View Full Version : Courtney Johns

Broady Poker Tour
4 Aug 2006, 23:20
Does anyone know the injury status of Courtney Johns? It was reported that he had bruised ribs from the Freo game 4 weeks ago but you wouldn't normally miss three weeks for bruised ribs would you?

I hope he hasn't injured his hip again

Has he been named for the Bendigo side?

mcphee_is_a_gun
4 Aug 2006, 23:23
Hes been named FF for Bendigo.

koc#41
5 Aug 2006, 09:45
i think he showed enough before the injury to warrant being brought straight back into the side

DaSawx
5 Aug 2006, 10:01
That's what I thought, he was looking better as each week passed, maybe we don't want to change a forward line that's on fire

Crave
5 Aug 2006, 13:47
That's what I thought, he was looking better as each week passed, maybe we don't want to change a forward line that's on fire

Yeah, Id prefer him to come back against Richmond personally. Itll be such an occasion with being Hirdy's celebration game.

Sam the RAMA fan
5 Aug 2006, 15:51
If he can play for Bendigo,
then I think he will play another game at AFL level,
I'm guessing he might be back for the games against Collingwood or Hawthorn at the latest.

He has got potential so I am hoping that he doesnt have any more injuries for a long time and has a fair shot in season 07.

killboy powerhead
6 Aug 2006, 16:22
hey guys ive been away this weekend, just wondering how did Johnsy go in the reserves i know they got beaten but did he atleast have an okay game

ant555
6 Aug 2006, 17:12
hey guys ive been away this weekend, just wondering how did Johnsy go in the reserves i know they got beaten but did he atleast have an okay game

Kicked two goals and was named in the best six.

koc#41
7 Aug 2006, 17:36
good to see he played, heard rumours he had fractured his hip again

Big John
7 Aug 2006, 21:59
Would anyone consider trading him. Wouldn't do it if we didn't get a good deal for him, but i think he's one person on our list who isn't crucial and could have a bit of value. We aren't really lacking in good forwards, its the rest of the team that needs to be improved.

wazzabp
8 Aug 2006, 03:26
Would anyone consider trading him. Wouldn't do it if we didn't get a good deal for him, but i think he's one person on our list who isn't crucial and could have a bit of value. We aren't really lacking in good forwards, its the rest of the team that needs to be improved.

No way would I trade him, hes only just basically started playing games this year, and has shown us hints that he will get better after a few more games. Give him time, hes only played about 10 AFL games, I'll wait until hes hit the 40 or 50 mark before I judge him a bit harder.

Lance Uppercut
8 Aug 2006, 08:41
Has everyone read the story on Johns in the latest Bomber magazine?

Sensational story. I knew the basics of it, but reading it in Courtney's words was something else. The guy's been to hell and back, and was ridiculously lucky to get a Sheedy lifeline.

Lets see this fairytale through to the end :thumbsu:

DaSawx
8 Aug 2006, 08:54
I think Lloydy and Johns can play in the same forward line and be hard to stop, it's worth a try at least. Maybe have Lloyd lead a little more and keep Johns in the goalsquare, or vice versa depending on their opponents

Merv
8 Aug 2006, 10:56
Unless Lloyd is going to play CHF and Hird is going to play on, we should either try to groom Johns for CFB or trade him, as long as we get a very good pick for him.
With Lloyd,Lucas and Hird as regular forwards and the rotating of Hille and Laycock in the forward line, we MAY be too top heavy with Johns there also.

I'm not saying it wouldnt work sometimes and of course he would be a good back up in case of injury, but with us having no real CHB, unless Lee really steps up next year, what would be the harm in trying him in the practice matches and pre season games.

If thats not the preferred option i would prefer to trade him for a player or pick, as long as it was a good 1.

I think he is a good FF, hes just in the wrong team for that unless Lloyd moves to CHF

Longy413
8 Aug 2006, 11:07
I see no reason why Johns can't play the sort of role Gehrig plays at St Kilda, playing behind the leading forwards.

Johns is strong, and we saw enough of him against Fremantle to know he can take contested marks against smaller built defenders. You'd imagine with Lloyd and Lucas he'd get the third best tall defender.

It's all about education and if Lloyd and Johns can play some footy together during the pre-seaon and learn from each other, I have no doubt it can function. Lloyd leads to his left side a lot of the time anyway, Johns normally leads straight up the ground. We also saw Lloyd roam a lot more in the footy he did play this season.

I think the concern is more about how we managed Hille and Laycock rather than how we manage Johns/Lloyd/Lucas.

Karlostj
8 Aug 2006, 11:13
Lloyd and Lucas won't be around forever either... In 3 years, maybe both will be gone, or perhaps one... Johns will be 24 and coming into his prime.... Its not all about next season...

