View Full Version : Bad Beat Stories

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 10:37
Is there anything more annoying?

Most of my mates have become poker addicted over the past year or so, and I have become subject of their constant bad beat stories. Look I hate poker, I think it is boring and simply just a game of chance. So why should I be sympathetic when they lose? They knew what they was getting themselves into.

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:09
I think it is boring and simply just a game of chance

I'll play you for a week in Seven Card Razz, at $1000/$2000.

Then we'll see how much of a game of chance it is.

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 12:16
I'll play you for a week in Seven Card Razz, at $1000/$2000.

Then we'll see how much of a game of chance it is.
Keep telling yourself that cowboy.

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:23
Well, let's go then.

Set up the time and place, and I'll be glad to take your money. As will anyone else on this forum. You ****ing troll.

And the reason for bad beat stories is simple - there is a big skill element to the game, and people get ****ed not because they didn't catch the cards they needed, but moreso when people play bad. Like you will when I crush you at a game you have no chance of winning at.

It's not roulette, bub. But when I take your money, you'd wish it was Russian roulette. I have no qualms about sending you broke, if you want me to prove how much of a game of chance it is... not.

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 12:33
Well, let's go then.

Set up the time and place, and I'll be glad to take your money. As will anyone else on this forum. You ****ing troll.
Where did I in my previous 2 posts insinuate that I would be prepared to play you in this silly little game?

Solitaire > Poker.

And the reason for bad beat stories is simple - there is a big skill element to the game, and people get ****ed not because they didn't catch the cards they needed, but moreso when people play bad. Like you will when I crush you at a game you have no chance of winning at.
Now let me get this straight. You're saying that the main reason bad beat stories occur is because other people play bad, thereby taking money off them. But did you not in that same sentence claim that "there is big skill element to the game"?

If it is so skillful, how can people who play bad win?

It's not roulette, bub. But when I take your money, you'd wish it was Russian roulette. I have no qualms about sending you broke, if you want me to prove how much of a game of chance it is... not.
You have copped so many beats that you are after someone who does not play the game. Sounds good though, I might just play bad, take your money and allow your pathetic gambling problem to escalate.

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 12:40
hahaha. please feel free to come and play the BF poker challenge.

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:42
Lol, there is an element of chance involved in poker, but there is a great deal of skill.

You said in your first post that it is purely a game of chance. That is wrong, and you are wrong.

Where did I in my previous 2 posts insinuate that I would be prepared to play you in this silly little game?

Solitaire > Poker

You didn't. I challenged you. Moron.

If it is so skillful, how can people who play bad win?

They can win. But in the long run, they have no chance. That's what seperates good players, from bad players. That's why I challenged you to play OVER A WEEK. You might get lucky and win one day, but by the end of the week, you'll be crying like the scared little baby that you are.

You have copped so many beats that you are after someone who does not play the game. Sounds good though, I might just play bad, take your money and allow your pathetic gambling problem to escalate

Aight, let's set it up. You have no shot, because we're not playing No Limit Texas Hold'em, so your little friends can't give you tips on how to play. And I don't have a gambling problem. I'm a winning player. I rarely lose. And I don't play games of pure chance like roulette, or bet on horses.

I play cards. Am I'm good. Real ****ing good.

And your posting here only illustrates the problem this world has -

People like you who try and run the world, and who try and tell people what they can and can't do. So if you want some action, and you want to get lucky, bring it. Otherwise, **** off, and go play solitaire by yourself.

Loser. Lol

Man, if only we could get these morons to play us every week, eh boys? Instead of taking money of ourselves in the BF challenge. We'd be rich!

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:44
And if you think there is no skill in poker, and anyone can win - research Andy Beal, and find out how much of a bitch the best player in the world made him out to be.

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 12:45
hahaha. please feel free to come and play the BF poker challenge.
Could not think of a better way of spending a Monday night.

BTW, is playing bad considered cheating?

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:46
You can cheat all you like. But watch out for the feds, and the lawsuits from pokerroom. Lol.

**** man, I'll even fly - that's right, I'll fly myself - to "North London" to come and play you. After we're done, we can even play some High Stakes scrabble, and I'll show you up in that.

I need some easy money man, so it's up to you. Lol

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 12:48
I'll also add that you don't have to play for money when playing poker.

I play a lot with friends for play money, and have a good time - while you're at home playing solitaire by yourself. Lol

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 12:54
Lol, there is an element of chance involved in poker, but there is a great deal of skill.

You said in your first post that it is purely a game of chance. That is wrong, and you are wrong.

You didn't. I challenged you. Moron.

