View Full Version : Benefits of a top 4 finish

Kenny_01
8 Aug 2006, 00:47
Not saying we will finish top 4 because it is really unlikely that we will... but the advantage of finishing top 4 is huge while WC are in the top 2.

For example, if you finish 3rd, you play in a derby for a chance to host a prelim. Even if you lose, get another game at Subi to get in prelim.

The big advantage though is finishing 4th. Play at Adelaide at AAMI. Win, you host a prelim to get into the GF. Lose, and you get a game at Subi which if you win, you play a derby prelim final. So again, 2 home finals.

Anyway, the point of this is if we can finish in the top 4 over the next season or two while WC are top 2.... it is huge in terms of getting the chance of getting to the GF.

dominguez
8 Aug 2006, 00:50
If we beat the crows top 4 becomes a real possibility. If we lose this week it is highly unlikely we'll finish 4th.

Freo Shark
8 Aug 2006, 09:54
If we can contiune to win then we have a great chance to win a final and a home onwe at that. A Chance to fix our only finals result and at the same time scare a few Vics.

We can win; we can play good footy; the players need to realise this and keep the intensity.

But lets not count our chickens yet guys lets get to the finals first !!!

Kapow!!!
8 Aug 2006, 11:05
If we can contiune to win then we have a great chance to win a final and a home onwe at that. A Chance to fix our only finals result and at the same time scare a few Vics.

We can win; we can play good footy; the players need to realise this and keep the intensity.

Agreed with all the above sentiments

janiek
8 Aug 2006, 15:31

i know we shouldn't- but the fantasy of top four & the squawking we'd get from the chooks up the road is just such a delicious prospect - i can't help thinking how tasty that would be :D

mikben
8 Aug 2006, 15:42
i know we shouldn't- but the fantasy of top four & the squawking we'd get from the chooks up the road is just such a delicious prospect - i can't help thinking how tasty that would be :D

I think you will win the GF......

janiek
8 Aug 2006, 15:48

we can all dare to dream mikben :D

stylor
8 Aug 2006, 16:32

Attempted jinx?

Nah, I reckon your mob will win the GF! :)

The thought of a derby final is pretty juicy though isn't it? I'm trying to force myself into thinking of only making the finals at this point though, we're not there yet!

Quinz
10 Aug 2006, 15:03
Would love to have a derby final. The atmosphere in perth would be amazing. Especially if we won ;)

Hopefully the result won't be as lopsided as the showdown final last year if it happens.

dugrene
10 Aug 2006, 16:19
At this stage I'm just hoping to make the 8.
The ghosts of '04 & '05 still rear their ugly faces as the end of '06 approaches even though I believe we are a better team this year in a lot of ways.

Over the last 5 weeks CC has managed to shut the buzzards up, but they are still there and still circling.

Even though we have been white hot for a few quarters recently we can still drop the bundle. Geelong no doubt can sense a chance all we need is the Saints to win this week and we keep our buffer.
Or we win. Which is the prefered option.

Our percentage could yet be our downfall.

But a top four finish would be the cake before the icing goes on.

Cassius_Clay
10 Aug 2006, 16:24
Make the 8 first before talking about top 4 :rolleyes:

kuepper
10 Aug 2006, 18:58
Make the 8 first before talking about top 4 :rolleyes:
You could try beating us occasionally, and maybe earn some respect for your opinon - in the interim you could fk off and smoke my pole.

wires on fire.
10 Aug 2006, 19:01
yeh i wouldnt get too far ahead of yourselves, just make the finals first, take care of the other stuff later.

Kenny_01
10 Aug 2006, 19:23
Note the first sentence of this thread :rolleyes:

patsmith
10 Aug 2006, 19:35
Having both WA teams in the top 4 (and therefore premiership contention) would be incredible. It would also invigorate the whole stadium issue. Can you imagine trying to get tickets to a derby PF if you were the away team?

Ripper
10 Aug 2006, 19:44
Having both WA teams in the top 4 (and therefore premiership contention) would be incredible. It would also invigorate the whole stadium issue. Can you imagine trying to get tickets to a derby PF if you were the away team?

It will be hard for WC to fit their membership into 22631 seats as well.

dugrene
12 Aug 2006, 02:33
We aren't guarunteed an 8th spot yet, but tonight's (friday) result does our chance of making the top 4, no harm.

Freo1995
12 Aug 2006, 10:03

I think acquiring tix to a derby PF, or any final for that matter, is not relevant to the home & away season.
Eagles/docker members may have first priority,( first in best dressed) and leftover tix ( if any) go on sale to the general public.
So basically, trying to acquire tix for the: "away team" is irrelevant in the finals.

Dr Ralph Dagg
12 Aug 2006, 12:33
Bloody hell, there are some really miserable people who won't let Docker's fans dream. That's the whole point of being a Docker's fan. Dreaming, and then dashed dreams. You can't dash your dreams if you didn't have your dreams in the first place. :D

Anyway ... benefits of a top 4 finish.

1. Credibility from the consistency
2. Self belief within the club
3. Relief from all the carp artists knocking the club.
4. The chance at winning a qualifying final and making a prelim. Anything is possible from there. If we got to the top 4 we wouldn't be limping in.