View Full Version : Akermanis, verbal agreement to join Dons....
The Dustbin
25 Jul 2006, 07:45
Just heard on SEN that Robbie McEwen who is good mates with Aker, let slip on a radio interview this morning that Aker has verbally agreed a deal with Essendon for 2007.
I hope he does play for us, his achievements are endless and he still has some good footy left him. Not sure what we are going to give up for him though, not to keen giving up a first rounder in this years draft.
I wonder now that his contract has been made 'void', can get picked up in PSD?
Maybe it's just another trade rumour who knows. One thing is for sure any player who wants a move or is out of contract, Ess will be linked with them.
It's not "void". He's been given leave.
The Brians will want something half decent. Pick 17 will at least be involved if you guys are to get him.
Daytripper
25 Jul 2006, 08:32
It's not "void". He's been given leave.
The Brians will want something half decent. Pick 17 will at least be involved if you guys are to get him.
Why would we give up pick 17 ?
Picks 1-16 will all be used by their respective clubs.
Picks 17 & 18 will go to Ess and Carlton and I can't see Aker going to Carlton.
That leaves pick 19.
Would a rival club give up a 2nd round pick for Akermanis ?
In a supposedly strong draft most clubs would want to get at least two bites at the cherry so I strongly doubt it.
We come to pick 35.
By now Essendon have already had 3 picks and the draft is starting to taper off. Clubs would be prepared to give up a 3rd rounder for Akermanis.
That would be the most logical pick if Essendon were to get involved.
I can see a good team giving up a late second round pick for him.
If indeed he wants to play for us only (which I believe is unliekly) he could reject other trades, but I could see Brisbane wanting to make like difficult for Jason if he was to do that.
I reckon he'll be at Melbourne or perhaps Geelong next year.
Philzsay
25 Jul 2006, 09:10
Great, we have Essendon rumours starting in Paris now, I can't wait for the trade/draft period to be over so that the ongoing sagas will finaly end...
Who will win the most number of threads race, Aker or Gibbs?
Great, we have Essendon rumours starting in Paris now, I can't wait for the trade/draft period to be over so that the ongoing sagas will finaly end...
Who will win the most number of threads race, Aker or Gibbs?
Aker will, pretty much every Vic team has had at least 1 if not more, heck Michael Gardiner had 1 on most teams during the week, crazy season has already began
Interms of securing Aker- Abort Mission!
Surely we have learnt from our past decisions- Campo, Murphy, Allan etc
i know Aker is a much better player but he comes with considerable baggage. Unless we can secure him through the PSD and he gives us sufficient assurances regarding behaviour and motivation we need to pass on this one. This draft is seriously strong and we need to go down the path of getting some of the best youth onto our list
go team
25 Jul 2006, 09:51
What's Ricky Olarenshaw's relationship with Sheedy like these days?
Daytripper
25 Jul 2006, 10:53
Interms of securing Aker- Abort Mission!
Surely we have learnt from our past decisions- Campo, Murphy, Allan etc
i know Aker is a much better player but he comes with considerable baggage. Unless we can secure him through the PSD and he gives us sufficient assurances regarding behaviour and motivation we need to pass on this one. This draft is seriously strong and we need to go down the path of getting some of the best youth onto our list
Campo, Murphy and Allan are completely different and therefore irrelevant to the Akermanis situation.
Campo - PSD
Murphy - straight swap for Cory McGrath
Allan - pick 60
blumfieldisback
25 Jul 2006, 11:08
aker doesnt have any form or injury issues those players had, if we get id of 7-8 players and draft 6 or 7 youngsters then aker will help balance the influction of inexperience
In my opinion theres is no point picking akermanis, at best you would get 3 good years out of him and by the time we are competitive again, he would be well and truly past his best. Sides like geelong, melbourne, bulldogs, collingwood are the ones that would benefit most from aker at this stage. Having said this Im sure Sheeds would love aker at the club, and would probably pay him what he wants.
He'd help you win games ancd he'd improve the team, that's what the club would be looking at, as long as the price wasn't too high, a team close to finals my be more desperate and out bid us though, which may not be a bad thing.
Your right about that, he would definately strenghten our midfield and ensure we win a few more games, which isnt a mighty achievement based on this year, but my question is wether or not he would aid or hinder the development of the younger players?
I think if we got him there wouldn't be any youngsters out of our best 22 who would be needing a game every week as we'd still have a lot of players who have time on their hands who can come in for dropped form, injuries and suspension.
Monfries, Stanton and Watson would definately still be in the best 22
Philzsay
25 Jul 2006, 12:01
I am happy for Aker at the right price to join Essendon. In my view he would take Damien Peverill's spot on the list and team. I would be fine with that.
I don't think he would hinder a young player's development, after all you can only have so many young players. About half of our current list are young players (23 and under). I believe a football club should always have a good balance of young and experienced players.