If Johns/Lucas/Lloyd in the forward line was too top heavy, I'd be very happy to see Lucas fill the void at CHB for a while.... I think he is one of the best CHBs in the comp!

Chambo
8 Aug 2006, 12:42
Has to be kept on the list no question, he's played 10-12 games and the last againsty freo was sensational. He probably should have kicked 6-7 goals. He's got one of the best mentors in the game with Lloydy and he can only get better. Johns taking the 3rd, 4th best defender with Hird, Lucas, Lloyd all playing will be a definite win for us.

Crave
8 Aug 2006, 13:46
If Johns finds his niche out of the goalsquare, I believe Lloyd will finish his career at CHF...allowing Lucas to roam pretty much anywhere he likes whether it be behind/forward of the centre square...even linking up out on the wings, much like in the way Barnes was used in 2000.

DaSawx
8 Aug 2006, 14:23
We could have Lucas at CHF leading out getting the ball 50-60m out, Johns in the square on the 3rd best tall, Lloyd leading wherever he wants, Hirdy doing what he thinks best in the F50, Monfries/Lovett crumbing for Lloyd/Johns, McVeigh for another smaller weapon and even bring Kepler floating in from the wing/HFF as another marking tall. If our midfield play anywhere near the way they are this year, top 6 for inside 50's, that could be a dangerous forward line :thumbsu:

HalfMan-HalfAmazing
8 Aug 2006, 14:38
Certainly a bloody tough topic but a great dilemma to have! :D
I guess we have to look to see what are the strengths of each player:
Johns I wouldnt personally like to see him confined to the goal square playing one out. In the games Ive seen of him, he has looked his best when on the lead, at full speed and crashing packs.
He is/was a tremendous all round athlete before he was drafted apparently, so perhaps he may make a good CHB or CHF, and I guess we will never know until we try him there. but from what I have seen, he is the definition on a Full Forward; Tall, strong, big hands, good mark, great speed. As long as he remains relatively injury free, I reckon he will be a champion at a number of positions for the bombers by his 100th AFL game.

Lloyd, Lucas and Hird as we have seen all can play a number of positions with lloyd a true champion at both FF and CHF, Lucas a proven FF, CHF, CHB, and Hird a FF, FP, CHF, HFF, C, RR, HBF, CHB, BP!
Noting this Im sure we have no concerns in rotating these 4 around to find the right chemistry over the next couple of years.

Ealesy
8 Aug 2006, 15:08
Biggest problem is still his goal kicking accuracy...kicked 2.5 for Bendigo against Tassie on Saturday.

Should get Lloydy to work with him on his goal-kicking over the pre-season.

Forward set-up for next year.

Lloyd leading out from the goal-square. CJ stationed in the goal square. Lucas at CHF given premission to roam up the ground.

Hird/Dempsey/Lovett/Monfries/Spike/MJ/Lonergan the small crumbing forward options
Hille/Laycock/Ryder...only 2 playing, one rucking, one resting in a forward pocket/on the bench.

Crave
8 Aug 2006, 15:10
It all really depends on what happens up the ground. They'd be pretty useless if theyre not getting any supply.

Big John
8 Aug 2006, 18:47
I think putting Lucas to CHB and playing Lloyd, Johns and the resting ruckmen as the big men up forward could be the best solution, although it is hard to say that given the sort of form Lucas is in up forward this year.

If we had a decent CHB it wouldn't be an option.

Shedmania
11 Aug 2006, 12:34
I think putting Lucas to CHB and playing Lloyd, Johns and the resting ruckmen as the big men up forward could be the best solution, although it is hard to say that given the sort of form Lucas is in up forward this year.

If we had a decent CHB it wouldn't be an option.

I agree with you. Lucas has had an outstanding goal-kicking year this year and i think because of this, everyone has forgotten the great drive he used to give out of CHB. He is an outstanding CHB. Despite his efforts this year, if he can be adequently replaced by Johns/Lloyd up forward and he can resume his role at CHB i think Essendon have lost nothing yet gained an incredibly strong, straight spine. As Big John says, a resting tall like Hille or Laycock stretching the oppositions backline even further and i see an incredibly potent lucas-free forward line.

Cop this for a spine:

FB: D. Fletcher
CHB: S. Lucas
Ruck: D Hille (Swap with Laycock and Ryder)
CHF: M Lloyd
FF: C. Johns.

SNAP!!!

Not to mention the starting 6 in the forward line:

HF: Hird Lloyd Monfries
FF: M. Johnson C. Johns A. Lovett

SNAP AGAIN!!!!

That is amazing....anyone else impressed?

