View Full Version : Rd 18 V Geelong: Ablett, Mooney, Ling to miss

TheBrownDog
31 Jul 2006, 20:47
No Ablett
No Mooney
Possibly no Ling.

Reckon we are a chance for an upset here.

Looking forward to Sunday.

Grimreepah
31 Jul 2006, 20:53
Would be great to see big Browny out there:thumbsu:

Ashli
31 Jul 2006, 21:03
I would love to see Brown rested a lil longer, then have blinders against WCE, Syd and Saints... (but wins against the cats n tigers would be great too:thumbsu: )

I hope Mal pulls up for this weekend fit or if not fit then given a rest rather than play him while he is in pain. Would just be like driving him to the edge and openning his door for him.

Grimreepah
31 Jul 2006, 21:18
Our injury list (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=injurystories) is up to 18, but Michael, Brown, Selwood and Pask may come good.

TheBrownDog
31 Jul 2006, 21:32
If it starts raining Sunday morning, do we bring Aker back for his farewell match? ;)

Grimreepah
31 Jul 2006, 21:34
That reminds me, it would be good to see Marcus Allan in action.

Homer Jnr
31 Jul 2006, 22:01
If it starts raining Sunday morning, do we bring Aker back for his farewell match? ;)

I was thinking that deja vu would strike, but we would lack the necessary armory to go for the clean sweep.

But yes, Marcus Allen, the mudlark!

Warwick
31 Jul 2006, 23:18
Doubt Browny will play again this year for some reason. If Allan is going to rack up 56 possessions in the wet (albeit againts Redlands), give him a run. I think we are a huge chance this week - i wasn't confident at all against the bombers (you can check my posts before that game), but Geelong played possibly the softest game of footy i've ever seen against the kangaroos. They have no one in their side who can tackle.

John
31 Jul 2006, 23:22
Doubt Browny will play again this year for some reason. If Allan is going to rack up 56 possessions in the wet (albeit againts Redlands), give him a run. I think we are a huge chance this week - i wasn't confident at all against the bombers (you can check my posts before that game), but Geelong played possibly the softest game of footy i've ever seen against the kangaroos. They have no one in their side who can tackle.

I missed the Cats Roos game but OTC socked to em tonight. Words like soft, disinterested where used. Do you think they can play that bad again?

Vipertooth
31 Jul 2006, 23:40
if we have Mal and Brown i am confident, but since i have a feeling Brown wont play again this season, well im not confident at all, more so now because of Charmens injury :(

Warwick
31 Jul 2006, 23:46
I missed the Cats Roos game but OTC socked to em tonight. Words like soft, disinterested where used. Do you think they can play that bad again?

It was one of the worst defensive efforts i have ever seen - no kidding. It was seriously under 12s stuff. The amount of jumper-grasping was unbelievable. I think the way to beat them is to run hard and straight right over the top of them. I would like to see us handball a bit more.

troppo
1 Aug 2006, 01:01
We are a big chance against the cats this week. No Ablett,Ling or Mooney gives us an opportunity but my major concern is how the bodies of our younger players are standing up. Roe, Moody and Riscatelli all look to be struggling mentally and physically the last couple of weeks.

Snuka
1 Aug 2006, 01:47
It was one of the worst defensive efforts i have ever seen - no kidding. It was seriously under 12s stuff. The amount of jumper-grasping was unbelievable. I think the way to beat them is to run hard and straight right over the top of them. I would like to see us handball a bit more.

Hehe...ours last week would have to come a close second.

Should be a good contest, fighting for that crucial 9th spot.:D Seriously I think it's important that we don't fall away towards the end of the year and push for 9th. Will give the young boys a lot of confidence and hopefully help some make some of the off contract ones make a Lions-friendly decision come years end.

Shame to see the injury to one G Ablett Jnr, although has enhanced our chances greatly, as has the suspension to angry pants Mooney, which is also a shame since I love to watch him play.

I guess a big question is if we bring Wood in for Charman, or Merrett. It's not like the Cats have a great ruck division, but maybe good to have that other tall option up forward, in which case i'd say Wood coming in to do a lot of ruck work, so that Crackers can spend a bit of time up front, because I think he'd be a better option that Merrett.

