View Full Version : Ladder Predictor

fat wombat
7 Aug 2006, 15:39
Well I am officially the worst footy tipper on this planet. So that being said, I went to the http://afl.allthestats.com/misc/ladderpredict.php website and put in my predictions with the following outcome:

1 Crows 76
2 West Coast 68
3 Collingwood 60
4 Demons 56
5 W Bulldogs 56
6 Fremantle 56
7 Swans 52
8 Cats 52

Realistically I can't see Freo finishing any higher than 6th, so all this talk of a top 4 finish is laughable. Prove me wrong! :)

Plugga
7 Aug 2006, 16:03
fat wombat - call me unrealistic, call me crazy, but I've got Freo finishing as high as 3rd on the ladder;

Adel - 76
Wce - 68
Freo - 56
Syd - 52
Coll - 52
Dogs - 52
Melb - 52
Geel -52

Saints miss out with 48.

Counting that we lose this weeks game v Adelaide...although I think we're a HUGE chance in that game, we can realistically win the rest. Saints at Subi...they never play well there, plus no Maguire, no Hayes. Then we play the Eagles who we beat earlier in the year when we weren't playing as well as we are now..& we'll regain Grover in that time...then we have Port who we should smash at Subi. Everything needs to stay good in regards to injuries/suspensions, but that goes for nay team.

Looking at the other sides...

Collingwood have a really tough game this week v Essendon. I think the Bombers can maybe cause an upset there on Friday Night Footy if they play hard aggressive football, then they have to back up to Aami Stadium again v Port (no shoe in). Then their last game is v Kangaroos, in what will more than likely be Glenn Archer's final game...& the Roos will be fired up for that one!

Sydney - There last 2 games are gimmes (Bris & Carl both in Sydney), but they face Melbourne at the G, then Geelong at Skilled. I think Melbourne will want to make up for this weeks shocker, whilst Geelong at Skilled is very diffilcult.

St Kilda - Very tough games...2 interstate matches (us & Brisbane), + the Dogs at the Dome & Geelong this week. I think there in trouble.

Bulldogs - 3 winnable games, this week in Darwin, then 2 at the Dome, their favourite hunting ground, & a tough probable loss to Adelaide at the G.

Melbourne - I have them struggling for the rest of the year...as always. Tough game this week v Sydney, but I think they'll win, but then they have Geelong @ skilled, the Kangaroos at the G who are playing decent footy then a shocking ending @ Aami Stadium v the Crows. Minus Davey & Pickett, thay may struggle.

Geelong - Face the Saints this week & regain Mooney & maybe Ablett. Saints will be low on morale...then 2 games at Skilled, & Hawks in rnd 22. Very winnable, & I have them scraping into the 8.

BASICALLY ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN...IF WE CAN JUST WIN 3 OF THE LAST 4, WE'RE TOP 4 MATERIAL & FROM THERE YOU NEVER NEVER KNOW.

stylor
7 Aug 2006, 16:04
I'm an eternal optomist and so it's not surprising that I ended up with this:

1. Adelaide 68 142.2
2. West Coast 68 117.4
3. Sydney 60 121.9
4. Fremantle 60 104.1
5. Collingwood 56 116.3
6. St Kilda 56 114.1
7. W Bulldogs 56 110.6
8. Melbourne 48 108.6

:)

Yello Mit
7 Aug 2006, 16:33
1 Adelaide 22 18 4 0 2376 1595 72 148.9
2 West Coast 22 17 5 0 2283 1857 68 122.9
7 W Bulldogs 22 15 7 0 2355 2024 60 116.3
6 Collingwood 22 14 8 0 2352 1969 56 119.4
3 Melbourne 22 14 8 0 2159 1938 56 111.4
8 Fremantle 22 14 8 0 2035 1990 56 102.2
4 Sydney 22 13 9 0 2123 1777 52 119.4
5 St Kilda 22 12 10 0 2041 1833 48 111.3

WA ROO
7 Aug 2006, 16:43
fat wombat - call me unrealistic, call me crazy, but I've got Freo finishing as high as 3rd on the ladder;

