View Full Version : Shawy demands an apology!!

L84AD8
7 Aug 2006, 22:15
I dont know if many caught the dailies today but Shaw 'demanded' an apology for Eddie's 'rat infested' remark during his coaching tenure. Realising the issue is growing a little old I felt the need to vent with some of the misgivings Ive seen come through on the radio and dailies, which have most supporting Shaw's stance because most of the opinion is coming from other 'collegues' in the media.

Shaw firmly believes his media committments give him the percieved right to mouth off indiscriminantly about anything to do with the pies irrespective of facts.He manipulates fact to suit and discredit Mcguire and Malthouse.

A case in point was the fact Shaw stated that Kevin & Bob Rose have been publicly denigrated by the 'rat infested' remark!! Well talk about appealling to emotion bringing in the Rose legend into the argument to defer the true intended target of the remark...Shaws coaching!!!..Cheap and nasty way of being argumentative Shaw!!! but if u do want to bring it down to that Iam fairly 'Shaw' that during the late nineties we were making record losses and had an accounting system in place which painted a rosy picture when in fact we couldnt pay for plastic cups in the coffee room.

If anything with respect to sentiment and the 'Rose' name, Shaw coached us a year too long and perhaps KRose being a Collingwood man thru and thru didn't want to publicly humiliate a 'former' favorite son by axing him. Eddie Mcguire and his reformist mantra came in and swept up and brought a contracted proven malthouse to our door to clean up the mess that was Shaw's coaching.
If Shaw is fairdinkum and he alluded to it in the paper today, he has McGuire to thank for the smooth transition from coaching to media using MCguire industry contacts to get work. This genorosity is certainly haunting Ed.

As impartial and unbiased as Shaw thinks he is in the court of public opinion he should look at two of his contemporaries in T Lane and R Walls who only have positive things to say about Carlton. If u listen to Walls talk about Carlton at the minute u'd think they are a premiership chance this year.if Walls was fairdinkum he'd be wanting blood, Carlton begging AFL for cash and the like but u dont hear boo from him.
If Shaw could only take a leaf and , yep Iam asking him for some favorably partial publicity maybey he'd start winning over some of the people who worshiped him as a player. Instead he is quoted in the paper saying he feels vindicated that by Taz & Johno playing proves nepotism. Smacks of Brayden getting flicked and perhaps some bitter resentment. Perhaps he expected the same for Brayden...a walk up start!!

Somehow I dont think he even cares what us' worshippers' think of him now that he is a media man and carving a niche bagging the team he spilt blood for.

Keep up the good work Shawy and as for this feud destabilising the side as u quote Buckley in the paper today and mentioned on 3AW, cmon this was your intention from day one. I hope others see it. U'd love the place to fall apart!!

DJ Black @ White Blood
7 Aug 2006, 22:27
Im not taking any sides in this argument but let me say this

Mcguire never played footy
Shaw did and spilt his blood for the club
Shaw was a **** coach
Shaw no dought is upset about Brayden and his departure
Mcguire gives me the ****s i cant stand him
Mcguire is oviously a good business man he financially got us out of the ****

Finally they have both been good for the club in one way or another but really they both need to shut up and when they do talk say possitive things about our club in 2006, im not interested in the past rubbish, spoilt little brats both of them.

MagpieWayne
7 Aug 2006, 22:31
Im sick of both of them.:thumbsd:

gezza78
7 Aug 2006, 22:34
Im sick of both of them.:thumbsd:

Exactly,both of them should grow up & get over it!!

Nardz
7 Aug 2006, 22:43
I dont know how any collingwood supporter in their right mind would have resentment against Mcguire. He saved this club, and made it the off-field powerhouse that we are today. He hasn't faulted at all - and has been obviously pushing the cause of the club any chance he gets.

Tony Shaw on the other hand - He ****s me. I lost respect for him the day he promised to quit if we didnt make the finals. We didnt and he didnt. Obviously has some pride issues with wishing to see Mick Malthouse fail. I have never seen any evidence of Tony shaw wishing success upon the collingwood football club since the day he left. Other collingwood personalities in the media at least show (albeit trying to disguise) their love for the club, but nothing from shaw. He is a jealous prick.