He probably won't win a premiership with us, but with him in the team next year he would probably help us win one or two games that we might not otherwise have. That I think will actually help us in the long term get closer to winning a Flag. How or why? Because young players don't just need experience playing AFL footy, they need experience winning games. Winning games is a positive thing, it helps boosts confidence and has many other positive flow on effects. If we were to have another year with only one or two wins that could potentially do more harm than good to some of the younger players in the team. Often the difference at AFL footy is largely in the head. We must get to that the winning culture and pysche before too much damage is done.
So that leaves the question of what price? If we got him for free in the PSD then great. But that is unlikely. Do we swap a player? I doubt we would have anyone of value that Brisbane would want, and if we did have someone they want we would probably not be prepared to pay that price, after all our valuable players are too valuable to give away. Unless of course there was a player who wanted out. Otherwise that leaves a draft. No way would I swap pick 1 or 2. I wouldn't even swap any of picks 17 to 19 in this particular draft. That leaves pick 35 or there abouts. I would be fine to offer that, now the question is can we get brisbane to agree to it?
Karlostj
25 Jul 2006, 12:12
I think whether we pick up Aker or not should be dependant on just who is leaving the club at the end of the year...
I wouldn't want to see a starting 22 including Hird, JJ, MJ, Pev, Campo and Aker.... Thats an average of over 30....
If Hird retires then I think that Aker would be a good get as he would replace the goal scoring of Hird. If Hird plays on then, one of the others listed above will have to go... we can't have a midfield rotation consisting of 6 players 29 and over!
Pev may stay on the list but not play every week
keepzitreal
25 Jul 2006, 12:17
Aka would be a bonus for next year if we could keep our first 2 draft picks and work out a contract where it wont cost us any of our youngsters in coming years
Philzsay
25 Jul 2006, 12:41
Pev may stay on the list but not play every week
Yeah he probably will. I know he is a fantastic guy around the club and great trainer etc etc but I am willing to make the hard call and delist him at seasons end.
I was essentially thinking about who spot of the older players could Aker take, and I come up with Pev, Rioli or Ramma. So he could take Rioli or Ramma spot on the list, but in terms of the team neither of them have really played this year. So from the team, Aker could maybe take Campo or Pev's spot. Anyway its a seperate issue, I just feel losing Pev won't really cost us much.
Yeah he probably will. I know he is a fantastic guy around the club and great trainer etc etc but I am willing to make the hard call and delist him at seasons end.
I was essentially thinking about who spot of the older players could Aker take, and I come up with Pev, Rioli or Ramma. So he could take Rioli or Ramma spot on the list, but in terms of the team neither of them have really played this year. So from the team, Aker could maybe take Campo or Pev's spot. Anyway its a seperate issue, I just feel losing Pev won't really cost us much.
You're right, it would be a tough call because Pev is a good club man, but it would definately be a major upgrade, Akermanis would still be a gun.
Rioli will be gone at seasons end so there's no worries about him taking Rioli's spot on the list, then he could take Pev or Heff's spot in the team, they are solid but may not be more than depth players next year
I dont see Pev leaving the club, nor being delisted. Surely what he's shown on the field in the last 2 games should suggest he's turned a corner as far as doing the hard work goes.
Id say we'd have to pay Aker a little more than for what we're giving Campo tho. Sure, he comes with personal issues but I tend to think they mostly lay with Matthews. I couldnt imagine he'd want to further tarnish his talents by clashing with another well-respected coach.
The only negative I see apart from the obvious is that its another spot that could potentially be for a young kid.
Im tipping Melbourne will make a play for him and my Smokey would be Geelong.
I'm tipping there's a 5-10% chance we'll get him
kelvin_sheedy
25 Jul 2006, 14:03
We should move heaven and earth to get him.
I hope that's sarcasm
To me he just seems the type of player that Collingwood would want.
I think he will WANT to go to them also.
Rosella
25 Jul 2006, 14:32
I can see a good team giving up a late second round pick for him.
If indeed he wants to play for us only (which I believe is unliekly) he could reject other trades, but I could see Brisbane wanting to make like difficult for Jason if he was to do that.
I reckon he'll be at Melbourne or perhaps Geelong next year.
Fortunately he won't come to Geelong - not a big enough stage for him. Essendon fits the bill on that score nicely, as does Collingwood.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Jul 2006, 15:02
I hope that's sarcasm
Nope. I reckon he'll help us get another flag in the in the window that Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher, Johnsons have left.
Darealrath
25 Jul 2006, 16:00
I wouldn't want to give up a top 20 pick for him. He'd probably only help us for 2 years.
he's 29 for god sake....we wont be trading a 1st or 2nd round pick for him. We can just pick him up with our first pick in the used plyers draft, althouhg he is contracted to brisbane he cna terminate that contract under personal reasons.... so therefore would nominate to for the draft and we get him.
and it would put us one step closer the a flag.
dodgyJim
25 Jul 2006, 17:00
I agree with the fact that he would be a good pickup.
