C: 17. Scott Camporeale 4. Jobe Watson 26. Chris Heffernan
HF: 14. Jason Johnson 25. Scott Lucas 6. Angus Monfries
F: 12. Andrew Welsh 21. Courtney Johns 5. James Hird
R: 19. David Hille 24. Brent Stanton 10. Mark McVeigh
INT: 16. Kepler Bradley 11. Damien Peverill 2. Ricky Dyson 38. Jay Nash
EMG: 7. Dean Solomon 29. Joel Reynolds 43. Dean Rioli
mcphee_is_a_gun
10 Aug 2006, 17:33
thats the team i'd have chosen. The first time this season im happy with the match comitee.
go_the_bombers
10 Aug 2006, 17:34
I doubt the team will line up that way! But I could be wrong as it's Sheeds I'm talking about:D
i think McPhee wont play and Solomon will
Longy413
10 Aug 2006, 18:03
I think McPhee will play.
Darealrath
10 Aug 2006, 18:30
Looks good. Hope Nash starts on the field ahead of Jolley.
I imagine cole is rested to save the laughter.
goalpie
10 Aug 2006, 19:08
I imagine cole is rested to save the laughter.
Bummer.
Still Lovett being out is good for us, can be dangerous.
jules101
10 Aug 2006, 19:24
Love to see Johns kick a bag against Collingwood.
Why was Solomon dropped this week? I read in an article on Bomberblitz something about him being late to training as a reason?
MACDAICOS
11 Aug 2006, 11:49
Why was Solomon dropped this week? I read in an article on Bomberblitz something about him being late to training as a reason?
He'll play tonight......Typical Sheeds cat & mouse......
Nectarine Surprise
11 Aug 2006, 12:49
League Teams on Fox Footy strongly implied that Solomon missed a recovery session. Barnes didn't deny that suggeston.
If true, very silly by Solly. Especially when you're form has been ordinary for 2 years.
go_the_bombers
11 Aug 2006, 13:13
League Teams on Fox Footy strongly implied that Solomon missed a recovery session. Barnes didn't deny that suggeston.
If true, very silly by Solly. Especially when you're form has been ordinary for 2 years.
Barnesy also said that Sheeds told Solly his disposal wasnt up to scratch and would be playing in the 2's!
I won't be too surprised to hear that Solly is a late inclusion
This just in:
Sheedy press release reads Solomon omitted from Friday night game because he slipped on a banana peel while riding a unicycle to his mum's place.
Observation tests of the press release showed it was recently rolled into a tight cylinder, and analytical analysis of the paper showed traces of LSD, PCP THC and crack cocaine.
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 13:46
Solly pretty much had to be named as an emergency.
Cartledge, Lucy and Lonergan are the only other senior listed Essendon players name for Bendigo. Emergencies aside.
We might shock the football world and line up as selected.
I wouldnt be surprised to see Solly come in for Jolley. They havent exactly been in stellar form, so you'd think Sheeds would like to keep it that way and have our most senior defenders together.
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 14:02
I wouldnt be surprised to see Solly come in for Jolley. They havent exactly been in stellar form, so you'd think Sheeds would like to keep it that way and have our most senior defenders together.
And have the kid miss a week of footy when we are trying to find out whether he's worthy of keeping on the list next season.
I doubt it.
And have the kid miss a week of footy when we are trying to find out whether he's worthy of keeping on the list next season.
I doubt it.
You honestly think he'll have ANY effect on the result whatsoever? The ONLY match ups that would suit his experience right now would be Pendlebury or Iles. He'll get chewed up if he's placed in the middle, half back or half forward. At best, deep in the forward pocket against the Pies. Any other of our final few opponents....sure, he can take a bigger role.
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 14:26
You honestly think he'll have ANY effect on the result whatsoever? The ONLY match ups that would suit his experience right now would be Pendlebury or Iles. He'll get chewed up if he's placed in the middle, half back or half forward. At best, deep in the forward pocket against the Pies. Any other of our final few opponents....sure, he can take a bigger role.
Please read what I said again.
I talked nothing of the result, match-ups etc.
You said you wouldn't be suprised if Jolley was replaced by Solly. It won't happen, purely because if Jolley doesn't play tonight he can't play at Bendigo. We have a kid who is trying to make his way in AFL football and needs to prove himself. The match committee won't have Ben Jolley missing a complete week of footy just so they can play funny buggers at selection.
