View Full Version : Brad Scott (1998 - 2006)
Grimreepah
10 Aug 2006, 16:56
1997 Trade (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/103664/default.aspx)
Brisbane Lions gain Brad Scott and draft selection 51 (Scott Ralph)
from Hawthorn for John Barker (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=909893), Nathan Chapman (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=22492416) and draft selection 42 (Matthew Dennis)
http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/1982/bradscott.jpg
Premierships:
B: Chris Johnson (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=293181) Justin Leppitsch Darryl White
HB: Nigel Lappin Chris Scott Marcus Ashcroft
C: Jason Akermanis Michael Voss (c) Robert Copeland
HF: Shaun Hart Jonathan Brown Luke Power
F: Daniel Bradshaw Alastair Lynch Martin Pike
Foll: Clark Keating Simon Black Brad Scott
Int: Beau McDonald Craig McRae Tim Notting
Mal Michael
Coach: Leigh Matthews2002
B: Chris Johnson (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=293181) Chris Scott Justin Leppitsch
HB: Luke Power Mal Michael Marcus Ashcroft
C: Shaun Hart Michael Voss (c) Martin Pike
HF: Des Headland Jonathan Brown Nigel Lappin
F: Jason Akermanis Alastair Lynch Darryl White
Foll: Clark Keating Simon Black Brad Scott
Int: Beau McDonald Craig McRae Tim Notting
Aaron Shattock
Coach: Leigh Matthews
Merrett-Murray Medal results:
1998: =8th (34 votes)
1999: 25th (9 votes)
2000: -
2001: =13th (37 votes)
2002: =3rd (59 votes)
2003: 13th (49 votes)
2004: 17th (32.5 votes)
2005: 21st (20 votes)
2006: 17th (20.5 votes)
Brisbane Lions Team of the Decade:
B: Chris Johnson (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=293181) Mal Michael Darryl White
HB: Marcus Ashcroft Justin Leppitsch Chris Scott
M: Nigel Lappin Michael Voss (c) Brad Scott
HF: Jason Akermanis Jonathan Brown Craig McRae
F: Luke Power Alastair Lynch Daniel Bradshaw
Foll: Clark Keating Simon Black Shaun Hart
Int: Martin Pike Tim Notting Jamie Charman
Richard Champion
Coach: Leigh Matthews
stopeedie
10 Aug 2006, 16:56
Heard it on SEN. Best of Luck for the remainder of the season and post football. A great player for the lions, particularly in our glory years. Was fantastic watching him rough up the opposition.
The amazing thing is he was never suspended. To have such a reputation yet no be suspended once in his career is a magnificant thing.
Well done!
Vipertooth
10 Aug 2006, 16:59
:( Good bye Scott, we owe u a lot, you did so much for our club, good luck with the future :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Heard it on SEN. Best of Luck for the remainder of the season and post football. A great player for the lions, particularly in our glory years. Was fantastic watching him rough up the opposition.
The amazing thing is he was never suspended. To have such a reputation yet no be suspended once in his career is a magnificant thing.
Well done!
Amazing the amount of times Chris and Brad would be the first to instigate a fight or be the first to a scuffle, and the fact he never got suspended. Well done on a good career also!!
konstas_87
10 Aug 2006, 17:07
i must admit i have criticised him a bit this year, probably unfairly at times...
But make no mistake i loved the Scotts as much as anyone, they have both been great premiership players for us, and it is sad to see Brad/both of them move on.
Good luck with wherever live takes you Brad:thumbsu:
CharlieG
10 Aug 2006, 17:09
Has been a good servant for the Lions.
With Leppitsch, B.Scott and Akermanis gone, you'd hope that at least a couple of Voss, C.Scott, Keating, Michael and Lappin stick around next year.
Has been a good servant for the Lions.
With Leppitsch, B.Scott and Akermanis gone, you'd hope that at least a couple of Voss, C.Scott, Keating, Michael and Lappin stick around next year.
Lappin and Chris Scott are staying put, i hope Voss and Michael do likewise as for Crackers i think he'll retire soon.
I actually thought Brad would play on longer than Chris. I'll miss him, as i liked the way he played footy.
