View Full Version : Who is the best player in the draft?

Donsforever
14 Jul 2006, 21:02
There has a been a lot of talk from the media about Gibbs being the best player in the upcoming draft. Just wanted to get people opinion whether they agree or think there is a player available better than Gibbs.

kirky#2
14 Jul 2006, 21:05
There has a been a lot of talk from the media about Gibbs being the best player in the upcoming draft. Just wanted to get people opinion whether they agree or think there is a player available better than Gibbs.
Selwood

KING-JAMES
14 Jul 2006, 21:07
I personally think Hansen and Gumbleton are every bit as good as Gibbs if not better. Hawkins could argue this aswell but i think long term the other 3 i mentioned aregoing to be better.

malcolm
14 Jul 2006, 21:24
Already posted - the draft camp may determine some changes in the order:.

1 Essendon Bryce Gibbs
Essendon have requirements both in midfield and KP. Although there structure would be better suited to picking up Gumbelton as the best KPF they will not risk overlooking Gibbs in fear that he could become the premier onballer they desperately need.

2. Carlton
Lachlan Hansen
Hansen is the perfect fit for the blues. Very solid KPB/ KPF who can play HBF in his early years. With carlton picking Kennedy as a KPF last year, coupled with the form of Fevola, the blues would be best serviced with corageous defender who is a future leader.

3. Nth Melbourne
Scott Gumbelton
3rd best player in the draft, could be anything. Will work perfectly in his early years with Thompson as a KPF. Could be the next 'Carey'. Even if the Hawks finish higher they will probably go for Mitch Thorp leaving Gumbelton for Nth.

4. Hawthorn
Mitch Thorp
Thorp is a very versatile player an area where the hawks are lacking. He can play KP and midfield/ flanking roles. Hawthorn have picked up genuine midfielders and genuine KPP in the last two drafts.

5. Brisbane
Albert Proud
Brisbane desperately need an explosive midfielder/ small forward. Jetta is the best available. They tend to go for there own and Proud will fit the bill. They have recruited well with tough in and under midfielders and have picked up KPF in Clarke and Ruckman Wood in the last few years. This will be the reason from overlooking Sellar, Leuenberger and Selwood.

6. Fremantle
Leroy Jetta
Fremantle require pace in the midfield Jetta is the best available. Jetta is one of there own - WA.

7. Port Adelaide
Tom Hislop
With KPP stocks depleting - Tredrea, Wakelin, ect. Port will definetely may go for Sellar. Considering he is SA. However they have previously expressed a committment to Hislop.

8. Geelong
Mathew Leuenberger
The winner in the draft with Hawkins the best player going as a Father/ Son. No doubt would Hawkins would have gone 1. The area of most concern is long term rucking prospects with Leuenberger the best available in recent years.

9. Richmond
James Sellar
Richmond will go tall. Sellar will be perfect, more of a forward then ruckmen, they need to look ahead of Richardson.

10. Sydney
Joel Selwood
With Sydney likely to get a top ten pick they will no doubt go for the next best onballer available. Williams is gone, Kirk and Bolton are battered. There are a number to choose and they are very even at this stage of the draft. Likely to go for Joel Selwood genuine corageous midfielder in the Sydney mould.

11. W.Bulldogs
Jack Reiwoldt
Will experiment with Reiwoldt in a desperate need more forward options, questionable but probably the next best available. Have picked up quality midfielders in recent years

12. Collingwood
Nathan Brown
All Australian, potential KPP, who has good defensive side to his game. Collingwood have gone for outside midfielders recently so may consider another inside midfielder.

13. St Kilda
Clayton Collard
Will go for the X factor with no real need for either KP or midfield. Collard will start his career as a half forward.

14. Melbourne
Andres Everitt
Melbourne will have the flexibility in going for a project player with no real need for midfielders. The sort of potential versatility that may appeal to Melbourne.

15. West Coast
Clinton Benjamin
Fits into the WC gameplan, another project player with West Coast affording this luxury. Could be an Adam Goodes type player.

16. Adelaide
Tom Hurley
A prolific ball winner and local SA talent. Will be thinking long term with ageing onballers.

17. Essendon
Jaryd Allen
This is where Essendon may have been better serviced going tall with no.1, due to the fact that the draft is now thin on KPP there are plenty of onballers still available. Next best tall available is Jaryd Allen- all Australian, Can carry the ball, plays mainly back but can go forward. Needs filling out but local Vic.