Grimreepah
1 Aug 2006, 08:28
... i'd say Wood coming in to do a lot of ruck work, so that Crackers can spend a bit of time up front, because I think he'd be a better option that Merrett.

That's what I would do too, but Leigh has stated that they will be reluctant to bring in inexperienced players because we are already playing many inexperienced players, and Merrett has a few more games under his belt.

konstas_87
1 Aug 2006, 14:41
with a few important outs for them it shapes as a close contest.
We are all but equal games with the cats, and with Mooney and Ablett definate exclusions (Ling's concussion is a 50-50), and Browns possible (far-fetched but possible) return this week, we are in for a chance.

My main/only concern is poor crackers having to battle Ottens and King, but as in the 2002 GF he has shown he can carry the load successfully for most of a game.

So what are the changes??
Wood/merrett for Charmo?
Is Mal definately out?

If Browny is fit, bring him in for Mal and just throw Drummo back in defence for a fortnight or so id say, i REALLY hope they leave Braddy in the F50.

POBT
1 Aug 2006, 14:51
That's what I would do too, but Leigh has stated that they will be reluctant to bring in inexperienced players because we are already playing many inexperienced players, and Merrett has a few more games under his belt.
I have a feeling that may have been in reference to the few on the list that haven't had a run all year in the seniors. I would like to see Wood get a run. He deserves it after a couple of very good games in the reserves.

I would like to see either Pask or Merrett have a crack at full back if Mal doesn't play. We all know Geelong aren't blessed with quality tall forwards, particularly with no Mooney and so it is a good game for a bit of experimentation with the key defensive roles. If one of those two show some promise as a defender, then it takes a huge amount of pressure off finding a ready to go key defender at the end of the year.

Lady Lawrence
1 Aug 2006, 14:55
just FYI all this is a merged thread as we had 2 of the same thing

Grimreepah
1 Aug 2006, 18:54
I have a feeling that may have been in reference to the few on the list that haven't had a run all year in the seniors. I would like to see Wood get a run. He deserves it after a couple of very good games in the reserves.

Fair enough. Doesn't augur well of Allan though.

I would like to see either Pask or Merrett have a crack at full back if Mal doesn't play.

Me too. I'm leaning towards Merrett.

campbell
1 Aug 2006, 19:00
I was so looking forward to seeing Cam Wild Man Mooney. I love his agressive attack at the game.Something from days gone by.

POBT
3 Aug 2006, 13:32
I was so looking forward to seeing Cam Wild Man Mooney. I love his agressive attack at the game.Something from days gone by.
I like Mooney as well. The Cats should just forget the suspensions and appoint him captain. More passion than most teams put together, I'd make him captain just because he cares so much.

Courier Mail reports that Merrett and Wood rucked against each other at training yesterday to determine who would get the back-up role.

campbell
3 Aug 2006, 15:24
I like Mooney as well. The Cats should just forget the suspensions and appoint him captain. More passion than most teams put together, I'd make him captain just because he cares so much.

Courier Mail reports that Merrett and Wood rucked against each other at training yesterday to determine who would get the back-up role.

I love his passion as well.he gets so fired up, playing actually means something to him, he is not a machine.

Awful having Charmo out.How far is Beau off playing?

Prodigal Sons
3 Aug 2006, 15:30

Heard of a bloke called Jarred Rooke who is right up there amongst the top few in the league for tackles ? Reckon he was leading up until a few weeks ago when he got injured ?

Also holds the record for most tackles in a game last year (14)

Do some research before you make general statements.

POBT
3 Aug 2006, 15:38
I love his passion as well.he gets so fired up, playing actually means something to him, he is not a machine.

Awful having Charmo out.How far is Beau off playing?
Listed as 2-3 weeks off.

campbell
3 Aug 2006, 15:43
Listed as 2-3 weeks off.

Darn. What is his injury, not his knee I hope????

