View Full Version : Triple M playing new stuff?
TwiggyDunn
25 Jan 2002, 16:06
for all the hooplah of triple m playing new music have you noticed they play the same new songs over and over and over again. How f annoying!
Makes you hate those new tunes more than the old ones they play over and over again.
Woeful!
Looks like Nova will kick their butt too.
How can AC/DC & Cold Chiesl be played on MMM if there playing new stuff ?
Mr. Blonde
25 Jan 2002, 21:29
They do this every few years. They say "lets start playing some new tunes" and then murder these few songs for 12 months until everyone is sick of them. Then 3-4 years later they do the same thing all over again.
I wouldn't be surprised if they don't play more than 1 new song per week.
Blues_Brat
26 Jan 2002, 03:29
I love the way commercial stations 'discover' new music 6 months after its fallen of JJJ's play rotation.
The Hitman
26 Jan 2002, 04:57
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
I love the way commercial stations 'discover' new music 6 months after its fallen of JJJ's play rotation.
Like Coldplay, Sum41, and a million other bands.
I've given up on MMM, they are repetitive, they're lineup is sh*thouse, and JJJ is a far better alternative.
The Hitman
TwiggyDunn
26 Jan 2002, 06:48
Repetitive is exactly what they are. They dont play anything new at all now. Very Boring!
And its quite laughable nearly every time they play their "new stuff" promo they follow it with a song from the 80s!
HELLO?
Originally posted by TwiggyDunn
Repetitive is exactly what they are. They dont play anything new at all now. Very Boring!
And its quite laughable nearly every time they play their "new stuff" promo they follow it with a song from the 80s!
HELLO?
The promos will come along again sooner or later...
"We're asking the listeners what they want, and they've told us.... more of thiiiiiiiiiiisssssssssssssssss [insert Powderfinger grab], some of thhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssssss [insert Live grab], and plenty of thhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiisssssssssssss [insert Alien Ant Farm grab]"
Also when they do the request thingos, unless you pick something by one of the 8 or so bands that gets airplay, you won't have much luck.
Seriously, where do they dig up these people who ring up and request MORE Powderfinger?Buy the f*cking CD you spastics.
CarterS
26 Jan 2002, 09:34
There was this song on Triple M last night called "Nobody likes a bogan" which was pretty funny. Some of that Aussie Punk / Frenzal type music.
Originally posted by CarterS
There was this song on Triple M last night called "Nobody likes a bogan" which was pretty funny. Some of that Aussie Punk / Frenzal type music.
That song is by Area 7. No doubt the Ms will flog it to their blokey ocker crowd.
daicos4ever
26 Jan 2002, 10:08
They are obsessed with Live. I dont mind Live, but they play at least 3 of their songs a day.
The_Flying_Egg
26 Jan 2002, 15:59
Originally posted by Darky
That song is by Area 7. No doubt the Ms will flog it to their blokey ocker crowd.
Darky, you're an arrogant snob
MMM is repetitive. Most of their hosts ala Timbo, Bedders, Doug Steel, Maroon and Milly are ****ers. They play too many ads. Yet still it is the best station by far.
JJJ plays too much complete rubbish dance type crap. So does Nova. Mix and Fox play rubbish 24/7.
MMM plays heaps of top songs every day. I'd rather hear Live for the 4th time in a day, then any dance type crap. Its the only station that apart from one or 2 exceptions plays rock all the time.
And MMM is much better since the changes. They play more of all the best bands: Pearl Jam, Metallica, Chili Peppers, Live, Creed and Foo Fighters. They even play Oasis sometimes nowadays. I get pissed off with MMM, but I reckon its still the best station by far
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Darky, you're an arrogant snob
MMM is repetitive. Most of their hosts ala Timbo, Bedders, Doug Steel, Maroon and Milly are ****ers. They play too many ads. Yet still it is the best station by far.
JJJ plays too much complete rubbish dance type crap. So does Nova. Mix and Fox play rubbish 24/7.
MMM plays heaps of top songs every day. I'd rather hear Live for the 4th time in a day, then any dance type crap. Its the only station that apart from one or 2 exceptions plays rock all the time.