Grimreepah
10 Aug 2006, 17:25
With all the quality around them, the Scotts can sometimes be a bit forgotten. But Brad had his own role within the team, which was a bit of an enforcer role. Like his brother he never looked afraid of anyone, he was the first to fly the flag for a team mate, and he never seemed to feel pain. He was just tough as nails. Never played the game to look pretty, but got the job done consistently well. That is why he is probably under rated outside Brisbane, but why Brisbane fans have so much respect for him. I think Leigh and coaching panel would just have loved his attitude, and to be given another year this year to show the younger players how it is done has made sense in hindsight.
How will I remember Brad Scott - fearless.
Warwick
10 Aug 2006, 17:27
The Scott twins were two of my favourite footballers. It was a masterstroke to get Brad from Hawthorn (i think we gave up Barker in return :D ). The "no-rules" game was made for them. Loved the passion he showed in every game. Never wanted to let anyone down. Good onya Brad :thumbsu: .
Warwick
10 Aug 2006, 17:29
Like his brother he never looked afraid of anyone, he was the first to fly the flag for a team mate, and he never seemed to feel pain. He was just tough as nails.
That's what i'll always remember about our era. When a fight started (usually the opposition trying to rough us up and put us off our game) the Scotts were the first 2 in.:thumbsu: Brad is the guy you would have loved to play with, but hated to play against. A man you could go into war with.
Bit surprised to tell the truth. Pretty sad day when one of our best club men retires. A lot of teams have a lot of big stars, but it's that next level of players that need to stand up for teams to be successful and Brad was one of these. Champ...
and how much experience can one team lose in a year?!
That's what i'll always remember about our era. When a fight started (usually the opposition trying to rough us up and put us off our game) the Scotts were the first 2 in.:thumbsu: Brad is the guy you would have loved to play with, but hated to play against. A man you could go into war with.
Or a nightclub fight!!
With all the quality around them, the Scotts can sometimes be a bit forgotten. But Brad had his own role within the team, which was a bit of an enforcer role. Like his brother he never looked afraid of anyone, he was the first to fly the flag for a team mate, and he never seemed to feel pain. He was just tough as nails. Never played the game to look pretty, but got the job done consistently well. That is why he is probably under rated outside Brisbane, but why Brisbane fans have so much respect for him. I think Leigh and coaching panel would just have loved his attitude, and to be given another year this year to show the younger players how it is done has made sense in hindsight.
How will I remember Brad Scott - fearless.
Could not put it better myself Grim.
Onya Brad. You are a great Lions clubman.
TheBrownDog
10 Aug 2006, 18:34
He is gonna go out with a bang in Round 22.
Hope he diesn't go down swinging ala Lynch at the '04 GF :P :D
Rawhead
10 Aug 2006, 18:37
Brad Scott reminded me of a mate of mine.
Just had that crazy intense look that made you think 'This guy is capable of anything'.
Great bloke to have on your side, would hate to go up against him, you just know he wouldnt stop until he was either dead or had won, and even then he might not stop...
Another sad departure, another familar face gone, it's a strange feeling to be witnessing the end of an era. Anyway, Cheers Brad for everything, you wont be forgotten mate!
Homer Jnr
10 Aug 2006, 18:38
Even more reason to go.
Great servant, probably one season too many, but the heart he showed for the club was remarkable.
Well done on a marvelous career Brad. All the best. You should be well satisfied with your contribution during a legendary era for the Brisbane Lions. I know I am very happy with what you have given us, the supporters.
Pancho Gonzales
10 Aug 2006, 20:22
Congrats to Brad on a memorable career!
Ok...I'll start it...did he jump or was he pushed?
I'm going with pushed - I don't see why he couldn't have been a contributor next year.
lionlova
10 Aug 2006, 20:29
According to this article, Brad made the decision a month ago and we was actually quite reluctant to announce his retirement. I doubt he was pushed into making this decision by the club.
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=288242
Bobby Beecroft
10 Aug 2006, 20:41
Will be sorely missed around the club.
Not only an integral part of our side, but was an outstanding team man.
People forget in big games when we were at our best how often he would in at centre bounces. Not only to take on the best on baller of the opposition but to throw his body around & assist in winning the pill from the centre.