We have three AFL games and two VFL games after this week, Jolley can't afford to miss a week at any level, nor can the club afford for him not to play. This is a kid we have to make a decision on, they wouldn't have picked him if he wasn't going to play, they would have left him in the VFL.
Regardless, why couldn't he play on an O'Bree, Burns or Lockyer through the midfield? Slattery didn't have the experience to play on Didak, Ablett, N.Davis, Dal Santo, Davey. He beat all of them.
go_the_bombers
11 Aug 2006, 14:31
You said you wouldn't be suprised if Jolley was replaced by Solly. It won't happen, purely because if Jolley doesn't play tonight he can't play at Bendigo. We have a kid who is trying to make his way in AFL football and needs to prove himself. The match committee won't have Ben Jolley missing a complete week of footy just so they can play funny buggers at selection.
We have three AFL games and two VFL games after this week, Jolley can't afford to miss a week at any level, nor can the club afford for him not to play. This is a kid we have to make a decision on, they wouldn't have picked him if he wasn't going to play, they would have left him in the VFL.
Regardless, why couldn't he play on an O'Bree, Burns or Lockyer through the midfield? Slattery didn't have the experience to play on Didak, Ablett, N.Davis, Dal Santo, Davey. He beat all of them.
Good point Longy! We will never know how good a player Jolley could be until he's but to the test!
Yeah, he beat Didak earlier this year...Didak kicked a lazy 4 goals. Great game against G. Ablett also...who ALSO kicked a lazy 4 goals (incidently, he didnt play that day) AND, having to go as far back as last year to find Slats and Dal Santo play inthe same game...Id give the points to Dal Santo on that one (21 touches, 5 tackles) IF he did spend any time on his that day...he wouldnt be listing that as one of his better games.
Davis and Davey were quiet and well held
I do understand its besides the point, but I feel he would be better suited against weaker opposition. If we're talking about seeing if he has anything, sure, lets throw him in...in regards to matchups (and the examples you're provided with Slats) ... he'll be treated like a rag doll against their more seasoned opposition.
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 14:49
Not sure if you watch Essendon games, but Slattery was moved onto Dal Santo after Dal had a pretty hot start to the game and had little impact after it. Slattery also kicked a goal on him. It was his first game, yeah I had to go way back to last year (the kids only played 12 games), but you were talking about relative experience.
Three of Didaks goals were kicked on Welsh. Mostly late. Didak was very quiet while Slattery was on him.
You're right, he didn't play on Ablett. My mistake. Not willing to mention his jobs on Davis and Davey? Fair enough.
As for Jolley, it's not besides the point. It is the point. He will play tonight simply because he has to play footy somewhere. We can't afford not to have a look at him at some level. VFL or AFL. He's been selected so he has to play.
Why couldn't he play on O'Bree or Lockyer?
Sure we could play him against Hawthorn next week, they only have Hodge, Crawford, Mitchell running around in the midfield.
Was he thrown around like a rag doll against Sydney last week? Or against St Kilda on debut?
Three of Didaks goals were kicked on Welsh. Mostly late. Didak was very quiet while Slattery was on him.
I was at the Anzac day game, and Slatery had his arse handed to him on a plate by Didak. He lost his head and gave away a few stupid free kicks.
Nice effort to skip topics.
Not sure if you watch Essendon games, but Slattery was moved onto Dal Santo after Dal had a pretty hot start to the game and had little impact after it. Slattery also kicked a goal on him. It was his first game, yeah I had to go way back to last year (the kids only played 12 games), but you were talking about relative experience.
You're right, he didn't play on Ablett. My mistake. Not willing to mention his jobs on Davis and Davey? Fair enough.
Ill give you that, Davis has little impact, Davey nothing. Be that as it may, he has to play now. You clearly have the knowledge in terms of the selection process...Ill admit to that (if THAT helps you)
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 15:03
I was at the Anzac day game, and Slatery had his arse handed to him on a plate by Didak. He lost his head and gave away a few stupid free kicks.
I disagree. I wouldn't say Slattery kept him completely out of the game, but he did enough to minimise his impact. Didak did most of his damage on Welsh.
