jul 2006, 15:54
The show was amazing.

I like their music (moreso when A Rush of Blood To The Head was realeased than now) but like Springy I expected the show to be a bit mellow.

But as soon as Politik started you knew it was going to be awesome. I thought the crowd going off at the end of Clocks was the highlight, Fix You was good but it was always going to be, and In My Place was good when he went into the stands.

Top show all up. Wish I could go again as it all seems a bit of a blur now.

SpringChoke
7 Jul 2006, 16:15
The show was amazing.

I like their music (moreso when A Rush of Blood To The Head was realeased than now) but like Springy I expected the show to be a bit mellow.

But as soon as Politik started you knew it was going to be awesome. I thought the crowd going off at the end of Clocks was the highlight, Fix You was good but it was always going to be, and In My Place was good when he went into the stands.

Top show all up. Wish I could go again as it all seems a bit of a blur now.

Agree. I have seen a fair few concerts in my time but i've never heard or seen anything like when they played Politik. I was stunned.

SpringChoke
7 Jul 2006, 16:20

I've got tickets to that one. Looking forward to it but i'm expecting it to be a very polished typical arena concert. I much prefer the rawness and unpredictability of a Coldplay/Nirvana/Faith No More ( LeRox)/Black Crowes concert.

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 16:37
I've got tickets to that one. Looking forward to it but i'm expecting it to be a very polished typical arena concert. I much prefer the rawness and unpredictability of a Coldplay/Nirvana/Faith No More ( LeRox)/Black Crowes concert.

I wouldn't call Coldplay raw or unpredictable mate! Their set list has been pretty much the same for the whole tour, although I did enjoy 'Ring of Fire' and left singing that, haha.

U2 are immense. Seriously, you thought the Coldplay show would blow you away, U2 is twice the size and Bono really knows how to connect to a massive audience. Hell, I was in Mexico City for their concert in February, packed into a stadium with 90,000 screaming Mexicanos (and believe me, they make crowds here look quiet, fortunately they're all short and I had a perfect view on the floor :D ), and he still had them in the palm of his hand, despite barely speaking a word of Spanish!

Coldplay was amazing, but U2 have those moments where they're simply transcendent. Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own was unbelievable that night, as was the crowd reaction when 'Pride' got a run.

dyertribe
7 Jul 2006, 16:58
My mate and his gf missed the Geelong game to see them in Melbourne.

I own Parachutes, but come on...

Crowplay > Coldplay

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 17:05
My mate and his gf missed the Geelong game to see them in Melbourne.

I own Parachutes, but come on...

Crowplay > Coldplay

Hahahah, someone is jealous. :D

dyertribe
7 Jul 2006, 17:09
Hahahah, someone is jealous. :D

Not particularly.

Lo-Tel in the Big Star basement (circa 2001) was enough for me... :D

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 17:21
Not particularly.

Lo-Tel in the Big Star basement (circa 2001) was enough for me... :D

I just had an involuntary shudder... :eek:

dyertribe
7 Jul 2006, 17:28
I just had an involuntary shudder... :eek:

Be thankful you didn't have to see them twice in consecutive days. :(

Ah the lengths we go to for femmes...

crows98
7 Jul 2006, 17:36
I am out of the house and walk to the train station to get on the train by 8am (weekdays) to work and home by 4pm (most days). If the radio is on in the car I have it on 5aa, nothing wrong with that.:cool:

I don’t listen to any commercial FM station so I guess I only have a little bit of musical influence in my life.

I am sorry you find that hard to believe but it the truth and I don’t know who cold play are. :)

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 17:42

I hope she was REALLY worth it, DT. Otherwise I'm tempted to send a Bitchslap-o-gram to your door!

Mong
7 Jul 2006, 17:54
Only Jack Johnson could send me to sleep quicker than coldplay.

Bring on The Strokes.

SpringChoke
7 Jul 2006, 18:06

Bring on The Strokes.

"The Strokes" - they were one of the regular acts on **** Clarks Bandstand weren't they?

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 18:11
I am out of the house and walk to the train station to get on the train by 8am (weekdays) to work and home by 4pm (most days). If the radio is on in the car I have it on 5aa, nothing wrong with that.:cool:

I don’t listen to any commercial FM station so I guess I only have a little bit of musical influence in my life.

I am sorry you find that hard to believe but it the truth and I don’t know who cold play are. :)

Coldplay.

snakebite01
7 Jul 2006, 18:12

Bring on The Strokes.

Strokes are awesome too, although Room on Fire is quite a bit better than First Impressions of Earth, hopefully in their Adelaide gig they'll play a fair few songs from that.

Do you know if tickets are sold out?

Mong
7 Jul 2006, 18:16
Strokes are awesome too, although Room on Fire is quite a bit better than First Impressions of Earth, hopefully in their Adelaide gig they'll play a fair few songs from that.

Do you know if tickets are sold out?

Don't know. I hope so because if Robbie Williams can sell out AAMI in 1 day and a band like the Strokes can't sell out Thebarton then this country is stuffed.

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 18:23
I'm going to Robbie. Will go off!!!

Cant ****ing wait.

crows98
7 Jul 2006, 18:47
Coldplay.
Semantics :thumbsu:

Leaping Lindner
7 Jul 2006, 19:38
Don't know. I hope so because if Robbie Williams can sell out AAMI in 1 day and a band like the Strokes can't sell out Thebarton then this country is stuffed.