I don't know how I would feel yelling "Go Aker" though, I still feel dirty yelling "Go Campo!". I know you support whoever is wearing the jumper but it's starting to wear a bit thin...
PSD or a late second round pick for him. At 29, didn't he have a hamstring problem recently?, I don't want to see more cash on the sidelines.
he's 29 for god sake....we wont be trading a 1st or 2nd round pick for him. We can just pick him up with our first pick in the used plyers draft, althouhg he is contracted to brisbane he cna terminate that contract under personal reasons.... so therefore would nominate to for the draft and we get him.
and it would put us one step closer the a flag.
He won't be able to go into the PSD at all.
He is contracted and a trade has to be done or he serves his time with brisbane.
What's this talk about a flag?
Lets just concentrate on winning games and having a realistic chance of making the finals first.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 17:24
Can we get this straight, he can go into the PSD regardless of whether he is contracted or not.
Daniel McAlister did it, Ty Zantuck did it.
All it means is if he isn't picked up, Brisbane have to pay him out.
Trade isn't the only option.
He is contracted and a trade has to be done or he serves his time with brisbane.
What's this talk about a flag?
Lets just concentrate on winning games and having a realistic chance of making the finals first.
he actually can terminate his contract mate! therefore go in the pre-season
Dr Moose
25 Jul 2006, 18:22
Merv, I'm not sure how he'd go with Buckley week in, week out. Sheedy would be softer on him than Lethal has been, at least for the first couple of indiscretions, but the Magpies certainly get enough notoriety for him to fit right in. I still think the Demons will get him, but hopefully wherever he goes he'll be a bit happier.
Being an AFL mega-star in Melbourne is completely different to Qld, where every Lion commands as much media content as entire clubs like Bulldogs and Tigers do in Vic. It's the same for the Broncos and Cowboys, and until we get another Qld team (pigs might fly), the Lions will always breed big egos.
Can we get this straight, he can go into the PSD regardless of whether he is contracted or not.
mmmhhh, i'm certainly not sure on this one but
I was under the impression to go into the PSD you have to be delisted or uncontracted in otherwords
How can he end his contract, it is binding to both parties
Here is the eligibility for the PSD
The pre-season draft is a draft conducted in the AFL following the AFL Draft. It is conducted at the same time as the AFL rookie draft. The pre-season draft is a place for all uncontracted players to nominate that missed the AFL Draft or who were delisted after this draft.
Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pre-season_draft
silverphoenix
25 Jul 2006, 18:42
Just a question for you longy? if he can just go into the psd contracted or not, what is the point? Isnt nominating for the draft a breach of contract laws meaning he isnt allowed to sign with another club unless he is paid out and delisted by brisbane. Meaning that brisbane can say well if no-one wants to trade for you, you can sit on your arse until your 31 then nominate for the PSD in 08?
question answered by Merv, so if no trade is made, the lions have to delist him, which i would think given the way that aker has handled the situation, it wouldnt be unfathomable to think that brisbane will do the dirty on him
waddo #6
25 Jul 2006, 18:43
na aker would be a waste of young talent that we could pick up in the draft, on another note, not good to see timmy o'keefe having an injury run season, could of debuted this year aswell, being from seymour i like to hear a bit about him so can anyone fill me in on the info about his shoulder and if its going to be something that will screw him around for a while to come? cheers, go dons!
Just a question for you longy? if he can just go into the psd contracted or not, what is the point? Isnt nominating for the draft a breach of contract laws meaning he isnt allowed to sign with another club unless he is paid out and delisted by brisbane. Meaning that brisbane can say well if no-one wants to trade for you, you can sit on your arse until your 31 then nominate for the PSD in 08?
Yes Longy and koc#41 have their wires crossed on this one.
MrAaron
25 Jul 2006, 18:47
Direct swap - Kepler Bradley for Akermanis will do.
Forget it
Well I know for a fact Ty Zantuck was contracted at Richmond for 2005 but we picked him up in the 2005 PSD so obviously there is a possibility for Aker to go into the PSD.
Edit: Digging up a few old articles and it seems as if he was delisted by Richmond before the PSD and so that enabled him to nominate for it.
God you're an idiot.:rolleyes:
Any pick below # 35 & chuck in Bolton, anything else wouldn't be worth it.
AnGuS#6
25 Jul 2006, 20:24
God you're an idiot.:rolleyes:
Any pick below # 35 & chuck in Bolton, anything else wouldn't be worth it.
I won't be happy with Bolton and a 3rd Round Pick for Akermanis. The 3rd round pick will help our club more than Akermanis would.
If we got Aker, we would have to be confident that we could challenge for the flag in the next two years. The question is, can Lloyd, Aker, and a few good picks transform the worst club in the league to the best within 2-3 years?