And MMM is much better since the changes. They play more of all the best bands: Pearl Jam, Metallica, Chili Peppers, Live, Creed and Foo Fighters. They even play Oasis sometimes nowadays. I get pissed off with MMM, but I reckon its still the best station by far
Thanks TFE, I don't mind being called an arrogant snob by someone who appears too narrow-minded to listen to anything that is not shoved down his thorat. :)
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
26 Jan 2002, 16:25
Darky an arrogant snob :confused: ahahhaa now i've heard it all....next round of chardonays are on me Darky darling ;) MWAA! will you be wanting strawberries with it? ;)
**** all radio stations. Especially the brealfast teams, who aren't funny. I cannot stand tracy bartram. **** she is annoying!
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Darky an arrogant snob :confused: ahahhaa now i've heard it all....next round of chardonays are on me Darky darling ;) MWAA! will you be wanting strawberries with it? ;)
You know I wondered why I only ever see him in Armani muscle-t's these days.
:p
Stuck up pr ! ck.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
26 Jan 2002, 16:50
have enough trouble tryin to get him into a pair of Calvins :p but i did offer to lend my Armani halter neck top :D
The Hitman
26 Jan 2002, 17:05
Originally posted by M29
**** all radio stations. Especially the brealfast teams, who aren't funny. I cannot stand tracy bartram. **** she is annoying!
I hate them all except Adam Spencer and Will Anderson on JJJ. They are piss funny. :D
The Hitman
Originally posted by M29
That is a bloke in drag,isn't it ?
blues^rock
26 Jan 2002, 20:39
i HATE tracy bartram i swear if i see her in teh street i'll throw a rock at ehr head!!! my god she is so bloody annoying!!!
The_Flying_Egg
27 Jan 2002, 11:45
Thanks TFE, I don't mind being called an arrogant snob by someone who appears too narrow-minded to listen to anything that is not shoved down his thorat. :)
I once again forgot, if its mainstream and succesful its obviously bad
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
have enough trouble tryin to get him into a pair of Calvins
The undies or the jeans? :confused:
mustapha
30 Jan 2002, 11:57
I know someone who was a DJ. He took pride in playing new techno/dance tracks that no-one knew. He loved the songs until they were released when they suddenly became **** because everyone knew them and they were too mainstream. He was too cool to play anything that a large number of people liked. I think this is a strange attitude. Sometimes you can get sick of a song/band if it is played too much but surely if you loved it before it was popular you would like it after. I think some people use music as a status symbol (i.e. "I am a rebel youth and I am above listening to mainstream crap like Live, Matchbox 20, Powderfinger etc. These bands are just a commercial product of capitalist society man. ".
Rocco Jones
31 Jan 2002, 14:37
Flying Egg I offically agree with everything you have to say about music.
dogboy23
10 Feb 2002, 11:39
How could anyone listen to that triple j crap.If you listened to it for a day you would likely here no more than 3 or 4 good songs.Every time I listen to it there is nothing but crap on.People only listen to it so they can say they dont listen to "commercialised mainstream"type music.Never mind the fact that it is mainstream because of the fact that it sounds good (which is what i thought the aim of music was) and people want to listen to it.
Mr. Blonde
10 Feb 2002, 13:49
Originally posted by dogboy23
How could anyone listen to that triple j crap.If you listened to it for a day you would likely here no more than 3 or 4 good songs.Every time I listen to it there is nothing but crap on.People only listen to it so they can say they dont listen to "commercialised mainstream"type music.Never mind the fact that it is mainstream because of the fact that it sounds good (which is what i thought the aim of music was) and people want to listen to it.
What a load of crap. It's only mainstream because it's good? Commercial stations only play songs that are released as singles. Triple J will play any song off an album that is good. They also add a lot of new songs to their playlist every day. Commercial stations will add about 2 - 3 new songs a week at the most and then play these 20 times a day for 6 months.
But if you don't like a bit of variety and some really good music then that's your loss. You can continue to listen to boring music, lots of ads, and DJ's saying things such as (insert deep voice here) "Long Blocks Of Non-Stop Rock".
dogboy23
10 Feb 2002, 17:32
Originally posted by Mr. Blonde
What a load of crap. It's only mainstream because it's good? Commercial stations only play songs that are released as singles. Triple J will play any song off an album that is good. They also add a lot of new songs to their playlist every day. Commercial stations will add about 2 - 3 new songs a week at the most and then play these 20 times a day for 6 months.
