View Full Version : 426
Deestroy
23 Aug 2006, 21:43
If i run into Neita I'm gonna pull out the crow bar and smash his knee caps in... hmm, is that going to far to get 426 a game. An ethical dilema that I cannot decide. Can someone help me out with this problem?
You may want to then go after Dunn, Jamar and Holland (who ND has a past of putting him forward), only then will 426 get a full game at FF.
goal sneak
23 Aug 2006, 21:44
I'm gonna be a busy boy tonight.
AllStar7
23 Aug 2006, 22:02
I'm gonna be a busy boy tonight.
Stay the hell away from our fit players dude!
426 gets injured enough for all of them.
And just BTW, if 426 does play this week, it will be the first time ever that both my adopted players get a game. Yippee :D
Merged YC's "426 Followers - Must Read" thread with this one.
I love 426 as much as anyone, but let's keep 426-related stuff in here.
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 01:44
What a party spoiler Marns.
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 13:09
Todays the day of truth, whos excited?
Pipefitter
24 Aug 2006, 13:54
He'll be named as an emergency.
Deestroy
24 Aug 2006, 14:11
He'll be named as an emergency.
At best on an extended bench.
Daniel138
24 Aug 2006, 14:33
At best on an extended bench.
I didn't think they named extended benches for a Saturday Game.
I reckon he will be named as an emergency, and Rivers, Green and Neitz to be named in the 22, with a late withdrawel or 2 before the game
Deestroy
24 Aug 2006, 14:37
I reckon he will be named as an emergency, and Rivers, Green and Neitz to be named in the 22, with a late withdrawel or 2 before the game
Oh right, we're playing on Saturday... silly me.
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 15:46
I think you'll be right, Neitz will be named but why risk him when hes missed the last 2 finals series?
goal sneak
24 Aug 2006, 17:02
Not long now. What time are the teams announced?
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 17:56
About 6 or 7, so a couple more hours yet.
I just hope 426 plays so the number i got printed on my mates melbourne jumper a few months back sticks out on the day!!!
And all you true 426 fans will spot him from a mile away.
Wish he played V carlton... altho i was obviously happy with the carlton result, lol.
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 18:34
We need some sort of chant, whenever he gets the ball.
Similar to the Ooooozzzee....
goal sneak
24 Aug 2006, 22:32
Disappointing isn't it. I really thought he would be in this week. Hears to hope that he is wearing the Red and Blue with a medal around his neck in about 4 to 6 weeks.
Bartram_Class
24 Aug 2006, 23:08
Disappointing isn't it. I really thought he would be in this week. Hears to hope that he is wearing the Red and Blue with a medal around his neck in about 4 to 6 weeks.
Its still more than a 50/50 shot that he will be lining up in the Red and Blue this week, Neita wont get up.
master bate
25 Aug 2006, 18:47
If Neitz was out, 426 would come in so surely he would captain right!!
Deestroy
25 Aug 2006, 19:09
Moved master bate's post into the 426 thread
If Neitz was out, 426 would come in so surely he would captain right!!
426 has no need for such labels, it wouldn't be fair on other captains trying to live in his shadow.
AllStar7
25 Aug 2006, 19:41
I have a strong gut feeling that the great 426 will play tomorrow.
So prepare yourselves people, and if you didn't have a reason to drag yourselves to Geelong, well now you do.
If he does play, I expect big things :thumbsu:
I dunno if you guys are taking the mickey, or genuinely rate the guy, but Nick's a gun bloke, I really hope he makes it. Dutchy Holland can't have too long left in the game, I reckon Smith would be worth holding on to as a long term replacement for him or Neitz.
AllStar7
26 Aug 2006, 11:32
I dunno if you guys are taking the mickey, or genuinely rate the guy.
426 is our god! :D
And he will play today.... I have no doubt about it.
Sylvia Saint
26 Aug 2006, 12:44
I have suspicions that Neitz WILL miss.....
Which means....
Sylvia will probably replace him. Sorry for getting your hopes up fellow members of the 426 fanclub!
AllStar7
27 Aug 2006, 01:49
While I know we all joke about 426 and his sublime talents, he should have played ahead of Sylvia.
At least he would have helped with the marking. Sylvia is seriously just lazy and selfish.
426 was robbed by the selectors, and he would have made a difference!
Supermercado
27 Aug 2006, 02:34
He's officially done for now. If he couldn't get a game today he's never going to get one.
Bartram_Class
27 Aug 2006, 15:00
You'd have to think hes finished, he should have played yesterday, Sylvia was hopeless most of the time when we needed a marking forward.
Ah well, it was fun while it lasted.
goDees22
27 Aug 2006, 19:32
4 goals today. If Neitz doesn't get up for next week, 426 is a definite starter, i'd put my left nut on that. But i'd say neita is a 95% chance.
