View Full Version : Help Needed from Gold Members
Capitalist
6 Aug 2006, 20:10
not getting aheaad of myself - just trying to help out some friends
but is there anyone who is not going to use there Gold Member allocation for GF tickets this year ? I am looking for 1 or 2 if possible that I can use.PM if possible (and name your price if required)
I realise this may be seen as getting ahead of myself but i need to have things planned ;)
but is there anyone who is not going to use there Gold Member allocation for GF tickets this year ? I am looking for 1 or 2 if possible that I can use.PM if possible (and name your price if required)
I realise this may be seen as getting ahead of myself but i need to have things planned ;)
I'll jump in as well.
Same deal .
Cap we were ''planning '' back in June ;)
dyertribe
6 Aug 2006, 20:34
You do know it's only 1 GF Ticket per Gold Membership, right?
The reason I ask is I've had a couple of mates already nibbling around - one who thought I got two tix, and another who thought I got four (I wish!). That and you said "allocation", which to me suggests we get given more than just the one.
Capitalist
6 Aug 2006, 20:46
I'll jump in as well.
Same deal .
Cap we were ''planning '' back in June ;)
nice work - I hope to see you there !!!
You do know it's only 1 GF Ticket per Gold Membership, right?
The reason I ask is I've had a couple of mates already nibbling around - one who thought I got two tix, and another who thought I got four (I wish!). That and you said "allocation", which to me suggests we get given more than just the one.
yeah I know it is only 1 per member, thats why I need some more tickets :thumbsu:
but i would be nice to have 2 or so tickets per gold member
dyertribe
6 Aug 2006, 20:53
yeah I know it is only 1 per member, thats why I need some more tickets :thumbsu:
but i would be nice to have 2 or so tickets per gold member
No worries. ;)
Good luck with that though - I know that getting a GF ticket is the sole reason I've been shelling out extra since the inception of the category.
To turn up another chance at being at the G on that day after all these years would utterly defeat the purpose as it certainly wasn't for the sports bag, tartan scarfe, lock of Tom Gilligan's hair...
Capitalist
6 Aug 2006, 21:05
No worries. ;)
Good luck with that though - I know that getting a GF ticket is the sole reason I've been shelling out extra since the inception of the category.
To turn up another chance at being at the G on that day after all these years would utterly defeat the purpose as it certainly wasn't for the sports bag, tartan scarfe, lock of Tom Gilligan's hair...
yeah I know but i am hoping that someone can't make it due to a wedding or some thing
yes the gold membership things have been very interesting over the years one day maybe we will get something that you actually want to keep
jenny61_99
6 Aug 2006, 22:56
yeah I know but i am hoping that someone can't make it due to a wedding or some thing
yes the gold membership things have been very interesting over the years one day maybe we will get something that you actually want to keep
Weddings on GF day should be BANNED! :D
We booked our flights to Melbourne last month and will worry about tickets closer to the time. Hope I get to use my flights this year!
I finish work prelim Saturday and drive across to Adelaide Sunday, depending on what happens I will then drive across to Melbourne in search of tickets
kimirocks
6 Aug 2006, 23:15
I finish work prelim Saturday and drive across to Adelaide Sunday, depending on what happens I will then drive across to Melbourne in search of ticketsGood luck in the quest. Only got my Gold Membership this year for this sole purpose, and have basically decided to use my Tax refund for the weekend (hopefully). I am sure there are definately some people that have Gold memberships that won't use it, but unfortunately for you (on here) it is unlikely that any BigFootyite would want to give up the chance. But definately hope to see y'all there as it will mean we may only be 120 mins from P3.
RogerRabbit69
6 Aug 2006, 23:17
You can ALWAYS get hold of GF tickets - just depends who's playing as to how much you have to pay. If it's a Crows v WC GF, for example, you won't pay much over ticket price, I reckon.
jenny61_99
6 Aug 2006, 23:17
I finish work prelim Saturday and drive across to Adelaide Sunday, depending on what happens I will then drive across to Melbourne in search of tickets
In 98 when we got to Melbourne, there were HEAPS of people trying to offload their tickets. Didn't want to see Adelaide v Wayne Carey I guess.:p
Its the crows again, just cant wait to see the Crows again
And Cavo kicked the Rooboys arse ...lalalla la lalal a llalalala
Sing it with me
Its the Crows again
Capitalist
12 Sep 2006, 17:52
*bump*
anyone :o
Vic Crow
12 Sep 2006, 18:20
*bump*
anyone :o
If we get there then I'll just be going the way of a scalper if I don't get through on the phone line. ;)
eBay.