All the best Brad:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
10 Aug 2006, 20:44
"I've been in the AFL system for 12 years and the only way I would've been completely satisfied would've been is if I'd played in 12 premierships"
Hard task master is Mr Scott:rolleyes:
konstas_87
10 Aug 2006, 21:00
Congrats to Brad on a memorable career!
Ok...I'll start it...did he jump or was he pushed?
I'm going with pushed - I don't see why he couldn't have been a contributor next year.
i reckon he jumped knowing he was gonna be pushed...
He said himself his body isnt up to it anymore.
Very well handled by Scotty retiring at the right time :)
Well done on a great career mate:thumbsu:
Besides Brad's on field abiltiy and toughness I will rember him at the end of 2001 (or was it 2002) when some players were looking to leave for more money. He got up B&F dinner and said something to the affect why would people want to leave this club, they should be fighting to get to Brisbane. How right he was. He among others was one of the ones that stayed for a cup in pay. He is a supreme club man. The heart and sole of a team. Maybe it was his decision to retire or maybe he quit, either way he did not degrade himself or the club by airing dirty laundry. Maybe certain other premiership players on the outer could learn something from him.
Congratulations Brad, it has been a pleasure to watch you play for the Brisbane Lions.
FattyLumpkin
10 Aug 2006, 21:52
a.k.a Ronnie Kray a.k.a Dynsdale Pirhana
Never see anything like "The Pirhana Brothers" again in the likes of this sterile, squeaky clean NBL style Footy League. Born 20-30 years too early.
I dips me lid..............
Brad will be sorely missed. Certainly made the most of his ability and walks away knowing he gave his best to the club. He should have no regrets, those two premiership medallions should make retirement all the sweeter.:thumbsu:
konstas_87
11 Aug 2006, 00:57
"I've been in the AFL system for 12 years and the only way I would've been completely satisfied would've been is if I'd played in 12 premierships"
Hard task master is Mr Scott:rolleyes:
yeh i read that too.
he was 20% close to achieving his goal... thats alot closer than most (2/12).
Very competitive men though are the Scotts, that comment doesnt surprise me at all.
Hope he diesn't go down swinging ala Lynch at the '04 GF :P :D
Would it be wrong to kinda wish he did...maybe he could give Milne a going over. :p
Alot of people leaving the Lions at seasons end hey ? any chance of them finishing bottom 3 or 4 next season ?
Yep, losing a lot of experience this year that will make it tough for next. If we can't sort out this injury problem of ours, there's every chance we could finish that low next year.
PS: Again, Brad's a champ. Love how everyone thinks he's a thug but he has never actually been suspended. Shows that he was tough but never let the team down by getting suspended for any silly stuff.
Rawhead
11 Aug 2006, 09:10
I wonder if Brads meeting with Lynch the week before was to discuss his imminent retirement?
I should have evesdropped.
lionshine
7 Jul 2009, 18:52
Come and be assistant coach at lions next year Brad. Show the boys some tougness. Show them some fo your best work in your days!
North Melbourne Coach - 3 year contract.
Congrats Scotty :) .. Cant wait to see Voss and Scott go head to head.
TheBrownDog
17 Aug 2009, 16:03
Wow, was hoping he'd end up back here as an assistant, but its great to see him nab a senior role.
Onya Brad.
Lace Out
17 Aug 2009, 16:35
Getting a senior job 3 years after playing for a medium profile player is about as quick as possible.The Kray brother reputation has probably helped and of course the Premierships.
chopperduck
17 Aug 2009, 17:59
That makes 2 premiership players senior coaches now, lets see how many more we can get. Think north will be very happy with him, I'll follow North a bit closer now too. Best of luck to Brad, not that he will need it.
konstas_87
17 Aug 2009, 19:57
Congrats Scotty, spoke very well in his interview.
Roger The Sheep
17 Aug 2009, 20:31
And he's out of the filth. :thumbsu:
chopperduck
18 Aug 2009, 07:30
And he's out of the filth. :thumbsu:
The first thing the mrs said when i told her the new 'Thank god he isn't at Collingwood now'
scotty4
23 Aug 2009, 11:51
congrats to brad, hope he does well with the kangas, should be a good fit with them but will be a tough list to revitalise.
Old Den
23 Aug 2009, 12:19
congrats to brad, hope he does well with the kangas, should be a good fit with them but will be a tough list to revitalise.
