View Full Version : The Derby

duncan
7 Aug 2006, 12:16
I know it`s a few weeks away - but anyway.

If we where guaranteed mathematically a top 2 position come Derby time - do you think it would be prudent to dial back on this game.

I`m talking about avoiding the usual spiteful play that comes from these games. It would do us no good to rack up injuries or suspensions one week out of the finals series - given that it hurt us last year in the Grand Final.

I know it`s important not to flirt with form and all that (and I know pride is on the line) - but the Dockers may well be playing to stay in the Eight (or jump into the top 4) and it could get messy.

eagleskickass
7 Aug 2006, 13:56
I'd still prefer to go at it hard and go into the finals with 6 wins straight. Last year we sort of flopped into the finals, we still made the GF but we weren't at our peak in the finals. Sydney, however, were at their peak in the finals and went into them having won heaps straight. I like that method better. \

ALSO, just us pulling back wont necessarily stop Freo going full on and it often happens that the team going less hard is the one that gets the injuries.

jorel6669
7 Aug 2006, 14:44
Just hard committed footy is all we need. If we maintain the intensity and focus on the football in the same manner as the last couple of games, we'll be right. If injuries happen, they happen.

Biggie
10 Aug 2006, 23:31
We must always give 100% especially against the dockers!!

Vic Eagles Member
10 Aug 2006, 23:56
I'm sure we'd all love to see the Dockers choke and miss the finals, and if we can play a part in that, which we can, we must beat them and hurt them.

wce4premiership
10 Aug 2006, 23:59
i'm looking forward to this, i would love to see a flogging but i think it will be under a 20 point margin as the dockers are in good form. My hope for the ross glendenning is cousins because i'm not sure if he has one yet

Frizzo
11 Aug 2006, 00:14
I'm hoping we win and Josh Carr gets the medal. Then we can politely clap and show those Dockers supporters what sportsmanship is.

Stenglein's a Champ!
11 Aug 2006, 00:49
I hope Crowley and Dodd both get one upside the head for beating up our young kids.

Frizzo
11 Aug 2006, 00:58
ALSO, just us pulling back wont necessarily stop Freo going full on and it often happens that the team going less hard is the one that gets the injuries.

Too true my friend, too true!

Growing up I've always been told that the player going in half-arsed is the one who's gonna be lying flat on his back, and that's the way it usually works.

Ripper
11 Aug 2006, 01:15
One game at a time fella's

Frizzo
11 Aug 2006, 01:17

Nothing wrong with looking forward to a derby.

Plus, we've already got that top 2 spot locked down so nothing else really matters.

Good luck hanging onto 8th spot ;)

hawkeye23
11 Aug 2006, 09:25
I'm coming over for it. Tear them a new one, I say!

sydney eagle
11 Aug 2006, 09:32
The Derby should be massive ! The Dockers form of late has been as good as I have ever seen from them and the Eagles will have a very hard game against a team that, as well as being cross town rivals, will be fighting to consolidate a place in the finals ! We underestimate them at our peril.

rgauci
11 Aug 2006, 12:01
I'm hoping we win and Josh Carr gets the medal. Then we can politely clap and show those Dockers supporters what sportsmanship is.

As long as Judd gets 3 goals, lays 9 tackles and has 26 possessions. J.Carr gets 33 possy's and 1 goal.

Take it back, hope we win :) The medal can go to whoever.

Biggie
11 Aug 2006, 15:53

Why?

Worried about facing your nemesis?

Should be a cracker.

The Joker
11 Aug 2006, 17:33
Good luck hanging onto 8th spot ;)

8th spot pfft, they can have it we will be looking higher than that :cool:

just make sure you dont choke and give us that prelim at subi ;)