Warwick
3 Aug 2006, 16:01
Heard of a bloke called Jarred Rooke who is right up there amongst the top few in the league for tackles ? Reckon he was leading up until a few weeks ago when he got injured ?

Also holds the record for most tackles in a game last year (14)

Do some research before you make general statements.

Sorry - replace can't "tackle" with "general softness".

You get a tackle stat for stopping a bloke with your fingers, just as you do for driving them in the turf.

campbell
3 Aug 2006, 16:12
Sorry - replace can't "tackle" with "general softness".

You get a tackle stat for stopping a bloke with your fingers, just as you do for driving them in the turf.

These guys did cream us in Round 1, and were very hard at the ball.

Snuka
3 Aug 2006, 16:30
These guys did cream us in Round 1, and were very hard at the ball.

100%...we were flogged last time because they were hard at the ball and tackled hard. Not to mention superior skills and hard running. If Geelong can somehow find anything close to that sort of form then it will be very difficult for the Lions to win.

Lady Lawrence
3 Aug 2006, 16:44
aside from last week I have been really really impressed with how hard we have been going at the ball, Riska, Stiller and Hooper immediately spring to mind. Weren't we ranking really well in the tackling stats?

All that said I still don't feel confident about Sunday at all!! Plus I hate day games!!

POBT
3 Aug 2006, 16:47
Darn. What is his injury, not his knee I hope????
hammy. I don't think we'll see him again this year although hopefully I am wrong. Still, we've got far more out of him this year than we could ever have hoped and he has shown that he still belongs at this level.

POBT
3 Aug 2006, 16:54
100%...we were flogged last time because they were hard at the ball and tackled hard. Not to mention superior skills and hard running. If Geelong can somehow find anything close to that sort of form then it will be very difficult for the Lions to win.
Have been very disappointing since though. When I saw them lose that final against Sydney last year, I thought that this mob would take it all before them this year. I had a sneaky dollar or two on a Geelong-Adelaide quinella before the pre-season and was pretty happy in March!

Snuka
3 Aug 2006, 17:17
Have been very disappointing since though. When I saw them lose that final against Sydney last year, I thought that this mob would take it all before them this year. I had a sneaky dollar or two on a Geelong-Adelaide quinella before the pre-season and was pretty happy in March!

yep, everything in our favour going into this one I think, key players out for Geelong and it's at the Gabba where they've never beaten the Lions...I don't think it'll be easy but i'd be disappointed by another 'honourable loss'.

Grimreepah
3 Aug 2006, 18:38
Even with our injuries I have a lot of confidence we can win this one. My only concern is that some of the younger players are running out of steam, so as long as we can run the game out I think the home ground will see us through.

TheBrownDog
3 Aug 2006, 18:44
Crowd's need to put in a bigger effort.

2 years ago it was easy to get a Lioooooooons! chant going.

Now the Gabba crowds are placid and braindead.

campbell
3 Aug 2006, 18:46

Sunday arvos are never good.
A warm arvo, a few beers, you know the rest.

Grimreepah
3 Aug 2006, 19:47
BRISBANE LIONS v GEELONG
Sunday, 1:10pm AEST, Gabba

BRISBANE LIONS
B: Sherman, Michael, Patfull
HB: Adcock, Roe, Copeland
C: Rischitelli, Voss, Stiller
HF: Power, Merrett, Moody
F: Drummond, Bradshaw, Hooper
FOLL: Keating, Black, Selwood
I/C (from): Pask, Brennan, Harding, Fixter, Notting, B.Scott, Wood
IN: Selwood, Pask, Wood, Merrett
OUT: Charman (shoulder)

GEELONG
B: Harley, Scarlett, J.Hunt
HB: D.Johnson, Milburn, Egan
C: Enright, Bartel, Wojcinski
HF: Mackie, Playfair, Riccardi
F: S.Johnson, Ottens, Chapman
FOLL: King, Corey, Ling
I/C (from): Byrnes, Rooke, Prismall, Tenace, Kelly, Stokes, Blake
IN: Playfair, Blake, Rooke, Byrnes, Tenace, Prismall
OUT: G.Ablett (shoulder), Mooney (suspension), McCarthy

Warwick
3 Aug 2006, 20:04
Has to be a make or break game for the big bloke at CHF. If he fails this week his time at the den is all over IMO.

