View Full Version : Coaching changes for 2007

ringo1
11 Jul 2006, 13:49
Guys I know it maybe a bit early, but some clubs will be already sounding out new coaches for next season. Are there any rumours at this stage? just thought I might get in early.:thumbsu:

Scrappa's Love Child
11 Jul 2006, 13:52
Guys I know it maybe a bit early, but some clubs will be already sounding out new coaches for next season. Are there any rumours at this stage? just thought I might get in early.:thumbsu:

Heard on the grape vine that Golden Square ruckman Wes Pye may return home to Lake Boga in the CMFL in a coaching capacity??

ringo1
11 Jul 2006, 13:53
Heard on the grape vine that Golden Square ruckman Wes Pye may return home to Lake Boga in the CMFL in a coaching capacity??

How has big Wes been going?

Scrappa's Love Child
11 Jul 2006, 13:57
How has big Wes been going?

Heard he has had the odd injury but has been playing some solid footy. Missed interleague with an injury though....

Catter
11 Jul 2006, 13:57
CMFL

Tierney maybe to take over at woora

badds
11 Jul 2006, 13:59
CMFL

Tierney maybe to take over at woora

yeah ive heard that woora are looking for a new coach

ROOTA#6
11 Jul 2006, 14:04
yeah ive heard that woora are looking for a new coach

May be a big year for new coaching changes in the CMFL

Catter
11 Jul 2006, 14:08
May be a big year for new coaching changes in the CMFL

Would Balranald be able to afford Neagle for one more season? at 40k its a huge ask!!

FOOTYBOSS
11 Jul 2006, 14:16
Euroa looking for new coach if anyone is interested?

ringo1
11 Jul 2006, 14:18
Footyboss, why is Gleeson leaving?

No Heart
11 Jul 2006, 16:55
Euroa looking for new coach if anyone is interested?

Stevie D is leaving Seymour at the end of the year also, B Haberman or J Amad being groomed for the job.

journeyman
11 Jul 2006, 17:38
Stevie D is leaving Seymour at the end of the year also, B Haberman or J Amad being groomed for the job.

Would Habers or Amad be able to do the job based in Melbourne or would they move to Seymour?

the gloved 1
11 Jul 2006, 18:00
Heard a strong rumour one of the CMFL's leading goalkicker will be heading to the Sunraysia league next year to take up a coaching role. Anyone got any news on this?

ROOTA#6
11 Jul 2006, 18:01
Heard a strong rumour one of the CMFL's leading goalkicker will be heading to the Sunraysia league next year to take up a coaching role. Anyone got any news on this?

Who, Brad Carroll!!!???

the gloved 1
11 Jul 2006, 18:10
Who, Brad Carroll!!!???

No not Carroll don't think he would ever leave the area. The bloke who is behind Brad on goalkicking, heard this from a well known Tooleytang supporter

dogman22
11 Jul 2006, 18:59
In the Eastern Football League in metropolitan Melbourne, Division 3 club Mooroolbark advertised for Expressions of Interest in their senior coaching position in 2007 about six weeks ago, looking for someone to take over from ex-Richmond player Andy Goodwin

GoBears
11 Jul 2006, 21:35
Would Balranald be able to afford Neagle for one more season? at 40k its a huge ask!!

Neagle has stated many times that this is his last year as coach, and the way his team is going could go out with a huge bang...

Junkie
12 Jul 2006, 12:15
Neagle has stated many times that this is his last year as coach, and the way his team is going could go out with a huge bang...

Balranald would nearly be certanties wouldn't they??? They've had some massive wins over some of the other 'contenders'.

clifton's lookalike
12 Jul 2006, 12:42
Balranald would nearly be certanties wouldn't they??? They've had some massive wins over some of the other 'contenders'.

Certanties is a strong word the only certainty I have ever seen was a greyhound by the name of Pyrenees Fox. Just like Pyrenees Fox, Balranald fell at the last hurdle last year going in with good form having beaten some of the sides during the year by big margins and Tyntynder in the prelim by over 80 points if i remember correctly. Don't get to ahead of it out there, there are 4 teams capable of winning the flag this year

FencePainter
12 Jul 2006, 13:33
Heard he has had the odd injury but has been playing some solid footy. Missed interleague with an injury though....

The odd injury???

He hasn't played for 10 weeks.

