View Full Version : Carolyn Wilson article on Mcleod
NikkiNoo
10 Aug 2006, 11:13
nice article from Carolyn on Andrew in the age here (http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/08/09/1154802961049.html)
Mad Dog
10 Aug 2006, 11:48
One of Caro's more balanced and accurate pieces.
Hopefully the doomsayers that want to beat up the Tyson/Andy thing take some note - because her description was exactly as I've always understood it.
Water. Ducks. Back.
BTW - $10 a goal !....:eek: ..........I could have just played the first quarter in the Under 8's and then gone down the shop !....:D
absolutezero
10 Aug 2006, 11:50
We've got the father-son thing all worked out now don't we for McLeod's boy?
Dandy_GO
10 Aug 2006, 12:04
I bloody hope so! We'd be in trouble if The Highlander went to another club!
PrideOf
10 Aug 2006, 12:16
The AFL's got a father-son rule review scheduled for 12 years time. And in no way does it co-incide with Connor McLeod's 18th birthday.
Mad Dog
10 Aug 2006, 12:19
The AFL's got a father-son rule review scheduled for 12 years time. And in no way does it co-incide with Connor McLeod's 18th birthday.
The AFL will probably invoke the "he nearly played for us" rule.........Heave Ho !.......:eek: :eek:
Stiffy_18
10 Aug 2006, 12:23
The only way they can pinch him away from us is to get rid off the FS rule altogether, which is not out of the question.
By the time Bunji hangs them up, he would have played over 300 games for us and if his kid doesn't qualify then, who the **** would :eek:
Dandy_GO
10 Aug 2006, 12:26
The AFL will probably invoke the "he nearly played for us" rule.........Heave Ho !.......:eek: :eek:
I expect they'd word it as "THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE" in this particular scenario.
PrideOf
10 Aug 2006, 12:42
Or the 'Friends of Tyson Edwards' clause.
knackers27
10 Aug 2006, 12:44
Good to see Macca reckons that his most recent contract with the AFC won't be his last :)
arrowman
10 Aug 2006, 13:20
Good article - some people on BF are far too harsh on Caro, but then again some of them think Rex Hunt is a good football caller.
Adelaide’s hierarchy has twice called the two men in to discuss the problem, a situation the players have insisted will not affect the club or the team. "My best mates are not at the club," said McLeod.
"They’ve always been the guys I grew up with, they guys I first played footy with and have known me all my life. They’re the ones who put me in my place."Key point, that. Just like you don't choose your relatives, you don't choose your teammates (or your workmates, in any workplace). Sure it'd be great if everyone was best mates, but let's face it - thrown in with a basically random group of 40 blokes, not every one of them is going to be your best mate.
The key is to work together and be grown up enough to not let any personal stuff get in the way. Which is what seems to be happening here.
I have to say though, and it might be none of my business - but - ladies (the wives)! FFS, why are you letting your lives get so screwed over by what other people (Hewitt/Clijsters) have done with theirs?! Reality check on Aisle 3 please!
But McLeod does confirm that his friendship with Hewitt is finished and that chapter of his life closed.
"I don’t speak to him," he said.
At the end of a disappointing 2004 season, McLeod was living in Hewitt’s West Lakes mansion, estranged from Rachael and the couple’s two young children, Connor and Madison.
In the summer of 2004-05 he was frequently spotted in Hewitt’s Ferrari, with the pair A-list guests at elite sporting events and McLeod Hewitt’s guest at the 2005 Australian Open.
McLeod admits that not only had he lost the hunger for football but also that his life was turning into a soap opera. "I was lost," he said this week. "They were dark days. It certainly changed me as a person and helped me grow as a person.I always thought Macca and Ley Ley were a mismatch. Hanging out at the "West Lakes Mansion" with a guy whose own emotional maturity led him to ditch his fiancee and then marry someone else just months later was, I'm guessing, not the greatest enviornment for a guy who's dealing with marital issues. I'm glad Macca has pulled out of it.
Jars458
10 Aug 2006, 13:23
I have to say though, and it might be none of my business - but - ladies (the wives)! FFS, why are you letting your lives get so screwed over by what other people (Hewitt/Clijsters) have done with theirs?! Reality check on Aisle 3 please!
Agree with everything esle you say but my understanding is that McLeod was invited to teh wedding and Rachael wasn't. That's just not on and you can see why Andrew would have declined the invitation.
Not sure why Mrs Edwards is upset that Rachael stayed loyal to Kim? THese are the things we will never know.
crows98
10 Aug 2006, 13:25
^^^^^^^ Well said Arrowman^^^^^^:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
You sure she wrote it? My guess is that someone else wrote it on her behalf and just added her name on the bi line.
Being serious, it was a very good article by Caro . :confused:
tcinadelaide
10 Aug 2006, 13:30
MADDOG "One of Caro's more balanced and accurate pieces."
indeed MD very rare,normally i use her advertiser articles to wrap my fish heads in.
and,
agree totally arrowman,
in any football team i was involved with "getting on"" with every player to the extent of socializing and being mates just did not happen ,however as a team we realized we had to unite to acheive our goals .
arrowman
10 Aug 2006, 13:40
Agree with everything esle you say but my understanding is that McLeod was invited to teh wedding and Rachael wasn't. That's just not on and you can see why Andrew would have declined the invitation.You're damn straight it was "not on" and a complete lack of class on the part of the Hewitt family.