18. Carlton
Brock O'Brien
Genuine tough HBF tough with pace and can carry the ball, good kick..

19. Essendon
Shaun Grigg
Onballer who is a ball magnet, captained Vic Country and all Australia. Neat left footer.

20. Carlton
Ricky Petterd
There is still plenty of quality onballers to choose from. Carlton will be looking to add to it's midfield stocks. Will consider local talent but it will be difficult to overlook the talent in Queensland with Petterd, Dzuser and Armitage - all quality onballers who all made the All Australian team Will likely go Petterd for leadership and marking abilities.

The Flying Belgian
14 Jul 2006, 21:39
Brisbane ... tend to go for there own and Proud will fit the bill

We've never tended to go for "our own" in the first round. It'll be best available, although I'd doubt we'll go for another ruckman. KPP aren't as covered as you might think. We've got to start thinking for three years down the track. Michael will have retired by then and we're not exactly well off for big bodied defenders. If anyone of Thorp, Gumbleton or Hansen slip down to us we'll draft them. Dunno bout Gibbs though - heard he's rubbish! :D ;)

I don't think Proud is top 10 material. Probably 10-20 IMO.

TheGeneral
14 Jul 2006, 23:00
Bookmark this thread and I'll tell you in 3-4 years. ;)

gandaal
14 Jul 2006, 23:07
Already posted - the draft camp may determine some changes in the order:.

1 Essendon Bryce Gibbs
Essendon have requirements both in midfield and KP. Although there structure would be better suited to picking up Gumbelton as the best KPF they will not risk overlooking Gibbs in fear that he could become the premier onballer they desperately need.

2. Carlton
Lachlan Hansen
Hansen is the perfect fit for the blues. Very solid KPB/ KPF who can play HBF in his early years. With carlton picking Kennedy as a KPF last year, coupled with the form of Fevola, the blues would be best serviced with corageous defender who is a future leader.

3. Nth Melbourne
Scott Gumbelton
3rd best player in the draft, could be anything. Will work perfectly in his early years with Thompson as a KPF. Could be the next 'Carey'. Even if the Hawks finish higher they will probably go for Mitch Thorp leaving Gumbelton for Nth.

4. Hawthorn
Mitch Thorp
Thorp is a very versatile player an area where the hawks are lacking. He can play KP and midfield/ flanking roles. Hawthorn have picked up genuine midfielders and genuine KPP in the last two drafts.

5. Brisbane
Albert Proud
Brisbane desperately need an explosive midfielder/ small forward. Jetta is the best available. They tend to go for there own and Proud will fit the bill. They have recruited well with tough in and under midfielders and have picked up KPF in Clarke and Ruckman Wood in the last few years. This will be the reason from overlooking Sellar, Leuenberger and Selwood.

6. Fremantle
Leroy Jetta
Fremantle require pace in the midfield Jetta is the best available. Jetta is one of there own - WA.

7. Port Adelaide
Tom Hislop
With KPP stocks depleting - Tredrea, Wakelin, ect. Port will definetely may go for Sellar. Considering he is SA. However they have previously expressed a committment to Hislop.

8. Geelong
Mathew Leuenberger
The winner in the draft with Hawkins the best player going as a Father/ Son. No doubt would Hawkins would have gone 1. The area of most concern is long term rucking prospects with Leuenberger the best available in recent years.

9. Richmond
James Sellar
Richmond will go tall. Sellar will be perfect, more of a forward then ruckmen, they need to look ahead of Richardson.

10. Sydney
Joel Selwood
With Sydney likely to get a top ten pick they will no doubt go for the next best onballer available. Williams is gone, Kirk and Bolton are battered. There are a number to choose and they are very even at this stage of the draft. Likely to go for Joel Selwood genuine corageous midfielder in the Sydney mould.

11. W.Bulldogs
Jack Reiwoldt
Will experiment with Reiwoldt in a desperate need more forward options, questionable but probably the next best available. Have picked up quality midfielders in recent years

12. Collingwood
Nathan Brown
All Australian, potential KPP, who has good defensive side to his game. Collingwood have gone for outside midfielders recently so may consider another inside midfielder.

13. St Kilda
Clayton Collard
Will go for the X factor with no real need for either KP or midfield. Collard will start his career as a half forward.

14. Melbourne
Andres Everitt
Melbourne will have the flexibility in going for a project player with no real need for midfielders. The sort of potential versatility that may appeal to Melbourne.

15. West Coast
Clinton Benjamin
Fits into the WC gameplan, another project player with West Coast affording this luxury. Could be an Adam Goodes type player.