DaSawx
11 Aug 2006, 12:45
Swap M.Johnson for M.McVeigh ;)

blumfieldisback
11 Aug 2006, 13:07
id place johns at ff and let him develop, id place lloyd in a carey, hall like role where he could play chf/ff and let lucas roam across CHB, CHf. have lloyd and lucas on opposite wings running back with the flight of the ball. we would have get out of danger on two sides of the hf line. If hird plays id play him as a forward pocket. We would probably better off pusing lovett and monfries more onto the wings and hb and creat space for johns, hird, lucas an lloyd to run into.

whirl
11 Aug 2006, 13:24
Biggest problem is still his goal kicking accuracy...kicked 2.5 for Bendigo against Tassie on Saturday.

If you got that from the VFL website then he didn't kick 2.5, he kicked 2 goals and was named 5th best for Bendigo

Crave
11 Aug 2006, 14:04
He'll have his work cut out for him with Presti and Clement working well together. Not to mention Heath Shaw getting near it more often than not.
Would help Johns and Lucas greatly to have some hardnuts deep in the pockets to lock the ball in and nullify their run out of half back.
M Johnson springs to mind for me.

Merv
11 Aug 2006, 14:13
id place johns at ff and let him develop, id place lloyd in a carey, hall like role where he could play chf/ff and let lucas roam across CHB, CHf. have lloyd and lucas on opposite wings running back with the flight of the ball. we would have get out of danger on two sides of the hf line. If hird plays id play him as a forward pocket. We would probably better off pusing lovett and monfries more onto the wings and hb and creat space for johns, hird, lucas an lloyd to run into.

The thing is you are taking away a guaranteed 60+ a year goal kicker for some one who you don't know how many he will kick.
Maybe if his pre season form warranted it, you could go with it, but if you want to get off to a good start next year, and we need to,i would keep Lloyd FF.

Crave
11 Aug 2006, 14:19

The answer IMO would be a ready made CHB. At our BEST, Johns, Lloyd and Lucas up forward permanently. Monfries will definitely be in the centre corridor (so forget about having him roam the wings...) Eventually, being able to release NLM and Lovett on the wings would ensure our delivery is speedy and plentiful. Lloyd and Lucas are by far more threatening closer to goal, so having them hovering around our wings/midfield wont add up to much on the scoreboard.

DaSawx
11 Aug 2006, 14:57
They would help when our midfield isn't dominating and we need help getting the ball past the centre of the field, some strong leading forwards would be very handy up the ground

Crave
11 Aug 2006, 15:16
They would help when our midfield isn't dominating and we need help getting the ball past the centre of the field, some strong leading forwards would be very handy up the ground

For sure, I have every confidence it will ALL come together once we have our forwards playing exactly where they should be playing and being viable options throughout the entire game. Lloyd at CHF wil scare many opposing sides.

Big John
11 Aug 2006, 16:55
I can't agree that Lloyd being at CHF will scare the opposition. I think they're more likely to breathe a sigh of relief.

There is no point in having the best FF in the land leading up to the wings and being a link player.

koc#41
12 Aug 2006, 00:11
The guy is a machine! had he played 4 quarters from full-forward he would have kicked 7-10 goals Vs Collingwood. Will be vital in our persuit towards the finals and premiership over the next few years....

Hopefully now all the doubters will go away, the guys is a freak.... been saying it from day 1

Crave
12 Aug 2006, 04:48
I can't agree that Lloyd being at CHF will scare the opposition. I think they're more likely to breathe a sigh of relief.

There is no point in having the best FF in the land leading up to the wings and being a link player.

Since when was CHF anywhere near the wings? Besides...consider Longmire and Carey in the early to mid 90s.

Big John
12 Aug 2006, 10:19
A lead from CHF often ends up on the wings, or at least out of goalkicking range. Lloyd is much better and much more dangerous at FF then anywhere else on the ground.

austinthedog
12 Aug 2006, 10:52
johns is a genuine full forward, and will be a gun when lloyd retires, if not before hand. will be interesting to see where he plays next year, with lloyd getting the best defender, johns and lucas should dominate. lets hope campo, stanton and Gibbs hand it to them on a platter!

Powerstufff
12 Aug 2006, 10:54
Last night was a bit of an eye opener for me re this guy.

Let's Fly Jetstar!
12 Aug 2006, 11:41
Last night was a bit of an eye opener for me re this guy.
Welcome aboard.

M29
12 Aug 2006, 11:47
He's A F--king Goal Machine

djharps
12 Aug 2006, 12:24
if he can remain injury free for the rest of the season get 2 goals here and there and have a massive pre season il be wrapped :D

Lance Uppercut
12 Aug 2006, 13:19
Looks the goods. I've really wanted this to happen. Could be a big name for a long time if he can play to his potential :thumbsu:

The Grover
12 Aug 2006, 13:47
This guy looks to have a real future, you won't be trading him anywhere in the next few years at least.