Is your rumor as accurate as your assessment on his current progress??

If your not sure on things, rather than make things up, don't say anything!

ringo1
12 Jul 2006, 13:39
In the Eastern Football League in metropolitan Melbourne, Division 3 club Mooroolbark advertised for Expressions of Interest in their senior coaching position in 2007 about six weeks ago, looking for someone to take over from ex-Richmond player Andy Goodwin

Have you had any interest ?

No Heart
12 Jul 2006, 20:39
Would Habers or Amad be able to do the job based in Melbourne or would they move to Seymour?

Not to sure journey man, would be a big ask from melbourne?

roaring tiger
13 Jul 2006, 21:29

I hear that stevie D might be heading up north from seymour to take on a top job in a neighbouring league for a very successful footy club over the last few years.

Doona2
13 Jul 2006, 22:07
I hear that stevie D might be heading up north from seymour to take on a top job in a neighbouring league for a very successful footy club over the last few years.

Yea has been pretty successful - 4 granny's in 5 years for 2 flags I reckon???

the gloved 1
13 Jul 2006, 22:22
Heard that a former Essendon player that returned to Mildura is being chaufered around and is being given the royal treatment from an OUT OF TOWN club that has plenty of dough in the CMFL, hoping to get a signature for coaching next year.

BIGANT
13 Jul 2006, 22:38
There maybe a number of clubs in the Western Border FL looking for new coaching appointments for season 2007 !!

ringo1
14 Jul 2006, 09:49

Nathalia?????

Rabbito
14 Jul 2006, 15:24
Heard that a former Essendon player that returned to Mildura is being chaufered around and is being given the royal treatment from an OUT OF TOWN club that has plenty of dough in the CMFL, hoping to get a signature for coaching next year.

Got an idea which club?

the gloved 1
14 Jul 2006, 15:45
Got an idea which club?

Heard it is a club that has pretty strong ties with a lot of players in the SFL. You don't have to be Einstein to work it out, quite a few blokes at this club have played in SFL in the past 5 years give or take a few and a few blokes from the SFL have played with this club in the past couple of seasons

Catter
14 Jul 2006, 16:05
Heard it is a club that has pretty strong ties with a lot of players in the SFL. You don't have to be Einstein to work it out, quite a few blokes at this club have played in SFL in the past 5 years give or take a few and a few blokes from the SFL have played with this club in the past couple of seasons

Who Alvey to Balranald. Is it true that Guy Booker will aslo be joint coach with him. Geez if thats true that will be a great thing to do after Bookers past record! pfft!

Yaaablett
14 Jul 2006, 16:07
Who Alvey to Balranald. Is it true that Guy Booker will aslo be joint coach with him. Geez if thats true that will be a great thing to do after Bookers past record! pfft!

Alvey is getting chased pretty hard by Tooleybuc-Manangatang, not Balranald.

the gloved 1
14 Jul 2006, 16:30

Are they trying to get him because of a reported mass exodus out at Buc land next year, or are the club hoping to keep most of the players with a signing like this? You have your foot in the door there Yaabs

Tigers of Old
14 Jul 2006, 16:42
Are they trying to get him because of a reported mass exodus out at Buc land next year, or are the club hoping to keep most of the players with a signing like this? You have your foot in the door there Yaabs

Wheres the info of a mass exodus coming from? Might be more the other way around with the way things are going.

Yaaablett
14 Jul 2006, 16:52

Haven't heard of a mass exodus gloved one. News to me. As long as the coin is getting dished out they'll be ok.

roaring tiger
15 Jul 2006, 08:45
Nathalia?????

Pretty close to the mark Ringo1.

I also hear that Moama are going to have a new coach next year. By the look of there results this year they would need a change of coach. Non-Playing coaches don't really suit country footy these days unless the club has a heap if coin to play good players.

Most clubs need to attract a gun player by having them as coach.

And maybe Guy Campbell to take over at Echuca untied.

bazlurhmann
15 Jul 2006, 20:13
Any idea the club big stevie D will be goin to when he leaves the lions den???

droppuntkick23
15 Jul 2006, 23:49

Is that Mark Alvey.?
Hope there is a TAB in the town, he wont stay long otherwise;)

Kelvin 69
16 Jul 2006, 22:09

I'm a Tooleytang supporter and involved very closely to the committee and I have not heard anything about Alvey coaching us next year:confused: . I know he is good mates with a few of the players.

malleeboy
17 Jul 2006, 16:20
I'm a Tooleytang supporter and involved very closely to the committee and I have not heard anything about Alvey coaching us next year:confused: . I know he is good mates with a few of the players.

