Centreline: B.Green, B.McLean, M.Bate
Half forwards: S.Godfrey, L.Dunn, C.Bruce
Forwards: B.Holland, D.Neitz, A.Yze
Followers: J.White, N.Jones, J.McDonald
I/C: R.Ferguson, S.Motlop, C.Johnson, M.Jamar
Emergencies: D.Bell, P.Read, P.Wheatley

Team Changes
In: B.Miller, L.Dunn, R.Ferguson, C.Johnson, S.Motlop
Out: R.Robertson (jarred shoulder), M.Whelan (calf strain), C.Sylvia (calf strain), P.Wheatley , D.Bell

Good Lord. :confused:

The Great Gabsby
10 Aug 2006, 19:16
Looks like johnstone didnt pull up either. We're screwed.

Lightning In A Bottle
10 Aug 2006, 19:18
I'm gutted that TJ isn't back in. Our best player by miles and its really showing now. Atleast robbo can have a break and think about his actions! some of his shennanigans are ridiculous! I do love him but dead set he was trying to handball and was missing the ball against the blues! Having said that i don't know why I feel confident? Our hardness will go well against the swans with Brock and Jmac through the middle and we still have enough fire power to kick lots of goals. Our defence has been impressive all year. We'll take this 1.

Marns
10 Aug 2006, 19:24
Robbo needs a week off to recover, both physically and mentally.

Hmm, we're in a bit of trouble methinks. At least Dunn, Miller and Fergy are back.

CharlieG
10 Aug 2006, 19:26
As much as I respect you guys (believe it or not, I did a Ladder Predictor the day before Round 1 started and had you finishing third), we've certainly got you at the right time. If we can't beat you this week then you're truly unbeatable at the MCG.

goDees22
10 Aug 2006, 19:49
I don't think it's the end of the world, injuries are over rated these days as an excuse. Normally players who are still there feel the need to push harder to make up for the absence of the top players, and everyone lifts a gear so their absence isn't as obvious, and probably doesn't make a hell of a lot of difference.
Having said that, i reckon we will lose, just, 8 points.

CaptainDavey
10 Aug 2006, 19:57
It's a good team. It's good quality about it. The talls are a great inclusion and should match up well. I'm eager to see Motlop perform, I've put alot of faith into him and I believe he can deliver. CJ is a good inclusion as well, he can provide a bit of class to what I think is going to be a very low scoring scrappy game but we should do OK I reckon.

Chin up fellas!:thumbsu: :)

stickman11
10 Aug 2006, 20:02
As much as I respect you guys (believe it or not, I did a Ladder Predictor the day before Round 1 started and had you finishing third), we've certainly got you at the right time. If we can't beat you this week then you're truly unbeatable at the MCG.

Mmme, it isn't too bad... Bruce is still there... Miller is a plus and Robbo was flat. Sydney might take us too easy and payyyyyyyyyyy

demonfire
10 Aug 2006, 20:27
if the several inclusions perform itll be interesting who comes back in for the likes of robbo tj davey pickett sylvia whelan.
i dont know if i can see sylvia coming back in time for finals... he'll return to the VFL next week and will need to gain some serious form...
i hope we bloody win this. im sick of winning up there and losing down here. we get a chance at the MCG and we have to take it. we'll really send out a message to the footy world if we can win with these inclusions and our absences... we need some fringe players to step up!

Slander
10 Aug 2006, 20:29
Looking at that team, my thoughts are Sydney by possibly a league record!

Sylvia Saint
10 Aug 2006, 20:49
It's not too bad.

On current form Motlop wouldn't need to do much to match Sylvia's output. He was thrown a lifeline this time last year and performed very well, hopefully he can reproduce that form.

CJ >>>> Bell

Wheels a big loss, not sure about Ferguson returning.

Miller can return to take his bitch.

And Robbo has done **** all of late, Dunn returning is a big +.

The worst part is that TJ isn't back yet.

Dazman
10 Aug 2006, 21:07
Who cares about TJ, you've got the Bruce and Brock McLean. Demons to romp it in.

