View Full Version : What was the most we lost in a row under Danny?

Harvey Leadpipe
18 Jul 2006, 10:40
Because if Sheedy overtakes him, is it fair to say Frawley was a better coach than the plumber?

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 10:41
Sheeds has as many premierships as Frawley has spoons(actually frawley owns 6 spoons)

I think we lost 13 in a row under Frawley and that Terry's first match was our 14th loss.

jezza
18 Jul 2006, 10:43
We lost 14 in a row to end 2004. Terry's 1st game was our 15th loss.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 10:55
You sure bout that Jezza?

jezza
18 Jul 2006, 11:16
You sure bout that Jezza?

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/teams/richmond/allgames.html

down the bottom. Started in round 9 against Port, ended round 22 against Sydney.

Interestingly not once did we break 100 points in that time and only once did we keep the opposition under 100 points. Not good times at all (except for the Deledio thing)

Truetiger
18 Jul 2006, 12:28
We lost 14 in a row to end 2004. Terry's 1st game was our 15th loss.

That is right. After that first loss the count was to continue so the media thought.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 13:14
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/teams/richmond/allgames.html

down the bottom. Started in round 9 against Port, ended round 22 against Sydney.

Interestingly not once did we break 100 points in that time and only once did we keep the opposition under 100 points. Not good times at all (except for the Deledio thing)

Right you are:thumbsu:

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 13:17
Whats Frawleys overall record as a player/psuedo coach ???

jezza
18 Jul 2006, 13:25
As a coach he won 44 from 110 in the regular season and 1 from 3 in finals.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 13:32
Whats Frawleys overall record as a player/psuedo coach ???

4 spoons as a player:D
1 spoon as an ass-coach at Collingwood:D
1 spoon as coach at Richmond:mad:

6 spoons in total. Could well be a record.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 13:41

:DLMAO What a seasoned monkey boy.

I still hate that bastard which makes it all the funnier.

Of his playing career,

I wonder how many times the saints ended up 2nd last.etc. lofl.

I wonder how many goals he conceeded to oppsosition 4wards?

I wonder how many points the saints conceeded with him at the helm.

I wonder all these things.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 13:46
I still sympathised with him and kinda felt sorry for him to an extent..u know the good bloke persona and all..

But that evaporated completley when I learnt he wore ****ing StKilda socks in that game, and made OUR player stay on field to clap of HIS mate!!!

Now whenever I see or hear him on radio or Tv I feel like throwing up.

froars
18 Jul 2006, 13:50
You're a haunted man, Oxx lol
Does memories of him still give you nervous twitches - in your neck i'm talking about lol
God I wish another team would pick him up as coach just so I could have a few laughs again courtesy of Oxx and JohnF.
Life just hasn't been the same without his words of wisdom :D

Harvey Leadpipe
18 Jul 2006, 14:18

Of his playing career,

LMAOOOOOOOO oxx :thumbsu:

I wonder whether when he was playing and tilted his head back on one of those many occasions to see another 6 pointer go sailing through, he pepped himself up a little, to keep it upbeat and put out a positive vibe to the team.

(Muttering to himself): "it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more. But you'll stop the next one. Just like that one you stopped Simon Beasley from kicking the day you lined up on him on his 40th birthday. Now THAT was a good day. You kept him to 6 that day. Which was the same day I picked up Anita for that date. Geez I looked cherry ripe that night, pity I was 10% off my game later on. But I stuck fat, and now we're....What the? Oh s***! ....Oh well, it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more............"

TonyFree
18 Jul 2006, 14:40
Off topic, but the way he handled the Matty Knights thing makes me cringe, IMO Knighter still had a couple of years left.

18 Jul 2006, 14:40
On Frawley's coaching record, he is the only coach you dont count the number of games he lost in a row, but the number of months

18 Jul 2006, 14:41

Of his playing career,

ROFLMAO

A lifetime vendetta

The White Tiger
18 Jul 2006, 14:42
I still sympathised with him and kinda felt sorry for him to an extent..u know the good bloke persona and all..