Doesn't mean a thing. It just means kids today have too much money and people over the age of 65 are spending their kids inheritance.:p

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 19:41

you were at Faith no More @ Le Rox?

good times :thumbsu:

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 19:42
I'm going to Robbie. Will go off!!!

Cant ****ing wait.

you're joking aren't you? I didn't realise you were a 13 yr old girl

just maybe
7 Jul 2006, 19:52

No, he's a 38 year old woman. Have some respect.

Leaping Lindner
7 Jul 2006, 19:53

Did you see Nirvana at Thebbie SC (Jan or Feb 92 IIRC)?

Blue Red and Gold
7 Jul 2006, 20:30
Best live band is The Living end!

maccas_no1
7 Jul 2006, 20:37
Alains Morrisette was very good in 1996 at AEC:thumbsu:

Gets!
7 Jul 2006, 21:24

Haha. Gotta love this.

He is an awesome artist, has an amazing voice and has had some absolute classics over the years.

Angels, Feel, Better Man, Something Beautiful, Monsoon etc etc

The list goes on.

So go and **** yourself :D

Crow-mo
7 Jul 2006, 23:04
Haha. Gotta love this.

He is an awesome artist, has an amazing voice and has had some absolute classics over the years.

Angels, Feel, Better Man, Something Beautiful, Monsoon etc etc

The list goes on.

So go and **** yourself

he's got an average voice - even if he admits this. His fans tend to be 13 yr old girls, and 40 yr essex divorcees.

but hey, if he floats your boat... not that there's anything wrong with that of course :D

lacrow
8 Jul 2006, 09:33
Coldplay is for virgins. Honestly, one of the most hacknied crap going around. The new Michael Bolton...

Truck Rutten
8 Jul 2006, 11:50

I'm not having a go at anybody's taste in music, but gee, Coldplay are incongruous with those other bands you mentioned. To me they're almost the epitomy of polished stadium pop/rock, where as the other 3 are raw, potentially volatile live acts.

Truck Rutten
8 Jul 2006, 11:52

Bring on The Strokes.

In a similar style The Beautiful Girls are even worse I reckon. Simply painful :(

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:33

You call that a sacrifice DT??

Dentist>>>>>>>>>>>Having to suffer through Julia Roberts' "My Best Friends Wedding".

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:37
you were at Faith no More @ Le Rox?

good times :thumbsu:

Great concert.

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:39
Did you see Nirvana at Thebbie SC (Jan or Feb 92 IIRC)?

Yeah. One of my highlights. I was a big Nirvana fan. Great musician, pity about the missus. I also saw Hole there a couple years later, Courtney Love is a filthy *******.

Gets!
8 Jul 2006, 13:39
Any Robbie 'haters' should listen to this song.

'I Will Talk Hollywood Will Listen"

Amazing.

Also one thing I dont get it why so much hate is shown towards certain musical acts which, when it comes down to is all about entertainment.

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:41
I'm not having a go at anybody's taste in music, but gee, Coldplay are incongruous with those other bands you mentioned. To me they're almost the epitomy of polished stadium pop/rock, where as the other 3 are raw, potentially volatile live acts.

You and I will just have to disagree then.

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 13:47
Coldplay is for virgins. Honestly, one of the most hacknied crap going around. The new Michael Bolton...

Doesn't this statement contradict itself. Isn't Michael Boltons music supposedly a guaranteed skirt/trouser loosener? So if Coldplay are the new MB how can they be for virgins?:confused:

NikkiNoo
8 Jul 2006, 15:52
going by what's been said in this thread I must be either under 13 yo virgin or an over 40 divorcee from essex! :eek:

just maybe
8 Jul 2006, 16:15

So, still looking for your 'first one' then?

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
8 Jul 2006, 19:54
I have tickets for U2, Robbie and Kylie. December is going to be a big month.

k
xx

Kane McGoodwin
8 Jul 2006, 20:33
I have tickets for U2, Robbie and Kylie. December is going to be a big month.

k
xx
I have tickets for 2 of them too, but are U2 coming?

just maybe
8 Jul 2006, 20:42

They should be, although knowing Adelaide's luck, if they drop any concert it will be Adelaide! :(

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
8 Jul 2006, 20:46

Yep of course they are coming. They have sold out a show at AAMI and they won't cancel that.

k
xx

just maybe
8 Jul 2006, 20:54
Yep of course they are coming. They have sold out a show at AAMI and they won't cancel that.

k
xx

Don't jinx it!

I was at this one, 16th Feb: :D

http://www.u2tours.com/reviewfiles/2006/33/9924/9924-2.jpg

SpringChoke
8 Jul 2006, 21:13
Don't jinx it!

I was at this one, 16th Feb: :D

http://www.u2tours.com/reviewfiles/2006/33/9924/9924-2.jpg

That looks awesome. I'll assume that was the 90,000 Mexico concert. How far rom the stage were you?

just maybe
8 Jul 2006, 21:42
That looks awesome. I'll assume that was the 90,000 Mexico concert. How far rom the stage were you?

If you look at the stage, you'll see there's some crowd around its outside and then there's a larger fence separating two sections of the crowd. You had to be there early to inside that main fence, so I was a couple of rows back from that fence to the right of the stage (topside on the photo).

Perfect view because no one was taller than me. :D