View Full Version : Sam Lonergan

kenrosewall
26 Jul 2006, 10:45
I am interested in people's thoughts on this young bloke. I reckon he shows stacks of potential. Unfortunately I am also biased as I am a fellow Tasmanian, and therefore would like to know other people's view. I have seen probably 3 Bendigo games on TV + his debut against the Saints and believe he will be a main stay in our side for years to come.

Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 10:47
Absolute bulldog.

He'll make it.

rioli brownlow
26 Jul 2006, 11:57
Absolute bulldog.

He'll make it.

was so unlucky to be dropped

Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 12:04
was so unlucky to be dropped

But by the same token he might have been lucky to get a game.
He's not yet better than Monfries and Slattery and they both had to come in. Last one in, first one out.

He showed some promise though and his VFL form is pretty impressive. He'll get his chance.

rioli brownlow
26 Jul 2006, 12:12
But by the same token he might have been lucky to get a game.
He's not yet better than Monfries and Slattery and they both had to come in. Last one in, first one out.

He showed some promise though and his VFL form is pretty impressive. He'll get his chance.

yeah but still better value than reynolds and bolton

kenrosewall
26 Jul 2006, 12:26
I would have thought he is the sort of player we need ahead of Dyson, Monfries, Slattery etc. While these kids are all very capable and deserve a spot (maybe not Dyson), I think for team dynamics we need a player who can win the ball from stoppages, but also has good disposal and a bit of toe (I know he's not lightning, but his first 10 metres are good). Does anyone know his results for this from the draft camp?

I think we should give him a game ahead of Bolton also, whose job it is too run hard and get to contests with his opponent, which he does well, but he puts no pressure on his opponent going the other way.

kenrosewall
26 Jul 2006, 12:27
Did anyone see the Bendigo game from the weekend? Are you able to give me an update on how Lonergan went? I don't think he was named in th best.

DaSawx
26 Jul 2006, 12:30
I would have thought he is the sort of player we need ahead of Dyson, Monfries, Slattery etc. While these kids are all very capable and deserve a spot (maybe not Dyson), I think for team dynamics we need a player who can win the ball from stoppages, but also has good disposal and a bit of toe (I know he's not lightning, but his first 10 metres are good). Does anyone know his results for this from the draft camp?

I think we should give him a game ahead of Bolton also, whose job it is too run hard and get to contests with his opponent, which he does well, but he puts no pressure on his opponent going the other way.

Bolton was played to play on Kouta, not sure how lucky he'll be this week with possibly 4-5 ins.

We've been pretty good at stoppages this year although his good disposal would help at times, he'll get his chances don't worry

Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 13:37

I think it's the opposite.

We are 6th in the comp for clearances, 5th in 1st possessions and 6th in inside 50's.

We have enough blokes capable of winning contested footy. We've actually got four blokes inside the top 20 of the comp for contested possessions.

We need more blokes capable of hitting targets. And I wouldn't say Sammy has good disposal, he has adequate disposal. Very much like Jason Johnson.

He's going to be a good player for us, but right now I wouldn't say we have a desperate need for his type. Pev's return to form has hurt him, because I'd like to see Longergan have his place in the side, but it's hard to drop Pev at the minute.

7zark7
26 Jul 2006, 14:05
Did anyone see the Bendigo game from the weekend? Are you able to give me an update on how Lonergan went? I don't think he was named in th best.

I went down and he looked rock solid. The conditions were poor yet he seemed to be on fire.

On another note Doering was good again on the weekend, he is better than Soloman - that is fact.

Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 14:07
Big difference between Solly and Doering.

Solly plays on an opponent.

7zark7
26 Jul 2006, 14:08
Big difference between Solly and Doering.

Solly plays on an opponent.

Yeah...and still gets left 5 metres behind.

kenrosewall
26 Jul 2006, 16:38
OK so I probably agree Longy, who are the four blokes in the Top 20 for contested possessions, and will they be around for our next premiership.

However Lonergan doesn't just get the contested possession. He can get the ball, break a tackle and go for a run. We don't have many of them.

Longy413
26 Jul 2006, 16:45
When's our next Premiership going to be?

The four are Watson, Hille, JJ and Heff.