MrAaron
25 Jul 2006, 20:28
Forget it
Kepler Bradly is terrible at best. His prefered position is CHB and yet he lets his oponent kick goals upon goals on him on a weekly basis. He is a rabble
I won't be happy with Bolton and a 3rd Round Pick for Akermanis. The 3rd round pick will help our club more than Akermanis would.
If we got Aker, we would have to be confident that we could challenge for the flag in the next two years. The question is, can Lloyd, Aker, and a few good picks transform the worst club in the league to the best within 2-3 years?
I would think we would be a chance at finals within 2 - 3 years, with those players & the youngsters having more confidence with those players on the field.
Nuts4Bolts
25 Jul 2006, 20:41
How about our 2nd round pick for Rishentelli (or however you spell his name) and Aker. Maybe throw in a Bolton, Henneman or Solomon type player as well.
Roylion
25 Jul 2006, 20:43
Jason Akermanis is contracted to the Brisbane Lions for 2007. If a suitable trade can't be found for Akermanis, then there are two choices.
1) Akermanis stands out of football for a year until his contract runs out.
2) Jason Akermanis plays for the Brisbane Lions and fulfils his contract and then is traded or goes into the PSD at the end of 2007. Under the scenario, the Lions may well lose him for nothing, as happened with Blake Caracella.
Jason Akermanis can only go into the PSD, IF
3) he is sacked/delisted by Brisbane and paid out (as per Ty Zantuck)
4) both parties mutually agree to end the contract. (as per Justin Leppitsch who retired)
The likelihood of 3 or 4 happening (in Akermanis' case) is extremely remote.
Jason Akermanis can come to as many verbal agreements as he likes, with whoever he likes. If the Lions do not agree to release him as per 3 or 4, then he cannot enter the PSD. It is not in the Lions' interest to release Akermanis for nothing. The Lions may try and accede to Akermanis' preference to go to Melbourne, but only if a suitable trade deal is negotiated.
If Essendon want him, then they'll have to propose a trade deal, because there will be other Melbourne based clubs that will. No club will get Akermanis for nothing in return. As soon a club proposes a deal, any deal, it is definitely no PSD for Jason Akermanis until the end of 2007, when he comes out of contract. The Lions may even elect to keep him. With Lepptisch gone and perhaps Keating and the Scott brothers to go, there will be at least half a million dollars freed up. Akermanis' salary is already included for 2007. In fact if Akermanis is traded and the other club takes all his salary, then the Lions could have close to $800,000 free. Some will be absorbed by re-signings of players such as Rischitelli. The rest will then be a case of 'let's go shopping' and a Lions date with the PSD.
I'd have him no matter the cost!
stander
25 Jul 2006, 21:01
Jason Akermanis is contracted to the Brisbane Lions for 2007. If a suitable trade can't be found for Akermanis, then there are two choices.
1) Akermanis stands out of football for a year until his contract runs out.
2) Jason Akermanis plays for the Brisbane Lions and fulfils his contract and then is traded or goes into the PSD at the end of 2007. Under the scenario, the Lions may well lose him for nothing, as happened with Blake Caracella.
Jason Akermanis can only go into the PSD, IF
3) he is sacked/delisted by Brisbane and paid out (as per Ty Zantuck)
4) both parties mutually agree to end the contract. (as per Justin Leppitsch who retired)
The likelihood of 3 or 4 happening (in Akermanis' case) is extremely remote.
Jason Akermanis can come to as many verbal agreements as he likes, with whoever he likes. If the Lions do not agree to release him as per 3 or 4, then he cannot enter the PSD. It is not in the Lions' interest to release Akermanis for nothing. The Lions may try and accede to Akermanis' preference to go to Melbourne, but only if a suitable trade deal is negotiated.
If Essendon want him, then they'll have to propose a trade deal, because there will be other Melbourne based clubs that will. No club will get Akermanis for nothing in return. As soon a club proposes a deal, any deal, it is definitely no PSD for Jason Akermanis until the end of 2007, when he comes out of contract. The Lions may even elect to keep him. With Lepptisch gone and perhaps Keating and the Scott brothers to go, there will be at least half a million dollars freed up. Akermanis' salary is already included for 2007. In fact if Akermanis is traded and the other club takes all his salary, then the Lions could have close to $800,000 free. Some will be absorbed by re-signings of players such as Rischitelli. The rest will then be a case of 'let's go shopping' and a Lions date with the PSD.
Very well surmised Royboy- a pity you support the Lions though. You forgot to mention that in the event that Akermanis is delisted by the Lions which is the only way he can nominate for the PSD, he then nominates a contactual amount for his services which would then sort out the eventual bidding for his signature.
stander
25 Jul 2006, 21:05
he actually can terminate his contract mate! therefore go in the pre-season
You obviously didn't study contract laws- its called a breach of contract and has the odd implication or two.
