View Full Version : Who Do You Play Cricket For????
dogboy23
30 Jan 2002, 07:44
What grade or level does everyone from the cricket board play I wonder.Any one play in any district comps or anything.I think Walshy 93 played a fairly high level of cricket but he doesnt seem to be around anymore.I just think it would be interesting to see where everyone plays and even something about whether there a bowler,batsman,allrounder,keeper or what ever.;)
Fat Red
30 Jan 2002, 07:46
I play for Wyclif CC in the Eastern Cricket Association, based at Highfield Park, Camberwell (always looking for new playes, btw;) )
Anyway, I play B and C grade, open the batting, bowl a bit.
London Dave
30 Jan 2002, 07:47
Yo Poly
we are ere
shag your women
and drink your beer
with a pint of fullers
and a rock hard *****
we are the lads who come from Chiswick
London Polytechnic at the moment, unless I'm guesting in Yorkshire.
dogboy23
30 Jan 2002, 08:02
I play for Sunbury in the macintyre cup.I play a grade(second highest the highest is called macintyres).Im told that a grade in my comp is about the equivalent to being at best a 2nds but probably a 3rds player in the melbourne district comp(people from melbourne will no what im talking about).Anyway I am a opening bat in the long version and middle order in the short one.Terrible bowler and horrible fielder.;) Fat Red what is the standard like in that league?
Fat Red
30 Jan 2002, 08:12
Higher grades are pretty good dogboy, but it falls away. From watching district and attending training, the first grade opening bowlers are no quicker and not much more accurate than the best bowlers in our comp, the district spinners are better and the batsmen are much better.
D grade in our comp is shocking; C is not too bad but not too good either.
Very unoriginal club song
Come on boys, make a noise, we are red-hot saveloys
We are the boys from Wyclif land
Well we love to play the cricket, and hit a big six
Suck more piss and **** all the chicks
Are we good are we good are we any ****ing good
Very stupid secondary club song: (to Richmond tune)
Oh we're from Wyclif-land
A fighting fury we're from Wyclif-land
IN any weather you will see us with a grin-oi
Risking head and skin-oi
When we're behind well never mind we'll fight and fight and win
We're neverf beaten till the final ball is bowled
Like the Wyclif of old
We're young and we're old
Oh we're from Wy-clif- (The blue and the light blue)
We're from Wyclif-land
dogboy23
30 Jan 2002, 08:22
Originally posted by Fat Red
Higher grades are pretty good dogboy, but it falls away. From watching district and attending training, the first grade opening bowlers are no quicker and not much more accurate than the best bowlers in our comp, the district spinners are better and the batsmen are much better.
D grade in our comp is shocking; C is not too bad but not too good either.
Very unoriginal club song
Come on boys, make a noise, we are red-hot saveloys
Well we love to play the cricket, and hit a big six
Suck more piss and **** all the chicks
Are we good are we good are we any ****ing good
Very stupid secondary club song: (to Richmond tune)
A fighting fury we're from Wyclif-land
IN any weather you will see us with a grin-oi
Risking head and skin-oi
When we're behind well never mind we'll fight and fight and win
We're neverf beaten till the final ball is bowled
Like the Wyclif of old
We're young and we're old
Oh we're from Wy-clif- (The blue and the light blue)
We're from Wyclif-land LOL!.....Sounds much the same as our competition.We have f grade,e's,d's which are all pretty poor except for the strong teams.C's it picks up and b's and a's theres not much difference but our macintyre players are heaps better than our normal ones.Many of them have returned from places like Essendon,Melbourne,North and the like.It really paints the picture of the need for our district comp(forgotten its actual name) to have its teams reduced.The standard is just not high enough hence the state team struggling.The young players are basically facing country standard bowlers every second week.The gap from that comp into pura cup is just to hifgh IMO.:rolleyes:
Fat Red
30 Jan 2002, 08:35
Agreed, not only is it 18 teams, but it's not the best 18 teams because a lot of guys have families or whatever and prefer to play in local comps so they only have to play Saturday afternoons.