Well played last night, if Carlton beat the Hawks tomorrow the spoon race will be on in earnest.

Essendon will beat Hawthorn & Richmond on that form & no more injuries.

If Carlton beat Hawks & Tigers then the spoon may the coming the Hawks way.

Crave
12 Aug 2006, 14:19
A lead from CHF often ends up on the wings, or at least out of goalkicking range. Lloyd is much better and much more dangerous at FF then anywhere else on the ground.

So where would you have Johns play? You think they could co-exist inside the forward 50? I seem to recall Lloyd playing all over the ground in round 1 and he looked just as dangerous to me. You dont think our midfield could carry the ball through the centre or along the wings? Would indicate to me that Lloyd need not have to receive the ball on the wings

Big John
12 Aug 2006, 18:03
I don't know if Lloyd and Johns can co-exist inside forward 50 together. If they can't i don't think we should sacrifice Lloyd to help Courtney.

Crave
12 Aug 2006, 21:07
I don't know if Lloyd and Johns can co-exist inside forward 50 together. If they can't i don't think we should sacrifice Lloyd to help Courtney.

So, your solution as to where to play Johns would be........?????

M29
12 Aug 2006, 21:09
Of course Johns and Lloyd will work.

Longy413
13 Aug 2006, 05:32

Lloyd leads left, Johns leads straight. It's that simple.

DaSawx
13 Aug 2006, 07:34
and they can both outmuscle their opponents for marks, so it shouldn't matter where they are in that regard

bmwofoz
13 Aug 2006, 13:11
Gee as someone who has wanted the Club to stick by him i'm rapped that he is finally showing what he is about.

I wonder where the delist Johns people are.:thumbsu:

Chambo
13 Aug 2006, 17:47
Looks the goods. I've really wanted this to happen. Could be a big name for a long time if he can play to his potential :thumbsu:

I have never wanted a player to succeed more than c.johns. I have been putting up with all the sh1t from friends about johns and i have been telling them for a long time!!!!!!! I feel so justified!:D

rowdy3012
14 Aug 2006, 23:36
Im hoping he cant coexist with Lloyd. Then he wants to come home to Fremantle. He is going to be a good to very good big forward. Just what the Freo midfielders need deep with Pavlich moving to CHF.

Big John
15 Aug 2006, 21:46
We'l trade him for Pavlich if you throw a midfielder or 2 in.

windyhill
15 Aug 2006, 21:51
Johns will kill someone one day, some thick defender will stand in his leading space and bang ! Dead.

Shedmania
15 Aug 2006, 23:01
Johns will kill someone one day, some thick defender will stand in his leading space and bang ! Dead.

hahahhaha. Thats pretty good. I don't know why thats funny but i am laughing.

nicho_magic
16 Aug 2006, 00:19
johns is really impressing me.

him + lloyd + lovett shall be a lethal top end. can't wait for next year.

koc#41
27 Aug 2006, 13:28
What did people think of Johns performance Vs the tigers, i think it was his best game so far, work ethic and determination was fantastic, chased hard all night, and tried to hurt bodies.... good to see

Crave
27 Aug 2006, 13:31
Only showed a few cameos last night IMO. Still has much to learn, particularly in contests as his game is pretty much one dimensional in the forward 50. Great to see him used out wide throught the match...instilling some chase into his game. The experience will do him a world of good, but pretty much a spectator for most of the night. Look out for a big one from him against the Dogs....he'll beat Harris/Hargreaves.

Darealrath
27 Aug 2006, 14:46
What did people think of Johns performance Vs the tigers, i think it was his best game so far, work ethic and determination was fantastic, chased hard all night, and tried to hurt bodies.... good to see

Thought he was alright. Got involved a good bit. Another step in the right direction.

Merv
27 Aug 2006, 15:23
A lot of people are getting carried away with CJ.
He certainly has a lot of talent but to show it consistently is his next challenge.
I'm not convinced he will succeed in the same forward line as Lloydy but only time will tell.

DaSawx
27 Aug 2006, 17:44
A lot of people are getting carried away with CJ.
He certainly has a lot of talent but to show it consistently is his next challenge.
I'm not convinced he will succeed in the same forward line as Lloydy but only time will tell.

He's played 12 AFL games, he has time on his side to get consistency. He doesn't have to be a super 50 goal forward player to be effective, by playing on the 3rd best tall defender if he can get consistent and kick 25-30 goals next year as well as bringing the ball to ground for Lovett/McVeigh we will have a pretty good forward line