Adel - 76
Wce - 68
Freo - 56
Syd - 52
Coll - 52
Dogs - 52
Melb - 52
Geel -52

Which would give you a Derby final
When I suggested the same on the main board a certain WCE poster seemed to get very agitated
A Derby final is WCE worst nightmare
No home ground advantage and a 50/50 game could spell the end of WCE premiership for 2006

Alfonz
7 Aug 2006, 16:59
1 Adelaide 76 149.2
2 West Coast 72 121.6
4 Sydney 60 125.1
6 Collingwood 60 120.1
7 W Bulldogs 56 110.0
3 Melbourne 52 109.4
8 Fremantle 52 98.8
5 St Kilda 48 112.0
----------------------------------------------
9 Geelong 48 105.9

duncan
7 Aug 2006, 18:19
When I suggested the same on the main board a certain WCE poster seemed to get very agitated
No home ground advantage and a 50/50 game could spell the end of WCE premiership for 2006

We might finish first - especially if Freo can do a number on Adelaide this weekend.

Personally I think this will be one of the most interesting top eight races we have seen in a while.

West Coast 06
7 Aug 2006, 19:36

I would rather play Freo in a final than Sydney personally.

Sydney are finals hardened and can win games away, they are proven in finals (obviously), and we always seem to have a close game with them.

Freo on the other hand are finals newbies, and will have a lot of pressure on them from their supporters, sponsors and the football world in general to win a finals game. Even if they beat us in the next derby, I would be happy to face them come finals time.

Quinz
7 Aug 2006, 19:45
I agree, I would prefer to play Freo than Sydney. Don't like the way sydney play against us. Plus it'll be a lot more interesting.

Jumpin' Jimmy
7 Aug 2006, 20:41
Freo to be pushed out by the Cats on % after each finish with 12 wins.

ditto
7 Aug 2006, 21:33
Here's a hot tip for ya's:

Dockers to lose the next 3 games on the trot, which will bring their season down to 1 game against Port Adelaide.

Now if someone could please supply the win/loss stats on Freo and "MUST WIN" games I'd really appreciate it.:rolleyes:

Harv's for coach in 2007??????

WA ROO
7 Aug 2006, 21:37

Dockers to lose the next 3 games on the trot, which will bring their season down to 1 game against Port Adelaide.

Now if someone could please supply the win/loss stats on Freo and "MUST WIN" games I'd really appreciate it.:rolleyes:

Harv's for coach in 2007??????Fear in this post

Kapow!!!
7 Aug 2006, 22:17
Fear in this post

You can smell it, even all the way up here you can smell it. Gotta love the "we'd be okay to face Freo in finals because they're not finals hardened" act though. Had a few people fooled.

Ripper
7 Aug 2006, 22:34

Harv's for coach in 2007??????

Can't see it. We are playing far better than at the start of the year.
We get Adelaide undermanned with the lure of a new conseutive games record.
We get the saints who we have beaten the last two times with Hamill , Kosi , Hammil et al.

We get West Coast on the back of a Brisbane trip.

And even better if we do score a QF against the Toasters we will have been at home 4 weeks straight while they will be coming back from the MCG. :).

Rob
7 Aug 2006, 22:52
The situation is pretty simple. WIn 4 and we'll finish top 4, win 3 and we'll finish 5th or 6th, win 2 we'll finish 7th or 8th and win 1 and we might miss out.

By gee i'd love to come up agains the slime in the finals, with a 50-50 crowd it might deny them the rainbow ride with the maggots that's won them so many games in the last year or so.

dugrene
7 Aug 2006, 23:01
Can't see it. We are playing far better than at the start of the year.
We get Adelaide undermanned with the lure of a new conseutive games record.
We get the saints who we have beaten the last two times with Hamill , Kosi , Hammil et al.

We get West Coast on the back of a Brisbane trip.

And even better if we do score a QF against the Toasters we will have been at home 4 weeks straight while they will be coming back from the MCG. :).

Beats counting sheep trying to work out the best position to be to get a crack them in the finals.

heals
7 Aug 2006, 23:01
The situation is pretty simple. WIn 4 and we'll finish top 4, win 3 and we'll finish 5th or 6th, win 2 we'll finish 7th or 8th and win 1 and we might miss out.

By gee i'd love to come up agains the slime in the finals, with a 50-50 crowd it might deny them the rainbow ride with the maggots that's won them so many games in the last year or so.