John
3 Aug 2006, 20:04
I/c from Pask, Brennan, Harding, Fixter, Notting, B.Scott, Wood.

Who has a miss? Pask and Wood I would guess. Merrett has been named. I am surprised to be honest.

John
3 Aug 2006, 20:05
Has to be a make or break game for the big bloke at CHF. If he fails this week his time at the den is all over IMO.

He is contracted next season so I believe.

crispy creme
3 Aug 2006, 20:13

Brown Dog, the one thing I have noticed when I have ventured up north is that the Gabba crowd appears to me to be very reactive. The one thing the supporters of Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond etc have always had, is a 'sixth-sense like' ability to know when there side is starting to struggle. It is at this time when those supporters have the ability to get really loud and try to build some momentum for their boys. Our crowd needs to sense when the boys are a bit flat and give them a lift, even when they are a few goals down.

The challenge is out there for you guys to turn the Gabba into a venue that intimidates visiting teams. Help make the Gabba the new Victoria Park or Windy Hill! (Without the urinating and spitting on opposition players and coaches)

Before anyone goes into a fit, I've seen probably 25-30 games at the Gabba over the past 10 years, so I'm not basing my opinion on 1 or 2 games when I've been treating myself to your fabulous weather.

Snuka
3 Aug 2006, 20:30
Thanks for the teams Grim...Lings come good which will give them a little extra. With their most dangerous player out and another important part of their spine suspended, a couple of forwards to watch from the Cats IMO are Ottens and Chapman. A little surprising that Kingsley wasn't brought in after kicking a bag in the 2's, doesnt bode well for his future career at the cats.

PLayfair has been brought in as another avenue to goals in place of Angry Pants Mooney. Not a bad matchup for Roe and think he will do well with Mal on Ottens who will obviously go into the ruck on occasions.

I'm also surprised John, at the inclusion of Merrett at the probable expense of Wood, but those in charge see something in him that maybe a lot of us can't. I guess it makes sense to give those giants a few chances. Although I can see him being just given the task and crash some packs and bring the ball to the ground for small forwards Hooper, Moody and Power (if he actually plays where he's named). His presence may also be a strategy to give some space to Bradshaw on the lead, who has been double and triple teamed for weeks with us not having any other tall targets. If there is anyway for Braddie to get the wood on Scarlett, it is on the lead.

Also guys, who would get the job on Chapman? Copeland to annoy the hell out of him?

Homer Jnr
3 Aug 2006, 20:41
Also guys, who would get the job on Chapman? Copeland to annoy the hell out of him?

Bushy towelled him last year before doing in his elbow in the dying moments.

I say yes.

Grimreepah
3 Aug 2006, 20:45
PLayfair has been brought in as another avenue to goals in place of Angry Pants Mooney. Not a bad matchup for Roe and think he will do well with Mal on Ottens who will obviously go into the ruck on occasions.

Those matchups are very encouraging for the Lions IMO.:)

Snuka
3 Aug 2006, 20:51
Those matchups are very encouraging for the Lions IMO.:)

They do look to be to our advantage, helps that a couple of the top goal scorers for Geelong are out. Although we still need to get our hands on the ball in the middle.:eek:

Grimreepah
3 Aug 2006, 21:45
They do look to be to our advantage...

They're probably thinking the same thing up the other end though.