But that evaporated completley when I learnt he wore ****ing StKilda socks in that game, and made OUR player stay on field to clap of HIS mate!!!

Now whenever I see or hear him on radio or Tv I feel like throwing up.I never heard the sock story before, disgraceful, but my opinion of him couldn't get any lower after he dropped Matthew Knights for one week when he was to break the most consecutive games played record. Lmao at Harvey's quote "we stuck fat".

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 14:46

I wonder whether when he was playing and tilted his head back on one of those many occasions to see another 6 pointer go sailing through, he pepped himself up a little, to keep it upbeat and put out a positive vibe to the team.

(Muttering to himself): "it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more. But you'll stop the next one. Just like that one you stopped Simon Beasley from kicking the day you lined up on him on his 40th birthday.

Now THAT was a good day. You kept him to 6 that day.
Which was the same day I picked up Anita for that date.
Geez I looked cherry ripe that night, pity I was 10% off my game later on. But I stuck fat, and now we're....What the? Oh s***! ....Oh well, it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more............"

roflofl Harves

"It's funny 'cos it's reaaaal"

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 14:48
I never heard the sock story before, disgraceful, but my opinion of him couldn't get any lower after he dropped Matthew Knights for one week when he was to break the most consecutive games played record. Lmao at Harvey's quote "we stuck fat".

You gotta wonder where his head was at coaching that match (and the other 109) but this one especially.

Obviously by wearing the socks he felt emotionally comprimised, but what are the chances he coached for a loss in that game?

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 14:57
In a fu cked up way ,he brought us all together on at least one issue - His shortcomings.

I have great laff with u guys at his expense - seriously lol stuff.

The best part is watching him go on for the rest of his life in denial.

Football sure allows Lemmings to have a career.

Fcuken ROLMFAOOO

tugga
18 Jul 2006, 15:13
His treatment of Knighter was the biggest disgrace I have encountered in football in all my life. I will never forgive the twat for that. Went and drafted hacks but yet still found it necessary to retire the little general with no dignity. Faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaark!

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 15:24
What a stupid dumbfcuk !

He tried so hard to pollute our club with his loserdom.

CoggaRules
18 Jul 2006, 15:24
and the laughs and busted tv screens are set to continue, going by reports that C7 are impressed with the Dud's, "expert" comments and are looking at adding him to their team. WTF???
They must understand that there are pluses in ratings, in having someone in front of the screen that creates angst amongst the punters.
It would be a good idea if all tiger heads, boycotted any game that this Dud commentated on. And the games where we cant, i.e. tiger games, hit him with a million calls, that suggest the same thing, get the F**k out of our sight ya Dud!!!!
Or if yor prefer the polite, positive approach, congratulate him on getting Lids and Bling to the club, with his "expert" coaching practices. ;)

Parabola
18 Jul 2006, 15:29
The strange thing about watching Danny Frawley coach was how his hair changed color every week.
I think he just became overwhelmed with the media and was too focused on looking for quick fixes than totally rebuild the club.
He got alot of great kids to the club but they just weren't ever given a chance in the seniors till plough came along.

wart101
18 Jul 2006, 15:38

Now whenever I see or hear him on radio or Tv I feel like throwing up.

what game? did he? what a nkewar<-(letter shuffle)

FSUB10Y
18 Jul 2006, 15:38
It is just plain wrong to refer to Frawley as a coach....he was simply a caretaker when Richmond was not in a position to attract anyone decent(I think he was about our 6th or 7th preference when he got the gig)....he was fair dinkum lucky that we had to get rid of our tag of being ruthless to coaches and only completed his compliment so we could show some stability in this dept.......in order to attract better coaches down the track.

In the end, the whole club suffered....

tugga
18 Jul 2006, 15:46
what game? did he? what a nkewar<-(letter shuffle)
Nathan Burke's last game for St Kilda. The prick wore St Kilda socks to the game and stood out on the field and clapped him off at the end. Never mind we'd just lost (another) game. F*ck i was having an OK day up until I started posting on this thread. I wanna smash my comp screen.