We got where we are by our own hard work not with the umpires help.

duncan
7 Aug 2006, 23:03

% might be against you. Collingwood probably have the easiest run out of all going into the nest four. Melbourne might be fortunate with the extra game because they get Adelaide last.

Any money it comes down to the last Sunday with both Collingwood and Sydney playing in separate games. I remember the Bullies sweating on the same thing last year.

West Coast 06
8 Aug 2006, 01:56

It would be our home final, what makes you think it would be a 50/50 crowd?

By the way, pretty sure Port was saying the same as you guys when they came up against the Crows in a final last year. How did that go again?

Kenny_01
8 Aug 2006, 04:15
It would be our home final, what makes you think it would be a 50/50 crowd?

By the way, pretty sure Port was saying the same as you guys when they came up against the Crows in a final last year. How did that go again?

Members, don't get finals seats... do they??? I think they are neutral games.

Kapow!!!
8 Aug 2006, 09:38
Members, don't get finals seats... do they??? I think they are neutral games.

Even I got the email saying that in the event of a derby final, Members tickets would be split 50/50.

Plugga
8 Aug 2006, 12:31
Sorry guys...but i think if West Coast finished higher, it would be there home final, hence there chardonnay members would have 1st dibs. But with their fickle supporters the crowd would still be 50/50 in voice!

On the ladder again...it appears the Roos are going to give Shannon Grant & Adam Simpson season ending operations...which is bad news for us, with Collingwood set to play them in rnd 22 & Melbourne next week!

Ripper
8 Aug 2006, 12:43
Sorry guys...but i think if West Coast finished higher, it would be there home final, hence there chardonnay members would have 1st dibs. But with their fickle supporters the crowd would still be 50/50 in voice!

On the ladder again...it appears the Roos are going to give Shannon Grant & Adam Simpson season ending operations...which is bad news for us, with Collingwood set to play them in rnd 22 & Melbourne next week!

The seat allocation get split according to the membership figures so they would get approx 43000 x 40/76 = 22631

David_Brent
8 Aug 2006, 13:23
The Pies wont lose another game and they are ahead of you on percentage so that rules out any chance of top 4 IMO. They are a chance to lose one but you guys are more chance to lose one of the games. Then you will have to win 2 finals to meet WC at Subi where their midfield will tear you guys to pieces. Like they will in the second derby this year.

I think WC would be happy to meet the Dockers along the line in finals, Dockers players known in the league as **** weak mentally, would make much prefered opposition to a proven finals side like Adelaide, Pies or Swans.

Cameron_K
8 Aug 2006, 14:21
The seat allocation get split according to the membership figures so they would get approx 43000 x 40/76 = 22631

Yep the tickets would be split all Eagles members would not get a ticket :thumbsu:

Eagle1/Syd
8 Aug 2006, 15:22

The Eagles being higher placed would get the larger share of tickets being offered.

Talking about Fickle Crowds have a look at your own back yard first Plugga!!

I have been to many a game and seen your LOT leave in droves by the end of the 3rd qtr.Check your memory ( or cant you remember ) Lions this year,Hawks last year and many a Derby.Your lot are noted throughout the country for Turning on your OWN again just check your memory,oh i forgot you lot dont remember!!!!:o

Plus dont hold your breath about making the finals just yet!!!

Remember last year or the year before!!!!!:eek:

oops i forgot;)

Kapow!!!
8 Aug 2006, 16:05
I love how people keep forgetting the standard Derby Final protocol according to ticket allocation. It is 50/50 when divided up amongst members. There is no higher place gets more it is all 50/50.

Alfonz
8 Aug 2006, 16:24
I have been to many a game and seen your LOT leave in droves by the end of the 3rd qtr.Check your memory ( or cant you remember ) Lions this year,Hawks last year and many a Derby.Your lot are noted throughout the country for Turning on your OWN again just check your memory,oh i forgot you lot dont remember!!!!:o

Maybe you should check your memory. Lions this year? That was at the Gabba, I was there. And I stayed, even had to watch Aker do a handstand right in front of me. I think WC supporters are more known for leaving early than Freo supporters. My mate who couldn't give a **** about footy lives right next to Subi Oval and he commented on how every week he notices so many more WC fans collecting their cars before the game is over. Probably to beat traffic because they are usually in front ...