They can win. But in the long run, they have no chance. That's what seperates good players, from bad players. That's why I challenged you to play OVER A WEEK. You might get lucky and win one day, but by the end of the week, you'll be crying like the scared little baby that you are.

Aight, let's set it up. You have no shot, because we're not playing No Limit Texas Hold'em, so your little friends can't give you tips on how to play. And I don't have a gambling problem. I'm a winning player. I rarely lose. And I don't play games of pure chance like roulette, or bet on horses.

I play cards. Am I'm good. Real ****ing good.

And your posting here only illustrates the problem this world has -

People like you who try and run the world, and who try and tell people what they can and can't do. So if you want some action, and you want to get lucky, bring it. Otherwise, **** off, and go play solitaire by yourself.

Loser. Lol

Man, if only we could get these morons to play us every week, eh boys? Instead of taking money of ourselves in the BF challenge. We'd be rich!
Modest aren't we? If you are so 'f*cking good' surely you can mix it with the big boys and take money off them, not having to rely on playing against people who don't play to 'get rich'. You are all talk, that is clearly all you have got. And again, I am not going to play you. I dislike poker immensely, so why would I then want to play it with you? And why would I want to waste my time researching Andy Beal? I don't care.

This wasn't even meant to be about poker itself. I don't care about it and don't really wish to discuss it. It is about bad beat stories. Do you bore your friends with them too needing sympathy?

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 12:56
You can cheat all you like. But watch out for the feds, and the lawsuits from pokerroom. Lol.

**** man, I'll even fly - that's right, I'll fly myself - to "North London" to come and play you. After we're done, we can even play some High Stakes scrabble, and I'll show you up in that.

I need some easy money man, so it's up to you. Lol
Sounds fun. PM me when you arrive.

grimlock
27 Jul 2006, 13:01
You don't have to like poker but I think you're being narrow minded when you think its all pure luck. That wouldn't explain why the best players in the world consistently make money over a number of years. If it was all down to luck then over the long run no one would become profitable from playing poker.

Back to the original topic...

Everyone has a bad beat story. Its part and parcel of poker. But I'm sure everyone who's suffered a bad beat has also handed a bad beat at some time, so that's something to keep in mind.

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 13:01
This wasn't even meant to be about poker itself. I don't care about it and don't really wish to discuss it. It is about bad beat stories. Do you bore your friends with them too needing sympathy?

Nope we talk about them with ppl who understand them and actually know what we are talking about. Hence us doing it here on the poker forum. I think you have done pretty well to catch 1 fish to be honest as this is one of the most obvious troll attempts I've seen in quite some time.

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 13:08
Nope we talk about them with ppl who understand them and actually know what we are talking about. Hence us doing it here on the poker forum. I think you have done pretty well to catch 1 fish to be honest as this is one of the most obvious troll attempts I've seen in quite some time.

I wasn't trolling. Take it or leave it, I do not care. I was simply looking for somewhere to express my frustration after yet another cry for sympathy, I had no idea me declaring that I do not like poker would create such a fanfare. Although it does amuse me how defensive of poker people are, why is that I wonder? Genuine query, as no other game provokes such defensiveness.

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 13:12
I wasn't trolling. Take it or leave it, I do not care. I was simply looking for somewhere to express my frustration after yet another cry for sympathy, I had no idea me declaring that I do not like poker would create such a fanfare. Although it does amuse me how defensive of poker people are, why is that I wonder? Genuine query, as no other game provokes such defensiveness.

and you thought coming into a poker forum and saying you hate poker wouldnt be causing trouble.

1 person has gotten defensive. How about this, I'll go into the AFL forum now and say 'I hate Aussie Rules Football' and we'll see how "defensive" ppl get.

year of the roo
27 Jul 2006, 13:15
and you thought coming into a poker forum and saying you hate poker wouldnt be causing trouble.

1 person has gotten defensive. How about this, I'll go into the AFL forum now and say 'I hate Aussie Rules Football' and we'll see how "defensive" ppl get.
I'd bet on a couple of dozen "I don't care" responses, and I'm not a betting man!

Falchoon
27 Jul 2006, 13:18

I read it and went meh.

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 13:21
I read it and went meh.

same.

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 13:24
Modest aren't we? If you are so 'f*cking good' surely you can mix it with the big boys and take money off them, not having to rely on playing against people who don't play to 'get rich'. You are all talk, that is clearly all you have got. And again, I am not going to play you. I dislike poker immensely, so why would I then want to play it with you? And why would I want to waste my time researching Andy Beal? I don't care.

You posted something that annoys a lot of poker players, and I responded in turn. If you want to start a discussion on bad beat stories, that's fine, but don't post that poker is "purely a game of chance". That's wrong, and I'm not going to answer someone who thinks that.