We have a few good ball winners in the middle, but it remains to be seen how much Charman's absence will be felt. Crackers rarely disappoints though.

konstas_87
3 Aug 2006, 23:10

agreed. We need to kick 5 in a row to get it goin these days... Crowd needs to be bigger as much as anything...

konstas_87
3 Aug 2006, 23:12
BRISBANE LIONS v GEELONG
Sunday, 1:10pm AEST, Gabba

BRISBANE LIONS
I/C (from): Pask, Brennan, Harding, Fixter, Notting, B.Scott, Wood
IN: Selwood, Pask, Wood, Merrett
OUT: Charman (shoulder)

GEELONG
B: Harley, Scarlett, J.Hunt
HB: D.Johnson, Milburn, Egan
C: Enright, Bartel, Wojcinski
HF: Mackie, Playfair, Riccardi
F: S.Johnson, Ottens, Chapman
FOLL: King, Corey, Ling
I/C (from): Byrnes, Rooke, Prismall, Tenace, Kelly, Stokes, Blake
IN: Playfair, Blake, Rooke, Byrnes, Tenace, Prismall
OUT: G.Ablett (shoulder), Mooney (suspension), McCarthy
Are we sure Mal is playing and fit?
Has anything further happened with browny that has set him back? or are they just being cautious?

Ashli
3 Aug 2006, 23:24
According to my mother... the radio said:

Mal = Cleared to play
Brown = Still not quite right this week but keen to get back out there.

The Flying Belgian
4 Aug 2006, 09:24
I hear Mal will undergo a fitness test at this afternoon's training. I'd get along to it, but unfortunately it's a closed session...

campbell
4 Aug 2006, 09:31
I hear Mal will undergo a fitness test at this afternoon's training. I'd get along to it, but unfortunately it's a closed session...

Why are we having closed sessions.You always used to be able to go to watch at the Gabba on a Friday arvo, then wander over have a beer and dinner.Those were the days.

Vidman
4 Aug 2006, 09:54

I'm surprised his name hasnt come up in trade talks. I think he'd be a perfect fit for us, playing down back. Right age too.

John
4 Aug 2006, 10:03
Brown Dog, the one thing I have noticed when I have ventured up north is that the Gabba crowd appears to me to be very reactive. The one thing the supporters of Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond etc have always had, is a 'sixth-sense like' ability to know when there side is starting to struggle. It is at this time when those supporters have the ability to get really loud and try to build some momentum for their boys. Our crowd needs to sense when the boys are a bit flat and give them a lift, even when they are a few goals down.

The challenge is out there for you guys to turn the Gabba into a venue that intimidates visiting teams. Help make the Gabba the new Victoria Park or Windy Hill! (Without the urinating and spitting on opposition players and coaches)

Before anyone goes into a fit, I've seen probably 25-30 games at the Gabba over the past 10 years, so I'm not basing my opinion on 1 or 2 games when I've been treating myself to your fabulous weather.
I agree with this post. I have been going to see the Lions from day one and the Bears also got a lot of my time when at Carrara. We are a reactive crowd. Always have been and sadly I suspect we always will be. It would be good for Lions attendees to go to a game at the G and feel the ability of the supporters of the teams mentioned to on occasions lift their team. Also to go to English Premier League games that are knife edge games and watch the crowd really "get" into it. Maybe it is the weather in Brisbane. One of the joys of living in Brisbane is the layed back style of the people and that along with a natural conservative bent may be the reason for these observations. So I guess lets cheer em on loudly on Sunday if we can. They need it after this years shenanigans.

John
4 Aug 2006, 10:04
I'm surprised his name hasnt come up in trade talks. I think he'd be a perfect fit for us, playing down back. Right age too.

Oooh yeah. I would have him.

POBT
4 Aug 2006, 11:19
Oooh yeah. I would have him.
Most clubs would I reckon. Cats would be very reluctant to let him go though. I don't think a straight swap with Aker would cut the mustard so we'd need to bump up our offer.

Maybe we should tell him that we'd continue to pay his wage if he was suspended - might get his attention!

Vidman
4 Aug 2006, 12:31
Most clubs would I reckon. Cats would be very reluctant to let him go though. I don't think a straight swap with Aker would cut the mustard so we'd need to bump up our offer.

Maybe we should tell him that we'd continue to pay his wage if he was suspended - might get his attention!
I'd do it for aker and a McGrath type.