At one derby way back there were WC fans leaving when their team was in front!! You were up by 5 or 6 goals at 3/4 time, and we sort of made a comeback and got close, to which WC fans started getting up and muttering "I'm not going to sit here and watch this mob beat us". We never caught up by the way, ran out of time.

Anyway, I think WC would rather play us than Sydney or Adelaide at Subi, but Freo would much rather play WC at Subi than have to play Sydney or Adelaide on their home turf.

kanabar
8 Aug 2006, 16:34
A true eagles fan, not knowing the facts, I have worked at subi for nearly 5 years and know whole leaves games early once their team is 30+ points down and trust me its not the dockers, it the WCE supporters.

The Eagles being higher placed would get the larger share of tickets being offered.

oops i forgot;)

Burnzy
8 Aug 2006, 16:42

oops i forgot;)

Please do us all a favour and hold your breath until the finals.

West Coast 06
8 Aug 2006, 17:47
A true eagles fan, not knowing the facts, I have worked at subi for nearly 5 years and know whole leaves games early once their team is 30+ points down and trust me its not the dockers, it the WCE supporters.
You must have a very long memory. Can't say there have been many 30+ losses at Subi for us in the last couple of years.
In fact we have not lost at Subi by more than 30 points since 2002.

David_Brent
8 Aug 2006, 23:30
Maybe you should check your memory. Lions this year? That was at the Gabba, I was there. And I stayed, even had to watch Aker do a handstand right in front of me. I think WC supporters are more known for leaving early than Freo supporters. My mate who couldn't give a **** about footy lives right next to Subi Oval and he commented on how every week he notices so many more WC fans collecting their cars before the game is over. Probably to beat traffic because they are usually in front ...

At one derby way back there were WC fans leaving when their team was in front!! You were up by 5 or 6 goals at 3/4 time, and we sort of made a comeback and got close, to which WC fans started getting up and muttering "I'm not going to sit here and watch this mob beat us". We never caught up by the way, ran out of time.

Anyway, I think WC would rather play us than Sydney or Adelaide at Subi, but Freo would much rather play WC at Subi than have to play Sydney or Adelaide on their home turf.

I was at the Hawks game on Sunday, through the last quarter so many Dockers fans had left that the stadium was at least 30% empty by the time the siren went. By the time the players left the field, the ground was basically empty, that never happens at WC games.

I think the whole thing about supporters leaving early is overated, people only leave to beat the traffic.

However, we all know which crowd is the loudest. Its been scientifically proved by scientists ;)

Plugga
8 Aug 2006, 23:48
I was at the Hawks game on Sunday, through the last quarter so many Dockers fans had left that the stadium was at least 30% empty by the time the siren went. By the time the players left the field, the ground was basically empty, that never happens at WC games.

I think the whole thing about supporters leaving early is overated, people only leave to beat the traffic.

However, we all know which crowd is the loudest. Its been scientifically proved by scientists ;)

Please go troll your own board....

...it looked liked people had left, FACT was it was pi55ing down with rain in last 5 mins, & everyone was undercover.

IDIOT

Smells like a worried supporter of Toast to me

back pocket
8 Aug 2006, 23:49

10% left - max. And that was only because it looked like bucketing down, I don't blame them, but, generally over the years, WC fans have become renowned for their early exits, it's only the last year or two that a bunch of Freo blow-ins have been leaving early, and weevils are jumping all over them, because that's what they've copped for the last 20 years and they're trying to deflect it onto our crowd.

Absolute rubbish from a pathetic mob of weevil loving grandma's.

Rob
9 Aug 2006, 00:52
Sorry guys...but i think if West Coast finished higher, it would be there home final, hence there chardonnay members would have 1st dibs. But with their fickle supporters the crowd would still be 50/50 in voice!!

Finals with 2 competing clubs from the same state are not a new thing. The AFL has planned for it in WA before, had it actually happen in SA last year and has in in Victoria most years. Last year in Adelaide, the Crows fans did not get priority.
The plan a couple of years ago when it was a possibility with 1 round to go is that the ground be split, one club get access on Monday (but not able to purchase more than their allocation) and the other club to get access to their allocation on Tuesday.
Not sure whether they's split the ground in half (how great would that look, purple on one side and beige tweed on the other) or they would just allocate every other block.

