View Full Version : Guess who?

Coin_Toss
9 Aug 2006, 18:48
http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/files/bob_rose_statue5_small.jpg

Found this picture over at Nicks...

Bob Rose is underneath the blue tarpaulin. The unvieling is this Friday.

MagpieWayne
9 Aug 2006, 18:52
Whats happening and why does it involve bob rose.

Coin_Toss
9 Aug 2006, 18:55
Whats happening and why does it involve bob rose.

It's a statue in his honour. Apparently the players and supporters will get some kind of boldness walking past it.

MagpieWayne
9 Aug 2006, 19:02
They overdo the bob rose thing a bit dont they.

Coin_Toss
9 Aug 2006, 19:07

No, not really. He devoted most of his life to Collingwood.

eddiesmith
9 Aug 2006, 19:15
Why? He is arguably our greatest ever player, former coach, president? done it all, why cant we dedicate a statue to him?

gezza78
9 Aug 2006, 19:26

Geez,thats a bit harsh mate!

Absolute Legend of the game & a great Collingwood Family.

Deserves the recogntion I reckon :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
9 Aug 2006, 19:52

Is the only man standing in Nathan Buckley's way as the greatest Collingwood player of all time, and as he has passed more than 3 years ago, I think it's fair to say it is fair from that. As Coin Toss said, he devoted his life to the club.

MagpieWayne
9 Aug 2006, 20:44
Why? He is arguably our greatest ever player, former coach, president? done it all, why cant we dedicate a statue to him?

He didnt do it all as he didnt coach us to a flag.

I never saw bob play but i reckon daics, pants and gav brown would have been just as good or greater than bob as a player, daics especially.

Im sick of certain families or individuals at collingwood being shoved down our throat on a daily basis.

The 'nathan buckley is our greatest players ever' is another example.

He wouldnt be in my top 5 best players i have seen in my lifetime.

Excellent player but the greatest.

Magpie Phil
9 Aug 2006, 22:41

I never saw bob play but i reckon daics, pants and gav brown would have been just as good or greater than bob as a player, daics especially.

Im sick of certain families or individuals at collingwood being shoved down our throat on a daily basis.

PLEASE :thumbsd:

Jimmy Gwilt
9 Aug 2006, 22:42

Having a statue in his honour is a brilliant idea;)

Murray
9 Aug 2006, 23:10
Nope

MagpieWayne
9 Aug 2006, 23:16
His wife and son think we do.

PC-04
9 Aug 2006, 23:32

And your top 5 is......?

Oh Furious One
9 Aug 2006, 23:44

Wow. You sir, are an idiot.

Jabso
9 Aug 2006, 23:51
If you could make 3 statues that embody Collingwood what would it be:
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose
- Syd and Gordon Coventry - symbolises the family team, and they were both great players. Syd probably our greatest leader (probably even greatest player) and Gordon a legend of the game.
- Jock McHale - the first real pro footy coach

Dazman
10 Aug 2006, 00:32
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose
- Syd and Gordon Coventry - symbolises the family team, and they were both great players. Syd probably our greatest leader (probably even greatest player) and Gordon a legend of the game.

Thats a great idea. Would love to see a series of statues that recognise some greats of the club

King Woodie
10 Aug 2006, 09:16

I love that - you admit that you never saw him play, and then proceed to rate him outside the top five and behind the likes of Brown, Pants, Daics, etc. BUT YOU NEVER SAW HIM PLAY!!!! Don't you think you should rely on the judgement of people who DID see him play and also saw the other players named??? How can you presume to rate him if you never saw him play?

vinnie_vegas69
10 Aug 2006, 10:47
Do the Bulldogs overdo the EJ Whitten thing?

MACDAICOS
10 Aug 2006, 10:56

You sir are a fool of the highest order........Collingwood F.C dosent need your kind............

MagpieWayne
10 Aug 2006, 10:59
I love that - you admit that you never saw him play, and then proceed to rate him outside the top five and behind the likes of Brown, Pants, Daics, etc. BUT YOU NEVER SAW HIM PLAY!!!! Don't you think you should rely on the judgement of people who DID see him play and also saw the other players named??? How can you presume to rate him if you never saw him play?

Well i was born decades after he finished playing and no i dont rely on the judgement of others to form my opinion on this.

There is no way in a million years he was as good as daics.

People look at collingwood through rose-colored glasses.

End the hero worshipping and ego stroking and get on with winning games.

MagpieWayne
10 Aug 2006, 11:03
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose

Daicos, tony shaw, pants, browny should all be immortalised in bronze out the front of the lexus,emirates,mcdonalds,crazyjohns centre.

morax
10 Aug 2006, 11:37
Daicos, tony shaw, pants, browny should all be immortalised in bronze out the front of the lexus,emirates,mcdonalds,crazyjohns centre.
Wayne, this isn't about commercialism

People who have seen all the players you have mentioned consider Rose the greatest. If Collingwood wish to immortalize Rose in this way then show a little respect even if you disagree.

Lonie_from_50
10 Aug 2006, 12:25

Laughable...you sir are an idiot.

jerry springer
10 Aug 2006, 12:30

Agree with this:thumbsu:

Nardz
10 Aug 2006, 14:13
Well i was born decades after he finished playing and no i dont rely on the judgement of others to form my opinion on this.

WTF does rose colored glasses have to do with comparing plays from the SAME CLUB?

I cant comment on daics etc vs rose, as i never saw rose play. As many other have stated unless you've seen Rose play then you can't comment either.
You don't wanna accept other's judgement, yet you want to accept your own when you havent even seen him play?

Cassius_Clay
10 Aug 2006, 14:51

You say you never saw him play however you say that those players would be just as good or even greater than Rose?

Haha, you make me laugh.

Murray
10 Aug 2006, 15:39

But you celebrate
* Our Black and White jumper
* Our previous flags

Or do you think they just fell out of the sky one day?

GeneralDisarray
10 Aug 2006, 15:43

The club has money coming out of it's arse so we can afford to do it. Could probably do one for every player from Buckley down to Kinnear.

Daicosian
10 Aug 2006, 15:55

What an imposing figure to have out the front - hat and trenchcoat, standing out front of the Lexus centre overseeing proceedings. :thumbsu:

My dad grew up in Clifton Hill ( born in 1925 ), and all his school games were played at Victoria Park, and he says the man was a top bloke and always had the time to say gidday to the kids and encourage them. He and Ted Whitten were always looking out for future players for the clubs they bled for.

MACDAICOS
10 Aug 2006, 16:26
What an imposing figure to have out the front - hat and trenchcoat, standing out front of the Lexus centre overseeing proceedings. :thumbsu:

My dad grew up in Clifton Hill ( born in 1925 ), and all his school games were played at Victoria Park, and he says the man was a top bloke and always had the time to say gidday to the kids and encourage them. He and Ted Whitten were always looking out for future players for the clubs they bled for.
Legend - 16 Grand Finals, 8 premierships......He's players bleed and would kill for him......Not 1 player but the "entire team"......Nuff said.

King Woodie
11 Aug 2006, 11:04

What do you base your judgement on then? You have quite obviously judged him if you say he was not in your top five... You can't say he ISN't the best ever to have played, if all the players you are putting in that category are only those who have played when you watched them...

Oh Furious One
11 Aug 2006, 17:41
MagpieWayne should perish into the open sea and never return.