If price is no object (within reason) you can always go to any Grand Final.
RogerRabbit69
12 Sep 2006, 18:28
I get the impression the AFL are really going to try to clamp down on scalpers this season. There's already a notice in the Advertiser saying they will not accept classified advertisements for GF tickets this year. They're sure to be monitoring eBay very closely, too, and will probably request that any GF tickets are removed. This year, your best bet of buying a ticket (outside of the usual channels) could be to just rock up on the day.
Or by becoming a member of the Crows supporters group ;)
Lucky I got in before they filled.
Punchy Bassett
12 Sep 2006, 19:33
Sorry Cap all four in my family are definitely spoken for. Good luck though mate!
PS As for weddings on GF day I know of two on GF day! Needless to say the guys I know who have been invited are far from impressed!
James23
12 Sep 2006, 19:40
these babies are lucky to pay their dividends once a decade, not something id give away :D
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 19:57
remember the year we got the Matthew Smith freckle......ahhh the memories
:D
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 19:59
I'd love to help - but we will get 2 tickets - and both will get used....
Blue Red and Gold
12 Sep 2006, 20:12
We use our neighbours tickets who moved to Sydney, the only catch is, if the Crows make the GF they get priority.
Not happy about it, but beggars cannot be choosers I guess so I will have to work something out.
I think if they make it, I will drive over to Melbourne regardless and try and sort something out, wont be easy though on an apprentiship wage :(
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 20:14
eBay.
If price is no object (within reason) you can always go to any Grand Final.
will be interesting to see if the AFL go the same way as Cricket Australia on this one
Blue Red and Gold
12 Sep 2006, 20:16
will be interesting to see if the AFL go the same way as Cricket Australia on this one
I think they will, seems to be the "it" issue at the moment.
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 20:18
I think they will, seems to be the "it" issue at the moment.
Imagine paying $500 on ebay - then paying to get there - only to find out the ticket is cancelled....:eek:
Blue Red and Gold
12 Sep 2006, 20:20
Imagine paying $500 on ebay - then paying to get there - only to find out the ticket is cancelled....:eek:
There will be a riot!
Adam BK
12 Sep 2006, 20:35
How can they cancel a ticket if they do not know the seat numbers? I dont understand how they can determine this?
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 20:59
How can they cancel a ticket if they do not know the seat numbers? I dont understand how they can determine this?
Well Cricket Australia managed it !
There's going to be a lot of dissappointed cricket fans turned away from Test matches this summer......:thumbsu:
My understanding is they had teams of people monitoring ebay and were able to determine which tickets were scalped
Vic Crow
12 Sep 2006, 21:01
Well Cricket Australia managed it !
There's going to be a lot of dissappointed cricket fans turned away from Test matches this summer......:thumbsu:
My understanding is they had teams of people monitoring ebay and were able to determine which tickets were scalped
And a half empty stadium!
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 21:03
And a half empty stadium!
tickets have been reissued with new bar codes and re-sold...
full stadium.....:thumbsu:
acg_204*
12 Sep 2006, 21:03
CA hired private investigators who have been working on the Ashes tickets for months. I doubt the AFL will be able to do anything about GF tickets if they're up on eBay a week before.
The real idiots are the ones that post the tickets on the auction, with the barcode in full view.
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 21:05
CA hired private investigators who have been working on the Ashes tickets for months. I doubt the AFL will be able to do anything about GF tickets if they're up on eBay a week before.
The real idiots are the ones that post the tickets on the auction, with the barcode in full view.
Some organisations are negotiating with ebay to make this a pre-requisite for sale......not sure how successful they will be
relapse
12 Sep 2006, 21:09
You can ALWAYS get hold of GF tickets - just depends who's playing as to how much you have to pay. If it's a Crows v WC GF, for example, you won't pay much over ticket price, I reckon.
I agree, you have to take a chance cos you arent allowed to scalp tickets, but if you have a sign saying "I need a GF ticket" outside the G you wont have any trouble finding someone that wants to sell one.