Good on eddie for saying it as it is.

Coin_Toss
7 Aug 2006, 22:48
Demands an apology does he...Poor form Shawry! :thumbsd:

G.O.B
7 Aug 2006, 22:57
How did he figure that McGuire's comments were disrespectful of Bob Rose? What reasoning did he use for that claim?
Kevin Rose, I understand, as he was President at the time, but Bob Rose?

As for Tony Shaw, nothing would please me more than to see him banished from all media work and shrink back into oblivion. Maybe then I could start liking him again for his ON-field exploits.

He needs to get over the fact that he was given the arse as a coach and that his son was nowhere near good enough. The fact that Brayden was not picked up by any other club, even as a rookie, should make him realise this.

His current stand against Eddie and MM is doing nothing but harm to the club and he should let it rest.

G.O.B
7 Aug 2006, 23:09
I dont know how any collingwood supporter in their right mind would have resentment against Mcguire. He saved this club, and made it the off-field powerhouse that we are today. He hasn't faulted at all - and has been obviously pushing the cause of the club any chance he gets.

Tony Shaw on the other hand - He ****s me. I lost respect for him the day he promised to quit if we didnt make the finals. We didnt and he didnt. Obviously has some pride issues with wishing to see Mick Malthouse fail. I have never seen any evidence of Tony shaw wishing success upon the collingwood football club since the day he left. Other collingwood personalities in the media at least show (albeit trying to disguise) their love for the club, but nothing from shaw. He is a jealous prick.

Good on eddie for saying it as it is.

Well said.

Shaw's legacy at the club lasted as long as it took me to get over the premiership hangover, so sometime in November of 1990. I will not downplay his achievements, nor his influence in attaining us that premiership, but he is now nothing more than an ex player using his role in the media to take potshots at the club any chance he gets because of personal reasons. I cant respect that on any level and just wish he would STFU.
Eddie on the other hand took our club from the absolute brink and raised us to a financial level never seen before in our history. His legacy will stand for many, many years as it would take quite a few shyt administrations to take us to the brink again.
Dont downplay his achievements because you need only look at Carlton's position to realise that the powerhouse clubs of the old VFL have no given right to stay at the top of the tree financially.
Now all he needs is a premiership as President to immoratalise himself within this club.

The Old Dark Navy's
7 Aug 2006, 23:13
As impartial and unbiased as Shaw thinks he is in the court of public opinion he should look at two of his contemporaries in T Lane and R Walls who only have positive things to say about Carlton. If u listen to Walls talk about Carlton at the minute u'd think they are a premiership chance this year.if Walls was fairdinkum he'd be wanting blood, Carlton begging AFL for cash and the like but u dont hear boo from him.This isn't quite right as far as Wallsy is concerned. He has over the past few years been very critical of us. Calls for players to be sacked or traded, bagged the recruiting, bagged off field transgressions. The fact that he is now supporting us is testiment to the fact that we have changed the off field culture. One of the main offenders in Brendan Fevola has knuckled down, stopped drinking and is now looking like a future leader. The signs for the onfield future are now starting to look positive, the path we will take is looking clearer.

When Wallsy would bag us, there would always be the obligatory, **** off Wallsy defensive mindset but we always seemed to have maintained the understanding that he earned his stripes as a premiership player and coach with us, and therefore was speaking out of concern and frustration, and maybe to wake us up, rather than to have a cheap shot because he was bitter about his exit.

I think ultimately Shaw will be looked at the same way.

Nardz
8 Aug 2006, 00:40
When Wallsy would bag us, there would always be the obligatory, **** off Wallsy defensive mindset but we always seemed to have maintained the understanding that he earned his stripes as a premiership player and coach with us, and therefore was speaking out of concern and frustration, and maybe to wake us up, rather than to have a cheap shot because he was bitter about his exit.

I think ultimately Shaw will be looked at the same way.

Dont know about that.

Walls earned his stripes as a premiership player AND coach. Tony shaw showed he could play, but in the off field department he also showed he's got no idea. Walls showed he could coach so when he makes comments or criticism of current coaching or any off field issues at carlton he could be taken half seroiusly.