CoggaRules
18 Jul 2006, 15:49
It is just plain wrong to refer to Frawley as a coach....he was simply a caretaker when Richmond was not in a position to attract anyone decent(I think he was about our 6th or 7th preference when he got the gig)....he was fair dinkum lucky that we had to get rid of our tag of being ruthless to coaches and only completed his compliment so we could show some stability in this dept.......in order to attract better coaches down the track.

so we kept him to tell the world that we dont sack coaches, even when the coach is a dud that all and sundry were aware of?
So you really think that TW, saw how we kept "faith" in Spud, hence p***ised money up against the wall, by having him for 5 years and that would have made it clear to TW that the tigers were indeed a smart unit, that knew exactly what it was doing huh?
The dud gets away with it, because the majority believe that kind of BS, that says we did it to remove that tag. Knowing how smart an operator GM is, he saw how having spud there, could get us what we wanted, without the need to explain to all and sundry why we kept him, when the media was doing it for him. ;)

Punt_Road_Roar
18 Jul 2006, 16:00
Face facts boys !!

We miss the big dud :p

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 16:10
Face facts boys !!

We miss the big dud :p

He should be kept in that little section of Punt road,under the bridge on your left as u head toward the Sth Eastern - in a cage. and we can all stop there after a loss and poke him with sticks.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 16:15
LMAO - No mention of Lynfox ??

Danny Frawley

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Frawley#column-one), search (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Frawley#searchInput)
Danny Frawley Personal Info Birth September 8 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/September_8), 1963 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1963), Recruited from East Ballarat

Playing Career¹ Debut 1984 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1984), St Kilda (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Kilda_Football_Club) vs. , at Team(s) St Kilda (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Kilda_Football_Club) (1984-1995) 226 games, 13 goals
Coaching Career¹ Team(s) Richmond (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_Football_Club) (2000-2004) ¹ Statistics to end of 2005 season Career Highlights

St Kilda (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Kilda_Football_Club) Best and Fairest (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trevor_Barker_Medal) 1988 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1988)
Victorian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victoria%2C_Australia) state representative 1987
All-Australian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Australian) 1988
St Kilda (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Kilda_Football_Club) captain 1987-95 Danny Frawley (born September 8 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/September_8), 1963 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1963)) is a former Australian rules footballer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_rules_football) and coach.
Height: 191cms, playing weight: 95 kgs.
[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Danny_Frawley&action=edit&section=1)]

Football career

Recruited from Ballarat, where he was a potato farmer, Frawley initially played as a forward but soon became a renowned full-back (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_%28Australian_rules%29_positions#Full_Back). He was a long-serving captain of the St Kilda Football Club (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Kilda_Football_Club) and enjoyed a career from 1984-1995.
[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Danny_Frawley&action=edit&section=2)]

Coaching career

Frawley took up the coaching reigns at the Richmond Football Club (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_Football_Club) in 2000, and had some early success, taking the Tigers to the finals in 2001. Unfortunately he couldn't replicate the club's first finals appearance since 1995 again during his tenure, with his team always getting off to solid starts (in 2002 making the Wizard Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wizard_Cup) final), but then fading out towards the end of the season. This continued in 2003, where, after a 6-2 start to the season, they lost 13 of their next 14 matches.
Frawley took his team to the wooden spoon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wooden_spoon) in 2004, and midway through the season announced he would be stepping down at season's end.
Since he left coaching he has been a special comments man for Triple M (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triple_M). He is married to Anita.
In June 2006, he coached a victorious Victorian State of Origin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin) side in the AFL Legends Match (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFL_Legends_Match)

tugga
18 Jul 2006, 16:19
In June 2006, he coached a victorious Victorian State of Origin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin) side in the AFL Legends Match (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFL_Legends_Match)
LMFAO at them mentioning a clown's game for a clown coach.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 16:26
LMAO
http://richmondfc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/person/013833az.jpg
His spoons were