Just because a player may not be part of our next Premiership side, doesn't mean he should be cast aside for a kid. We need leadership and we don't want to break these kids before they are ready.

Lonergan, whilst physically bigger than most recruits isn't quite ready to play the JJ sort of role yet but I can see him developing into that. Ideally you would like to see Lonergan have played 40-50 games in three years time when JJ is just about done and dusted so he can step up and take his spot.

The kid has talent, no doubt. But I don't think there is any need to rush him into a role. Six weeks ago, I wanted him in the side, but at the minute Pev is holding his own so I'm happy to wait. If he plays another couple of games this year and 10-15 next year it will be a good grounding for the kid.

kelvin_sheedy
26 Jul 2006, 17:12
I went down and he looked rock solid. The conditions were poor yet he seemed to be on fire.

On another note Doering was good again on the weekend, he is better than Soloman - that is fact.

Doering better than Soloman?

Are you on drugs man?

Let's Fly Jetstar!
26 Jul 2006, 17:47
Doering better than Soloman?

Are you on drugs man?
It's fact though mate, don't mess with facts... :rolleyes:

Stargazer
26 Jul 2006, 18:10
It's fact though mate, don't mess with facts... :rolleyes:
It wouldn't be too hard to be better than Solly (can't kick, gives away crucial frees). I'd rather keep Sam.

kenrosewall
26 Jul 2006, 18:16
I don't think there is a bloke in the AFL who loses his feet as much as Solly. Surely he would have had a good look at his boots by now, so it must just be his lack of skill/preparation.

saladin
26 Jul 2006, 18:18

i admire your support of lonergan, but to think he's the sort of player we need ahead of gussy is ludicrous. angus should almost be first picked every week on effort and committment. i agree entirely with you though on sams future - he will be seen as one of the absolute steals of last years draft. hard at it, 2nd and 3rd efforts, goal kicking ball magnet...... will be excellent. i can't wait to see him and gus changing into the midfield in two years time.

Merv
26 Jul 2006, 18:38
I don't think there is a bloke in the AFL who loses his feet as much as Solly. Surely he would have had a good look at his boots by now, so it must just be his lack of skill/preparation.

There is another, his name is K.Bradley

Let's Fly Jetstar!
27 Jul 2006, 11:39
It's not about Sam, tiprat.
It's about Doering.

Solomon is better than Doering.
I'd rather keep both of them (Sam and Solly).

Audemars Piguet
28 Jul 2006, 17:34
i agree entirely with you though on sams future - he will be seen as one of the absolute steals of last years draft. hard at it, 2nd and 3rd efforts, goal kicking ball magnet...... will be excellent. i can't wait to see him and gus changing into the midfield in two years time.

I certainly hope he will be as good as you think.

Reading his profile/achievements prior to the draft convinced me that we got a steal.
Watching him at Bendigo made me a little more sceptical however, he seemed a little slow and cumbersome.

Question: Who would you compare him with as a player?

He has been likened to JJ but he plays a rather different role, spending more time forward.

Sam Mitchell perhaps?

go_the_bombers
28 Jul 2006, 17:39
Sam Mitchell doesnt play forward that much! JJ is the best way to compare Lonergan they both get in and under and both can miss an easy goal every now and then

Longy413
28 Jul 2006, 17:39
He is JJ all over.

Bulldog, repeated efforts, kicks goals, but lacks consistency with his foot skills. He is more like JJ than any other player in the comp.

I think he's only playing forward so much at Bendigo because of a lack of options. Which is a compliment to the kid given the amount of shots he's been able to produce.

Audemars Piguet
28 Jul 2006, 17:44
OK lets go with JJ, im happy with that!

go_the_bombers
28 Jul 2006, 17:49
Also is a little quicker than JJ

ant555
28 Jul 2006, 17:59
He is JJ all over.

Bulldog, repeated efforts, kicks goals, but lacks consistency with his foot skills. He is more like JJ than any other player in the comp.

I think he's only playing forward so much at Bendigo because of a lack of options. Which is a compliment to the kid given the amount of shots he's been able to produce.

Has also spent more time forward simply because he had some injuries problems at the start of the season which havnt helped with his fitness.