Eagle1/Syd
9 Aug 2006, 10:53

I think your mate needs glasses!!!
Anyway we dont care who we meet in the finals on our day we will beat any team.
Good luck to your mob but not to much:)

wires on fire.
9 Aug 2006, 11:07
Gotta love the "we'd be okay to face Freo in finals because they're not finals hardened" act though. Had a few people fooled.

yep, one shellacking at home at the hands of the 8th placed team makes freo finals hardened.

i wouldnt get too carried away freo fans, remember last season going into the 2nd derby, freo in hot form, west coast struggling, big game, friday night footy....same result, freo crack...pussys.

Kapow!!!
9 Aug 2006, 11:32
yep, one shellacking at home at the hands of the 8th placed team makes freo finals hardened.

Nope, does make it a mute point though if it's a Derby anyway though.

i wouldnt get too carried away freo fans, remember last season going into the 2nd derby, freo in hot form, west coast struggling, big game, friday night footy....same result, freo crack...pussys.

Uhuh. Like West Coast supporters got carried away and even made 2005 West Coast Premiers shirts? Give it a rest. You have as much right as we do to get ahead of yourselves because, really, the only reason you're 'finals hardened' is because of a rogue umpire and an opportunist strike.

Fact of the matter is I'd LOVE a Derby final for one reason: They're the one game we know how to play that is of Finals like pressure and that would be the game to get finals hardened. Something tells me you know that too :)

West Coast 06
9 Aug 2006, 12:50
Nope, does make it a mute point though if it's a Derby anyway though.

Uhuh. Like West Coast supporters got carried away and even made 2005 West Coast Premiers shirts? Give it a rest. You have as much right as we do to get ahead of yourselves because, really, the only reason you're 'finals hardened' is because of a rogue umpire and an opportunist strike.

Fact of the matter is I'd LOVE a Derby final for one reason: They're the one game we know how to play that is of Finals like pressure and that would be the game to get finals hardened. Something tells me you know that too :)

West Coast supporters didn't make them and you know it. Have a look on Dockerland website for some "Freo Premiers" t-shirts though, think they had them made up in 2003, now that is funny. Not a charity in sight either.

Kapow!!!
9 Aug 2006, 12:52
West Coast supporters didn't make them and you know it. Have a look on Dockerland website for some "Freo Premiers" t-shirts though, think they had them made up in 2003, now that is funny. Not a charity in sight either.

First of all don't give me that charity bull$#!^ because you and I both know it that that's a sympathy cover for your own blind arrogance. Secondly that dockers premiers was just funny because it was made before the season ended, hell it was made in 2002 for christs sakes when we were out of finals contention.

West Coast 06
9 Aug 2006, 16:14
First of all don't give me that charity bull$#!^ because you and I both know it that that's a sympathy cover for your own blind arrogance. Secondly that dockers premiers was just funny because it was made before the season ended, hell it was made in 2002 for christs sakes when we were out of finals contention.
Of course,our "premiership" t-shirts for charity show our arrogance.
Your "premiership" t-shirts for god knows what show how fun you are! :confused:
By the way it was made in 2003, and had Premiers 2004 printed on it.

Polly
9 Aug 2006, 16:41

Houston, Eagle 1 has landed.

On planet bizarro, fair dinkum you have a child like imagination. You don't have to make up stories to get people to like you, your mother should have told you that. Bye bye tockle head.

surfsup
9 Aug 2006, 18:31
I think your mate needs glasses!!!
Anyway we dont care who we meet in the finals on our day we will beat any team.
Good luck to your mob but not to much:)

Yep, you can....so can any other of the 15 teams in the competition.

dynamic1
9 Aug 2006, 19:10
Adelaide 76
West Coast 72
Collingwood 60
Melbourne 60
Sydney 56
St Kilda 52
W Bulldogs 52
Fremantle 52

Geelong 44

Eagle1/Syd
10 Aug 2006, 11:02
Houston, Eagle 1 has landed.