You have no idea what you are talking about, therefore you have no right to discuss the subject.

The fact that you need to come to a poker board to "express your frustration" is hypocrisy. What is worse, someone complaining about bad beats, or someone who knows nothing about the subject complaining about people complaining about bad beats?

And your query was not genuine. In your initial post, you attacked the game by calling it pure luck. That is the biggest problem poker faces, and your following posts illuminated that fact. I don't take kindly to people who haven played the game enough to make such incorrect statements as such.

Was I serious about challenging you? Of course not. But I would take you up on the offer if you were serious. The point is this, when people say it's a game of luck, there's no point trying to convince them. I've tried that before, time and time and again.

So there's only one way to shut them up, and that's to prove it, just like anything else.

Oh, and if you think poker is the devil, go say that to the guys int he WA Poker thread, who every week play poker for nothing, and for the love of the game.

And further more, what do you think our responses to your topic would have been? We all enjoy poker here, obviously, and we're all going to tell you that we, too, tell bad beat stories. And you're not going to agree. How is that not going to start an argument? Hence, you probably just came here to troll.

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 13:27
I'd bet on a couple of dozen "I don't care" responses, and I'm not a betting man!

already 1 smartarse reply.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=257670

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 13:29
Nice thread, Borg, lol.

DoubleA
27 Jul 2006, 13:39
My whole life is a bad beat story :o

Borgsta
27 Jul 2006, 13:49
Post 7 of the AFL thread sums it up.

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 13:57
Man, that was great. It only took seven posts for us to prove our point.

Now, maybe this thread should be locked... Lol

Falchoon
27 Jul 2006, 13:58
I'm surprised Falchoon would post that...

tongue in cheek Crosby

though Borg, in fairness has never had a bad beat

;)

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 14:01
Yeah, I thought so, Lol. But then I thought maybe you missed the thread.

Theseventhhamster
27 Jul 2006, 14:07
Is there anything more annoying?

Most of my mates have become poker addicted over the past year or so, and I have become subject of their constant bad beat stories. Look I hate poker, I think it is boring and simply just a game of chance. So why should I be sympathetic when they lose? They knew what they was getting themselves into.
Are you Dean Laidley?
Let me give you a similar (stupid) argument. Early draft picks are boring and simply a game of chance. I mean look at the Kangaroos and their "bad beats," David Trotter, Kris Shore, Ash Watson and Dylan Smith. Why should any club want a top 20 pick when it's all luck. They know what they are getting themselves into. Much better to go for a sure thing like Hay.:)

Lunchlady Doris
27 Jul 2006, 17:55
Crosby mate you've just done the same thing to anyone who likes a punt on the nags. Tell a professional racetrack punter that it's a game of chance...

Crosby87
27 Jul 2006, 17:59
Yeah, fair cop.

There is some skill in the punt. And it is still a game of chance, just as poker is. I don't want people to get the idea that there is no element of chance in poker, because there is. But the OP was suggesting it's pure chance, which is incorrect. The skill far outweights chance in the long run.

But I also don't think I said that betting on horses didn't take skill, I merely said I don't bet on horses. I know what it implies, but I actually have a good friend who considers himself a professional punter (on horses and sports), so I know how much analysis is involved.

weagles_fan
27 Jul 2006, 18:04
All in pre flop with ace 6 of spades. One guy calls he has king 3 of hearts. Flop comes rubbish for both of us - 1 spade and 1 heart. Turn was ace of hearts. Then last card of course comes 7 of hearts! Ahead the whole way from before the flop until the river....:(

Binxy
27 Jul 2006, 22:49
High Stakes Scrabble :D

year of the roo
28 Jul 2006, 00:01
Man, that was great. It only took seven posts for us to prove our point.

Now, maybe this thread should be locked... Lol
It only took 1 post for me to prove mine.

Crosby87
28 Jul 2006, 00:18
What, that you're a troll?

Shouldn't you be playing Solitaire by yourself right now? Lol

I mean, honestly. I mastered that game when I was like, twelve, maybe.

year of the roo
28 Jul 2006, 00:55
What, that you're a troll?

Shouldn't you be playing Solitaire by yourself right now? Lol

I mean, honestly. I mastered that game when I was like, twelve, maybe.
Why am I not surprised for you to declare that you mastered another game of chance? lol Your arrogance is surpassed only by your stupidity. lol

lol lol lol

year of the roo
28 Jul 2006, 00:56
Are you Dean Laidley?
Let me give you a similar (stupid) argument. Early draft picks are boring and simply a game of chance. I mean look at the Kangaroos and their "bad beats," David Trotter, Kris Shore, Ash Watson and Dylan Smith. Why should any club want a top 20 pick when it's all luck. They know what they are getting themselves into. Much better to go for a sure thing like Hay.:)
Those in glass rooms...etc etc etc.