Not as tough as many people people think - have quietly picked up some good young talent in the last few years...some with late draft picks and rookie player elevations and will probably have picks 5 and 22 (possibly better) for starters in this year's draft.
TheBrownDog
23 Aug 2009, 12:25
Not as tough as many people people think - have quietly picked up some good young talent in the last few years...some with late draft picks and rookie player elevations and will probably have picks 5 and 22 (possibly better) for starters in this year's draft.
Agreed.
I'd much rather the Kangaroos job than the Richmond one.
LuckyLuke
24 Aug 2009, 10:22
Aparently the North boys were told that Scott was going to be watching them closely with a red pen in hand buring their next two games to see who stays and who goes. Seemed to have worked against the Saints.
danielcan
26 Feb 2010, 16:31
lk_dyacXMuc
We'll have to give him up sometime, just like Hawthorn did with Lethal...
Not yet! I'd managed to complete forget he was head coach at the Roos... I was looking at that thinking "why he is in there if he's only an assistant...".
Grimreepah
3 Apr 2010, 01:10
Scott (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/north-melbourne-kangaroos/in-his-own-image-20100402-rjwg.html?autostart=1) on his reputation as a player:
''I suppose it's like the 'Shinboner' thing, it's word association,'' he says. ''Rightly or wrongly, when people thought of the Scott brothers, they thought of one thing … and certainly, Chris had a lot more talent than that, he was an exceptionally talented footballer. I was more frustrated for him than me that we got lumped into that category, particularly in terms of skill and ability. He was a best-and-fairest winner in a pretty good side at 19 years of age."
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/1982/bradscott.jpg
Grimreepah
4 May 2011, 00:25
Link to article (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/113002/default.aspx)
"It is the first time that two identical twins have coached against each other so I understand that's of great interest," Brad said. "But when you're 35 years of age and you've been constantly compared with each other and spoken about as one instead of as individuals, it probably starts to wear thin after a while."
At the start of the conference, Brad, who grabbed a one-year coaching head start on Chris when he took over as North Melbourne coach last season, did most of the talking. It prompted one reporter to ask Chris whether Brad spoke more than he did when they were kids.
"Not that I know of," Chris said. "This is a little bit different. I'm normally his senior but he's the experienced one at the moment so I'll let him take the lead."
Perhaps adding to people's anticipation of this Saturday's clash is the fact the Scotts never played against each other during their AFL careers. While Brad started his playing career with Hawthorn before he was united with Chris at the Brisbane Lions, in the only year he played senior games at the Hawks, 1997, Chris was absent from both Lions-Hawks games.
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/5196/scotts.jpg
Grimreepah
4 May 2011, 09:15
Jason Akermanis (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/the-scott-brothers-i-know-jason-akermanis/story-e6frepf6-1226049504732)
Brad was an outstanding junior runner, who spent time in athletics, before he finally became serious about footy. Naturally, Chris had a massive head start with footy smarts but, after a year at Hawthorn and by the time he joined Brisbane in 1998, Brad had made up the difference.
They were dubbed the Kray twins after the mad and violent English gangster brothers. In reality, they lived up to the title, but within the rules. Being physical was all in a day's work.
I've always had a soft spot for both Scotts. Their mum, Lynne, did it tough and raised five kids -- Chris, Brad, Ben, Andrew and Lisa -- after their father, Colin, died from an asthma attack on his way to the corner store. The twins had to step up for the family and be accountable much earlier than most men. I like them both, but I've always got on better with Brad.
http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/5827/bradk.jpg
Grimreepah
27 Feb 2012, 02:15
Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/winning-time-20120225-1tvh1.html) ....
WHEN Brad Scott played football, he got injured — "Often . . .," North Melbourne's coach reminded The Sunday Age.
Scott missed half of the 1999 season, then all of 2000, before becoming a premiership player for the Brisbane Lions, but never doubted that his setbacks were only temporary, despite what others seemed to think.
"I had a period where I thought, 'I'm just unlucky', but people kept saying, 'Do you think you can ever get back'?" he said. "I look back on that time and I never doubted for a second that I'd get back, get my body right, have a run at it and be OK. I never contemplated the alternative."
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7045/6785874746_25e4e37ce0.jpg