POBT
4 Aug 2006, 13:02
I agree with this post. I have been going to see the Lions from day one and the Bears also got a lot of my time when at Carrara. We are a reactive crowd. Always have been and sadly I suspect we always will be. It would be good for Lions attendees to go to a game at the G and feel the ability of the supporters of the teams mentioned to on occasions lift their team. Also to go to English Premier League games that are knife edge games and watch the crowd really "get" into it. Maybe it is the weather in Brisbane. One of the joys of living in Brisbane is the layed back style of the people and that along with a natural conservative bent may be the reason for these observations. So I guess lets cheer em on loudly on Sunday if we can. They need it after this years shenanigans.
It is a Queensland thing I reckon. I was at the Bledisloe Cup last weekend. Great atmosphere but quite often there was just this hum of expectation rather than active barracking. When there was a chance at a try or a big hit the home crowd went off but otherwise there was not that constant noise level. It was interesting to contrast it with the All Black supporters who were loudest when their team was under pressure defensively. I find the same at Lions home games.

konstas_87
4 Aug 2006, 13:17
theres no way in hell they'd let him go...

Rawhead
4 Aug 2006, 16:12
Mooney would be a serious coup.

I love the way he plays for the cats, angry determined young man with bucket loads of passion and a fair whack of skill.

Have to be ranked in the Cats top 5 players surely.

Grimreepah
4 Aug 2006, 16:21
I don't think Mooney is realistic. He is one of the Cat's favourites, and I believe there is a big push to make him captain.

Anyway it is not in the Lion's nature to chase big stars. Probably go looking for someone who is under rated at their current club and who we could pick up for a bargain.

Rawhead
4 Aug 2006, 16:27
No I dont think so either, the Cats would be crazy to let him slip away, much too valuable and versatile a player.

still, nice to dream.

campbell
4 Aug 2006, 16:40
You never know.They may be ticked off with his indiscretions on field.They don't seem pleased with him.

I would love to have him with us.His raw passion is contagious.I reckon the crowd would soon love him.I remember when Leppas done his nut and crowd fire up.Great entertainment value.

lionlova
4 Aug 2006, 20:46
Final team

BRISBANE LIONS
I/C: Harding, Notting, B.Scott, Wood
IN: Selwood, Wood, Merrett
OUT: Charman (shoulder), Brennan, Fixter
EM: Pask, Brennan, Fixter

The Flying Belgian
4 Aug 2006, 21:37
Why are we having closed sessions.You always used to be able to go to watch at the Gabba on a Friday arvo, then wander over have a beer and dinner.Those were the days.

Yep, I work very close to the Gabba and used to love popping over and watching training. Found it a great way to relax after a week's work.

Alas, times change and we must change with them.

There's an open session tomorrow @ the Gabba 11am I think if anyone's interested.

Snuka
4 Aug 2006, 22:31
Final team

BRISBANE LIONS
I/C: Harding, Notting, B.Scott, Wood
IN: Selwood, Wood, Merrett
OUT: Charman (shoulder), Brennan, Fixter
EM: Pask, Brennan, Fixter

Cheers...what do think guys? Brennan out, fair enough I thought. Fixter, maybe a little tough, although I guess someone had to make room for Selwood. I guess it was him or Scott.

Interesting to play both Wood and Merrett, I actually think it's not a bad move. Keep Merrett up forward for an extended period and see if he can get into the swing of things and take some grabs which has been a major weakness. Also takes some heat off Bradshaw.

konstas_87
4 Aug 2006, 23:14
not happy about fixter at all, he better have a niggling injury cos he has done NOTHING wrong and is way ahead of Scott and Selwood at this stage of the season for contribution to the team.
Brennan for Merett is fair enuf i guess.

Ashli
5 Aug 2006, 11:31
I wouldn't say Fixter is further along then Selwood but Scott sure. It would have to of been a harsh call... I hate to say it but maybe it was a strategical move so that they would have more back players (weird phrasing I know) on the i/c so they could have the option of Mal up forward again (DON'T HIT ME!!!!) because otherwise you would expect pask, fixter or brennan to have taken the fourth spot.

Atleast now we can have 3 ruckman sharing the duties at times and could use both Wood and Merret in the forward line if Merrett still has difficulty marking.