So kelvin, you can honestly say Alvey wasn't at your game on the weekend? I heard that the committee used $100 bills to build a shelter for him so he didn't gat wet;)

themagicfrog
17 Jul 2006, 16:48
Berrigan is looking for a new coach for 2007, anyone interested let us know.

Kelvin 69
17 Jul 2006, 19:47
So kelvin, you can honestly say Alvey wasn't at your game on the weekend? I heard that the committee used $100 bills to build a shelter for him so he didn't gat wet;)

Yes he was at the game on Saturday watching a few of his old Wentworth mates run around Jarrod and Drew Arentz. He came with Arentz boys brother Gareth, how does that mean he is coaching Tooleybuc Manang?? He told me himself he is likely to coach over Albury way, would be a good pick up for any club.

Tigers of Old
19 Jul 2006, 13:19
Yes he was at the game on Saturday watching a few of his old Wentworth mates run around Jarrod and Drew Arentz. He came with Arentz boys brother Gareth, how does that mean he is coaching Tooleybuc Manang?? He told me himself he is likely to coach over Albury way, would be a good pick up for any club.

Whos in the mix then Kelvin? Was Gaz checking out his new team mates for next year. Could be a few other handy types that would come with him to I heard.

September
19 Jul 2006, 16:12
Pat Miceli and Joel Griffiths co coaches at Hay

super snooper
19 Jul 2006, 16:49
Pat Miceli and Joel Griffiths co coaches at Hay
Joel Griffiths is not the man to lead Hay to success. He would be a poor choice, as he is in bred with the same culture that has Hay going no where. Undisiplined.

They need a winner to take the reins.

September
19 Jul 2006, 17:08
Joel Griffiths is not the man to lead Hay to success. He would be a poor choice, as he is in bred with the same culture that has Hay going no where. Undisiplined.

They need a winner to take the reins.
Obviously not a wrap for Joel, what about his offsider Miceli, heard he can play a bit?

HappyDayz
19 Jul 2006, 17:18
Miceli. Heard he played for the Bullants a few years back. Must be handy at least.

Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 17:39
Whos in the mix then Kelvin? Was Gaz checking out his new team mates for next year. Could be a few other handy types that would come with him to I heard.

Why would anyone be in the mix? Will there be a change?

Tigers of Old
19 Jul 2006, 18:05
Why would anyone be in the mix? Will there be a change?

No idea if there will be a change or not. You did say on 14th July that "Alvey is getting chased pretty hard by Tooleybuc-Manangatang, not Balranald"

Have you heard something definite about any chasing? Either way keeping the current list and set-up and adding any good additions in 2007 can only be good for them.

Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 18:11
No idea if there will be a change or not. You did say on 14th July that "Alvey is getting chased pretty hard by Tooleybuc-Manangatang, not Balranald"

Have you heard something definite about any chasing? Either way keeping the current list and set-up and adding any good additions in 2007 can only be good for them.

Just sounded like you knew what was going on there Tige. I know you're a saint fan, the Alvey stuff was just what I'd heard.

Kelvin 69
19 Jul 2006, 21:06

I'd say Garth Russell would have to be a good chance again. The saints have been moving along nicely so far. Long way to go in the season to be talking about coaches for next year, especially for the teams likely to be playing in finals..

SwanHillPremiers2006
19 Jul 2006, 21:14
I'd say Garth Russell would have to be a good chance again. The saints have been moving along nicely so far. Long way to go in the season to be talking about coaches for next year, especially for the teams likely to be playing in finals..
Wouldnt be the first time tooleyTang would turn on a successful coach would it boys......

Hillite
19 Jul 2006, 21:18
Local TV news in mildura quotes Alvey as "having had discussions with Lavington" But still keen to play with mates at Wentworth.
How keen is anyones guess.

Kelvin 69
19 Jul 2006, 21:32
Local TV news in mildura quotes Alvey as "having had discussions with Lavington" But still keen to play with mates at Wentworth.
How keen is anyones guess.