Tony shaw's coaching stint at collignwood was a joke. It should never have happened to begin with. and he has the nerve to criticise mick time and time again. He should worship the ground that mick walks on.

Murray
8 Aug 2006, 09:28
Im not taking any sides in this argument but let me say this

Mcguire never played footy
Shaw did and spilt his blood for the club
Shaw was a **** coach
Shaw no dought is upset about Brayden and his departure
Mcguire gives me the ****s i cant stand him
Mcguire is oviously a good business man he financially got us out of the ****

Finally they have both been good for the club in one way or another but really they both need to shut up and when they do talk say possitive things about our club in 2006, im not interested in the past rubbish, spoilt little brats both of them.

Good to see you not taking sides

PieLebo87
8 Aug 2006, 11:21
Tony Shaw is a little pr!(k that needs to f off.
GET OVER THE FACT BRAYDEN WASNT GOOD ENOUGH FOR US!

jimmy35
8 Aug 2006, 11:34
Despite what he felt as provocation from Eddie he should have let it go . It was good for no one , no one won and it smacked of ego and not being able to let it pass .

MACDAICOS
8 Aug 2006, 11:44
Despite what he felt as provocation from Eddie he should have let it go . It was good for no one , no one won and it smacked of ego and not being able to let it pass .
C'mon mate Eddie dosnt let anything go......He cant help himself, there both as bad as one another.....At least they "both" love the club that's the only poisitive in this.

ant22
8 Aug 2006, 11:44
Tony shaw was my idol as a kid and I still have nothing but respect for the way he played the game.

He started to lose me as a coach. I remember going to watch a praccy match one day and I went out at quarter time to listen to him talk and I have heard coaches in the the lower grades of the ammos communicate better.

Not sure how he got a job in the media. To me he seems a little dumb . He makes unintelligent comments and constantly speaks first thinks later. He is extremely passionate but sometimes it lets it get the better of him. I don't think Tony would apologise if he said something out of line some I don't see why Eddie should apologise(atleast publicly anyway)

As for Eddie I reckon he is a much smarter version of Tony, sometimes opens his mouth when he should not and when he is passionate he gets bit carried away and can make a fool(ie its not the first punch that wins a fight....) of himself.

Both need to pipe down and get on with whats best for the club

Jack-Packenham
8 Aug 2006, 11:45
How was the culture in the late 80's early 90's when Eddie was driving busses with Millane and Banks.

MACDAICOS
8 Aug 2006, 11:49
How was the culture in the late 80's early 90's when Eddie was driving busses with Millane and Banks.
Or Gary was handing out disco biscuits to inocent young ladies????????? P*** off idiot!!!!!!!!

PieLebo87
8 Aug 2006, 11:49
At least they "both" love the club that's the only poisitive in this.
T Shaw only loves Collingwood of 1979-1994, 1997-1999.
All he does is seem to negate the club these days, he always seems to show himself as criticising this club, for someone who loves this club, you'd think he'd show a little more appreciation for the people that represent it. Show me where he has praised the likes of Heath Shaw, his nephew, or praised the improvements of Swan and Lonie ect. Why does he only make it a BIG ISSUE when its got to do with bagging the team he loves?

MACDAICOS
8 Aug 2006, 11:55
T Shaw only loves Collingwood of 1979-1994, 1997-1999.
All he does is seem to negate the club these days, he always seems to show himself as criticising this club, for someone who loves this club, you'd think he'd show a little more appreciation for the people that represent it. Show me where he has praised the likes of Heath Shaw, his nephew, or praised the improvements of Swan and Lonie ect. Why does he only make it a BIG ISSUE when its got to do with bagging the team he loves?
Shaw is in a no win situation!!!!!!! He raps the club up people will be on his back for being biased, he dosent rap the club up "we" all jump up and down and say why not?????? I spoke to Shaw at "Beertopia" (Beer festival at the Exibition building) in March.....and he told me then look out for the improvement of Heath & Dane!!!!! He said they where the fittest at the club.

Timmy from Thomastown
8 Aug 2006, 12:00
Shaw can say what he likes. He's not officially connected with the club (apart from being an uncle of two players) and he's paid to make public commentary. His opinion that Tarrant should have been traded years ago is not made up on the spot - he's been saying it for years.