POBT
5 Aug 2006, 12:53
not happy about fixter at all, he better have a niggling injury cos he has done NOTHING wrong and is way ahead of Scott and Selwood at this stage of the season for contribution to the team.
Brennan for Merett is fair enuf i guess.
I know you disagree with me on this Konstas but there is a point where a guy like Fixter just needs to get a bit of the pill. Not that he has to rack up 30+ possessions because he contributes in a number of ways but he only touched the ball a few times last weekend and he's had 13 games where he has only had 10 or less possessions. I like his mongrel and his endeavour and his 1%ers but sometimes a guy just needs to go back to the reserves for a week or two and remember what it is like to get the pill.

campbell
5 Aug 2006, 13:33
I can't fathom Brad Scott.To me he looks way to slow.

Snuka
5 Aug 2006, 14:19
I can't fathom Brad Scott.To me he looks way to slow.

Agreed he hasn't really done anything more than Fixter, although IMO for his experience he is valuable, and with so many senior players out we are lacking onfield leaders. Our younger defenders players have often looked a little lost at times this year, and my guess is those in charge think we need an old head or two down back, especially after last weeks effort and i'm not sure Mal alone can provide this.

Maybe?

konstas_87
5 Aug 2006, 14:24
I know you disagree with me on this Konstas but there is a point where a guy like Fixter just needs to get a bit of the pill. Not that he has to rack up 30+ possessions because he contributes in a number of ways but he only touched the ball a few times last weekend and he's had 13 games where he has only had 10 or less possessions. I like his mongrel and his endeavour and his 1%ers but sometimes a guy just needs to go back to the reserves for a week or two and remember what it is like to get the pill.
na thats a fair point i guess, u have to win at some stage i guess. But the way modern footy is these days, sometimes players get given roles for the team even if it doesnt look so great on the stats sheet.

I love the way he has pressured around the contests this season, and he is right up there with Blacky in our tackle count.

I guess Selwood has had a fairly consistent season too, but surely Fixter is more part of the future than Brad Scott.

TheBrownDog
5 Aug 2006, 16:21
Went and watched the boys train today.

No Mal in sight. :(

I did see Strawb catch a few balls though! :eek:

TheBrownDog
5 Aug 2006, 16:23
I love the way he has pressured around the contests this season, and he is right up there with Blacky in our tackle count.

Yeah but Blacky gets the pill and has an attacking component to his game.

I like Fixter but he needs to add depth to his game.

burto
5 Aug 2006, 16:46
I don't think Geelong would ever consider trading the mad man. He oozes blue and white.

That said, you guys will kill us tomorrow. Why? Because we are a pack of fairy's. Only have 2 hard tacklers, Bartel and Rooke, and Rooke is out injured :(

But anyway, good luck

Herbs
6 Aug 2006, 00:39
I don't think Geelong would ever consider trading the mad man. He oozes blue and white.

That said, you guys will kill us tomorrow. Why? Because we are a pack of fairy's. Only have 2 hard tacklers, Bartel and Rooke, and Rooke is out injured :(

But anyway, good luck

I'd love to disagree, but I can't, the team needs a huge kick up the backside. Brisbane should win, they'll be hungrier.:(

Grimreepah
6 Aug 2006, 19:52
Well done to the Cats. Definitely the better side today.

Interesting to see Lethal saying that he may be trying Merrett down back in the coming weeks (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=286880). I am looking forward to this, as he has the qualities to be a very good backman IMO. The question is whether he has the football smarts.

campbell
6 Aug 2006, 19:55

Interesting to see Lethal saying that he may be trying Merrett down back in the coming weeks (http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=286880). I am looking forward to this, as he has the qualities to be a very good backman IMO. The question is whether he has the football smarts.

Poor bugger, don't know whether he is arthur or martha.Ruck, forward back.Never a chance to stay put in one position for games on end.I think thats worng on his development in learning the game.
His second efforts and chasing can't be faulted though.

Vidman
6 Aug 2006, 20:05
Poor bugger, don't know whether he is arthur or martha.Ruck, forward back.Never a chance to stay put in one position for games on end.I think thats worng on his development in learning the game.
His second efforts and chasing can't be faulted though.

yeah much better today i thought. Should hold on to his place. I'm kinda in favour of experimenting the rest of season, try him down back it might make the difference in keeping him next year.

campbell
6 Aug 2006, 20:08
yeah much better today i thought. Should hold on to his place. I'm kinda in favour of experimenting the rest of season, try him down back it might make the difference in keeping him next year.

We need bigmen, with ticker.
I would give him a spot, and let him keep it for the rest of the season.Like chf, with maybe Brown at FF, and Braddy at CHB.

or....

Bobby Beecroft
6 Aug 2006, 21:31

Thats his whole problem football smarts.
Loved his forward pressure today, run downs, tackles, etc...... BUT will someone please tell him if he does not attack marks by trying to take the ball in his hands he will never make it.

Far to often attempts to make on his chest in a contested marking contest, which just makes it easy for the defender to get a fist in. He has the ability to take a great strong pack mark in his hands & with his height & reach should be attempting to so that all the time. Maybe a confidence thing, but really is still playing for his career.

John
6 Aug 2006, 21:49
Thats his whole problem football smarts.
Loved his forward pressure today, run downs, tackles, etc...... BUT will someone please tell him if he does not attack marks by trying to take the ball in his hands he will never make it.

Far to often attempts to make on his chest in a contested marking contest, which just makes it easy for the defender to get a fist in. He has the ability to take a great strong pack mark in his hands & with his height & reach should be attempting to so that all the time. Maybe a confidence thing, but really is still playing for his career.

I agree with you here. He was better today but............... As far as playing for his career I believe he has another year of his contract. Lets be brutal. If we decided to trade him who would take him? I suspect there would be few takers hence The Lions have to now give him more oppotunities to establish himself over the last few games. If as Leigh said he plays down back over the next few games I suspect Pask will be selected as CHF.

Tezmyster
7 Aug 2006, 23:36
Not sure if anyone watched the broadcast or not, but if you didn't during the halftime break they interviewed Aka who was watching the game from high in the stands. Aka gave a quick comment on the game (boys are still in because they are accurate, but are way down in the scoring shot department), but I think the key thing was what he said about Voss, it went along the lines of "yeah I met up with Vossy on Monday, he was saying to me 'how did it gets this far', and in general Vossy is only a great friend but a great leader". Even though the team went down I think Aka still showing respect for Voss to that degree shows a lot.

Thumbs up Aka :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

konstas_87
8 Aug 2006, 00:17
We need bigmen, with ticker.
I would give him a spot, and let him keep it for the rest of the season.Like chf, with maybe Brown at FF, and Braddy at CHB.

or....
Just my opinion, but surely not...
i know we have defensive problems in the future, but Braddy is likely to finish 3rd in the Coleman FFS. He has had his best year by a long way and has been awesome around the goal-mouth for us, has been consistent and kicked straight from tough spots.
You have to kick a winning score, and we would be CRAZY to move him after this year being such a clear indicator of what he can produce if left in the forward line to settle into some consistency.

Snuka
8 Aug 2006, 02:58
Just my opinion, but surely not...
i know we have defensive problems in the future, but Braddy is likely to finish 3rd in the Coleman FFS. He has had his best year by a long way and has been awesome around the goal-mouth for us, has been consistent and kicked straight from tough spots.
You have to kick a winning score, and we would be CRAZY to move him after this year being such a clear indicator of what he can produce if left in the forward line to settle into some consistency.

Agreed 100% konstas. I reckon Bradshaw has really stepped up this year and become an elite full forward. Obviously he will never replace Lynchy (but let's face it, not even the Incredible Hulk could do that) but this year has been the best of his career. Often he has kicked bags and then gone missing for a few games but this year has seen a marked improvement. I especially like the fact that he has gotten goals even when the team is being trounced, it's made a lot of our losses look a lot better. Also, him and Brown have worked well together and the month when him and Brown just destroyed all those in their path and kicked a gazillion between them was something we should be desparately try to recreate in the coming years.

* Edit: and we just don't have many goal kickers...Browny and Aker are still 2nd and 3rd on the goal kickers list.