Borgsta
28 Jul 2006, 09:57
It only took 1 post for me to prove mine.

What? That you are a troll?

Theseventhhamster
28 Jul 2006, 13:44
Those in glass rooms...etc etc etc.
I thought it was a good analogy? No?
I'm very happy with my team's recruiting though if you want to argue that point.

tribey
21 Aug 2006, 19:27
I got knocked out of one those $5+0.50 NL HE tourneys on PokerRoom about 45 minutes ago.

Out of a field of 220-odd competitors and with a prize pool worth US$1110 or so, I came 28th - but should've been close to top stack before I got happened upon by the worst bad beat I'd ever suffered, given the hand and the circumstances.

Sitting on a stack of $7000 or so and with blinds at $600-300 I hit upon pocket Aces, or as they're known to me and I'm sure other BFites, Adrian Appleyard.

After a few lovely calls I went in at three times the big blind, and with the blinds due around in a couple of hands, the bloke beside me with $4800 obviously thought he'd hit upon a decent enough hand to ride and went all-in.

The guy on the otherside of me, who was on a comfortable $14000 called him, and after a few "puhraise the lordah!"s, I called.

Flop comes down. Absolute rubbish. 9, 7, 3 of varying suites, IIRC.

With only $2200 left to my name I decided to go all-in, and big stack calls.

The cards are turned over.

Small stack has AJ (goooooorn!)
Big stack has K9 (wtf was he doing in such a massive hand in the first place?) - low pair.

Looking at the odds that are so beautifully supplied, I was at 90% or so to win the hand, which increased again when the turn came down, which was another rubbish card, I think a 2.

With my head spinning and looking very much like watching my stack grow massively as we head towards the prizemoney, what comes down on the river? A cowboy so ghey I swear I saw Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhall giving each other a tongue-induced prostate exam.

A ****ty 2-pair beats my aces on the river. Just a woeful woeful beat, and I couldn't have played it any better.

"You finished #28th" *window closes*

Just lovely.

Crosby87
21 Aug 2006, 22:04
Big stack has K9 (wtf was he doing in such a massive hand in the first place?) - low pair.

He's most likely a donk.

Ricketts
21 Aug 2006, 22:43
High Stakes Scrabble :D

QUAZOOSL :D

Crosby87
21 Aug 2006, 23:30
High stakes scrabble rules.

grrofunger
26 Aug 2006, 12:46
Got raped on Party Poker

$2/$4 NLHE 10 player table

Get dealt A-A in the big blind , 6 calls around to me $28 in the pot

I raise $50 pre flop to take down the $28 thinking i may get one caller which wouldnt be too bad

I get a re- raise of $100 everyone else folds i call thinking he has maybe KK or AK

pot $228

flop comes 7 - A - K

He goes all in $250 im thinking woah ok this guy must definately have A-K or K-K and he has made top two pair or the set of Kings, either way i have the set of Aces so i call

pot is now $778

he turns over K - 7 off suited , :eek: this guy doubled my big pre flop raise with K - 7o !!! i was stunned as was the whole table and i kinda chuckled at the pot size coming my way

Turn comes K nice i have made Aces over Kings full boat , beats his Kings over 7s

7 - A - K - K

Guess what comes on the river :mad:

K

The donk gets quad Kings

game over :eek: :mad:

7 - A - K - K - K

Three running kings

i dont understand what this guy was thinking with K - 7 re raising so high pre flop ??

not much i could do ................:thumbsd:

red+black
26 Aug 2006, 14:55
that's BS. must be a bot.

Crosby87
26 Aug 2006, 14:58
Got raped on Party Poker

That about says it all there.

grrofunger
26 Aug 2006, 15:06
wasnt a bot as this guy started talking trash !! saying how bad the table was and he knew he could win any pot with a picture card in his hand :eek:

unbelievable !!

yeah thats pretty much my final straw on party poker

i think i read you guys play on poker room ?? is that good ? easy to cash out any winnings ?

red+black
26 Aug 2006, 15:08
what are winnings? i've heard of 'em i think.

Falchoon is probably the best to respond.

grrofunger
26 Aug 2006, 15:10
hahaha - yeah over the last month im suprised i remember the word 'winnings ' too

dougthelegend
26 Aug 2006, 15:19
Just got drilled on Bugsys.

Raised preflop with AJ off. Got one caller.

Flop was Qh Jd Ah

Checked, he bets all in, i quickly call. He flips over Qd 2d???!!