Collingwood's official response should have been, "Tony Shaw is entitled to his opinion but we disagree". End of controversy.

Eddies comments were unfair, inflammatory, misguided, and frankly quite disgusting. He is 100% repsonsible for this controversy.

Murray
8 Aug 2006, 12:32
Which PA is your Coach screwing this week?

Murray
8 Aug 2006, 12:34
Shaw can say what he likes. He's not officially connected with the club (apart from being an uncle of two players) and he's paid to make public commentary. His opinion that Tarrant should have been traded years ago is not made up on the spot - he's been saying it for years.

Collingwood's official response should have been, "Tony Shaw is entitled to his opinion but we disagree". End of controversy.

Eddies comments were unfair, inflammatory, misguided, and frankly quite disgusting. He is 100% repsonsible for this controversy.
I think you miss the point.
Eddies real intent was to remove the focus from Taz and BJ, and get the press to talk about something else.
As for Shaw, just another nuff nuf media tart

PieLebo87
8 Aug 2006, 12:35
Shaw is in a no win situation!!!!!!! He raps the club up people will be on his back for being biased, he dosent rap the club up "we" all jump up and down and say why not?????? I spoke to Shaw at "Beertopia" (Beer festival at the Exibition building) in March.....and he told me then look out for the improvement of Heath & Dane!!!!! He said they where the fittest at the club.
Amen BUT.. Eddie, as President, is entitled to defend his footy club. Tony Shaw should know that if you play with fire, you will get burnt, you cant dish out criticism and not expect some back. I agree that Collingwood should've just copped it but so should've Shaw. Its like they are both acting like babies. But I will back my team in this situation because of Shaw's indirect attitude towards Collingwood at the current moment (Negative). This is the admin that has showed me two Grand Finals and I believe plenty more.

Jack-Packenham
8 Aug 2006, 12:38
Which PA is your Coach screwing this week?

Why is it that on bigfooty if you make a comment on another clubs board you get a response like this. Answer the !@#$ing question.

- Eddie was good freinds with both Milane and Banks.
- Both these guys had reputations for drinking, fighting, etc.
- Eddie was a part of the Spencer St Bus fiasco.

There may have been no rats involved but was this great culture.

Timmy from Thomastown
8 Aug 2006, 12:39
I think you miss the point.
Eddies real intent was to remove the focus from Taz and BJ, and get the press to talk about something else.
As for Shaw, just another nuff nuf media tart

I dont care what Eddie's intent was, it was a foolish thing to say and made the situation worse instead of better. I'm tiring of his deflection techniques, they are going a bit stale.

When Nathan Buckley had to publicly regret the actions of his president, theres something seriously wrong.

Timmy from Thomastown
8 Aug 2006, 12:40
Why is it that on bigfooty if you make a comment on another clubs board you get a response like this. Answer the !@#$ing question.

Correct. Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

Murray
8 Aug 2006, 12:40
I dont care what Eddie's intent was, it was a foolish thing to say and made the situation worse instead of better. I'm tiring of his deflection techniques, they are going a bit stale.

When Nathan Buckley had to publicly regret the actions of his president, theres something seriously wrong.
I saw that interview, he didn't say that at all

Murray
8 Aug 2006, 12:41

Before you point the finger at others, clean up your own house

Timmy from Thomastown
8 Aug 2006, 12:41
I saw that interview, he didn't say that at all

I'd love to read a transcript.

MACDAICOS
8 Aug 2006, 12:49

17 years ago he was good mates with Millane and Banks!!!!! What's your point?

MarkT
8 Aug 2006, 13:37
I have resisted commenting but as usual I’ll throw my two bob’s worth in FWIW. I am pretty peeved at the whole thing.

Eddie was out of line. He has not accepted any responsibility for anything that has gone wrong during his time at Collingwood but as always was quick to point the finger. He is always happy to accept praise but he can’t take any sort of criticism. I admire his passion and I will be eternally grateful for how he has turned or flagging club around and dragged us up from the gutter. Eddie was the man for the time but his time has come.

