View Full Version : Which 5 grounds around the world might be regarded as
the most famous in terms of either historical significance or because they are picturesque or have some particular landmark associated with them?
I would suggest maybe MCG for its historical value, sheer size in terms of ground area and potential crowd capacity.
Lord's for its historical value and being known as the home of the cricket. Though I must admit when I visited it it felt 'smaller' than I imagined it would be.
Adelaide one of the more picturesque venues in the world as yet unduly spoilt by development.
SCG one of the most interesting members areas, great shape for a cricket ground, ruined a bit when it lost the hill but still a famous venue
Eden Gardens for its capacity and aura
Newlands because of the awesome sight of Table Mountain in the background
Any other suggestions? A couple of the West Indies grounds look pretty and there is one in NZ which was in a pleasant setting, though I've been to some of theirs and there is nothing particularly noteworthy about them.
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 21:38
The Oval, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge and Old Trafford are all wonderful grounds
Adelaide Oval and SCG are overrated, crap grounds
Well I've been to the Oval, and while it's all right I wouldn't rave about it. And the gasometer is downright ugly. Saw the Pies play footy there too which was a bit of a blast. Wasn't overimpressed by Headingly either, though the Hutton gates were cool. I enjoyed Adelaide having watched both test cricket and one day matches there except that lack of shade is a problem. Wasn't that enamoured of the WACA when I watched cricket there.
sainters
10 Jul 2006, 22:02
Theres a ground in Canada, which apperantly Bradman said was the most beautiful in the world back in the 30's...ive seen a picture, ill try to find it!
EDIT: i have found that it's Brockton Point cricket Ground, Vancouver...
Sir Donald Bradman's quote:
“. . .we commenced a series of matches at Brockton Point Ground, Vancouver. . .
This is without question the most beautiful ground in the world. No doubt the champions of other grounds will hesitate to agree, but I cannot imagine a more delightful place for cricket. The ground is on the edge of a beautiful wooded park. Sitting in a deck chair on the verandah of the rustic pavilion, one can look across the field towards the towering snow-capped mountains, while in the foreground an arm of the harbour runs behind the sightboard, and lazy old ferries dawdle across the bowler’s arm. To the right are small clumps of ornamental trees. Then further to the right is the harbour where seaplanes come in to a graceful foamy landing, and beyond is the city itself with its tall, stately buildings on the skyline.”
http://www.cricinfo.com/perl/picture.cgi/039440/
Ive seen better pictures of it though...
Spoken like someone that has never been there.
It's a wonderful ground.
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 22:36
It's a wonderful ground.
I have been there, best thing there is the museum
Blue Red and Gold
10 Jul 2006, 22:48
Eddie, you are entitled to your opinion but I just want to know why you think this about Adelaide Oval.
Is this just a swipe at SA or is there something else to it?
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 22:50
Eddie, you are entitled to your opinion but I just want to know why you think this about Adelaide Oval.
Is this just a swipe at SA or is there something else to it?
I actually liked it better when I went there back when the Crows actually could win a final :p, but now those horrible stands they built make it looks so, I dunno, a bit like Perth, as some of the English grounds do now as well, trying to mix old and new just doesnt work
Blue Red and Gold
10 Jul 2006, 23:06
I dont think a Collingwood fan should be knocking a Crows fan over their finals record. We havent lost a Grand Final, let alone two in a row ;)
I am assuming you are talking about the Chappell Stands. Initially I didnt like them, but we had to get some stands in there, it was a must and I think they have actually done a good job. They are an awesome spot to watch the game from and the tickets there are relatively cheap.
SACA were stuck between a rock and a hard place, they had to expand but they had to do it in a way which added to the character of the ground without taking anything away from the history and appearance of the ground.
I much prefer these unique stands to a typical sterile concrete stand.
I dont think a Collingwood fan should be knocking a Crows fan over their finals record. We havent lost a Grand Final, let alone two in a row ;)
I am assuming you are talking about the Chappell Stands. Initially I didnt like them, but we had to get some stands in there, it was a must and I think they have actually done a good job. They are an awesome spot to watch the game from and the tickets there are relatively cheap.
SACA were stuck between a rock and a hard place, they had to expand but they had to do it in a way which added to the character of the ground without taking anything away from the history and appearance of the ground.