Heaps of them are given away, a friend of mine used to be able to go every year through his work. They used to get given about 10 GF tickets each year from Richmond. I think each club are given 1,000 tickets which they usually then give half of those out to sponsors. I am sure that are heaps of people that could be swayed from not entering the G that day for a sum of money.
Vic Crow
12 Sep 2006, 21:19
tickets have been reissued with new bar codes and re-sold...
full stadium.....:thumbsu:
Maximum profit! :D :p
lincsPJ
12 Sep 2006, 21:31
you will find that ebay will remove any ads for tickets for the AFL grand final.
this happened last year aswell.
relapse
12 Sep 2006, 21:32
I have no issue with scalpers, its just that the AFL and ACB arent getting a cut that they dont like.
At least scalpers allow people an opportunity to purchase something that isnt available normally to them.
I scalped two 98 GF tickets (standing) and got $375 each for both tickets. The $750 we got paid for all our tickets, car hire and petrol over there and we each had about $50 left spending money it was awesome.
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 21:36
I have no issue with scalpers, its just that the AFL and ACB arent getting a cut that they dont like.
At least scalpers allow people an opportunity to purchase something that isnt available normally to them.
I scalped two 98 GF tickets (standing) and got $375 each for both tickets. The $750 we got paid for all our tickets, car hire and petrol over there and we each had about $50 left spending money it was awesome.
WRONG....:mad:
they deny those silver members who just missed out on the legitimate allocation an opportunity to go to a Grand Final. All for someone who never wanted to go in the first place, therefore obviously favouring making a profit rather than supporting their team......all the time denying genuine supporters.
:thumbsd:
Stiffy_18
12 Sep 2006, 21:45
they deny those silver members who just missed out on the legitimate allocation an opportunity to go to a Grand Final. All for someone who never wanted to go in the first place, therefore obviously favouring making a profit rather than supporting their team......all the time denying genuine supporters.
I agree with you 100% when it comes to people re-selling their tickets at a higher price.
However, had we made in into last year's GF, I would have been in a bit of a pickle myself. I would have had 1 extra ticket because at the time, as it worked out my gf couldn't get anyone else to roster on for that day so she wouldn't have been able to come.
I would have already paid for the GF tickets because they were booked prior. How could I get my money back for the ticket if on-selling them is not allowed. So I would have had $190 going down the toilet if I wasn't allowed to sell it.
I do agree that those selling it for the best price should be punished BUT what about for those that could get a last minute change and they can't go, how would they go about getting thier money back, because of they are not allowed to re-sell those tickets, those tickets would be worthless.
Mad Dog
12 Sep 2006, 22:01
I do agree that those selling it for the best price should be punished BUT what about for those that could get a last minute change and they can't go, how would they go about getting thier money back, because of they are not allowed to re-sell those tickets, those tickets would be worthless.
I have no problem with people on-selling tickets that they bought in good faith - after which circumstances have changed. We've all been in that situation. My difficulty is with people who deliberately purchase additional tickets for profit, thus denying someone on our Silver member list.
Ultimately there are 2 markets for most things......legitimate and black.....has been from the beginnning of time......I would just prefer that the act of scalping is not depicted as a community service thats all.
eddie eagle
12 Sep 2006, 22:18
Spot on, AFL clubs, travel agents, and these mysterious "officially licensed onsellers" do it legally, suppply & demand. I dont see anything wrong with it.
No-one forces you to pay the coin.
jenny61_99
12 Sep 2006, 22:34
I have no problem with people on-selling tickets that they bought in good faith - after which circumstances have changed. We've all been in that situation. My difficulty is with people who deliberately purchase additional tickets for profit, thus denying someone on our Silver member list.
Ultimately there are 2 markets for most things......legitimate and black.....has been from the beginnning of time......I would just prefer that the act of scalping is not depicted as a community service thats all.
But they arent able to purchase them are they? They have to be GOLD members to qualify and for that they get one ticket - hardly a booming black market there.
I am a firm believer that the two clubs playing off in the grand final should be allocated 50% of the tickets (proportionate to their membership). If some tickets are left over, this goes back into the general allocation. AFL allocates a proportion of the remaining tickets for sponsors etc. and the balance should be made available to the general public. In a ground that seats 100,000 - there MUST be a way that the supporters of the clubs playing off get every opportunity to attend the game ahead of the also rans. These are the people that support their club (and the AFL) week in and week out, and they should be rewarded for that.