There is little chance Brisbane and Aker will part ways when a few Melbourne clubs are after him, PSD chance is virtually nill
You obviously didn't study contract laws- its called a breach of contract and has the odd implication or two.
Actually it was said on SEN today during their afternoon show (the good oil) their regular legal advisor who comes on to talk about legal issues in sport stated that if the lions refused to let Jason Akkermanis leave the club, while still leaving him in the same state of playing 2nds he would very easily beable to make his contract 'void' and therefore beable to nominate for the PSD.
Roylion
25 Jul 2006, 21:52
Actually it was said on SEN today during their afternoon show (the good oil) their regular legal advisor who comes on to talk about legal issues in sport stated that if the lions refused to let Jason Akkermanis leave the club, while still leaving him in the same state of playing 2nds he would very easily beable to make his contract 'void' and therefore beable to nominate for the PSD.
Its irrelevant. Jason Akermanis is on 'leave of absence' for the remainder of the season from the Brisbane Lions at his own request and at the request of his manager. He will not be playing with the Suncoast Lions. The Lions granted Akermanis' request and the parties will sit down at the end of the season to discuss 2007. That was confirmed by the Lions yesterday.
That scenario will not 'void' his contract and Akermanis cannot walk out of the Lions into the PSD, unless the Lions allow him to by agreeing to end his contract (which they will not).
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:00
Just a question for you longy? if he can just go into the psd contracted or not, what is the point?
He can't just walk. Brisbane can hold him to his contract.
But both parties can agree to part ways.
So when it has been stated that there is no chance of him being in the PSD, that under no circumstance can he be in the PSD, that is not correct.
The chances of him being in the PSD are remote, but it's not completely out of the question, nor is it against the laws of the game.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:04
Yes Longy and koc#41 have their wires crossed on this one.
Far from it. I'm 100% correct.
Ty Zantuck was contracted to Richmond for 2005 for a figure of up to 280K.
Richmond and Ty decided to part ways after a trade couldn't be done.
He went into the PSD and came to Essendon for a lot less than that.
If Brisbane can't get a deal done, remembering that Aker has to agree to any trade. Then Brisbane have a decision to make.
Brisbane hold him to his contract and keep him on their playing list for 2007. Effectively wasting a spot on their list.
OR
Both parties can agree to put an end to the contract and he can go into the PSD and go anywhere and Brisbane then have an opportunity to draft another player to fill that spot.
Chances of him being in the PSD are slim, but when you say he can't be in the PSD at all. You are wrong.
AnGuS#6
25 Jul 2006, 22:07
How about our 2nd round pick for Rishentelli (or however you spell his name) and Aker. Maybe throw in a Bolton, Henneman or Solomon type player as well.
I'd consider Risky and Aker for pick 20 and any of Bolton, Henneman, Reynolds etc. (personally I think they should be delisted anyway)
A lot of Essendon supporters want Aker atm because most of us simply want some wins. In some ways, I too wouldn't mind getting Aker if he sent us to the finals.
But where does it leave us in 4-5 years time. Once Lloyd, Hird, Lucas, Fletcher, Campo and Aker retire, where will we be then?
Why would we get Aker? How will it help us?
ALwaysNorth
25 Jul 2006, 22:21
I find it very amusing how Bomber supporters are discussing here how little they can give up for Aker , as if they can decide what Brisbane will accept .
And to the bloke who said they could give up a late 2nd round pick for him , whose ar$e are you pulling this late 2nd round pick from ????
Give or take 1 , Bombers will have picks 1,17,19 & 35 Brisbane will want 2 of those or one of the first 3 and Dempsey .
Far from it. I'm 100% correct.
Ty Zantuck was contracted to Richmond for 2005 for a figure of up to 280K.
Richmond and Ty decided to part ways after a trade couldn't be done.
He went into the PSD and came to Essendon for a lot less than that.
If Brisbane can't get a deal done, remembering that Aker has to agree to any trade. Then Brisbane have a decision to make.
Brisbane hold him to his contract and keep him on their playing list for 2007. Effectively wasting a spot on their list.
OR
Both parties can agree to put an end to the contract and he can go into the PSD and go anywhere and Brisbane then have an opportunity to draft another player to fill that spot.
Chances of him being in the PSD are slim, but when you say he can't be in the PSD at all. You are wrong.
Longy you are twisting this around to suit yourself.
Heres what you said:
then i said :
mmmhhh, i'm certainly not sure on this one but
I was under the impression to go into the PSD you have to be delisted or uncontracted in otherwords
How can he end his contract, it is binding to both parties
So you see i didn't say he couldnt be in the PSD at all i said he can only be in if uncontracted
You said, and i quote again Can we get this straight, he can go into the PSD regardless of whether he is contracted or not.