16. Adelaide
Tom Hurley
A prolific ball winner and local SA talent. Will be thinking long term with ageing onballers.

17. Essendon
Jaryd Allen
This is where Essendon may have been better serviced going tall with no.1, due to the fact that the draft is now thin on KPP there are plenty of onballers still available. Next best tall available is Jaryd Allen- all Australian, Can carry the ball, plays mainly back but can go forward. Needs filling out but local Vic.

18. Carlton
Brock O'Brien
Genuine tough HBF tough with pace and can carry the ball, good kick..

19. Essendon
Shaun Grigg
Onballer who is a ball magnet, captained Vic Country and all Australia. Neat left footer.

20. Carlton
Ricky Petterd
There is still plenty of quality onballers to choose from. Carlton will be looking to add to it's midfield stocks. Will consider local talent but it will be difficult to overlook the talent in Queensland with Petterd, Dzuser and Armitage - all quality onballers who all made the All Australian team Will likely go Petterd for leadership and marking abilities.

Love your work. A very good read but I seriously doubt Carlton will pick up Petterd. Petterd will get picked up by someone during the draft... probably... but I predict that he'll be one of the surprise sliders.

gandaal
14 Jul 2006, 23:16
d/p ....

malcolm
14 Jul 2006, 23:18
the top 20 wasn't mine - credit here to sdoherty
:thumbsu:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=254380

Richo83
14 Jul 2006, 23:54
Selwood

Ha.

Donsforever, define "best". Best kick, all round player, what is it? Gumby does things that Gibbs couldn't do and vice versa. IMO Gibbs and Gumby are the two best, and the spooners will decide if they want a midfielder on their hands, or a KPP.

Donsforever
15 Jul 2006, 00:17
I define best and best all round player which would benifit a club the most in the future.

juddy_Like
15 Jul 2006, 02:10
L. Hansen
Who was the last player drafted as a CHB capable of playing CHF or FF, and dominate at either position. not saying he will go number 1 because that is many decided by whose picking but he is destined to be a multiple AA selection in the future. absolute all class for me. has kossy like bravery as well.

TheGeneral
15 Jul 2006, 02:22
L. Hansen
Who was the last player drafted as a CHB capable of playing CHF or FF, and dominate at either position. not saying he will go number 1 because that is many decided by whose picking but he is destined to be a multiple AA selection in the future. absolute all class for me. has kossy like bravery as well.
What was Pavlich drafted as?

A CHB, CHF or FF? :confused:

irel
15 Jul 2006, 06:46
Already posted - the draft camp may determine some changes in the order:

5. Brisbane
Albert Proud

Name one first round player that Brisbane has recruited that falls into "they tend to go for there own" category. Since the inception of the draft Brisbane 's policy has been "Best Player Available". I don't think Proud is the best player available in your list.
The Flying Belgian gave you a run down of our KPP situation. I am of similar view. So, if Sellar, Selwood, Jetta are available to Brisbane I somehow don't think we will pass them in preference to Proud.

Check Brisbane's previous Draft Pick pattern to get a guide as to what may happen.

Bobby Beecroft
15 Jul 2006, 18:40
Name one first round player that Brisbane has recruited that falls into "they tend to go for there own" category. Since the inception of the draft Brisbane 's policy has been "Best Player Available". I don't think Proud is the best player available in your list.
The Flying Belgian gave you a run down of our KPP situation. I am of similar view. So, if Sellar, Selwood, Jetta are available to Brisbane I somehow don't think we will pass them in preference to Proud.

Check Brisbane's previous Draft Pick pattern to get a guide as to what may happen.

Totally agreed.
This really pizzes me off, but does show those that do & dont know there footy I guess.
Half the nobs here last season predicted Austin Lucy was a cert for our 1st pick, turned out to be lucky to get picked at all. Go figure :eek:

juddy_Like
16 Jul 2006, 14:55
What was Pavlich drafted as?

A CHB, CHF or FF? :confused:

CHF. Poor U18s Champs but the kid had the runs on the board already. Ala playing the most difficult position on the ground in a strong team, Woodville and wasnt doing a shabby job either. The player in this years draft that reminds me of him is Gumbleton but without the mobility to play as a rover. Best contested mark in the crop, plenty of courage, oozes class!! any luck, he might go 1.

bigdogg
16 Jul 2006, 16:09
Love your work. A very good read but I seriously doubt Carlton will pick up Petterd. Petterd will get picked up by someone during the draft... probably... but I predict that he'll be one of the surprise sliders.

what do you mean by that??

