View Full Version : Richo: 30/50 years from now
Bentleigh
19 Jul 2006, 21:06
How will people look back and view the great man?
For mine, he is the best player I've ever seen in the yellow and black and the spirt of the club. By quite some way.
Crumden
19 Jul 2006, 21:29
Richo 30/50 years from now?
I reckon his knees will be buggered by then and he'll be restricted to a forward pocket.
Darth_Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 21:35
a champion unlucky to be surrounded by crap teams.
Outstanding Athlete , so-so footy brain
Hailed as the messiah but could not deliver .
Certainly entertained us , but not always for the right reasons .
Will be highly respected in most circles , but will always cop derision in some corners.
At the end of the day ... good Richmond bloke with a heart as big as Phar Lap
The White Tiger
19 Jul 2006, 22:44
Outstanding Athlete , so-so footy brain
Hailed as the messiah but could not deliver .
Certainly entertained us , but not always for the right reasons .
Will be highly respected in most circles , but will always cop derision in some corners.
At the end of the day ... good Richmond bloke with a heart as big as Phar LapAgree, but I didnt know circles had corners.:confused:
Agree, but I didnt know circles had corners.:confused:baboom tish
Bojangles17
19 Jul 2006, 23:01
How will people look back and view the great man?
For mine, he is the best player I've ever seen in the yellow and black and the spirt of the club. By quite some way.
a champion yes, best tiger Ive seen, NO...Maurice Rioli gets that vote..How old are you:confused:
Kurtis G
20 Jul 2006, 00:13
Im 18, followed the Tigers since '94 - best player I have seen pull on the jumper.
We had alot of hail Richo threads over the summer. He has signed on for another two years after this one. I love the great man as much as anyone, but lets leave our applause until the show is actually over.
Bojangles17
20 Jul 2006, 10:22
Im 18, followed the Tigers since '94 - best player I have seen pull on the jumper.
We had alot of hail Richo threads over the summer. He has signed on for another two years after this one. I love the great man as much as anyone, but lets leave our applause until the show is actually over.
thats fair enough young fella, In last 10 years he probably would go awfully close...tell you something though, if Bowdo plays out rest of his career like last 2 seasons ...he will throw down the gauntlet to any other modern day tiger:thumbsu:
CoggaRules
20 Jul 2006, 10:43
Richo has been the one shining light thorughout the last 10 years, that has entertained us in all facets. I would even say that he alone accounted for at least 5000+ members throughout, if not more. But in the absence of any success by the time he bows out, have a feeling we have the modern great in the mix now, and he is only been around a couple of years. ;)
Harvey Leadpipe
20 Jul 2006, 10:56
30 years? Will be explaining the Richo tattoo to the grandkids (Doing it myself in the shed the day he calls it a day. May be upside down.)
50 years? Will be explaining it to my new 16 year old Brazilian bride on our honeymoon.
God love him.
50 years time I'll be telling my great grandson, who by that stage will live on Mercury and will probably barrack for the Jupiter Kangaroos, that the man we knew and loved as Richo was a flawed genius who frustrated us at times but always entertained. But, by 2056, with a life expectancy of 153, Brett Deledio will have just won his 13th Brownlow medal.
True Thylacine
20 Jul 2006, 12:10
In 30 years time I will think references to Richo will mean his father Alan as my short term memory will be shot. In 50 years I will either be receiving my 100th birthday letter from King William or having one last shot at wheel chair sex.
Like a mellow version of chewbacca the wookie.
Goldust
20 Jul 2006, 13:59
:) SUGGEST there are four great forwards in our club's history - Richo, Royce Hart, Jack Titus and Michael Roach. He is better than at least two of those!!!
Definitely the player of the 90s and beyond for us.
The 80s belonged to Dale Weightman, the 70s Royce Hart and the immortal Francis Bourke!!!
I, like many of you, have heard the criticisms of Richo from opposition supporters for many years now. It is amazing how unfounded those criticisms can be when you take these very arse clowns along to a Tigers game and they see the miles Richo covers in a game, the chases and tackles he executes, the God-awful delivery into the forward line he has endured for many of those seasons and his ability to create something out of nothing!!!
Perspective I believe is the word. Yes he bitches sometimes (usually the result of sub-standard delivery into the forward line), but to me it shows his desire for the yellow and black to succeed. A player of great charcater is M. Richardson.
By the way, did anyone see that tackle he laid the other night against the Dees in the second quarter? How dis that go unrewarded?:)
beaver's army
20 Jul 2006, 16:43
By the way, did anyone see that tackle he laid the other night against the Dees in the second quarter? How dis that go unrewarded?:)
yea that was a good tackle, thought it probably should of been holding the ball but with umpires these days who knows what you are going to get.
Richo in my eyes will be seen as a true legend of richo who just wanted to play for richmond. would of kicked 1000 goals if he didnt get injured so often in his prime and if we had a average midfield that could hit him on he chest or give him a chance to fly for a mark. By far the best mark ive seen in my 18 years of life, not only could he take a spekkie but could also do it with players trying to drag him down or wrestle him out of the contest.