Not sure why Mrs Edwards is upset that Rachael stayed loyal to Kim? THese are the things we will never know.Well, that's the thing, to me - acknowledging that I don't know all the facts, but if things are as they have been portrayed - Rachael stayed mates with Kym, gets ostracised by the Hewitts as a result (:thumbsd:), Tyson's wife is Bec's buddy, so Rachael and Tyson's wife become estranged to the point where it allegedly affects the relationship between their husbands.
FFS ladies (if that is true), get a life :rolleyes:
PrideOf
10 Aug 2006, 13:41
MADDOG "One of Caro's more balanced and accurate pieces."
indeed MD very rare,normally i use her advertiser articles to wrap my fish heads in.
Um, wrong Wilson? Caro's not in the Ragvertiser.
tcinadelaide
10 Aug 2006, 13:49
Um, wrong Wilson? Caro's not in the Ragvertiser.
cheers,i stand corrected.
Great article about a player who, when he is in full flight, is just about the best going around.
PrideOf
10 Aug 2006, 14:31
cheers,i stand corrected.
That's alright. It's easy to be confused. Wilson, journalist, angry slapper. Could fit both of them. ;)
macca23
10 Aug 2006, 15:05
like you don't choose your relatives, you don't choose your teammates (or your workmates, in any workplace). Sure it'd be great if everyone was best mates, but let's face it - thrown in with a basically random group of 40 blokes, not every one of them is going to be your best mate.
The key is to work together and be grown up enough to not let any personal stuff get in the way. Which is what seems to be happening here.
An extremely accurate summation of how it really is.
I remember well when I played footy that I privately didn't like some of my team-mates as people. The feeling may well have been mutual, for all I knew or cared.
But I respected them as footballers and team-mates, and my on-field relationships with them were no different to my relationships with those team-mates who were my best mates. I just didn't socialize with them.
I would have thought that was the normal situation - not the exception.
Key point, that. Just like you don't choose your relatives, you don't choose your teammates (or your workmates, in any workplace). Sure it'd be great if everyone was best mates, but let's face it - thrown in with a basically random group of 40 blokes, not every one of them is going to be your best mate.
True. But I guess the sad thing for them is that these two were such good friends. Early in their careers they would always nominate each other as their closest friends at the club. It's not like they never hit it off. They did, then something came between them. That has more potential for harm (see Wayne Carey for a far more extreme example).
But obviously this has been ongoing for over 12 months and both have played career best football in that time so thankfully for us both have handled it well.
Whats the odds for him Brownlow wise?
arrowman
10 Aug 2006, 17:22
Whats the odds for him Brownlow wise?Oh, pretty long, I'd say. He's been good this year, very good - but not that good.
AndrewJo
10 Aug 2006, 18:12
nice article from Carolyn on Andrew in the age here (http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/08/09/1154802961049.html)
At last a balanced article. She has written some sound articles and this is one of them. I would like her to write one on the Geelong episode. On White Line Fever she was rather scathing about the "FILTHY email" doing the rounds.
hotspeedo50
10 Aug 2006, 18:54
Its scary how much maccca' son looks like him.. hopefully he has inheritated his dads footy skills
Blue Red and Gold
10 Aug 2006, 21:04
Whats the odds for him Brownlow wise?
81 dollars last night, very tempting.
GoSarge
10 Aug 2006, 21:13
The footballer hopes that any decision on life after football lies at least four years away
4 years = 88 games plus at least 6 this year = 94. Say he plays 80 out of those 94. Add that to 256 and that gets you 336 games. How incredible would that be ?
The Crows Truth
10 Aug 2006, 21:52
81 dollars last night, very tempting.
look for him at juicy odds to run top 3 or 5 ;)
21 for a place.:rolleyes:
I must say a few years ago I thought McLeod was done. A particular incident is ingrained in my mind where he copped what appeared to be a high tackle against the Bulldogs. The umpire called play-on, and McLeod got up, whinged at the umpire and stood there, hands-on-hips, not even taking a step for a good 10 seconds. There have been others aswell that I can't remember. It annoyed me a lot, because McLeod is one of those players who is just mesmerising to watch when in full flight.
Thankfully, he's got back on the horse now, and is once again a delight to watch. He'll never be as good as he once was, but this is one situation where close enough is definitely good enough. Kudos to McLeod, kudos to Neil Craig, and kudos to anyone else who played a part in his revival.
As long as it isnt the State of Origin rule from a few years ago.
The first club you played senior footy for ...damm Maggies :mad:
The Crows Truth
11 Aug 2006, 01:02
21 for a place.:rolleyes:
why the sarcasm old son?
Yes. Good article. Rather than playing with salicious headline stuff in the tabloid Advertiser manner, Wilson gives broadsheet context.
Why do we need Victorian people to tell us the truth about our players?
why the sarcasm old son?
At my rekoning I rekon he is very high in our b+F and we are going to get heaps of votes come brownlow,those odds are to good to ignore.