Main Man
17 Jul 2006, 01:53
Big Gumby...

philhawk
17 Jul 2006, 02:39
CHF. Poor U18s Champs but the kid had the runs on the board already. Ala playing the most difficult position on the ground in a strong team, Woodville and wasnt doing a shabby job either. The player in this years draft that reminds me of him is Gumbleton but without the mobility to play as a rover. Best contested mark in the crop, plenty of courage, oozes class!! any luck, he might go 1.

Hmmm, sounds awfully like Sellar.

sdoherty
17 Jul 2006, 14:17
Totally agreed.
This really pizzes me off, but does show those that do & dont know there footy I guess.
Half the nobs here last season predicted Austin Lucy was a cert for our 1st pick, turned out to be lucky to get picked at all. Go figure :eek:

You will get over it.

Brisbane has had alot of success with local talent in recent years.

They drafted Mills and Hooper last year 2nd and 3rd round. Previous to that they have had Garner and Merret 2 round picks. They have Stiller as Rookie aswell as NT players Brennan (first round), Corrie and Roe. I consider NT local as it's the closest city. I imagine they have adopted the policy of going for local talent beford interstate in these situations.

They have not had the quality in the 1st round in recent years to justify using there 1st pick on a local. This year is an exection with a number of top quality QLD players available - which includes PROUD. Perhaps you should get behind supporting your local talent.

TheGeneral
17 Jul 2006, 14:27
Wasn't Pavlich overlooked in the previous draft?

And people point the finger at recruiters for not getting it right and treat it like a science. :thumbsd:

philhawk
17 Jul 2006, 15:20

And people point the finger at recruiters for not getting it right and treat it like a science. :thumbsd:

No way! :eek:

POBT
17 Jul 2006, 15:26
You will get over it.

They drafted Mills and Hooper last year 2nd and 3rd round. Previous to that they have had Garner and Merret 2 round picks. They have Stiller as Rookie aswell as NT players Brennan (first round), Corrie and Roe. I consider NT local as it's the closest city. I imagine they have adopted the policy of going for local talent beford interstate in these situations.

They have not had the quality in the 1st round in recent years to justify using there 1st pick on a local. This year is an exection with a number of top quality QLD players available - which includes PROUD. Perhaps you should get behind supporting your local talent.
Brisbane may pick up Proud in the draft but it won't because of the go-home factor - it will be because he is worth that pick. They will be in a great position to judge his worth as he has come back from the champs to play senior footy in the local comp.

If you think Proud is the 5th best player in the draft, by all means pencil in Brisbane as his destination. But a lot of people seem to be suggesting that he is not top 10 material - Brisbane will not overlook better players just to get a local. If Jetta, Sellar etc are more highly rated, then Brisbane will take them.

With a number of Queenslanders (plus 1 or 2 from NT) likely to be taken somewhere in this year's draft, there'll be plenty of opportunity for Brisbane to boost its local talent.

glengowan
17 Jul 2006, 23:55

Yes, back when you could only choose one 17 y.o. no clubs picked him. Adelaide went with Ken McGregor instead of Pavlich who had a good year playing senior footy for Woodville-West Torrens Eagles while Pavlich was injured most of the year and playing private school footy before having a brilliant season the year after with the Eagles as a key forward.

juddy_Like
18 Jul 2006, 15:50
Hmmm, sounds awfully like Sellar.

Yeah but Pavlich had no hope of being a ruckman yet sellar has no hope of being a midfielder. Look for every pavlich (poor U18s, injury plagued junior career, etc), you get a macdougall ok. Some work, some suck... but the talents obviously there.

irel
18 Jul 2006, 17:12

This is dim-witted, puerile, idiotic post, masquerading as knowledge and fact. Utter drivel.

Your opening statement: "Brisbane has had alot of success with local talent in recent years". So have the Eagles. They also have had a lot of success with local WA talent. Including rookies. But not a single one of them would not have been picked on merit, or given a preference because they were WA players.

Brisbane has had a lot of failures with local talent as well. Brisbane selected only one QLder rookie last year. The rest come from elsewhere. Does that sound like giving preference to local talent? It sounds like get the best no matter where they come from. Even Ireland.

You write "NT players Brennan (first round), Corrie and Roe. I consider NT local as it's the closest city". My God, where to begin. According to your reasoning, Tasmania being the closest "CITY" to Victoria should be considered local. Thus, any Tasmanian kid is automatiacaly considered a local Victorian. Idiot.

Also: "I imagine they have adopted the policy of going for local talent before interstate in these situations". You imagine. How about basing your argument on facts. Listing and dissecting names and suggesting they were picked because they were local in preference to other talented players is listing and dissecting Carlton's players and suggesting they were picked because they come from a certain region of Australia.
Please provide names of players from other than QLD, that Brisbane had in preference or as equals to the ones they selected at the draft/s?