1984 (http://www.answers.com/topic/1984-2), 1985 (http://www.answers.com/topic/1985), 1986 (http://www.answers.com/topic/1986), 1988 (http://www.answers.com/topic/1988),

Team of the Century
St Kilda Team of the Century

B: Barry Lawrence Verdun Howell Kevin Neale
HB: Trevor Barker Neil Roberts Daryl Griffiths
C: Nicky Winmar Ian Stewart Lance W. Oswald
HF: Stewart Loewe Darrel Baldock (Captain) Bill Mohr
F: David J. McNamara Tony Lockett Nathan Burke
Foll: Carl Ditterich Robert Harvey Ross Smith
Int: Barry Breen Alan Morrow Robert W. Murray
Jim A. Ross
Coach: Allan Jeans -lol

Harvey Leadpipe
18 Jul 2006, 16:31
He should be kept in that little section of Punt road,under the bridge on your left as u head toward the Sth Eastern - in a cage. and we can all stop there after a loss and poke him with sticks.

We wouldn't be able to get close enough to him. Anita will be there with full fury defending him.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 16:37
Or u can hire him as a motivational speaker
http://www.saxton.com.au/default.asp?sd8=703
FRMFAFLOMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Danny Frawley
Recruited from Ballarat, where he was a potato farmer, Danny Frawley made his debut for the St Kilda Football Club in 1984, at the age of 20.

Initially playing as a forward, Danny Frawley soon made his name as a renowned fullback playing 226 games from 1984 to 1995, including 9 years as captain. Frawley was chosen as a Victorian state representative in 1987 and the following year as in the All-Australian team, the same year he won St Kilda's Best and Fairest.

After a prodigious playing career, Danny Frawley took up the coaching reigns at the Richmond Football Club in 2000 and, with almost immediate success, took the Tiger to the finals in 2001, their first finals appearance since 1995. However, his tenure at the club finished in 2003 and Danny Frawley has since left coaching to begin a media career, most notably as a special comments man for Triple M.
For more information please contact
Saxton on +61 3 9811 3500

tomthetiger
18 Jul 2006, 16:52

(Muttering to himself): "it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more. But you'll stop the next one. Just like that one you stopped Simon Beasley from kicking the day you lined up on him on his 40th birthday. Now THAT was a good day. You kept him to 6 that day. Which was the same day I picked up Anita for that date. Geez I looked cherry ripe that night, pity I was 10% off my game later on. But I stuck fat, and now we're....What the? Oh s***! ....Oh well, it's ok Dannyboy, it's only one more............"

lmao...Ive never been able to eat a cherry ripe since the reign of Danny.

CoggaRules
18 Jul 2006, 16:57
Or u can hire him as a motivational speaker
http://www.saxton.com.au/default.asp?sd8=703
FRMFAFLOMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Danny Frawley
Recruited from Ballarat, where he was a potato farmer, Danny Frawley made his debut for the St Kilda Football Club in 1984, at the age of 20.

Initially playing as a forward, Danny Frawley soon made his name as a renowned fullback playing 226 games from 1984 to 1995, including 9 years as captain. Frawley was chosen as a Victorian state representative in 1987 and the following year as in the All-Australian team, the same year he won St Kilda's Best and Fairest.

After a prodigious playing career, that had the mantlepiece re-modelled with a more wooden feel, Danny Frawley took up the coaching reigns at the Richmond Football Club in 2000 and, with almost immediate success had K. Sheedy to thank for elevating him from a coach of a team that finished 9th, to a team that finished 8th, with almost immediate success for K.sheedy in that the next week, that same team that the Frawley "coached'; tigers beat to get in, pants the tigers and made them look second rate, took the Tiger to the finals in 2001, their first finals appearance since 1995, by default, in reality the singular pointer to anthing remotely aligned to a success that Spud could actually point to in his CV However, his tenure at the club finished in 2003 and Danny Frawley has since left coaching, to the plaudits of the crowd to begin a media career, to once again revive his fan club , most notably as a special comments man for Triple M, yes the mostest notable.
For more information please contact
Saxton on +61 3 9811 3500 or you can get a first hand account by turning to a tiger supporter next time you are at the footy and they will give you all the info you want, allbeit in words of no more than 4 letters.