dogboy23
30 Jan 2002, 14:28
Anyone else?Briedis I notice you are an opening batsman arnt you????:(
WCE2000
30 Jan 2002, 14:43
starting of my grade career in Sydney as an 18 year old opening batsmen fresh out of school in 1967/68. Went out to play in 5th Grade, went out to bat against Bankstown, and he should be opening the bowling - two 17 year olds, Jeff Thomson and Lennie Durtanovich (nee Pascoe) :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: (not a word of a lie)
Thats when i decided i'd much rather be doing what they're doing. So i took up quick bowling, and opened the bowling at Waverley for 15 years, rotating between first and second grade for about 10 years - including a 5 or 6 season stint without getting dropped from first grade :D :D
Joe Mama
30 Jan 2002, 20:41
Although i'm out of action at the moment, I play for Murchison Football Netball Cricket Club seconds in the Kyabram District Cricket Association in D grade, (it's a shocking standard, but at least we get to play on turf most of the time:D ).
But, it doesn't matter if you're crap at the game (as I am:( ), as long as you look the part, have some fun and provide something decent for afternoon tea instead of BBQ Shapes, then I congratulate you.
dogboy23
30 Jan 2002, 21:07
Originally posted by Wayde Petersen
But, it doesn't matter if you're crap at the game (as I am:( ), as long as you look the part, have some fun and provide something decent for afternoon tea instead of BBQ Shapes, then I congratulate you. I dont think there is anything worse than a team giving you a crap afternoon tea.:rolleyes: My team provides plates of sandwiches,scones with cream and jam,biscuits,fruit,cake,kabana and even pizza bread.Some of the teams we play have either just biscuits or fruit or once we had shapes plus 2 lamingtons.Not those single lamingtons just 2 small lamingtons.It was a disgrace.Other poor lunches we have had were at Woodend once we were given 4 plates of egg sandwiches and then on the way home they were giving away free range eggs half price:rolleyes: :p But by far the worst was when we were given nothing but asparagus sandwiches.There was quite a deal of sledging that game.;)
I am currently playing A-grade Indoor Cricket at Riverside in Werribee for the mighty Redbacks! We are 5-3 at the moment and hanging onto 4th position by a thread. We have lost our last three. :( :mad:
London Dave
31 Jan 2002, 03:29
Indoor cricket is not cricket. its a game for wannabees who dont have the guts, ability or technique to play proper cricket.
Briedis
31 Jan 2002, 07:46
Originally posted by dogboy23
Anyone else?Briedis I notice you are an opening batsman arnt you????:(
Yep.
Well, that was until I broke my toe and hand opening for A grade a couple of months ago. Got the plaster off last month, but I am struggling for form now, my hand is really weak from having the plaster on...but, time heals all wounds etc... I batting at nine at the moment, although I'll probably go back up the order now that the two-dayers have started again.
I play B grade normally for Manly-Warringah Leagues Cricket Club. GO THE MIGHTY SEA EAGLES!
I bowl a little bit too, my bowling has been really good for the last three games...got a few wickets and been quite economical....
dogboy23
31 Jan 2002, 08:32
Originally posted by Briedis
Yep.
Well, that was until I broke my toe and hand opening for A grade a couple of months ago. Got the plaster off last month, but I am struggling for form now, my hand is really weak from having the plaster on...but, time heals all wounds etc... I batting at nine at the moment, although I'll probably go back up the order now that the two-dayers have started again.
I play B grade normally for Manly-Warringah Leagues Cricket Club. GO THE MIGHTY SEA EAGLES!
I bowl a little bit too, my bowling has been really good for the last three games...got a few wickets and been quite economical.... I came back from a knee injury for the first time in a year this year and you have a horrible time trying to find form.I found the best way to get out of it was to throw the bat at it and get a few runs on the board rather than struggling and scratching out 10 or 15 and then going out anyway.If you can get a 20 or so by having a bit of a slap the pressure realeased makes it much easier to bat.
Originally posted by London Dave
Indoor cricket is not cricket. its a game for wannabees who dont have the guts, ability or technique to play proper cricket.
That's a stupid coment.
I've played Indoor for 15 years and I played outdoor for a bit too, but I didn't particualry enjoy wasting my summer standing in 40 degree heat in the outfield. During the winter months, Indoor cricket is the only way to play the game unless you move overseas.