Stiffy_18
12 Sep 2006, 22:37
But they arent able to purchase them are they? They have to be GOLD members to qualify and for that they get one ticket - hardly a booming black market there.
I am a firm believer that the two clubs playing off in the grand final should be allocated 50% of the tickets (proportionate to their membership). If some tickets are left over, this goes back into the general allocation. AFL allocates a proportion of the remaining tickets for sponsors etc. and the balance should be made available to the general public. In a ground that seats 100,000 - there MUST be a way that the supporters of the clubs playing off get every opportunity to attend the game ahead of the also rans. These are the people that support their club (and the AFL) week in and week out, and they should be rewarded for that.
About 2000 tickets are available to Silver Members on a "first in, first served" basis.
Silver members would have to ring in to book their tickets at a different time, after all the gold members did their bookings.
relapse
12 Sep 2006, 22:43
Well there is one ticket per member if they are prepared to do what it takes to get the ticket in the first place and then on sell it as I said before I dont have an issue with it. Someone is still getting the ticket that really wants to go except the person who bought it made a profit. I dont buy into any media spin crap that they pull on how bad scalping is, they only say that to hide the fact that they hate that people are making a profit and they arent getting a cut on people reselling their tickets. They dont care about the good of the customers!
In the end there is no fair way about anything, I knew someone that got their tickets for 98 cos they knew someone who worked at Rebel Sports and they processed their tickets before the store opened that morning. So people that lined up for two days didnt get one, but this person got theirs without having to line up, its all a game.
relapse
12 Sep 2006, 22:53
But they dont because there is only 24,000 tickets which are split between both clubs. Other than that each club gets a thousand tickets 16,000. There is about 10,000 press tickets and the remaining 50,000 are given to the MCC and AFL members.
The allocation is rubbish IMO and should be changed.
Vic Crow
13 Sep 2006, 00:12
I am not kidding...I have been offered two tickets to this years Grand Final from a guy who runs an Aussie Rules league in Vancouver. He has tickets.
They are using them as a fundraiser (what else could they do with them?) and they said last year they got $600 USD for them. :rolleyes:
It makes me so angry that so many loyal supporters of clubs miss out for reasons like this. Two freaking tickets have gone to CANADA!
Crow-mo
13 Sep 2006, 00:26
Spot on, AFL clubs, travel agents, and these mysterious "officially licensed onsellers" do it legally, suppply & demand. I dont see anything wrong with it.
No-one forces you to pay the coin.
of course you're right. But it's a hihgly emotive subject, and sometimes people want to ascribe a higher social purpose to a game of footy.
Stiffy_18
13 Sep 2006, 17:59
Got my team sponsorship ticket allocation today. Needed to fill in a form and return it by 20th September. Filled it out and sent it straight back :thumbsu:
Thats 2 tickets booked. Now for the rest :)
Blue Red and Gold
13 Sep 2006, 18:19
Got my team sponsorship ticket allocation today. Needed to fill in a form and return it by 20th September. Filled it out and sent it straight back :thumbsu:
No need to rub it in. :D
I have decided that it is all or nothing for me now. I will not be going to the pre lim and I will just have to save some cash for the GF if we happen to make it.
crows98
13 Sep 2006, 18:28
No need to rub it in. :D
I have decided that it is all or nothing for me now. I will not be going to the pre lim and I will just have to save some cash for the GF if we happen to make it.
I guess hitting the **** with the boys this weekend has to be put on hold to save some money?:D
Blue Red and Gold
13 Sep 2006, 18:45
I guess hitting the **** with the boys this weekend has to be put on hold to save some money?:D
Normally I would, but its my teams Grand Final this week, both senior sides are in so it might not be such a good weekend to save. ;)
Capitalist
13 Sep 2006, 19:03
still no bloody letter :mad:
will need to contact the club - don;t want to be missing out !!!!
Crow-mo
13 Sep 2006, 21:31
will you be suspending your donations to the mormon temperance society? :D
Normally I would, but its my teams Grand Final this week, both senior sides are in so it might not be such a good weekend to save. ;)
Who do you play for BRG? My Blacks team are in the GF this Saturday, they've won three finals to get to the big one, but sadly, I won't be joining them due to injury. Shades of Mods in '97 really....or possibly, Trent Ormond-Allen.