make it real man. ;)

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:00
Seriously, we should book him for an inpirational session :D

CoggaRules
18 Jul 2006, 17:03

yep, the one thing that Spud has achieved with the tiger faithful is one positive, we are all in a agreeance for once, i.e. we stick fat when it comes to his "coaching" disablity. No other caoch has done that at tigerland. ;)

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:05
I just had to ring the number and find out for sure.

Some chick answered and I said "Yeah-nah Gday.. Its Queensland calling here and I just read on your website that Danny frawley is available for Motivational Speaches, is this correct?"

Chick: Yes it is

Me: So it's not a prank?

Chick: No it's not a prank, he is available.

Me: Bookings going slow hey?

Chick: Well I dont know his actual booking details.

Me: Yeah-nah well I just opened this Kitchen Utensil shop on the Gold Coast and I was just wondering if I could book Danny to tell my staff all about Wooden Spoons... he's got 6 of them you know!

At this point I couldnt stop myself from bursting with laughter... then the phone went dead:o

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 17:05

Be hilarious to hire a function room between 100 of us or so
and hire the dud as a speaker.

We schedule him to come on after 11pm,once ere all legless

Once he hits the stage we lock the doors and roll film.

LMAO -Can u imagine some of thr heckling,

LMAO@ One table erupting into Happy Birthday in the middle of spuds schpeil

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 17:07
FROLMFAFOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Some chick answered and I said "Yeah-nah Gday.. Its Queensland calling here and I just read on your website that Danny frawley is available for Motivational Speaches, is this correct?"

Me: Yeah-nah well I just opened this Kitchen Utensil shop on the Gold Coast and I was just wondering if I could book Danny to tell my staff all about Wooden Spoons... he's got 6 of them you know!

At this point I couldnt stop myself from bursting with laughter... then the phone went dead:o

Shoulda asked how much man!lol.

Ask for a discount cos ure from Bungaree too u know.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:07
Be hilarious to hire a function room between 100 of us or so
and hire the dud as a speaker.

We schedule him to come on after 11pm,once ere all legless

Once he hits the stage we lock the doors and roll film.

LMAO -Can u imagine some of thr heckling,

LMAO@ One table erupting into Happy Birthday in the middle of spuds schpeil

Poor bugga would be lucky to get out alive :D

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:09
FROLMFAFOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

:D:D

We should organise a roster of 1,000 Tiger Supporters where someone rings them everyday enquiring and then taking the **** out of em for actually daring it in the first place.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 17:11
We wouldn't be able to get close enough to him. Anita will be there with full fury defending him.

Just bring some pavlova.

Problem solved,

Sorry Anita:D

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 17:15
:D:D

We should organise a roster of 1,000 Tiger Supporters where someone rings them everyday enquiring and then taking the **** out of em for actually daring it in the first place.

I iimagine he would be the type of speaker that represents the
"this is what happens when u r a loser" genre

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:17
I iimagine he would be the type of speaker that represents the
"this is what happens when u r a loser" genre

Ahh kinda like sending in a heroin junkie to talk about why you shouldn't shoot smack:cool:

TonyFree
18 Jul 2006, 17:45

Sensational !!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

The White Tiger
18 Jul 2006, 17:54

At this point I couldnt stop myself from bursting with laughter... then the phone went dead:oFunniest post ever, 2nd goes to Oxx's idea.LMFAO.Tears rollin down my cheeks.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 17:56
I reckon you guys should make your own enquiries too;)

In a couple of days we'll see in the HUN that Danny Frawley has been fielding offers from all over the country, but no bookings are confirmed as he doesn't want to possibly miss a phone call about a head coaching job. Afterall, he does have unfinished business you know.