At my local Indoor Cricket centre, the football months in winter have the highest standard of cricketers, because a lot of the outdoor cricketrs play it in the off-season. A lot of them don't play Indoor in the Summer because they are playing Outdoor, which is fair enough.
Indoor is a totally different game to outdoor, anyway and can't really be compared. It still requires you to execute the basic skills of the game, and you need to be able to do all the necessary things. It is different, yet similar at the same time.
We played a team in the Grand Final last winter who were bloody fantastic. They had all played oudoor over the Summer and they got an Indoor team together over the Winter. Nothing wrong with their guts ability or technique. And there is nothing wrong with the guts, ability or technique of anyone who plays in our division at Werribee, either.
It is it's own unique sport, and it requires its own unique skills. There is no point smashing the ball over mid wicket, because you will be caught off the net, for instance. It requires the batter to place his shots, and you must be quick betwen the wickets. Obviosuly it is completely different to outdoor cricket, but it still has the same basic skills of cricket and it is a terrific game to play in its own right.
You shouldn't comment about what you don't know.
Jars458
31 Jan 2002, 12:27
Agree with you Dan. I can't play indoor as my reflexes are crap adn I am generally a bowler and cant' bat which is not what the indoor game suits.
I play in the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association which is the next down from grade cricket which has the following grades
Premier, A1, A2, B1, B2, B3 (reserves for the top grades), and then C,D,E,F, LOA LOB LOC LOD
Our club plays in A2, B3 and LOD
I play B3 mostly but we have missed lots of this year due to bad weather, forfeits, and a team taking exception that we had rugby goal posts within the boundaries of our Oval (we are currently appelaing the decision to award them the game)
I bowl slow left arm wobblers, Chris Harris style but slower and with no movement.
Despite this, I have never finished worse than second in the Club's bowling trophy for my grade. which says a lot for the standard of our B team.
Briedis
31 Jan 2002, 21:48
Originally posted by dogboy23
I came back from a knee injury for the first time in a year this year and you have a horrible time trying to find form.I found the best way to get out of it was to throw the bat at it and get a few runs on the board rather than struggling and scratching out 10 or 15 and then going out anyway.If you can get a 20 or so by having a bit of a slap the pressure realeased makes it much easier to bat.
I just struggling fullstop. I seem to be finding new and better ways to get out. Last week I went to leave a high one outside off stump and as I pulled the bat away the back of the bat hit my shoulder and rebounded into line with the ball and I glanced a lovely catch to first slip:rolleyes:
Struggling....
It'll come back...hopefully. The way I'm batting at the moment I could still get into the top order for the Aussies though:D ...so there is a bright side!
Esperito
1 Feb 2002, 02:09
I've been playing 1st grade at District level in Perth for a few years now. Hack legspinner plucked from obscurity.
I've seen a lot of good batsmen over the years, but nothing compares to what I witnessed a few weeks ago. I was watching the Fox Footy Channel, and happened to come across a short clip on the Western Bulldogs pre-season. As it so happens the Bullies were at the beach, running through a few fitness drills and what-have-you.... when all of a sudden---- A game of beach cricket starts up. Now that Sir Don has passed away, somebody else needs to take the mantle of the best living batsman in the world. My friends, I think we have found him.
Not one, but TWO glorious strokes flashed from the blade of the great man, Kingsley Hunter.
First shot- Sharp searing delivery... Kingsley rocks on to the front foot if you don't mind, and nonchalantly bludgeons it (with a perfect technique mind you) over mid off. (The fact that he was dismissed on this shot is irrelevent)
Second shot- Accurately placed delivery on middle stump... a tough proposition for the most talented of batsmen, but not for our Kingsley. He delicately waits for the ball to arrive to within 3 millimetres of his pads, and then with a flick of the wrist reminiscint of vintage Tendulkar, turns it down to backward square for a casually taken single.
Now ladies, if that isn't enough for you, Kingsley is topless throughout.
London Dave
1 Feb 2002, 04:27
"Indoor is a totally different game to outdoor.." exactly Dan. glad you agree. My previous post is directed at the many people I met in Oz who claim to be cricketers as they only play indoor. In my experience they have little or no idea. They are totally different games. More diff than test and ODI's imho. Indoor plays with a different ball, requires you to play across the line a lot more, and if I recall correctly, bouncers etc are no balls. Still reckon its a game for wannabees.