Their would be plenty of clubs talking to him from all around Australia. Sounds like silly season has started already.:)

gippslander
19 Jul 2006, 22:09
nyora seniors coach to be shown the door after they win the flag this year, most hated and overated player on their playing list

whitelinefeva
19 Jul 2006, 22:48
Shannon Gibson joining Watsonia as assistant playing coach in '07.

ringo1
20 Jul 2006, 08:53
nyora seniors coach to be shown the door after they win the flag this year, most hated and overated player on their playing list
Gippslander who is the coach and what league are you guys in?:thumbsu:

T.Perry
20 Jul 2006, 09:51

What's Gibbo's connection with Watsonia?? I was talking to him not that long ago, and he seemed pretty ademant that this would be his last year, and that he was hoping to go out with a flag (at Euroa)...Watsonia must be looking after him - but are you definitely sure that he will be playing assistant next year??

Catter
20 Jul 2006, 10:14
Miceli. Heard he played for the Bullants a few years back. Must be handy at least.

If that the same Miceli that Im thinking of, that's a huge coo for Hay. Auldist, Fitzpatrick and Miceli that would be a preety formiddable attack!. Whats he reason for leaving his beloved grasshoppers?. We're been chasing him for years, the all mighty dollar spoke too much. Good luck to Hay for securing his services:thumbsu:

Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 10:17
If that the same Miceli that Im thinking of, that's a huge coo for Hay. Auldist, Fitzpatrick and Miceli that would be a preety formiddable attack!. Whats he reason for leaving his beloved grasshoppers?. We're been chasing him for years, the all mighty dollar spoke too much. Good luck to Hay for securing his services:thumbsu:

The only Pat Miceli I know played reserves at Tooleybuc and half and half at Woorinen when they were ordinary in 2003/4. It couldn't be him up for the Hay job, could it:confused:

FOOTYBOSS
20 Jul 2006, 10:50
This must be a practical joke that someone is playing. Pat Miceli coaching. I nearly fell of my chair in laughter and I almost fell off my chair when I read your post HappyDayz. He didnt play any senior games at the bullants.

If its the same Pat Miceli I once knew the its very funny. Pat trained with the bullants over the summer of 99/00 pre season. he got a spot on the list in the 2000 year, mind you anyone in the world could have that year. thats how terrible the bullants were travelling. From memory he played the the opening 4 or 5 games in the reserves only to be dropped and never seen again at the club. He wasnt upto it at all.

But the funniest story of him came when the club was trying to organise the footy trip that year, he walked upto the guys organising the trip and asked "is it ok if my cousin comes on the trip with me?" The organisers just cracked up laughing. Poor bloke felt about 2cm tall.

He had the nickname libba. He was small in height but tried to no avail. If it is him I couldnt see him coaching a team.

FOOTYBOSS
20 Jul 2006, 13:54
Whiteline where did you hear this from mate? I know shannon and he has denied this so would be interested to hear who your source is.

FAKE_HAIR
20 Jul 2006, 14:09
Any truth to the rumour going around that Brad Morris from iyrmple is on the verge of signing with the euston football club as Steve Calarco's assistant..

Action Jackson
20 Jul 2006, 15:39
This must be a practical joke that someone is playing. Pat Miceli coaching. I nearly fell of my chair in laughter and I almost fell off my chair when I read your post HappyDayz. He didnt play any senior games at the bullants.

If its the same Pat Miceli I once knew the its very funny. Pat trained with the bullants over the summer of 99/00 pre season. he got a spot on the list in the 2000 year, mind you anyone in the world could have that year. thats how terrible the bullants were travelling. From memory he played the the opening 4 or 5 games in the reserves only to be dropped and never seen again at the club. He wasnt upto it at all.

But the funniest story of him came when the club was trying to organise the footy trip that year, he walked upto the guys organising the trip and asked "is it ok if my cousin comes on the trip with me?" The organisers just cracked up laughing. Poor bloke felt about 2cm tall.

He had the nickname libba. He was small in height but tried to no avail. If it is him I couldnt see him coaching a team.

Couldn't agree more boss man I have played footy with him and his brother and the only thing they are good at is talking themselves up. If I was at Hay I would be knocking it on the head as soon as possible

Action Jackson
20 Jul 2006, 15:45
Any truth to the rumour going around that Brad Morris from iyrmple is on the verge of signing with the euston football club as Steve Calarco's assistant..