Wally Matera
18 Jul 2006, 18:15
Off topic, but the way he handled the Matty Knights thing makes me cringe, IMO Knighter still had a couple of years left.

First things first... I hate Tony Free.

Secondly, you're wrong about Knighter. Get over it.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 19:22
Ahh kinda like sending in a heroin junkie to talk about why you shouldn't shoot smack:cool:

Yes Dice Man,that's the one.

oxx
18 Jul 2006, 19:38
sorry

http://www.angelfire.com/creep/dannyfrawley/idiotpage.html

Crumden
18 Jul 2006, 21:21

6 spoons in total. Could well be a record.Must be a record to do it at 3 different clubs.

Crumden
18 Jul 2006, 21:23
I never heard the sock story before, disgraceful, but my opinion of him couldn't get any lower after he dropped Matthew Knights for one week when he was to break the most consecutive games played record. Lmao at Harvey's quote "we stuck fat".You left out the bit where Knights was replaced in the side for that match by Paul Hudson, who Frawley had got to the club as a washed up has-been then gave him number 17, our most sacred number.

The Dice Man
18 Jul 2006, 21:27
Oh Crumden.. Is there no end to this? :mad:

It's a nightmare.... which thankfully I feel were slowly waking from.

tomthetiger
18 Jul 2006, 21:54
LMAO OXX.

After an 11 point loss to the Kangas'.

"But I don't think I've ever been more excited as a coach, waiting for the next 11 weeks. I don't know if we can make it (the finals), but we can definitely shape it. I know people are going to hound me down, because we didn't win, but that is the best we've played nearly in my time. I'm very lucky to be a small part of that performance tonight - I couldn't be more proud, ever."

What...the...

Truetiger
18 Jul 2006, 21:58
LMAO OXX.

After an 11 point loss to the Kangas'.

"But I don't think I've ever been more excited as a coach, waiting for the next 11 weeks. I don't know if we can make it (the finals), but we can definitely shape it. I know people are going to hound me down, because we didn't win, but that is the best we've played nearly in my time. I'm very lucky to be a small part of that performance tonight - I couldn't be more proud, ever."

What...the...

Danny Frawley at his very best....

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 00:03
i remember that game. we played really well, but kicked heaps of behinds. so funny that danny was glowing about the performance when we kicked ourselves out of the game. nothing more frustrating that losing a game you didnt win. someone forgot to tell danny that.

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 00:05
and the laughs and busted tv screens are set to continue, going by reports that C7 are impressed with the Dud's, "expert" comments and are looking at adding him to their team. WTF???
They must understand that there are pluses in ratings, in having someone in front of the screen that creates angst amongst the punters.
It would be a good idea if all tiger heads, boycotted any game that this Dud commentated on. And the games where we cant, i.e. tiger games, hit him with a million calls, that suggest the same thing, get the F**k out of our sight ya Dud!!!!
Or if yor prefer the polite, positive approach, congratulate him on getting Lids and Bling to the club, with his "expert" coaching practices. ;)

yeah i hope he does do special comments for 7. i need a good laugh when i watch the footy. :D

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 00:06

rofl at danny thinking he is actually there to do a good job and everyone is behind him, when in actual fact he is just keeping the seat warm for a real coach. i can imagine the staff at punt road during his reign just shaking thier heads every week at the drivel that came out of his mouth. or was it possum poo?

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 00:08

heck yeah!!! wouldnt that be awesome. love the idea of hiring him as a motivational speaker too. this thread has had me just about peeing my pants with laughter. danny - you tool.

someone should make danny frawley dolls that when you squeeze him he says: 'cherry ripe', 'yeah nah', 'stick fat', 'i stick by my players until the cows come home' etc etc. i would buy one.

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 00:15
just had a great idea. someone should ring up and book him to speak to the swans before saturdays game. i am sure the rfc would pay for it.

Ron The Bear
19 Jul 2006, 04:41

Agree (except the bit about Free). Knighter was getting caught with it and his disposal had slipped. Was tried as tagger but he was never going to adapt and he couldn't get the ball when stationed in the forward line.

