View Full Version : Your favourite Eagles moment of the year so far
Stenglein's a Champ!
7 Aug 2006, 20:41
In a fairly good season there have been some ripper moments; Judds game vs Brisbane, the Cats game, Waters hit on Bolton etc. Hopefully I can add a premiership at the end of this season, but until then....
For mine I have opted for an incident vs Hawthorn. In the weeks leading up to the game we had been tagged as soft and criticism was coming from all directions that we weren't standing up for Cuz when he was getting hit. Then during the game Cuz and Franklin were running towards the ball and Franklin went for the bump on Cuz and Cuz went down in pain and then hobbled to the boundary. Enter Beau Waters and Chad Fletcher. At the bounce after the incident the ball was tapped out to Franklin, and Waters and Fletcher went full pelt at Franklin and hit him hard and Buddy was hurt. He didn't return for the rest of the match and I couldn't wipe the smile off my face.
mms://wmt.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl0/afl/premiership/2006/10/5-560.wmv - Entire Cats game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMDthO614PM - Franklin hit
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3Xxu891STY - Kerr vs Gehrig
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYd0DjNf7Ag - Kerr mark
Just wondering what everyone elses favourite moment for the season has been?
Killer eagle
7 Aug 2006, 20:45
Yeah, have to go with Waters and Fletcher taking out Franklin too. Thats really standing up for your team mates.
But i think the game against Adelaide a couple weeks ago has to rate up there to - probaly a tie. We where pretty much written off by everyone, then we come out and absolutely thumped the premiership favourites, and it looks like its kicked us into form.
BarcaRulz
7 Aug 2006, 20:45
I liked that moment as well. But i have to say that the comeback against Geelong was just too good. I was all ready to give up on that game, and then the boys came and they came hard. Those last 5-7 minutes were nerve-shattering.
i went berserk in those last 5 minutes and ill never forget when that siren went.
Geelong game for sure.
Made a fool a out of me :o when they won that one and since that day I never say never, ever again.
Kerr's tackle on Gehrig was awesome as well!! :thumbsu:
materamagic
7 Aug 2006, 21:47
the resolve the playing group have shown over the last few weeks is by far the highlight for me
BarcaRulz
7 Aug 2006, 21:51
i went berserk in those last 5 minutes and ill never forget when that siren went.
Hell, you can say that again. In those last five minutes i hit my head on the ceiling (yeah im tall and its low), i threw my coke at the TV, and i pushed my Geelong-supporting freind to the floor in a moment of pure anger.
That was one hell of a game.
TheBigUnit
7 Aug 2006, 21:57
Definitely the Geelong game.
wires on fire.
7 Aug 2006, 22:11
http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/953/publication12ku.jpg (http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/953/publication12ku.jpg)
^^ When Embley put through a 55m bomb against Geelong at Skilled Stadium to get us within 2 goals late in the final quarter.
ohhh yeah....seeing embers put that through and get shirty like he always does got my blood rushing! and quartermain (as much as a twat as he is) called it awesomely.
but id have to go with beau's hit on franklin. except it was ruined by fox footy's lame saturday arvo commentary team. these guys suck. 'get up buddy!'
wce4premiership
7 Aug 2006, 22:17
the comeback win was awesome and probably my favourite moment over the last couple of years - bar making the grand final.
The Geelong game was awesome, and Waters is a star. Judd's game against Brisbane was unbelievable.
Vic Eagles Member
7 Aug 2006, 23:15
1. The comeback down at Geelong (Rd 10)
2. The belting of Adelaide (Rd 17)
3. The performance as a whole vs St. Kilda (Rd 18)
4. The defeat of Adelaide at AAMI (Rd 2)
5. The first win against Essendon in Melbourne for nearly a decade (Rd 8)
6. The win over Sydney (Rd 15)
7. The last 40-odd minutes vs Carlton (Rd 11)
Alot of highlights which IMO might bode well for finals (hopefully anyway).
My highlight was seeing Lynch single handidly tear apart Hawthorn. Dont know why but can anyone really remember the last time a FF single handidly won us the game. It was great to see alot of ugly ***** (Walls) eat there words
Mrs. Cousins
8 Aug 2006, 00:29
too hard to pick:
the last 2 weeks games would be right up there along with the great comeback in the geelong game
hopefully the best moments are yet to come....
Hell, you can say that again. In those last five minutes i hit my head on the ceiling (yeah im tall and its low), i threw my coke at the TV, and i pushed my Geelong-supporting freind to the floor in a moment of pure anger.
That was one hell of a game.
well i remember i was screaming my lungs out punching my brother and cousin if we stuffed up(smashed my remote control wasnt a great feeling) and celebrate hysterically when we won. copped quite a few bruises in that ordeal. wce thrashing against adelaide and saints in the past 2 weeks have been simply awesome. sydney and carlton games scared the hell out of me but any game that lynchy played bloody good and slammed shut walls and co's gob was also pretty good. also the rise of seaby, kerr, stenglein, selwood and glass has made this season even more exciting. we should seriously win the flag this year. if we dont il be bitterly disappointed.
Its comes down to two moments and I cant seperate them...Beating geeelong after trailing by 54 points 17 mins into the third team (I have ordered the DVD of that one :D )
second was our win v Saints sent a clear message to the comp that we are a good football team
I thought Paul Hasleby's goal in the derby was up there. ;)
I reckon Lynchy's first bag was a real highlight.
jorel6669
8 Aug 2006, 14:13
So far... the comeback against Geelong
Hopefully that will be replaced after September.