Turn was a brick, but the river had to be a freaking Q to give him trips and the pot.

Luckily enough though, the very next hand i picked up pocket kings and crippled him.

grrofunger
26 Aug 2006, 15:21
i would have put him on 10 - K in that situation and i bet he wanted you to think that with his all in bet - he got lucky with the river

i dont think he would have been happy you called , even before he saw your cards.

Falchoon
26 Aug 2006, 19:59
what are winnings? i've heard of 'em i think.

Falchoon is probably the best to respond.

Don't be modest sharkboy.

Cash games on Pokerroom I'm down $200-$300. If it wasn't for one particular tournament I'd be about square, though I do turn a modest profit on sit and go's.

Yahtzee must be in Shark territory by now.

Falchoon
26 Aug 2006, 20:12
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e389/Tivoom/shark5.jpg

Time to cash them babies out Yahtzee, see you at Crown on Wednesday

YOTC
26 Aug 2006, 20:58
huh what?

Whats this??

Cash tables i'm down heaps...too many fish, when people play tournaments they aren't so fishy....

I'm no longer going to play Omaha cash games..

red+black
26 Aug 2006, 21:08
You know last night I couldn't figure out who the hell was this yahtzee character. Nope, no one called yahtzee playing. Dunno what you were on about.

Just realised now that you weren't actually on drugs last night! :)

Falchoon
26 Aug 2006, 21:26
You know last night I couldn't figure out who the hell was this yahtzee character. Nope, no one called yahtzee playing. Dunno what you were on about.

Just realised now that you weren't actually on drugs last night! :)

I pronounce it Yacht-see ;)

tribey
26 Aug 2006, 21:47
Was playing a $5 sit and go tourney on PR, 30 people in.

I was chip leader with $8000 or so with 14 or 15 people left.

Hit AA, preflop raised $500.
Guy with $2000 raises all-in and turns over pocket sixes.

Hits a six on the flop and beats me with 3ok - never mind, he had a hand and played it.

Very next hand I hit upon pocket Jacks, preflop raised $1000.

A guy with $2000 left calls me.

The flop is something crap, but he goes all in and I call.

He turns over K6 and as it turns out, has flopped small pair.

The turn is inconsequential, but he hit a King on the river.

I f#cking hate PokerRoom and the number of donks who ream me with bad poker and lucky lucky lucky hits.

The Dice Man
3 Oct 2006, 13:59
At an APL event over the weekend.

First hand, Id won the deal so feeling good straight away, but know I never deal myself anything good.

End up dealing myself A8 Spades first hand, the entire table calls the BB, Flop comes A87 rainbow and Ive flopped top 2 pair:thumbsu:

Checks around to lady in second last position who raises to 100, I re-raise to 500 immediatley, then the guy on the BB immediatley re-raises my re-raise to 1,000.

I think about it for a split second, Im down 1/3 of my stack and havent gone past the flop on the first hand, which doesnt bother me so much as Im usually down to half just having a look before I get a good win.

I think he's got A-7 or 7-8 to 2 pair him too, or perhaps pocket 7s, seeing there's already two Aces and two eights I know all about.

Anyway, I call All-in and he's with me all the way.

He turns over pocket 7s giving him trips, making my Aces and 8s look very small, but Ive got a couple of outs, well only four really.....

.........and they never came :(

monarch4
9 Nov 2006, 22:27
Don't talk to me about bad beat stories. I have 2 stories to share from my last 2 visits to Burswood.:mad: ........both of them playing 10/20 fixed limit format.

1st hand last week
I had 8 7 offsuit (depending on chip stack and position i call these connector cards to the flop in fixed limit)

player 2 had 8 9 off suit

flop comes 8 king 7

I cap the betting ($40) on the flop with 2 pair (only 3 raises per round in fixed limit at burswood unless heads up). Player with 8 9 calls. 3 players to the turn. Another player had ace king.

turn comes 8 giving me the boat and giving the player with 8 9 off suit trips needing a 3 outer on the river for the 9. I cap the betting ($80). 3 players to the river because ace king is still in also.

river 9:mad: end of story.......enough said. $700 pot of which i contributed close to $200.

2nd hand this afternoon. I'll keep this one short because the flop turn and river will tell it all.

I had pocket 9's

player 2 had pocket 8's

another couple of players went to the river on this hand because there were straight possibilities. (this actually saved me some money in the end because 4 players went to the river which meant only 3 raises allowed.

flop comes 8 9 jack
turn comes an 8 giving me the boat and player 2 quads. :mad:
river comes 7

This pot was $900+ of which i contributed about $240.