What Frawley did wrong was forcing Knighter out without a viable succession plan. Still not sure who he had groomed as a replacement - Fiora? King? Ednie?

Ron The Bear
19 Jul 2006, 04:50

Not wishing to make fun of Trevor Barker, but the poor bloke played in 7 spoon sides - 1977, 79, 83, 84, 85, 86 & 88.

oxx
19 Jul 2006, 08:13
LM AO Boys and girls.

I'd buy the doll too Darth.lol.

It comes with its own 7 inch needles so we can voodoo the prick during the mmm call,

"Yeah,nah,the backline looks really AAAAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGGGHHH......"

froars
19 Jul 2006, 08:56
But wait, there's more lol. Should play some Jaws theme music with this one. Another Frawley playing footy. Could we make Ox's year by drafting him. Go on Tiges lol.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19652856%255E19897,00.html

Nice pic of Danny - does the size of your head equate to brain power? Head seems out of kilter with his body, and such an endearing goofy grin lol

oxx
19 Jul 2006, 11:05
I tell u what,
I'd be more than willing to give any kid a chance
but surely that last name is a huge minus at the RFC.

tugga
19 Jul 2006, 11:13

Knighter was gone. Everyone could see it, but to finish him up before the season had finished when our season was shot anyway was an absolute disgrace and you know it. He almost singlehandedly won the semi against the Bummers in 95 and yet he was sacked (no he didn't retire) with little to no dignity at all.

oxx
19 Jul 2006, 11:17
Was there more to it than that.

Could Knights have just simply refused to work with the dud,but kept it on the low down?

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 11:38
I'd buy the doll too Darth.lol.

It comes with its own 7 inch needles so we can voodoo the prick during the mmm call,

"Yeah,nah,the backline looks really AAAAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGGGHHH......"

rofl at the image of danny clutching his chest in agony as the pain of 30,000 needles rips through his body. :thumbsu:

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 11:41
But wait, there's more lol. Should play some Jaws theme music with this one. Another Frawley playing footy. Could we make Ox's year by drafting him. Go on Tiges lol.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19652856%255E19897,00.html

Nice pic of Danny - does the size of your head equate to brain power? Head seems out of kilter with his body, and such an endearing goofy grin lol

classic that danny says in the article that he has had little to do with his development. he IS a chance to be drafted then. if we drafted him would he wear st. kilda socks when he makes his debut?

tugga
19 Jul 2006, 11:44
He's only his nephew, so there's hope for him yet.

Punt_Road_Roar
19 Jul 2006, 12:02
He's only his nephew, so there's hope for him yet.

Not when you look at his bloodlines

TonyFree
19 Jul 2006, 15:14
Knighter was gone. Everyone could see it, but to finish him up before the season had finished when our season was shot anyway was an absolute disgrace and you know it. He almost singlehandedly won the semi against the Bummers in 95 and yet he was sacked (no he didn't retire) with little to no dignity at all.
Maybe Tugga, but playing off the bench wouldn't have helped.

Crumden
19 Jul 2006, 18:46
classic that danny says in the article that he has had little to do with his development. he IS a chance to be drafted then. if we drafted him would he wear st. kilda socks when he makes his debut?I laughed at that bit too darth. If the kids any good its pretty obvious the dud had nothing to do with his development.

Some pretty funny posts on this thread, particularly by TDM and Oxx. Nothing like a good frawley bashing thread to bring some mirth back to the board. :thumbsu:

FSUB10Y
19 Jul 2006, 21:37
so we kept him to tell the world that we dont sack coaches, even when the coach is a dud that all and sundry were aware of?
So you really think that TW, saw how we kept "faith" in Spud, hence p***ised money up against the wall, by having him for 5 years and that would have made it clear to TW that the tigers were indeed a smart unit, that knew exactly what it was doing huh?
The dud gets away with it, because the majority believe that kind of BS, that says we did it to remove that tag. Knowing how smart an operator GM is, he saw how having spud there, could get us what we wanted, without the need to explain to all and sundry why we kept him, when the media was doing it for him. ;)

Sorry Cogga, but you are WRONG!!