But if you don't like a bit of variety and some really good music then that's your loss. You can continue to listen to boring music, lots of ads, and DJ's saying things such as (insert deep voice here) "Long Blocks Of Non-Stop Rock". People arnt forced to listen to music and buy albums they do it because they like the way it sounds.Some of you people on board seem to think anything that alot of people like must be crap.Every time I turn on feral fm all you get is dance crap and rap ****.Atleast with triple m you know one or 2 of every few songs will be a goodie.It seems to be theres either alot of failed musicians on this board who are jealous of other peoples success or you are all just bored people with nothing to do but to bring down people who make music that people LIKE.(once again i will point out that this would be the aim of music:confused: )
TheMase
11 Feb 2002, 07:29
Originally posted by dogboy23
I agree!
I have tried to listen to JJJ over and over again.
But you have to listen through 20 songs that are by hacks that will never really make the music industry, before you get a decent band that is likely to do something and actually sound good. Half the **** on that station is that, ****.
I think Triple M is also the best station around, at least they play the rock rather than that Dance/Techno **** that you will get on all the station.
To put it all short thought, I have given up on radio. Its ****. There are no good stations anymore. For me I will listen to my cd's and find good music on my own merit.
TheMase
11 Feb 2002, 07:31
Originally posted by Mr. Blonde
But if you don't like a bit of variety and some really good music then that's your loss. You can continue to listen to boring music, lots of ads, and DJ's saying things such as (insert deep voice here) "Long Blocks Of Non-Stop Rock".
I love really good music. But the really good music on Triple J is few and far between. You have to bore yourself to tears to get yourself a good song.
The only good times on Triple J would have to be the Net 50 and requests. Any other time you are listening to hacks that will never make it anywhere, because they are only played on triple j, for the reason they are crap, and are going nowhere, although every now and again, they will play a couple of good songs in a row, but then you are left waiting.
Originally posted by TheMase
I agree!
I have tried to listen to JJJ over and over again.
But you have to listen through 20 songs that are by hacks that will never really make the music industry, before you get a decent band that is likely to do something and actually sound good. Half the **** on that station is that, ****.
I think Triple M is also the best station around, at least they play the rock rather than that Dance/Techno **** that you will get on all the station.
To put it all short thought, I have given up on radio. Its ****. There are no good stations anymore. For me I will listen to my cd's and find good music on my own merit.
I agree with most of that.
Apart from Powderfinger, SFK and The Sh1tlams, I don't havbe a problem with the music MMM play - just the fact that their playlist barely contains 20 bands, all of whom get flogged on very high repetition, and most of whom sound the same to some extent.
I'm surprised they haven't dug up a US band called Seven Mary Three who released a couple of albums in the mid 90s. Now THERE was a Pearl Jam clone if ever there was one. They'd be HHHHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE on MMM now, I tell ya!!!
TheMase
11 Feb 2002, 08:05
I agree with most of that.
Apart from Powderfinger, SFK and The Sh1tlams, I don't havbe a problem with the music MMM play - just the fact that their playlist barely contains 20 bands, all of whom get flogged on very high repetition, and most of whom sound the same to some extent.
I'm surprised they haven't dug up a US band called Seven Mary Three who released a couple of albums in the mid 90s. Now THERE was a Pearl Jam clone if ever there was one. They'd be HHHHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE on MMM now, I tell ya!!!
All good point :cool: (except I like SFK :p)
Yeah I agree with the playlist. I listened to them last, about 3 months ago, havent bothered since. I have pretty much given up on radio. There is one station that isnt too bad up here, NEW FM in Newcastle. They play a good mix of old and new rock. But basically they are all the same, repetitive ****.
All the radio stations have brought land on **** creek.
dogboy23
11 Feb 2002, 09:15
Triple m has certainly gotten worse but would still prefer 5t to nova or triplej.The best in victoria IMO is probably K rock the geelong station.Similar to triple m but play IMO more early 90s and late 80s rock along with there new stuff.;)