I do not have the slightest doubt that Tarrant has gotten away with a lot over the years. Whether that matters is debatable but the comments of Shaw were based on fact and are valid views to be debated. I wish Shaw would shut the F up sometimes but in this case Shaw has valid points and Eddie completely disrespected him and the underlying issues.

At the end of the day winning premierships is what matters. I don’t think Eddie can add to that any more than he has done to date. In fact I think he is now counter productive.

L84AD8
8 Aug 2006, 22:47
I have resisted commenting but as usual I’ll throw my two bob’s worth in FWIW. I am pretty peeved at the whole thing.

Eddie was out of line. He has not accepted any responsibility for anything that has gone wrong during his time at Collingwood but as always was quick to point the finger. He is always happy to accept praise but he can’t take any sort of criticism. I admire his passion and I will be eternally grateful for how he has turned or flagging club around and dragged us up from the gutter. Eddie was the man for the time but his time has come.

I do not have the slightest doubt that Tarrant has gotten away with a lot over the years. Whether that matters is debatable but the comments of Shaw were based on fact and are valid views to be debated. I wish Shaw would shut the F up sometimes but in this case Shaw has valid points and Eddie completely disrespected him and the underlying issues.

At the end of the day winning premierships is what matters. I don’t think Eddie can add to that any more than he has done to date. In fact I think he is now counter productive.

Eddie is passionate and he is the president of our club. His place is to defend the club and its current administration from the doomsayers and naysayers. He comes out fighting and is hot dog 'one eyed'!!Something Shaw lost many moons ago.Honestly I dont think he has been one iota counter-productive in any of his time there. His legacy should be respected if his tenure ends at years end.

Totally agree Taz may be a problem child but who the hell is Shaw to use one persons misgivings to make the whole place look second rate?? Malty's reputation speaks for itself and if his honest explanation in why he played these two lads is seen as self preservation, i see it as a way of keeping the team competitve and giving the supporters the thing they want to see.A full strength Pie side.

Media have scandalized the whole affair by saying its 'collingwood infighting', however how can you have infighting when TShaw has no involvment with the club, presides in no positions of influence and is simply out to destabilise and satisfy any agendas political/personal or otherwise that he may have.To have 'infighting' you still need to be with in the inner sanctum of a club or organisation and hell knows its been a while since Shaw had anything constructive to do with us. (BShaw included!)

Lets not look as Shaw through rose coloured glasses any longer and simply accept (contrary to his claims) that he doesnt cares for the place or for the people who run it presently. He insults the average supporter if he expects us to think otherwise.

Jabso
8 Aug 2006, 23:02
Tony Shaw is becoming a dial-a-quote and this is sad. He feels as if he needs to be harsh towards his former club. I still think he feels some sort of angst towards them, I sense "I could be part of that with a little luck" sort of feeling from him. And he is stubborn as anything. He said Collingwood had rocks in their head for getting rid of Williams when we got both Hollland and Clement in return, which he failed to acknowledge.

Eddie's wording was a bit too strong, but I feel emotions got the better of him. A media storm has been blowing with the media taking cheap shots at the club, the last thing he needs is Shaw throwing a tank load of petrol over the fire.

Jabso
8 Aug 2006, 23:10
The only counter productive thing Eddie has done is placed more pressure on us to win a flag to match our off-field success.

And is a flag all that matters? I would rather the club finish bottom for 10 years than to win 3 flags in 10 years which would end the clubs existance.

The influence the president has on the on-field performance is minimal at the most. I have always upheld this. Now you can reshuffle the coaching deck as much as you want, but the club needs stability.

Real Madrid have arguably the most talented group of soccer players in the world. They have had something like 3 managers in 6 months due to the chairmans desire to win trophies not being fulfilled. This is what I call counter-productive.

gormanisahack
9 Aug 2006, 09:55
[quote=jabso]The only counter productive thing Eddie has done is placed more pressure on us to win a flag to match our off-field success.

And is a flag all that matters? I would rather the club finish bottom for 10 years than to win 3 flags in 10 years which would end the clubs existance.

Could you please explain...i dont think winning 3 premierships over 10 years would end the clubs exsistance, look at Brisbane.