He has been the face of richmond basically since he was signed, almost every kid had the number 12 on his back, he always has the biggest line for autographs on family days. He just brings so much to the game, there is always an aoura of excitement when every the ball is kicked to him around a pack and if he goes for the spekkie thousands yell out "RICHOOOOOO". He will be seen as a legend of the club and the best player of the 90's and early 00's for richmond.
wart101
20 Jul 2006, 17:19
Agree, but I didnt know circles had corners.:confused:
cones have circles and corners, when you tthink about it. :eek:
TigerFan
20 Jul 2006, 18:01
Date of Birth: January 19, 1987
ahem...
thats fair enough young fella, In last 10 years he probably would go awfully close...tell you something though, if Bowdo plays out rest of his career like last 2 seasons ...he will throw down the gauntlet to any other modern day tiger:thumbsu:
you have got to be kidding dont you.
Bowden is the most overated player in the comp. He is so unacountable, but all ppl look at is stats. Stats mean stuff all. When will ppl relise that
tomthetiger
20 Jul 2006, 19:16
Bowden setting up play out of the backline outweighs the occasional flogging he'll get from a good opponent.
He will be remembered as a great athlete who could have done anything in a great team.
If you've ever met the bloke, you will only remember him fondly :thumbsu:
1980GFVideo
20 Jul 2006, 23:26
Supporters seem to link the players to the era once they are retired.
I know I hold up my regard for Richmond players of the 1980-82 era who were probably not as good as I have imagined.
I even have good memories of Dennis Collins and Ian Satori. Even Ian Scrimshaw and Phillip Bottoms warming up on the Members wing makes me feel good.
If we experience good times after Richo is gone you will rarely think of him. We are all waiting for the opportunity to dump the last twenty five years and guys like Cambell, Knights and Richo who were all better than guys like Tempany,Strachan and Landy, will be hardly thought of.
Richo is all heart. just wrong era for himself.
Bentleigh
20 Jul 2006, 23:59
Supporters seem to link the players to the era once they are retired.
I know I hold up my regard for Richmond players of the 1980-82 era who were probably not as good as I have imagined.
I even have good memories of Dennis Collins and Ian Satori. Even Ian Scrimshaw and Phillip Bottoms warming up on the Members wing makes me feel good.
If we experience good times after Richo is gone you will rarely think of him. We are all waiting for the opportunity to dump the last twenty five years and guys like Cambell, Knights and Richo who were all better than guys like Tempany,Strachan and Landy, will be hardly thought of.
Richo is all heart. just wrong era for himself.
The difference is, Knights/Free/CambellI rated as good players, as they were.
Richo is a good 2 or 3 classes above.
Greatest player, by far I've ever seen in the Yellow & Black.
chapmanmagic35
21 Jul 2006, 00:58
He is a gun.....will probably be seen as a great player who played in some inconsistent teams.
As someone else said, he has a heart as big as Phar Lap.
If you've ever met the bloke, you will only remember him fondly :thumbsu:
Here hear !
True Thylacine
21 Jul 2006, 11:55
The 5 min standing ovation he got at the Pre-match in Tassie was the highlight of the day. Put a lump in an old Taswegians throat. He will certainly always be a legend down here. For us die hards in the past decade and a bit Richo really has been Richmond. He is one of the few icons around our club's recent history that we have and will always defend to the hilt. He is also the reason why little kids wear Tiger jumpers.
julzqld
21 Jul 2006, 12:12
If you go down to the museum at Punt Road, only one other player has a larger file than Richo - and that is Captain Blood himself.
Kurtis G
21 Jul 2006, 18:38
ahem...
Dont you have some mail to steal?
Obviously you have nothing to say about Richo Matthew, so why dont you get back to what you do best.....
To those that live through their hearts he will be remembered as a champion. To those that live through their minds, he will fall short.
Definitely a popular guy, and that goes a long way to being remembered fondly.
50 years time I'll be telling my great grandson, who by that stage will live on Mercury and will probably barrack for the Jupiter Kangaroos, that the man we knew and loved as Richo was a flawed genius who frustrated us at times but always entertained. But, by 2056, with a life expectancy of 153, Brett Deledio will have just won his 13th Brownlow medal.
I can't see footy being played on Jupiter Steve, as it's made of gas.
It would be great to see Jimmy Jess dob one from 400 metres out on the moon though.
Kurtis G
22 Jul 2006, 16:36
Coaching tigerland.
Nice one :thumbsu:
Coaching tigerland.
Which Tigers? Torquay, Rochester, Rushworth?
Kurtis G
22 Jul 2006, 18:08
Which Tigers? Torquay, Rochester, Rushworth?
Rocherlea?
Nah he'd be a sweet coach. Maybe not head coach but I hope he takes up a role in our box after he retires from playing.
Terry Tan
23 Jul 2006, 09:17
Coaching tigerland.
goal kicking coach?!
never really delivered on his promise - he'll be remembered as an enigma.
Bentleigh
27 Aug 2006, 12:44
Best player ever since Sir Jack.