Yes Fakey the rumour is true, Calarco and Morris have always been extremely close ever since their days at Euston Colts cricket. It seems that the time is right for Brad to go back and rejoin his former mentor. They have already been on the recruiting trail and have apparently signed a few handy players from neighbouring leagues namely Matt Downing from Robinvale and Mick Malam from arnhem land Kendall Pant from SA amatuers is also a big chance, get on the bombers in 07.

ringo1
20 Jul 2006, 15:48
Does anybody know if Tristan Lynch will be coaching Anglesea in 2007?

gippslander
21 Jul 2006, 21:11
ellinbank league ringo, nyora undefeated probably wont lose a game for the year however with the money they are spending and their list anyone could coach them to the flag thisyear. same thing last year except they lost the granny

ringo1
25 Jul 2006, 08:40
Thanks for that gippslander. I take it that you would know a bit about footy down that way. What is the standard of the Gippsland-Latrobe league?

gippslander
25 Jul 2006, 21:22
still a pretty strong standard the top sides sale maffra etc would be competitive with any in vcfl

bradrowe#32
25 Jul 2006, 22:10
Any idea the club big stevie D will be goin to when he leaves the lions den???

Wangaratta.

madtiger
26 Jul 2006, 16:19
Pretty close to the mark Ringo1.

I also hear that Moama are going to have a new coach next year. By the look of there results this year they would need a change of coach. Non-Playing coaches don't really suit country footy these days unless the club has a heap if coin to play good players.

Most clubs need to attract a gun player by having them as coach.

And maybe Guy Campbell to take over at Echuca untied.

Heritage has been offered the job again I believe they are just waiting on an answer

whitelinefeva
26 Jul 2006, 20:29
Whiteline where did you hear this from mate? I know shannon and he has denied this so would be interested to hear who your source is.

This is doing the rounds through people at Watsonia. Allegedly bringing some McBrien bloke with him? ;)

TuskenRaider
27 Jul 2006, 12:53
This is doing the rounds through people at Watsonia. Allegedly bringing some McBrien bloke with him? ;)
If that's true it would be a good pick up. Gibson has a very intelligent football brain and no doubt if or when he does decide to coach he will make a very good one.

LOBSTER
27 Jul 2006, 14:16
Will be very good for Watsonia if this does happen. Both players will help the young blokes out the club greatly. I wonder if they will try and entice anymore of the players they currently playing with in the GVFL. My sources are they have all but signed, they are just going through final details and will be announced at the club very shortly. Good to see Watsonia on the improve.

ringo1
2 Aug 2006, 14:02
I see on the Picola thread that both the Deni Rovers PDFL and the Deni Rams MFL are after new coaches. :thumbsu:

deposit
16 Sep 2006, 00:06
Yes Fakey the rumour is true, Calarco and Morris have always been extremely close ever since their days at Euston Colts cricket. It seems that the time is right for Brad to go back and rejoin his former mentor. They have already been on the recruiting trail and have apparently signed a few handy players from neighbouring leagues namely Matt Downing from Robinvale and Mick Malam from arnhem land Kendall Pant from SA amatuers is also a big chance, get on the bombers in 07.

Seems like a waste of time talking about who is coaching a team that is shutting up shop?

Not sure the league will be around, maybe one more year but it is on its last legs

MasterOfRoc
17 Sep 2006, 11:06
Jamie Solyom (formerly Mulwala player/Stawell Coach) will be St Arnauds (NCFL) Coach next year, his assistant will be Simon Brearley (Won BnF awards at Nhill in the Wimmera League

mooney
17 Sep 2006, 11:50
Julian Shanks has been appointed coach of Albion in the WRFL interesting selection..........

ringo1
18 Sep 2006, 04:35
Jamie Solyom (formerly Mulwala player/Stawell Coach) will be St Arnauds (NCFL) Coach next year, his assistant will be Simon Brearley (Won BnF awards at Nhill in the Wimmera League

Master any word on where Darren Atkinson is heading?:thumbsu:

deposit
30 Nov 2006, 10:07
Master any word on where Darren Atkinson is heading?:thumbsu:

Atkinson is assistant coach at Imperials in the SFL for 2007.