CaptainDavey
10 Aug 2006, 21:30
I don't know why...But I got a feeling Ooze is going to do something magical this game. Almost have a Queen's Birthday impact! But I'm quitely confident...

bartrams_girl
10 Aug 2006, 21:51
Just think positive :)

AllStar7
10 Aug 2006, 21:52
We're ****ed I'm affaird :o

No Travis, Robbo, Whelan, Davey or Pickett... that's pretty much everyone in our side who can kick a football gone.

At least Godfrey is playing. You can alway rely on good ol' Godders :D

StingaArmstrong
10 Aug 2006, 22:13
i'm picking a win by 17. We need to win (yes i'm being captain obvious) and i think there are players playing for their season and even careers in the side. This should see a desperate output too match Sydneys and i think we'll just get over the line. Although i do think we are one tall too many. Don't think we can have Holland and Ferguson in the same team.

CaptainDavey
10 Aug 2006, 22:15
Maybe Holland will go out for Travis...? Mind games!

StingaArmstrong
10 Aug 2006, 22:18
Maybe Holland will go out for Travis...? Mind games!

yes thanks, fair swap.

Canna7
10 Aug 2006, 22:22
The team is too top heavy (Carroll, Rivers, Miller, Ferguson, Holland, Neitz, Dunn, White, Jamar). I think that's one tall too many. Probably no need for Ferguson this week, an extra runner would have been good.

The team is also very inexperienced:

69 Miller
62 Motlop
55 Rivers
41 McLean
38 Ferguson
37 Jamar
35 Carroll
18 Bartram
12 Johnson
10 Dunn
9 Bate
2 Jones

CaptainDavey
10 Aug 2006, 22:23
I'm not talking crap but you're right, we are going in a bit too top heavy. If you'd replace Dutchy in the side with anyone, you'd replace him with Ferguson. I can see Dutchy being a withdrawal for TJ to come in. After all, TJ did just get rested for all we know, so I reckon he should be sweet in two days time, he's had a while to get over it I hink

Ed_Gein
10 Aug 2006, 23:16
Unlucky to be facing the Demons well below full strength. It would have been a genuine tester to see where we are at. But i guess we really need a win to break away from all the other teams in amongst the log jam on 44 points. While the Demons will want a win to keep that breathing space and more than likely sew up a top 4 berth. Interesting battle ensues.

melbournemartin
10 Aug 2006, 23:31
WAY TOO TALL FFS.

We have lost two half talls in Wheatley and Robertson and brought in three talls in Fergeson, Miller and Dunn. Geez. Looks like it will be Carroll vs OLoughlin, Miller vs Hall, Rivers floating.

Up forward we will have Dunn, Holland, Neitz

Fergeson? I don't know. Maybe they trust Miller to get beaten and need to be replaced? Luckily Davis isn't playing, making the Whelan absense a little less noticable. I'd personally have dropped Holland for Read. I'd rather play Fergy up forward than Holland and look at the bench...2 talls, a small defender/winger and a small forward. We have no spare midfielders (admittedly Godfrey is named at HF where he wont play even though he had a lil stint on saturday)

Supermercado
11 Aug 2006, 00:20
Wheatley and Bell are no great loss, Sylvia needed to be dropped anwyay, Robertson being out is damaging but a necessary evil, but losing Whelan is a disaster. We're rooted.

CowboyFromHell
11 Aug 2006, 00:54
Only real positives are that it's at the MCG, and we are bringing in 5 very fresh players for 4 guys who had been underperforming and Wrecker (who is a big loss).

Swans have 3 talls up forward in Hall, O'Loughlin and Grundy, although O'Keefe does play tall, and Goodes tends to go forward on occasions. I think we can really stretch their defence, and if Dunn provides the link across half forward and Neitz can kick a few on Barry, we are a show.

Like the inclusion of Motlop too - he hasn't been in great form, but he is just the sort of guy who can pop up with 2 or 3 handy goals.