ICanDressMyself
28 Aug 2006, 22:55
This thread is a sad pathetic attempt at a Van Berlo like thread.
:thumbsd: Poor form.
*giggle* 128 posts LOL :p
davey_magik
28 Aug 2006, 22:57
This thread is a sad pathetic attempt at a Van Berlo like thread.
:thumbsd: Poor form.
*giggle* 128 posts LOL :p
BLASPHEMOR!
ICanDressMyself
28 Aug 2006, 23:00
BLASPHEMOR!
Um... yes...
Van Berlo > All
davey_magik
28 Aug 2006, 23:13
Um... yes...
Van Berlo > All
426 > Space, time and matter > Van Berlo
ICanDressMyself
28 Aug 2006, 23:16
426 > Space, time and matter > Van Berlo
I wouldn't go to sleep tonight if I were you.
Bartram_Class
28 Aug 2006, 23:19
I wouldn't go to sleep tonight if I were you.
Let me guess, because VB is going to come and find me?
Oooooo...i'm scared. :thumbsd:
ICanDressMyself
28 Aug 2006, 23:21
Let me guess, because VB is going to come and find me?
Oooooo...i'm scared. :thumbsd:
Alright, but don't say I didn't warn you.
Supermercado
28 Aug 2006, 23:37
I'm over this gimmick. The moment somebody made an honest (and seemingly irony free) suggestion in another thread that he's in contention with Miller to be our CHF for the finals was when it jumped the shark.
Cult heroes are usually only cult heroes for one reason. And it's not because they're any good. Which explains my love for Darren Kowal.
Slander
28 Aug 2006, 23:43
Alright, but don't say I didn't warn you.
426 is Van Berlo's father
and mother.
Bartram_Class
9 Sep 2006, 21:23
The Russian out, 426 in?
AllStar7
10 Sep 2006, 23:38
The Russian out, 426 in?
Well, we all said he was too good to waste... and that we're keeping him for finals.
As much as I'd like to joke and say he'll make us win the flag, I actually don't think he will play, and if he does, he'll probably get injured just looking at Sandilands.
Our ruck stocks are nearly as healthy as a St.Kilda prostitute :o
Theseventhhamster
11 Sep 2006, 09:18
Well, we all said he was too good to waste... and that we're keeping him for finals.
As much as I'd like to joke and say he'll make us win the flag, I actually don't think he will play, and if he does, he'll probably get injured just looking at Sandilands.
Our ruck stocks are nearly as healthy as a St.Kilda prostitute :o
Back up stocks that is.
Bartram_Class
11 Sep 2006, 09:53
It would be a fair game to make his long-awaited return in...
Supermercado
11 Sep 2006, 12:52
Use him as the football equivalent of a suicide bomber. Just go in and start decking people. Pavlich *smack*, Farmer *smack*, McManus *cop this hippy* etc.. Who cares how long he gets rubbed out for?
AllStar7
11 Sep 2006, 13:21
Use him as the football equivalent of a suicide bomber. Just go in and start decking people. Pavlich *smack*, Farmer *smack*, McManus *cop this hippy* etc.. Who cares how long he gets rubbed out for?
He'll break his leg coming off the bench.
Farmer will sneeze near him and he'll break his hand also.
:o
Out of the wilderness
1:03:01 PM Mon 11 September, 2006
Andrew Wu
Sportal for afl.com.au
Unheralded ruckman Nicholas Smith has loomed as the major beneficiary of Mark Jamar's untimely injury and could be on the verge of playing his first senior game in three years this Friday night against Fremantle at Subiaco Oval.
With third ruckman Paul Johnson sidelined with a shoulder injury, Smith, who has booted 26 goals from 19 games in the VFL playing as a ruckman/forward for Sandringham this season, could be thrown into the Subiaco cauldron for just his fourth AFL game.
While the Melbourne match committee has not yet met to discuss the team for this Friday night's knock-out final, ruckman Jeff White said he was confident Smith would get the job done should he get the nod.
"I've been watching him closely down at Sandy and he's been performing really well in the ruck and up forward. He's got a lot of respect from the players, a lot of respect from me and definitely we'd trust him 100 percent," said White on Monday morning.
"He's been playing really good football down at Sandringham and been the number one ruckman down there. He was pretty energetic out there at training."
"He's had a great year. You just never know when the opportunity comes about. At the start of the year, Ben Holland was struggling with form and stuff like that, got in, got his opportunity he's our full-back now. You just never know when the opportunities can come up."
The loss of Jamar is a huge blow for White and the Demons, who must find a way to get on top of 211cm Docker Adam Sandilands.