MarkT
9 Aug 2006, 09:57
The only counter productive thing Eddie has done is placed more pressure on us to win a flag to match our off-field success.Depends what you think of Malthouse, depends whether you think there is accountability within the club, depends whether you think his great work on the financial side is still as necessary and depends what you view of his persona and image are in the football world.And is a flag all that matters? I would rather the club finish bottom for 10 years than to win 3 flags in 10 years which would end the clubs existance.I'd rather have a cold than cancer but what does that have to do with anything. bthe fact is we are now in a position of financial security thanks largely to Eddie no doubt. Survival isn't an issue and even if it was we'd be underwritten by the AFL. As it is our great stadium deal etc are being erroded by the AFL and it's version of equalisation. We are are footy club. Surivivcal is assured. we hqavce a sole purpose of winnikng flags at this point. Not to better the community, not to set standards for little Johnny to follow in his life but to win at footy. Even if you disagree with that can you really say we don't need flag to significantly better achieve all of the other things you might consider more important or even just relevant?The influence the president has on the on-field performance is minimal at the most. I have always upheld this. Now you can reshuffle the coaching deck as much as you want, but the club needs stability.It has as much stability as any club. The president is responsible for the coach, the drafting and trading staff. All have failed to deliver. We have played in 2 finals series in 7 completed seasons of Eddie and 6 of Malthouse. In Eddie’s time we have had the best draft picks of any club probably in the history of the AFL outside of targeted assistance and maybe even including that. The fact we do not have the best list in the AFL is abject failure of the football department. Real Madrid have arguably the most talented group of soccer players in the world. They have had something like 3 managers in 6 months due to the chairmans desire to win trophies not being fulfilled. This is what I call counter-productive.We are not in that situation. We are in our situation. I am not suggesting anything remotely extreme. I have been a supporter of Eddie for a long time. I was wrapt when he took over and I have supported him since. A few things in more recent times have bothered me. I think he may have run his race and it might be time for change. If he stays another year I won’t exactly shed a tear but if he goes it won’t be such a bad thing either. The reality is I think he has a foot out the door already anyway and he’ll be gone by the next election. I’d love to send him off with a flag and stick it up everyone that gets on his case.

Jabso
9 Aug 2006, 23:44
Ok my point about the flag was a bit stupid but I was trying to say that if we blow as much cash as possible on winning the flag (which is impossible to do anyway), win the flag, repeat this but with varied results each year (i.e. not win the flag) and in 10 years time find ourselves in trouble, and who knows what the AFL's stance towards equalisation and all that is then.

Either way I think the president has very little effect on the on-field results, and if they do, they are only a part of a committee that makes those decisions.

At the end of the day flags are all that matters (besides existance), however for the presidents, the CEOs and so on, noone remembers how many flags they "won" by writing cheques, signing deals, attending meetings.

How many flags did Jack Elliot 'win', does anyone even remember who the president was of Essendon's 2000 team and how many flags he 'won'.

Everyone knows how Jock McHale and Barrassi won flags, but who were the coffers? Besides John Wren?

MarkT
10 Aug 2006, 11:33
Most of our major sponsorship is tied in for 5 years. The TV deal is tied in for 5 years. The salary cap has been determined. It would be pretty hard for us to blow it that badly in 5 years. After that then all bets are off but at the end of the day we have a huge supporter base as well as the comfort that AFL would not walk away from us no matter what. We can afford to put everything we have and can get our hands on into winning premierships right now. If finances are an issue then think about what a flag would do for us financially. If we won a flag we make $1m in October alone.

MACDAICOS
10 Aug 2006, 11:35
Most of our major sponsorship is tied in for 5 years. The TV deal is tied in for 5 years. The salary cap has been determined. It would be pretty hard for us to blow it that badly in 5 years. After that then all bets are off but at the end of the day we have a huge supporter base as well as the comfort that AFL would not walk away from us no matter what. We can afford to put everything we have and can get our hands on into winning premierships right now. If finances are an issue then think about what a flag would do for us financially. If we won a flag we make $1m in October alone.
I'd buy the "COLLINGWOOD PREMIERS 2006" DVD......MAN!!!!! I got goose bumps when I wrote that.........