So.......YOU were wrong so don't try to twist it around
Once again here are the rules for entry into the PSDThe pre-season draft is a draft conducted in the AFL following the AFL Draft. It is conducted at the same time as the AFL rookie draft. The pre-season draft is a place for all uncontracted players to nominate that missed the AFL Draft or who were delisted after this draft.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:28
I find it very amusing how Bomber supporters are discussing here how little they can give up for Aker , as if they can decide what Brisbane will accept .
And to the bloke who said they could give up a late 2nd round pick for him , whose ar$e are you pulling this late 2nd round pick from ????
Give or take 1 , Bombers will have picks 1,17,19 & 35 Brisbane will want 2 of those or one of the first 3 and Dempsey .
Why is that amusing?
It is just a reflection of how much most Essendon supporters actually want Aker.
It's like asking, how much would you pay for a BMW. I don't really want a BWM, but if I could get one for $10,000 I'd probably buy it.
In other words, most don't really want Aker, but if we could get him cheap, why not. You have to keep in mind most understand that the chances of getting him cheap are slim.
I'll tell you what is really amusing, oppositions supporters entering other club boards and in the end just looking pretty silly.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:30
Say again?
He's currently contracted for 2007. But that doesn't mean a player that is contracted for 2007 cannot be in the 2006 draft.
It just means that contract has to come to an early conclusion as was the case with Ty Zantuck as I explained.
If they part company, agree to end terms. He can go in the PSD, obviously that would mean he'd be uncontracted as is insinuated when I stated that if they agree to part terms he can enter the PSD.
Say again?
He's currently contracted for 2007. But that doesn't mean a player that is contracted for 2007 cannot be in the 2006 draft.
It just means that contract has to come to an early conclusion as was the case with Ty Zantuck as I explained.
If they part company, agree to end terms. He can go in the PSD, obviously that would mean he'd be uncontracted as is insinuated when I stated that if they agree to part terms he can enter the PSD.
HAHAHA LONGY,,, selective quoting.
Notice i quote ALL that you said, not bits and pieces to suit myself.
Heres the full quote
Again you said:
So while you are right trade is not the only option you can not go into the PSD if you are contracted.
You are wrong on this point, just wear it
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:47
I'm not wrong, Jason Akermanis can go in the 2006 PSD.
You said he couldn't, I said he could.
Even if I had of quoted everything you wrote, both points are wrong.
He can go in the PSD and if a trade isn't done he isn't obliged to serve his time with Brisbane if the club and Aker agree to part ways.
blumfieldisback
25 Jul 2006, 22:51
HAHAHA LONGY,,, selective quoting.
Notice i quote ALL that you said, not bits and pieces to suit myself.
Heres the full quote
Again you said:
So while you are right trade is not the only option you can not go into the PSD if you are contracted.
You are wrong on this point, just wear it
no merv longy is right on this, if brisbane and aker come to agreement his contract could be terminated, usuallu meaning a pay out is entiteled to the player, this then allows aker to enter the pre season draft, however brisbane would receive nothing, im sure this wont happen and a trade is imminent maybe 3 way, who knows. Maybe essendon will trade dempsey???
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 22:54
no merv longy is right on this, if brisbane and aker come to agreement his contract could be terminated, usuallu meaning a pay out is entiteled to the player, this then allows aker to enter the pre season draft, however brisbane would receive nothing, im sure this wont happen and a trade is imminent maybe 3 way, who knows. Maybe essendon will trade dempsey???
That must of hurt you ;)
Doubt we'd trade Dempsey. He's pretty much a young players with the qualities Aker possesses, minus the dual sidedness.
He's girlfriend is down here, living with him. Seems pretty settled. So I doubt he'd want to go either.
AnGuS#6
25 Jul 2006, 22:57
Why is that amusing?
It is just a reflection of how much most Essendon supporters actually want Aker.
It's like asking, how much would you pay for a BMW. I don't really want a BWM, but if I could get one for $10,000 I'd probably buy it.
In other words, most don't really want Aker, but if we could get him cheap, why not. You have to keep in mind most understand that the chances of getting him cheap are slim.
I'll tell you what is really amusing, oppositions supporters entering other club boards and in the end just looking pretty silly.
Exactly!!!
Everything has a price... except Aaron Henneman.
That must of hurt you ;)
You have to be kidding....lol
Ok, now please show me where you are right in the following quote
That statement is blatantly wrong.Full stop
Roylion
25 Jul 2006, 23:08
.He can go in the PSD and if a trade isn't done he isn't obliged to serve his time with Brisbane if the club and Aker agree to part ways.
In which case contract ties are severed and Jason Akermanis becomes an uncontracted player. And then yes he could enter the PSD.
However while Jason Akermanis is contracted to the Brisbane Lions, he CANNOT enter the Pre-season draft. If any club wants him they will need to offer a suitable trade.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 23:11
You have to be kidding....lol
That wasn't directed at you.