Chappell stands are at least different and that family name deserved honouring in some way in the city of churches. I tend to think that the filling in of the hill in Sydney is more of a 'spoil' job than in Adelaide. Watching the footy there a few years ago I couldn't help thinking that it was a farrago of stands with the new ones not cutting edge and there being a lack of uniformity. The members stand is still the best anywhere in Australia though and the old Melbourne one was ugly despite the fight by some of the codgers to preserve it. Some would argue that the MCG is now a bit too uniform and cold with its high-tech look but it has an awesome colisseum effect working, especially when it's packed to the rafters.
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 23:11
Surely they could have built something better, possibly something like the current stand, or is it impossible in this day and age of modern masterpieces :p
Oh and you wont be winning a premiership anytime soon, I got no trips planned for Adelaide in September like your only premierships :) Must admit I enjoyed those weeks, the parade with half a dozen teams was a good day :thumbsu:
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 23:12
Chappell stands are at least different and that family name deserved honouring in some way in the city of churches. I tend to think that the filling in of the hill in Sydney is more of a 'spoil' job than in Adelaide. Watching the footy there a few years ago I couldn't help thinking that it was a farrago of stands with the new ones not cutting edge and there being a lack of uniformity. The members stand is still the best anywhere in Australia though and the old Melbourne one was ugly despite the fight by some of the codgers to preserve it. Some would argue that the MCG is now a bit too uniform and cold with its high-tech look but it has an awesome colisseum effect working, especially when it's packed to the rafters.
I like the new MCG as it looks better as a whole ground, grounds look weird with lots of very different stands, thats why I also hate the SCG
It's a wonderful ground.
Adelaide is nice to look at on TV, not bad if it's 40% full, but i reckon I would hate to be there if it was at capacity. Just seems to be one of those grounds that's still a bit in the past when it comes to modern day facilities. Mind you, I haven't been there in a few years, before the new stand went up.
Blue Red and Gold
10 Jul 2006, 23:14
You wanted them to build a replica of the stands that were made in 19 something? Bit unrealistic dont you think?
You obviously have your opinion which is fine, I just wanted to find exactly why you thought it was overated.
I actually agree with you in regards to the SCG, nothing special about it.
Blue Red and Gold
10 Jul 2006, 23:17
I wont lie to you, on Australia day last year I think it was the worst day of cricket I have had. It was chockers on the hill and just so damn hot, god it was hot!
The facilities have got much better, especially underneath the Chappell Stands, nothing spectacular about them but it does the job. The toilets and kiosk have all been upgraded and more facilities added.
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 23:17
You wanted them to build a replica of the stands that were made in 19 something? Bit unrealistic dont you think?
You obviously have your opinion which is fine, I just wanted to find exactly why you thought it was overated.
I actually agree with you in regards to the SCG, nothing special about it.
I dont know about replica, but they could have done something that fits better with the rest of the ground
Start adding a couple of modern stands to old stands and the ground loses some of its character in my mind
As I said despite my earlier post which was sarcastic (naming the England grounds we didnt lose at :p) I hate the look of most of the English grounds with their new stands
usalion
10 Jul 2006, 23:20
Need to put a Carribean ground in the mix...maybe Antigua Recreation Grounds? Atmosphere is just fantastic there, and the history- well, go back over the Windies....
In England, Lords of course- and Old Trafford, again for the history of the matches there. I'd put in either New Road, Worcester or the St. Lawrence Ground in Canterbury- wonderful ambiance.
I'd also put in Basin reserve in Wellington- I think there are not as many matches there now because of the new multipurpose stadium that was built, but I like the openess of BR, and there is a lovely museum on the ground.
In Australia, hey, I'm biased and admit it- but give me the OLD Gabba, before the redevelopment took place- no dog track, but with the old Cricketers' Club and the Bears AFL Club on the oval. Paradise, indeed! Oh, and can't forget the Hill....
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 23:21
Need to put a Carribean ground in the mix...maybe Antigua Recreation Grounds? Atmosphere is just fantastic there, and the history- well, go back over the Windies....
In England, Lords of course- and Old Trafford, again for the history of the matches there. I'd put in either New Road, Worcester or the St. Lawrence Ground in Canterbury- wonderful ambiance.