I can go on but someone once said 'If you argue with idiots.... " well you know the rest.

sdoherty
18 Jul 2006, 18:04
This is dim-witted, puerile, idiotic post, masquerading as knowledge and fact. Utter drivel.

Your opening statement: "Brisbane has had alot of success with local talent in recent years". So have the Eagles. They also have had a lot of success with local WA talent. Including rookies. But not a single one of them would not have been picked on merit, or given a preference because they were WA players.

Brisbane has had a lot of failures with local talent as well. Brisbane selected only one QLder rookie last year. The rest come from elsewhere. Does that sound like giving preference to local talent? It sounds like get the best no matter where they come from. Even Ireland.

You write "NT players Brennan (first round), Corrie and Roe. I consider NT local as it's the closest city". My God, where to begin. According to your reasoning, Tasmania being the closest "CITY" to Victoria should be considered local. Thus, any Tasmanian kid is automatiacaly considered a local Victorian. Idiot.

Also: "I imagine they have adopted the policy of going for local talent before interstate in these situations". You imagine. How about basing your argument on facts. Listing and dissecting names and suggesting they were picked because they were local in preference to other talented players is listing and dissecting Carlton's players and suggesting they were picked because they come from a certain region of Australia.
Please provide names of players from other than QLD, that Brisbane had in preference or as equals to the ones they selected at the draft/s?

I can go on but someone once said 'If you argue with idiots.... " well you know the rest.

You need to get of the angry pills mate or pehaps a good root will sort you out.

The statement was intended to highlight the shift in Brisbane's drafting strategy to recruit local talent that is becoming more readily available. They will always go for the local player if they have a choice between 2 kids perceived to be evenly matched.

It is my assessment of 'Proud' as a top 10 pick - Not Yours - I'd be happy to get him at Carlton if he was overlooked.

P.S You have already argued with the idiot, why stop now!

irel
18 Jul 2006, 18:20
It is my assessment of 'Proud' as a top 10 pick - Not Yours - I'd be happy to get him at Carlton if he was overlooked.

P.S You have already argued with the idiot, why stop now!

I have not assessed any player, nor do I intend to make an assessment.
Unlike you, I do not profess to have the time nor the ability to see every draftee to make a judgment. Brisbane Lions have competent personnel to do that. If they assess Proud as the best player available and suitable for the needs of the team, he will be recruited. On merit, not where he comes from.

...and yes, I am glad you recognise that I have argued with an idiot. You do have some knowledge of self after all. Acknowledging one's deficiencies is a sign of strength. I commend you.

sdoherty
18 Jul 2006, 18:38
Unlike you, I do not profess to have the time nor the ability to see every draftee to make a judgment. Brisbane Lions have competent personnel to do that.
...and yes, I am glad you recognise that I have argued with an idiot. You do have some knowledge of self after all. Acknowledging one's deficiencies is a sign of strength. I commend you.

My judgements are based partly on the opinions of others and a few hours watching foxtel. Its not the 'consitution'. Glad you can be part of some meaningful discussion.

I will be really interested to see who Brisbane pick up in the draft this year.

Not sure why you didn't respond to the statement about you needing a good root. Perhaps you need to face up to yourself, look in the mirror and ask yourself the question.

irel
18 Jul 2006, 19:19
Not sure why you didn't respond to the statement about you needing a good root. Perhaps you need to face up to yourself, look in the mirror and ask yourself the question.

Ahh a good root, that reminds me, it's the third Tuesday of the month. Thanx for the prompt.

To answer your question.
I generally do not respond to an obvious trolling statement usually made by attention seeking, breast deprived, maladjusted dipstick. In this instance I have made an exception and have decided to feed your obvious need for love and comfort.

Now that I have gratified your need I'll let you have the last word. I know you want to.

sdoherty
18 Jul 2006, 20:17
To answer your question.
I generally do not respond to an obvious trolling statement usually made by attention seeking, breast deprived, maladjusted dipstick. In this instance I have made an exception and have decided to feed your obvious need for love and comfort.

Breast deprived - correct - my wife is breast-feeding.

Maladjusted dipstick?? not sure where you pulled that from although it sounds about right.

Now for the last w***

Pharaoh
18 Jul 2006, 20:42

Sorry to interrupt, but actually we do regard Tasmanians as effectively local. There's no go-home factor because there's no AFL team in Tassie. Also, Vic is the closest proximate state which is attractive for those wanting to be closer to family. Therefore, players like Birchall and Thorp are relatively safe picks (provided they can also play footy!).