94_Eagles
8 Aug 2006, 14:37
I thought Paul Hasleby's goal in the derby was up there. ;)
I reckon Lynchy's first bag was a real highlight.
In 2002 when he kicked 5 against the Saints?
Nah this year...that was so long ago it barely counts ;)
94_Eagles
8 Aug 2006, 14:52
Nah this year...that was so long ago it barely counts ;)
You can look foward to his next big bag in Round 21. ;)
Genesis67
8 Aug 2006, 16:28
Same. Sooooo the same. Had my brother at my place to watch the game, we were both screaming our lungs out, bouncing off walls et all at the end of that game. It took an hour before my heart rate started to slow down... :thumbsu:
nearlyblonde
8 Aug 2006, 17:26
The coming of Q!!
You can look foward to his next big bag in Round 21. ;)
He better not show his big bag...Never know what might happen with Mr kerr around!!:D
Lynch drops a mark
8 Aug 2006, 18:03
Lynch kicking 5 against the Pies
all the hype about presti and Lynch was having a **** year to that point (only kicked about 5 goals)
The Comeback
in 100 years of VFL/AFL, it was the 7th biggest comeback, and the absolute biggest from the 3rd quarter.
just like "peter matera set sails for home", that will be remembered in Perth for a long, long time.
i carry it around on my ipod. in fact, i think im going to watch it again now (minimized of course, im at my desk)
halfbackflanker
9 Aug 2006, 04:22
For a simple spine-tingling moment, the Embley goal in the 4th quarter of the Geelong game was just about unbeatable. Strangely enough it wasn't the goal that put them in front for the first time (that was Kerr's later goal), but the combination of factors - it had come just after an eagles goal, it was brilliantly cleared out of the centre (Kerr again I think), it was a terrific thumping kick, and Embley's Hewitt-like histrionics after scoring just made you feel, in that instant, that the game was going to be ours.
For me, it was a little bit similiar to a moment last year when we played Richmond at the MCG. A super multiple-bounce run right down the guts from Cousins, who then laid it off to a speeding Judd for a goal. Again, it wasn't the end of the game, and finally I think it was Matera who finished it off (we won by 2pts), but it was a moment that gave you belief. Not all these moments come from goals, and as a former defender I get these feelings when I see big efforts in the back half - something special and individual. Though, speaking of goals, Cox's goal against the Dons this year was a special memory as well :D
As far as general team highlights, I'll still go with the second half of the Geelong game, but the win over the Crows was the most pure example of quality football over an entire game by a country mile.
For a simple spine-tingling moment, the Embley goal in the 4th quarter of the Geelong game was just about unbeatable.
and some very nice commentary by quartermain
Arcadion
9 Aug 2006, 20:55
For a simple spine-tingling moment, the Embley goal in the 4th quarter of the Geelong game was just about unbeatable. Strangely enough it wasn't the goal that put them in front for the first time (that was Kerr's later goal), but the combination of factors - it had come just after an eagles goal, it was brilliantly cleared out of the centre (Kerr again I think), it was a terrific thumping kick, and Embley's Hewitt-like histrionics after scoring just made you feel, in that instant, that the game was going to be ours.
Please don't put any of our players in the same sentence as that jerk.
Beating those pretenders down the road will always bring joy to my heart.....
larrikin
9 Aug 2006, 21:25
Beau's tackle to get the HTB decision against Adelaide
Slid in, warpped the ball up and the ump had no choice. Showed a toughness that I love, but was also right in front of us :)
Arcadion
9 Aug 2006, 21:33
Beau's tackle to get the HTB decision against Adelaide
how bout Stingers tackle on Hodge for HTB? "Unlucky" say the ****head biased commentators. :rolleyes:
mrz.judd
10 Aug 2006, 19:49
eh, i really dont have a good moment. i just love it when i see chris judd play;)
Would of never guessed that maam. :thumbsu:
JerryWexler
10 Aug 2006, 21:47
Certainly wasn't against Sydney thats for sure.The Adelaide game was a great win but we always beat them anyway.I'd say the recent form of Kerr would have to be a highlight of late.
I've always had big wraps on Stenga so I'll go with his goal to put us in front of the Swans. All the other moments everyone's mentioned have been great aswell. Tim Lane's call of the Sydney game was also terrific.
mrz.judd
11 Aug 2006, 22:50
i enjoy it when west coast are playing becuase the always get you excited. everytime they kick a goal i go crazy but i go a little more crazy when judd kicks a goal. there was this goal he kicked a few months ago i cant remember which game but it was an excellent play. i love it when they are losing at the start and in the 4th quater they win. it like totally makes my day.
mrz.judd
11 Aug 2006, 22:54
i love watching west coast play. the best moment was when chris kicked it to the forward line and like no is kicking a goal and then he came out of no where and kicked a goal. i got so excited that i went crazy. it was amzing. god i love him lol
94_Eagles
12 Aug 2006, 14:07
i love watching west coast play. the best moment was when chris kicked it to the forward line and like no is kicking a goal and then he came out of no where and kicked a goal. i got so excited that i went crazy. it was amzing. god i love him lol
How old are you, 11?
Stenglein's a Champ!
30 Sep 2006, 19:07
In a fairly good season there have been some ripper moments; Judds game vs Brisbane, the Cats game, Waters hit on Bolton etc. Hopefully I can add a premiership at the end of this season, but until then....
A PREMIERSHIP!!:thumbsu: :)
wce_all_da_way
30 Sep 2006, 19:24
Yep. I think this takes the cake... just :D
Troy Wingate
30 Sep 2006, 19:33
Apart from the premiership, my favourite Eagles moment this year was the final siren of the QF against the Cows. God that was good! :D