"You shouldn't comment about what you don't know."
This one's a goodie Daniel. I can see that particlular line being thrown back into your face.
I could simply say Pot black kettle calling...rearrange these words to form a popular phrase.
Here's one to start a never ending thread....
How do you know that I don't know, or if I do know?
Santos L Helper
1 Feb 2002, 08:20
Indoor is ok, but I used to love playing indoor during the winter and coming up against these so called 'indoor cricketers' who thought they were hot **** and completely terrorising them. Good outdoor cricketers can usually outplay good indoor cricketers without too many problems.
I now play (outdoor) for Westminster Old Scholars in 'hard wicket' comp (section 3) here in Adelaide. I'm getting too old and have too many injuries to play flat out anymore. In this comp I get to open the bowling and bat from 1 to 7, so I'm always in the game which suits me fine.
I used to open the bowling for Glenelg and played for SA in junior teams up to Under 17 carnival as a left arm quick batting at 11. :D
How do you know that I don't know, or if I do know?
Because you gave no indication that you had ever played Indoor. If you have, then I apologise.
London Dave
1 Feb 2002, 17:23
Dan, no apology needed.
Santos, seems like your experience of indoor mirrors mine somewhat. I actually gave up playing it after 2 or 3 years, simply because of the fights that occured, started by these morons who thought they could play, and when they were exposed as pretenders, couldnt cope. Don't know if thats true of indoor in general or of the place I played it. Too much hassle over a game. Outdoor you could always have a beer after the game with the oppo, which helped a lot too.
Regarding the aging process, I still do get frustrated when you have worked a guy out, but dont have the extra yard you used to to finish the job, have to tell the young blokes what to do, and they take em all now!
Santos L Helper
1 Feb 2002, 20:21
Dan, no apology needed.
Santos, seems like your experience of indoor mirrors mine somewhat. I actually gave up playing it after 2 or 3 years, simply because of the fights that occured, started by these morons who thought they could play, and when they were exposed as pretenders, couldnt cope. Don't know if thats true of indoor in general or of the place I played it. Too much hassle over a game. Outdoor you could always have a beer after the game with the oppo, which helped a lot too.
Regarding the aging process, I still do get frustrated when you have worked a guy out, but dont have the extra yard you used to to finish the job, have to tell the young blokes what to do, and they take em all now!
Dave, I forgot about the anger which seems to fester in indoor cricket, especially when you come up against someone who thinks their pretty special. I just used to laugh out loud then proceed (usually with great success) to take their ****ing head off because they didn't realise that I was one of those psychopathic quickies............you know, mild mannered until I got a ball in my hand to bowl at some smart arse. ;) I think the 'fight' thing is still pretty common, maybe it's because they're all enclosed in or something?
Yes. aging is a worry when you know you used to be able to get a bloke out, but now you have to just let other young blokes do it for ya. As they say 'theres no I in team, but there is an M&E
:D
Nowadays, I concentrate more on my batting and just going the doctor.:D
I play for the school Second XI mainly as a batsman at anywhere from 3-5. Bowl a little bit of medium pace that rarely takes a wicket.
Play the occasional game of first XI when they are short on players.
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Indoor is ok, but I used to love playing indoor during the winter and coming up against these so called 'indoor cricketers' who thought they were hot **** and completely terrorising them. Good outdoor cricketers can usually outplay good indoor cricketers without too many problems.
I now play (outdoor) for Westminster Old Scholars in 'hard wicket' comp (section 3) here in Adelaide. I'm getting too old and have too many injuries to play flat out anymore. In this comp I get to open the bowling and bat from 1 to 7, so I'm always in the game which suits me fine.
I used to open the bowling for Glenelg and played for SA in junior teams up to Under 17 carnival as a left arm quick batting at 11. :D
That makes two of us playing for Westminster Section 3.
Coming out for another season mate?
I play for Westminster School First XI and Adelaide Cricket Club. Have my first game with Adelaide this week in the Cs... I usually open the bowling for school but don't know what the situation is here, should be good though.
Absolute bunny with the bat, I'll bat eleven for the rest of my career, methinks.