Ok, now please show me where you are right in the following quote
That statement is blatantly wrong.Full stop
Why is it wrong?
He has a contract for 2007, but he can enter the PSD if both clubs parties company. I've stated that a number of times.
I provided examples in Dan McAlister and Ty Zantuck.
What I said was right. He can enter the 2006 PSD if he has a contract for 2007 provided both parties agree to part ways before the draft.
You accused me of selective quoting, you've just done the same. If you apply what I said, to my example of Ty Zantuck, bingo. You have your answer.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 23:16
In which case contract ties are severed and Jason Akermanis becomes an uncontracted player. And then yes he could enter the PSD.
I probably could have provided further clarity in my original post but I presumed the Ty Zantuck example would have given everyone enough of an indication as to exactly what I was talking about.
Brisbane can also delist him if he is under contract. They'd either have to pay him out or have that contract taken up by another club. Or they re-draft him.
Essendon did exactly the same thing with Daniel McAlister. Again I presumed examples would have been enough rather than providing an indepth post.
That wasn't directed at you.
Why is it wrong?
He has a contract for 2007, but he can enter the PSD if both clubs parties company. I've stated that a number of times.
I provided examples is Dan McAlister and Ty Zantuck.
What I said was right. He can enter the 2006 PSD if he has a contract for 2007 provided both parties agree to part ways before the draft.
HAHAHA, we could be here all night and again you are changing what you said to suit yourself and ADDING the "if both agree to part company"(i have fixed what i assume you meant to write)
Your original statement did not have that line in it.It simply said this
Again it is wrong because you can not go into the PSD if you are contracted.
Yes you can terminate the contract , but of course then you are not going in as a contracted player but an uncontracted one.
Anyways i'm not here to argue endlessly so this will be my last post in this particular thread
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 23:23
I edited my previous post, but I presume you missed that when you replied.
If you apply what I said, to my example of Ty Zantuck, it is evident what I meant. I apologise if that went missing on people but it was clear in my mind what I wrote.
My main point was that Aker can be in the 2006 PSD and his 2007 contract doesn't stop all chances of him from doing that.
I think Im understanding the confusion here...he can still be under contract and enter the PSD provided both parties agree to part ways.
Technically, he'd STILL be under contract, however, for both parties the contract means nothing if theyre both fine with tearing it up and leaving it at that.
Technically, the contract ITSELF exists, (being that it hasnt been served to its full extent) but wont be enforced if Brisbane and Aker dont bother to abide by it if they agree to part ways.
I can see where youre BOTH coming from, but Merv...I think youre missing the fact that even though the contract itself exists, theyre both agreeing to have it overridden by parting ways...therefore making the contract itself useless.
Correct me if Im wrong, but thats how Ive read this little argument.
Longy413
25 Jul 2006, 23:34
Something like that Crave.
I think the best way to leave it is that Aker could be in the PSD.
Chances are slim.
IMO - He'll end up at Melbourne for their first two picks, in exchange for Aker and Brisbane's second rounder.
Something like that Crave.
Chances are slim.
IMO - He'll end up at Melbourne for their first two picks, in exchange for Aker and Brisbane's second rounder.
Yeah, something tells me Melb or Geelong...both have emerging young brigade and need another avenue to goal on a consistent basis.
hotwizz
26 Jul 2006, 08:53
screw akker... get rischitelli... i'm sick of bringing in old blokes.. i know akker has a few years in him but i think rechitelli has the talent to get and through amongst our other youngsters
If Aker does indeed help us get into the finals and nothing further, would that not still help the development of Stanton, Monfries, Watson, Winderlich etc to get finals experience under their belt?
stander
26 Jul 2006, 10:17
If Aker does indeed help us get into the finals and nothing further, would that not still help the development of Stanton, Monfries, Watson, Winderlich etc to get finals experience under their belt?
The team is not ready for Finals.
So if we sneak into the 8 next year do we say nah, we'll step aside for another team instead of getting some finals experience into our young side?
Then when we are ready maybe we can win the flag our very first try?
stander
26 Jul 2006, 10:29
So if we sneak into the 8 next year do we say nah, we'll step aside for another team instead of getting some finals experience into our young side?
Then when we are ready maybe we can win the flag our very first try?
You even think like Sheedy- we are languishing becuase of the Sheedy inspired, but flawed policy of maintaining a list that plays finals every year. Recruiting Aker will win us more games and maybe 7th or 8th, which is a phony finals position anyway. Don't be content with mediocrity pal.
Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 10:31
So you'd rather finish bottom four than 7-8?
You even think like Sheedy
that is a compliment
we are languishing becuase of the Sheedy inspired, but flawed policy of maintaining a list that plays finals every year. Recruiting Aker will win us more games and maybe 7th or 8th, which is a phony finals position anyway. Don't be content with mediocrity pal.