"It's always a tough battle particularly around the ground, he's so hard to match up against," White said.
"I'm going to have to look after my recovery this week and make sure I do my homework and watch his video from last week and the last time I played him."
"They (Jamar's replacement) just need to come in and help me out and we need to work together and do our homework on the opposition ruckman and do what Mark's done really well this year."
Injured defender Matthew Whelan had his right arm in a sling and was restricted to walking laps while his teammates trained, but is expected to be available for the preliminary final should the Demons win in Perth.
The Demons will fly over to Perth on Wednesday and train on Subiaco Oval on Thursday morning.
He's coming...
master bate
11 Sep 2006, 18:41
Didn't know White was the selection committee Marns but I hope he comes in
Deestroy
11 Sep 2006, 21:40
426 Mania in the media this week!!
The Age (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Smith-tipped-to-step-up-for-Demons/2006/09/11/1157826867137.html)
AFL.com (http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=296842)
ABC Sport (http://www.abc.net.au/sport/content/200609/s1738129.htm)
Supermercado
12 Sep 2006, 12:25
Not for the suggestion of Nicholson being a chance (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20395307%5E20322,00.html)
Theseventhhamster
12 Sep 2006, 15:55
SEN says he is doing ruck work with White right now!
AllStar7
12 Sep 2006, 15:58
Not for the suggestion of Nicholson being a chance (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20395307%5E20322,00.html)
I've got the gun ready. If Nicho is named, I'm pulling the trigger.
It would be less painful to die, than watch Nicho compete in the ruck... again :o
It's OK guys, our man is rising like the sun. You can't stop it.
Deestroy
12 Sep 2006, 19:03
As mentioned the reports on SEN were 426 and White spent a lot of time at training doing ruckwork. The man will play!
Theseventhhamster
12 Sep 2006, 21:59
It's a pitty I'll have to wear my 426 jumper at a pub instead of at the game. :(
Bartram_Class
12 Sep 2006, 22:44
Wear it with pride hamster.
Supermercado
13 Sep 2006, 12:25
How about a mention for the proto-426 Leigh Newton?
Number32
13 Sep 2006, 16:06
According to SEN Nick Smith is on the plane to perth as part of a 25 man squad, at last Smithy is looking like his going to be given his chance.......any thoughts, im predicting this board is going to be in raptures haha.
Bartram_Class
13 Sep 2006, 17:12
Get someone to follow him when he touches down in Perth, i want constant updates on his well being, knowing his luck.
Wrecker45
13 Sep 2006, 18:12
I'd say he'd almost certainly get suspended anywhere from 4 2 6 weeks.
goal sneak
13 Sep 2006, 18:27
They should have flown the rest of the team on a seperate plane. Knowing 426's luck the plane will crash in the great australian bight.
Merged thread 'Nick Smith on the plane to perth' with the Shrine to our great one.
Theseventhhamster
13 Sep 2006, 20:59
Wear it with pride hamster.
I'm afraid to put it on, I might do my back or crack a rib.
Bartram_Class
13 Sep 2006, 21:33
It would all be worth it.
melbournemartin
13 Sep 2006, 21:36
he probably got arrested on the plane by 4 to 6 guards for a terrorist threat.
AllStar7
13 Sep 2006, 21:43
They should have flown the rest of the team on a seperate plane. Knowing 426's luck the plane will crash in the great australian bight.
:D
I never thought I'd be disappointed to have my man, the one I have been gunning for all year, in the side... but his timing is terrible. We can't afford for him to suck on Friday.
Come on 426, make me proud. I adpoted you FFS! :o ;)
Klyntonius
14 Sep 2006, 00:22
Would it be harsh to wish injury on the big Russian?
Nice to see the power of negativity eventually works! ;) Go 426!!
Bartram_Class
14 Sep 2006, 00:27
Nice to see the power of negativity eventually works! ;) Go 426!!
What can i say :thumbsu:
ThePope
14 Sep 2006, 03:18
I'm normally a very logical maths and stats guy, but on Friday night you'll find out that
211 >>>> 426
Bartram_Class
14 Sep 2006, 10:02
I think you'll find nothing > 426.
However, 426 > Everything.
goDees22
14 Sep 2006, 19:02
he only has to play for 20 minutes in the ruck, surely he can't stuff up too badly
demonfire
14 Sep 2006, 19:10
Its Official!!
Smith And Brown In And Whelan And Jamar Out!
426 Will Finally Play!!
Bartram_Class
14 Sep 2006, 19:21
Its Official!!
426 Will Finally Play!!
Says who?
Im too excited, i need sources :D
Its Official!!
426 Will Finally Play!!
*faints*
Bartram_Class
14 Sep 2006, 19:24
This cant be true, we've waited 3 long years for this moment...