I'd also put in Basin reserve in Wellington- I think there are not as many matches there now because of the new multipurpose stadium that was built, but I like the openess of BR, and there is a lovely museum on the ground.
In Australia, hey, I'm biased and admit it- but give me the OLD Gabba, before the redevelopment took place- no dog track, but with the old Cricketers' Club and the Bears AFL Club on the oval. Paradise, indeed!
Wow, no suprises there :)
usalion
10 Jul 2006, 23:27
Wow, no suprises there :)
Really? Ever hear me go on about Carribean grounds or the Basin Reserve before?
The English grounds I know I've said stuff about....
The Gabba is, of course, predictable....but note that I said the OLD Gabba
eddiesmith
10 Jul 2006, 23:28
Really? Ever hear me go on about Carribean grounds or the Basin Reserve before?
The English grounds I know I've said stuff about....
The Gabba is, of course, predictable....but note that I said the OLD Gabba
Sorry, I am to lazy to cut out the bits I dont care about in a quote, obviously I only meant the bit about the GABBA, you beat me before I posted saying and despite what our American friend might say the GABBA is **** :p
I do also love the County Grounds at Bristol and Taunton, very nice grounds, then again I do have good memories of them :)
usalion
10 Jul 2006, 23:35
I do also love the County Grounds at Bristol and Taunton, very nice grounds, then again I do have good memories of them :)
Never been to Bristol or Taunton...after seeing the video Mr. P@h posted the other week, I've got it marked down for my next visit- I'd also like top see Riverside, as I have a soft spot for Durham (lived just south of the Tyne 34 years ago)
Browney2006
11 Jul 2006, 12:44
The Junction Oval
usalion
11 Jul 2006, 13:24
The Junction Oval
Can't wait to hear eddie's reaction to that choice. If the SCG, Adelaide Oval and Gabba are *****, one wonders how many *'s will be needed to describe the bane of his existence....
Ray Nolan
11 Jul 2006, 14:31
I'll nominate Galle, with the Fort as the backdrop it's a beautiful ground. Hopefully it'll be back to its pre-Tsunami glory soon.
MightyFighting
11 Jul 2006, 15:49
deleted
I don't know whether you could say it was beautiful, but players always rave about the time they played at Eden Gardens (Calcutta). 110,000 fans shouting as loudly as they can. It'd be impossible to think!
raikkonen
11 Jul 2006, 19:19
I wont lie to you, on Australia day last year I think it was the worst day of cricket I have had. It was chockers on the hill and just so damn hot, god it was hot!
The facilities have got much better, especially underneath the Chappell Stands, nothing spectacular about them but it does the job. The toilets and kiosk have all been upgraded and more facilities added.
I think i remember that one, against the Windies? It was at least 40 degrees plus, and by the time the game started I had already downed 2L of water, and 2L of lemonade, and that was in the shade of the Edwin Smith Stand. I left when Katich was on about 75 (i think), because I had a shocking headache. Watched the rest at home.
Every time there is international cricket here in Adelaide, Mother Nature does her best to ensure the temperature is always at least 30 degrees, if not 35.
As for Eddie, i'm seriously guessing you have never been to Adelaide Oval. With what you are saying. This is how cricket grounds should be, not big concrete colloseums. That is more for Footy, or soccer. Cricket is a traditional game. I invite you to come to Adelaide Oval on the first day of the test match this year, and stand on the hill all day with a packed out crowd and stunning chicks, and then you tell me what is better. Boxing Day might be awesome, but Adelaide is just as good. Plus you're closer to the action.
Blue Red and Gold
11 Jul 2006, 22:37
Yeah that might of been the day, not sure, it was the last Australia day just been, cant remember if Sri Lanka or the Windies were playing.
Horrible day and a pretty lacklustre game. I have never been more uncomfortable. My GF had never been to a cricket game as she hates the sport but I convinced her to come to this one. Well that was the first and last time she has ever been to an international.