I'm talking about getting as much finals experience into a team that we will continue to build on.
St. Kilda were bottoming out 5-6 years getting recruiting star after star and still don't have the finals experience to go all the way, which is every teams goal.
Did Sydney ever bottom out or have they played finals consistently over the last 4-5 years to eventually build a premiership team who are good enough to win it agian.
Nuts4Bolts
26 Jul 2006, 10:45
Chances are slim.
Even if Aker does go into the PSD, I doubt that we will get 1st pick anyway. In fact, I not so confident that we will even get a priority pick. We have some very winnable games in the run home.
Donsforever
26 Jul 2006, 13:14
A priority pick this year is a certainty. We are not going to win 4 out of our last 6 games.
Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 13:31
A priority pick this year is a certainty. We are not going to win 4 out of our last 6 games.
We'd only have to win 3.
That would give us 18 points and we'd miss out.
stander
26 Jul 2006, 17:05
that is a compliment
I'm talking about getting as much finals experience into a team that we will continue to build on.
St. Kilda were bottoming out 5-6 years getting recruiting star after star and still don't have the finals experience to go all the way, which is every teams goal.
Did Sydney ever bottom out or have they played finals consistently over the last 4-5 years to eventually build a premiership team who are good enough to win it agian.
One Sheedy is enough thanks. We played finals 2001- 2004 and are now rock bottom so finals meant bugger all- its all about making the right decisions, and frankly we have messed up badly since 2001 and remedial action is overdue.
Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 17:09
What do you actually expect?
You can't win a flag every year, that's a given.
But you don't want to play in the finals, unless we are winning a flag.
Yet you want Sheedy sacked because we are in the bottom four.
What should we have done between 2001-2004?
Can the bloke do anything right in your book?
stander
26 Jul 2006, 17:18
What do you actually expect?
You can't win a flag every year, that's a given.
But you don't want to play in the finals, unless we are winning a flag.
Yet you want Sheedy sacked because we are in the bottom four.
What should we have done between 2001-2004?
Can the bloke do anything right in your book?
Resign.
Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 17:23
Resign.
Because we are on the bottom now?
Or because we should have been on the bottom between 2001 and 2004?
It seems strange, you don't want to finish in the finals, yet you don't want to be on the bottom.
Don't think our next coach will net us a flag every year. It would be nice though.
MrAaron
26 Jul 2006, 17:25
er are you sure ? Collingwood was down the bottom for 2 seasons and now they are fighting for a top 4 spot.
It's common knowledge that it is very possible to finish down the bottom 1 year and be in the finals the next year.
Don't be so negative.
Ummm, that's like telling Grettel Kolleen don't be so annoying
go_the_bombers
26 Jul 2006, 17:34
Ummm, that's like telling Grettel Kolleen don't be so annoying
:D good luck
Her and aka would make a nice pair:p
Sam the RAMA fan
26 Jul 2006, 18:53
INTRESTING!!
But I would much rather Riska...
but as much as Aker annoyed me at Brisbane with his gay-ass hand stands and silly facial expressions...I'm sure I will grow to like him..
I have already with all this media hype...I cant stand Leigh Matthews,
and backed Aker instead :)
AnGuS#6
26 Jul 2006, 19:09
INTRESTING!!
But I would much rather Riska...
but as much as Aker annoyed me at Brisbane with his gay-ass hand stands and silly facial expressions...I'm sure I will grow to like him..
I have already with all this media hype...I cant stand Leigh Matthews,
and backed Aker instead :)
I'm love Aker if he brought Risky along with him
Its irrelevant. Jason Akermanis is on 'leave of absence' for the remainder of the season from the Brisbane Lions at his own request and at the request of his manager. He will not be playing with the Suncoast Lions. The Lions granted Akermanis' request and the parties will sit down at the end of the season to discuss 2007. That was confirmed by the Lions yesterday.
That scenario will not 'void' his contract and Akermanis cannot walk out of the Lions into the PSD, unless the Lions allow him to by agreeing to end his contract (which they will not).
i never once mentioned his 'leave of absence' in my previous post, so i have no idea why are mentioning it now. if his contract was to be made void i dare say it would take alot more than a 'leave of absence'
The Dustbin
27 Jul 2006, 20:57
Give me Aka over Riska anyday....
That comment belongs in "The Dustbin".....:D
Karlostj
28 Jul 2006, 10:58
I'm uncertain about the young Brisbane midfielders. With the likes of Voss, Power, Black and Aker playing around you, it would help a player to look good. 3 of their midfielders are brownlow medalists and they are excellent at bringing other players into the game, especially Black.
I'm not so certain that players like Sherman, Riska would look as good with the Essendon midfield in support. Unless we could get them cheaply then I wouldn't be interested in their young midfielders.
He certainly has potential and if he can hit a target he's worth a look at, we won't be trading any of our draft picks unless its a great deal