Is this what ecstatic is?
Headless
14 Sep 2006, 19:26
Whoop whoop whoop!
Smith for Brownlow! :p
goal sneak
14 Sep 2006, 19:27
**** Yeah
StingaArmstrong
14 Sep 2006, 19:31
The day of reckoning has arrived...
All hail 426!!!
Headless
14 Sep 2006, 19:34
Remember the day everybody - Thursday, September 14th, 2006. :D
AllStar7
14 Sep 2006, 19:54
OH MY GOD! :eek: :eek: :eek:
Excuse me while I go change my underpants :D
melbournemartin
14 Sep 2006, 19:59
underpants? man i needa change my underpants, jeans, shirt, jumper, hat and repaint all the walls.
Mr Hard Ball Get
14 Sep 2006, 22:03
gee thats not hard, if u could bet id put everything on 4 2 6 goals at $1.01, provided he makes it to the ground without injury,
does anyone know if hes had his apendix out, cos that could always happen.
melbournemartin
14 Sep 2006, 22:06
has he had the chicken pox?
Bartram_Class
14 Sep 2006, 22:08
Who cares, he'll kick a bag.
Changed name of thread from "How many goals will he kick?" to "How many goals will He kick?" The Man shall receive the respect He deserves.
Also merged with 426 thread.
melbournemartin
15 Sep 2006, 00:06
Lynch > 426
In terms of being less than 426 then yes, Lynch is greater at being less than 426.
Good pickup melbournemartin. What he/she (?) meant to say was:
Lynch >< 426
StingaArmstrong
15 Sep 2006, 07:40
I'm just hoping one of the commentators call Him 426!
goal sneak
15 Sep 2006, 10:36
The day has arrived!!
Mark this one in the history books.
"September 15 2006 shall live in infamy."
Bartram_Class
15 Sep 2006, 12:43
September 11 will be remembered for hundreds of years, September 15 will be remembered for thousands of years.
Yello Mit
16 Sep 2006, 01:38
1 kick, 2 handballs, 3 hitouts, 1 free against
Umm...
Supermercado
16 Sep 2006, 01:44
Yeah. We really expected him to kick 10, win the Brownlow and run third in the Melbourne Cup.
Bartram_Class
16 Sep 2006, 01:50
Small steps first, he'll be cutting it up for Frankston in the VFL next year.
In all honesty, he wasnt all that bad, he was badly beaten in the ruck but so was White. One nice tap to Yze for a goal, and one beautiful tap down into TJ's mits. I was on my feet when he went for the left foot snap in the first, was expecting it to sail through post high, alas it was not to be.
Deestroy
16 Sep 2006, 14:37
Pretty much as expected. Hopefully if we keep him next year he will go back to the forward line at Sandy.
demonfire
18 Sep 2006, 01:48
i think he definitely deserves another year. in all seriousness he worked really hard after all those bloody injuries and actually made our side. was quiet but did a couple of nice things and didnt look too out of place. white wasnt a whole lot better, and with the couple of bloody minutes game time he got its hard to judge, as well as going against the tallest ruck in the league after 3 years... play him against stkilda and see what he does...
goal sneak
18 Sep 2006, 10:40
In all seriousness, does anyone think that he has the potential to be a senior player?
In all seriousness, does anyone think that he has the potential to be a senior player?Not anyone in a position of power at the MFC, obviously. Let the grieving begin.
Bartram_Class
16 Oct 2006, 19:28
I cant believe hes gone, at least he went out on a high.....
Is he any chance to get redrafted by another club?
stickman11
16 Oct 2006, 19:52
I cant believe hes gone, at least he went out on a high.....
Is he any chance to get redrafted by another club?
Meanwhile, we'll continue to recruit onballers. Love to see him go elsewhere and kick our sad sorry behinds.
Yello Mit
16 Oct 2006, 21:58
Just wondering two things.
One, why this thread about a guy who played a measly 4 games?
Two, where did the nickname 426 come from?
Deestroy
16 Oct 2006, 22:01
Just wondering two things.
One, why this thread about a guy who played a measly 4 games?
Two, where did the nickname 426 come from?
Try the first post of the thread.
raikkonen
16 Oct 2006, 22:09
It goes without saying: Van Berlo>426 :)
bringbackschwarter5
16 Oct 2006, 22:54
It goes without saying: Van Berlo>426 :)
Where's Van Berlo's sticky mate, you would love to have 426 after Van Berlo put Biglands out for a year
raikkonen
16 Oct 2006, 23:15
Where's Van Berlo's sticky mate, you would love to have 426 after Van Berlo put Biglands out for a year
So how many posts has '426' got? He doesnt even play for you anymore, your obsession should be over.