I'm not confident, but let's just thank all that's holy that we are on the MCG.

rick James
11 Aug 2006, 09:45
Just remember guys, the two players that ALWAYS carve up Sydney are still playing.

Brock and JMac own Sydney's midfield - remember last year when they combined for 20+ tackles?

Or earlier this year when Brock had 7 clearances in the first quarter before getting injured?

Trust me, TJ isn't as big an out against Sydney as he was against Carlton.

Sydney love the stoppages, but the fact is, we do as well.

Losing Whelan sucks, but with no Davis, he didn't really have a ready made matchup anyway (bar that cheat Schneider)

The reason we lost to CArlton is we didin't force enough stoppages, it killed us.

Jones could really suit in a game against Sydney, and Bate can break lines as good as anyone - those two could really be scheduled to "arrive" (If Bate didn't last week already).

goal sneak
11 Aug 2006, 09:55
Pretty spot on analysis rj. Think Jonesy will be the rising star this week, should play much more game time.

Dees by 15

Brock McLean for PM
11 Aug 2006, 10:34
It's not too bad.

On current form Motlop wouldn't need to do much to match Sylvia's output. He was thrown a lifeline this time last year and performed very well, hopefully he can reproduce that form.

Motlop couldn't match Silvia's output???? Col's efforts against Carlton were disgusting and he seemed completely uninterested. I'd have put pretty much anyone in apart from Silvia but instead of Motlop my choice would've been PHILTHY!

DemonDoob
11 Aug 2006, 10:34
WAY TOO TALL FFS.

We have lost two half talls in Wheatley and Robertson and brought in three talls in Fergeson, Miller and Dunn. Geez. Looks like it will be Carroll vs OLoughlin, Miller vs Hall, Rivers floating.

Up forward we will have Dunn, Holland, Neitz

Fergeson? I don't know. Maybe they trust Miller to get beaten and need to be replaced? Luckily Davis isn't playing, making the Whelan absense a little less noticable. I'd personally have dropped Holland for Read. I'd rather play Fergy up forward than Holland and look at the bench...2 talls, a small defender/winger and a small forward. We have no spare midfielders (admittedly Godfrey is named at HF where he wont play even though he had a lil stint on saturday)

Spot on with this comment.

This just proves Daniher can't coach. He has gone for safety again. Daniher needs to take a few more risks. Our midfield will get solidly beaten without another runner in the team. Having so many talls is just useless vs Sydney as they just bring the ball to ground every time.

The only positive for Brad Miller is he has a good record vs Hall. But lets hope thats the only reason he has been brought in and goes back to Sandy next week.

Marns
11 Aug 2006, 11:03
Motlop couldn't match Silvia's output???? Col's efforts against Carlton were disgusting and he seemed completely uninterested. I'd have put pretty much anyone in apart from Silvia but instead of Motlop my choice would've been PHILTHY!
He said that Motlop wouldn't need to do much to match Sylvia's output. Not that he couldn't.

lanky_wes
11 Aug 2006, 12:56
must say i was pretty disappointed last night when i heard that robbo, whelan and sylvia were all out and there was no jonno coming in. but this morning i have been encouraged. looking at that team i am very excited to see jones starting in the middle and bate starting on the wing. those to along with mc clean and j mac looks to be a pretty tough physical midfield.

heres hoping that bater can back up his performance last week with another beauty this week. but i am looking forward to jones getting some more playing time. this kid looks like a fine prospect and getting plenty of game time in crunch matches will be great experience for him.

syney play a pretty tough physical game and i think on paper melbourne look like they have the players that can take it up to them. we may be younger and more inexperienced than the swans but the young kids we got in the middle (bate, mc clean and jones) all got solid bodies and should be able to take it up to them. i think (hope) we should at least be competitive this week. hopefully we can keep that unbeaten record at the mcg in tact.

dread and might
11 Aug 2006, 12:56
Losing Whelan sucks, but with no Davis, he didn't really have a ready made matchup anyway (bar that cheat Schneider)

???
Care to elaborate?