On planet bizarro, fair dinkum you have a child like imagination. You don't have to make up stories to get people to like you, your mother should have told you that. Bye bye tockle head.

yep my mother told me i would meet " as cabecas de **** gostam de voce"
and she was spot on:eek:

Polly
10 Aug 2006, 13:58
yep my mother told me i would meet " as cabecas de **** gostam de voce"
and she was spot on:eek:

Can somebody translate for me please, this Newbie is obviously to smart for me!:confused:

iscah
10 Aug 2006, 20:47
We got where we are by our own hard work not with the umpires help.

HohoHo

Dream on. Second most favoured teams by umps this year and 10 wins by 4 kicks or less. Would be nothing sweeter than playing the crims in a Subi final.

iscah
10 Aug 2006, 20:49

Any Freo supporter who did not get a ticket for a home final against WC could just wait until 3/4 time and get a ticket for free ..

Arcadion
10 Aug 2006, 21:50
Any Freo supporter who did not get a ticket for a home final against WC could just wait until 3/4 time and get a ticket for free ..
Hey, have you enjoyed our past two wins? Were the margins good enough for you? Still top 4 frauds?

Jimbob
10 Aug 2006, 23:28
Hey, have you enjoyed our past two wins? Were the margins good enough for you? Still top 4 frauds?

Freo, can't call them Top 4 frauds!!! THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN IN THE TOP 4

Kenny_01
10 Aug 2006, 23:31
iscah, Eagles are a bloody good side when firing.... time for you to come to terms with it.

Jimbob, we have been in the top 4 during the season before, when we were 5-1 :)

FreoFury
11 Aug 2006, 10:24
Freo, can't call them Top 4 frauds!!! THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN IN THE TOP 4

Actually we've been top 4 on a few occassions historically, just havent managed to remain there.

Jimbob
12 Aug 2006, 02:05
Actually we've been top 4 on a few occassions historically, just havent managed to remain there.

Well I'm not referring to mid season! It's all about the end of season and finals, but of course Freo don't know much about that now do they?

ditto
12 Aug 2006, 23:56
What ever happened to waiting until you did something of note before bragging about how good you are??!!?? :confused:

Ok Dockers fans, look at moi, look at moi.

Yes you have played well for the past 5 weeks, you've even managed to beat a top 4 team :) You rock!!!. Good on ya's!! Now, how about you control your excitement and lamb-basting of other teams until you actually do something in the finals (and just for a joke I'll throw in 'IF YOU MAKE IT!!!').

A little humility please guys. Once you win your first final (in 2008, He he he!) then start believing you're a quality team. Until then, shut the f*ck up!!!:p

Eagles for PREMIERS 2006!!!!!!!:)

dugrene
13 Aug 2006, 00:06
^^^^^^^:rolleyes: Feel better now do you.

ditto
13 Aug 2006, 00:17
^^^^^^^:rolleyes: Feel better now do you.

I feel great ALL OF THE TIME. I support a team that is consistent, has won a premiership (or two), is in the top 2 of the current competition, has a couple of Brownlow medalists, has a Brownlow runner-up and has been part of 4 grand finals.

How do you feel??? 1 final, 1 loss. In how many years?????? I think it's 12, but feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. He, he, he. You suck!!!!! :D

Reveler
13 Aug 2006, 00:33
A few games went our way. With Collingwood/Bulldogs losing and Sydney beating Melbourne. Now we just need to hold up our end of the bargain and try and beat Adelaide.

theGav56
13 Aug 2006, 01:34
I feel great ALL OF THE TIME. He, he, he. You suck!!!!! :D

He, he, he.

Just a wonderful display of your purile mentality.

Roundhouse
13 Aug 2006, 01:49
I feel great ALL OF THE TIME.
Stop it. You'll go blind.

festivus
15 Aug 2006, 00:29
Ditto,

'I support a team that is consistent, has won a premiership (or two), is in the top 2 of the current competition, has a couple of Brownlow medalists, has a Brownlow runner-up and has been part of 4 grand finals'

So Mr Smug what part did you play in all that success? - :p Watched them on tv occassionly perhaps?

Burnzy
15 Aug 2006, 02:54
Stop it. You'll go blind.

Hahaha :D

docker_johnno
15 Aug 2006, 22:33
win all 3 finish 3 or 4

win 2 finish 5 or 6

win 1 finish 7 or 8