Cap, IF, and it's a huge IF (I actually don't think we'll make it), but IF we get to the GF, just take the chance and come over to Melbourne for it anyway. That's what I think I'm going to do....we'll go find a pub with Crow fans, watch the game from there and get right-royally sloshed.
Oh and while I'm a roll here Cap (you asked in another thread but I'll just post here), I played 8 on 8 recreational footy last year down at Flinders Uni. It was pretty good fun; a bit of a kick and a catch on Wednesday nights, and it was a mixed league so you got to integrate with the opposite sex.
Best of all, everyone had the opportunity to meet and greet AFL legend Paul Bulluss, who looked after the competition. A more down-to-earth bloke you will never meet, he signed my football card and showed us the intricacies of the drop punt. However, I should note he did snub his own, 'Paul Bulluss Medal Count', so it wasn't all peaches and cream.
turbo182
14 Sep 2006, 03:17
Who do you play for BRG? My Blacks team are in the GF this Saturday, they've won three finals to get to the big one, but sadly, I won't be joining them due to injury. Shades of Mods in '97 really....or possibly, Trent Ormond-Allen.
Cap, IF, and it's a huge IF (I actually don't think we'll make it), but IF we get to the GF, just take the chance and come over to Melbourne for it anyway. That's what I think I'm going to do....we'll go find a pub with Crow fans, watch the game from there and get right-royally sloshed.
Oh and while I'm a roll here Cap (you asked in another thread but I'll just post here), I played 8 on 8 recreational footy last year down at Flinders Uni. It was pretty good fun; a bit of a kick and a catch on Wednesday nights, and it was a mixed league so you got to integrate with the opposite sex.
Best of all, everyone had the opportunity to meet and greet AFL legend Paul Bulluss, who looked after the competition. A more down-to-earth bloke you will never meet, he signed my football card and showed us the intricacies of the drop punt. However, I should note he did snub his own, 'Paul Bulluss Medal Count', so it wasn't all peaches and cream.
Also playing in a GF this weekend! SMOSH vs TTG!
With a week break and after beating them two time sin the ast month, we go in REd hot favourite but anything can happen on that one day in....the middle of....septemeber...:p
Bloody Uni! How many teams do you want!
Also playing in a GF this weekend! SMOSH vs TTG!
SMOSH? They're the bastards that broke my jaw this year. Surprisingly feral crowd too. :cool:
Wooohooo Wingfield now have the second worst crowd :thumbsu:
turbo182
14 Sep 2006, 15:53
A's or B's? Can't say I remember it, Didn't play til round 5 due to injury?
turbo182
14 Sep 2006, 15:54
Ha, turn it up!
Our feral crowd is jsut our B grade on the **** after they play :p
I'd almost put you guys third :thumbsu:
Some of the best afternoons at the Blacks are the 'Suit Days' when Elizabiff, Ovingham, Salisbury, Wingfield and the like, come to Park 10.
Turbo, I doubt the guy was from either your A's or B's. I only play lower grades, the 'one-training-session-a-week-if-you-feel-like-it' lower grades. Good luck this weekend mate.
crows98
15 Sep 2006, 10:57
will you be suspending your donations to the mormon temperance society? :D
Where did I ever say or imply that people should never drink or engage in social activities that involve drinking or the consumption of alcohol?:confused:
My only problem was the glorification of the excessive amounts drunk and the imply softness to those who don’t consume that amount, not the practice of drinking.
And if I ever decide to take the high moral ground on a subject, I will, without fear or trepidation from a few on here.
For the record, I am not a teetotaler so Teetotalism is wasted on me and my donation to the Mormon temperance society may not be arriving this year.
I'd almost put you guys third :thumbsu:
3rd? Kevin Thomas has improved the scenery then . One of my most difficult challenges was tribunal night... half the battle was the name
Crow-mo
16 Sep 2006, 03:30
Where did I ever say or imply that people should never drink or engage in social activities that involve drinking or the consumption of alcohol?:confused:
My only problem was the glorification of the excessive amounts drunk and the imply softness to those who don’t consume that amount, not the practice of drinking.
And if I ever decide to take the high moral ground on a subject, I will, without fear or trepidation from a few on here.
For the record, I am not a teetotaler so Teetotalism is wasted on me and my donation to the Mormon temperance society may not be arriving this year.
errr, ok, righto then. :confused:
crows98
16 Sep 2006, 12:18
errr, ok, righto then. :confused:
LMAO, ok