I don't know how TW saw read the situation, however I know for a fact that they kept Frawley on for this reason and this reason alone......Casey and Jewell talked about sacking him late into his 3rd year, but he was kept on SIMPLY because they were trying to show the world that the club was 100% behind the coach, unlike past administrations.....my source - Football Director at the time and last Premiership Coach!!

FSUB10Y
19 Jul 2006, 21:38

Sorry Cogga, but you are WRONG!!:thumbsd:

I don't know how TW saw read the situation, however I know for a fact that they kept Frawley on for this reason and this reason alone......Casey and Jewell talked about sacking him late into his 3rd year, but he was kept on SIMPLY because they were trying to show the world that the club was 100% behind the coach, unlike past administrations.....my source - Football Director at the time and last Premiership Coach!!:cool:

Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 21:45
Quote by Crumden: Nothing like a good frawley bashing thread to bring some mirth back to the board.

indeed crum. the only thing that kept us sane through those dark years was laughing at danny.

oxx
20 Jul 2006, 07:40
Quote by Crumden: Nothing like a good frawley bashing thread to bring some mirth back to the board.

indeed crum. the only thing that kept us sane through those dark years was laughing at danny.

Amen to all dat.

CoggaRules
20 Jul 2006, 11:43
Sorry Cogga, but you are WRONG!!:thumbsd:

I don't know how TW saw read the situation, however I know for a fact that they kept Frawley on for this reason and this reason alone......Casey and Jewell talked about sacking him late into his 3rd year, but he was kept on SIMPLY because they were trying to show the world that the club was 100% behind the coach, unlike past administrations.....my source - Football Director at the time and last Premiership Coach!!:cool:

yeah, that is what was printed in the papers man. Your source? So you really believe that "your" source was going to tell you that we kept him on because he was a sh-iteful coach and there was no need to deflect questions about tanking games to get priority picks, when you have that kind of coach?, allbeit, also giving the "impression" to all and sundry that we dont sack our coaches, even if they are sh-iteful?
Wasnt your source the one that suggested in the media that Spud had NFI when it came to a game plan? Get real man, TW was always going to be our coach after Brownie "chose" us. The next piece of the puzzle was to get the best available youngsters for TW to be able to start with. ;)

oxx
20 Jul 2006, 12:02
yeah, that is what was printed in the papers man. Your source? So you really believe that "your" source was going to tell you that we kept him on because he was a sh-iteful coach and there was no need to deflect questions about tanking games to get priority picks, when you have that kind of coach?, allbeit, also giving the "impression" to all and sundry that we dont sack our coaches, even if they are sh-iteful?
Wasnt your source the one that suggested in the media that Spud had NFI when it came to a game plan? Get real man, TW was always going to be our coach after Brownie "chose" us. The next piece of the puzzle was to get the best available youngsters for TW to be able to start with. ;)

Cogs,
r u at all popular amongst your colleagues ?

I just wish u the best of luck.

FSUB10Y
20 Jul 2006, 12:49

My source - one Tony Jewell, Football Dirctor at the time....can't get much better than that......TJ even questioned Spuds ability after about half a dozen matches....his words " Spud has no idea, but we're stuck with him now" or to that affect.

Thanks for coming!!

Bojangles17
20 Jul 2006, 13:19
Get real man, TW was always going to be our coach after Brownie "chose" us. The next piece of the puzzle was to get the best available youngsters for TW to be able to start with. ;)

prob not too far off the mark there cogg

Darth_Tiger
20 Jul 2006, 15:04
My source - one Tony Jewell, Football Dirctor at the time....can't get much better than that......TJ even questioned Spuds ability after about half a dozen matches....his words " Spud has no idea, but we're stuck with him now" or to that affect.

Thanks for coming!!

i believe you. TJ always looked like he was bemused by spud to say the least.