Barry Schneider
11 Aug 2006, 13:19
You might need all the talls.
Our forwardline at sometime during the game could have Hall,O'Loughlin,Grundy and Doyle(playing out of the goal square) with the strong leading and marking O'Keefe a bit further up the field.
Having said that it doesn't count for anything if you don't get it down to them.
So as always the battle of the midfield is the most important one.
I presume it will be Hall/Miller,O'Loughlin/Carroll, Grundy/Rivers.

Who do you think will take O'Keefe?

dees 4 life
11 Aug 2006, 13:26
Who do you think will take O'Keefe?

I think Rivers will take O'Keefe and Chris Johnson will get Grundy!

Bring-Back-Powell
11 Aug 2006, 13:29
I think Rivers will take O'Keefe and Chris Johnson will get Grundy!
Is this Grundy kid any good ?

Bring-Back-Powell
11 Aug 2006, 13:33
If Brad Miller throws a jumper punch at Barry Hall before the game (which he will attempt to do) I'm going to jump off level 4 of the Southern Stand.

natlovestheswans
11 Aug 2006, 14:43
Is this Grundy kid any good ?

He can take a good mark, can kick a few aswell.

Keithy George
11 Aug 2006, 14:50
???
Care to elaborate?

The ball he deliberately didnt catch at the start of the year when Rivers threw it back to him, costing us 50 and almost the game. I hope someone decks him

CowboyFromHell
11 Aug 2006, 17:44
If Brad Miller throws a jumper punch at Barry Hall before the game (which he will attempt to do) I'm going to jump off level 4 of the Southern Stand.

He won't do it. He knows his spot is gawn for the year if he does something like that.

Don't mind our forward line of Neitz, Dunn and Dutchy either, with Motlop and Yze roaming around. I'm a bit more encouraged too by the team on paper, but this "depth" we are supposed to have better be good!!

dread and might
11 Aug 2006, 18:31
The ball he deliberately didnt catch at the start of the year when Rivers threw it back to him, costing us 50 and almost the game. I hope someone decks him

Ahh yes. That was disgraceful. No wonder I blocked it out. Truly embarassing.
The fact that the umpire paid 50 was ridiculous. I did say in another thread that the umpiring was shocking all game long both ways. Hopefully they stay out of it this time around.

Blacky31
11 Aug 2006, 19:58
Isn't Carrol onder a cloud aswell, I think at best he will be underdone, which would be detrimental to any chance you guys have of winning.

AllStar7
11 Aug 2006, 20:58
Isn't Carrol onder a cloud aswell, I think at best he will be underdone, which would be detrimental to any chance you guys have of winning.

He looked to me like carrying some sort of a hand injury since before the Brisbane game... perhaps a broken finger?
What he lacks in fitness though, he more than makes up for in facial hair.:D
The Mo is one of only a few players I trust completely when the ball is being kicked into the opposition forwardline.

Number32
12 Aug 2006, 11:07
I am just wondering whether we have gone too tall this match, miller, ferguson, dunn, nietz, carrol, rivers, holland.....and someone please tell me how godfrey gets a game week after week...his disposal is shocking

Pipefitter
12 Aug 2006, 12:16
Yeah there has been talk about the apparent depth at the club, but we've only had to change maybe 1 or 2 players in one game if needed. Theres a 7 gone. I'd love to be confident but i think we are going to get smashed.

Theseventhhamster
12 Aug 2006, 12:24
Yeah there has been talk about the apparent depth at the club, but we've only had to change maybe 1 or 2 players in one game if needed. Theres a 7 gone. I'd love to be confident but i think we are going to get smashed.
No way we're gunna win!!!!

Number32
12 Aug 2006, 12:27
There growing speculation that he is a late withdrawal.....any confirmation that this is correct?

CaptainDavey
12 Aug 2006, 13:55
C'mon guys, stress less....You'll live longer. ALRIGHT JUST LOOK AT THE NEW BANNER ON THE CLUB SITE! See...We mean business...They've got that look in their eyes. Inspirational:thumbsu: