View Full Version : Predictions for the EFC Season 2007!

Shane Hird
4 Aug 2006, 17:47
Its funny,we win one game and all of a sudden the whole team seems to actually look like a good side,after just one week!
10 weeks ago i wanted JJ,Mj,McV,Solly,and Rioli cut from our list.Now I want them all there in 07' except for Rioli, who will properly retire.I hope.

In season 07' we will see a few changes and a slightly different Essendon side on the field I predict.
Here's my Top 10 Predictions/Wishes for season 2007.

1. The football Gods will hear our call and Hird will not only play on in season07 but he will play an amazing 19 games and lead us into the finals.
2. M.Bolton will not be on our list and will be disposed of in one form or another.
3. Lloydy will be back and playing like he never missed a game.He will kick 70-80 goals and once again be our superstar up forward.
4. Keplar will be sent down forward more often and will provide us with a well needed goal kicker to help out lloyd,Lucas and Monfries.

5. R.Cole will slot into the team and play alot of games.Will play mostly on the half back line and will dish out hits as hard as Solly,Welsh and Mcphee.
6. A.Lee will hold down c/h back and develope into a good young player.
7. Sheeds will give A.Lovett more of a go in the middle and he will dominate our midfield along with Dyson and Stanton who all will be bigger and faster after a big pre-season.
8. NLM will never be sent down again to kick goals, but by years end, will be our best defender.Look for A.McCloud type runs up the wings all year.
9. Laycock will play every game and be the League's new big man star.He will roam around at will taking marks and splitting packs and will kick 30 goals for the season.
10. After missing out on the wooden spoon and giving Carlton first pick in the draft,we watch Bryce Gibbs slip from our fingers.....Only to get Gumbleton from W.A who stars on debut and gos on to be the best first year player in EFC history!

ps. August 2007-Richmond try to convince Sheedy to switch after Terry Wallace quits following the tigers dismal year.EFC board offers Sheedy another 2 year contract after Dons make finals.Bombers go onto win..........

PressureCooker
4 Aug 2006, 18:29
Wet dream?

daveyboy3
4 Aug 2006, 20:18
10. After missing out on the wooden spoon and giving Carlton first pick in the draft,we watch Bryce Gibbs slip from our fingers.....Only to get Gumbleton from W.A who stars on debut and gos on to be the best first year player in EFC history!

Didn't John Coleman kick 100 in his first year?

DaSawx
5 Aug 2006, 07:03
Didn't John Coleman kick 100 in his first year?

He might kick 101 :rolleyes:

Crave
5 Aug 2006, 13:48
The only way is up :thumbsu:

killboy powerhead
5 Aug 2006, 15:09
mate you have a very wide and vivid imagination, but if it could be true i uphold you

Sam the RAMA fan
5 Aug 2006, 15:48
I want the footy gods to give Rama another season...a good season of football! :D

I dont think Essendon will finish 15th-16th next year,
I think this situation is a wake-up call for the club..

GO BOMBERS 07!

d3ani3
5 Aug 2006, 15:57
My hopeful side in 2007
B-Cole Fletcher Nash
HB-Welsh Lee Lovett-Murray
C-Stanton Watson Dyson
HF- Monfries Lucas McPhee
F- Hird Lloyd Lovett
R-Hille J Johnson Gibbs :D
Int-Bradley Laycock McVeigh Winderlich

Tell us what your thoughts are and who ive left out

grindog
5 Aug 2006, 17:01
McPhee is traded to Brisbane for Akermanis.
After Carlton knocking off Melbourne today, Essendon to get No.1 Draft pick and take Gibbs (I hope) and he will be a superstar
Hird to play on.
Lloyd to come back but will struggle early on (similar to N Brown)
Monfries to step up and will win B & F.

ShanBoi
6 Aug 2006, 01:03
-Lloyd to come back and struggle badly
-Rioli to be given another season to eat up the salary cap and lumber around the field doing nothing
-Hird to retire (champion tho)
-Bombers to hover around the bottom of the ladder for another couple of years

windyhill
6 Aug 2006, 09:42
`07 ? More of the same. Lloyd back, probably win 4-5 more games.

Sam the RAMA fan
6 Aug 2006, 13:08
-Rioli to be given another season to eat up the salary cap and lumber around the field doing nothing

I love how positive you are..
at least have some hope,and if the season is a bad one again...look to the following.
No point getting ALL doom and gloom about it now..have some faith in them (yes,this season was a shocker) BUT GO BOMBERS 2007!!!

ant555
6 Aug 2006, 17:16
I love how positive you are..
at least have some hope,and if the season is a bad one again...look to the following.
No point getting ALL doom and gloom about it now..have some faith in them (yes,this season was a shocker) BUT GO BOMBERS 2007!!!

He is a Hawks supporter ;)

DaSawx
6 Aug 2006, 17:19
He is a Hawks supporter ;)

It's actually debatable sometimes

M29
6 Aug 2006, 17:36
We'll finish 15th. Probably will win the first two games and the last two.

Stargazer
6 Aug 2006, 22:33
`07 ? More of the same. Lloyd back, probably win 4-5 more games.
Ditto.

Stargazer
6 Aug 2006, 22:34
Who asked you ? Worry about your own team and leave Essendon to us.
Shove off.

Crave
7 Aug 2006, 02:41

Like your team will make massive inroads in the competition?? Getting to many Kangas games lately?

Karlostj
7 Aug 2006, 13:55
I think that the Essendon of 2007 will be better then the Essendon of 2006, however it a sign of how bad Essendon is that the second game we win all year is because Hird plays one of his best games ever.

I wonder if we'd won without Hird??? It seems to be the same story for the past 5 years. No Hird, no Essendon.

We will struggle again next year, sure Lloyd will be back, that should get us a few more wins, but really I can't see too much improvement in the side.

Hawks, Richmond, Brisbane, Port, North and Carlton are the sides that we need to be better then in order to move up the ladder. I think we will be better then Carlton, however the other clubs I'm not convinced about.

Richmond, Brisbane and Port have all been without key forwards for most of the season. Plus have capable young players that are going to be much improved next season (same with the hawks).

Realistically I can't see us finishing above 10th next season. It will depend on injuries to our club and to other clubs. However, if looking at each sides best 22 for 2007, I can't see ours being better then 10th..... We won't be a force to be reckoned with for a while as we have very little class in the 23-27 year old age group and our best player are in the 27+ age group.

DaSawx
7 Aug 2006, 14:22
We're better than Carlton, Richmond and Hawthorn IMO. We have better %'s this year than all 3 of those teams, have not had Lloyd all year, with whom we would have 5+ wins while Hirdy has been in and out all year not to mention a lot of other players who are important to the team

Karlostj
7 Aug 2006, 14:38
We're better than Carlton, Richmond and Hawthorn IMO. We have better %'s this year than all 3 of those teams, have not had Lloyd all year, with whom we would have 5+ wins while Hirdy has been in and out all year not to mention a lot of other players who are important to the team

It think we're better then Hawks and Tigers as well actually, but Richmond have had their fair share of injuries too - Brown in and out, Richardson a bit the same, they're missing 3 or their best defenders at the moment...

We play each of these teams in the next few weeks. Lets see what happens.... If we don't beat both of them, then it will go a long way to showing that 2007 is going to be pretty average as well.

It would be nice to win 2 games in a row. Its been since 2004...

DaSawx
7 Aug 2006, 14:56
Yeah true, maybe not Richmond, but definately doable on any given night

J-Train
11 Aug 2006, 15:38
McPhee is traded to Brisbane for Akermanis.
After Carlton knocking off Melbourne today, Essendon to get No.1 Draft pick and take Gibbs (I hope) and he will be a superstar
Hird to play on.
Lloyd to come back but will struggle early on (similar to N Brown)
Monfries to step up and will win B & F.

Predictions for 2007 - Essendon to have a cracker of a year only to meet Carlton in the Preliminary final where an incredible tackle by inspirational midfielder Fraser Brown will dispossess Dean Wallis and allow Justin Murphy to sweep through with the clearing kick. Murphy then gets it back on the half forward flank and the siren sounds, Carlton denying the Bombers a passage into the grand final by one point. Oh, hang on - that already happened in '99. :D :D :thumbsu:

Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 15:43
That's nearly the worst post/troll attempt I've seen on BigFooty.

Congrats.

J-Train
11 Aug 2006, 15:45
That's nearly the worst post/troll attempt I've seen on BigFooty.

Congrats.

Oh come on Longy, lighten up! Must be hard carrying the whole world on your shoulders you sad sack!

I hope the Bombers go alright in 2007 - I'm a fan of Lovett-Murray, he used to carve 'em up in the Western Border Footy League for Heywood not so long ago - as a full forward!

Cheer up Longy413! :D

koc#41
12 Aug 2006, 00:15
4th-10th wide range, but with no injuries the sky's the limit, with massive injurys around 10th

Shedmania
12 Aug 2006, 17:20
Predictions for 2007 - Essendon to have a cracker of a year only to meet Carlton in the Preliminary final where an incredible tackle by inspirational midfielder Fraser Brown will dispossess Dean Wallis and allow Justin Murphy to sweep through with the clearing kick. Murphy then gets it back on the half forward flank and the siren sounds, Carlton denying the Bombers a passage into the grand final by one point. Oh, hang on - that already happened in '99. :D :D :thumbsu:

And then Carlton go on to roll over in the grand final in an embarrassing display??

Oh hang on - that already happened as well!!

Shedmania
12 Aug 2006, 17:25
Back on topic...who knows?

Lots of potential in the list. There were some genuinely exciting passages of play last night. The kind of confidence football that Essendon has not been able to play all year. The kind of confidence football Collingwood were playing only 6 weeks ago.

A bit of luck with injuries, a few more wins this year to increase the confidence going into next year, and the steady improvement of our young list....we could be in with a chance of singing the song quite a few times next year. ;)

keepzitreal
12 Aug 2006, 17:40
- As long as injury doesnt hit us hard i reckon we're set for a bit year. Think we can beat any team on any given night