I got decked too which didnt help the day. Some ******** was standing on his esky getting in the way, everyone threw bottles at him, he yelled back that if anyone threw another bottle they would smash them. Well safe to say everyone on the hill, bar me, threw bottles at him. He came racing up the hill to deck someone, at the last minute he detoured to me and copped me fair and square on the face. He didnt knock me down but did draw blood, security mist of been keeping a close eye on him as he was kicked out before I had time to retaliate.
o yeah my girlfriend has stated she will never go again, although I did get her to come to the ING final with me, so there is still hope.
raikkonen
12 Jul 2006, 11:35
Yeah that might of been the day, not sure, it was the last Australia day just been, cant remember if Sri Lanka or the Windies were playing.
Horrible day and a pretty lacklustre game. I have never been more uncomfortable. My GF had never been to a cricket game as she hates the sport but I convinced her to come to this one. Well that was the first and last time she has ever been to an international.
I got decked too which didnt help the day. Some ******** was standing on his esky getting in the way, everyone threw bottles at him, he yelled back that if anyone threw another bottle they would smash them. Well safe to say everyone on the hill, bar me, threw bottles at him. He came racing up the hill to deck someone, at the last minute he detoured to me and copped me fair and square on the face. He didnt knock me down but did draw blood, security mist of been keeping a close eye on him as he was kicked out before I had time to retaliate.
o yeah my girlfriend has stated she will never go again, although I did get her to come to the ING final with me, so there is still hope.
The last Australia Day game was v Sri Lanka, and yeah that was f****ing hot too. Bearable this year for me. I remember at the ING Cup final that about 15 people got in a big stacks on (on the hill...where else??), which resulted in an all in brawl of about 20 blokes. That was gold to watch.
ALwaysNorth
15 Jul 2006, 15:25
Best places to watch cricket IMO Newlands , Worcester , Hamilton , Bellerive and Grenada . I have watched a days play at the first four and very enjoyable games they were .
I am am not talking tradition or atmosphere just talking "picturesque" .
Best atmosphere day I ever had was a day at the old SCG when The Hill was still there , watching Botham hit sixes into the stands at The Gabba on a Sunday afternoon run it close though .
Power21
15 Jul 2006, 18:13
Spoken like a true w****.
spell_check
26 Aug 2006, 02:27
Most of the subcontinent grounds are pieces of concrete crap.
Power21
26 Aug 2006, 13:57
LOL, you are really pathetic aren't you.
just maybe
26 Aug 2006, 14:20
Hmmm...Adelaide Oval is widely regarded as the possibly the most beautiful ground in the world...
Or we can choose to believe eddie... (isn't it funny he only picked English grounds...)
raikkonen
27 Aug 2006, 20:32
Hmmm...Adelaide Oval is widely regarded as the possibly the most beautiful ground in the world...
Or we can choose to believe eddie... (isn't it funny he only picked English grounds...)
Adelaide Oval is undoubtedly the best ground to watch cricket from. Love ODD night games, lazing around on the hill with plenty of space, checking out the babes walk past, while watching big Cossie smack sixes all over the park.
Trent Bridge beautiful, picturesque full of history and 25 minutes from where I live in sunny Nottinghamshire
Sunny? When I lived in England for most of the year and the sun and England seemed somewhat oxymoronic.:)
+That must have been before global warming :D
just maybe
29 Aug 2006, 23:22
I always thought this ground was possibly the most spectacular I've seen when I saw Inzamam standing on it...just found out it's Dharamshala Stadium in India...
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/13500/13530.jpg
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/DB/032005/058471.jpg
http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/DB/032005/058474.jpg
I always thought this ground was possibly the most spectacular I've seen when I saw Inzamam standing on it...just found out it's Dharamshala Stadium in India...
Yes pretty spectacular.
During the one dayers in SA this year they showed Table Mountain changing colours with the varying light of the day. And the comment they made was that at least an opener can look at the mountain all day when he makes a duck. :D
Here it is during a day nighter.
http://www.capesportsandleisure.co.uk/images/newlands.jpg
Lords, MCG, The Oval, J-Burg and Jamacia
Roonaldo!
9 Sep 2006, 16:57
Wouldn't say Old Trafford.
Down the road, now that's a great stadium:
http://www.manutdportugal.com/downloads/wallpapers/oldtrafford2.jpg
http://static.flickr.com/98/236781508_d6bcaf6a7a_m.jpgA cricket ground in Scotland
linger_isgod
12 Sep 2006, 10:21
2000m up the Himalayas. It'd be interesting to see bowlers being clocked at Dharmasala.