As for Jolley, it's not besides the point. It is the point. He will play tonight simply because he has to play footy somewhere. We can't afford not to have a look at him at some level. VFL or AFL. He's been selected so he has to play.
Why couldn't he play on O'Bree or Lockyer?
Sure we could play him against Hawthorn next week, they only have Hodge, Crawford, Mitchell running around in the midfield.
Was he thrown around like a rag doll against Sydney last week? Or against St Kilda on debut?
Nice way to edit your post after a reply (might have to try that one next time) As for Sydney last week, we were beaten across the ground in ALL facets. As for Hawthorn, they have far more kids for him to stand and theyre in the same rebuilding stages as we are.
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 15:16
The only reason I edited my post was because I noticed your second post after I'd posted mine and added more to address your second point.
As my non-edited version didn't address any of the comments you made in regards to Jolley, I thought editing was an easier option than creating a second post. Hence why the nice effort to skip topics comment was removed, because when I wrote the original, you hadn't mentioned Jolley.
At the end of the day, Dean Solomon won't be replacing Ben Jolley tonight.
The only reason I edited my post was because I noticed your second post after I'd posted mine and added more to address your second point.
Thats fine, I edited mine also underneath the stats I posted earlier. I have much to learn from you, Jedi (and Im being sincere before we argue over posting tools) :thumbsu:
As my non-edited version didn't address any of the comments you made in regards to Jolley, I thought editing was an easier option than creating a second post. Hence why the nice effort to skip topics comment was removed, because when I wrote the original, you hadn't mentioned Jolley.
You couldnt help yourself haha Nice work! :thumbsu:
Very glad you're on our side! Hate to think how this would end up if I was a Collingwood supporter ;)
Longy413
11 Aug 2006, 15:40
You couldnt help yourself haha Nice work! :thumbsu:
Next time, I might just wait 10 minutes before I hit submit. Incase I have something else to add.
That way I won't get caught out.
Next time, I might just wait 10 minutes before I hit submit. Incase I have something else to add.
That way I won't get caught out.
Heaven forbid.
rioli brownlow
11 Aug 2006, 16:12
how the hell could you have been watching the game from the mcg dunnys?
cause if you are saying that disack beat slattery then you are talking s@it.
henry beat him in heaps of one on ones,and it wasn't until our super coach in his wisdom put welsh onto disack that he kicked 3 late ones which in the end probably cost us the game
how the hell could you have been watching the game from the mcg dunnys?
cause if you are saying that disack beat slattery then you are talking s@it.
henry beat him in heaps of one on ones,and it wasn't until our super coach in his wisdom put welsh onto disack that he kicked 3 late ones which in the end probably cost us the game
Didak had the better of Slattery and he was getting frustrated. It's his tell tale sign. When he starts hitting blokes and giving away 50's it's because he's getting beaten. That's why Sheedy moved him off him, it didn't work and he put Slattery back as the less of two evils cos he started kicking goals. Didak was in everything all day, Heath Shaw was probably BOG but Didak was a close second, it was his best game in a long time. And if you think that Welsh cost us the game you're dreaming sunshine. Skill errors all over the ground cost us that game, Collingwood were just kind enough to play at our level for 2 and a half quaters. Nathan Lovett-Murray had 30 disposals and I reckon 50% where ineffective and the rest clangers.
jules101
11 Aug 2006, 17:47
Didak had the better of Slattery and he was getting frustrated. It's his tell tale sign. When he starts hitting blokes and giving away 50's it's because he's getting beaten. That's why Sheedy moved him off him, it didn't work and he put Slattery back as the less of two evils cos he started kicking goals. Didak was in everything all day, Heath Shaw was probably BOG but Didak was a close second, it was his best game in a long time. And if you think that Welsh cost us the game you're dreaming sunshine. Skill errors all over the ground cost us that game, Collingwood were just kind enough to play at our level for 2 and a half quaters. Nathan Lovett-Murray had 30 disposals and I reckon 50% where ineffective and the rest clangers.
Whats the difference between an ineffective kick and a clanger?
Secondly, I dont think anyone said that Welsh cost us the game
Longy413
12 Aug 2006, 16:59
BJ went alright.
go_the_bombers
12 Aug 2006, 18:26
BJ went alright.
Just had to have the last say on the Jolley didnt ya Longy;) :p :D